Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

4.124.124.124.124.12
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#5 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
4.12 based on 103 reviews
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Awesome

, Quesnel, BC
2020-01-21
Everything was great. This was our fifth time at this Barceló so that pretty much sums up our experience. We will be considering a sixth time possibly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
For us the strong points were the friends we made with particular staff. Chema and Yarely from the bar and Lucy from the front desk. They treat us like family and are so attentive and concerned with us. Thank-you to Laura Ramos.
The weak points
Hot tub not hot enough. Pool a little on the cool side. For those of us leaving at 3:00 am for flights would be nice to have some coffee and maybe a muffin available in the lobby. The airport shops were not open to get anything.
Certified

Unsure

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-10
This was my first excursion to Puerto Vallarta. I've stayed at the Barcelo in Cancun and had a much better "resort experience," but after doing some research, I think this may be due to the differences in focus on tourism and tourism culture between the two cities.

The suite was decently clean. The sheets smelled a little musty, probably because of the humidity. They changed our room for us because our room's smell worsened throughout the stay. The second room's duvet had makeup smudges on it and neither of us wore makeup.

My partner and I found that they often refill water bottles and give them to you as new bottles. The taste was inconsistent, seals were broken, and my partner ended up with a coldsore. However, we found this to common everywhere, including restaurants.

The food is less than decent. I ended up sticking to the traditionally Mexican dishes in the buffet, as the more "North American" dishes in the reservation-only restaurants were not up to our standards - meat was often overcooked or undercooked, and sometimes dishes were reheated. The cheese and meat board selections were miserable. The wine list is meagre. However, the broths and soups were excellent.

In general, PV is not a foodie's paradise except in the neighbourhood "Zona Romantica."

The staff is courteous. Sometimes service was slow or not there yet. The concierge was supposed to open at 9am. I suppose they operate on the local feel of time and this might be the same in all the resorts. Concierge was often late. There is only one person at the desk.

The part of the beach bordering the ocean is shared with the public, and I found this to be common in PV, whereas in Cancun you get your own private section of the beach. This opens up hawkers to constantly walk up and down the beaches selling things and a less clean beach.

Next time, I will try staying in a hotel closer to town so we can eat better. Who knows, service might be like this everywhere. PV is great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-view from each suite dining areas stunning -safe -staff courteous -traditional Mexican food, especially soups, in buffet great -breakfast good selection -overhead walk-in shower, good pressure -comfy beds -swim-up bar -cabs always ready
The weak points
-No turn-down service even upon request. -do not change towels unless you catch a housekeeper -refilled water bottles -poor drink selection -sub-par restaurants -late services -produce not always fresh -no classes (eg yoga) -hot tub not hot
Certified

Grandma 71, Granddaughter 25

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-02-19
We chose the right hotel for the Grandma as I like to be out of town and more into the country, Quick all inclusive trip. Only complaint I had is because of a lock malfunction we were locked outof our room for 14 plus hours, They did give us another room but we didn't have pj's. toothbrushes, medications, etc--nor did they adjust the bill, I complained to the concierge who promised me an upgrade on my next stay--probably never to be used as I like to go to the next place. They could have made me happy with an amenity package of some kind or something along that line. I did not let this colour my view of the place. Service was great and I don't think the upgrade was at all necessary. I had tried to get the Hard Rock hotel but it was booked and it probably would have been more appropriate for my grandkid but we both enjoyed the shows ( a surprise for me as I find that kind of stuff cringeworthy) and she went dancing every night, The Capri was, IMHO, the best restaurant, like Los Arcos and found Don Quixote to be adequate. The snack shop with the fresh tacos at lunch was fab. The place was clean and it was perfectly fine to visit a hotel I was last at over 30 years ago. Yes, it does need some touch up but a very solid hotel. It is not a 5 star but I'd rate it a 4 though it will have to strive to keep up with today's worldy traveller, For the price--I liked it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful grounds and pools, peaceful, very good staff. The shows were surprisingly good and the Cantina had good dance bands.
The weak points
the buffet dining was only okay and definitely not served at Canadian safety temperatures, There was enough variety though definitely Mexican in nature ( as it should be). Lovely fruit and veg but I would have added a very NA dish like Mac and cheese..
Certified

Winter Vacation

, Campbell River, ON
2018-10-22
...great service, great food and atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good variety food, great pool side
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Beautiful Barcelo

, Halfmoon Bay, BC
2018-03-12
We were totally looked after at this hotel. Staff was friendly and very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely pool area and the rooms all have a view and spacious.
The weak points
Very loud music at the pool sight.
Certified

Two thumbs up

, Port Mcneill, BC
2018-01-29
great food ,super service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and sevice great
The weak points
flight was poor
Certified

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

, St Catharines, ON
2017-08-18
Hotel was very nice. Clean, well looked after, nice grounds, etc! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Many different places to get drinks. Nice beach. Great pools. Good walking distances to all features. Great staff!
The weak points
Heavy charge for WiFi!
Certified

Beyond expectations

, Spruce Grove, AB
2017-03-03
would recommend, would stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A smaller resort, with a big impression.

, Rimbey, AB
2016-04-26
This is a great resort. Its smaller then most, which I enjoyed and the people that work here are wonderful. Hats off to Pablo, Blanca and Anthony.
The rooms are generous in size and clean.
The buffet was very good and the Ala Cartes were also very good.
All in all a great resort. The second Barceló my wife and I have stayed at and they don't disappoint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pools
The weak points
Not much beach, but10 minutes from shore is great snorkeling. Locals will take you out on their boats for a minimal charge.

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

, Calgary, AB
2016-03-28
The hotel was your typical Mexican resort. We enjoyed the weather and the day time activities at pool side. The internet was slow at best and could not connect in my room so laptops are not recommended. We were told that men had to wear long pants (not dress shorts and collared shirts) in the restaurant but saw men being allowed in with shorts and women with cut off jean shorts being allowed in. The best food theme night was the Chinese night. Overall enjoyed our stay but would probably not return for the price we paid.

Steve [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Weather, could swim in the ocean, snack bar was good, friendly staff for the most part, good pools and activities at pool, suite room was spacious.
The weak points
Internet was weak, only one cook at buffet, bathrooms are dated, only 2 staff for ordering drinks,
Certified

Great Vacation

, Cranbrook, BC
2016-02-27
The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The rooms were extremely spacious. The staff were excellent. The restaurants were clean and had an abundance of food choices. Had your choice of several bars. The weather was great, no mosquitoes but lots of little black biting flies(No See Ums) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of activities during the day, activities personal Martin and Mitch were exceptional.
The weak points
Pools closed too early, no activities in the evenings,
Certified

Barcelo

, Strathmore, AB
2016-02-21
Overall I would rate this resort as good. We paid for premium club and don't think it was worth the extra money - only real benefit was the Internet and the unlimited a la carts. Food at the buffet was really good for breakfast but would not recommend eating other meals there as the choices were vey limited. However, all the a la carts very excellent. Beds are comfortable, rooms very clean and the pools clean and warm. We did notice on check in that the staff at the premium club need to be more attentive to the customer in front of them, not just get up and leave to do.......also they need to speak A little slower , often was hard to understand what they were saying. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carts
The weak points
Check in

Beautiful

, Grande Prairie, AB
2015-01-17
We had a great stay at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta. The rooms were huge and really nice and the views were beautiful. We upgraded our room and stayed on the 9th floor with an amazing view of the ocean. The food was better than most typical all inclusive buffets but the a la carte food was excellent. The staff was friendly and service was great.The only disappointments were no internet in the rooms and the beach. Not for the small size, but for the biting sand flies and the large drop off in the water. We walked along the beach for about 10 minutes and I got two bites on my ankle and my husband got about 5. Which wasn't too bad until a few days later they swelled up and became extremely itchy. Luckily I had read the reviews prior to our trip and I brought some anti-itch gel. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Pools Big rooms with views
The weak points
Beach was coarse with lots of sand flies, there was a large drop off and undertow. You had to pay for internet and it was not available in the rooms.
Certified

Perfect paradice

, Clearwater, HA
2014-04-14
You can't go wrong with this hotel. This was our second time back to this hotel and both times I have been completely satisfied with our stay. If I return to PV I will be staying here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great swimming pools
The weak points
Have not found them yet.
Certified

Great hotel

, Ariss, ON
2014-03-21
Very nicer hotel. Room was beyond our expectation. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Had a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpfull andd friendly staff, great room with views,
The weak points
Far from town and excursions
Certified

Paradise in Mismaloya

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-16
Beautiful location nestled in the mountainous jungle of Mismaloya...we liked that it was a little more secluded than the fast pace hotel zone...we were there to relax and it was a very beautiful place to do just that [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful location, excellent service, large comfy rooms
The weak points
We very much enjoyed our whole stay but I guess If I had to mention a weak point it would be that there is not a big selection of beverages from the room fridge, only provided one of each type of drink...which is weird considering its double occupancy
Certified

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

, Kitchener, ON
2014-03-05
Beyond expectation. Feel very safe. Lots to do during the day. Clean and the hotel is well maintained everyday, floors & washrooms. Late check out can take shower at gym with clean & good supply of towels & necessity.Excellent weather daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good & friendly service, feel safe, clean, good food
The weak points
not enough seafood
Certified

Wonderful holiday resort

, Surrey, BC
2014-02-23
About an hour by coach from airport, but well worth that drive. Hotel views were great, room was clean and well looked after. The food was great, only having 3 a la carte restaurants was not an issue, the buffet was always well stocked, lots of variety. The snack shack was great. The premium lounge was wonderful and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Josephina, looked after our room daily and made sure everything was in order. Our only criticism would be that we needed more bottled water in our room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every room had an ocean view.
The weak points
Mini bar needed more restocking of water daily
Certified

Very nice hotel

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-15
Very clean,staff were very friendly and helpful,the service was excellent,Food was pretty good,rooms are very nice and spacious.a little far from town but an easy cab or bus ride.
would definitely return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service,cleanliness,staff
The weak points
food in the a la cartes,small beach
Certified

BUGS

, Kelowna, BC
2014-01-26
So many bug bites from the resort that it ruined my trip...about 30 bites on each leg [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice rooms
The weak points
bugs bugs bugs
Certified

Beautiful Resort and Area

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-03-26
The Barcelo is Beautiful...It is a piece of paradise. When I looked out over the resort from our balcony all I could think was "WOW"!
The pools were excellent and set up so if you wanted quieter you could be on one side; if you wanted to participate in activities you went to the other side.
The food at the buffet, in my opinion, was lacking. Too many "hash" type dishes with everything mixed together, for my liking. I realize this may be the Mexican way, but it would have been nice to have some "just beef" or "just vegetable" type dishes. The fruit was very good and plentiful.
The 2 ala cartes we went to, Steakhouse and Italian, were excellent.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would likely return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort is absolutely beautiful! It is set up so that everything is around the perimeter, so it is very easy to find everything. The views are spectacular. The rooms are huge and the beds very comfortable.
The weak points
The noise level at night was a bit much (unless you were down there partying which I'm sure was a lot of fun). I left the fan on which helped to cover the music and shouting.
Certified

Horrible Hotel

, Chilliwack, BC
2013-02-18
We did not stay at this Hotel and changed our venue a week before our trip to the Occidental Grande Nuevo Vallarta because of the ongoing sickness at the Barcello. We would NEVER stay at this Hotel. 2 couples we were travelling with stayed at The Barcello for 3 days and had to switch to our Hotel at the Occidental because they got violently ill with diarrhea & vomiting from the food and the Hotel just igtnores the problem & tells everyone that they are the only ones ill due to overdrinking. This place should be shut down. Travel companies should not be promoting this Hotel at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I didn't even stay there so how can I provide a strong point?
The weak points
Sickness sickness from the food &/ or handling
Certified

A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL

, Oakville, ON
2013-02-07
This is a great hotel facility, rooms are large and roomy. Beach is beautiful but very course sand. Food was very good but was very poor on the weekends, it seems they did not bring in the extra staff they needed for the huge increase of guests on Sat. and Sun. Really a shame as it soured the holiday experience as food and services were exceptional on the other days. Room was not made up until after 5:00 on Sunday. Hotel was far out of town but bus service was excellent and reliable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
all public areas, size of room, service (most days) beautiful location, easy transportation on public buses, weather was great, side trips were well worth it
The weak points
Had serious problems in service and food on weekend, had to ask for towels on 2 occasions,
Certified

Great value!

, Chestermere, AB
2013-01-29
Absolutely wonderful! Would highly recommend ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location ! Puerto Vallarta is a fabulous location!
The weak points
A bit of a distance from the airport !
Certified

Week holiday

, Edmonton, AB
2013-01-03
Rooms great was kind of disappointed with the food but the pools and sun made up for it. Lost one of our exit visas at front desk. They did not even contact us to say they had it, was not impressed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and rooms
The weak points
Front desk and food
Certified

Barcello

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-12-19
Beautiful suites, pools, staff. Bad food experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff attentive, it was quiet. The family suite style room was spacious and nice. Pools were warm and clean.
The weak points
Food or food handling, all 5 of us were sick as were many, many others. I ended up needing to be in hospital. I rarely am ill!!
Certified

Great Place

, Medicine Hat, AB
2012-11-27
Our time at the Barcelo resort was even better than I had hoped for. My wife and I celebrated out 18th wedding anniversary while there.
The resort was beautiful. The pool areas had very nice waterfalls. The beach was nice, and the water was quite warm.
On the beach, to the left of the resort, were several massage huts, where we both had several couples massages due to the cheap prices. $40-55 for 1hr massage total price for both of us combined.
We also snorkeled in our little bay area one day and couldn't believe how many fish we saw just 20 or so feet from shore. Just as many, if not more than what we see when we go to Hawaii.

Our room was a jr. suite which included a jacuzzi tub right next to our king size bed which had a gorgeous view out the patio doors to the tropical hill side. We had a mini fridge in the room too, which was stocked with juice/water/coke/beer and nuts. The nice thing was that it didn't cost extra-it was all included and restocked daily.

The food and the drinks were great too. The only beer at the resort was Sol, but Tecate beer was stocked in our room.

The staff were always friendly and helpful as well.

It was the best all inclusive trip my wife and I have had yet, and we have been to our fair share of places.

We attended a wedding at the Dreams resort down the road from the Barcelo, and to be honest, our room and pools area-the entire Barcelo resort was quite a bit nicer that what I saw there.

A perfect place for honeymooners, couples, and family! We definitely wouldn't have a problem going back to the Barcelo Vallarta again! Enjoy!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
gorgeous place. Great room and view from balcony. Nice pools, beach, snorkeling,food, cheap massages, friendly staff, clean room
The weak points
It is a bit far from town, but good bus location right across the street and less than $1.00/trip/person. Other than that, the place is fantastic!
Certified

Pushy Peddlers

, Buck Lake, AB
2012-11-19
This is a beautiful resort with amazing food and good nightly shows, however the second you try to go down the steps you become swarmed with people trying to sell anything and everything and no matter how many times you turn one down another one approches. Put it this way, the entire trip we did not once get to put our feet in the ocean, we couldnt get that far before we became so frustratedwith peddlers that we would give up and go lay beside the pool. On the bright side the spa here is excellent and very well priced. I would reccomend this resort to anyone who doesnt mind missing out on the beach aspect.....also from the restruant at any given time there was at least one to two stray dogs running, peeing and pooping on the beach, volleyball equipment, ect so its probably not an extreamly sanitary beach to sit your children in.The rooms are nice, too bad our housekeeping wouldnt replace any towels or empty the garbages although they were left $5.00 u.s.d daily.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Food Not Many Children Wonderful Spa with Great Prices
The weak points
Pushy Sellers on the beach Stray dogs peeing and pooping on the beach Not very efficent pool side service even if you tip them repeatedly
Certified

PV Barcelo

, Nanaimo, BC
2012-10-21
Very good. We all enjoyed our experience at this out of the way hotel. If you want to spend a lot of time downtown check out other hotels. Really enjoyed the Zoo close by and Tony's restaurant up the street. Everything is clean, well kept, beautiful grounds, pools and buffets are pretty good. Would go back with the family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful rooms, most with great views, great pool set up, buffet and snack bars overlooking ocean and easy access
The weak points
Slow food service and only alright food at al a carte restaurants compared to most I've been too. Very small beach and we all got sand flea bites, not many activities because of slow time of year
Certified

Pretty good

, Prince Albert, SK
2012-06-04
The food was pretty good. The staff was excellent. But the resort is out of the way. Would have liked to be closer to shopping. Nightly entertainment was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff. Great nightly entertainment. Restaurants were kind of good.
The weak points
Far from shopping, restaurants were not what I was expecting.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?