Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
3.863.863.863.863.86
3.86 based on 336 reviews
#9 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (68)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Canto Del Sol - march 18 to 25, 2020

, Vancouver, BC
2020-03-27
The location of the hotel is perfect - an easy walk to downtown, but not too close, making for a very tranquil stay. This is a smaller hotel, but with HEART. They are dedicated to ensuring that each guest feels at home. And they DO it ! I have been going back to Canto del Sol for more than five years, and in Puerto Vallarta would not consider staying anywhere else. I stayed in a studio, which I would recommend because it has a kitchenette with fridge. Despite the current coronavirus crisis, I felt safe and secure at Canto del Sol. They took many precautions to ensure everyone's safety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness & helpfulness of all staff - EXQUISITE FOOD !!! - Lovely and beautifully maintained grounds - Divine meals at the specialty restaurants - Helpfulness of Guest Services to deal with any concerns, with the hotel or otherwise.
The weak points
There are no weak points - Canto del Sol covers all bases, and does it really, really well...!
Certified

Canto Del Sol 14th stay

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-06
I've been going to the Canto for many years and have stayed a month and many times 3 weeks plus many two week stays. It's my second home. I continue to enjoy my stays there. It is become quite expensive with very few changes that benefit the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is decent and the staff is wonderful. Staff is always willing to help out. Staff is truly why I continue to stay.
The weak points
Buffet food hasn't really change in over a decade. I can usually find something to eat most nights but sometimes it is substandard. Lunch time, they use have have the hot sandwiches made at the grill, many of us miss the sandwiches.
Certified

One week family getaway with 13 ....a bakers dozen

, Kamloops, BC
2020-01-26
8 adults and 5 kids .... and one was 2 1/2 years old. We all had a great time and hope to go back soon. Kids just loved the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. We all had a great time. Surf & Turf was a favorite. Lucked out with the weather...warm & sunny every day.
The weak points
I'm old but some of the music was VERY old. Could pick it up a notch. Please upgrade the loungers in the main pool area similar to the ones in the back pool area. Some more comfortable seating in the bar area would also be nice.
Certified

Canto del sol

, Lacombe, AB
2020-01-09
The hotel was listed as a 4.5-5 star however a lot of maintenance needed to be done and the food was plain and repetitive. Staff were good but in short supply. Makes me question who gives the rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly and the a la carte meals were very good
The weak points
The shower in our room was broken, the balcony light didn't work, the resort seemed understaffed, the buffet and snack bar were quite plain and repetitive. Key cards seemed worn out. Had to replace them a couple of times
Certified

Our experience at Canto del Sol

, La Crete, AB
2019-03-30
Overall we had a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strongest point is the location. Very friendly staff and the size of the resort. Very clean!
The weak points
The pressure to listen to the time share presentation is too much!! You can't relax. Almost every time we head for the pool they ask if we've changed our mind already. The food was very much the same every day. The same with the entertainment.
Certified

Winter holiday

, Sundridge, ON
2019-01-24
great stay all the staff were very good would stay here again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

What is this

, Lake Country, BC
2018-12-12
Good. What do you want here [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees
Certified

Disapointed

, Vernon, BC
2018-12-11
This is my fourth time at this hotel in four years. I will not be going again. I have seen the prices steadily rise and service go down. This is definately not a 4 1/2 star hotel. More like a 3 1/2. I have been to plenty of 4 1/2 star resorts.
I booked an ocean view room and got a ground floor room looking at some bushes and the pool. The room had a king size bed, only one night stand and no clock in the room. They provide bottled water but there are no fridges in the rooms. The bath has a shower only.
The buffet is very small with limited selection and the food is only OK. The three restaurants, however, are fantastic but you can only go three times in total. The snack bar has one of the best menus I have seen. They used to do an excellent ala carte breakfast there, which I was really looking forward to. However, they have stopped doing that.
The resort was quiet all week and then on Friday afternoon became packed with local families. Both Friday and Saturday you could not get near the pool bar because of children in the area. There is a separate pool for kids but not many use it because it is out of the way with no amenities for adults supervising them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Specialty restaurants are as good as any five star. Snack bar is great.
The weak points
Small buffet with limited choices. No beach to speak of and the sea is very deep just a few feet from shore.
Certified

Canto Del Sol

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-25
This hotel was a very pleasant surprise! The staff are for sure the greatest asset, the food was awesome, the pool is a huge pool with seating around the entire edge of the pool. The entire place is very clean and well looked after. A friendly, safe, and comfortable resort. a real genuine down to earth resort that makes you feel at home! I will be going back, and would highly suggest to try this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff are all awesome, friendly, attentive, and very caring!
The weak points
The balconies are very tiny, but can seat 2 people.
Certified

Great resort for family of 6

, Orleans, ON
2018-03-22
We travelled with our 3 grand-children age 7,8 and 10 as well as our daughter. This was a first for the kids. The resort size and amenities were perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte restaurants were great and staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The weak points
Buffet food could have been more varied.
Certified

Canto Del Sol Plaza

, Melita, MB
2018-03-07
We have stayed here several times with a reasonable satisfaction but this time it was a disaster experience, on arrival we didn't get anything which we asked for with our booking. We had quite a run around , they said they didn't have anything else, but for another $900 US we could upgrade. We had to stay in the room they originally gave us, in back of hotel, no view, air cond was not working and very stuffy. The front desk were not cooperative or friendly We got another room the next day which was what we orginally booked, but we had to buy a membership for several thousand dollars, otherwise our vacation was ruined by the room they give us originally [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort is clean, staff other than front desk were frie ndy food was ok nice pool and bars were ok nice lounge
The weak points
definety not 5 star which they have over front desk, maybe 3.5 ,standard rooms not in best cond, some rooms had no hot water
Certified

I miss it already

, Oliver, BC
2018-02-27
A small and friendly resort, with staff that works very hard to make everyone happy. Upgrading to an ocean-view room is definitely worth it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super friendly and accommodating staff
The weak points
Food - it was alright, with enough variety to find something you like, but not outstanding
Certified

Excellent service

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-18
This is our second time at Canto del Sol. First time it was because of covered tennis courts. This time was because we liked our stay first time. Yes, rooms and bathrooms are a little bit dated. And the beach is not that great. But food and hospitality are 5 star. Great effort by the staff everywhere. And arrangement and food for the Valentines day were simply outstanding. Thank you all we hope to see you soon again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is great. I liked the white fish prepared every day in a different way a lot. Also omlet in the morning, Pico de Gallo, guacamole and white cheese. We liked the choice of drinks like vine (rose) and of course mohitos. Clean rooms, pool and grounds.
The weak points
Dated bathrooms. Small beach. Sometimes dirty (foam) sea water surface
Certified

Great holiday

, Lethbridge, AB
2017-02-16
We would recommend this resort for a fun but quiet time.
This is not a party place.
Great food and service. The restaurant and bar service was exceptional
The activities staff make the days fun
The smaller resort made it easy to meet other vacationers
Location was excellent to major attractions
Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff - very friendly and helpful restaurants and food in general was excellent Bar service was great Large rooms very clean with good quality linen and towels Pools area recently updated and very good Would definitely return and recommend
The weak points
Older resort but exceptionally well kept. Rooms and buildings could use some updating.
Certified

Great Stay

, Cambridge, ON
2017-01-09
My family and I (wife and 3 kids under age 8) had a wonderful time!! Hotel is very kid friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible service!!
The weak points
Beach (not for little kids, but okay for adults), front desk disorganised.
Certified

Thank you for a lovely stay.

, Vancouver, BC
2017-01-02
I thought all of the staff were very friendly and kind to me. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The beds were not the most comfortable but I find that is the case wherever I travel, not just at Canto del Sol. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I thought the friendliness of the staff was lovely. Also the variety of foods and drinks was lovely.
The weak points
I would have liked a bathtub as well as a shower in my room. I found the beds a bid hard and the bedding a litle scratchy.
Certified

Great Resort, Wish they served liquor later.

, Surrey, Br
2016-05-03
Great place overall. Not my first time there and I really enjoy it every time. Great place to spend time relaxing, not a great place to party. Had a relaxing vacation, was waited on well and the staff don't beg for tips on every drink like at some resorts. Overall great place for a vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff was awesome, great value for the money.
The weak points
Snack bar and all bars close at midnight.
Certified

Canto Del Sol

, Ardrossan, AB
2016-03-08
Have stayed here lots of times, great place to stay. The food is real good and lots of it,rooms are nice and very clean as is the grounds. The pool is quite big and not cold. The staff are what makes this hotel,they will do anything to make your stay good. You are welcomed with "welcome home" [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-23
The hotel was wonderfull, food was amazing and staff were very friendly and helpfull with everything. Great service all around! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

We love Canto Del Sol

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-17
A great resort for families. We have two year old twins and a seven year old. The different pool depths are great for all ages. Warm water. A great time was had by all! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Kids Club is great for my seven year old. The pool is great. The grounds are well kept. Great staff. And the weather in Puerto Vallarta is always Amazing!
The weak points
Wifi is terrible.
Certified

Amazing

, Airdrie, AB
2016-02-15
You will not find a resort with more attentive staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, and service.
The weak points
Beds were very hard.
Certified

Great Family Getaway

, Quatsino, MB
2016-02-10
We just returned from PV and we thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days at Canto del Sol. From the exquisite a la carte dining to the outstanding service from the poolside staff, we could not have asked for more. Thank you Canto del Sol!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and quality
The weak points
Could use a few improvements to: Beds (Too firm) Internet sign in was a constant hassle Smokers at beach entrance (not great) Not enough high chairs
Certified

Canto

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-01-12
Old hotel,but stuff keep it very clean,good food and service.Beach are small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personal
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Canto Del Sol

, Vernon, BC
2015-12-20
Overall a very nice stay. Staff friendly and attentive. Food good; the three restaurants were better than expected and as good as many five star resorts we have stayed at. Rooms were basic but comfortable. No beach to speak of and the sea is not good for swimming because there is a drop off a short distance into the water. For the price we would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service and price.
The weak points
Beach and poor quality of the liquor
Certified

Canto del Sol

, Spruce Grove, AB
2015-11-24
This was not our first visit to the Canto del Sol. Our first visit was in January 2015, ten months ago, and once again, we felt that this resort provides very good value. The food is still mediocre at the lunch and supper buffet although anywhere you have breakfast - whether at the buffet, by the pool, or near the lobby - is quite good. We did not eat at the Italian or Mexican a la carte restaurants this trip, only at the surf and turf a la carte and we really, really enjoyed it (so we used all three of our 'coupons' to eat there). The beach was very rocky, perhaps because of the recent hurricane and I wished I had brought water shoes. I was a little annoyed with the beach vendors this trip as there are just so many of them and although they are not persistent, it is still an annoyance. Our room was excellent. We had lots of towels and face cloths, it was clean, and the air conditioning worked great. Unfortunately there was no pianist in the lobby bar for the entire week so evenings were quiet. We did not go to the resort shows because we saw a few last time we were at the resort and they did not wow us. Wifi works great in the room, lobby and even by the pool. Don't be put off if your wifi code doesn't work the first time and you have to call guest services. The issue gets resolved quickly and then you are good to go for the week. The weather was outstanding!! All in all, a lovely week away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points: Clean, safe. Easy walking distance to the Malecon yet close to the airport. Decent food. Great charter price.
The weak points
The weak points: Very rocky beach this time. Just too many beach vendors.
Certified

Great people, good for families

, Surrey, BC
2015-08-03
Excellent staff, Excellently maintained, with excellent a la carte food, an average buffet and a crappy beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Cleanliness, A-La-Carte
The weak points
Beach, Buffet
Certified

August 1/2015

, Medicine Hat, AB
2015-08-03
If I went back to Mexico again, I would make sure that I went to a five star resort. There was very little entertainment provided, the music was the same every hour and they did the same routine everyday. The pool was very crowded and there was no adult area so you were constantly being splashed or kicked by all the little kids. It would have been a great place if I had little kids but not for my 19 year old son. I also found that there was nowhere to go to get a break from the heat, there was only one a la carte that had air conditioning and because the air in our room was leaking and not able to keep up we had no break from the humidity and high temperatures.
The worst part of my trip was the time spent in the time share that I was told would be no pressure if I said no. The person that gave me the tour and provided me the information was lovely and was very understanding when I told her it was not interested at the end but then the manager comes over and won't let you leave until you can work out how they can make it work for you. Then I went to get my voucher they promised me and they ignored me at the desk for 2 hours telling me it was on it's way. I felt embarrassed and humiliated as a the people that did buy a timeshare got served handed their vouchers immediately after they left. I was in tears and felt I was taken advantage of because I am single woman that has a hard time standing up for myself. I went on this trip to get away from the stresses of life not to add to them. I would not recommend this resort to anyone that doesn't have a man with them to stand up for them.
I have never been so happy to come home from
A holiday in my life! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Eduardo was an amazing server! The food was good but I found it seemed the same everyday so little variety. The lady the cleaned my room was consistent and did a fantastic job considering the fact that she had an old room with mold issues to work with.
The weak points
Time share pressure was terrible and the promised voucher I had to fight for, I felt berated and lost 6 hours of my trip trying to get them to leave me alone. Rooms were musty, beds were hard, loud air conditioner.
Certified

Great

, Gibsons, BC
2015-06-08
Hotel is very comfortable close to everything busses , restaurants , Malecon ....The staff at the hotel cannot do enough for you all so nice and pleasant and friendly ....There is a good variety of food something there for everyone to eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to everything
The weak points
Beach is not to big
Certified

Not likely to return.

, Weyburn, SK
2015-03-29
Overall the hotel was satisfactory. I'm not a picky eater but the food selection wasn't the greatest... No kids menu (a definite negative). Pool was nice. Some of the staff were really great & others not so much. Great location between the malecon & marina. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, size of resort, some staff
The weak points
Food, beds, beach
Certified

HIGHLY Recommend We'll be back!!

, Plum Coulee, MB
2015-03-15
I knew it was going to be a good vacation when we were waiting to check in an employee came and asked us if we would like something to drink. I asked for a beer and before I knew it I was handed a nice cold beer. Boy I'll tell you did that hit the spot. After the 5 hour flight, going thru customs, getting the luggage, and then being pestered by people at the airport selling time shares.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
I can't say enough about the staff. They were 5 STARS all the way. Always a smile on their faces.
The food was good especially the gourmet dinners. The 8oz. filet mignon was to die for cooked to perfection.
The beef ribs were so tender they fell off the bone.
We had fish as well and it was great.
The beach is not that great but I spent most of my time either lounging pool side or in the pool.
Rooms were clean and nice comfortable beds. We had a balcony with ocean view. The balcony was small but had 2 chairs to sit on.
I especially enjoyed the made to order omelettes at breakfast.
One thing that we didn't like were the pigeons and grackles in the buffet restaurant and around the snack bar. I wish they would do something about it.
We went on the City Tour and I would not recommend it. We finally stopped for lunch at 2:30. Who wants to eat at 2:30 when you have a dinner reservation for 6:00. The other annoying thing was the tour guide had to speak English and Spanish when there only a few Mexicans on the bus and I believe they spoke English.
Most days my wife and I would take the city bus to go do some shopping. The fare is only 7 1/2 pesos.
All said it was a great 2 week vacation and would not hesitate to recommend the Canto Del Sol.
We're looking forward to returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, close to town. Safe area. Very clean with excellent staff.
The weak points
Pigeons and grackles in the buffet restaurant and around the snack bar.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020