Hotel Playa Coco

Hotel Playa Coco
3.323.323.323.323.32
3.32 based on 857 reviews
#15 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco - Cayo Guillermo
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (340)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Best girls trip !

, Mississauga, ON
2024-04-07
We were a group of 5 ladies that stayed at hotel playa coco for 1 week March 25- April 1
I have to say in all the times I've traveled to Cuba this was by far the best trip !
The staff are amazing Taimy Leidys and Yaima at the pool bar make it so much fun !
Jorge in the lobby / gin tonic bar always laughing and smiling - the entertainment staff - Alexis , Jordan , Lizzy ,Joe , Adrian, Julio ( too many to mention ) always have something for you do do- Zumba / dancing / games. Everyone at the front desk and offices that helped make this stay amazing - Sahily / Yarlenys / Adrianna
The food was great , we never went without anything, lots of cold drinks flowing and snack bar food 24/7
Beautiful beach, wonderful staff , great weather , making memories [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff are like family

Review from Easter weekend

, Peterborough, ON
2024-04-02
Beautiful beach. Terrible entrance. All the boards are broken and afraid of falling, Maids didn't do a good job of cleaning. They only made the bed. Pillows were the worse thing about the stay. They smelled like sweat. Pizza area only open 45 minutes but understand all the shortages. Pool beautiful and clean. Pool workers went out of their way to get you chairs even to the beach. Loved not having to save chairs. Nice beach towels but no place to exchange them when they got wet. No help with our suitcases. We had to take them all the way to building 5 up three flights and down when we left. We tried calling for some one but didn't answere the phone. Bread was very good didn't like the food but that's how Cuban food is. Great coffee in coffee bar. Loved the kids dancing party every night. My grandchildren looked forward to it. The place is very old and needs a fix up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach and pool
The weak points
Room old
Sanitary measures
No toilet paper in the public washrooms.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-04-05
Dear Ian, Thank you first for taking your time to post your experience during your vacation in our Hotel. We are deeply sorry to find out we didnt fullfill your expectations in this trip and all the inconveniences encountered. Your review will be shared and discussed with all management and measures will be taken to prevent the situations you mentioned from happening again. Best Regards

Hotel Playa Coco

, Saint Catharines, ON
2024-03-15
We had a wonderful time at this resort! Resort was clean and the staff were wonderful. The beach was amazing and you could snorkel from the beach. Food was well prepared and plentiful. We will return ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness and super staff
The weak points
Some shortages but not a deal breaker
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-03-15
Dear Lesley, We would like to thank you for posting a review about your recent stay in our Hotel. We are happy to find out we fullfill your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again to make sure you enjoy of another faboulous vacation. Kind Regards

Dream come true!

, North Bay, ON
2024-02-14
My friends and family have visited here many times so I was excited to finally get to come to Hotel Playa Coco last week. I spent the week being entertained by the shows every night! Beautiful beaches, wonderful staff and great food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
I cannot emphasize enough what a wonderful time I had on my first vacation with my daughter! Loved the rooms, pool, ‘a la carte meals!! Such a great vacation. Great snorkeling!
The weak points
I loved it, no complaints!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-20
Dear Melita, Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review about your first visit in our Hotel. We are delighted to hear that we fullfilled your exectations and that you along with your daughter had a great time during your week vacations. We will share your feedback with our staff who you may agree always make an excellent job at provinding our clients with good services. We truly look forward to your return. Best Regards

General

, Beaverbank, NS
2024-02-07
There was a group of 19 of us and we had a wonderful time. Although they were lacking some supplies while we were there, this is generally all throughout Cuba now and a higher rated hotel in the same area was struggling just as much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great staff, beautiful beach, good entertainment, smaller resort so easy access to everything
The weak points
Entertainment was too loud although the entertainment itself was good, lack of choices at 24 hour snack bar while we were there
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-15
Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay in our Hotel Playa Coco. We are very happy to know you all had a wonderful time and enjoyed it so much in here. We worked as best to please and make sure your entire group ended up having an amazing experience. True about some shortages but we truly hope that doesnt stop any of you from having fun and having a great time. We took note of the loudness of the entertianment activities and will discuss it with them. We really hope we have fullfilled your expectations and hopefully looking forward to your return. Best Regards

Fantastic Vacation Resort

, Newmarket, ON
2024-02-01
We had a fantastic time at this resort. The staff are so kind and helpful and the resort is clean and well kept.
The beach is stunning and you can swim a short ways to a coral reef. We really enjoyed swimming and snorkeling there.
The room was clean and beautiful with a daily service to clean, refresh beach towels and drinking water. Plenty of hot water for showers too. We had a small problem as the toilet started running but that was fixed within an hour of asking for them to help.
The hotel even had a free courtesy room to shower and get ready for your flight if you had a later flight and wanted to spend your day on the beach. Excellent service.
The food was plentiful and tasty. Especially at the teppanyaki restaurant.
I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone was so kind and helpful. The entertainment crew were talented and we had fun watching the shows. Such a great experience so much fun. Thank you Hotel Playa Coco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great beach and lovely rooms. The Staff is fantastic. Tasty food!
The weak points
None. We had a spectacular trip!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-02
Dear Tiffiny, Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay with us. We are very happy yo find out we fullfill your expecatations and that you enjoyed your vacations in our site. Thank you for highlighting the strong points of your holidays noticing there was not a single negative thing. We hope to welcome you back in the future, and keep providing you with good services and happy memories. Sincerely Sales Manager

Extermination

, Toronto, ON
2024-01-30
Got there and encountered a major fly problem to make things worse they would fumigate without warning. on the second day the plane started flying over spraying the resort and beach area without warning while people were eating and in the pool .my skin started itching my body started twitching and the whole time I was bitching. Dont go here If you value your health people were great, food wasn't bad but they spraying and flys were too much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
great people decent food good entertainment
The weak points
flys flyover pesticides and fumigation
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-02
Dear Nick, First of all, thank you very much for posting your feedback on your recent stay in our Hotel. We are sorry to know we didnt fullfill your expectations. When you point out the strong and weak points of your vacations, it doesnt seem fair to provide us with 1* score for the policies of our destination for fumigation. You were offered a change of Hotel to Cayo Guillermo and you refused. Anyway, as we take this matter seriously, your review will be addressed with all management from our company. Sincerely Sales Manager

3 Star at Best!

, Georgina, ON
2024-01-09
We were there from Dec 31st to January 8th.

This hotel is at best a 3 star, run down, and in desperate need of a remodel! The new rooms are good, but the old rooms are deplorable!

My 10 year daughter and I got food positioning at two different times in the trip. They put out an abundance and good variety of food out but, some staff do not know basic safe food preparation skills. Servers use tongs on raw meat and then pick up cooked food to serve you! Its sad that the head chef (who I met) try so hard, and then untrained staff ruin it for the hotel.
They re-use food in the buffet for many days. (This is a key mistake) Re-using food over 2 days is just dangerous, especially when the meat is at room temperature waiting to be grilled for 3 hours! They ran out of napkins twice and water down the wine (caught them)! That was not a huge issue as we brought our own as back-up, but this hotel kitchen manager needs to prep for supplies better (buy a cheaper wine that will last, cut napkins in 1/2, whatever it takes)
- The washrooms in lobby and by buffet are often over-flowed with paper/out of order. They need signage to tell tourists to not put paper in the toilets, they are on septic.
- Lobby staff is on their phones often and look unimpressed to assist people
- There is NO REAL COFFEE at this resort! I can't be more clear on this. We witnessed them bring out plastic jugs and fill containers. They use instant in the back kitchen. The large espresso machine is for show only!
- There is NO KIDS club! It is a farce and we were told it is unavailable, during the busiest time of travel, that was really a huge let down for a family with 2 kids.
- The best part of this hotel is the fabulous beach, the nice pool, and the wonderful animation staff - they really do a great job!

The resort could be good if only they had more mature staff. We went to Varadero last year and they brought in Managers from Spain to RESET that hotel. A total turn-around. All these problems I mentioned are solvable. Question is.... will they do it before YOU go visit them???

On a positive note.... on the return bus to the airport, I asked 6 different groups of people how their vacation was. They raved about Melia Jardin Del Ray and Memories Flemenco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Fabulous Beach! Nice pool, and animation staff is great.
The weak points
Food positioning, 2 different people at different times in our group. No kids club, its a farce. No real coffee, it's a crappy instant being passed off in jugs!
Sanitary measures
Scary food practices. Sickness is imminent here! Bathrooms are overflowing at times.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-02
Dear Guest, I would start answering you by offering our most sincere apologies. We are deeply sorry to hear we didnt fullfill your expectations during your stay in our Hotel. After discussing your review with all the management and staff, we want it all to address it by assuring you every point of your feedback have been taken seriously and measures are underway to correct some issues. We hope you return one day and give us the opportunity to prove we are an excellent place where our guests and their satisfactions are our most top priority. Sincerely Sales Manager

Average hotel

, Beaconsfield, QC
2023-12-26
food lacks taste [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
great staff, clean grounds, nice beach
The weak points
mold in AC, building 8000 has no operating phones, poor lighting at night, tepid shower water, internet only in lobby, spa not very clean
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-12-29
Dear Kitsou, First of all, thank you for posting a small feedback on your experience in Hotel Playa Coco. We are sorry to find out we didnt fullfill your expectations. The weak and strong points of your review will help us focus on improving our service toward the satisfaction of our guests. Best Regards

Pleasant Hotel

, Hamilton, ON
2023-12-13
This is a nice hotel resort...with a nice beach and good food...especially the desserts.

The beach was nice and sandy and shallow and clear. The beach is ideal for long walks.

The service here was good...all the staff were friendly and cooperative.

I would recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach, the deserts, long beach walks
The weak points
The main buffet was closed for most of my stay but it did reopen for the last two stays...i recommend the pasta station.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-12-18
Dear Cuba Traveler, Thank you very much for taking your time to post a feedback on your experience you had while vacationning in our Hotel Playa Coco. I am glad to find out we fullfill your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your opinion will be shared with all our staff that always go beyond to make everyone feel at home. Happy Holidays from our team and management. Hoping to welcome you back next year. Best Regards

Playa coco experience

, Arva, ON
2023-12-02
I would rate this as one star. One star because they tried to deliver the service. The place is full of bugs, flies and mosquitoes. One day there was no electricity, other day there was no air conditioning. The first day we got the room without the toilet seat, flush didn't work. After changing the room it was with the toilet seat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
They celebrated Cuba theme very well. Staff is good. They try to be helpful and work around your requests with the resources.
The weak points
Resort amenities wasn't upto par. Pool table had broken sticks, missing pool balls.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-12-18
Dear Hetal, First of all, I would like to thank you for posting your opinion on this site highlighting the strong and weak points of your vacation. I am deeply sorry to know we didnt fullfill your expectation on your stay in our Hotel Playa Coco. Our staff is truly great and they always go beyond to make everyone comfortable. Best Regards

Beautiful Resort

, Mississauga, ON
2023-05-22
I am writing this review to let everyone know, if you give this resort a try you will become a repeat guest ( As most of the clients are)

We all hear about shortages in Cuba, but I have never had any issues here. There is always a great variety of food for breakfast lunch and dinner.
Buffet always has fresh meats / eggs/ salads/ cheese/ breads/ veggies/ soups/ sweets , etc
for lunch the options also include a Pizzeria on the beach- fresh made to order pizzas. Snack bar with hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, sandwiches etc
grill on the beach with chicken wings / taters etc.
Dinner you can choose the buffet or Dailenis will be happy to make you a reservation for the al la carte - Japanese / Cuban or Italian ( all are fantastic)

Many bars around the resort - lobby bar open 24 hours, ice bar , cigar bar, sports bar, pool bar, beach bar- you will never go thirsty!

I would like to thank all the staff once again for a great vacation - Hotel management for running a great resort, kitchen staff and management for great food, Sahily for always helping with anything i need, Adriana for always taking the time to talk, Jose (the bell boy) will pick you up, drop you off, help with luggage, all the friendly smiles of the staff at the front desk ( Yarlenys, Yareida, Rachel - too many to mention )
Security all around the resort, making sure all guests are safe.
The servers and bartenders Yanelis, Miriela , George, Mercedes, Michael, Yadi, Yaima,Lianey, Yelein, Taimy and Laidys - and so many more !!

The gardeners for keeping the resort immaculate, pool staff for keeping the pool and area clean and safe, lifeguards for the hard work , staff on the beach working hard to clean a chair for you, making sure the beach is clean and safe and entertainment staff for offering many options to participate in each week.

fyi - bring a snorkel, the beach is so clear and if you swim out a bit on the left side you will find many fish
enjoy ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff make you feel like family and want to make sure you are always having a great time
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-24
Dear Michelle, As usual we would like to thank you for taking your time to write and post a feedback on your latest experience on your stay in our Hotel. Your opinion and satisfaction are most valued for us. Your review will be shared with our beloved staff who as you stated always go beyond to make you and all our guests feel like this is your second home. We are looking forward to your next stay to make your stay another fantastic experience. Warm Regards

Amazing Vacation

, Barrie, ON
2023-04-28
After 3 years being closed due to covid, I was finally able to return to this resort. I am so happy I was able to return, it was great.
Upon arrival, We were greeted with drinks from the 24 hour lobby bar, while we completed our check-in
Once done, José drove me to my room which was beautiful. Yanara, the maid for my floor, had decorated my room with flowers to welcome me. All week she was attentive and helpful with anything I needed. My room was cleaned daily. Yanara takes pride in her work.
The shower had great water pressure and there were no issues with hot water at all. The a/c also worked fantastic.
The improvements to the hotel are great. Building 8 is currently under renovation but it does not interfere with any area of the hotel.
There were no shortages of food or alcohol during my stay. The snack bar had hamburgers, hot dogs, fries and ham and cheese sandwiches. The buffet always had a variety of choices. The desserts were fabulous thanks to the talented Rodi.
The nightly entertainment was wonderful as well. The dancers are so talented. Zambi, Yenishell, Yuner, Laurent, Jordan, and the others. The animation and dj staff Popi, Daiver, Ariana, Roy, Alexis, Lizzy, Angie and all the others.
Thanks to Sahily, Adriana, Yarlenys, Leidys, Taimy, Leidys, Rachel and all the other wonderful staff that made my week long vacation so wonderful. I will be back for 2 weeks in December with my daughter and I can't wait!!
This is my second home❤ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
My room Beach Staff
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-08
Dear Allie, Thank you very much for taking your time to post a feedback about your recent stay in our Hotel Playa Coco. We are happy to find out after 3 years of being closed, we fullfilled your expectations in your vacation trip. Your review was shared with our staff all, they always go beyond to make everyone´s experience a great one. We cant wait to welcome you back in December with your darling daughter. It was lovely to see you again, and be certain you and Elleya are part of our big family. Your second home awaits you for Christmas!! Warm Regards

My Second Home

, Mississauga, ON
2023-02-21
The Hotel is a quick 15-20 min ride from the airport. When you arrive the bell boy Jorge will greet you with a smile and assist you with your luggage. Check in was a breeze, Yarlenys and they other ladies always there to help with what ever you need. My room was ready, beautiful ocean view and very quiet. The lobby has a gift shop/ cigar bar/ 24 hour lobby bar / and the ice bar- so no shortage of finding a cold beverage anywhere.
They also have a Sports Bar that opens at 5pm, with ice cold beer and sports on the TV , service with a smile
You will always find Adrianna walking around making sure all guests are having a great time and if they need anything to just ask. The resort had been closed for a couple years and the renovations are beautiful. Bright, clean and welcoming.
There is a big buffet for all meals, pizzeria on the beach, 24 hour snack bar at the beach, Italian, Japanese, Cuban, International al la cartes , ice cream parlour you will never go hungry as the food is great ! They have a repeat guest dinner each week and it is amazing.
Yaima that works at the 24 hour snack bar is so sweet, she will get you what ever you need - always with a kind smile.
the beach is amazing, they have tons of shade and no need to reserve loungers as they always have plenty. Beach bar with service as well
Carolina and the entertainers are always great and a lot of fun, playing games, dance lessons- they are always doing something to keep you busy ( if you choose )
the life of the party is the pool bar - Taimy and Leidys will be dancing and serving you up what ever ice cold drink your looking for.
They are always smiling, happy to meet new people and grateful for everyone that stops by to say hi
Santiago looks after the area around the pool and he is always fixing up the chairs, cleaning or helping around where ever he can - again always with a smile.
This is my goto resort for many years, my home away from home - and I have to thank Sahily for always assisting me with any requests and making my week in paradise the most memorable it can be.
I cant wait to return again soon ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The wonderful staff
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-02-24
Dear Michellemac74, First and above all, we will like to thank you for keep choosing our Hotel Playa Coco to book your vacations. For us it is simply a pleasure to welcome you back every single time and make our best to make your time here an unforgettable stay. Your feedback abour this recent visit will be shared with all the staff that always go the extra mile to satisfy all your needs and exceed your expectations. Thank you for pointing out our strong points and amenities. Your words mean lots to us all. Already looking forward to your return to your second home. Warm Regards

Another fantastic vacation!

, Wiarton, ON
2023-02-02
Arrived to the hotel after a short bus transfer from the airport. The reception staff were professional and very friendly. Great service from Will the bus boy to take me and my luggage to my room. The room was spacious and clean with ocean views overlooking the quiet pool. My maid Irma was great! The lobby bar service was great! Yarimi makes the best coffees in the morning. The lobby is a great comfortable space to meet other guests and enjoy entertainment as well. The pools are great with afternoon entertainment but I prefer the beautiful beach! Ale was there each morning to help me with the selecting my chair. Again friendly and professional. Alejandro who is part of the entertainment staff took me fishing twice! What a great experience! The nightly entertainment was great! The dancers are so good. They really seem to love what they do! The food at the buffet and alacartes was great! The fresh baked bread is such a treat! The cooks at the buffet were great. Hats off to Elisebell who makes the best omelettes! The managers were exceptional, from Sahily who made sure I had the room I wanted to Adriana who made sure I was comfortable being a guest who is single. I felt very safe and always in good company. Also Idel who welcomed me back with a bottle of rum in my room for being a returning guest. Always checking on me to make sure I was having a great vacation. All the staff treat you like family and I can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Strong points are definitely the beach and the friendly service. Room was great with hot water and towels supplied.
The weak points
The only weak point is you need to bring mosquito repellent. I did just fine with it. They can be pesky at dusk and dawn, but it is the tropics!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-02-07
Dear Suzieq, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay in our Hotel. It is our great pleasure always to welcome you back to your now second home. Your feedback will be shared with all our staff who you know go always the extra mile to make your vacations a memorable one. We are more than honored for your loyalty over the years, and we are pleased to know we keep fullfillling all your expectation every time you return. See you March 26th. Warm Regards

Truly is a great resort!

, Chatham, ON
2023-01-19
We arrived on January 7th till the 14th. The lobby was well lit, bright, high ceiling and spacious. The check in was a breeze. The ladies at the reception was very helpful.
Yareda was one of them that helped us a lot with any our requests specifically moving us to a different room with a king bed.

The bell boy was very quick to help us to get to our room. Unfortunately I didn't get his name. We were in building 4. All rooms in this building has a very nice ocean view. Our room are very spacious, it has suite feeling to it. Furnitures are all new and our bed was comfortable. Our room was always clean with everyday art sheets surprises from our maid Maribelis. She always keep our water bottle supply.

Our flight arrived late, the buffet was already closed so we head on to their 24 hour snack bar where we were served by Gerard, who always have a very nice friendly smile every time we see him. The snack bar has burgers, tuna, ham & cheese, chicken salad sandwiches plus french fries. All of them we tried and they are very tasty.

We tried all of their ala carte, so far Hotel Playa Coco has the best food offerings and these goes to their buffet too compared to other resorts we have been to in many parts of Cuba. For ala carte they have International, Cuban and Teppanyaki style cooking. The are served hot and fresh. The wait staff at the ala carte and in buffet at dinner time are friendly, and hardworking. The only suggestion will be to improve the hotel's wait staff in the breakfast and lunch time to mirror the wait staff at dinner. I find that they need to be motivated to approach guests with what they want to drink, pick up used plates and refill our drinks more actively.

Hotel Playa Coco beach is undeniable the most beautiful, calm, turquoise beach I've been too in Cayo Coco. It has so much to offer such as you can snorkel in some parts of the water that has abundant of sea living creatures; after 4pm the tide will be low and you can see some nice coral formations. Also, you can walk along the beach, 4 kilometres to the hotel's right side and 2 kilometres to the right side.

There are plenty of palapas; they are actually building more while we were there.

I cannot say enough good things with all the staff at Hotel Playa Coco. Most specially by Sahily Marical. She made sure our stay at the resort will be just amazing. Prepared our ocean view rooms, booked our Ala Cartes and also surprised us with a bottle of champagne. She is truly exceptional.

I'm highly recommended Hotel Cayo Coco. It has checked all of what I've looking for: great staff, good food, beautiful rooms and amazing beach. We will definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-01-20
Dear Guest, We are very pleased to know you had a fantastic vacations in our Hotel. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and your we will take your suggestion into consideration. We are happy to find out that we no only fullfill your expectations but also that you are looking forward to come back. We will be delighted to welcome you again to our beautiful piece of paradise. Best Regards

Home away from home ❤️

, Mississauga, ON
2023-01-05
When I arrived I was quickly greeted by the bell boy with a smile and assisted with my luggage. The ladies at the front desk were very happy to assist me right away, and I was offered an ice cold drink [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff, always with a smile and warm greeting everyday. The food is amazing here. You never go hungry and a lot of variety and flavour the beach !!! Crystal clear and the best sunset you can imagine
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-01-06
Dear Michellemac74, First and above all, thank you very much for keep choosinh Hotel Playa Coco for your vacations, and then for posting your experience in this website. For us it is always a pleasure to know we fullfill your expectations. Please be sure that your feedback will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. We are looking forward to your return. Kind Regards

Friends make the difference

, Woodstock, ON
2020-03-04
The staff was not the friendliest. If a local walked in they attended to them first, or ignored you and kept talking with the locals.
There was only cool water for showers, not even warm water. Seem to be an on going problem that one cares to fix.
Animation was talking very fast, no English, only Spanish. Bass at performances was way too loud. They did the same style every night. No variety in shows.
Food lots of time they did not have things on the menu for al a cartes. Or not exactly as stated. I realize that is part of going to Cuba. Food okay.
Best thing about whole trip was the people we went with.
Front desk not helpful. I needed a bottle of water because staff did not leave in my room. Was given run around, finally after making some noise, she went into back room, and gave me a bottle. No idea why it had to be so difficult to get a basic need....water.
No face clothes in bathrooms.
Our room staff not always remembering to do things in the room...water, towel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Had a great time with friends. In building 7. Best view of pool and ocean. Clean building.
The weak points
no warm water, unfriendly staff, animation was too loud of bass and no English
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-09
Dear Anthony, Thank you for your review on Monarc, which obviously raised a big concern to us and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. It is essential that each guest enjoy a pleasant stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the departments concerned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when we would be honoured to be able to demonstrate another type of experience, more representative of our usual quality. Kind Regards

Hotel Playa Coco

, Woodstock, ON
2020-03-04
We arrived the first night and were given a room that nothing worked in, safe did not work, toilet did not flush, no locks on patio doors, etc. Were switched after we complained twice. No hot water all week, rarely toilet paper in the public washrooms. Having been to a different resort in Cuba previously this did not meet our expectations and we would not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Majority of staff are great, Liber is the best bartender/waiter in the place.
The weak points
-Bad rooms, no hot water, 50% of the bar tenders and waiters don't but booze in the drinks. Staff don't care unless you tip.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-09
Dear client: Thank you for choosing Hotel Playa Coco for your vacations and posting your experience on Monarc page. Its well appreciate it as it encourages us to work harder and to know your opinion which help us focus on the issues and improve our business. We will discuss what you mentioned and corrective actiosn will be taken to avoid the same situation from happening again. I can assure you we are fully committed to provide quality services beyond our guests experactations and we are sorry we couldnt fullfil yours in this ocassion. All our guests matters to us, as our main goal is to make you all gome homes satisfied. Kind Regards

Too many issues

, Burlington, ON
2020-02-21
Honestly, it's far from 4star. Especially service.
We got 1 level of building 4 and it terrible - smell, humid, condition, scratches, some broken stuff and so on.. It took us 2 days jumping around reception, plus gifts, of cause, to move to 3 floor which was much better, some small problems, but it's ok.
ROOM SERVICE
This is funny. No linens were changed during a week??? Some days problem with towels also. In the fridge they supplied only drinking water and not every day.
FOOD Average like pretty much everywhere in Cuba, but you can find something to eat. First day I found even orange juice - all other days some sort of beverage.
I wouldn't recommend any of a'la cart, so to speak, restaurants. It's for fun not for drink or eat. Even Japanese ( fried rice, some chicken and meat - THAT'S IT, ENJOY), plus some noise and flame, which didn't help, of cause.
NO TONIC FOR ALL WEEK - so if you like jin tonic - drink jin with lemonade and enjoy..
BEACH Ocean and beach are pretty good, though there're some stones on the west end of the beach, plus most of sheslongs are old and dirty, plus garbage containers were overfilled all week with plastic stuff around them and guys were so busy to clean them. BUT A LOT OF MUSIC! Disc jockey started screaming, vauing, chanting like crazy non sto p from 10am to 12:30 even 1PM. All with the max volume and you can't hide from this..
So ENJOY! At the evening btw, loud music started 8pm up to 10:30 with very hard bass low frequency, which you can't avoid also.
ANIMATION is good, no questions
DRINKS Good variety of rum, some whiskey (I didn't try). Pina colada could be pretty good, could be not at all, depending of barmen mood, tips and so on. Espresso could be a real garbage, if you're not lucky to be the first person in the row for the charge.
And the lobby chairs and cushetts just terrible - old, uncomfortable and worn out.
The worst I saw in Cuba.
I may continue, but if you start drinking after breakfast, all these small problems became not yours. Good luck.
All in all I think this is the 3stars, no more. And they don't care. They said : "You don't like it - another guys will like it".
This is funny! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean itself, show and rooms are pretty spacious.
The weak points
Room service, restaurants.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-28
Dear Navigator45649547589: First of all we would like to thank you for your comments on Monarc, even if you point out negative issues about the hotel and even if we desagree with you in several aspects, we understand that you have the right to express yourself in the way you want according to your experiences and ways of feeling, as we told you on your other comment. We are very sorry that your stay has not been what you expected or everything that our team would like it to be. We assure you that we pay adequate attention to these issues and corrective measures are being taken to avoid that kind of situation again. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Best Regards,

Beach is great room sucked

, Martensville, SK
2020-02-08
The beaches were amazing, food was pretty awesome, staff was amazing beside the front desk. Our room had the worst smell as well as black mold all over. The bathroom ceiling was leaking all over the bathtub and the bathroom sink and our toilet only worked half the time. the room was horrible, also we asked twice to moved and they never did, stated they had no rooms open. Was not happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff overall was great. Beaches were amazing
The weak points
The room was disgusting and smelt horrible and had black mold. they would not change us rooms we asked twice.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-13
Dear client, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

Will Not ever return to this Hotel!

, Burlington, ON
2020-02-01
We have stayed at this hotel on 3 previous occasions over the past few years. We returned this time with our two grandchildren and our daughter and son-in-law. Only to find the hotel has declined from what it once was. Most of the staff worked hard but you can only work with what you are given to work with. The front desk staff and customer service people, unfortunately these people have no idea how to handle complaints. Each night the music coming from the entertainment tent in the middle of the complex was so loud our doors were vibrating. Our grandkids could not get to sleep for the noise. When we called down to desk around 11 pm, we where told the music had to be played till midnite. This went on each night and each night we would complain at the time and the next day to the customer service people and we were told they would speak to the entertainment people. This did not change anything. On three separate occasions we went down to the so called disco area and loud music to find no customers of the resort present only the entertainment staff dancing and sitting around listening the music. We asked them to turn down the music but they refused. On one occasion one of the staff who had clearly being drinking asked my wife if she would go get him some beer. We went the front desk and reported these matters and they refused to do anything only saying the music had to play till midnite. We were not the only ones complaining about the loud music, but nothing changed. The rooms are in needed of severe repairs. On most days if you wanted a shower around 5 or 6 pm, good luck on getting hot water. . I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely not ever be returning to this place. We will continue to come to Cuba, just not to Hotel Playa Coco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing really.
The weak points
The lack of respect shown by the front desk and customer service personnel. The disrepair of the rooms we were assigned. The food was the same each night, no variation in the food. Loud music throughout the resort till midnite each night.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-20
Dear Randy and Nicole, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

A tale of two resorts

, Seeleys Bay, ON
2020-01-24
Let me start by saying I paid next to nothing to stay for a week. Last minute deal...couldn't afford to stay home for what I paid. However, please remember (before the inevitable claims of 'whiner' start) the resort did not specify that it was going to give me a sub-standard room because I paid less. What I paid for the week shouldn't impact the service or room unless otherwise stated.

I've been to Cuba (specifically the Cayos) well over a dozen times and this resort ranks in the middle. The only real negative I had was corrected but it was enough of a concern to express.

After a 15-20 min. drive from the airport, we arrived at around 8:00 pm. Front desk staff was organized ( I wasn't sure how it would go as we booked so late). We were taken to our room and all was well, until we opened the door. Again, I've been to Cuba and have adjusted my expectations accordingly, but the smell of must was overwhelming. The dampness was very high. A/C was not working (to dry the air). No screen for patio door. Safe didn't work. Two twin beds. Two serviceable clothes hangers, no dresser, no water pressure...and exceedingly noisy when the nightly entertainment was on. This was in 2 block.

The next day my wife insisted that we move (the dampness negatively impacts my arthritis). After the expected run-around we were moved to a room in 7 block (renovated after the hurricane). A totally different experience. The distinctness put night and day to shame. The room was excellent. Clean, dry, adequate water pressure...you name it.

In my opinion, the resort should rebuild all the blocks to the same spec as the newer ones. The older ones (I heard complaints about blocks 2 and 3 the most) are bad enough to give the resort a real black eye.

As for the rest..great beach, two pools (one quiet and one activity), nice staff, grounds are well kept. Well stocked cigar bar, great gin/vodka bar (playing Zeppelin on the vid screen when I first entered...I was hooked). Gym was serviceable.

Only one snack bar...the fish and chips are very good. Not a great buffet (very repetitive)...again, I am comparing this to what I know about Cuba. The food was fine (best word I can think of the define it)--you will not starve. Japanese restaurant was very good. Italian restaurant wasn't the most Italiano, but the food was tasty.

Value for dollar: 5 out of 5
First impression 2 out of 5
Overall impression 3.5 out of 5

Would I pay full price? Not on your life
Would I go again at the same price? Guaranteed, as long as I got a decent room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price Asian restaurant, Beach, Staff
The weak points
Some rooms, Buffet, Lots of "we're out of that" or "mañana"
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-29
Dear Aggie, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

Wonderful Staff

, Kitchener, ON
2019-12-09
The staff made it enjoyable. Although the economy is struggling, they did the best possible to make our time wonderful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Economy
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-17
Au nom de tous les employés de l'hôtel Playa Coco, je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire vos expériences avec nous pendant les vacances. Vous dites que vous êtes ravi d'avoir découvert cet hôtel et croyez-moi, nous sommes plus qu'heureux de vous avoir rencontré et de savoir que vous avez de si bons souvenirs de votre séjour ici. Au plaisir de vous voir bientôt à l'hôtel. Cordialement,

Loco Playa Coco Family

, Lincoln, NB
2019-05-05
The crazy and amazing staff will be part of your family while you're there. Overall, we had a fantastic experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are amazing, they're so friendly and want to make your experience great. Beach is surreal, the sand is so soft and white. Tokyo restaurant (Japanese a la carte) is delicious, made it there twice for the fried rice with beef, chicken and tuna
The weak points
The sliding door isn't smooth on the tracks, a bit hard to pull, but that's very minor. We didn't bother getting the hair dryer fixed because it's hot enough as is that your hair with dry naturally. A bottle of water should be left in the room daily.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-14
Dear Jessica Lee, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated this small resort and our friendly staff. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards

Not a bad place to stay

, Fredericton, NB
2019-04-08
Reading all the reviews before leaving had me a bit worried but I was quite satisfied with what this place had to offer. Rooms were a good size and clean. We had a problem with the toilet on check-in (no water) so we went down to the lobby and within a half hour someone was there to fix it. Didn't have that problem again. Showers were not hot and not cold for the entire week. They were working on our buildings water system all week and by Friday there was plenty of hot water. Tried 3 A la Carte meals and the Japanese one was the best by far. Cuban was good but the Italian one was awful...could only eat the entrée salad and soup, lasagna was really not good and the tiramisu was dry and tasteless. Buffet wasn't too bad, we always found something to eat...some days were better than others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most beautiful beach I've seen in my travels. Coffee and the bars are excellent as usual.
The weak points
A bit quiet at night for my taste. There was no official entertainment at all during my week there. A la carte, stay away from the Italian one as other reviews have mentioned. Took two bites of the lasagna and started feeling sick and so did my sister.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Marc Pitre, Thank you for writing a review about your experience at our resort during your recent stay. It makes us very proud and comforting to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. Your remarks are very important to us and we are taking good note of them for improving our services every day. On behalf of our staff and management, we want to thank you for spreading the word at this important opinion site. Kind Regards

DONT STAY AT THIS RESORT!!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-25
GOOD - The beach is amazing. Ana our room maid was wonderful. Mercedes our buffet waitress was great. She even brought me a bowl of vinegar for my itchy sandfly bites. Met lots of people with similar complaints.
BAD- The front desk staff were all miserable and totally not accommodating .Only had one beach towel for both of us. Said they couldn't give us another one. Asked for a room change, no way. Asked for change said they couldn't even though they charge one peso for wifi so have lots of change. Buffet was very limited. not much choice. Beach restaurant offered hamburgers and hot dogs. All set up for a buffet but not being used. The rooms are in need of renovating. Mold and musty and SO damp. Toilet not always working. Showered for four days with COLD water. Bathrooms on resort need to be cleaned and most often no toilet paper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
read review
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Aggie, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

Hotel Review

, Orleans, ON
2019-03-23
Great week...service was beyond excellent...clean room..food was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service beyond excellent
The weak points
food same at salad bar..charge for lobster. 12 cuc
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear tc, We would like to express our deep appreciation for sharing your experience during your recent stay in Hotel Playa Coco. It's a pleasure to hear that you found our service excellent. It is a real pleasure as well to read that you appreciated our resort. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hotel Playa Coco. Sincerely

Hotel Playa Coco

, Tillsonburg, ON
2019-02-18
The resort is nice but the food is terrible! The room was comfortable and a nice size but it smelled like musty water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff and nice atmosphere.
The weak points
terrible food and smelly rooms and no toilet paper in the washrooms most of the time
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Bdemarest, I am sincerely sad to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us and would like to offer my sincere apologies. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the heads of department concerned in order to avoid any repetition. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when we would be honoured to be able to demonstrate another type of experience, more representative of our usual quality. Regards

Hola, I love Cuba

, Québec, QC
2019-02-03
Great resort ! Friendly staff ,I mean they are AWESOME !!! First trip to Cayo Coco and first time travelling solo but really was not ALONE. Beach parties OMG 18 sooo... sexy ! Beach is beautiful sometimes weeds appear but they do there best to remove them. Nice pools and great for the kids . I saw many smiles on their faces. ENTERTAINMENT is the BEST I've seen so far in Cuba ...Will be back !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ENTERTAINMENT , cool disco bar outside the resort with beautiful people from all the surrounding hotels ...GREAT NIGHT ! Go Bubbles Go !
The weak points
Hot water ...what's that ! Luke-warm to cold water ...REALLY !!! Boiled my water in the coffee machine to shave ...I LOVE CUBA
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Steve, Thank you for your nice review. It is a pleasure to learn that your experience at Hotel Playa Coco was "Great". We are thrilled to hear you had a good time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024