Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort Spa

3.713.713.713.713.71
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort Spa
#6 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
3.71 based on 483 reviews
Traveller pictures (100)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Everyone made the best of it

, Victoria, BC
2020-03-22
We travelled just before Canadian guidelines to not travel due to Corona virus. It was not a stress free trip because of this. Staff were always positive but management clearly should have had better communication with guests as the week progressed and changes were made at the resort due to the virus. This would have actually been more reassuring to vacationers. Amazing location, food was good, not always great likely due to the start of availability issues and less people at the resort. We got upgraded last two nights to Family selection and I would certainly recommend it even though we had a great room in building two originally. room 2003. Ground level and nice view from open air area out front door. Family selection room 4005 was nice and big and both our kids had their own bed which was nice but noisy late at night due to music at outside disco (happening outdoors due to virus maybe?). Resort was busy Sat due to log weekend and it had good energy as week went on less so due to virus, no fault of resort. Always chairs available because of that was a bonus. Nest restaurant could use more variety in its evening menu. Some food could have had better flavours, also Covid may have been a factor ie-shrimp were delicious but sauce tasted like Mcdonalds bbq sauce- plain w butter would have let the shrimp shine. Tuna wraps were delicious. All three of the weddings we saw looked very well done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is absolutely gorgeous. Staff are friendly do their best to help. Very clean. Pools were great! Main pool was warmer than I expected as I heard it was unheated. It was somewhat heated as warm water could be felt coming in. Tamarind margaritas!!
The weak points
Food was never quite hot in regular area. Service of meals is often scattered, kids done eating and adults don't have appetizers etc.
Certified

Loved it

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-08
Nice grounds. Friendly staff. Great beach. Lots of surfers and boogie boarders. Good food. Clean room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food and drink. Great staff. Surfing - looked good but I didn't try it. Snorkling - Not the best but good. Beach - good sand. Ocean - whale watching - Multiple siteings. Zoo area was nice. Kids splash pad was a hit. Life guard on duty.
The weak points
Lots of stairs and ramps. We loved it, burnt off some calories after a big meal. Couple of restaurants have no wheel chair access / Stoller ramps. Saltwater ocean pool - not much water...shin/knee deep...time of the year?
Certified

Excellent experience

, Birch Hills, SK
2020-02-04
Last winter our son was married at the Grand Palladium and we went back this winter for 2 weeks instead of 1. The staff was friendly & helpful, the food choices more than ample! We especially enjoyed the steak house and eating out on the balcony at the Mexican restaurant watching the sun set over the ocean-Fresh guacamole made at our table and flaming coffee for part of our dessert. Amazing views everywhere with lots of green and lovely landscaping, we loved spending time with morning coffee on our balcony before heading to the varied buffet. Our only complaint is that it was very difficult not to overeat! The pool areas are nice but since we don't live near the ocean, we spent more time on the beach. We were always able to get chairs, not always loungers since he didn't compete with the crowd who took their towels down in the dark to reserve chairs. We hope to go back next winter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good food, beautiful views, isolated, a few vendors only-not pushy, lots of trees instead of just concrete. Nice beach
The weak points
The point beside the beach is famous for surfing, fun to watch even for non-surfers but the beach has a few spots that are rocky in the water.
Certified

Affordable and relaxing

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-02
This was our second time staying at the Grand Palladium and we were pleased with our decision to return. Overall the level of service is excellent and we enjoyed our experience.

The property has undertaken some general renovations in the lobby area which help it to feel more modern. Rooms are satisfactorily comfortable and kept very clean with minimal noise and distraction.

This is the only 'all inclusive' that we've been to and found the food and beverage services to be very good with great variety and quality.

We stayed here for the surf break that is right at the beach. There is also a pretty tide pool that has been build which offers great snorkelling and safe ocean swimming. The pool areas are very good with the 'relax' or 'adult' pool being my favorite - the larger one is too big and loud for my taste. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, tide pool, relax pool, buffet options and level of service.
The weak points
Rooms are feeling dated and some smell a bit musty, bathtubs drain very slowly.
Certified

Great as before

, Lachine, QC
2020-01-30
Excellent week ,,,same great service as 2 years ago, great food, lots of activities. taxis can be costly and uber is unavailable, though there is a local bus right out front [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, many a la carte restaurants though buffet is more than satisfactory, many activities
The weak points
Hobie cat was unavailable /not running or booked, lots of walking/stairs not for physically challenged people.
Certified

Nice quiet place

, Vancouver, BC
2019-12-29
Hotel is older, but well maintained, full of tropical plants, a bit isolated what makes it ideal for quiet and quality rest. Air is fresh and clean, view spectacular, especially sunrise and sunset.
Beach is nice and swimmable with medium ocean waves, but there is a small sea pool for non-swimmers,
South side of beach, you could walk kilometers and kilometers by the ocean enjoying view ,send, sun, water, silence…
Food and service were good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hotel arhitecture, location, service
The weak points
hotel is older
Certified

Safe but small beach

, Kelowna, BC
2019-04-28
Poor food selection and tasteless. Hotel needs cleaning and refurbishing.
Not at all suitable for anyone that can not walk stairs. NO elevators in any buildings. Not accessible for many to get to the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
safe beach
The weak points
poor food and needs undating
Certified

Fantastic Family Vacation

, Maple Ridge, BC
2019-04-16
This was our 2nd family vacation at the Palladium and I can guarantee it will not be our last. The staff in every department are so friendly and helpful. The food is great and if you don't see what you want they will try their best to make it happen for you! Highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful resort with some drawbacks

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-03-25
Overall the resort was beautiful and the staff were very nice. The grounds were kept up nicely and the beach was great.
Unfortunately we paid for a deluxe ocean view and when we saw the room we quickly realized that 3 of us couldn't sleep there. The 2 beds were very small doubles, 2 adults could not comfortably sleep on 1 bed. We asked for a cot or a switch of room to something with a king or queen with a pull out couch and was refused. We had to pay $500 to upgrade to a room with a king bed. They tried to say that the upgrade also included other perks that we really didn't see throughout our stay. The other downside was the food. It really was terrible. There wasn't a lot of choice and what was there was dried out and poorly prepared. We travel several times a year to many all inclusives around the world and this was the worst. Lastly there were never enough chairs by the pool, you would have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a seat, which appeared that most people did. Even by 9:00 you were out of luck. The plus was the lovely grounds, nice people and beautiful beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful grounds, nice staff, great beach, good for kids
The weak points
terrible food, not enough facilities and chairs by the pool, "regular" rooms were unsuitable for a family.
Certified

Week in a paradise

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2018-12-19
We loved the location of a hotel, away from the city and crowds. Check-in was a breeze, we paid little bit extra for ocean view room in blg. No 1. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food selection in a buffet was very good, much better food than other hotels we have been to. Salt water nature pool was a great bonus - great for kids, no waves and they could see a lot of fish there. Boogie boarding was great, lots of fun.
The weak points
Kids club was a dissapointment - after 2 attempts our kids didn't want to go there anymore, they were bored (they are 9). I also would enjoy little larger pool, you can't do much swimming in this resort.
Certified

Great family reasort.

, Abbotsford, BC
2018-09-03
Lots to see and do for the family.
Lots of activities for kids and teens. Our boys met some other kids same age at the “teen club” and had a great time.
Free use of surf boards, paddle boards, little kayaks, boogie boards and masks and snorkels at the beach. And you 3 can sign up to go out sailing on a small catamaran for free as well.
We really enjoyed the food. Definitely recommend “viva Mexico”, they make fresh guacamole at your table, awesome.
Lots of Beach and pool activities, and nightly shows and entertainment. There is No need to leave the property.
Food at buffet and restaurants was very good.
Staff helpful and friendly.
Only two negatives,
Must be careful in ocean, any beach activities can be painful, we all have war wounds from getting dragged over the rocky bottom at the beach by the waves. The rocks on the bottom start about 10ft from shore. The second painful negative was sitting through the high pressure sales pitch on our first day, heavy pressure to buy a Palladium membership. They are very good at their job. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Food / good variety. Lots of Entertainment. Many On site FREE activities for kids and adults. Clean.
The weak points
Rocky beach, Great for families maybe a little less romantic for couples. Big Spread out resort, not good for those with mobility issues.
Certified

So so

, Vancouver, BC
2018-04-26
The hotel was very well kept and tidy. The staff was helpful when needed and the service was good for the most part. We were happy to see the animals on the resort and the private beach with salt water pool.
We were unhappy with the service and booking with the a la carte restaurants. The app to reserve did not work the entire time we were there and only 2 restaurants were open at a time each night. We had no other option but to wait outside of the restaurant to get a table which took 2 hours. We booked an excursion for our honeymoon that we were looking forward to and either the driver or the staff that booked for us made a mistake when booking and the driver never showed up. After waiting for 1.5 hours in the lobby we contacted the staff who booked and he booked us a different excursion (not nearly as good, or what we wanted) and never reimbursed us the difference from the original booking. Considering this was our honeymoon and nothing was done to rectify the restaurant booking or excursion mix up they have lost us for returning or becoming a member. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds and beach. Great play area and pool for kids.
The weak points
Restaurant and activity booking.
Certified

Get away

, 100 Mile House, BC
2018-04-12
Great hotel with a great location.the grounds were well maintained and beautiful. Nice breeze which kept you a little cooler.the adult pool was awesome with a great veiw of the beach and ocean and mountains.the staff was great everywhere.friendly and curious. Our room was nice and cleaned daily.the food was ok.we have had better and have experienced worse.the drinks were good and the bar staff everywhere were excellent. would go back to this resort and would recommend to family and friends to try it out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean,organized,beautiful grounds,great staff,great location.
The weak points
There is some room for improvement as far as the food goes.there is something for everyone though.
Certified

My Holliday

, Campbell River, BC
2018-04-05
This resort is designed really well for both visitors who have children and visitors who do not. There is a whole separate area that has an infinity pool, for adults only, that is beautiful. Each day while having a drink in the infinity pool we could watch humpback whales. The resort is also tucked away, isolated from the hustle and bustle of vendors. A weakness of the resort is the food and the evening shows. Both are below average; both are below average. The staff were very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort it is isolated from irritating vendors. Quiet and relaxing adult pool with a great View. Great service. One of the few surf breaks in Mexico. Two swimming pools for families with children including a water slide . Free shuttle from airport.
The weak points
A lot of selection of food but the food have very little flavor. The quality of the nightly entertainment was low. The shows were substandard. Very poor Wi-Fi.
Certified

Grand Palladium Vallarta

, Langley, BC
2018-03-10
A wonderful experience at this resort. Friendly helpful staff. Five very good al a carte restaurants and a buffet. Food was very good with a wide variety of choices. Large swimming pools and a salt water pool on the beach. Our deluxe ocean view room was on the ground floor with a patio that was perfect for viewing the spectacular sunsets. The beach is gorgeous and you can walk quite a distance along the shoreline but should have water shoes as there are rocky areas in and along the water front. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strongest point is the entire staff. The resort is clean and well maintained. Food and drink choices are wide and varied throughout the day and evenings.
The weak points
If even a weakness at all, be prepared for a lot of uphill/downhill walking and stairs which could prove difficult for mobility restricted persons.
Certified

Nice holiday

, Edmonton, AB
2018-02-16
We just returned from a two week vacation at the Grand Pallidium. It is a beautiful resort but not to big. You can walk anywhere you want to go with not many problems. I would advise anyone who is handicapped to ask for main floor rooms as there is no elevator. Many days I had walked 26 stairs on my Fitbit. The pools are nice and not to cold. The food was good as well. Repetitive but still good. Lots of fish. The alacartes were pretty good other than the Italian not to great but still an experience. It was a very relaxing holiday as we didn't do any excursions but did ride the local transportation to Busaries and Puerto Vallarta. Very cheap and worth the ride. The entertainment crew put on a fantastic show. The bartenders and waitresses/waiters were more than accommodating. I would recommend this resort if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff. The food in the buffet.
The weak points
There were many different levels in the main lobby area. If you weren't watching were you were walking you could easily miss them.
Certified

My First Trip South

, Pincourt, QC
2018-02-11
Awesome time! Staff was fabulous - made friends with them all! Beach was not what I expected but I enjoyed the waves.
Food was ok... my Mom was very sick twice in two weeks... was that from the food or the ice? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, excellent!
The weak points
Too far away from towns... Very expensive to go anywhere. I was alone and it was very expensive to have my own room.
Certified

Nice and green lots of stairs.

, Vegreville, AB
2018-02-02
Ok... so we are not high society type of people, just average please and thank you and waiting our turn types. So here in point form is our take on the Paladium at Bucerias...

1/ Lots of stairs but we knew that. 2/ Nice and green. 3/ Partially secluded beach which was nice but little sand. A bigger beach with more sand. Water was always wavy. Warnings posted about sea urchins, sting rays and other bad creatures of the sea. Not a place for swimming in my opinion. Surfers were out there though. 4/ Lots of places to sit under palapas so no need to rush out a 06:00 to save a chair. 5/ Hotel inside is not new but good to above good. 6/ Maid service is not great and we even tipped every day...maybe 20 pesos is not enough??? 7/ Lots of pools if you like that kind of stuff...cannot comment on the daily activities as we are not those kind of people. 8/ Lots of crying babies we found and we just had our first grand kid so we are used to it. Maybe the times have changed since we first started going to mexico and where do these young people get the money? 9/ Stayed only a week so maybe the nightly entertainment would have changed but the week that we were there it was all interpretive dance crap. We have seen a lot of so so entertainment and one night would have been ok but yeah the whole week was crap. 10/ Windy and cool at the time we were there but that was great for me. The locals say that this was not normal though. 11/ Never took the taxi but it is expensive...take the chicken bus its easy and fun! 12/ About an hour from PVR. This is Bradley doing the commenting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Palladium Vallarta

, Regina, SK
2018-01-28
Overall, the resort was good (my first time in Mexico and my first time at an all inclusive resort) but I think it just matters what you are going for.

Good Attributes:
Great beach and views: lots of beach front and we viewed whales everyday from the beach and pools.
Service: all workers (front desk, waiting staff, room service) were all polite and professional and did a good job.
Food: the buffet (so many options) and the a la cartes had amazing food (tasty and filling).
Pools: 3 pools on site (family, kid and adult pools) which fit everyone and you could always find a chair.
Entertainment: a show at 9 every night and the performers were amazing. Some nights there was nowhere to sit.
Rooms: nice rooms, nothing over the top but are kept clean.

Bad Attributes:
Restaurant Reservations: they make you download a phone app to make reservations at the a la carte. Can only reserve for the people of one room (hard when you have people in several rooms). Out of 8 of us, only 2 of us could get the app to work and it seems like this was happening to everyone. The concierge and help staff make it very difficult to make reservations without the app. Had to argue with them every night to get them to reserve a table for all of us.
Wi-Fi: very spotty. Better at the pools than in your rooms (I could only get service in my room if standing beside the window). Plus you have to sign in each time you lose connection, which doesn't always work and is time consuming.
Spa: first it is a bit pricey (about $140 USD). We only booked because they gave us 30% off. Both of the hot tubs and saunas were out of commission and were not forewarned about this (the guy even said to come early so we could hang out in the hot tub). The actual massage wasn't anything great either, just a regular massage.
Terrain: resort is built into the hills which means there is a lot of ups and downs. Personally, I don't find this as a negative, but it can be for people who are old, out of shape or disabled.
Location: this can be seen as a negative or a positive. The resort is somewhat secluded and a ways away from Puerto Vallarta. Takes about $10 USD per person to get to PV, so it gets costly if you wanna do excursions or visit cities.
Nightlife: there's a disco there, but we were there for a week and it seems like nothing was ever happening there. Doesn't really attract young people and there wasn't much of a nightlife. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful stay at this resort!

, Calgary, AB
2018-01-22
The experience was great from check in through activities, meals and entertainment. The staff was excellent and as an experienced traveller thought this was one of the better places we've ever stayed at. But what was outstanding was the resort cleanliness and quality of food.
The only issue was at check out. The only time I use my credit card in Mexico was to pay for my wine. I experienced a multiple of charges immediately after using my credit card from an account not authorized. RBC security credited at the multiple charges and I'm sure contacted you. I checked out on January 9 with your main daytime person that handles cash. You may have had others similar experiences and that's why I should warn you. This caused much difficulty as we were continuing vacation in other countries without this Visa card as it had to be destroyed.
Although the card issue was very disappointing I still have to tell you that my wife and I enjoyed our experience up until that point. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Palladium, Puerto Vallarta

, Minnedosa, MB
2017-12-25
This was a one time trip for us with our family. We enjoyed our stay. There are plenty of staff and they are very accommodating. The hotel delivers what it promises - nice weather, pools, beaches, surf, good food and entertainment [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Buffett - always excellent food. The Mexican restaurant, the surf and beach, entertainment. Spa, gym, fitness programs Towel exchange.
The weak points
Location - isolated compared to downtown hotels. Felt like we got sucked in to the membership “tour” Restaurants hard to access - maybe some are for members only - so just say so. Room was hot
Certified

Best to go when there are no renovations going on.

, Abbotsford, BC
2017-11-23
For our first time staying here, we had a bit of problems. our room reservation was incorrect and we had to change rooms four times and we still didn't get what we paid for. The renovations were extensive and inconvenient. Jewelry disappeared from our room. We were hit up right away to buy a membership. High price to pay for what was going on there at the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean. Drinks were good.
The weak points
Major renovations going on. Incorrect room assignment.At checkout we asked for a bellboy to be at our room at a certain time and no one showed up. Inconsistency with information given.
Certified

Great Family Resort

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-05-08
Our visit to Grand Palladium was great. The staff was very friendly and always went out of their way to help us. The food was good. We had no problem getting into any of the restaurants even without reservations. The buffet was great, had plenty of selection for both adults and kids. The kids club was great for our son, they did a great job of keeping him happy when at the club. The beach was amazing, very clean. There was plenty of beach toys for younger ones and for the older ones there was surf and boogie boards. They even gave free surf lessons. We will be returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the effort made from all to make everyone enjoy their vacation was outstanding.
The weak points
The sports bar needs an overhaul and they pushed the spa too much
Certified

Well kept resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-03-14
Very clean, staff very friendly and professional,
Well kept, safe, food was very good,lots to choose
from, would like more activities or pool games, coffee stand by beach would be nice in the morning, surf was awesome, beach was always clean, beautiful grounds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Environmental conscious, friendly staff, service Was amazing everywhere on resort, always cleaning, always smiling, safe, scenic, allergy conscious.
The weak points
Imperial club, was a waist of money, not much benefits to it, $1250 credit is a joke, didn't feel like we got the upgrade treatment, shuttle was straight shuttle anyways, would expect more for imperial, twin bed for 2 people, should be queen
Certified

Beautiful resort with awesome staff!!

, Calgary, AB
2016-12-28
A great place for family's and couples, the staff are wonderful and the food is really good in all restaurants. I have no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Infinity pool, located on a hill so awesome for burning calories and the jungle is relaxing
The weak points
None for me, not the best resort if you have a physical impairment and unable to walk
Certified

Peaceful with beautiful surroundings

, Delta, Br
2016-06-10
The staff were incredibly kind, helpful and welcoming. The food at the a la carte restaurants was beyond our expectations - truly delicious with excellent service. The resort is spread out so it never feels too busy, and the jungle setting is very peaceful. The adult only infinity pool is open late which is perfect for a late night dip to cool off, and the salt water pool in the ocean is a really fun and safe way to enjoy the sea, seaweed free. There was also great surfing in the water right in front of the resort and there is lots of water sport equipment available. This was my husbands 4th all inclusive experience, and he said it was his favourite - the best food and the best staff. We had two different couples recommend we stay here, and now we would recommend it as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Might be our last year here

, Kitchener, ON
2016-05-02
We've stayed at this hotel before, and loved every minute of it. We were going to make this our yearly destination.
However we were disappointed this year. The service in the restaurants was all over the place. Sometimes it was good, but most of the time it was terrible. The food was very good, if you could get it.
This year we had 3 power outages, one that wasn't the resorts fault, but the others was due to a bad breaker that took forever for them to fix, and after that it kept tripping and we had to fix it ourselves. No mention of moving us to a different room, even after yelling at the front desk after the 3rd time.
This year, Towel etiquette wasn't observed as well, as alot of the times our stuff was moved off our chairs when we came back from lunch.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. We love this resort and what it has to offer for us, however we are thinking it's time to move on. Either it's become more popular and thus the staff cannot keep up, or they've just lost interest in the service we've come to expect.

The beach bar, Luis, is amazing, and always a smile, as well as the watersports guys, and the maids are excellent. But the restaurant staff need some more customer service training this year.
We also had a problem with being on the ground floor and people trying to steal our items we had hanging out to dry. We had to chase one person away before he got a chance to take anything, and then we brought it all in to dry.
The adults only pool had alot of children this year. They weren't in the pool itself, but hanging out around it. Also alot of 20-somethings drinking like crazy was a bit much.
The adult bar, Hemmingways was great, but could use a few more tables for those of us that just want a quiet drink with friends.
All 6 of us were sick on this trip, ranging from colds to diarrhea, and think it was mostly from the overly greasy food in the sports bar, so we avoided it completely.

We met a couple who were on their 3rd year at this resort, and they also said the vibe was alot different this year, and will be moving on as well.
I don't know if we'll be back, but it was great while it lasted !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is excellent, Maids service is perfect, accomodating your any request with a smile, alot of walking/stairs but it keeps you fit after all the eating/drinking, bar staff & watersports staff very friendly, grounds/zoo/beach is beautiful
The weak points
Ocean is a little rough for swimming, buffet & a la carte service was terrible, very busy this time, and people would move your stuff and steal your chairs, long wait times at all the restaurants, power outages were tiresome, threat of theft
Certified

My Puert Vallarta holiday

, Hinton, AB
2016-04-17
this hotel was fantastic, the staff were very professional and friendly. The food at the buffet was excellent with lots of choices for breakfast , lunch and dinner,we went to one of the Ala Carte restaurants, Viva Mexico, it was very good if you like a little spice to your meal.There were 2 pools the main pool had activities throughout the day and was lots of fun, there is also an adult pool ,if you would like it a bit quieter, the staff at both pools were awesome and you were never without a drink if you needed one.There is also a sea pool with a wall around and at high tide the waves wash over it a bit, there is a lifeguard on duty at all times and you can snorkel on the beach, go surfing , go in the waves with smaller boards or paddleboard, you can also go on a catamaran sailing trip , it is all included in the price, lots of fun.
Overall I had a fantastic time with my husband, and would go back there again and recommend it to anyone , in April it was above 30 Deg each day we were there.
There were at least 5 Weddings on the beach during our stay which was lovely to see !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Palladium Vallarta

, White Rock, BC
2016-04-07
We had a wonderful experience at the Palladium. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, except those with walking disabilities, lots of walking as the property is so large, and plenty of stairs to the pools and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, everyone was so helpful and friendly.
The weak points
Terrible pillows in the room.
Certified

A Wonderful Week

, Mississauga, ON
2016-02-17
Our group of 10 stayed at the Grand Palladium Vallarta from Feb 7-14th 2016.
Check in was smooth and efficient and staff got us quickly to our rooms.
The rooms were typical Caribbean type rooms. Nicely decorated, good beds and nice bathrooms.
There are several restaurants between the main buffet and a la cartes. The sports bar has good bar food especially the sampler. All the a la cartes are very good and the buffet has a very good variety. For good or bad (lol) I noticed the wide selection of dessets, even at breakfast. There was even an popcicle cart that made the rounds of the main pool every once in a while.
For the a la cartes there is no reservations except for the beach bbq. The a la cartes are first come first served. If they can't seat you immediately they give you a beeper. Works good.
There was 4 pools, a kids with slides, the main pool with swim up bar, a salt water pool in the ocean and the infinity pool. One of the highlights of this resort is the infinity pool. It is a warm pool that is open till midnight. There is a bar beside it. The pool is high up and offers a great view of the ocean. It is possible to see whales on occassion. We spent a lot of time in that pool.
There is also a nature area with paths and a small zoo which is cute.
The kids club looked very good as well.
The bars are numerous with great bartenders. Our favourite was the Hemingway bar. Higher end alcohol and it is located away from the noise of the other areas.
The animation staff is very good and there are lots of activities that can be joined. The resort brought in some outside entertainment. One of the days had an acrobatic group come and do a cool pool show and one of the night shows included a very good local rock band.
There is a good disco on site.
The resort also has a very nice church for weddings.
The beach is small but private and if you love riding the waves they are very good there. There is always surfers off to one side as the waves are pretty good.
The day we arrived the resort was having a Superbowl tailgate party. The resort did an excellent job. There was a ton of food, projection tvs and beer tents.
Overall I highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The infinity pool, food, effort of the resort staff.
The weak points
Small beach - personal preference
Pro

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?