Ocean Coral And Turquesa

4.104.104.104.104.10
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
#21 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.10 based on 251 reviews
Traveller pictures (118)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Vacation

, Armstrong, BC
2020-03-03
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ocean Coral & Turquesa. The staff was amazing and accommodating. The resort was very clean and well maintained. The food was great with lots of variety. Highly recommend and would stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, friendly staff, beautiful location.
The weak points
Having to rush in the mornings to reserve a lounge chair by the ocean or pool
Certified

The best staff!!

, Winkler, MB
2020-02-05
The resort was the best I have been to!
The restaurants and activities were well thought out!
The thing that made it that best was the staff! They went above and beyond to make sure our experience was the best it could be! They were the kindest and most helpful people I have met!
I recommend this resort to any age because they have activities for everyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Memorable for daughter and myself

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-05
Great resort and staff. Food small portions except buffet, but good enough for women. But food could be improved upon. Got terrible bites when down at ocean that got as big as a nickel and extremely itchy. Assume sand mites? But staff very helpful in Privlege lounge. Recommend upgrading to Privlege as worth it. Aldo was my favorite waiter in the Privlege lounge which opens at 7 a.m. and I am early morning riser (80 years old too). Extremely clean. Did the Massage and very good but facial wasn't. Entertainers so enjoyable especially The Lion King film then live dancers portraying this movie. Liked Grease as well. Carlos welcomed you and such a pleasant man. Many others exceptional as well. Liked the adult pool.
Rate this experience a 9 out of 10 only because of the food, otherwise a 10.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF AND CLEANLINESS
The weak points
FOOD
Certified

Overall, A Good (but not great) Choice

, Oshawa, ON
2020-01-18
Early January weather with highs in the 26C - 29C, but windy. Rough seas every day made pool swimming preferable to the ocean. A fair amount of ocean plant life washing up on the beach and unpleasant in the water due to rough seas. The resort was probably only 50% - 75% full but finding a vacant lounge chair was impossible unless you get out early (before 8:00a). Evening entertainment until at least 11:00p so if you want to retire early, count on listening to dance music while you try to fall asleep. Nicely kept grounds, short ride to airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff; everyone working at this resort has a customer focused attitude and are very pleasant. Excellent English.
The weak points
Main buffet restaurant (Casa Del Mar) food no better than 3/5. Hot food just wasn't hot and the selection was sometimes meager.
Certified

Absolutely WONDERFUL !

, Headingley, MB
2019-12-29
This was exactly what we were looking for!Efficient transfer from airport to resort.The resort and staff exceeded our expectations.Well laid out resort plan.Glad we did the "upgrade" as we wanted that extra bit of privacy and peace.The food was amazing at each restaurant.The portions were perfect as they allowed you to enjoy the multiple courses and they never let us leave hungry!The Entertainment was top notch.They all work incredibly hard here and are very accommodating . Highly recommend this to all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff.Attentive, multi lingual and very personable.Our room was fantastic not a complaint or concern what so ever. Having the jacuzzi on the deck was such a nice feature. Fabulous lay out of the resort.
The weak points
Take an abundance of smaller bills as the staff is so fantastic sometimes we had to wait til later in the day to break a bill in order to leave a well deserved tip!Yes, it is all inclusive.... however they deserve it !
Certified

Great stay at this location!

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-21
My wife and I travel fairly often, and have been to the carribean several times. This hotel is very good to excellent. The staff are great. The food choices are fantastic, travelling with us this time was a very selective eater (picky). who always found food to enjoy and eat at this location. Anyone complaining about the food here may be the kind of people that would be hard to please anywhere. Restaurants include; the buffet, two Itallion restaurants, a Beef steak house, Mexican, Blue Moon, and Japanese (a must). Several to choose from!!!

There are four pools; kids, family, party or activity pool and adult pool. Several pools to choose from.

Water activities in the party pool are spectacular. Erik is the best!!!! They also have yoga near the pool.

Beaches are very nice and the ocean as well. Seaweed was consistently cleaned up on the beach. Im sorry, but I doubt the beach and ocean compare to Cuba.

The beach concierge Jose Luis Cen is fantastic, and will get you beach chairs or pool chairs if you ask, and is located about 30 metres from the adult pool.

Do not waste your money with H10 privilege, unless you just have to have this designation. I doubt it pays off in what you receive. We never got it, and are glad we did not. It is fairly expensive as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, location, clean hotel, and plenty of excellent eating choices.
The weak points
Check out time is 12:00 pm, and they will CHARGE you $30.00 USD if you are not out by this time, even though fine print does not say $30.00. They could not show me anywhere in the fine print either. This was non negotiable and we had to pay.
Certified

Rest Vacation

, North Bay, ON
2019-12-02
Everything was as advertised, so no complaints [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A good place to relax

, Montréal, QC
2019-05-18
It was a fun vacation. The food was good, the workers and friendly and helpful. The place is very clean and organize. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent property and worthy 4 1/2 star rating

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-12
Family of four stayed in 2 rooms in Gardenview rooms.
Great options for pools, children's pool for young children with slides, large lounging pool for relaxing/chilling, party pool with swim-up bar and activities and pool in Prestige area for older more distinguished crowd.
We had some difficulty with rooms on arrival as one of the rooms was clearly not made up and ready for arrival (seemed to be doing some updating, painting) which caused some paint odour. Curtains were not in place, fridge was not stocked. They were able to get everything set up after we reported which was good as we did not want to have to relocate both rooms if we insisted on moving. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurant options are excellent with late dining in burger and fries option and Mikes coffee shop which has different coffee options all at no additional cost.
The weak points
Entertainment show was good but not of a professional level. Not a lot to do in the evenings. Beach was covered in sea weed, even though they tried to clear every day, which did not allow swimming as sea weed was plentiful.
Certified

Family Trip

, Innisfail, AB
2019-03-25
Our stay here was incredible. Our kids had a blast, the pools were great. The grounds are clean, the staff beyond friendly, food was great. Rooms were always clean! Not enough good to say about this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, staff, beaches and kids activities
The weak points
There was one night we couldn't find much to eat at the buffet so we ordered room service for dinner
Certified

Amazing Vacation--would return!

, Truro, NS
2019-03-20
the hotel & staff were amazing! The place was spotless, bright, airy and modern. I always loved looking thru the lobby especially at night it was beautifully done. They had a huge seating area a story up where you could over sea the ocean and the hotel while enjoying a drink from the lobby bar. The restaurants were amazing, i have a food allergy ( and am picky) even at the a la cartes they were so accommodating and i was shocked at how well i was treated & remembered. They had 4 large pools all with different things going on, it was amazing! You could read a book in silence, party at the next pool or play volleyball one more down. Staff were amazing, maybe the best hotel ive been too, they really catered to you. The rooms were nice and big, bathroom was great with a great bath and rain shower. For as big as the resort was as well, it was laid out so well you would walk end to end in only a few minutes. My only complaint was checkin/front desk. Checkin was a nightmare, we had paid for extra but they couldnt find it, we never did end up getting it, we argued for a bit and i let it go as truthfully you dont need it. One thing that i didnt like though was no rooms until 3pm strict and they didnt offer you a room to change just the bathrooms, so after a long day of travel, i wasnt prepared to not have my room at 11 as i was advised. Multiple other guests said the same, but now knowing this resort i wouldnt let it deter me, everything else was too good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, cleanliness, hotel, pools, food, drinks
The weak points
check in/front desk
Certified

Ocean Coral

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-11
This was our 2nd time at this hotel and really enjoyed it again. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful.
The food again was top notch.
Really enjoyed the bike trips into Puerto Morelos. It was fun bargaining for things you don't really need. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service from Carlos and Ricardo around the pool.
The weak points
The Blue Moon restaurant was not a favorite, all the rest were really good.
Certified

Loved the Ocean Coral & Turquesa

, Airdrie, AB
2019-02-27
Every staff member at the resort was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We had a gorgeous ocean view! The staff took wonderful care of our daughter's dietary needs and got to know her quickly. It was very reassuring! The food was fantastic all week. My husband ended up receiving three birthday cakes!

We loved the beach and the pools at the resort. The entertainment team had loads of fun stuff planned all week and the evening shows were probably the best we've seen at any resort. There was even a free bike tour into Puerto Morelos! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great views, beautiful beach and pools, fantastic food, clean and open rooms, amazing service
Certified

A great escape from winter!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-21
Clean, affordable, great staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hospitality of the staff, location near the airport, spacious rooms.
The weak points
Offers to buy extra services, packages, and loyalty plans are annoying sometimes.
Certified

Great every time!!!!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-10
been too this resort twice, wife&I once with the kids & their collage friends ya ya lol... love it there great for all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food,room,service,all great ...
The weak points
noting comes too mind really

Ocean turquesa

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-15
Excellent...3rd visit....twice with my husband and once with daughter and grandchildren. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD...cleanliness...staff
The weak points
Lounge chairs
Certified

Oceon Coral and Turquesa

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-23
We really enjoyed our stay. The food was great and service was good. Sandra at the front desk went out of her way to ensure our room was perfect for us. The entertainment was excellent. Dani was a cheerful friendly young lady who gave us spanish lessons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food...entertainment..
The weak points
Staff could have smiled more.
Certified

Wonderful trip to Ocean Coral and Turquesa

, Vancouver, BC
2018-11-05
We just returned home from a wonderful week at OCT. This was our first trip to Mexico as we usually go to Europe (Portugal or Spain).

The room we had was really nice and spacious with partial ocean views and a safe. There was a bit of a musty smell but I guess we got used to it. The only weird thing about the room was there is no door to the bathroom just a curtain so hopefully you know the person you are sharing with well!

The service everywhere is excellent. Everyone is friendly and really appreciative of the tips when given. It was nice that the resort was not too busy and we could always get loungers around the quieter pool (the party pool with the swim up bar was always busier).

The food is good and plentiful but we are not really picky and there was always something we could eat.

The beach is nice with plenty of loungers and palapas. There is a problem with seaweed on the beach and especially in the water but the hotel staff clear it every hour or so on the beach with a tractor and its beyond their control really. It did not stop us from going in the ocean a few times which is warmer than the pool by the way.

My husband unfortunately got some sort of bad stomach bug the last night we were there (he thinks from seafood eaten at the bbq restaurant) and he is still feeling the effects today (5 days later).

One day we took a cab from the hotel in to Puerto Morelos (300 pesos). It is a lovely small town. We ate at La Pepita and it was very good. We walked back along the beach (took about 1 hour and 15 minutes).

One thing I did not like is the hotel will not give change of less than 50 peso notes (so I could not get 20 peso notes for tips). This is annoying. I would suggest you make sure you have small notes before you get to the resort if you want to tip with less than 50 peso notes.

All in all we enjoyed our first trip to Mexico and will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful spacious rooms. Well laid out resort. Don't have to book the restaurants (except for Sensai - Japanese). The staff are nice.
The weak points
They don't want to give out change of less than 50 peso notes. No door on the bathroom. It's a bit isolated.
Certified

Robbin

, Surrey, BC
2018-10-26
Our room was cleaned daily and we were not disturbed by noises during the night. The room had a safe to keep small valuables. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The evening shows, even on bad weather days were very well done. All throughout the day there are activities that you can participate in. Spanish is definitely an asset.
The weak points
Pool closed early more than once, some programs cancelled.It's isolated, so going anywhere can be very costly. ($80 US) to Playa Del Carmen, etc.
Certified

Review

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-22
Not much to do for young staff. More of an older retirement feel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Mandie, Justin & Oneill review of Ocean Coral

, Calgary, AB
2018-09-13
We had a wonderful time at Ocean Coral & Turquesa and look forward to our return!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff is amazing!! Rod, Roy, Christian & Andy great entertainment at the pool! Alex, Carlos, Alejandro and Mateo at the Pool Bar, Miguel was great to welcome us, and the girls at the kids club are wonderful with kids.
Certified

Hotel Review

, Whitby, ON
2018-09-01
The Hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the food was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Food but Horrible Attitude

, Lethbridge, AB
2018-03-08
We would not return to this resort. While the food was great and we loved the dining choices, we found the attitude of the Activity employees to be rude and condescending. I don't think it is appropriate to tell anyone to "get off their lazy asses" because they don't want to play beach volleyball with you or to make women in an aquadance class chant " no more pizza, no more tacos" while they are on vacation at your resort. Raul was by far the most vocal with his fat shaming, telling one group they should lose 5 pounds to feel sexy this week. Can you imagine? Who says that to a bunch of middle aged women on vacation? We chose to move tanning spots a couple of times to get away from Raul's snotty mouth. I can't imagine why he's allowed to treat people that way. I tried to talk to front desk about it and the poor girl there said she knew exactly who I was talking about. Thumbs down to their Management for this poor choice, but two thumbs way up for great food. Overall, I would not recommend this resort and we would not come here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I loved that we didn't have to make nightly reservations for themed dining. The food choices were amazing. I loved the fresh and raw options.
The weak points
A handful of snotty employees sure can wreck the environment. Two of the activity staff were rude and clearly annoyed. It was shameful to see the two of them looking down at and OPENLY talking down to guests.

Wonderful family vacation spot!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-07
We were very happy with the overall hotel, everything was easy to get to and pretty centrally located. The beach and water were gorgeous even though there was pretty steady seaweed. The sun was shinning most of the week so we didn't care too much about anything! The food & entertainment were great! Loved the crepe place & the coffee shop so much!
We were surprised at the amount of Canadians at this resort, seemed to be over half! Made it feel like home without being at home! We switched rooms after two nights due to a musty room but the next room was much better! The bathroom layout of these rooms was a little odd, since it had no door, that would be about the only thing I'd change about the whole place!

We would most definitely come back here in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very easy to get around, don't need to upgrade to privilege for great service & options, friendly staff, beautiful beach & pools!
The weak points
The bathroom is split into 3 sections, the main area only has a curtain (bathtub & sink) and the shower has a frosted glass door and the toilet has a frosted glass door, it gives very little privacy when travelling with a family.
Certified

Awesome Resort

, St. Thomas, ON
2018-02-02
I am hard pressed to find anything negative about this resort. The staff were friendly, and always working hard to maintain the cleanliness of the resort, the pools, the beach... The food was well prepared and presented. Overall a most pleasurable vacation spot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff always smiling and ready to serve.
Certified

Ocean Coral and Turquesa

, Calgary, AB
2018-01-26
I enjoyed the service,food and the beautiful gardens. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service cleanliness and great beaches
The weak points
Mustiness in the room
Certified

Great time and location

, Carberry, MB
2017-12-13
This was our first time in Mexico and in the Rivieria Maya location. We upgraded to "Privilege" and for us it was the right decision. The room was clean and spacious with a great view of the ocean and the privilege pool. The negative was that elevators to the three floor did not work. We knew this going in so we were prepared. The food was good but for seniors the portions were too big. The staff are excellent and did their utmost to assist. They smile all the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

JUST GOT BACK

, Edmonton, AB
2017-05-01
The staff was very friendly and respectful! The beach was almost perfect, just had some rocky patches in the ocean and some seaweed. The food was really good. We personally did not like much of the dessert in the buffet or the restaurants. We did not get the bed we requested for (They guarantee the room but not the bed, therefore we got stuck with two double beds). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the staff Food was great Beach is beautiful
The weak points
Dessert was lacking Did not get the bed we wanted Beach was rocky in some areas
Certified

Mexican hospilatity

, Minto, NB
2017-04-07
Great resort. Great food. Very nice rooms. exceptional staff. Especially Jazmin[She is a keeper!!] [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. Food
The weak points
Seaweed on beach
Certified

Great Hotel

, Bathurst , NB
2017-03-14
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The butler service was great and the 24 hour room service came in handy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very good at cleanliness concerning the food and the restaurants.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?