Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
3.843.843.843.843.84
3.84 based on 134 reviews
#4 of 30 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Los Cabos
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (41)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Location

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-16
The resort is located in an area that allows you to explore San Jose as well catch transportation should you wish to head to Los Cabos. You were really able to learn about the culture in that part of the world and the hospitality of the citizens. We walked on average 4 to 5 miles every day and really enjoyed that privilege. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service at resort was excellent in all areas. All requests were dealt with promptly.
The weak points
The weather was unseasonably cool and we were unable to obtain a blanket for our bed until the third day there and the thermostat in the room did not work to warm up the room.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-03
Dear Mr James, We would like to thank you for choose Los Cabos, Mexico and Barcelo Gran Faro for your vacations and the same time for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm Regards,

Los cabos

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-14
barcelo gran faro [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-03
Dear Mr. Michael, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Gran Faro hotel for your holidays in Los Cabos and for the review you shared on Monarc.ca, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. Warm Regards,

Beautiful resort but not if you want to sleep

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-13
This resort was beautiful. The grounds were immaculate, friendly staff and delicious food! Loved everything about this place besides the rooms. Unfortunately they are tiled hallways and housekeeping starts at 7am clicking down the hallway. Other guests liked to stand outside our room and talk at midnight or later. Don't even think an afternoon nap is possible because you'll be awoken by guests yelling to each other/housekeeping or maintenance knocking at the door. If you're not premium WiFI is $12 a day, but we just went without. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, delicious food, strong drinks
The weak points
Noisy rooms
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-03
Dear Carleigh, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at Barceló Gran Faro.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Warm Regards,

Beautiful and clean resort.

, Surrey, BC
2020-01-22
The only issue we had was the noise from the constant music playing all day. Way to loud as we had a room above the snack bar/pool area. I should have asked to be moved but we already had a room change as they booked us into a room with one bed when my only reguest was for a room with two beds. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The weather was not the greatest but that was not a big deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice spot, but skip specialty restaurants

, Victoria, BC
2020-01-15
Came down for a week as a couple with an almost 2 year old. The resort was nice and low key, not a lot of party people or too many kids. Just right in terms of size, mix of people and it wasnt too crowded. The babysitting service was wonderful and our sitter was lovely. Although it is 15USD per hour (!). Our child also really enjoyed the shows and being able to play at the kids club amenity. Overall it was a great experience and the barcelo delivered. Our only real criticism is that the food at the specialty restaurants was really mediocre. After using 3 of our 4 vouchers, we decided the buffet was way better and skipped our last specialty restaurant opportunity all together. The buffet was actually consistantly really good tho! As was the snack bar. So skip paying extra for the specialty restaurants and you're good to go! Great setting in Los Cabos too. Nice beach. Also note that they getcha with the WiFi. 45USD for 3 devices for the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, size and layout of resort, beach, views from room, buffet selection and food quality, bar/lounge, overall feel.
The weak points
Food at the specify restaurants was really mediocre, and maybe even poor. Drinks at the rooftop bar were also very bad.
Certified

Good value and Beautiful resort

, vancouver, Br
2020-01-15
Nice resort close to San Jose Del Cabo. 15 min walk to La Comer Super market. You can take the bus from here to Cabo San Lucas for 50 pesos.. about 20 mins. Apparently the taxis are quite expensive. (50 USD)
Barcelo has 4 a la carte restaurant options but we mainly chose the buffets as the variety and selection of food was pretty good. 3 pools and located right on the beach if you prefer hanging out in the sand. The beaches have big surf and undertows so not really swimmable but nice for a walk. The music at the pool was very good and tip the pool waiters a few bucks a day makes for amazing service and better drinks. Evening entertainment at the lobby bar was interesting but it is outdoors so bring a sweater as weather cools down in the evenings here in winter. Reception has lots of tour options but we just arranged a private driver referred by Barcelo (Miguel) for a day trip to explore the Baja.
Overall Great time and value to escape one week of winter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful restaurant right on the beach. Great music by the pool. Friendly helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms.
The weak points
Wifi not included but you can get a MX sim (amigo express) at OXXO convenience store for $10 Cdn which should last you a week.
Certified

Nice Place to Visit-

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-31
We went as a family of two Dec 22-29, 2019.
Here are the pros and cons and others in between.
There was no construction at the time we went.

I will try not to duplicate what other people wrote.

STAFF:
The staff were friendly and helpful even if there was nothing to gain from it; they did not expect tips at all but were happy to get them.
Someone wrote that they did not like Black people and I did not find that at all in my experience.
Sylvia, the lady that cleaned my room was so attentive and helpful and accommodating. She did an excellent job and when she was off one day and someone else took over, it was evident; I knew right away she wasn't there that day.
Jorge, the guy at the pool bar that walks around like he has fire under his legs did a great job and all with a smile as he remembered each and every drink for each person. I must say that everyone had smiles on their faces despite working 12 hour shifts- I read in a newspaper that the minimum wage is going up to USD $9.65 a day.
I brought things for the cleaning staff and made sure I asked if it was okay to give gifts-- simple things like T-shirts, chocolate (Toblerone is in all the duty free stores everywhere). It was appreciated. Maybe if you bring something it can be from your city or country that you might feel someone will appreciate.
Some staff really try with their English- I feel that they could benefit from half hour English classes daily prior to their shift- now, I made sure I told them my Spanish was really bad and they corrected me and appreciated me trying. I know this is a Spanish speaking country but the staff are eager to learn English.
Also, there are English speaking channels on the t.v.=

GROUNDS: well maintained as others have mentioned.
this resort is almost 18 years old and is showing it-- there are cracks in things they are trying to repair but overall, it's still in good condition.

FOOD: we only tried the sushi restaurant and it was pretty good-
Buffet was pretty good as we always had a selection and left very full.
Reminder, parents, watch your children that you let go to the stations alone. They can make a mess; take too much food; touch it with their hands and then leave it. One little girl left the ice cream station open and ice cream poured out and fell and continued until we shut it off- twice!

I am always appalled at the waste people feel is okay in a buffet restaurant. Take a little bit, taste it then go back for more-- but people feel it is okay to take heaping plate fulls and then take two bites and leave it for the people who don't have a lot to clean up after you, while they get paid so little.

ROOMS;- I had a superior Junior room and did not have to upgrade and wanted for nothing. The fridge is stocked and I left a note for my cleaning lady to stock more water and less soda and it was fine--
One time they forgot towels (the day my lady was not at work) and I called down to the front desk and in 1/2 hour towels were at our door. They do ask that you do not discard your sheets or towels daily and I agree. I don't use a new towel every single day at home and don't change my sheets daily so why would we do it here? Unless visibly dirty.
I had the first floor where I was able to walk to the pool from my balcony. They have two chairs and a little table for you to sit on, on your balcony.
The best part is the key- no key card but the bracelet attached to your wrist has your key, so you won't lose it or misplace it etc.

POOL: there are three main pools and they can be chilly--
but they are well maintained- the gentleman checks the water daily.
The weather wasn't very hot and in the AM and night time, was windy and chilly. Bring a sweater- some music in afternoon but one can hardly hear when they announce-- dancing and some games-

Reserving Chaise Lounges: Please see my attached picture where it is posted all around the resort- I saw a family of three reserve 12 lounges, leave and they returned around a 1/2 hour later but the other 9 did not come to the lounges until 3 hours later- my room was across from the pool. The security guard did take towels and in some cases bags from the lounges and put them in the room but this was done only once or twice during my stay.

SMOKING: this is a non smoking resort and I saw no one smoking until my last day=- two different couples smoking right by the pool area and I am sure they knew as front desk made sure they mentioned it and there is also a $150.00 USD fine- they have designated smoking areas on the beach and balcony of the lobby- I read an answer where someone wrote that you can smoke from your balcony and that is not allowed.

BEACH; clean and well maintained- saw turtles trying to enter the water and are protected by a gentleman from the resort next door who wears gloves to assist them in the water. One time thing.
They have horse (walks) rides.
The people sell hats, swim suit cover ups, sunglasses, cigars, blankets, T-shirts. The women can braid hair.
They don't harass you, just say no gracias and smile and move on.
The red and black flags are up all day every day. We enjoyed the ocean and did not get taken by the undertow. The waves were hard but we usually like it that way when we swim. Bring goggles and keep watch over kids but nothing happened to the few that were in the water-- many people swam in the ocean--
There's gold flakes in the dark sand- really cool.

We walked to the local Mega (Comex) super market-- they have T-shirts as souvenirs and also a Walmart just further up the street-- they sell a lot of the same things. Comex was 10 mins and Wally 20 or so-
We also walked to a local flea market type area where everyone sells the same souvenirs but they are really nice people. The local (school) bus is $7.50 pesos per person.
At the time our CAD money was $1.00 for $13.94 pesos.

We didn't take tours.

There were nightly shows- didn't see them-- went to bed so early-- the lights on the resort, on your balcony usually goes off by 11 or 11:15- not a lot of noise on the resort-
Yes the staff can and do start moving about early- but if you want your breakfast as soon as you get to the buffet, well you can understand.

Very nice resort; family friendly- saw a wedding on the beach- people were respectful and did not crowd them and applauded when it was over-
They had a huge Christmas tree in the lobby- a Christmas dinner on 24th as is their tradition.
If you are on a budget like me, and have small children then bring your Tupperware container so that you can make sandwiches for your airport and plane ride-- they do have Subway, Starbucks, Carl's Jr and Sbarro (pizza) and also a restaurant in the airport but they are quite expensive.
Got any questions, go ahead. Please read the reviews and Q and A with a grain of salt as these reviews are people's personal opinions and is not necessarily how it is for everyone.
Make the most of it and enjoy your stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The ultra friendly staff- clean grounds- nice food-
The weak points
reserving lounge chairs not fully enforced as well as smoking.
Certified

Barcelo Gran Faro

, Victoria, BC
2019-11-24
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort.
Room excellent, food superb, service excellent
Entertainment Great cleanliness excellent Staff friendly Pools lovely and clean
One of the nicest resorts we've been too
We highly recommend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and chef went above and beyond to help when I was sick for 2 days!
The weak points
Like to see more specialty restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Camrose, AB
2019-11-19
We returned to the Barcelo Gran Faro for a number of reasons. We love the staff!! They are second to none.
The location is great and is a good walking distance into SAN José for shopping and hanging out.
It's the perfect size. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff, great location, clean
The weak points
Renovations were happening but there is really not great time to do them.
Certified

Overall Happy

, Brandon, MB
2019-03-04
This resort is easy to get around. Staff friendly and attentive. The resort was taken very good care of, groundskeepers always cleaning and doing maintenance. Food at the buffet was always good, something for everyone to eat. The fruit was always so fresh. I wish there had been more evenings when merchants would bring their Mexican things to sell. The gift shop was way overpriced. I bought a few things from the beach but there is not much variety for souvenirs. Beach very clean, but unable to go in very far due to waves and undertow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness of the resort, friendliness of staff, food, pools, ocean beautiful. Beach very clean.
The weak points
My one and only complaint would be the loud spa music always playing at the buffet.

Great vacation at a very nice resort

, Victoria, BC
2019-02-21
Barceló Gran Faro does some things really great but a few things they didn't made it just short of being amazing.
The staff and grounds were fantastic. There was a lot of nice places to enjoy the day but most of the premium spots were reserved well before 7 am and usually with just a towel. There were not a lot of shaded parts on the beach and that left very few comfortable spots if you wanted to sit somewhere for the day. The staff were amazing as they were always attentive and were good at remembering you.
The food was some of the best I have had at a resort but lacking in variation. Three al a cartes and one being sushi left for little options. The buffet was themed for an evening and some nights it was hard to find options I liked. But overall very good, it would just be hard to see what you would still want after 7 days.
Other than a few perks the only great reason to get premium is for the wifi. Didn't find much else that was better than regular as lounge was nice but we didn't use it a lot. Our view of the sea was very small and seemed like most others in the hotel had a better one. Room was nice and spacious with a very attentive cleaning staff. Sometimes they would forget to leave us a beach towel but they were quick to give one if you found someone to ask. Again staff were very nice and courteous.
Overall a great hotel for a quick stay and if you don't plan on sticking around the resort the whole time. We enjoyed our stay with a few little issues we noticed kept it from being perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff that were very attentive. Great food. Very nice property.
The weak points
Not a lot of food options. Pools spots in good areas were reserved early and allowed to be held with just a towel. Premium upgrade did not feel premium.
Certified

Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-02-14
The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. There were always lounge chairs available around the pool and on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness of staff
The weak points
The cleanliness of the rooms left something to be desired.
Certified

Nice Resort

, Langdon, AB
2019-02-08
Beautiful rooms!
Food was delicious!
Staff, very nice! Always smiling and helpful.
Brian in the buffet is exceptional [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
House keeping took such good care of us! Thank you ladies.
The weak points
Can't swim in Ocean! So no water activities! But we knew that going in.
Certified

January 2019 Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-24
We enjoyed this hotel. We had specifically researched to look for a smaller hotel that we could enjoy a relaxed and quiet vacation/anniversary. We felt like we got that. The staff was friendly and outgoing. The hotel grounds and rooms were clean and tidy. We liked the placement of the pools so you could enjoy different views, crowds and noise levels. It was a nice touch that they had an adults only hot tub and the infinity pool was also adults only. The a la carte restaurants were wonderful. All in all, a great trip and we would go back for another couples trip for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, clean and well maintained. They left tequila and a dessert in our hotel on our anniversary. That was a nice touch.
The weak points
Not a weak point, but I would not take teenagers there as I don't feel there was a lot to offer them. Great for young children, adults and seniors, but the tweens and teens would not find a lot to entertain them there. I would not take my 16 year old.
Certified

Barcelo experience

, Olds, AB
2019-01-13
We had a great holiday at the Barcelo!!!
There is a few thing that were good and then not so good!!!
The premium package is good, was quick check in and check out!! You could have unlimited alacarts and it was quick to do!!
Premium liquor was only available at the lobby bar and premium lounge, not at pool bar!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Italian & Mexican a'lacart were great Rooms were spacious,Beds were comfortable Staff were very friendly Hotel was very clean No door cards to worry about, was on your bracelet
The weak points
Seafood restaurant was not worth going to, not much seafood on the menu and what was there came out cold Bathroom by pool near end of day,smelt like you were in an outhouse
Certified

Good experience in Cabo

, Calgary, HA
2018-03-23
We have taken three trips to this property and love the experience. The ocean is not available for swimming because of dangerous tides, but the beach is an amazing walk each day. We will most likely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are exceptionally friendly. The food is tasty and fresh, a lot of variety, especially at the buffets. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Premium rooms and enjoyed the experience. We feel very safe and pampered here.
The weak points
Organization is not a strong point. It was a big deal to get enough face cloths and bath mats through our stay. The WiFi connection is very slow and spotty. The entertainment can be quite loud in the rooms until 11 PM.
Certified

Pleasantly surprised

, Langley, BC
2018-02-03
ok this is the goods we just came back from this one and was very happy with our stay. the food here is quite good ...i mean these guys ( and girls) can cook! and with consistent cy again and again all 4 of our party were happy. so.... go to the beach restaurant for the morning and lunch if you can... awesome! do not, - i repeat do not rent a car until you get there, they have plenty of places to rent whatever you need. we had no problem right in the hotel $40 per day and included full insurance and unlimited km. drove to la paz via cortez and no problems. definitely stay on the road in daylight only and go slow or you will probably hit something and wind up being one of the very many shrines to deceased ones you see along the road. try and stay one night if you go to la paz or you will have to marathon drive. i would highly recommend an excursion or two while in la paz - awesome again and you can always deal with the locals directly rather than pre book unless you are worried about missing out, bring pesos its easier to buy things ps i am canadian and found exchange rate user friendly. fuel was about the same price as usa. grocery prices vary depending on where you buy - try la comer just three blocks walk. the hotel was clean and the people of baja made us all feel welcome. vendors are pushy but never ever aggressive - like i find in cancun. all and all i found the baja extremely friendly and welcoming - although i am careful when and where i go out - no use chancing it right? to me the world is a little rough to see right now and unfortunately peoples options are somewhat limited. that being said the mexican community never made me feel unsafe, i know i would like to go back again someday and would stay here again in a second. ps. my appreciation to oscar and the hard working staff - well done! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and food
The weak points
can't think of any
Certified

Nice vacation in Los Carbos

, Surrey, BC
2018-01-02
Beautiful and nice place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Mexican holiday

, Calgary, HA
2017-02-01
Not really geared for seniors and families with children. Not enough entertainment in the evenings besides music. No place for kids to play, no water slide, no beach activities. Not enough places to sit in the sun besides the pool area. No bank machine in the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and front desk staff, pool area.
The weak points
No bank machine in hotel. Little entertainment
Certified

Only USD it seems, Why?? It's Mexico. Money Grab.

, Victoria, Br
2016-03-15
Although the hotel just met with our expectations (except the food was spectacular) the Peso in this area seems obsolete. What happened? Virtually everything in USD. We went to Mexico because the Cnd - Mx $ was good. Seems like just a money grab. Really disappointed by what happened to our beloved Mexico. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was spectacular!!!! World class!!!
The weak points
Twin Dbl beds. Mini fridge did not work, nor would they fix or replace. Poorly replenished. Telephone in room broken. Toilet ran continually, although they did fix this. This town is become little USA and hardly anyone would accept MX $. Everything USD.
Certified

Average

, Airrdrie, AB
2016-02-16
I attended this resort with my boyfriend and two other couples. 1st major hiccup- All of us requested king rooms, to which we were all given rooms with two double beds. Another couple in our party got their room keys and upon entering their room realized someone was already in it.. so they went back to the lobby got new room keys only to find that there were people in that room already as well. The third room they got had two double beds after booking for a king size- after all of this the hotel said that they could only accommodate a king bed if they paid more for an upgrade.

secondly, there is a towel shortage or something here. Everyday with house keeping towels would disappear (Even if they were hanging on the hooks as one normally does when they don't want them to be replaced) but they would not be replaced- or they would take two away and only leave one with no others for drying hands or to use as a bath mat.

Other than these two upsets it was an okay resort, Drinks were good, Food was good, entertainment staff was great.

In general it was not what I expected from a 4.5 star top line resort, I don't think I would return here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

BARCELO GRAND FARO LOS CABOS

, Langley, BC
2015-12-01
Overall, the hotel was great. Only a few shortcomings that were not taken care of. One: we specifically booked requesting a top floor room and the staff didn't even notice this request. Two: the high end bar we had access to was half out of stock 3 days after we arrived and it was not fully stocked again while we were there and we did point it out to staff when it was running low on 3 occasions. Three: more than one washcloth would nave been nice, we started off with two and only had one per day put in the room on the 2nd day we were there. Three: I was told I could not dine in the buffet one morning for breakfast because I was wearing a bathing suit top and not a shirt over it. There was no notice that there was a dress code for breakfast, only for dinner. As well, my fiance was told he couldn't come to dinner is his dress shorts and his sandals. I understand that there was no shorts or sandals, but I was also wearing sandals and was told that I was allowed to wear them in to dinner. We were told only men could not come to dinner in sandals! I find they make too much of a fuss about dress codes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were always attentive, polite, pleasant and mostly did their best to accommodate any needs. Jesus, in the Skybar is exceptional in his work! All the staff are truly wonderful and helpful.
The weak points
Dress code for the restaurants/buffets is too much of a concern for staff when they have more important things to worry about. Seemed short staffed when more guests checked in filling the hotel. The front desk staff needs to read check in papers better.
Certified

Excellent Decompression

, Barrie, ON
2015-07-07
The grounds are exceptionally well kept.
Our room was spotless as were the public washrooms.
The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
There were two people that really went the extra mile and they deserve to be named .
Miriam Gonzalez and Juan Ontiveros made our stay unforgettable.
Their attention to detail was amazing.
The vendors on the beach were great as well, we bought some stuff from them but when you were not interested they respected that and did not pester at all.
Overall , this is a place I will return to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are very attentive to your wants and needs. Great pools and grounds. Short trip to and from the airport , no wasted time sitting on a bus for hours after a crappy flight.
The weak points
The WiFi sucked , however I didn't really want to be too easy to get ahold of anyway. NO FACE CLOTHES !! The other two Mexican hotels I've stayed in had them. It's not Cuba !

Great vacation!

, Edmonton, AB
2015-02-18
We really enjoyed our week vacation at the Barcelo Grand Faro. The location was perfect, the food was great, staff was helpful and nice. We don't have any complaints other than they could use more English speaking tv channels to keep up with current events. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location was perfect. The food was great.
The weak points
Could use some more English speaking tv channels to keep up with current events.
Certified

San Jose del Cabo - Barcelo Hotel

, Vancouver, BC
2015-02-17
The hotel was one of the better hotels at Cabo. The fodd was exceptional - especially for an all inclusive hotel. Friendly staff, great pools and beautiful beaches. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and would come back again. I rated the beaches low for only the fact that you can't swim there due to undertow. Internet is available but you have to pay for it. The old town is an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel and is well worth visiting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and location
The weak points
no ocean swimming
Certified

Holiday gone wrong

, Burnaby, BC
2015-01-27
We did not have a great experience at this hotel. We went for a wedding and the front desk staff were horrible! I would never stay at this hotel again. I have never been told no by staff at any other hotel I have stayed at and travel at least two times per year. Sorry but this hotel gets two thumbs down!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning staff were very freindly and helpful. Manager tried to help but hotel needs lots of help with staff issues.
The weak points
The front desk staff needs to be trained to help clients. Either more training for staff or more staff at restaurants as service was very slow. Would not stay at this hotel again. Would also not recommend to anyone I know to stay here! Very disappoint
Certified

Family Vacation

, Pitt Meadows, BC
2014-12-15
When we booked this holiday we where all aware of the construction and devastation the storm had cost for most of the properties down there. The Barceló still showed some signs of the damage the storm had caused but at no time did we ever feel like we missed out or inconvenienced at any point, they managed to work around all the guests without inconveniencing anyone. We where there for a week and could not believe that they had accomplished in that time. The resort was very clean, the food was amazing !! and my hat goes off to the entertainment crew for the shows they provided in the evenings. The Barceló in my opinion did their very best at making sure you were well taken care off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was exceptional.
The weak points
The only reason why I would say it had any weak points is strictly due to renovations caused by the storm.
Certified

First but not last trip to San Jose Los Cabos

, Brandon, MB
2014-03-31
Overall very good service. Nice to have the younger people entertained in one pool which left the main pool for families and older visitors. Lots of options of where to spend the day ... Pool side, quiet pool, beach side, or on the sand near the resort. Meals were tasty with a wide selection.
Rooms were comfortable.. Make sure you take your own conditioner. They only supply shampoo.
US cash is the preferred currency. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to go walking in the town. Safe to go alone through market area, on tours, and walking through the town. Wide selection of food options. Only went to the a la carte once, which was also great, because buffet offered such a variety.
The weak points
The internet was pricey and would disconnect depending where the phone was in my room. Very frustrating...best reception was of course in main lobby.
Certified

Barcelo

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-03
In general i was happy . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertament was verry good. And pools wher. Great. A place to dance after the entertament was over right at the hotel.
The weak points
Front entrance very cold feeling
Certified

Beautiful getaway

, North Saanich, BC
2014-02-22
Friendly hotel staff and locals. Nice variety of food. Beach beautiful and sandy but not good for swimming due to huge waves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location offers safe walking areas and local bus easy to use
The weak points
lack of good coffee.A starbucks was close by however!
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020