Howard Johnson Hotel And Water Playground

Howard Johnson Hotel And Water Playground
4.124.124.124.124.12
4.12 based on 17 reviews
#1 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Anaheim
Rated 3 stars

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Loved it and was perfect for our needs

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-03
We stayed 5 nights at the Howard Johnson and are very happy with our experience. The water playground was great for our kids since it was unseasonably hot during our stay. We had a second-floor room in one of the smaller units so we had the extra light from the half-moon windows on the top floors - really loved that. The rooms were very clean. Beds were super comfy and my husband loved their pillows. It's perfect walking distance to Disneyland and it was nice to be able to come back to our room if we wanted to. The staff was very friendly and helpful whenever we had questions. Overall very happy with the HoJo. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Friendly/helpful staff Walking distance to the parks Fridge/microwave in room help with food costs and the front desk staff will accept drop off of grocery orders. Cost much cheaper than staying on-site at Disneyland
The weak points
Rooms were a little dated but not terribly so considering this hotel has been around a long time.
Certified

Howard Johnson/Water Park

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2019-11-24
The staff were excellent!! The location to Disneyland was great, short walk. The room was clean, could use some updating. The pool/water park was cleaned daily. We enjoyed our stay. The only thing that would have made our stay perfect would have been breakfast/restaurant in hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Family Hotel

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-01
From the moment we were greeted the staff was wonderful and incredibly friendly. They cater to kids by fun balloon animals in the lobby, the store to purchase forgotten items or things kids need, the fun water play ground and don't forget the arcade room too. The walk was reasonable to Disneyland from the resort and lots of places to stop for a bit to eat along the way. I would definitely recommend this resort to a family planning a vacation to Disneyland. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points were the distance to Disneyland and the water playground with hot tub for the parents. You could even see the fireworks from the pool area.
Certified

Very old hotel...

, Cochrane, BC
2018-04-12
This Hotel was built 53 years ago and although they are trying very hard to get a five star review they are not being successful. The location is perfect for a Disney vacation but I would not recommend staying at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The stafff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for Disney. The rooms were very clean.
The weak points
The washroom dates back to the early 70's. There is a musty smell in all of the hallways that they are trying to cover up with perfum. Our first room smelled like someone had peed on the carpet so we asked for another room. 2nd room did not smell as ba
Certified

A good stay for our family

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-01
We ejoyed our stay at this hotel. It is not the closest to Disneyland entrance but at a walkable distance. My 4 year old had no problem walking back after a day of excitement in the park. The staff was friendly and helpfull, room clean and serviced regularly.
Kids were a bit disappointed by the pool which was too deep for the 10 and 4 year old so we switched to the water playground instead.
We would stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice water playground for the kids, located a very short drive away from grocery stores, friendly staff
The weak points
Rollaway bed was found uncomfortable by kids, reception far from the building we stayed in (2), no restaurant on the premises.
Certified

An average experience

, Calgary, AB
2017-10-08
The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming when we first got there. They were very helpful with initial information about restaurants and Disneyland. They were also awesome when my daughter needed new blankets in the middle of the night and went out of their way to get them for us. The food had free wifi that worked well in the evenings but not so great first thing in the morning. There was a tv, a microwave, a mini fridge, and a small safe for valuables. There was no in hotel restaurant but there was a restaurant across the street called Mimi's that was nice and open for breakfast, lunch, and supper. There are also several restaurants down the street to choose from plus inside Downtown Disney that you don't have to have a park pass to enter. Overall, it had all the expected amenities for a basic hotel room and was within walking distance to many services and the parks.

When we got to our room, and it was clean and a nice size. It did not have a balcony as most of the suites did because it was a corner room but still nice. The landscaping was done well and every morning you could see the staff in the pool and spray park cleaning everything down. My daughter enjoyed both the pool and spray park immensely and actually wanted to miss out on Disneyland just to go back and swim there.

The thing that was a turn off was the housekeeping. The first day the housekeeping was good but it went down from there. It wasn't anything in particular but it was that they didn't put the towels away neatly or they knocked things over and didn't pick them back up. It felt like a general disrespect for us as clients. In the end I just put up the do not disturb sign as the only benefit we had was that they made the beds. It was disappointing as everything else was very nice about the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and spray park were wonderful. Grounds well kept and staff were friendly.
The weak points
Housekeeping left something to be desired.
Certified

Above and Beyond

, Langley, BC
2017-09-03
We had a great time at this hotel. It was clean, the staff was excellent, and the pools and waterpark were outstanding. The first night my youngest daughter slammed her thumb in the sliding glass door. The front desk staff helped me calm her down and provided me with all the first aid materials I would need for the week to keep her wound clean and dressed. Amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness, the facilities and the staff.
The weak points
N/a
Certified

Good times

, Langley, BC
2017-05-26
Good experience. Defineatly recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great location and great service

, Langley, BC
2017-03-22
Our family of seven rented two rooms for six nights. The hotel staff put us in adjoining rooms which really worked out well for us. The location was great and the property was excellent. The rooms were a good size and everything was clean and in good condition. The service was excellent.

Our only real complaint would be regarding the beds. They were a bit small and we ended up using the extra cot (at a charge of $15 per night) so that we could have better rest. We were not offered king size beds, but wish that they were available.

Overall a great family hotel. Highly recommend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, cleanliness, staff, water park.
The weak points
Smallish beds.
Certified

Wonderful family hotel

, Maple Ridge, BC
2016-06-15
Second time at the Hojo and we were happy once again! We checked in on my birthday and were upgraded at no charge. The pool area is beautiful and clean and our room was clean and well maintained. Very comfortable beds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, pool.
The weak points
Bathroom last lighting is terrible for makeup. Pillows are not great.
Certified

Stay Here!

, Beaumont, AB
2016-02-16
Hotel was clean, service was friendly, and the splash park was a major hit for our young children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

So nice to come back to!

, vancouver, Br
2014-02-19
Very pleased to have stayed in a clean hotel with friendly staff. It was also kinda nice to be able to get away from the hubbub that is Disney. Both pool and water park were great to relax before we went back to the parks! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Efficient and friendly staff! Really liked the fact that you could have express room service so that you could come back in afternoon and know your room was all done.
The weak points
At end of block from Disney main entrance but still worth it!
Certified

Clean and a quick walk to the park

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-09
The room size was good and kept clean by staff (no concerns). Enough drawer and closet space for clothes. Bed and pillows comfortable. Fridge and microwave in room was nice and handy. Our room was on the 3rd floor (overlooking the pool). The pirate splash park was a close walk near reception. We only ended up visiting it briefly 2 times during our stay because the majority of time was spent at Disneyland. When the days were cloudy/overcast, we didnt bother swimming (found water too cold). Hot tub was nice and hot though :) All the park greenery is well maintained and the space was clean. Finding a decent restaurant in the area was challenging (one that served healthy meals and portions). The park food is very expensive and you're limited in selection. Mimi's cafe is across the street from the hotel. We went there for breakfast and most dinners (kid meal options were good). We brought some snacks from home; however, it was my intention to pick up some food from a nearby grocery store (fruit/veg/juice/cereal) to keep in room fridge so we wouldnt need to always visit a restaurant. I was told a grocery store was nearby (walk over the highway and a few blocks down). I got half way there and decided it best to head straight back to the hotel. In hindsight, I should have taken friends advice to not venture out on your own in this area. I didnt feel very safe and was approached a few times by some 'interesting' persons. We've traveled to a number of countries and I was surprised that I felt this way here. Rather than walk the few extra blocks left, I decided that all our meals would be at the restaurant. Getting to the park is easy - just a few minute walk. Because there are people around, it is not as much of a concern. There were a number of homeless persons across the street from the park sleeping and hanging out at a bus stop (many with obvious mental health concerns). Just something to be aware of when you're walking with your children - so you can keep them moving and situated close to you. Park staff search your bags at the entrance, so initially we thought you couldnt bring in snacks and water. You can - so bring this every day. It will save you $. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Disneyland
The weak points
Make sure room above pool is not directly over garbage area (not something you want to look at every morning)
Certified

Great Experience

, Edmonton, AB
2013-03-25
Location was great for Disneyland. No resturant on site but lots across the road so that was not a problem. Great to be walking distance from the Disney Entrance. Would come back again for the price [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great price and location
The weak points
no atm on site
Certified

Kids loved the pools

, Powell River, BC
2011-08-06
I booked this hotel as it had the regular pool & also a pirates theme pool with slides. Our room only had 2 double beds & was right next to the freeway.I would recommend upgrading to premium room in the newer buildings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location to Disneyland and Mimi's restaurant. Kids loved the pools
The weak points
the first 2 days are room was not made up and had to phone @ 4pm to ask even though I told the maid we are leaving for pool @ 2pm after been @ Disneyland all morning.
Certified

Disneyland - Howard Johnson

, Okotoks, AB
2011-06-04
Excellent value, great location for families, loved the splash park in the afternoons to relax after mornings at Disneyland. Loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close walk to Disneyland
The weak points
Hotel rooms outdated but very clean and well maintained
Certified

Disneyland Trip

, Edson, AB
2010-09-18
I picked this hotel because of the kids' pool and it did not disappoint! Castaway Cove is fantastic!
The hotel itself is fine. Building 6 where we stayed, is being refurbished as inthe walls were being repainted, etc. When we first arrived it looked bad until we sawthey were working on it.
The staff were very friendly as well. Also, we had a Keurig coffee maker in our room and they are not cheap so I was impressed!
Theycould definitely have a few more public computers, though. There were only 2 and almost impossible to get on ( they were Macs...impressive once again!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids pool
The weak points
Public computers
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020