Barcelo Maya Grand Resort

4.244.244.244.244.24
Barcelo Maya Grand Resort
#14 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.24 based on 38 reviews
Traveller pictures (24)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Very Large Resort

, Airdrie, AB
2020-01-02
It was good. The staff don't understand English very good which made it challenging at times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very large resort so we never felt like we needed to leave as it had shopping, activities and several different locations to eat at
The weak points
Need to reserve all of your a la carte restaurants on day one because there isn't enough restaurants for the number of people. The staff were nice but understand very little to no English
Certified

My Barcelo Maya Grand Resort review

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-12-29
The Barceló Maya Grand Resort has over 2004 rooms, spread out through four hotels: Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial and Maya Tropical. I took my 16 year old son with me on this trip and we were both super impressed by the facilities and all it had to offer. Our check in to the resort was excellent as we had the VIP check in. I would highly recommend this. We were whisked away to a separate check in which was air conditioned and we were offered nice cold drinks. The lady who did our check in was so helpful and made all of our dining reservations. You are spoiled for choice in dining as there was numerous places to eat. Every night for dinner, we had an a la carte reservation and they were all fantastic! Lots of activities throughout the resort so you will not get bored. I loved the hammocks by the pools. It was really nice to grab a book and lay down and enjoy the breeze from the ocean. So relaxing. If you want to try scuba, they have an introductory lesson free in a few of the big pools. My son tried it and loved it. All the staff were extremely nice and very helpful and made you feel very welcome. Numerous pools all over the resorts and you never felt crowed because they are huge! The shows at night are fantastic! The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. We had a nice balcony and view of the pools. I send a lot of clients to this resort and will continue to do so. I would highly recommend for anyone wanting an excellent all inclusive resort in Riviera Maya. I cannot wait to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
*Location *numerous pools *stay at one and play at other resorts within the complex *food *beach *the rooms *staff is exceptional *lots of activities and fun for all *very clean and well kept
The weak points
Really nothing bad to say about this resort but see below as my only comment *very large resort, so may not be good for people with mobility issues as there could be a lot of walking. shuttle buses to go to each resort to limit walking *pay for wifi
Pro

Barcelo

, Red Deer, AB
2019-12-20
The Facility is excellent. Spa,gym, buffets, restaurants, volleyball are all things that keep me coming back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spa,gym, snorkeling, beach sports, entertainment
The weak points
Room service was very poor. I had to call the front desk 6 times between 5pm-9pm just to get an order of toast. stayed premium and there no welcome amenities in our room.
Certified

Barcelo Maya

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-19
Overall good experience. Everything is in walking distance and it is easy to find your way around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful staff, good food, beautiful beach
The weak points
Free wifi is available only in one location and during the best hours of the day. To access the WIFI they charge $9 US which is overpriced in my opinion.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Beach

, Kitchener, ON
2019-05-28
The resort was amazing and the service was exceptional. The staff was very friendly and communicated in positive manner. My husband and I were greeted politely everywhere we visited. The conference in the Tropical Resort was very well organized and the environment was great. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Maya Beach and experienced great interactions with various people, learned about the Mayan culture and tradition and enjoyed the food too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Airline Representative named Pedro who provided us all of the information about the outdoor trips was extremely helpful and was available to answer any questions we had during our trip. We booked our tour with him and it was an easy process.
The weak points
The room was very clean, however, the beds are not comfortable to sleep. No access to Wifi in the hotel. We had to take Transit to the mall to access free Wifi. At the hotel, access to Wifi is not free.
Certified

Mexico holiday 2019

, Victoria, BC
2019-04-22
Beautiful resort. Very large and busy. People everywhere. Rooms in Beach section have not been updated in last 10 years. Food not that great at buffets, not hot, not refilled, dried out. Staff don't put much effort in and then hope for a tip. Shows too loud, muffled voices. Beach nice except the amount of seaweed. They did not put much effort into getting rid of it.
Probably wont go back as they are building another section which will bring in more people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds are beautiful. Lots to do. Markets are awesome.
The weak points
Rooms need to be updated. Food needs to be better and monitored. Clean up seaweed a couple of times a day. Sooooo Big, too many people.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Tropical Resort

, Vancouver, BC
2019-03-10
My family really enjoyed staying at the resort. We were satisfied with almost everything, room, food, pool, beach, staffs, convenience. Because my husband broke his ankle 2 weeks before this vacation and needed a wheelchair, we upgraded to premium level so we could have a bigger room and all get Wi-Fi.
The only negative thing I would like to say is checking in. We didn't wait but it took us about 40 minutes to finish checking in. The front desk staff, who checked us in, seemed very unprofessional. Because it was Sunday night and the back office was closed when we checked in, there was no premium level of ribbons left for us to wear. She gave us the Superior room ribbons instead. We asked her about our Wi-Fi.
She said, "since you are wearing Superior room ribbon, so you don't have Wi-Fi."
"Pardon? Is it a joke? We paid for premium level room so that we can have Wi-Fi. But now you are telling me because the resort doesn't have premium level ribbons to give us to wear at this moment so we can't have Wi-Fi." We were so mad at her. She didn't even show us where our room was also, so we were walking around the big resort to find our room. This staff needs more training. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

HUGE Resort with Great Beach

, Lethbridge, AB
2019-02-15
Went for 10 days for our honeymoon. Our travel agent noted this was a honeymoon on our reservation and even called the resort beforehand to remind them. We brought a copy of our marriage certificate and everything but still were only treated to a plate of fresh fruit one morning in our room as an "extra". Perhaps this is because it is such a large resort but the tone of a "lack of personalization" was set right there at check-in. You have to pay for wifi unfortunately, the "free" wifi is only available in two locations during certain times and did not work at all. The resort was not overly busy during our stay, I would guess maybe 50% capacity which was nice. Easy to get a spot on the beach in the sun or shade and move around throughout the day. Great beach, warm shallow water to wade in quite far out from the shore line. Snorkeling was OK, it was really only deep enough to snorkel near the very end of the buoyed off area and even then it was probably just over 6 feet deep. Few fish and stuff to see but fairly limited. Pools were nice and big but we spent most of our time on the beach. There is an adults only pool with its own bar as well which is nice. Food was overall quite good. Breakfast and supper buffets were good and the lunch time buffets were OK. The Al La Carte restaurants however were amazing! Just a note, the TOKYO and KYOTO restaurants are almost identical in theme, atmosphere and menu. So if you find yourself limited on what Al La Carte's you want to hit I would recommend KYOTO for your Japaneses choice. Weather was great, 29 degrees Celsius and mostly sunny every day. We stayed in the "Beach" building of the resort. It was a little out dated and nothing special but it was always clean. We weren't on vacation in Mexico to hang out in the room anyways. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Beach, warm water, Al La Carte restaurants.
The weak points
Lack of personalization with big resort, rooms a little out dated, "Free" wifi didn't work and have to pay for working wifi.
Certified

Spectacular service

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-14
Me and my boyfriend went to this resort last week with my parents who have been coming for 11 years. I have never had more amazing service and excellent people in my life anywhere. Angel Serrato, Jaun Montejo and Isreal Bonilla are the absolute best workers there❤️ They make the experience 10x better. Will absolutely be coming be coming back next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Would not return

, Grimsby, ON
2018-03-11
Travelled with my wife and 10yr old daughter. stayed 7 days.
From Cancun we had a bus charter that drove us to the Bacelo. Travel time about 1hr 20mins
Upon arrival we were told to go to the Premium reception. We were checked in, and booked our a la cartes as the receptionist advised how quickly the fill up(they do!). We booked our limit of 4 - the Mexican restaurant(forgot the name), Italian(Capri), Japanese Tapenyaki(Kyoto), Steak-house(Santa-fe).
We booked the jr suite ocean front premium level. It was in the Colonial resort. 3rd floor rm 6606. View was the pools and water park and partial ocean. it was a decent view.
Buffet food was OK.
A la cartes were OK. Capri and Kyoto were good. Tepanyaki show was very good.
Beach grilles - Avoid these if you can. The service(which Ill get to in a moment) is bad but the food is generally over cooked, stale, and for whatever reason every time we ate any lettuce from these beach grilles we felt nauseous later on.
Watersports location is absolutely terrible. it is in an area of rough water and complete cover in hard coral and seaweed. bring water-shoes if you plan to use any of their water equipment(kayaks, water bikes, etc) or risk injury. One day when using the water-bikes, it was windly and the 3 of us on the bike tried to paddle back to the area of the shore that was clearer than the rest but it was difficult to do and the surf pushed us to a rougher area so the one of the staff came over complaining 'why did you stop here, next time go over there' I tried to explain the wind and surf pushed us here but obviously he was just p/o'd because he has to walk through all the seaweed and coral. I guess getting covered in seaweed and hurting your feet on coral is OK for guests but not the staff.
Beaches are nice (recommend going to the Beach resort if you want to go in the ocean), but they could do more to manage the seaweed. I only saw a beachcomber once and the seaweed piles up quickly on the shores to the point where you would have to wade through about 20 yards of it to get to the clear.
Its really disappointing this resort would charge extra for a couple bowling lanes and antique video games and at 15USD per person,I would not waste your money. Every all inclusive we have been to have always had a free arcade, not this one. The 'waterpark" they have, is 4 waterslides and a couple surf simulators.Its 20USD pp & it a waste considering the water park at the Colonial resort is good enough for the kids and is not extra $$. They serve gelato in a strolling cart around the pool for 5USD ea... again don't waste your money, its not that good and should be served in the resturants/buffets... another cheap cash grab.
there is a 'mall and is bascialyl a mini mall with over priced stores, a couple of the a la carte restaurants, and the bowling alley/arcade. Nothing much else to do there, some time they have a show but its a 6:30pm and we never saw it.
Mini put is free during the day, but if they have to "turn the lights on" if you want to play in the evening, they charge for that as well. Other than that, there is a late night disco(Jaguars) open at 11PM i think, we never went, and the evening shows in the theatres are OK. Circus show was pretty entertaining as was Cubanissimo
We did the dolphin thing for my daughter, she enjoyed. was about $100USD
We also did the 4x4 trek to the on-resort cenote and that was also enjoyable. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and very informative. It was about 115USD for the 3 of us and was about 1.5hrs long.
The staff, where to begin.... these are obviously employees who do not like their work. Some of the a la carte staff are better but generally seemed rushed and frantically moving about. the rest the wait staff for the most part are miserable, rarely engaging and are quick to dismiss or ignor you all together. The pool and lobby bartenders will regularly ignor you even when you are the only person waiting for service. I would have to vy for their attention as they went about their business only to appear to be bothering them and when you do get their attention you are generally greeted with at what? or huh? or a blank stare. When they finally did serve you and then getting your drink, its dropped in front of you as they quickly walk away and is a generally poorly made drink and you almost always have to ask for a straw(or as we did near the end just reached over the bar and got them ourselves. I also cannot count how many time I would be waiting to order or waiting for my order only to see the same waiter quickly move to some one with a couple $$ in their hand and serve them instead at which point Im chasing the barkeep down. In one of the lobby bars, my daughter had went in to ask for a bottle of water for me and b/c she already had one was told 'you already have one' so when I went in and asked for it the guy looked at me and rolled is eyes before giving one to me. Overall, the wait/bar staff need to get some big time courses in etiquette and customer service.
The place is just too big & I think it suffers from that. Similar resorts we have been too(2 of which were in the Cancun/RM area) were smaller but offer much better staff and the main lobby offered more.
Many people we spoke with shared very similar opinions of the place &we rarely have left a resort with an overall negative experience and are not picky people but this place was just poorly serviced and felt like a cash grab. My family & I would never return to this resort or any of the Barcelo brands. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
grounds are well maintained, pools are clean and rooms are spacious and well serviced.
The weak points
Staff, especially bartenders are the worst i have ever experienced Cost extras for bowling, a cheap water park, evening miniput(b/c of lights) gelato Beach grilles are terrible. water sports location is poorly located
Certified

Barcelo Maya Grand Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2018-02-21
The Barceló Maya Grand resort is made up of 5 resorts (Palace, Tropical, Colonial, Caribe, and Beach) along 2.5 kms of beachfront. When your booking is for the Barceló Maya Grand you stay at one resort, but have access to 4 resorts. If you are book specifically at the Barceló Maya Palace, you have access to all 5 resorts. The resorts are laid out very accessible. There is Bus that runs from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily throughout the complex that could assist in transportation onsite; however, all the hotels are nicely laid out and easily walkable. Each resort has 3 story buildings for the rooms, we stayed at the Barceló Maya Beach resort in the Tulum building, which was the last building on the grounds, but at no time did we ever feel far away from anything. Each resort has an international buffet, along with "a la carte restaurants" (I believe 10 throughout the resort). When you stay for a one week visit, you can reserve up to 4 a la carte dinners. The international buffet will suit all your needs and more, even for the pickiest appetites (and I have an 8 year old that is picky). The food is very well prepared, either cooked fresh in front of you on a grill, or served hot on the buffet. There is a great variety for anti-pasti dishes or desserts, with separate stations that include assortment of premade (or make your own with toppings) salads, cheese, cold cuts, olives or pickled variations, fruits, breads, desserts, as well as a pizza station, pasta station, seafood grill, etc...... Each international buffet also has a "children's" buffet that is lower to the ground filled with French fries, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, Nutella sandwiches, assorted fruits and yogurts, jello, fried cheese, waffles/pancakes, etc. Any beverage imaginable is available to you by either serving yourself or having a server obtain for you.
The grounds are immaculate. At all hours of the day there were staff visible cleaning washrooms, maintaining grounds and pools, picking up drink glasses by the pool, paint touch ups, etc. Never once saw garbage lying around or questioned the cleanliness of a bathroom or food service area.
There are nightly shows every night of the week. We watched all seven and thought all were very entertaining and we were very impressed by the talent of the entertainers. There was a great variety, all suitable for all nationalities.
There is a kids club called the Barcy Club. Our 8 year old participated and found that the Barcy Club had a good variety of activities scheduled daily and the leaders were fabulous with the kids of all ages and found a way to make the activities age appropriate for all involved (younger and older). There is a kids disco from 8:15 - 9:00 p.m. daily, as well as an adult disco onsite. There is also a Casino, bowling alley/sports bar, a shopping mall (Jewelry, clothing, hand bags, car rental, photography, florist, traditional souvenirs, etc.....). There is a water park called Pirates Island with 3 waterslides and surfing, for an additional price. There is a Dolphinarium where you can watch a dolphin show daily, as well as interact with the dolphins (swim and learn) for an additional fee.
We very much found all staff to be very friendly and try to assist with any question you may have.
We had a standard 2 double bed room. All the rooms are fully stocked with toiletries (shaving, teeth, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, blow dryer, bath robe and slippers) if you choose to leave those items at home. We had bar fridge that was stocked daily with beer, bottles of water, assortment of pop, and snacks.
Poolside and beach had ample lounge chairs, as well as drink service if you want. There are also exterior showers between the beach and the pools to wash off the saltwater and/or just the sand off your feet.
There is a towel service located between the pools where you can swap out wet towels for dry throughout your stay. We never had an issue getting dry towels (February), they were always well stocked. There is also a store poolside selling sarongs, hats, lotions, pool/beach toys, flip/flops, boat shoes, sunglasses, etc., all at what I thought to be a reasonable price if you prefer to have the room in suitcase and not travel with the items.
There are free activities offered throughout the resort every day of the week, just watch the entertainment boards for the time and locations. There are also many excursion desks throughout the resort that are wealth of information on activities in the surrounding area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food offerings and quality, immaculate grounds and cleanliness, service of staff, variety of activities offered.
The weak points
Would like to have a storage drawer or cabinet in hotel room bathroom to store toiletries without having to leave on countertop.
Certified

Again and Again

, White City, SK
2018-02-14
This was our 5th time staying at this resort. The staff was amazing, the beach was beautiful, and the room was clean. The buffets left a little to be desired, but that is typical in this type of resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best beach for lounging and swimming - always chairs available in every area.
The weak points
Would like to see more garbage cans around the resort. Is there nowhere to recycle in Mexico? Buffets need an overhaul as Sliced turkey breast and tacos were on the breakfast buffet, taco accompaniments and syrup on the lunch buffet, and only one pasta
Certified

Barcelo Maya Grand Resort

, Calgary, AB
2018-02-01
Excellent service. Friendly and very helpful staff. Very clean resort. The rooms was clean and in good condition. Snacks and beverages were provided in room. Beach was beautiful and clean but had some rocks at one end. The other end of the beach had no rocks and had all white sand. The food was delicious, fresh, and lots of variety. Had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Truly a grand resort, but with dated rooms

, Lumsden, SK
2018-01-30
This resort is grand, it is very large. The grounds are immaculately kept and the pools are clean. The bars can get a little crowded, but it's not a major problem to get a drink. Decent variety at the buffet restaurants, but the a la carte restaurants can be tricky to get a reservation for and a little underwhelming. My room was not at the same level of quality as the rest of the resort. The furnishings were dated, the bed was a little uncomfortable, the air conditioner didn't work, and there was black mold in the bathroom. The beaches are clean, but quite rocky in places. There are cenotes directly across the highway, if that's your thing. You are also about equidistant between Tulum and Playa del Carmen. The resort has its own shopping mall area with a sort of mini-Vegas vibe. If I had a family with kids I'd definitely consider this resort, plenty of kid-specific pool areas and activities. Overall it was a satisfactory week, about on-par with expectations. If you're considering this resort, go ahead and book it and relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge resort with many amenities available on-site, especially if you have kids. The gym facilities are fantastic. Half-way between Tulum and Playa del Carmen, if either of those places interest you.
The weak points
The rooms were quite out-dated. The mixed drinks are not that good, rely too much on sugary mixes. Hard to get reservations at the a la carte restaurants, be persistent.
Certified

Barcelo - Tropical

, Langley, BC
2018-01-16
Very clean. We had lots of fun, but this particular hotel is really far from the beach. You have to be willing to do a lot of walking to get where you want to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is really friendly. Great resort and lots of activities
The weak points
Bar stock was not restocked everyday we had to call for it to be restocked.
Certified

What a fantastic stay!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-01-04
We had such a great experience at this resort! We were at Barceló over Christmas, and were pleasantly surprised at how spacious the resort felt. The pool was fantastic, the servers were great, and the beach was fantastic. We loved the snorkeling right off the beach at the resort and the abundant fish that were all around. We ate at a few of the restaurants and had fantastic food and service....we loved Sante Fe and Kyoto especially! Graciela was our favorite server at the pool was so fantastic! And the entertainment every night was really well done. We particularly enjoyed Il Divo, The Nutcracker, Fantasia and of course Broadway night! It was always family friendly. And the band....the amazing musicians that played every night from 9-9:30 and then along with the entertainment. Hats off you to musicians! We would definitely go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and water, great food, resort went out of it's way to make Christmas Eve special in the buffets and throughout the resort, the evening entertainment was fantastic.
The weak points
The beds were only double (which I do realize is pretty normal at resorts) and a bit hard...but that's more personal preference than a complaint.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?