Iberostar Playa Pilar

Iberostar Playa Pilar
4.024.024.024.024.02
4.02 based on 348 reviews
#5 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco - Cayo Guillermo
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (477)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Fun times

, Ottawa, ON
2024-02-12
My family had a great time in Cuba and this was a solid resort to spend the one week we had there in late January. The resort is beautifully laid out, wonderful pools surrounded by palm trees is just the sort of thing we were looking for. Loved the swim up bar! You can walk towards the water on their pier and have a nice view of the ocean. Now this resort isn't perfect: The food was just okay, nothing special. They have a 24 hour snack bar open but it does not start providing food until 10am (not sure when it stops serving food at night). The wi-fi works well in the lobby, pool and snack bar areas but there is NO signal in your room, which was unfortunate. The TV in your room has about 100 channels, mostly in Spanish, not a huge deal for us but it really would have been nice to have wi-fi. The staff are very friendly, and can help you with any questions you have. There is an on-site rep from Sunwing there that will help you book activities you may be interested in. This resort is just a five minute drive from Playa Pilar beach, which was amazing, the best beach I've ever visited in my life. You can taxi in a 50's convertible from the resort to the beach for just $5 a person, definitely worth it! So for some experienced travellers, this might not be the best resort, but for our family, we had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful resort, nice pools, friendly staff
The weak points
No in-room wi-fi, food was just okay
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-15
Dear Ben, We are honored to confirm that you had such a great time in our hospitality. Counting on your vote of confidence is the best incentive to continue improving. We will do our best to surprise you with positive changes on your next visit. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Never again

, Moncton, NB
2024-02-04
The hotel is slowly deteriorating. Toilets not flushing properly, many burnt out light bulbs. Air conditioning did not work in the bedroom. Frequent power outages. Lack of food, well good food. Sewer smells coming from lobby men's bathroom. Lack of drink selection. Garbage cans not being cleaned around resort. No pads for beach chairs. Many of the chairs are broken. Sheets on beach beds are very stained. On calm days the beach flag was never changed from red. No water sports, no paddle boats. No one ever gave a reason why. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff were very friendly. The pool was clean. The grounds were well kept.
The weak points
Water in room was not working. At times no hot water. Patio door in room leaks when raining. No AC in room. Mini bar in room never stocked with anything besides 1 bottle of water.
Sanitary measures
Toilet paper was not to be flushed. This could be very unsanitary.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-15
Dear Nelson, On behalf of the entire Team we thank you for choosing us. We have forwarded your comments to the hotel management and the responsible departments in order to find solutions as soon as possible. We will do our best to surprise you with our progress in the near future if you give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Not a 4 1/2 star in my opinion

, Woodstock, ON
2024-01-08
This is a nice resort if you just want to relax as it is very small. I would consider this a 3 star at best and would not want to pay more than $1000 taxes in. The staff were great, the food was ok and the drinks were good. It is a clean resort and is great for all ages. I wont go back, only because its a little too small and quiet for my personal taste, not for any other reason. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Most staff were amazing and very accommodating. It was clean, there was always food and drinks available
The weak points
1 lobby bartender was miserable all week, but the others were great. Should not have a 4 1/2 star rating
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-01-11
Dear Wendy, Thank you for trusting us your holidays. We hope you change your mind and give us a second opportunity to have you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

NOT GOOD

, Notre Dame De Ile Perrot, QC
2024-01-08
Although the hotel was clean, the food especially and service was not good at all.
Late night bartenders and security staff are looking to take young girls back to their room...WATCH OUT!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-01-18
Dear Manny, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Cuba. Due to the seriousness of the aspects that you have shared with us, it is very important to point out that, as part of the Iberostar family in Cuba, all of our staff are selected and trained on the basis of professionalism, ethics and respect. We will carry out all the necessary investigations to understand what may have happened, but this incident is a complete departure from our standards of personalized service. We hope you had a safe journey home. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Iberostar Playa Pillar

, Hubley, NS
2024-01-03
Better rooms than other resorts in Cuba but...
Unfortunately , except the New Year eve night the food was terrible bad and served with lack of hygiene. Ex - they were supply water on the buffet tables from some big water totes which were full off ice . They were dipping on it a water carafe which was sitting on a table with all kind of stuffs, food moneys , etc , pick the water and put in smaller carafe. Flyes everywhere
For 4700k paid I deserve at least a bottle of spring water. Many times the juices for the kids were diluated and made of instant powder and served as natural . 3 or 4 days with no bread on the buffet. The Snack Bar with lack of supplies

In my opinion the fault is not on Cubans . The Canadian leisure companies ( all ) which advertise these location should send their canadian representative from time to time to check if the resorts in a specific location meet the minimum Canadian standards of quality and hygiene. I didn't buy the vacation from Cuba , I bought it from a Canadian company . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Better room than other hotels in Cuba
The weak points
Horrible food
Sanitary measures
Poor
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-01-09
Dear Alex, First of all, we would like to thank you for entrusting us with your holiday in Cuba. As part of the Iberostar family, we do our utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy a comfortable and memorable stay. For this reason, maintaining the correct higiene standards in all areas is a mandatory aspect. We assure you that we will take all the necessary measures to ensure that similar situations do not occur again. We hope you have a safe journey home and wish you a happy 2024. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

WORST TRIP EVER!!!!!!!!

, Grimsby, ON
2023-09-21
Beach is beautiful and that's about it!!
Been to Cuba many times and this was by far the WORST!!! Do not stay at this hotel. It's definitely NOT a 5 star…1 star at best.
Diane at the pool bar was fantastic. Other staff seemed annoyed when we asked for things.
No soap in the public area bathrooms. Watched as cups, cutlery, etc were rinsed with tap water and put back into use. Rationed toilet paper
Little to no entertainment
Hotel and rooms are run down, things are broken and resort looks WAY older then 8 yrs
Cockroaches and flies EVERYWHERE including all over the food
Buffet was closed and only the snack bar was open.
I don't know how this resort stays open and how travellers aren't getting very sick.
Will NEVER go back.
Kids area was closed. Don't ever take your kids here [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-10-04
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing this feedback about your experience at our hotel. We are saddened to read that we were not able to provide you with the stay you were anticipating. The responsible departments are working on the basis of your feedback to make all the necessary changes. We appreciate the opportunity to check our standards of hygiene and cleanliness. We will do our best to ensure that similar situations are not repeated. We hope you had a good trip back home. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Get what you pay for

, Brampton, ON
2023-08-02
Not a good experience. You get what you pay for. Not recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice pool, back area.
The weak points
No WiFi, food horrible, no entertainment, no soda at all, no comdements, flies were ridiculous. You get what you pay for. Not much.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-05
Dear Peppino, We are saddened that we did not succeed on providing you with an experience that lived up to your expectations. We hope to conquer you with a much better stay in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Worst trip ever !!!!!

, Tottenham, ON
2023-07-23
The staff at the resort were terrific especially when you tipped them.
I give the room 2 stars, the mattress was super thin you could feel the coils.
The food was terrible, I recommend you bring peanut butter, jam, ketchup snacks, and most importantly a water bottle, yeti or bubba. I sadly returned back home with a stomach virus. The beach is out of this world which is the main reason that kept me there the whole week. The cigar lounge was the best spot in the resort it was stocked with great alcohol and air conditioning!!
The music at the poolside was so entertaining, the shows at night not so much. Unfortunately, this would be my last visit to CUBA. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-05
Dear Ginni, Thank you for choosing us to enjoy your vacation in Cuba. We hope you change your mind and give us the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

So near to one of 25 top beaches in this planet

, North York, ON
2023-06-10
1st time in Cayo Quillermo, hotel is very near to Playa Pilar, after a good breakfast, take a walk about 25 minutes on a paved side-walk arriving to the beautiful beach. Water is clear and sandy beach is wonderful. That's what I want to come to Cuba. Hotel location is excellent ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent location to this top 25 beaches in this planet
The weak points
watch out mosquito season!
Sanitary measures
Avoid dairy products and food uncovered!
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-06-14
Dear Trevor, We happy to read that our hotel has lived up to your expectations. We look forward to serving you again to repeat or even surpass this experience. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Sanitar

, Cote St Luc, Montreal, QC
2023-04-27
The kitchen is dirty and the food is not tasty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
2
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-16
Dear Ion, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us and we will study them with the responsible departments. We will do our best to surprise you with positive changes in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Cuba is Crumbling

, Georgetown, ON
2023-04-23
Third time in Cuba. We knew before going that things were rough but, not like this. I'm just going to write in point form all the issues.
- Pesco is worthless therefore they gouge you with insane prices in usd or cd. A single bottle of rum is 15 USD. Prices in cigars, rum, souvenirs have more than tripled since 2019.
- Supply shortages ! No water for rooms, no cola, no pina colada's, no bread one day.
- Food was brutal
- Pool was cloudy
- Room was dated, tv was shit, toilets were awful
- lobby bar was busy, always a line up.

** Done. I'm not writing anymore and I could go on forever. This was not a great experience, and I'm never going back to Cuba until their government gets their shit together. Covid and inflation made things 10x worse. I is [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff was good. Some were asses.
The weak points
Too many to mention. Sorry.
Sanitary measures
Covid is over.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-16
Dear Brent, On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for the opportunity to improve that your feedback gives us and offer our sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience. We will take all necessary actions to conquer you with a much better experience in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

* DO NOT VISIT *

, Kitchener, ON
2023-04-14
THE CLEANERS STOLE MY GIRLFRIENDS EPILEPSY MEDICATION. THEY CONSTANTLY STEAL. THEY DON'T EVEN LEAVE US WATER [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
THEY STOLE MEDICATION THAT IS NEEDED SO MY GIRLFRIEND DOES NOT HAVE A SEIZURE. Worst place ever.
The weak points
RECOMEND FOR NOTHING
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-16
Dear guest, We are very alarmed that we have no report on this unfortunate incident you share with us. We kindly ask you for more details in order to provide you with the personalised response you deserve. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Food

, Brampton, ON
2023-03-15
My daughter and her children travelled to the a/m hotel and found the food to be in a terrible state. No milk, no butter, no bread. One of her children loves any type of food and is barely able to find something to eat. My daughter has observed several persons at the front desk trying to change hotels She has been to cuba before and have never encountered this problem. This is March break and all quests paid double the normal price for this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Gary, Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review of your daughter's holiday. We are saddened to hear that our culinary offerings did not live up to your expectations. We have communicated your comments to our chef team to seek all possible improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels on this beautiful island and to conquer you with a much better experience. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

It is a 2 star hotel (international)-- DO NOT GO

, Esterel, QC
2023-03-13
I went to Cuba >15 times before and it was heartbreaking to see how the country and tourism deteriorated after pandemic. Please take this review as serious warning (red signs/flashing lights!!!). We stayed with my family for 2 weeks.

Everything is broken at the resort and is not being maintained. In the room -- no hot water, toilets broken, cockroaches at night, patio doors don't lock, toilets broken half light bulbs removed from lamps, towels on many days not changed (sorry don't have is a standard answer from chambermaids).

The resort is not maintained -- all public restrooms are broken as well and many don't have even soap or toilet paper.

Pool is often cloudy and they allow glass around the pool and on the beach -- hence, be wary as there is lots of broken glass everywhere (in the sand of the beach, around pool, etc.)

Food is a special topic. There is NO FOOD (even basic food is missing).
On breakfast they will commonly run out of eggs, butter and yogurt. NO chicken or shrimp (ever). The only choices are pork, beef sometimes (not chewable) and ~2 choices of fish. You will be standing in line and feel lucky just to get hot dogs or rice. There are no deserts - long lines just to get chocolate ice cream (no vanilla on most days). They will take regular bread rolls and put chocolate on top. Some very limited bakery products offered. Fruit is limited to papaya and guava (bananas and apples sometimes). It is very, very, very sad what happened to Cuba. If you want to go -- bring your food, towels, soap and other basic necessities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful nature and sea. No algae
The weak points
- No hot water - No hot water in the room - Cockroaches in the room - Patio doors don't lock (safety issue) - In room toilets broken as well. - No eggs for breakfast, no butter or yogurt - THERE IS NO FOOD
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and for taking the time to share this extensive review with the Monarc community. We have communicated every detail of our facilities and services that were not to your liking to the hotel management and the responsible departments. We assure you that a systematic work is being done to check compliance with our quality standards and to make all possible improvements. Although there are no second chances to make a good first impression, it will be an honour to surprise you with positive changes in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Spa

, Milton, ON
2023-03-07
I'm only reviewing the Spa at this point. As their service was 5 star. Livan at the reception is exceptional and has excellent customer service and the masseuse Ellie was simply the best. Such an awesome massage, so professional and therapeutic. Absolutely loved it. Thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good ambiance Professional Excellent customer service
The weak points
None
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Salma, We would like you to know that we are very grateful to receive such positive feedback like yours from our valued guests. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Until then, we wish you the best. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Great holiday!

, Hammond, ON
2023-03-01
If you've been to Cuba before you know that you are there not for the food or a fancy hotel room - its for the beach & the friendly staff. You will find exactly this at the hotel. The beach & vibe was great. The weather was fantastic. I travelled with my three teenage daughters and did not fear for safety at all. The beach is smaller because part of the coastline has coral but this was an interesting plus for us as you got to see a lot of different fish & birds. The water was calm and you could walk out really far without it getting deep which I think would be a big plus for those with smaller kids. Besides the resort there is not much around to visit (if you like markets and such) - we did not take any excursions so I can't comment on that. Internet/wifi was very hit & miss - which I didn't mind as it got my kids off their electronics. Overall great relaxing holiday and would definately recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Atmosphere & beach. Entertainment crew were great!
The weak points
smaller beach & food variety was limited.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Nicole, It has been an absolute pleasure to read this great review of your recent stay at our hotel and we appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us. We would like to consider all aspects to create an environment for our guests that fulfil all their wishes to achieve a perfect holiday. Therefore, we welcome both your praise and your helpful critique with gratitude. It is nice to know that you felt so comfortable with us and that have chosen to share that fact with others and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Ahhhh Relaxation

, Sault Ste. Marie, HA
2023-02-02
A very relaxing week at Iberostar Playa Pilar. Staff are attentive and soon get to know you and are engaging and anticipate yor needs...sugar cane with your cafe madam? The oceanview junior suite in Building 2 had a breathtaking view and was quiet and tucked away from any activity. Found wonderful shells including conches on walk to Playa Pilar beach. Snorkeling was fun and easy right out front. Kids seemed to love the engaging staff for the kid's programs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The view, the staff, the breads by Julio, the serving staff like Dany and Jany, the gardeners making palm leaf hats and bowls and opening up fresh coconut for you. Yenia and many of the lobby staff including Oney in cigar bar
The weak points
Shortages faced by cuba that require you to be flexible and pivot in your requests(carry toilet paper off resort and sometimes on resort), need general maintenance of buildings and furniture as overdue. Electrical and internet unpredictable
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Shirley, We are happy to learn that you had such a great time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We welcome and value the ideas of our guests because with them we can achieve our goal of providing perfect holidays, therefore  we will take note of your valuable feedback and will relay it to the appropriate department for their consideration. Again we thank you for this constructive review of our hotel and we hope to be seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Excellent Holiday

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-01-29
We returned for the second time to the amazing Iberostar playa Pilar resort Jan 7-21. We had previously visited the resort in 2019 for 2 wks. We had a fantastic vacation

We spent most of our time on the beach which always had plenty of beach chairs available and Basil was more than happy to accommodate us. We made it to Pilar beach twice: once taking the path and the other on the ocean shore. 15-20 min walk by path. Little longer by beach. Bring water shoes!!

The beach bar was always waiting with smiling faces from Frank, Yolenia and Maryland and let me tell you they make fantastic drinks! (Havana special and Rum punch were our favs!

The buffet was always offering chicken ,beef ,and pork at both lunch and dinner. There was always lots of cheese and sliced meat options as well. Breakfast was always welcomed with delicious omelettes. There was even lots of real bacon daily ! Hats off to Daria who gave us the best service!!

We visited all the a la carte restaurants; our favourite was the Japanese and our favourite chef there was Anatolli.

Lobby serving staff was very good early in the morning for cappuccinos from Daily and China.

We went to a few shows during our visit and I was really impressed with the talent!

You must stop by the cigar bar and meet Oney! He makes the best drinks and serves up the best wine! I discovered he is also a cigar sommelier!

The real “Pearl “ of this resort are the people who work there!! Everyone we encountered was always smiling! Special thanks to Yenia for her exceptional customer service! I cannot say enough about the way she goes above and beyond to help make her customers happy! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, customer service, Pilar beach
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Donna, Thank you very much for having entrusted us once again with the enjoyment of your holiday. It is a privilege for the whole team to have your preference. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Definitely not 5 star

, Orangeville, ON
2023-01-26
We stayed there for 7 days. Its my 4 th visit in Cuba Its not more than 3 star resort. Food service at snack bar is worst I've seen in cuba. One of the bartenders was literally wiping off the froth of beer glass with his bare hands and the second bartender came and he literally blew the froth away with his mouth, it was disgusting and they were laughing about it.
At snack bar a vegetarian couple asked for fries and the cook there added ham sausages in the same oil in front of them .
Every time My wife get coffee at snack bar or reception bar...they don't have sugar lot of times... unbelievable....
Overall poor management
Extremely poor service....
Rooms : air conditioner panel not operating
Cold water in shower for days . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Clean pools
The weak points
Poor service by staff. No care of hygiene.
Sanitary measures
Poor Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Ben, Thank you very much for choosing us to enjoy your holiday and for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us. We have made a systematic work taking them as a reference and we assure you that we will surprise you with positive changes if you decide to visit us again. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Great Resort !

, Saint John, NB
2023-01-21
We travelled to Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar Jan 7th – 14th 2023. After 25 trips to Cuba this was our 4th time to this beautiful resort and as always it didn't disappoint!!
With beautiful surroundings and genuine people! you cannot go wrong with choosing Playa Pilar to spend your vacation! Very nice accommodations, great ocean views from most rooms, a good selection of food to choose from and of course the weather is much nicer than Eastern Canada at this time of year!
We found the effects of COVID to be minimal during our time here, a couple of supply chain issues like what we have at home but not a deal breaker. With that in mind just come prepared with condiments you like such as ketchup, mustard, relish etc. Maybe pack some tissue, an extra beach towel and you are good to go.
But as beautiful as this resort is it is the wonderful hard-working people there that make it a Gem in Cuba, folks such as Wilber, one of the bartenders at the Snack Bar, always a “Hola” and smile, quick with a special drink and a story. My friend Yadier on the front desk, funny, caring and always helpful to everyone. And of course, Yenia in customer service, she is one of the most caring persons you will have the pleasure of meeting here! A definite asset to the Iberostar Team and they are lucky to have such a person.
We will be back!!
Cheers!!

Dapa81 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The people
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your great review of your stay with us. Our day to day efforts are aimed at creating a particularly welcoming atmosphere for our guests in our wonderfully designed hotel, so your words confirming we have suceeded in our intent are really important to us. We will certainly extend your praise to all of our dedicated colleagues because we know we have quite a remarkable team here. We hope to have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future . Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

2022 Christmas Vacation

, Leduc, AB
2023-01-15
We travelled here over the Christmas holidays (Dec 17-31). My wife, mother-in-law and myself. I've waited a while to post my review. We arrived at the resort around 3:00 pm after a long day of travel and had to wait for our room (no problem). Got our wristbands, sat in the lobby bar and had a coffee. Once our room was ready, we had the pleasure of riding in the golf cart with Niuvar (Cuban Vin Diesel). He made sure our luggage was looked after, including my MIL's walker. We were in a suite in building 6 – exactly the room that we had booked. We had asked for a second bed to be brought in for my MIL. No problems there. The rooms were set up for 2 (2 towels, beach and bath, etc), however, all you had to do was ask for extras – they were more than happy to provide additional, if they had it. Our maid, Disney, was very detail oriented and always graced us with a towel animal (highlight for my MIL).
Yes, I've read the reviews about no towels, can't exchange the beach towels, etc. Instead of complaining, did you bother to take the time to ask and find out exactly what the issue is/was? The laundry facility is in Moron (1.5 hours away). Electricity, fuel and water are being rationed. In August, there was an explosion at the island's fuel storage facility in Matanzas. To see the magnitude of this event, you can refer to this link https://www.cnn.com/2022/08/09/americas/matanzas-cuba-worst-fire-intl-hnk/index.html
I drove by the explosion site, on my way from Varadero to Havana – so seen it first hand. The line ups at the gas stations, rolling black outs, water being diverted. These resources, or lack of, are not the fault of the resort. They do the best they can with what they have.
Our vacation was what we made it – we loved the boardwalk at the beach, the snorkeling (saw all sorts of sea life, including starfish, sting rays, barracuda's, needle nose fish etc). The 4, sometimes 5 pelicans were a joy to watch, so much so that we named them – George, Henry, Frank, Carl and Dave. There was also a 1-legged seagull that we named Larry. We saw Steve the salamander daily in our room. The lady's (Maryland and ?) and Abel at the beach bar were absolutely fantastic. Maryland always had a smile and greeted me everyday with “Mi Amor”. Andres and Basil at the beach always asked us if we needed loungers. The big issue around the beach was that guests would take up the beach beds and not utilize them for hours – even worse, they would take up a bed at the pool also.
The buffet – you always found something eat. At breakfast, you had 2 egg stations and could have eggs done to your preference. Pastries were exceptional – all made in-house. Fresh bread, assortment of cheeses, meats and fruits. We were always greeted with a “coke” and a smile by Anna and Vanessa – they were our lovely servers at breakfast and lunch. For lunch, you had a choice to eat at the buffet or at the snack bar/beach grill. The service at the snack bar was slow(er) – perhaps an area of improvement. Most days you could get fries (bring your own ketchup), ham/cheese or tuna sandwich, chicken strips, hot dogs and cheese pizza (usually after 1:30). Dinner buffet had similar options – 2 grill stations (one for meat and the other for seafood). Another area of improvement would be for the buffet items to be labelled. As a non-pork eater, I found the labelling of dishes to be hit or miss. Having said this, Leo Silla (Food and Beverage Manager) and his team did a fantastic job every day, including the spread that was put on Christmas Eve. Leo was not afraid to get his hands dirty – always with a broom or mop when needed. You also had a choice of 4 a la cartes for dinner – Japanese, Gourmet, Cuban and Mediterranean. Our faves were the Japanese (x2) and Gourmet (x2). We always finished off the night playing a game of crib and a drink from our fave bartender Oney at the cigar bar or a latte, Spanish coffee brought to us by either Mabe or Chyna. Oney makes the best cheladas and espresso martinis.
We didn't get a chance to meet a lot of the pool entertainment group, however, Michael and his crew (including Babo) did a fantastic job keeping the guests entertained, even during the four days of rainy weather.
And last but not least – Yenia Rodriguez Batista – she goes above and beyond. Handles all complaints and issues with a smile. Her smile is infectious. Extremely polite and has a genuine care for the guests.
Overall, my family and I had a great experience at the Iberostar Playa Pilar. Would we return, yes. Why? For the people and staff at this resort. They work hard. Always have a smile. Go the extra mile (at least that was our experience). Treat them well. Always say please and thank you and you will get that in return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear guest, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the concerns you raise as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. We will be delighted to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Bon séjour

, Lévis, QC
2023-01-08
Séjour globalement agréable et très amélioré par Yenia, une employée formidable, en charge du service client.

Resort en très bon état, propre. Bons restos à la carte et chambres agréables. La piscine est également très bien.
Playa Pilar est à 15-20 minutes de marche.

Le point à améliorer est la disponibilité des chaises à la plage durant les vacances scolaires. Il faut y aller vers 7:00 pour avoir des chaises pour la journée. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-01-12
Cher Mathieu, Nous voulons avant tout profiter de cette occasion pour exprimer notre gratitude pour votre évaluation amicale lors de votre dernier séjour. Nous vous sommes également reconnaissants pour vos commentaires constructifs, et, toujours heureux de recevoir des suggestions sur la façon dont nous pouvons améliorer nos prestations pour intensifier la satisfaction de nos clients chaque fois que possible. Nous espérons avoir l'honneur de répéter cette expérience avec vous très bientôt. Cordialement, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Super vacances

, La Prairie, QC
2023-01-05
Nous avons passé une incroyable semaine à cette hôtel !! Je recommande sans hésiter. Personnel acceuillant avec le sourire, dévouer. Endroit très propre et bien entretenu, malgré la situation de Cuba nous avons manqué de rien, il font beaucoup avec peu. Restaurant à la carte très bon, réserver le japonais délicieux !!! Beau setup de trottoir pour ce rendre à la mer avec escalier qui nous amène directement dans l'océan, bref nous serons de retour sous peu. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Fun Trip

, Brantford, ON
2023-01-05
Friendly staff, great snorkeling, clean and quiet spa area. Lots to do off the resort- hike along the beach to Playa Pilar. The small catamaran trip to snorkel off the island was awesome. Kayaks and paddle boats are free. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Lots to do off the resort- hike along the beach to Playa Pilar. The small catamaran trip to snorkel off the island was awesome. Kayaks and paddle boats are free. Ocean view from the room was beautiful.the bread in the buffet was fantastic.
The weak points
Some issues with supply of toilet paper in common bathrooms. Long line ups at the buffet.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Nic, Thank you for sharing your helpful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, and we will gladly look into your areas of concern. Please come back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Playa Pilar review

, Paris, ON
2023-01-04
We returned to Iberostar Playa Pilar because we loved our visit there in April of 2017... I can't say the resort physically is in the same condition as it was then but it is still a beautiful location to go to, there were a few things lacking but the worst was pool towels so maybe bring a couple of those thin kind you see online (they would be light to pack and very useful for you)...

Yenia was wonderful any questions we had or help we needed she was on it and very sweet.
Oney who works in the cigar bar makes the best cocktails! I was impressed with his services and he was also very kind.

All the servers were lovely and happy to see us but we were always kind to them and cared how their day was going too. I think the resort is short staffed at the moment so people complaining about waiting and slowness its really not their fault they are doing the best they can. I would suggest to bring a book to the snack bar, relax and enjoy a drink and the view while you wait, you are on vacation after all..

We always over pack incase anyone is in need of anything this time I didn't and should have, I wouldn't normally pack ketchup or mustard or any sauces but the country is in a different place these days and I'm sure having a hard time getting some basic things so bring toilet paper, hot sauce or anything basic that you can't live without each day.

I enjoyed the food very much! I never went hungry nor did I have a bad meal there.

We went to Pillar Beach 2 days and had lunch at their restaurant and its a must try!

The first day we arrived at the resort we walked down to the beach and it was a sight for sore eyes. I was sad to see garbage and dishes left everywhere from tourists! Please its not hard to bring your dishes back up when you are done with them and when we did that the servers recognized us for doing it and treated us extra nice to us. Keep the beach clean and beautiful! If you can travel to the snack bar to retrieve yourself some lunch why can't you take another walk back and bring empty plates and garbage where they belong.

The pool was beautiful, clean, and fun... it is hard to get loungers by the pool we had to get up early to save some which is annoying but manageable.

If I see a good deal for this resort come up again I would mostly likely go back but come more prepared. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Christine, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your constructive and complimentary review is greatly appreciated, and we will be sure to look into the areas of concern you have raised. Please come back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager, Iberostar Playa Pilar

A wonderful vacation

, Sault Sainte Marie, ON
2023-01-04
From the sip of the first full-bodied coffee of the day in the hotel lobby to the last Spanish Coffee made in the evening this resort staff goes beyond its duty to please it's guests.
A wonderful well-kept pool area, a unique beachfront and exceptional a-la-cart dining options make this resort a great choice to visit. Family friendly and very accommodating staff. Great buffet options daily at each meal. Will definitely return for another visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great staff, amenities and food choices. Wonderful pool and unique beach.
The weak points
Public washrooms could be cleaned and supplies refilled more often.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Elaine, Thank you for these kind words after your recent stay at our hotel. It will be an honor to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Hotel Review

, Scarborough, ON
2023-01-03
This hotel exceeds our expectation. We had a wonderful time during the holiday break. I could say that this is one of the best travels we had after the pandemic. The food, entertainment, resort and amenities are really the best. The only thing missing is the napkins and ketsup which my kids find very essential during meal time.
The people working there are absolutely the best specially Yemia who is super friendly and attends to all your needs and questions. We also met beautiful people specially the night performers who became friends to us already. We enjoyed the games in the pool and the night entertainment with dance lessons after the show.
Over all experience deemed a perfect score for us!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear guest, We would like to express our appreciation on behalf of the whole team for sharing such a positive review of your stay with us. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday is for us the best confirmation that we are working in the right direction. Please come back again soon. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Christmas Hiliday

, Duncan, BC
2023-01-03
Spent 2 weeks here from Dec 17-31 with my daughter and son in law.
I'm 81 years old and had my walker with me, so everything was very easily accessible.
We stayed in building 6 which was very local to everything so not a lot of walking.
The boardwalk beachfront was a truly nice experience, could sit there and enjoy the day watching all the wildlife, pelicans, other birds and all the fish
Access to the water was easy as well, water shoes were a good thing to have as some areas were rocky, but there were a lot of sandbars and very many shallow areas that ere very calm and easy for me to navigate.
We had a wonderful suite for myself and daughter and SIL I had my own toilet and sink, they even brought in an actual bed(not a cot) which they put in the living room with still plenty of room, my daughter and SIL room was separate and spacious and we shared the shower.
Our maid Desnay did an amazing job keeping our room clean, and supplying us with all our needs, even got cute little blanket animals in my bed daily
Yenia our customer service rep, did an AMAZING job of helping us and making sure things were going smoothly she really is an asset to the iberostar team.
As a very seasoned traveller who has been to many tropical places, and to Cuba more than once. It's the people of Cuba that set this place apart.
Everyday we were greeted with smiles, kindness,and care. From our waitresses in the Buffet Ana and Vanessa, our morning coffee waitress China, to The ladies at the beach bar, who knew how to make the perfect strawberry smoothie.All the entertainment staff especially Babo. The Christmas Eve Gala was spectacular… Leo( food and beverage manager) and alllll his staff really went above and beyond.
Were there some issues, yes of course, the people there are doing the best they can with the supplies they have.
So Thank You staff of Iberostar Playa Pilar for some great memories
Show less [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear guest, We are delighted to hear that we were able to give you a pleasant holiday experience. Thank you for trusting us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Experience of a lifetime

, Badger, NL
2023-01-03
Had the best time with my girlfriend on this trip, was so much to do and the staff were so amazing , would 100% go back here. The energetic crew definitely makes this trip worth the time and money , 10/10 would recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Rooms are great, food is amazing , and the drinks are always cold , the staff is phenomenal
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-04
Dear Chandler, A review as complimentary as yours assures us that we are heading in the right direction with our numerous efforts. Thank you for choosing Iberostar Cuba. Please come back again soon. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Playa Pilar

Great Vacation

, London, ON
2023-01-02
First time travel to Cuba and we absolutely loved it. The staff at this resort went above and beyond. Everyone was so friendly and helpful from the gardeners to the front desk staff. Big shout out to Yenia who answered all my questions before we even arrived and was very helpful during our stay.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well kept. All the gardeners do an excellent job at maintaining the grounds. The big selling feature of this resort was the boardwalk. My husband has mobility issues so the boardwalk was ideal. We found plenty of loungers at both the beach and the pool area. The whole resort is accessible.
Were there some issues, of course there were like with any resort you go to anywhere and we've been to Mexico, Jamaica and the D.R.. The issues we found were minor however and didn't take away from our vacation.
The best a la cartes were the Mediterranean and the Gourmet. If one bar didn't have something than another one usually did. Example the lobby bar didn't have pop but the cigar and sports bar did. We had no problem getting slushie drinks, the lobby bar always had some type of slush drink available.
The entertainment was good especially the dancers at the White Party.
The food was good but we did bring ketchup and mustard with us but they did have it at the buffet. Salt, pepper and napkins you just ask for and they bring them to you.
Overall we had a great vacation and would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Grounds, staff, boardwalk, cleanliness
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024