Bahia Principe Grand Coba

Bahia Principe Grand Coba
4.144.144.144.144.14
4.14 based on 1415 reviews
#15 of 137 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (440)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Atay Jan 13-25

, New Westminster, BC
2024-01-27
We really enjoyed our stay and excursion
Maguiel in the dining room was great
He is a great PR person for the hotel
All staff is friendly and respectful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food,Specialty restaurants Great staff
The weak points
Rockey beach
Certified

Lovely resort

, Thunder Bay, ON
2024-01-06
The people who work at and run this resort are wonderful, helpful and friendly. The food choices at the buffet are out of this world. We stayed in a villa close to the beach and loved spending much of our days there. The beaches are clean and full of everything you might need. The nightly entertainment was really nice and varied. The only downside was that we stayed over new year's eve and most of the efforts were placed on the incredible food and fireworks show. In between the meal at 6 pm and midnight, there was no entertainment and people did nothing but sit around and wait. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff. The buffet. Close to the beach. Cleanliness. The wildlife. The shuttle service. The support of families.
The weak points
The entertainment during new year's eve festivities. We had to constantly contact room service to ask for simple items that should have been in our room on a regular basis. After dinner at La Grand Tortuga in Tulum, we were left stranded.
Sanitary measures
Super clean.
Certified

Tips to make your trip better

, Calgary, AB
2023-12-30
This is a HUGE RESORT so if you don't like to walk alot (we did more than 20000 steps a day) or if you have any mobility issues (not good for seniors) it may be an issue for you. These three resorts have some problems trying to maintain all of its guests needs as I mention below. We are NOT snobby, entitled people at all and are all fit but after a few days we knew (Mostly because of the food) we should not have chosen this resort for our 2 week Christmas vacation. We made the best of it and did have a great time however this is our impressions and tips that will hopefully help you make an educated decision on if this resort is a good fit for you.

We purchased the additional Privledge bands so we could move about the 3 resorts and were happy we did because each resort had a plus. We booked Coba, however we spent very little time there (a bit run down and entirely too many kids (they actually had hand/foot disease in the children's play pool while we were there). The beach is very rocky, there is a tiny area enclosed but not what anyone going to the beach would expect, the buffet is extremely over crowded and the staff at Coba were the least friendly. We spent most of our time at the Tulum resort (everything is better at Tulum except the very leaky roof covered in tarps lol) The pools, staff and especially acess to the beach are better. If you want to go to the beach walking 5 to 8 minutes to the left ( left when facing the ocean) there is a beautiful mostly sandy beach and mostly sandy ocean floor to play in. I strongly reccommend bringing water shoes with you in your luggage as they will be needed at all beaches in some areas. You can buy water shoes in town or at the resort but you will likely have to pay $40.00 USD for them. EVERYTHING IS RIDICULOUSLY OVERPRICED at the Resort. 890 MXN for a bag of Mexican brand chips, 445 MXN for a ball for the pool. If you want a floatie you can expect to pay over 1200 MXN ($100.00 Canadian!!)

We went to the Akumal resort for dinner as it seemed to be the most chaos free buffet area. If you bypass the first entrance to the buffet you can go to a very quiet dining area that has no small children and is mostly adults. This room is slower service for drinks and clearing of dishes but it was so peaceful we didn't mind. Both Tulum and Coba are extremely busy dining buffets and we generally only went to the Coba buffet for breakfast as we found it to be total chaos. The beach snack shack in Akumal consistantly had the best lunch options and the food was generally hot and decent.

Getting Around: After trying to negotiate a price for a cab to Playa for 4 people and realizing that was a total rip off too ($40.00 USD/person to go 40 minutes away) we quickly learned how to navigate the Collectivo. It is only 20 to 50 MXN (2 to 5 canadain dollars per one way) Take the trolley from your lobby to the Hacienda (Market) Walk to the highway right beside the Casino. You will see white vans. Tell them where you are going and how many of you there are travelling. They will tell you when they arrive at your destination so don't worry if you have to sit at the very back. Sometimes you will have to cross the highway to catch the collectivo in the right direction of your destination. It is not as scary as it seems, there are lots of lulls in traffic so you can cross. Coming back to the resort is a bit trickier as depending on the time of day the Collectivo vans may be full of locals going home from work. Be patient there will eventually be one that will have enough room. We actually had to take two different vans on the way home from Xaret because it was very busy. I took my daughter and my husband took our son in different vans and we felt very safe doing so. If you go to Playa Del Carmen the Collectivo does not drop you right at the shopping area. You will have to walk several blocks to get there. I would suggest having a GPS so you can navagate your way (either buy a plan from your provider or purchase a Mexican SIM CARD from the OXXO for your vacation. Only $9.00 USD. We did this for two phones so we could call and message plus use our navigation for getting around or finding each other in the giant resorts.

Shopping: Mexico is no longer the inexpensive destination that you buy tons of gifts to take home. Playa is extremely expensive and they were very difficult to barder with. I had no choice but to purchase sunglasses as I lost mine on day one. I knew I could have purchased a decent cheap pair in Calgary for $20.00 to 30.00 CAD so there was no way I was going to pay $50.00 USD for a lesser pair just because I was in Mexico. I found the street vendors to be extremely pushy, rude and hostile if you didn't buy from them. I would not reccomend doing your shopping in Playa. A visit to see it is recommended though because it is a nice town with lots to see. The market is just off of the coast so you can walk along the water if you get tired of the pushy vendors. Lots of great restaurants too. We also went to the town of Tulum. Much better experience. Venders were so much better. While in Tulum we went to AKI the Grocery Store and bought snacks at regular prices. (Sometimes you just want a taste of home and they had Lays)

Al a Cartes: Go the the Lobby the day you arrive and book your al a cartes. We were there for two weeks and were only able to book 2 when we were entitled to 6. The two we booked were the Japanese Restaurant Mikado and the Nikkei Mashua which is a Peruvian/Japanese Fushion (It is a beautiful restaraunt with very unimpressive food) although it was much better then the Mikado which actually made me sick. They cooked everything in copious amounts of butter and soy. Disgusting. Something we found disappointing was that the al a cartes allow you in wearing shorts and t shits. Al a cartes have always been long pants and dresses as long as we have been travelling (25 years) and it makes them a bit special because it is like going out on a date while away. We found guests to be obnoxious and underdressed for the al a cartes. Rules are rules people.

The most upsetting thing about the entire resort was the food. Breakfast was the best and there was a large selection of options although almost always cold. We recommend the omlets that are cooked in front of you and hot. Lunch we always ate at the beach in Akumal. Supper was terrible in fact is was consistently cold and the same thing every single day except Christmas Eve when they had their Christmas Dinner which was cold and disappointing. After day 3 I dreaded supper and found it almost impossible to find any kind of vegetable options. There were many meat options however everything was extremely overcooked to the point of being the consistency of a shoe soul. Everything was sitting in a sauce that was flavorless and luke warm. Sometimes there was a microwave in which you can warm your food before going to your table. 2 out of 5 for food and as I said earlier we are not overly picky people it was just bad.

Comfort: we had two adjoining rooms 1 king on one side and 2 doubles on the other side. We have been home for 4 days and my shoulder and back are still very sore from the concrete matresses. My goodness they were horrible. The couch cushions were a much better choice or go and sleep on the pool loungers. We did hear from one couple that they had a 3" memory foam pad on their bed but when I asked about it no one knew what I was talking about. I would ask about a bed upgrade.

Shows: They really push Origen which is a show they charge for. We did go to see it and found it very underwhelming probably because we have been to real cirque shows and this was a knock off Cirque. The costumes were nice.
If you only make it to one evening show we HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Magic Show. Trust me is was fantastic. It should be the show they charge for as it was excellent. Even my sceptic husband was very impressed. Unfortunately this was the first show we saw so everything else we saw was a bit disappointing.

This resort is close to all of the most popular parks, ruins and towns. Like I said if they could improve the food and beds we would give it a much better review. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Close to everything Lots of animals on the resort grounds Snack Bars were good Pools were good Shuttles are good once you figure out how they work. Grounds are maintained Magic show in evening is excellent
The weak points
Food is consistently cold (the resort needs a much more efficient way to keep food warm) Food has no flavor and meat is overcooked. Beds are rock hard. Not exaggerating they are terrible. Everyone we spoke to agreed that the beds were terrible.
Certified

Our Christmas stay at Bahia Principe Coba

, Woodstock, ON
2023-12-30
We really enjoyed our stay , I had checked in online so checkin at front desk was very fast, I had emailed a request for a choice of 4 different villas with a ground floor due to mobility issues climbing stairs ( there are no elevators but lots of ramps in the lobby , buffets& theatres), pool was kinda cool but refreshing after baking in the sun , our drinks were excellent, buffet foid was lots of variety & as most buffets only lukewarm, we only did 1 Al a carte, Tequila ( Mexican) it was great ,but had to take the tram as it is on the Tulum part of the complex, evening shows were fantastic even the kids did little plays every night, entertainment team were fantastic, getting to know you & trying to get you involved. Everyone was very friendly & eager to please, our room was cleaned every day perfectly, Checkout was very fast too, iWork's definitely recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff very friendly,drinks , food, mostly everything
Certified

Review of my stay

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-12-26
Hello
Felt the entertainment was lacking Buffet was repetitive
Rooms needed upgrading
Bartender were understaffed and unskilled
Check in staff was inexperienced and lack of English
Preferred.club membership rep lied to us on his salesman intent

Been traveling like this for 20 years
Thought I saw it all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice beach
The weak points
Frozen pool
Certified

Do NOT listen to the negative reviews!!

, Halton, ON
2023-12-08
We had an amazing time at this resort! The shows were great for the children & there was always a dance party in the terrace! Pools were clean, splash pad was awesome! Food repetitive, but plentiful! A la cartes were amazing!
I'm glad we didnt listen to the negative reviews! Only thing is the beds were pretty hard, and the pool bar needs 3 servers in the afternoon but thats about all the negatives I can think of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Sports Bar Pools Splash Pad
The weak points
Beds are hard Pool bars need more servers
Certified

Good mid-range all inclusive

, Lethbridge, AB
2023-12-08
Good resort. Clean, well staffed. Beach access from Grand Coba is basically only by using trolley. Lack of food service at beach is a drawback. Nice pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Great Resort

, Surrey, BC
2023-10-16
We had a great time. Lots of choices for food options, pools, activities, entertainment etc. lots of shuttles available to take you around this very large property made it easy to get around to enjoy all the amenities available! The staff were absolutely amazing and made the experience that much better. We wouldn't hesitate to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The A la carte restaurants were fantastic! The grounds were very well maintained and the staff were fantastic. We became regulars at certain locations and staff members became familiar with our names and preferences. I wouldn't hesitate to return.
The weak points
We would've liked to have more than 3 a la carte nights but the quality and selection at the buffet was completely redeeming. They were great at switching it up each morning/lunch& dinner time. I was pleasantly surprised!!
Sanitary measures
Facilities were very clean and well maintained. Very happy with how well things were taken care of
Certified

Bahia Principe Grand Coba

, Calgary, AB
2023-10-06
We loved our stay there and the kids really cannot wait to go back - the entertainment team really pulled it off. They made our days go by with tons of activities and fun. Thank you Daniela and the rest of your team!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing entertainment team.
The weak points
Need some fans on the dance floor for some air flow
Sanitary measures
They should force people to still use sanitizer prior to entering the restos and buffets
Certified

Hotel inclusion experience.

, Surrey, BC
2023-09-11
Overall the place was beautiful especially if you love nature. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food were delicious and a lot of variety.
The weak points
At the reception, notify right away guests regarding wifi. More fluency in the Enlish language.
Sanitary measures
At the buffet restaurant, bussers and servers were not specified, they should each have different uniforms for identification I noticed a lot of cross contamination and have a hand sanitizer or alcohol nearby for use.
Certified

A much needed vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2023-08-29
We were well received, i had requested an extra bed prior to arrival, it was not there, took an argument to get the bed but did, so all good once that was resolved for the room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Room, Buffet and front desk service is very good. Pools were awesome. entertainment ok.
The weak points
The waits, they are awful, every bar only has one bartender, long lines. entertainment line for headsets 40 minutes in extreme heat. The kids wanted headsets.The guards,at the entrance were very rude. Big, big fight in room, security never came.
Sanitary measures
No issue
Certified

Never again!!!

, Laval, QC
2023-06-27
Very disappointing resort with very poor air conditioning to none. The room is humid even after requesting to change room as the first room temperature was 30 degree. My sister found a bat in their room. Foods are always the same each day. Very boring resort… Beach is inconveniently far away. Their ride to the beach is often full. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
None
The weak points
Beach too far, no AC across the resort, buffet same food the whole week, restaurants no easy to get a reservation. Allow 3 for the week but able to book only 2.
Certified

Family with small children experience

, Regina, SK
2023-06-22
Good, but definitely not value for the $$$. Those loving beach should not go to this resort. Children had interest in the children's pool only on day one - it is poorly maintained and have poor visibility for parents who need to see child at any given time. Safe in the room is broken (no parts so obviously not used for some time)- which added stress with needing to keep personal valuables with you all the time. Staff in the buffet was for some reason hiding bacon ( you needed to figure out who to ask and still got an attitude and reluctance to give???). Evening entertainment could be more engaging for adults (i.e. dancing). Lobby bar service was very poor. Very early am departure was poorly planned - no breakfast for small children. Drive back to the airport was horrifying and not safe (for adults or children). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff in the buffet restaurant, pool and transportation are working hard!
The weak points
Too far from the airport, terrible beach (horror for small children), scary transport from the hotel back to the airport, needed to request room cleaning 3 times, as it was not done.
Sanitary measures
Lobby smells on sewage.
Certified

Bahia Principe Grand Coba

, Hamilton, ON
2023-06-11
Ok stay at the Grand Coba. Pretty resort but several areas to be improved upon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff in restaurant were excellent (ask to sit in Miguel's section)
The weak points
Understaffed. Pool bar had 1 bartender causing waits of 10 mins . Long ride to the beach which when we got there, found out to be very rocky. Air conditioning was not able to keep up to the temperature
Certified

Review

, Surrey, BC
2023-05-30
great time, would go again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

HAPPY FAMILY @ 1st All-Inclusive Trip

, Leduc, AB
2023-05-16
We loved every part of our vacation. The staff was amazing, the room was awesome, the entertainment had a great variety, and the food was delicious... we couldn't have asked for more. We recommend catching the shows at the neighboring properties (the Mexican Fiesta and the Origin show were both spectacular and so much fun). 10 days for our family was perfect. We enjoyed the 1.5 hour drive from the airport in the aircon van with no stops, so we definitely recommend doing a private transfer (other guests mentioned it took them 5 hrs on the transfer buses). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, food, rooms, entertainment... LOVED IT ALL.
Sanitary measures
n/a
Certified

BPG Coba

, Hamilton, ON
2023-04-17
The BPG Coba was a great time. Coba is in need of a refresh. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Room was excellent. Service was great.
The weak points
The Coba pool area needs new lounge chairs, they are showing there age. The towel hut was not in use at the one pool, had to walk over to the water park pool area to get towels. Buffet has way too many items in creams and sauces.
Certified

I enjoyed my trip

, Grande Prairie, AB
2023-04-14
Few things could have been better, I had a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Good Vacation

, Regina, SK
2023-04-13
The room was clean at the first look but I found small ants in the plug in and on a bed. Staff was friendly, location pretty far from the ocean, but within 10 min you could reach the beach by their minibuses. The phone in the room sometimes doesn't work. Bathroom has a spa tub, but we didn't use it because in front of the hotel there was a pool with the spa. The resort is located pretty far from the airport that caused a lot of problems, especially on the way back home. Overall impression is good, we celebrated our birthdays with a bottle of Champaign provided by the hotel. Restaurants provide a good food, but every day pretty the same. Beaches are clean, white sand, but the sea bottoms are with stones and pits, you need to be careful to walk in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
There are a lot of sidewalks for people who love jogging or walking around. Pools are big and good, separately for kids with beautiful attractions.
The weak points
Ants or mosquitos in the room.
Sanitary measures
We didn't catch any COVID-19 while we were there
Certified

The Grand Coba experience

, Calgary, AB
2023-04-12
This was our first experience with an all inclusive resort. When we arrived, the front desk staff were very friendly and got us checked in quickly. The rooms were very nice. The a la carte restaurant for all three meals was excellent. the food was great and the staff were very friendly. The amenities here are great, from the main pools to the jacuzzi pools. the Gourmet restaurants are fantastic. The entertainment on the patio and in the theater is first rate. The cleaning staff did a great job cleaning the room. Overall, the staff here ear very friendly and alway willing to help you out [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The site and the staff are excellent
The weak points
they could have posted a daily itinerary of events at the front desk. the only posting was at the main pool. We found it by accident

First Time All-inclusive Experience

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-11
The facilities were wonderful. The staff were well-trained and up-beat. I was impressed with the attention to the local environment and culture. Transportation between venues was efficient. Food was abundant and tasty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff did their jobs efficiently and cheerfully.
The weak points
If you are a non-drinker, the glorification of alcohol at every turn, including drinking games by the pool in a family resort, is off-putting. Our group of 5 almost got separated on the shuttle back to Cancun. Hotel should verify with airline agent.
Certified

Bahia Principe Grand Coba

, Trenton, ON
2023-03-01
good experience, clean, good shows, great food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was excellent, pools and bar service were great
The weak points
No availability for a la carte places, service in buffet varied greatly from really good to really bad.
Certified

Bahia Coba

, Halifax, NS
2023-02-02
Mexico is a beautiful place. This resort looks like a five-star resort on the outside, but the service was certainly not even a 2 star. I travel frequently to resorts and never have I ever experienced such horrific service and when trying to bring up issues to them it's so disgusting how nothing was addressed or resolved I would not recommend this to anybody, and I will be telling everybody that I know to avoid this hotel chain [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful country
The weak points
Terrible service
Certified

Beach

, Calgary, Al
2023-01-04
Overall I enjoyed my stay. The hotel staff was professional and friendly. Grounds were well maintained and rooms, public bathrooms were clean. Food was good.
It was disappointing to find out that Bahia Cobe has a very small and crowded portion of the beach. We were not informed by staff at the time of the check-in that we have an option of purchasing extra access to other 2 resorts beaches and restaurants, Acumal and Tulum. It would have been beneficial for us if we knew that from the beginning. It is 15$ per person per day.
It was well worth it for us! We loved Tulums beach! We didn't mind the walk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

First Cancun trip maybe last

, Brantford, ON
2023-01-02
We arrived late because the shuttle bus that was to take us to the hotel left and we had to pay 200$usd for a taxi to the hotel when we arrived we were told to talk to the airline representative who told us the driver said we told him we are going to the hotel on our own a lie we spoke to nobody further investigation did not reimburse us so disappointed i paid for all inclusive trip to surprise my wife on our anniversary her birthday and christmas very disappointed the room was freezing cold we shut everything off i tried to call the hotel the phone didnt work i went to the lobby and mentioned the phone twice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The buffet restaurants were very good the fine dining at any of the restaurants were tiny portions the pools are great the beach was great the service was great
The weak points
Fine dining small portions
Certified

Bahia Principe Grand Coba

, Calgary, AB
2022-11-29
I travelled solo, so for me it was actually paradise that I didn't need to cook or take care of anything. I felt safe in the resort, all staff were very nice, friendly, kind and hard working.
I do not have bad experience with anything, I felt comfortable in the big room, which was clean and supplied with water every day. The bed was hard and comfy for me, the bathroom was big, clean and nice. The resort is huge, so you could run around, they have cycling, aqua aerobic, volleyball, evening programs etc.
FOOD! For me, who is cooking every day, I appreciate the variety of food and I really enjoyed it, salads, seafood, pastas, sushi, burgers, guacamole, variety of eggs, donuts, desserts, wine, beer, cocktails etc. - fantastic!
Swimming pools have bars around, clean towels and stalls where the staff offer trips to snorkeling etc. There is swimming pool also for kids with safeguard on duty, but parents still have to look after their kids.
Resort cars will bring you to the other hotels or to beach.
The beach is maintained every day, safeguards are on duty and bars are open based on season, but mostly 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
My overall experience is great, and I would definitely stay here next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food, cleanness, very polite staff, program, ala carte menu, clean beach
Certified

Wonderful holiday

, North Saanich, BC
2022-11-28
Our travel agent set us up on this trip last minute and we were quite happy with the choice. The resort was a little far from the cancan airport but worth the trip once we got there. Resort is well run and staff very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean well run great entertainment and nice beach what more do you want. Food was also good .
The weak points
Didn't like the privilege wrist bands
Certified

Grand Coba is mostly grand

, Calgary, AB
2022-08-14
Great for the price point. Enjoyable for the whole family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Evening shows, plenty of beverages and food. Knowledgeable staff
The weak points
Pool closes early (7pm), Beach is average - rocky, seagrass, narrow
Sanitary measures
No concerns
Certified

Amazing!!

, Oshawa, ON
2022-08-06
Everything was beautiful. Friendly Staffs and help are always ready. Clean Room. Excellent Services. Good Price for all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Le Gourmet Restaurant was our number one. We would suggest you to go there. Meal is a champ! Excellent Huge Pool.
The weak points
No weak points for us so far.
Sanitary measures
It was cleaned.. We were not worried at all when we were there and came back home.
Certified

Highly Recommend

, Stjohns, NL
2022-07-26
If I had to give our stay at this resort an overall number, I would give it 9 out of 10. We've stayed at another Bahia Principe in the past and this one surpassed the expectation (which was not low). If you're 'beach people', maybe not the place for you as we thought the beach was quite cramped compared to other vacation spots we've visited. But everything else about this place is amazing, from the cleanliness, the food to the customer service. We will happily return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great customer service, clean, entertainment crew and shows were great, food was delicious. Excursions that were offered were interesting (the Tulum/Cenote/Snorkeling/Lunch tour we took was amazing).
The weak points
Air conditioning was either not present or not working in 2 of the A la Cartes and the buffet a couple times. Coba's "section" of the beach was very small, busy and was not that appealing to us (we're more pool people anyway so that wasn't a big deal)
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024