Grand Marival Emotions Resort And Suites

3.843.843.843.843.84
Grand Marival Emotions Resort And Suites
#13 of 19 hotels in Riviera Nayarit
3.84 based on 132 reviews
Traveller pictures (9)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Grand Marival Emotions Resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-08-12
Overall the resort was fine. The staff are willing to help at every turn, and the food was good. There were some outstanding dishes at the large buffet, and the Pergola and Bamba were excellent a la carte outings.I would not hesitate to return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the people, the food
The weak points
the a la carte restaurants were not open every day
Certified

Marival Resorts & Suites - 2-bedroom

, North Vancouver, BC
2018-04-27
Overall we had a great time, spent everyday at the beach or pool and was a relaxing holiday, or at least as relaxing as can be with a 5 year old and 17 month old. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of options and good mix for adults and kids. Plus was nice to have a 2 bedroom so kids could go to bed and still be able to relax.
The weak points
We found the housekeeping very inconsistent. We had no face cloths by end, & only enough bath towels for one use. Our shower leaked badly during a shower & had to use our bath towels to mop up every time. Towels were left on ground but not replaced always
Certified

Good Family Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2017-12-06
Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, each with 1 king bed and an en suite. The room also had a pull out couch and a 3rd full bathroom which was ideal for our family of 5. Located on the far south side of the hotel, it was a little far from the main pools and on the opposite side from the children's pool, but a good room overall. The children's pools were great for our kids aged 2-7. Never had a problem getting towels or lounge chairs at the pools or the beach. The beach was also really nice for children as the tide went out quite a ways and the water was very shallow, making it less worrisome to let kids play near the water. Didn't really take advantage of the kids club, but kids enjoyed the pool and beach so much there was no need. The only complaint I have is the buffet. We are glad we took full advantage of our 3 a la cart dinners because the buffets were pretty disappointing. The 3 a la cart dinners were good and 2 of the 3 restaurants we tried (La Pergola & Las Palamas) offered kids menus which were great for the kids. Also enjoyed the entertainment at the fiesta night on Tuesdays. Check in and checkout was relatively quick. Noticed a lot of the hotel staff did not speak much English, which was fine, but noticeable. Overall, although the kids pools and beach were great for our family, I do not feel as though the hotel offered anything different that I can't find at most other hotels in Mexico. The hotel was somewhat expensive (perhaps for the 2 bedroom suite which seems to be hard to come by) and quite average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, beach, location. Great for families.
The weak points
Buffet.
Certified

Stay from Nov 9-16

, Surrey, BC
2017-11-18
We stayed here for a week to celebrate a friends 40th birthday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were happy with our room. Lovely view nice swimmable beach, good drinks breakfast was good at La Pergola
The weak points
Food was poor quality. We got food poisoning from Almalfi the Italian restaurant so bad both my boyfriend and I woke up at 2 am and were vomiting every 15 mins for 12 hours. Concierge said this was dehydration. Not the case at all I am well traveled
Certified

Marival Nuevo Vallarta

, Brampton, ON
2017-03-27
Had a regular room however could hear everything in the room next door. Up at 3am phones ringing people talking, front desk very empathic, had suite available and upgraded us for the last 2 nights. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Long stretch of beach to walk, liked access tothe boards and kayaks everyday.
The weak points
The specific areas for club members only, limited time of waiter service on the beach.
Certified

Vacations in Nuevo Vallarta

, Burnaby, BC
2016-10-10
I absolutely loved my vacations. From the accommodations, food and entertainment and the friendly entertainment staff. especially Trivi and Larissa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I absolutely loved my vacations. From the accommodations, food and entertainment and the friendly entertainment staff. especially Trivi and Larissa.
Certified

Senior

, Coquitlam, BC
2016-09-12
Exellent this was my second time to visit the Marival. The Resort is very clean , room spacious. The food is great. The staff very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exellent
Certified

Enjoyable vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2016-01-16
Overall, a very nice resort, excellent food, service, rooms, warm pools,slides for the kids...this was our second time there because we liked it a lot the first time...that being said there are a couple things we didn't like: the kids club (it provides some activities but my kids never wanted to stay there) and no outside dancing or livelier atmosphere in the evening. But for most families, this resort would be a great choice. Not the best choice if you're single, there's not much to do although there is a nightclub... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
Kids club
Certified

Very niceeeee

2015-12-28
Very nice hotel, the view, beach , pool, food and so many other thing were so nice,,,,,, animation crew was so nice, different activities every day,,,,,we will go back,,, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not going back!

, Edmonton, AB
2015-11-16
The only thing that deserved 5 stars was the internet availability. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Some of the food was good. My room was clean and comfortable.
The weak points
did not appreciate the sales pitch as soon as we arrived. Over all the food was poor. Seafood and meat overdone and rubbery. Endured saws and jack hammering throughout. Not fond of the segregated areas for "club" members. frequent changes of restaurants.
Certified

Hotel Marival, Neuvo Vallarta

2015-08-10
Generally excellent, lots of friendly and helpful staff, good English, spotlessly clean, well laid out, great A/C in room, I have a 5 year old, she loved every minute, no pressure for tips, 5 pools, daily poolside entertainment, nightly shows in on site theatre, Tennis, Bikes to borrow, life guard on beach. Kids pool was good for hours of supervised fun every day, 30 minute bus from airport, hard to fault if you are happy not roaming around the town and seeing the sights, if you want to sit and chill this is the place. If you are not interested in Timeshare make that clear when you are first approached. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness and service, cleanliness, variety of facilities. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at, Housekeeping was amazing. Kids paradise. Beautiful sunsets.
The weak points
patchy Wi-Fi, some push on Timeshare which is not made clear, ask the question.
Certified

A disappointment

, Victoria, BC
2015-04-25
The good things: great weather, a good room, most of the hotel staff. The not-so-good and awful things: the food was pretty awful and some of our dining experiences in the a la carte restaurants were Python-esque. On ordering lamb medallions at Amalfi and getting a thin slice of lamb covering a processed ground chicken pattie - the waiter explained that was how they made lamb medallions. The red wine started out being awful and misrepresented the first night. Reassuring us it was Spanish, the manager was honest enough to explain later that they were changing wine suppliers and that in fact it was the 'old' wine that was served (in a bottle without a label) and that they would now really be serving Spanish red. He did apologise.
There were many many children there - which we did not expect and the quiet pool was often full of very loud and loutish people. This is one of those places where groups go and they are selfish enough to put towels etc. on every chaise in the place (pool and beach) so there is nothing left for anyone else. Of course the hotel does nothing to discourage this. The whole experience was down-market. If you go here you will find yourself prefacing everything you say with "...for the price I guess it's ok". It was a cheap package and I wouldn't do it again because it was a cheap experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, weather, beach, our room in the grand.
The weak points
Food and way too many children.
Certified

Good hotel and facilities

, Hillsborough, No
2015-01-03
Comfortable large rooms, great food options, swimminhg pools and beach really good. Staff and cleanliness very good. Only poor point weak at informing guests of activities and animation shows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, comfortable, excellent food. Really nice hotel.
The weak points
Very poor at informing guests of events, sporting activities etc. Needs to be vastly improved.
Certified

Palmers from Canada

, Sturgeon County, AB
2014-05-13
We had a fabulous experience at Marival. The staff are friendly and personable. The resort was very clean. The food at the al la carte restaurants was incredible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are so personable. Very clean resort
The weak points
Constant overbooking of rooms. Wanted our party to go to there Condo's then we would have to take a shuttle to and from the main resort. We wasted several hours sorting this out.
Certified

Victoria

, Victoria, BC
2014-03-09
awesome place great food great people and kids loved the kids club would go again in a heartbeat [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach food pools entertainment people that worked there were fabulous
The weak points
pushed to hard on time share
Certified

No wristband till you hear about our timeshare

, Winnpeg, MB
2014-02-07
Before you get your wristband or room keys you first have to listen to one of their people offer you cash and an excursion all for free, you just enjoy a breakfast with them the next morning and only for 90 minutes, oh yeah and they aren't selling anything, no pressure. Righttt! This turned us off right away, I mean I know this is going to happen at the airport or when shopping off the resort, but we didn't expect it from the resort.
Otherwise we liked the place, the food was above average, room service was ok, beach was very nice. Our bellhop Pedro was very helpful, explaining to us how to get around the area and to Bucherias. Just didn't like being sold something from the resort.
One other thing that seemed wrong was the segregation of guest, you had to be one of their gold members to receive the better service and better beach area, you couldn't into certain areas or restaurants unless you had a GOLD towel and wristband. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, good food, nice pool areas
The weak points
Free wifi only in main lobby and you had to get a new password everyday, membership/timeshare selling soon as you get there, didn't get king bed as we requested, so had to change the next day to room without a view.
Certified

Marival - 3rd visit - all expectations met

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-03
This is our third visit to Nuevo and Grand Marival, the hotel is lovely, clean, lots of variety in the food, service is excellent and the common areas like the pool and gardens are immaculate. There are several pools with one for adults only, it is quiet and peaceful, but if you want more action and games there is a pool area for that too. There are also several lounges and places to chill out and have a cocktail, all very well maintained and with lovely staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, pools, lounges and food. The view from our room was amazing - pools, gardens and the ocean.
The weak points
Deck chairs on the beach are left vacant for hours with just a towel and there is no controls in place to free them up; the bathroom was a bit dark, the lights took quite a while to warm up.
Certified

Grand Marival was great

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-03
Very nice resort. The proximity to all amenties and the beach was great. Staff were very friendly including the entertainment team that provided much fun through out the day and that the evening shows. So much to do. Fitness centre, tennis courts, shuffleboard, bicycles, great kids club etc.. Also having the opportunity to take photos in the station at the lobby and to email them on the spot was fun. Friendly concierge and booth with excursion options was convenient. The outdoor bar by the pizza stand was a nice gathering place late at night. Good variety of food in the buffet and a la carte restaurants were great. The breakfast and lunch at the sit down inside restaurant close to the pool was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this resort. 4.5 rating in my books. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. All the activities. Proximity to all the amenities.
The weak points
The fridge in our room was not cold. Music by the outdoor bar would have been nice in the evening. The person at the business services room was disinterested and when I had problems with the keyboard she was of no help.
Certified

Downward Slope

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-13
I have stayed at this hotel several times. The hotel is showing its age. The bathrooms need work. The charge for internet access is exorbitant. The meal presentation was excellent however the food was cold quite often. This is the first time I have been disappointed and I will not return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is very friendly. The beach is great.
The weak points
Rooms need work. Food often served lukewarm/cold.
Certified

Disappointed

, Hines Creek, AB
2013-12-20
Have met friends there for the past five years seems to go downhill every year. Timeshare reps right beside front desk when you register they are the ones that give you your hotel bracelets very pushy and annoying when you don't agree to listen to them. Renovations going on was not aware of. A lot of the resort is only for owners now. My room was over the renovation. They worked til eleven at night sometimes. A lot of grinding very dusty not much fun for sitting on your balcony. The main buffet closed for few a days.
The majority the food was never hot. They still have one the best beaches and it is always clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The majority of the staff were friendly. Beautiful beach kept clean.
The weak points
Renovations going on did not know this fact. They worked sometimes till eleven at night. A lot of grinding very dusty.
Certified

Returning after 5 years

, Richmond, BC
2013-12-04
Got married 5 years ago at this resort. It retained most of the qualities we remembered at the Grand Marival. This time we brought our 2 year old son and the hotel was very accommodating for kids.
We ate at the a la cartes every night during our first visit and really loved the food but unfortunately we were only allowed 3 max this time around.
However, we will likely be back! It was still an amazing time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful and friendly staff Excellent food at the a la cartes Very accommodating when travelling with kids
The weak points
only 3 a la cartes max pricey internet service
Certified

RivieraNayarit

, Montreal, QC
2013-07-24
We were automatically upgraded for no charge to marival residences! Thank goodness because I don't think my trip would have been as memorable had we stayed at the resort side!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids slides beach
The weak points
Way too crowded from Mexicans enjoying day passes!!! Hotel needs major updates
Certified

Get what you pay for.

, Edmonton, AB
2013-07-02
The price was very good and we learned why when we got there. It's locals season! I would guess that 90% of the guests were Mexican and the rest were from out of country. Which of course would not be a problem if you were not treated rudely at all times. It also seemed to cause the staff to be rude as they clearly prefer dealing with Spanish speaking locals than annoying foreigners. Some staff were really nice but they were over shadowed by the many rude and incompetent. Especially the reception, they were the worst. The buffet was a zoo.

I hear in the winter season that it is the other way around and they're hardly any locals. So I guess just don't go in the summer season and prepare to sleep on a really hard bed.

I've been to 8 different all inclusive resorts and would have to say that this was the worst. Would not go back in any season. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good a la carte dinners. Great view from the main lobby and the room we had. Pizzeria was pretty cool. Glad they had an adults only pool. Drivers to take you in to town for good price.
The weak points
Reception staff. Rude and inconsiderate locals seemingly doing whatever they pleased all night and day. Would have Spanish only events and shows at night. Beds and Rooms. No minibar. Seemed to not have control of guests.
Certified

The 4.5 star rating is deceiving.

, North Bay, ON
2013-04-17
Rooms only OK and changed once due to humid created musty odour. Rooms need renovation. We were changed to an ocean front room, which was nice. Nice sound of surf on Pacific.

Hotel a bit dated. Food, eating facilities not as good as Riu, Mazatlan. Excellent Italian restaurant.

Beach good.

Staff very good.

Good stay for families.

Would likely select another hotel next time, unless price better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

GRAND MARIVAL AND SUITES

, Calgary, AB
2013-04-15
STAFF EXCELLENT; FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. FOOD VERY GOOD IN A LA CARTES & GOOD IN BUFFET; VARIETY OF FOOD IN BUFFET A LITTLE LIMITED. GROUNDS AND RESTAURANTS VERY CLEAN BUT IS DEFINITELY AN "OLDER" PROPERTY. ROOMS COULD BE CLEANER. POOLS CLEAN AND NOT CROWDED. ENTERTAINMENT NOT VERY GOOD.

SERVICE AT FRONT DESK VERY GOOD, BUT VERY SLOW.

BIG COMPLAINT; ALL BOUTIQUES GIVE CHANGE IN PESOS; FRONT DESK WOULD NOT CONVERT LARGE $US TO SMALLER $US EVEN THOUGH THEY HAD SUBSTANTIAL BILLS; THEY
DID MAKE CHANGE ON CHECKOUT WITH $US.

WE GOT WHAT WE EXPECTED FOR THE PRICE WE PAID; DEFINITELY A 3.5 TO 4 STAR. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SERVING STAFF IN RESTAURANTS EXCELLENT
The weak points
ROOMS COULD BE CLEANER ... DIRT UNDER BED. FAILURE TO EXCHANGE $US FOR $US.
Certified

My Trip to Grand Marival and Suites

, Mississauga, ON
2013-03-27
We had a good experience at the Marival. Better than expected. They have a great kids pool and the kids club was ok, could have been better. Beach was okay and the pools were nice (4 to choose from which was good). Rooms are very dated on the hotel side and need to be renovated before we would return. Overall experience was a 8 out of 10 excluding the room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was better than expected and the restaurants were great, all round atmosphere and food.
The weak points
Rooms need to be upgraded. The one room hotel style are very dated.
Certified

Hola from Kelowna :)

, Kelowna, BC
2013-03-20
Great place to vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice resort.Personable employees.Atmosphere great. Good food.
The weak points
Needs to be updated a bit.
Certified

GRANS MARIVAL& SUITES

, Kelowna, BC
2013-03-19
GREAT HOTEL.. WILL GO AGAIN.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, staff very accomodating,always lots of activities, a great place to stay, I'll be back!!
The weak points
The rooms on the deck level had king beds or 2 double beds. We got stuck with 2 doubles.. The double beds should be AT LEAST QUEEN BEDS..
Certified

Simply amazing

, Blumenort, MB
2013-03-11
This hotel has a great location on the beach, amazing staff and service, drinks were delicious, food fresh hot and well stocked. Grounds were spotless,rooms spacious and cozy. Will be returning next yr. Staff really take care of all your needs to make your vacation memorable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service,beach,location cleanliness.
The weak points
None
Certified

Vacation from hell

, Bragg Creek, AB
2013-03-06
Hotel was old and food was not great not enough activities for adults or children during day evening shows in the theater were terrible very boring will not be going back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing staff
The weak points
food rooms overall experience not enjoyable
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?