Hotel Playa Coco

Hotel Playa Coco
3.283.283.283.283.28
3.28 based on 806 reviews
#17 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (224)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Friends make the difference

, Woodstock, ON
2020-03-04
The staff was not the friendliest. If a local walked in they attended to them first, or ignored you and kept talking with the locals.
There was only cool water for showers, not even warm water. Seem to be an on going problem that one cares to fix.
Animation was talking very fast, no English, only Spanish. Bass at performances was way too loud. They did the same style every night. No variety in shows.
Food lots of time they did not have things on the menu for al a cartes. Or not exactly as stated. I realize that is part of going to Cuba. Food okay.
Best thing about whole trip was the people we went with.
Front desk not helpful. I needed a bottle of water because staff did not leave in my room. Was given run around, finally after making some noise, she went into back room, and gave me a bottle. No idea why it had to be so difficult to get a basic need....water.
No face clothes in bathrooms.
Our room staff not always remembering to do things in the room...water, towel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Had a great time with friends. In building 7. Best view of pool and ocean. Clean building.
The weak points
no warm water, unfriendly staff, animation was too loud of bass and no English
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-09
Dear Anthony, Thank you for your review on Monarc, which obviously raised a big concern to us and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. It is essential that each guest enjoy a pleasant stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the departments concerned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when we would be honoured to be able to demonstrate another type of experience, more representative of our usual quality. Kind Regards

Hotel Playa Coco

, Woodstock, ON
2020-03-04
We arrived the first night and were given a room that nothing worked in, safe did not work, toilet did not flush, no locks on patio doors, etc. Were switched after we complained twice. No hot water all week, rarely toilet paper in the public washrooms. Having been to a different resort in Cuba previously this did not meet our expectations and we would not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Majority of staff are great, Liber is the best bartender/waiter in the place.
The weak points
-Bad rooms, no hot water, 50% of the bar tenders and waiters don't but booze in the drinks. Staff don't care unless you tip.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-09
Dear client: Thank you for choosing Hotel Playa Coco for your vacations and posting your experience on Monarc page. Its well appreciate it as it encourages us to work harder and to know your opinion which help us focus on the issues and improve our business. We will discuss what you mentioned and corrective actiosn will be taken to avoid the same situation from happening again. I can assure you we are fully committed to provide quality services beyond our guests experactations and we are sorry we couldnt fullfil yours in this ocassion. All our guests matters to us, as our main goal is to make you all gome homes satisfied. Kind Regards

Too many issues

, Burlington, ON
2020-02-21
Honestly, it's far from 4star. Especially service.
We got 1 level of building 4 and it terrible - smell, humid, condition, scratches, some broken stuff and so on.. It took us 2 days jumping around reception, plus gifts, of cause, to move to 3 floor which was much better, some small problems, but it's ok.
ROOM SERVICE
This is funny. No linens were changed during a week??? Some days problem with towels also. In the fridge they supplied only drinking water and not every day.
FOOD Average like pretty much everywhere in Cuba, but you can find something to eat. First day I found even orange juice - all other days some sort of beverage.
I wouldn't recommend any of a'la cart, so to speak, restaurants. It's for fun not for drink or eat. Even Japanese ( fried rice, some chicken and meat - THAT'S IT, ENJOY), plus some noise and flame, which didn't help, of cause.
NO TONIC FOR ALL WEEK - so if you like jin tonic - drink jin with lemonade and enjoy..
BEACH Ocean and beach are pretty good, though there're some stones on the west end of the beach, plus most of sheslongs are old and dirty, plus garbage containers were overfilled all week with plastic stuff around them and guys were so busy to clean them. BUT A LOT OF MUSIC! Disc jockey started screaming, vauing, chanting like crazy non sto p from 10am to 12:30 even 1PM. All with the max volume and you can't hide from this..
So ENJOY! At the evening btw, loud music started 8pm up to 10:30 with very hard bass low frequency, which you can't avoid also.
ANIMATION is good, no questions
DRINKS Good variety of rum, some whiskey (I didn't try). Pina colada could be pretty good, could be not at all, depending of barmen mood, tips and so on. Espresso could be a real garbage, if you're not lucky to be the first person in the row for the charge.
And the lobby chairs and cushetts just terrible - old, uncomfortable and worn out.
The worst I saw in Cuba.
I may continue, but if you start drinking after breakfast, all these small problems became not yours. Good luck.
All in all I think this is the 3stars, no more. And they don't care. They said : "You don't like it - another guys will like it".
This is funny! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean itself, show and rooms are pretty spacious.
The weak points
Room service, restaurants.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-28
Dear Navigator45649547589: First of all we would like to thank you for your comments on Monarc, even if you point out negative issues about the hotel and even if we desagree with you in several aspects, we understand that you have the right to express yourself in the way you want according to your experiences and ways of feeling, as we told you on your other comment. We are very sorry that your stay has not been what you expected or everything that our team would like it to be. We assure you that we pay adequate attention to these issues and corrective measures are being taken to avoid that kind of situation again. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Best Regards,

Beach is great room sucked

, Martensville, SK
2020-02-08
The beaches were amazing, food was pretty awesome, staff was amazing beside the front desk. Our room had the worst smell as well as black mold all over. The bathroom ceiling was leaking all over the bathtub and the bathroom sink and our toilet only worked half the time. the room was horrible, also we asked twice to moved and they never did, stated they had no rooms open. Was not happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff overall was great. Beaches were amazing
The weak points
The room was disgusting and smelt horrible and had black mold. they would not change us rooms we asked twice.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-13
Dear client, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

Will Not ever return to this Hotel!

, Burlington, ON
2020-02-01
We have stayed at this hotel on 3 previous occasions over the past few years. We returned this time with our two grandchildren and our daughter and son-in-law. Only to find the hotel has declined from what it once was. Most of the staff worked hard but you can only work with what you are given to work with. The front desk staff and customer service people, unfortunately these people have no idea how to handle complaints. Each night the music coming from the entertainment tent in the middle of the complex was so loud our doors were vibrating. Our grandkids could not get to sleep for the noise. When we called down to desk around 11 pm, we where told the music had to be played till midnite. This went on each night and each night we would complain at the time and the next day to the customer service people and we were told they would speak to the entertainment people. This did not change anything. On three separate occasions we went down to the so called disco area and loud music to find no customers of the resort present only the entertainment staff dancing and sitting around listening the music. We asked them to turn down the music but they refused. On one occasion one of the staff who had clearly being drinking asked my wife if she would go get him some beer. We went the front desk and reported these matters and they refused to do anything only saying the music had to play till midnite. We were not the only ones complaining about the loud music, but nothing changed. The rooms are in needed of severe repairs. On most days if you wanted a shower around 5 or 6 pm, good luck on getting hot water. . I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely not ever be returning to this place. We will continue to come to Cuba, just not to Hotel Playa Coco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing really.
The weak points
The lack of respect shown by the front desk and customer service personnel. The disrepair of the rooms we were assigned. The food was the same each night, no variation in the food. Loud music throughout the resort till midnite each night.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-20
Dear Randy and Nicole, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

A tale of two resorts

, Seeleys Bay, ON
2020-01-24
Let me start by saying I paid next to nothing to stay for a week. Last minute deal...couldn't afford to stay home for what I paid. However, please remember (before the inevitable claims of 'whiner' start) the resort did not specify that it was going to give me a sub-standard room because I paid less. What I paid for the week shouldn't impact the service or room unless otherwise stated.

I've been to Cuba (specifically the Cayos) well over a dozen times and this resort ranks in the middle. The only real negative I had was corrected but it was enough of a concern to express.

After a 15-20 min. drive from the airport, we arrived at around 8:00 pm. Front desk staff was organized ( I wasn't sure how it would go as we booked so late). We were taken to our room and all was well, until we opened the door. Again, I've been to Cuba and have adjusted my expectations accordingly, but the smell of must was overwhelming. The dampness was very high. A/C was not working (to dry the air). No screen for patio door. Safe didn't work. Two twin beds. Two serviceable clothes hangers, no dresser, no water pressure...and exceedingly noisy when the nightly entertainment was on. This was in 2 block.

The next day my wife insisted that we move (the dampness negatively impacts my arthritis). After the expected run-around we were moved to a room in 7 block (renovated after the hurricane). A totally different experience. The distinctness put night and day to shame. The room was excellent. Clean, dry, adequate water pressure...you name it.

In my opinion, the resort should rebuild all the blocks to the same spec as the newer ones. The older ones (I heard complaints about blocks 2 and 3 the most) are bad enough to give the resort a real black eye.

As for the rest..great beach, two pools (one quiet and one activity), nice staff, grounds are well kept. Well stocked cigar bar, great gin/vodka bar (playing Zeppelin on the vid screen when I first entered...I was hooked). Gym was serviceable.

Only one snack bar...the fish and chips are very good. Not a great buffet (very repetitive)...again, I am comparing this to what I know about Cuba. The food was fine (best word I can think of the define it)--you will not starve. Japanese restaurant was very good. Italian restaurant wasn't the most Italiano, but the food was tasty.

Value for dollar: 5 out of 5
First impression 2 out of 5
Overall impression 3.5 out of 5

Would I pay full price? Not on your life
Would I go again at the same price? Guaranteed, as long as I got a decent room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price Asian restaurant, Beach, Staff
The weak points
Some rooms, Buffet, Lots of "we're out of that" or "mañana"
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-29
Dear Aggie, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

Wonderful Staff

, Kitchener, ON
2019-12-09
The staff made it enjoyable. Although the economy is struggling, they did the best possible to make our time wonderful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Economy
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-17
Au nom de tous les employés de l'hôtel Playa Coco, je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire vos expériences avec nous pendant les vacances. Vous dites que vous êtes ravi d'avoir découvert cet hôtel et croyez-moi, nous sommes plus qu'heureux de vous avoir rencontré et de savoir que vous avez de si bons souvenirs de votre séjour ici. Au plaisir de vous voir bientôt à l'hôtel. Cordialement,

Loco Playa Coco Family

, Lincoln, NB
2019-05-05
The crazy and amazing staff will be part of your family while you're there. Overall, we had a fantastic experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are amazing, they're so friendly and want to make your experience great. Beach is surreal, the sand is so soft and white. Tokyo restaurant (Japanese a la carte) is delicious, made it there twice for the fried rice with beef, chicken and tuna
The weak points
The sliding door isn't smooth on the tracks, a bit hard to pull, but that's very minor. We didn't bother getting the hair dryer fixed because it's hot enough as is that your hair with dry naturally. A bottle of water should be left in the room daily.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-14
Dear Jessica Lee, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated this small resort and our friendly staff. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards

Not a bad place to stay

, Fredericton, NB
2019-04-08
Reading all the reviews before leaving had me a bit worried but I was quite satisfied with what this place had to offer. Rooms were a good size and clean. We had a problem with the toilet on check-in (no water) so we went down to the lobby and within a half hour someone was there to fix it. Didn't have that problem again. Showers were not hot and not cold for the entire week. They were working on our buildings water system all week and by Friday there was plenty of hot water. Tried 3 A la Carte meals and the Japanese one was the best by far. Cuban was good but the Italian one was awful...could only eat the entrée salad and soup, lasagna was really not good and the tiramisu was dry and tasteless. Buffet wasn't too bad, we always found something to eat...some days were better than others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most beautiful beach I've seen in my travels. Coffee and the bars are excellent as usual.
The weak points
A bit quiet at night for my taste. There was no official entertainment at all during my week there. A la carte, stay away from the Italian one as other reviews have mentioned. Took two bites of the lasagna and started feeling sick and so did my sister.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Marc Pitre, Thank you for writing a review about your experience at our resort during your recent stay. It makes us very proud and comforting to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. Your remarks are very important to us and we are taking good note of them for improving our services every day. On behalf of our staff and management, we want to thank you for spreading the word at this important opinion site. Kind Regards

DONT STAY AT THIS RESORT!!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-25
GOOD - The beach is amazing. Ana our room maid was wonderful. Mercedes our buffet waitress was great. She even brought me a bowl of vinegar for my itchy sandfly bites. Met lots of people with similar complaints.
BAD- The front desk staff were all miserable and totally not accommodating .Only had one beach towel for both of us. Said they couldn't give us another one. Asked for a room change, no way. Asked for change said they couldn't even though they charge one peso for wifi so have lots of change. Buffet was very limited. not much choice. Beach restaurant offered hamburgers and hot dogs. All set up for a buffet but not being used. The rooms are in need of renovating. Mold and musty and SO damp. Toilet not always working. Showered for four days with COLD water. Bathrooms on resort need to be cleaned and most often no toilet paper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
read review
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Aggie, Thank you for your recent review on this site which obviously raised a big concern to me and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your Cuban sojourn. It is essential that each guest enjoy a restful stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and I dearly hope that they can still be accepted. Rest assured that I have already reviewed each point you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the department concerned. Sincerely,

Hotel Review

, Orleans, ON
2019-03-23
Great week...service was beyond excellent...clean room..food was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service beyond excellent
The weak points
food same at salad bar..charge for lobster. 12 cuc
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear tc, We would like to express our deep appreciation for sharing your experience during your recent stay in Hotel Playa Coco. It's a pleasure to hear that you found our service excellent. It is a real pleasure as well to read that you appreciated our resort. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hotel Playa Coco. Sincerely

Hotel Playa Coco

, Tillsonburg, ON
2019-02-18
The resort is nice but the food is terrible! The room was comfortable and a nice size but it smelled like musty water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff and nice atmosphere.
The weak points
terrible food and smelly rooms and no toilet paper in the washrooms most of the time
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Bdemarest, I am sincerely sad to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us and would like to offer my sincere apologies. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the heads of department concerned in order to avoid any repetition. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when we would be honoured to be able to demonstrate another type of experience, more representative of our usual quality. Regards

Hola, I love Cuba

, Québec, QC
2019-02-03
Great resort ! Friendly staff ,I mean they are AWESOME !!! First trip to Cayo Coco and first time travelling solo but really was not ALONE. Beach parties OMG 18 sooo... sexy ! Beach is beautiful sometimes weeds appear but they do there best to remove them. Nice pools and great for the kids . I saw many smiles on their faces. ENTERTAINMENT is the BEST I've seen so far in Cuba ...Will be back !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ENTERTAINMENT , cool disco bar outside the resort with beautiful people from all the surrounding hotels ...GREAT NIGHT ! Go Bubbles Go !
The weak points
Hot water ...what's that ! Luke-warm to cold water ...REALLY !!! Boiled my water in the coffee machine to shave ...I LOVE CUBA
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Steve, Thank you for your nice review. It is a pleasure to learn that your experience at Hotel Playa Coco was "Great". We are thrilled to hear you had a good time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards

Hotel Playa coco

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-01
We enjoy week at this hotel. Amenities staff beach food all good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is great staff pleasant and accommodating
The weak points
Not sure what happened with wet bed sheets. .other guests had the same problem. .first time in 10 yrs couldn't watch any Canadian TV ..choice of cartoon music videos and discovery Channel. ..bit odd
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to post on this web site after your recent stay at the Hotel Playa Coco. I was delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your Cuban stay with us and especially our beach. I do look forward to welcoming you back with us on your next visit to Cuba. Sincerely

Great staff, awesome beach!

, Halifax, NS
2019-02-01
This was my 2nd stay at Playa - came back for the amazing beach, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, and I was not disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is the best, so pretty and kept clean. Bar staff keep the drinks coming.
The weak points
They are having issues with laundry, so same beach towel all week; Shower water only lukewarm. However, these are just observations, not complaints.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Wendy Schwartz, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Hotel Playa Coco

, Lloydminster, SK
2019-02-01
This seemed like a great place to vacation upon viewing their website . A 4 star rated hotel with a beautiful pool area and a beautiful beach . Once we arrived , we checked into our room and was greeted by a gorgeous view of the ocean , but that is where the beauty ended . We had a ground level room , there was no screen door on the patio , odd for a beach resort , especially a ground level room . It was dirty inside !! Black mold in the bathroom , a dirty , stained shower curtain , and absolutely no hot water in the resort !! There were army ants in every corner of the room as well as spiders in the ceiling grooves , even Raid didn't seem to kill them . We found large cockroaches everywhere , and our front door had a huge gap at the bottom , allowing anything and everything to crawl in . We couldn't get bottled water or coffee in our room , not to mention clean towels !! The 2 times our sheets were changed , we were given wet sheets , and no top sheet at all . The food was substandard at best , even found crab legs in some kind of sauce at the buffet and the crab was black , rotten seafood !!!! Most of what was offered was what could only be described as Mystery Food . Nothing was labeled and everything was cold , absolutely disgusting !! Even the restaurants that required a reservation were disappointing at best . At the so called Italian restaurant , we arrived about 20 minutes early and were told in no uncertain terms and rudely at that , to come back in 20 minutes because our table wasn't ready . The place had 3 tables of customers and was 3/4 empty at the time . We almost didn't bother coming back because of the rudeness of the hostess . We went and had a drink and came back at 8 pm . We both ordered soup and the garlic shrimp pasta . The minestrone soup was terrible , and the seafood soup was a bowl of greenish brown broth with one tiny piece of something indistinguishable floating in it !! . The BBQ restaurant was even worse , both ordered ribs and when it showed up , we each had 2 short ribs on our plates , that had been deep fried , not bbq'd !! We ate the little ribs and walked out . While at the resort my fiancé began being bitten all over , she had over 100 bites on her legs alone , even Off and mosquito coils weren't keeping them at bay . We kept spraying the room with Raid and they kept coming . After 6 days , the drink ring on the table still had not been wiped , nor had any of the nightstands been wiped down . We finally contacted our airline agent and asked to be moved to a different resort . We will never go back to Hotel Playa Coco !! I advise anyone who does , to bring plenty of Benadryl , Calamine lotion , bug spray and Raid , as well as Pepto Tablets and maybe some cleaning supplies !! The first time in Cuba and a HUGE disappointment !! 4 stars ??? Maybe a 2 star resort at best . Clean up your act and hire and train some decent cooks and staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Daniel, I am sincerely sad to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us and would like to offer my sincere apologies. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the heads of department concerned in order to avoid any repetition. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when we would be honoured to be able to demonstrate another type of experience, more representative of our usual quality. With kind regards,

Another Great Vacation at HPC

, White Lake, ON
2018-08-26
The Hotel Playa Coco is our "go to" place for vacations at any time of the year. Since we have been going there (6 times since 2010) we have become like family with a number of the staff and are always treated well. We have tried 3 other resorts in Cuba (in Holguin, Santa Maria and Caya Coco) but we have now decided the HPC is the only resort we will go to.

Although the resort is not perfect (nothing is) they are improving and we have seen positive changes over the years, e.g, the food has gotten better, addition of the new beach bar/restaurant.

I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to my family and friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are the greatest. The beach. Value The new beach bar/restaurant Not too large, easy to get to everything.
The weak points
Not many. The only complaint is that they are sometimes slow in fixing problems. Our sliding patio door was very hard to open and although the problem reported, it wasn't fixed while we were there.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Tom Hall, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Vacation

, London, ON
2018-02-02
The staff were wonderful, our room was great.
The hotel is recuperating from the devastating hurricane last fall so we were impressed by the way things are being done to bring things back to the way they were or upgraded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendly and very helpful
The weak points
Wed to better handle the way bottled drinking water is supplied to rooms
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Clarence Rogers, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Playa Coco

, Halifax, NS
2017-05-06
When you arrive you are greeted by the friendliest people and a homelike atmosphere...the rooms are clean and welcoming..the food is amazing ..the whole resort is welcoming...the staff made me feel welcome as did other visitors..I have made friends there that will continue to be in contact with..even at leaving staff came to the bus to say goodbye..I can't wait to return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff,friendliness and cleanliness..food and beaches
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Merrie Hebb, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Good Time

, Grimsby, ON
2017-04-20
We had another great vacation April 1 to 8 2017, room 9306. They have made a lot of upgrades to the rooms since our last visit. They were also expanding and continuing doing other renovations.

If you want an ocean view you need to be in buildings 4, 5 or 9 third for to make sure.

The food in the buffet has improved. But it is typical for Cuba. The selection is not as big as other Cuban resorts. But it is still good. We had turkey one night. Henry was an excellent server. They seemed to have a lot of students working in the buffet. Maybe it was because it was the start of slow season. Rosie was an excellent student waitress. If you did not know you would have thought she was a regular.

The Japanese is a must and Julio did an excellent job of cooking. The Italian was also good. We did not do the Seafood.

The Beer GardenSnack Bar offered pub style food 247. They also had a grill by the pool and Johnny was great.

They have a nice ice cream parlour for kids old and young.

There are restaurants at and by the beach. But we really did not frequent them enough to comment.

Taimy, Yosley and occasionally Mike provide excellent service at the swim up bar. The lobby bartenders were great too. The evening bartenders (Alex and Alain and Michel and Yasbel) alternate days as they work 16 hours from 3:00 p.m. until 7:00 a.m.

It was great to see George back after being sick. He worked in the wine bar. He was also one of the main reasons we chose to return to this resort.

The day time activity staff did an excellent job to get tourist to join in. The night time entertainment was hit or miss for us. They had a great rock band.

On the down side, it the resort needs to keep the pools cleaner. There were algae on the walls and we never saw them clean the swim up bar pool.

The grounds need to be kept cleaner as unfortunately tourist think nothing of discarding or leaving garbage around.

Cayo Coco has a lot of no seeums on the beach. But they need to do something about them by the lobby bar.

Misael is a great piano player. But if you do not tip him money he will snub you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All staff were excellent. A la cartes were great. Everything is close.
The weak points
Public washrooms need attention regularly. Not as much choice in buffet.

O No Hotel Playa Coco

, Brampton, ON
2017-03-19
Been in Cuba 4 other times this resort by far had the worst food .Also not enough of staff that understood English considering that 80 percent of guests where. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and chamber maids
The weak points
Not enough variety at buffet,front lobby bar ran out of product to mix drink every night.
Certified

Mixed Feelings

, Hawkesbury, ON
2017-01-22
Hotel services were better than average. Both of us became sick at the beginning of the vacation (from something we ate when we got there) so it put a damper on the trip. Activities appeared to be directed at under 40 crowd, if you were over 40 it was stay in your rocking chair and wait for the Bingo. A la Carte restaurants were amazing however the Buffet was a disappointment as food was warm at best and if you went to the carveries the meat was generally under cooked. Snack bars were a great alternative to the Buffet.
Room maid was the best we've ever had from room cleaning to towel art and she was fantastic. We were on the ground floor of building 9 and the shower ceiling was leaking water when the occupants above were having showers. We reported this to the front desk when checking out so hopefully they'll have fixed the problem. We had water issues during the week with no water at all and slow to no water for toilet. We reported these to the front desk and the issues were resolved immediately. We noticed ants in the room our last day.
They advertise computer workstations for use by the visitors but they were not available to us when we were there. They said the PCs were broken. Hopefully the theater will be completed soon because the lobby location didn't work for evening shows [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Maid was the best ever. A la Carte restaurants.
The weak points
Activities for over 40 crowd didn't exist. Buffet needs a better heating solution.
Certified

AMAZING

, Woodbridge, ON
2016-12-20
absolutely the best place to go. the people are amazing and the food is the best. for sure the nicest beach on a resort in cayo coco [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, beach, bartenders/drinks
The weak points
many renovations AT THE TIME so no shows
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Sofia, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Good vacation

, Brampton, ON
2016-12-19
We are travelling to the south to enjoy the ocean water. So for us it was a very very good choice. And we were happy with the stay at the hotel too. It was not perfect, but overall very pleasant. We don't expect much, just decent conditions, and we had them. The food was good, breakfast excellent, creamy cakes amazing, good ice creams. Nice swimming pools too. Overall clean, just some minor issues now and them, especially outside the room. Good air conditioning when needed. Some bugs problems, but only two days from 10, and just because we sat to close to some trees, shady, area, under an umbrela. Good beach grill, beach restaurant had excellent food. Well spent money and time!!
Some water sport for free and excellent spot to enjoy them. We didn't use Internet, Wi Fi so I don't know how they work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach(water site) amazing. Food good. Clean rooms. Pleasant staff. Good swimming pool.
The weak points
Some minor cleanness around the hotel, easy to solve, but they were there. Beach site (sandy part) could be a little bit more pleasant.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Judit, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Can't wait to return!!

, Calgary, AB
2016-11-14
Beautiful, big and white sand beach!! Very friendly staff & great service !! The food is very tasty !! Resort is under renovation and looks very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
lovely staff, beautiful beach,tasty food, location.
The weak points
no water sports (kayaks, water bikes)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Ewa, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

We love the Playa Coco

, Whitel Lake, HA
2016-11-07
This was our 6th trip to Cuba and our third staying at the Playa Coco.

All our trips to Cuba have been pleasurable, except one (at a different hotel) but that was because we visited a week after a hurricane had gone through so it was understandable that things were in a bit of a mess and not as organized as usual.

Having tried other areas and resorts in Cuba we have now decided that all our future trips will be to Cayo Coco and our stays at the Playa Coco.

We have gotten to know many of the staff at the Playa Coco. The nicest thing is that they remembered us and came running to great us, by name, with a big hug and kiss on each of our return visits.

We found all of the staff to be very friendly and attentive to ensuring that we enjoyed our stays.

For my wife and I the best part of the Playa Coco is that it isn't too large, which means it is easy to get around without having to walk for ever. The rooms are close to all amenities, i.e. the beach, the buffet, the a la cartes, etc. This also means that we have never experienced long waits at the buffet.

We do not hesitate to recommend the Playa Coco to anyone who wishes to have an enjoyable, relaxing vacation by the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely the friendliness of the staff Ease of getting around the resort.
The weak points
There is always going to be somethings that could be improved, no matter where in the world you travel to. The few things I noticed at the Playa Coco aren't worth listing as they did not impact on us have a wonderful vacation.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-22
Dear Thomas, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback, further to your stay at Hotel Playa Coco. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the resort but more importantly, that our team was able to make a difference and create a unique experience for you. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, whose aim is to satisfy each guest's preferences and needs. Kind Regards

Cayo coco

, Burlington, ON
2016-09-25
Very quiet and a bit run down but clean. The staff is the hotels biggest asset [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and beach
The weak points
A little run down needs freshening up with a coat of paint and a power washer
Certified

Great resort

, Hamilton, ON
2016-08-09
-great people
-great food
-great booze
-minion and lugigi and leo are the best entertainers
-overall awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Perfect for me

, Aurora, ON
2016-04-25
This place was quiet, but had activities and a nighttime show every night, if you wanted to go. I didn't and it was all over by 10pm every night so nice and quiet, which was exactly what I went on vacation for. This was my first trip to Cuba and I was warned about the food. I don't know why, it was fine. Lots of options and very tasty. I never got sick once. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Check out
Certified

Ok

, St. Francois, NB
2016-03-25
we didnt like the room the first ut us in so the next day they gave us a better room but then the air conditoner didnt work the toilet never flushed it smelled bad there was never toilet paper and there was always poop in the toilet we will never go there again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the workers are nice
The weak points
same entertainmentevry night very dirty and smelly
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-26
Dear Cindy, I am sincerely sad to learn of your disappointment following your stay with us and would like to offer my sincere apologies. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the heads of department concerned in order to avoid any repetition. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when we would be honoured to be able to demonstrate another type of experience, more representative of our usual quality. With kind regards,

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020