Grand Riviera Princess

Grand Riviera Princess
4.084.084.084.084.08
4.08 based on 551 reviews
#20 of 140 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (192)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Nice resort despite showing a bit of aging

, Longueuil, QC
2024-07-06
My wife and I went there for 3 nights for a short stay. We left just before hurricane Berryl as most things were getting closed onto the resort.

The resort has 4 resort inside. Grand Riviera, Grand Sunset, platinum and kids. You often notice the limitations on what you're missing out on the higher tier sections (resto, pool, beach beds, transportation etc.)

Overall, we had a nice stay, although a bit short. We couldn't get a la carte reservations for the first night, so we had only 2 a la carte dinner. The check-in process was long and not as welcoming. Long waiting time and service was a bit cold. Perhaps because we were there for check-in times?

The experience felt more like a 4 stars than a 5 stars because of the need for a refresh in the rooms and some resort sections. It's still a very nice resort though. The beach and the pool have tons of towels early in the morning (towel game), although there is almost no one to be seen. Luckily, the beach get less busy in the afternoon so you can swap places for a better spot. No drink service, unless platinum. The pools were at times a bit dirty by the users. I swam next to used plasters and drinks plastic glasses. They is also a plus as there is more recycling. We lived the gold cat rides to go from point a to b. The driver was always nice and joyful. I liked the drinks variety, considering I was a non alcohol drinker. I was once served a 0% Corona at the a la carte, which was a nice touch from the waiter.

The room was a bit old and needed a refresher. The mattress was super comfy. The fridge was hot, not cold.

The wild life on the resort is very nice. The grounds are well maintained and the staff feels nice. You can see animals all around and they are not scared of humans. Please, do not feed them though. We even saw monkeys one day.

We took private transportation from the airport to save time since our trip was only 3 nights.

Overall, a nice trip, despite not being the most up-to-date resort we've visited in Mexico. It does feel high end, but I feel you really need to take platinum to feel high end; otherwise, it feels more like a 4 stars resort from my experience. We had a great vacating overall nevertheless. I would maybe good back if I upgrade to platinum. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
- the food is good, a la carte even better. - great service - immense resort - Can be quiet - great vegetation and animal life
The weak points
- Aging hotel, would benefit from a refresher. More obvious in the rooms needing repairs. Toilet wasn't flushing well. Drapes were not closing. Old TV with blood stains on it, felt back in the 90s. - the beach is full of algae, not as pleasant to swim.
Sanitary measures
There are purell dispensers around the resort.
Certified

Return traveler with first time goer

, New Minas, NS
2024-05-14
Best friend trip! We had a wonderful stay! You can see some wear and tear and showing it's age especially in the rooms and at the pools. The food was great! The only thing that was an issue was we were told nothing at check in as before, they have an app and except you to search for it yourself. We went and booked our shuttle to return to the airport early glad we did because that can be easily forgotten about. Give us the wrong information about pick up time and we were scrambling that morning we left out to get more information.big resort lots of walking there was designated smoking areas but they were not being used, people were smoking any wheres they wanted. The quiet pool, was not quiet most days. Too many party pools , with loud noise and drank people never getting out of the pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great food, good waiter food service, very good nightly entertainment
The weak points
Communication at front desk check in, and at the nexus desk, the princess hotel app not user friendly, no one making people to smoke in designated smoking spaces
Sanitary measures
Bathrooms up by the beach not very clean
Certified

Resort

, Hamilton, ON
2024-04-02
Excellent the Princess App was the best. Easy to book dinners, event schedule. Evening shows were fun and entertaining. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, staff
The weak points
Beach , water not clear, stones and rocks, shallow. Did not go in water.
Certified

Platinum Stay

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2024-03-09
Over all staff were warm and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable.
Close to beach and pool as we purchased an upgraded package.
Transportation from airport was delayed 2 hours and drop off at wrong lobby delayed us another 1.5 hours. I had to bring this to their attention. Now that we know our way around will go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort. Very positive Short wait time for buffet breakfast with wide selection. Beach area was well service with bar service and security.
The weak points
Some steps not clearly marked causing me to fall. Fortunately someone there to help me up. very lucky only scraped knee and bruised elbow. Al a carte restaurants were not great but acceptable. Buffett's were good with wide selection
Sanitary measures
Met expectations
Certified

Platinum & Beach Club at Chill Out

, Gatineau, QC
2024-03-06
Amazing service! Staff is friendly and extremely dedicated to all your needs.
This resort is so big that it is more like a well run city. The shuttle is easy to take and there are plenty. Never waited more than 10 minutes for one.
The food is excellent! All restaurants are delicious.
Mama Mia was the best overall for our taste. The fajitas at Hacienda were the best we ever had in our lives. Still thinking about them [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service Food Platinum Beach Club at Chill Out
The weak points
The general sections were very crowded and loud. Beach has rocks in the water at the beginning.

Never go back

, Elkford, BC
2024-02-02
We stayed at the Platinum area, which was closest to the beach, which was the best part of the hotel. The hotel says that you will receive a cold cloth and a welcoming drink when you arrive. Nope. You stand in line waiting for a very slow check in and then said that they need to pay your taxes on your credit card only. They tell you your room number here's an and go luck. We were supposed to have king bed, not 2 double beds pushed together, which left us with the only electrical outlet that seemed to work was behind the tv. There was supposed to be a platinum buffet for breakfast and lunch ! CLOSED for renovations. (During prime time).
The drinks are not platinum, the service at the platinum beach was spotty and slow! There was always a line up at the platinum beach bar. Faster to walk to the lobby than wait! If you want to get a chair at the platinum pool get there before 6am. If you want a chair at the beach you have until 7:30am.
The snack at the platinum snack bar were the worst we have ever seen. Yogurt at breakfast and a nothing as the day goes on. You can book A la carte at 7pm for 2 days out. A page in my book was thicker, than the steak at the steak house. The main buffet, for was the same almost every night, Line up for spaghetti or tacos. The dessert cooler was bigger than the main food section. The meat, it was over cooked and so hard and dry ( the pan would probably taste better) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Leonardo the at the platinum desk was a great. The beach is shallow but so much better than others we have been to. Lots of sand no coral. Lots of beach towels the grounds for the hotel is beautiful
The weak points
Way to numerous, besides having 2000 rooms, it was long wait times for food, drinks chairs.

Our stay

, Langley, BC
2023-12-28
It was our second time at Grand Riviera Princess. Last year we loved the resort and we decided to come back this year. We staid for two weeks and were unpleasantly surprised this time with the leaking roof. Every time it was raining, the leak and the paddle on the floor was getting bigger. We realized it is not just our room, the other rooms were affected too. The other nuisance was lack of soap and shampoo. Provided 45 ml tubes were good for one time use and we constantly needed to ask for more. I thought it is included in all inclusive. On the other hand, it is a huge production of plastic tubes and the world is trying to reduce it. All other resorts have dispensers in the shower areas. Why can't the resort do the same, save the cost and stop the production of plastic? The Grand Riviera Princess gym has outdated equipment and good for tall men only. For others it may not matter but we go to gym regularly and we wanted to do the same on vacation. We also noted reduction of stuff but have to admit that people were working hard to make our stay nice and pleasant. Food was very good and if something was temporary missing, you just needed to ask and it was replaced right a way. Thank you to the kitchen stuff! We decided to look for different resort to go to next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good food and a lot of animals and vegetation. Hard working and nice stuff.
The weak points
The roof needs repairs. The gym needs new equipment. Need more restrictions for the smoking people. They smoke where they want.
Sanitary measures
No complains.

Beautiful hotel, well kept, front entrance help no

, Edmonton, AB
2023-12-23
Nice hotel, lobby and bus travel excursions arrival departures worse than poor [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very nice hotel, well kept and well maintained facilities. Front entrance arrival , departure and concierge all unhelpful, unwilling to help usefully about bus transfers to and from the airport or for excursions arranged. Only 1 of 5 stars for any of that
The weak points
Inadequate facilities, for four people in the Ju ior suite, only enough for one person. Appalling lack of drawers and cupboards, had to keep clothes in suitcase as nowhere to put them.
Certified

Exceptional Vacation! Incredible people and Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2023-11-21
I just wanted to say that our Shuttle Driver Uriel throughout our whole visit was amazing! I am not sure where else I can put a review for him but he was so kind, friendly and considerate to others! Our time at the Grand Riviera Princess Platinum was so exceptional!

Martin our Bartender in Platinum was beyond fantastic as well. So personable and friendly and hard working (everyone at the resort) works so hard.
Martin went above and beyond with our stay at the Platinum Riviera Side Pool. Martin a fine gentleman and wonderful father and husband! You should be thankful you have great employees like Martin and Uriel!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Below Expectations

, Cornwall, ON
2023-11-19
After 8 visits here being VIP guests in the Villas our expectations were higher. No renovations done, housekeeping staff shortages, staff language barriers, don't speak English, rude staff. Entertainment always the same, pools close too early, removal of services and Spa to VIP guests, not have to pay for top shelf liquor, gates to the Villa pool never locked and having to chase people out of our private pool. Staff did nothing.. we pay huge money to be there, and they are being given access. Not acceptable *** slow service, ancient music play lists.. a la Carte restaurants menus have not changed in 8 years [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Roberto buffet manager is amazing, Chef Enrique amazing, Rene, Concierge is amazing. Hector from the Spa is the greatest
The weak points
Old outdated rooms, rude staff and language barrier, not keeping private pool locked out to others, not unkept and we are looking at other resorts
Sanitary measures
Staff always cleaning walk ways, and resort property of rubbish
Certified

First Trip to Mexico

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-11-14
Staff was amazing! Always helpful and a joy to talk with.

Only real negative was we had a reservation for a King Size Bed, but got two double beds that still worked. Due to the long travel day; we did not want to move .. so we just dealt with that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff was amazing! Always helpful and a joy to talk with.
The weak points
We had a reservation for a King Size Bed, but got two double beds that still worked. Due to the long travel day; we did not want to move .. so we just dealt with that.
Sanitary measures
The pool was very clean when we arrived.. .but got dirtier as the week went on. But again, overall not a major issue
Certified

Family vacation

, Cumberland, BC
2023-11-06
Great first experience in Mexico for my teenage boys! I wanted them to have a great time and the resort did not disappoint. Highly recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food, scenery. Rooms. Staff, beach, drinks
The weak points
Hamburger stand by the pool should offer guacamole as a condiment and let the cheese melt more . Pool hours be open later. More shopping opportunities
Sanitary measures
Great!
Certified

Lack luster for a 5 star

, Grande Prairie, AB
2023-08-21
Hotel is beautiful and staff try to be helpful. We are thankful we opted to upgrade to Platinum on check in as the private pool, snack bars, private bar, and concierge were extremely appreciated.
Food is good, but very repetitive even among the al la carte restaurants as most only have 3-4 different dishes from all of the other restaurants.
The beaches are beautiful and the beach areas very nice. But there did seem to be a lack of activities on the resort or at least a lack of advertisement of the daily activities.
The servers everywhere were great and the drinks were all amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great servers Helpful staff Beautiful beach and pools
The weak points
Dated rooms Limited food selection, especially for size of resort Front desk at check in was a nightmare Didn't see any of the advertised adult only areas, kids were in all the pools
Certified

Excellent Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2023-08-07
This is an excellent hotel to stay at Playa del Carmen!
Clean, great food, lots of restaurants, a lot of variety of buffet food and different entertainment every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean, great food, lots of restaurants, a lot of variety of buffet food and different entertainment every day.
The weak points
Beach is a long walk from the lobby, entertainment, fine dining area.
Certified

Amazing resort

, Stoney Creek, ON
2023-07-14
Great resort with amazing service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

I stayed at Sunset

, Brampton, ON
2023-07-09
* Housekeeping was great. Cleaning was good and supplies were adequate and replaced daily
*.Buffet was good but somewhat monotonous
*.Bedroom furniture at Sunset are old and almost falling apart [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
Not enough spots for
Sanitary measures
Good
Certified

Honeymoon experience

, Red Deer, AB
2023-06-29
My wife and I loved our time here. The level of cleanliness, service, food, drinks, and activities were amazing! We loved our room as well and how quickly the room service was. We were able to book a complimentary honeymoon dinner at one of the beach front restaurants and the view and food was amazing! I would definitely recommend coming to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service quality, cleanliness, food quality and variety
The weak points
Reception wait time. It took us 1.5hrs to book our complimentary honeymoon dinner, but the receptionist was able to book it later in the week than normally possible. The bellboy area is a little hectic too
Certified

We had a wonderful vacation

, Campbell River, BC
2023-06-08
We were very happy with our experience. We stayed in the villas and we thought it was worth the price. We enjoyed the private pool and the staff were excellent. Alex and Guadeloupe were fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent grounds and pools.
The weak points
Plumbing was a bit complicated at lobby bar washrooms. Disappointed by seaweed on beach which was no fault of resort.
Certified

My experience

, Edmonton, AB
2023-04-16
though the hotel itself is nice i found that the workers were not very welcoming or kind. the entertainment team was better that the rest though i do have to say. i was always scared to get drinks because they would seem annoyed or it would take 45 minutes to get one if you weren't in the lounge. the food was also not very good it was on certain nights but not others. breakfast was by far the worst. i'm very upset with my experience there and i would not go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

March Break Stay

, Amherstview, ON
2023-03-21
Had a great time at the hotel, Staff were great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The hotel had all that you needed. You did not need to leave to be entertained.
The weak points
The beach had lots of weeds. The cleaners were not working too hard to keep it clear .
Sanitary measures
Not an issue
Certified

Vacation mid February 2023

, St.Albert, AB
2023-02-23
Was overall great but drink service and bartenders understaffed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very nice facility, food was good some days and poor on others
The weak points
Line ups for drinks around main areas were ridiculous, very understaffed in bartenders and servers around the pools too. Had to flag down servers if you could find them even after tipping they would just disappear.
Sanitary measures
Covid is over
Certified

Great place to just relax

, Vernon, BC
2023-01-17
Overall it was a good place with some good and bad points. Lots of children but can get away at adult only pool if you have VIP or Platinum wristbands. Don't expect good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and pools and resort was very clean. Adult pool area was very clean and bartender was great
The weak points
Rooms cleaning not so great. Garbage left in room all week. Food not good. Buffet food cold and A La Carte was not good. Beach has eroded lots not much room.
Sanitary measures
Lots of bleach being used all around resort.
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites

, Lucasville, NS
2023-01-11
Very beautiful resort. Staff was great and accommodating. Lots to do at the beach and poolside.
Only two items that can be improved:
Internet was spotty and they need more than one staff
member next to the front desk to address any concerns. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and accommodations. Guest were well taken care of. Lots to do and many options for eating.
The weak points
Internet was spotty. More than one staff member required to address any concerns.
Certified

GREAT HOLIDAY

, Calgary, AB
2023-01-09
Overall large resort but it has all of the facilities/gardens that you need to have a great time. Cannot complain about the facilities as they keep it repaired/clean. We highly recommend this resort to anyone.
Try some excursions outside hotel as we always find new things to do on our holidays. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great resort at this was our fifth time back and it has not let us down yet. It is large so be ready to walk or take a golf buggy shuttle to beach and back.
The weak points
Some day had seaweed on beach depends on the month
Sanitary measures
They were all good no problems.

Wonderful Pools and Staff, Below Average Beach

, Burlington, ON
2023-01-09
The pools and staff were the strong points of this resort. The water was crystal clear and the pools are extensive but starting to show their age with crumbling tiles. However, every public area of the resort is very clean. The staff are very friendly and the bar staff are fantastic.

The staff had their work cut out for them cleaning up at night, we were surprised at the mess that other patrons would leave with cups in the pool, garbage laying around, but the staff always had it cleaned by morning.

The beach was the weakest part of this resort, it was very crowded and small with lots of rocks and seaweed. The deepest part of the ocean you are allowed to go in only goes up to about 3.5 feet so swimming isn't possible.

The food is decent. After coming back from the resort we went to our favourite Mexican restaurant in Hamilton, Ontario and I am sorry to say it was much better than the Mexican restaurant at the resort. But they can only do so much with the ingredients they are given. I would recommend to avoid the Asian restaurants, they are a strange asian fusion spin with sweet honey drizzled on rice and fish. The dumpling resembled a pop tart?? The Teppanyaki restaurant was average but we enjoyed it. But really you could eat the same fried fish and chicken at the buffets during the day. The steakhouse got both of our orders wrong but we ate them anyway because we didn't want to wait longer to eat. The Italian restaurant had rave reviews but think East Side Mario's. The Mexican restaurant was the strongest but again we have a local Mexican restaurant here in Canada that has fresher ingredients.

For beer selection, only Corona was provided at all the bars, and Negro Modelo was in some select bars. But all kinds of mixed drinks were available everywhere.

The cleaning service was below average, there was even one day where the cleaning service forgot to come. When we got to our room, we noticed the screen door was ripped, the shower light was burned out, the light over the sink was burnt out. There was a coating of dust on many of the shelving. We have had a better overall experience at other resorts for this price. Free wifi is not very reliable, and you will be offered to pay for better wifi when you go online.

I can't write this review without mentioning the Coatis that are racoon like animals. There are many many Coatis, they are always diving into the garbage, but they are cute and don't seem to bother the guests. The kids really enjoyed seeing them everywhere.

This review comes off as very negative, but just trying to be honest. Bottom line, go to this resort if you enjoy having a drink by a pool. Do not go if you want to experience the beach or enjoy going to restaurants outside of big chains like the Mandarin, East Side Mario's, etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful wrap-around pools and friendly, attentive staff! Piazza attached to both Sunset and Princess always had something going on at night with music, beautiful decor. Very pleasant place to spend the evening.
The weak points
Beach is very small, ocean swimming only up to 3.5 feet deep, lots of seaweed (sargassum). Kids club could have toured the resort instead of just doing crafts in small area. Food was good but not great.
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess

, Mississauga, ON
2022-11-11
Overall a great experience. Staff was friendly, hotel, room, and pool are all very clean. Food at the buffets were great. However, food at the individual restaurants were lacking in authenticity and service. Internet service was very poor making it impossible to use the app to do bookings to restaurants and events. This causes reservations to be done by staff at the front desk for which there was only one person and long lineups. Please get the internet service fixed to enhance the experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff Clean hotel Clean room Clean pool
The weak points
Restaurants (not buffets) lacking authenticity and service. Very poor internet service.
Sanitary measures
Available products like hand sanitizers were available everywhere.
Certified

Awesome vacation

, Upper Cantallon, NS
2022-10-14
My husband and I stayed here for 14 days! This is my new vacation destination, beautiful resort, amazing surroundings and the staff are second to none! Big shout out to Enrique at the breakfast/ lunch buffet and Absalon at LeFleur!! Two fantastic individuals!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Internet, but the staff fixed me up, so really wasn't a big issue.
Certified

Grand Princess Riviera

, Lery, QC
2022-08-04
Great expérience there. The hotel was very clean, the staff polite and helpfull. The food vas very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleaniless
The weak points
Royal hotel presentation. Sargasso on the beach
Certified

Mixed feelings

, Taber, AB
2022-06-17
We stayed in a Laguna Villa. The suite was great, except for the extremely large and hard pillows. The staff was superb, especially those around our private Villa pool (the concierge and bartenders). The concierge was very helpful in booking our restaurants and getting us anything we requested.

We chose not to use the beach because of chance of cutting our feet on the rocks, but we ate breakfast at the Chill Out restaurant on the beach every day. The food there was wonderful. Not so much at the other restaurants. The buffets were lukewarm, and since I have medical problems with pepper/s in any form, I could not find much to eat. We both felt ill during our stay, and so were careful to avoid anything that might be contaminated (seafood, fresh fruits/vegetables, etc.). That really limited my choices.

Part of our package was to include a free massage, hydrotherapy experience, and facial/exfoliation treatment. We received the massage (it was great!), but did not receive any of the others. Most of the people that we met there did. There seemed to be some inconsistency in what each group received as perks.

We met wonderful people, and other than for the food, pillows, and rocky beach, I would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff, Laguna Villa experience
The weak points
Food
Certified

Room for improvement

, Vancouver, BC
2022-05-29
Large resort that can be confusing to navigate given the fact that there are two distinct properties in the complex, and the site is essentially symmetrical.
Road leading up to the resort is quite unappealing (high concrete wall with barbed wire at top).
Resort app need work e.g. there was no explanation about the evening entertainment.
Too many people at the morning buffets which left the place a bit messy. Would advise them to have a coffee station too.
Overall site needs better care and maintenance in line with a 5-star offering.
Good variety of food at specialty restaurants but could have been better quality.
Resort shops prices are very inflated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Resort grounds were nice, with nice landscaping and wildlife. Friendly staff everywhere. Drinks were decent. Taco stand was above average. Nice to see different wildlife around resort e.g. monkeys, iguanas, coatis, cats. Felt quite safe.
The weak points
Poor management of seaweed on beach. Room maintenance was below average (loose fixtures, shower didn't drain). Poor information provided at check-in. Food in specialty restaurants was just okay. Lacked flavor and not in line with a 5-star resort.
Sanitary measures
Noticed hand sanitizer in various places. No mask mandates in place. Buffet did not offer any protection at all. Recommend having servers dishing out the food instead.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024