Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo

Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo
3.643.643.643.643.64
3.64 based on 160 reviews
#13 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (171)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

February holiday with 12 people

, Orangeville, ON
2020-03-04
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very very busy and the staff seemed to be working very hard to keep everyone happy. There was a few times people in our group were served raw chicken. But we always cut and checked our meat before we ate. The beaches are beautiful. Our room was always nice and clean..this is actually the first resort that I smelt the cleaning solution when I opened my door everyday! I enjoyed my stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms are nice and clean and the food had a very good variety! The resort is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly.
The weak points
The hotel was very busy and the workers are working so hard to make everyone happy, so to me they seemed very understaffed for how busy it was. The layout in the buffet is very poor....the lines for the cooked food goes in front of the buffet food.
Certified

Great spot for the Money

, Limoges, ON
2020-03-02
Went for 1 week and had a great time , the resort is fairly new so still in good shape, the food is typical for Cuba we had some very nice meals and never went hungry. The beach and pools were great we would visit this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms are excellent, spacious washroom with rainfall shower, we never ran out of hot water. Food is plentiful , but can get busy at the Buffett you need to go early to avoid the rush, the a la cartes were very good, as was the entertainment.
The weak points
Buffett not laid out well, when it is busy the lines for the three chefs stations block off the buffet lines , the beach does have seaweed that blows in , it is cleaned up daily not a big deal for me .
Certified

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-27
Nice rooms, fast service at the reception and beach bar, the main restaurant was slower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

4 star at the best

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-26
Nice looking resort, that's all the good.
Food is 3 star.
Service is 3 star as well.
Unless it's low price go somewhere else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pools
The weak points
Food and servic
Certified

Stay Away

, Brantford, ON
2020-02-08
Worst Resort Ever!!

Very Dirty. Bugs in the rooms and beds. Food is awful and unsafe to eat. Nothing in the room worked. Reported our broken TV to the front desk and a week later they say we have to Pay $4000 US or they will detain us on the island?? I went to prison not on vacation. Managers steal tips from the staff!!!

Everything was just so bad. Not a safe place to be. Move resorts if you still can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Grand Muth Review

, East St Paul, MB
2020-02-03
We were at the Grand Mutu Cayo Guillermo for 7 days. The resort is very secluded no town or flea markets within walking distance. The physical hotel, pools, & lobby are very nice. Thats where the "niceness" stops though. 90% of the staff are rude and make you feel like you are bothering them when you ask for something. Not polite, not accommodating, and not reliable. You ask for something, they say they'll go get it but never return. The only staff there "happy" to serve are the ones who get tipped heavily everyday. We tipped staff roughly $30 a day and the next day they didn't even acknowledge us. Ive been to Cuba numerous times and the food as everyone knows is mediocre at best. But this hotel out of all Ive been to is the worst in terms of quality and selection. Im not sure how these standards qualify for a 4.5 star resort. Also we lost power for nearly 20hrs one day. Also 3 of us got sick for 3 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Physical hotel, pools & lobby very nice.
The weak points
Staff very rude, not accommodating. To receive good polite service you have to tip. I THOUGHT TIPS WERE INCLUDED IN THE PRICE!?!? Food was very poor in quality & selection. No theme nights. Same poor food everyeveryday. Lost power for almost 20 hrs.
Certified

Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo

, Laval, QC
2020-01-26
Beautiful resort , amazing staff starting the housekeepers, the gardeners, the cookers, the managements and specifically the best entertainers and the bartenders. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
Certified

Great Week at Grand Muthu!!

, Killarney, MB
2020-01-20
We traveled to Cayo Guillermo as a family of 4, two girls age 3 & 5. Our stay was really good. This was our first trip to Cuba, but I would say the hotel itself is average to above average, things seem to be fairly well maintained. The grounds are very well kept. There is some things you can tell are showing some age, but nothing that would affect your stay. I would say a good pressure wash for the pool area would be well worth it. Food was "meh", however you will not go hungry & can always find something. The A la Carte restaurants are quite good, with excellent service. That being said, buffet service is very good as well. All staff are excellent, they will go out of their way to help you in anyway & get you whatever you need. Entertainment staff is fantastic, very friendly & upbeat, always smiling & inviting you to participate in the activities, our girls loved them all. Beach was excellent, helpful chair attendants there as well. Unfortunately, it was quite windy while we were there, but that is not the hotel or staffs fault. Maybe would be nice to have a pool out of the wind a bit as the ones they do have are right off the ocean, which provide an AMAZING view, but little relief from the wind. We did not use the Kids Club so I cannot comment on that. We did attend the kids shows in the evening with those staff though & they were great! On that note, evening shows were really good, very talented dancers that you can tell work very hard! Stage design was new each night & always very fitted to the theme & well done. Overall, I would recommend this place to friends, I feel we got good value for the price we paid. Oh & the ride from the airport was quick! 25 mins on arrival, 40 mins on return (depends on how many stops you have to make I guess). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Staff are fantastic, beautiful grounds, very nice beach & pool is nice as well (clean, nice layout, etc), Excellent evening shows.
The weak points
No pool area out of the wind. Food at buffet & snack bar got old fast.
Certified

Great place but lacks 5 star service ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-19
2nd time here in last 2 1/2 months, was next door at the adult only 7 months ago. Reason for coming here the last 2 times is beach is 10x better then adult (imperial) Resort is very nice and new !
Best Indian food your ever going to eat ( Indian spice restaurant) Small beds , but best beds you will find in Cuba ( ask for king ) Bring your Bubba, No service on beach or around pool! This is really my only big complaint. I know it's not that big of a deal , I would like to do it for the tips!!! 100s of people sitting/laying around pools and beaches . EZ Money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- ROOMS are the best in Cuba - 4/5 buffet - 4.5/ 5 Italian Restaurant -3/5 seafood restaurant -5/5 Indian Restaurant, can't stress it enough... if you like Indian food , book this place as much as possible! Had the lobster at Imperial Staff
The weak points
I hate to write this again, but for a 5 star you should have more service or some on beach and pool area Plus have someone empty garbage cans.... it's kind of a game to see if you can put on more piece on pile that doesn't collapse ! Management
Certified

Antisanitary conditions

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-30
The hotel has spacious rooms and sea view from most of the suits.
The beach is gorgeous. It's located on an island in nature reserve 500km from Havana.
The food is horrible and served in anti-sanitary conditions. My wife and daughter both got food poisoning so my wife could not sleep for 3 days and my daughter required medical attentions. If you decide to book vacation at this hotel stay of the dairy, pasta and fish products. The chicken and white rice is usually safe. This BTW is the medical advice given to us by the hotel doctor when we went to see her after our daughter got fever, diarrhea and stomach pain that lasted for 3 days.

The special restaurants that are there are not worth it, serve the same horrible stuff as the buffet.

The general level of service is below any reasonable standard and does not meet 4/5 star rating. There are long lines everywhere and ridiculous limitations like only one, 1.5L bottle of water per room per day.

The suit was reasonable, except that shower was leaking so the whole room was flooded each time we used it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach.
The weak points
Everything else.
Certified

Horrible

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-30
12th trip to Cuba, we enjoy the country obviously. This resort was atrocious to say the least. Our family tried to see the bright side while there and asked each other to come up with 3 positives, we couldn't. Sorry/not sorry but this won't be a positive review. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool is nice but not enough chairs. Not enough characters for negative- People have to circle like vultures for pool chairs and jump when one becomes available. Beach party until 2am was a nightmare!!!! The bed situation makes you want some money back!!
The weak points
Double bed? 1 bed 1 outdoor furniture with 2 thin cushions. Ants in room. Shower leaks everywhere. All food cold. Hour wait for a pizza. Tiny Buffet, you can't move. No pasta station. Beach not dragged to remove seaweed. Disgruntled staff.
Certified

Girls Trip 2019

, Yorkton, SK
2019-12-22
Seven Saskatchewan girls travelled and spent our holiday here, as friends and family. We had an amazing time! Had new experiences, made new friends, and overall, took in some relaxation from our very busy, stressful lives. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools are beautiful! Close to Pilar Beach which is breathtaking. Market is super close, with the spa - a great place to relax. Grounds and facilities are immaculate, rooms are modern and spacious.
The weak points
Food! I have travelled in Cuba many times, and this was by far the worst. Each and every one of us got sick. Some more than others. But wow! Not good. Seemed like drinks were watered down. Some bars, WAY too much alcohol and others, seemed very little.
Certified

Grand mutha experience

, Port Colborne, ON
2019-11-26
Just got back from the grand mutha overall good time would I return probably not for these reasons the food was cold at the buffet not sure why the hot plates weren't turned on we only ate the foods that had to be prepared fresh as for the coffee omg watered down was awful the room's we're nice comfortable beach the staff mostly friendly except at the snack bar the ladies weren't very friendly ala carte restaurant had very little choices and again food was not hot the beach was nice this hotel needs to be managed better as they nickel and dime you if you want anything like the towel deposit you have to convert your money and when you return the towel they convert it back lol loss of about 15% when asked why they reply hotel policy asked if they do anything for birthdays yes for decoration of door with balloons and streamers $20us lol free at all resorts I've been to in conclusion the food is the biggest issue here and some of it's staffing very rude [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms comfortable bed bartenders very friendly and know what they are doing
The weak points
Service cold food watered down coffee

Paradise on earth!

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-13
We came as a family from November 2nd to 9th, 2019. We had an amazing time! Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff, beautiful beach, gorgeous pool. Very modern rooms with comfortable beds. We will come back :)) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness Amenities Staff Pool Beach
The weak points
Food was good but not excellent, even at restaurants. For a 5 stars hotel we would have expected better quality. If you travel with teenagers, 1 room for 4 is a little bit small as the sofa bed cannot fit 2 adults nor 2 teenagers,
Certified

Clean small resort

, Scoudouc, HA
2019-11-12
We have travelled quite a lot in Cuba. Nice hotel with beautiful grounds, friendly staff in every department. Would have loved to have a little more choices for lunch, don't usually do buffet for lunch. Only had the snack bar with very limited items to choose from (5 items). So in my opinion could have been prepared well, was usually overdone or underdone. Pool and gardens were great. Very wide beach with warm water. Just cant get over the abundance of plastic garbage all along the beach. I've never seen something like that. Walked along the length of the beach and it seemed to be worst on there area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, well laid out, friendly staff, clean room
The weak points
Mediocre food, plastic garbage along the beach
Certified

Cuba at its Finest

, Timmins, ON
2019-04-21
The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the scenery was magnificent. The beach was very close by and kept very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Was not a big fan of the food. The buffet was small and the lines for the freshly made food blocked the actual buffet food. Also the chairs on the balcony were in poor condition. Two members of our party broke a chair each and the hotel did not replace
Certified

Grand Muthu Cato Coco

, Ayr, ON
2019-04-21
We had a fantastic experience at this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the staff are excellent and the beach is amazing. There were a couple of hiccups. But that is to be expected from a country that is rebounding from many years of diplomatic change. Embrace that change also. There is ,and never will be a time that you will feel unsafe on this island. We have been to other Caribbean beaches before and this would rank very “high up there” as a great beach to be at. Turquoise water and long wonderful sand to enjoy. The only thing that guests must be aware of is that this location is windy. This is also why there is a high presence of kite surfers in the area. This also is a wonderful thing to be mesmerized watching on a great day at the beach. The food was what many would expect from Cuba. It had some flair, with what is given to the chefs at hand. The Indian restaurant was excellent, the international was scrumptious and the Italian was tasteful. Enjoy the culture, embrace the beautiful landscape that is Cuba and hold tight the strength of the Cuban people. If you want a true 5 star experience, Cuba is not the island for you. They are working towards this, day by day. They do not have the resources to embrace this. However, if you want a destination full of emotion and passion towards the culture that they have created and embraced, enjoy Cuba to its fullest. Ask a local Cuban, they will tell you. Experience Cuba outside of the resorts, lots of culture, history and passion. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches and turquoise water
The weak points
The tourists who expect more than what Cuba is.
Certified

Positive and negative

, Saint-Bruno, QC
2019-03-25
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff. Food left to be desired, but staff really makes it ok. Rethink the buffet design as the line ups were incredible.
A la carte really bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel, great accommodation, wonderful and helpful staff. All in all the Positive out weight the negative.
The weak points
Food a la carte was awful, you cannot expect cuba to cook Indian food, Buffet line was incredibly slow, very badly tought out, hotel should redesign the serving sections and make it all one line instead of all over the place.

JP Brampton first time in Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-22
First time in Cuba and weather perfect not to hot with a constant breeze great.
Room was beautiful and staff friendly. Travel alone and felt targeted by some workers but still enjoy first week. But the beginning of second week things with value started to disappear from my room. Inform customer relations desk they wrote down what I said and informed me that they will get back to me nothing happens. Two days later one of the items a pair of sunglasses taken reappear broken in my room. Wen back to customer relations desk and informed them. We will investigate the person said they then came to the room and check patios doors lock and left.
I then went back and asked to be transferred to another hotel which they did, an upgrade Imperial Grand Muthu and had no more trouble. Staff and service was way better, excellent food great and tasty no line up at buffet, no towels shortage, pool fabulous beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-07
My boyfriend and I had an amazing time at the Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo hotel in February 2019. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was the cleanest and most beautiful beach I have ever been to - white sand and clear turquoise water! The pools were clean and refreshing.The food was great - better than the 4.5 star resort we went to last year in the Riviera Maya, Mexico! Our favourite meals were the Indian a la carte, the poutine at the snack bar, and the fresh made pasta, omelettes, and meat from the buffet. All the drinks we tried were amazing, especially the mojitos and cafe lattes! The nightly entertainment was great; the dancers were so good, and the two Michael Jackson performances were spectacular!

The resort is not even 1 year old, so there a some things that I'm sure will improve, such as purchasing more beach towels so there is not a daily shortage, redesigning the buffet, adding more pillows to the beds, and adding more shade structures around the pool. These are small issues that did not negatively impact our vacation, but they would make the overall experience even better. I'm sure this resort will only get better and better. We definitely plan to return in the near future! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The things we enjoyed the most were the beach, the pools, the food and drinks, and the nightly entertainment.
The weak points
Some small things to improve on: acquire more beach towels, add more pillows to beds, add more shade structures around pools, and redesign the buffet.
Certified

Vacation review

, Cambridge , NS
2019-03-03
Very nice resort beautiful beach plus very friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff very friendly beautiful beach
The weak points
In my opinion table service could have been better ie getting coffee in the mourning had to Waite when you try to get a seat at the beach it's not good
Certified

Terrible experience

, Maple, ON
2019-01-16
I don't usually write reviews but this time I feel like I have to prevent future travelers. It's sad to read that people are not coming back to Cuba after staying here as a first experience. Cuba and the cayos have some awesomely managed resorts. This is not the case. Fortunately I had stayed at four different places before grand muthu so I know this is just an exception.

Objectively, the resort has some strong points as the lobby and the infinity pool, but my experience here was so terrible that I couldn't even enjoy them. I was treated in a very strange way for being a female solo traveler. Some men in the staff kept saying that my boyfriend was stupid for letting me go solo to Cuba. Another member of the staff asked me to get him an alcoholic drink and go talk with him in his office. I found this extremely unprofessional and disrespectful.

It's evident that the staff is working under very stressful conditions. They all seem very unhappy. This reflects directly on the service they give. Some of them aren't even paid as they are doing practices for school/college/university and they have to stay several days in a row without coming home. A couple of times I went to get food to the beach bar and the waiters prioritized another guest after noticing I came from a Latin American country.

Having noticed all this, I decided to spend my days tanning by the pool with my headphones, because there were many loud guests playing reggaeton and music I don't enjoy. That's when I was robbed some expensive stuff. I searched everywhere and asked everyone, I used the searching app and I couldn't find my things. I complained with the management team, who didn't believe it was a theft and told me I had lost my stuff, in a very violent, bully way. I tried to call the police and they didn't allow me to do it.

I am tough and I'm used to travel alone, but going through this by my own was really sad. The attitude they had, which made me feel they were against me instead of trying to solve the problem with me, didn't help at all.

I know there are some good reviews, so I guess you can be lucky and have a good experience. But keep in mind that you can also be unlucky and have an experience like mine. This doesn't have to do with being a new resort, this is terrible management. Some people also say this is standard for Cuba, but it's not. Every other place I've been in Cuba was kilometers above this place. Some of them were even cheaper. I hope this helps you have a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Infinity pool
The weak points
Service No shade at pool area Broken, stained sun beds Food Management

Very nice accommodation but service needs work

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-11
In general the family liked it, the rooms are new and very nice and same for the bathroom in the room. I think we may go again in the future once the staff acquires more service experience, since the bar service was very slow and could be due to the lack of ressources and experience. In general the waiting time was 15min or more for the bar service. The hotels seems to be very busy from Wednesday til Monday. They need to have more beach towels. The beach house was out of towels within 20min of opening. Anyway once they work on those kinks I personally think this hotel will be very enjoyable. The young staff has a lot of potential once they acquire the experience that vacationers are looking for. My daughter enjoyed the night shows and admit that lots of efforts was put in. Happy to have stayed at Grand Muthu and hope to visit Cuba soon !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic room and bathroom Nice pools Nice beach Many bars around the resort Air conditioning throughout the resort buildings Endless Hot water for show Internet throughout the resort
The weak points
Bar service lacks of experience and speed Toilet flushing issues in a few locations, except room Buffet lacks of coordination and long waiting time 35-45min for the 4 grilling area.
Certified

Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-05
This is a beautiful, new hotel. The rooms are clean and up to date. However, the room options are limited, either a king bed with a couch or 2 beds that are literally barely bigger than a single bed size. The pools are beautiful and clean and have a gorgeous view of the ocean. The beach is off to the side of the hotel but is lovely. The restaurants are limited. The food is not fantastic and there is a wait line to get into the buffet and at each station for food. The specialty restaurants offer a better quality food but very small portion sizes so you need to eat again at the buffet to feel full. The entertainment staff is the best thing about this hotel. The shows are excellent and involve the audience. The lobby bar closes at 11 pm so you either go to the snack bar or the disco. The disco requires cash for drinks as it is outside of the hotel and therefore not all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The shows and entertainers are excellent. Beautiful pools and views.
The weak points
Food and service at the buffet. Specialty restaurants are not to the level expected.
Certified

Grand Muthu Cayo Guilermo

, Scarbrough, HA
2019-01-03
Amenities excellent! Our shower had a small leak, but nothing to distract us from enjoying our hotel room. The boys liked having English Cartoon Network to watch in the down times. Staff was courteous and attentive - the hotel was full - more staff would have been helpful at meal times and at the bars. Great staff effort to keep the facilities clean and the entertainment staff were kind, friendly and energetic. Gorgeous pool and pool deck facilities and lovely beach with lots of shade areas and recliners for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New facilities. Dedicated, hardworking and friendly staff. Good wifi, great pool facilities, delicious, well prepared food. Yummy cocktails and so much ice cream, yay! The New Years Buffet was beautiful and delicious. Great access to the beach.
The weak points
Access to the infinity pool not the best, and the practice of “reserving one's spot” VERY annoying. This keeps everyone from enjoying the pool facilities when huge families reserve an entire pool deck with their towels and belongings. Line ups - too many.
Certified

One week stay

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-03
Hotel is brand new and staff is young, full of energy and working hard. Hotel management needs some training how to improve services and simple guest questionnaire would give them better picture what is missing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New facility, clean rooms, good food, excellent food for New Years eve, hard working waiters and staff, fair choice of drinks
The weak points
Not enough beach towels, public washrooms 50% not working, food service lines not well organized, big line-ups for food, not enough pool chairs, too noisy music at the pool, paid Wi-Fi.
Certified

Nice vacation spot!

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-17
The Grand Muthu hotel is a lovely place to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo

, Wainfleet, ON
2018-11-28
This hotel is fairly new just opened in March of this year. The rooms were very clean and nice. Bathroom shower always had hot water and is very nice. The beds are very comfortable. We stayed in building 5 and we had a lovely ocean view room which also overlooked the pool. Entertainment staff was amazing, very friendly and would always take the time to come talk to you. Ample activities throughout the day if you wish to partake. There are three pools in a row, one being an infinity pool overlooking the ocean with swim up bar. The pools are extremely clean. The only downfall with this resort is the food, but that is with every resort in Cuba. We always found something to eat, but the buffet is basically the same every night. There are three a la carte restaurants - Indian, Seafood, Italian. We only tried the Italian, had lasagna and it was pretty good and a nice change from the buffet. It was a 40 minute ride from the airport which included stops at three other hotels along the way. I would definitely return to this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of hotel & rooms. Animation staff. Beautiful beach.
The weak points
The food. Management walking around were not friendly at all, did not speak to guests. A lot of kids at this resort. Only one very tiny shop on site, no shopping nearby.
Certified

Amazing vacation!!

, North Bay, ON
2018-11-17
My husband and I traveled November 4-11th.. we have been to Cuba 11 times and keep coming back beauce we love the simplicity and relaxing atmosphere.. It was our first visit to The Grand Muthu!! A new hotel we though we would try it out!! We loved it!! The staff were all so friendly and very helpful!! Our room was spotless every day!! And the food was great!! Tons of choices and the 3 A la Carte were a nice change from the buffet!! The pools are spectacular and the views amazing!! For us another perfect trip to Cuba!!! Would definetly return!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place!

, Brampton, ON
2018-08-30
The place is beautiful! We had an ocean view room which also faced the pool. Best thing about Cuba is the service and attention put towards the guests and this resort did not fail in that department. We were greeted by staff in all areas of the resort.

The pools were nice. There needs to be more shade around the pool area though especially closer to the pools. Entertainment staff are friendly. Danay, Ilen, and Helen are some of the entertainers who I spoke with during my time there. Tip them! Entertainers hardly get any tips even though we take part in their games and share laughs.

The beach is beautiful. Lots of fish to see in the warm water. There is some seaweed on the shore but it's the ocean after all (it's not as bad as the picture someone posted). There were workers building more sun huts while we were there. Everything is done by hand so it definitely takes time. Say hi to Victor at the Beach Bar. He always remembers your drink and is so friendly!

There is a kids club where kids can stay for free. Usually child care costs extra in some resorts.

The food was mediocre but they do have fresh meats and fish available for grill to order and plenty of fruits that were in season. We did take our own hot sauce though so we put that on a lot of the dishes. Andres and Prabhu always make sure to say hi whenever we come by the buffet.

A la carte restaurants were good. We ate at all three. The seafood restaurant was best but the Indian restaurant was good too. Some variety at the Indian restaurant compared to what's available at the buffet.

We did go to the market. It's a long ride for such a small place. Although the prices at the market are better than the ones at the airport. We heard that they are building a market and disco right at the resort so something to look forward to.

The rooms were cleaned daily. The beds always had a design so the kids looked forward to seeing them daily. We celebrated our anniversary so our room was decorated and they gave us a bottle of champagne. We asked for extra water since they usually only provide one bottle daily. Sometimes we got an extra bottle and sometimes we had to get it at the little gift shop. The other fridge items were stocked daily 2 beers and 2 soft drinks.

WiFi was ok for the most part. 1 CUC for 1 hour and works everywhere except the beach. The gift shop is tiny so don't expect much.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will most likely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outstanding service, beautiful beach
The weak points
Food
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020