Iberostar Cozumel

4.014.014.014.014.01
Iberostar Cozumel
#5 of 13 hotels in Cozumel
4.01 based on 178 reviews
Traveller pictures (43)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Excellent Vacation Again !!!!

, Hamburg, NY
2018-02-26
Such a clean, beautiful resort with friendly staff... Snorkiling at resort was awesome, food was pretty good especially the Mexican restaurant. If anyone has any complaints about this place they probably are just a chronic complainer. We will be returning next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great snorkeling, good food, beautiful grounds and clean, friendly staff, great entertainment Chess on the pavement would be perfect though
The weak points
Beds a bit hard but nothing a mattress pad didn't fix. The gym needed to be updated
Certified

Quiet and clean

, Candiac, QC
2017-12-11
We were 2 adults and a 12 yr old ( we've been to mexico riviera maya 3 times as well as the Dominican and cuba multiple times.) This is a quiet resort. Ill start with the positive things;
- very very friendly staff ( probably the nicest and friendliest ive seen yet. They encourage you to participate to multiple activities such as archery, pool activities, but they arent to pushy and respect you if you say no.)
- Very very clean. The bathrooms all over resort were super clean.
- Rooms are very clean ( however rooms are very small. Ok for 2 adults and one child but anymore then that will be very tight. Bathrooms are nice and clean.)
- Water is very clear. Yes there are many rocks at beach entrance so you have to enter the water by the dock. Did not bother me since i was aware of this however i assumed that there would be many different tropical fish seeing that there were rocks and grass in water but i was disappointed to mostly see grey fish...few tropical type fish. However, if you go out to snorkeling on the boat, I heard it was amazing and you could see all kinds of sea life ( I didn't go because my daughter was afraid of sharks LOL.)
- We tried the pool snorkeling lessons. William ( the instructor) was amazing. He helped calm me down, and was a fantastic teacher ( he is also very attractive ;-) Was alot of fun.
- Free wifi throughout the resort. For us, it worked great everywhere. No problems using it and we did use it ALOT.

What we enjoyed less;
- For some reason, the pool was freezing and the ocean was also cold. Felt like 75 degrees. Was hard getting in and was torture when i would dry off and have to go back in again. That was very irriting and ive never experienced that down south. ( i realise this has nothing to do with the resort but thought id mention it anyway.)
- 95% of the people there are divers at this resort. The people were mostly older and was not a party type atmospher. Thats fine too..depends what you are looking for. What i found annoying was at the beach, there are constantly boats picking up or dropping off divers right at the dock so while you are relaxing in the water, you have boats a few feet from you almost all the time. Didnt like that much.
- The buffet is miniature. Its very small..smallest ive ever seen. Food was ok. Not amazing but always found something good.
- If you book an excursion, you have to pay for your own taxi to get to where ever you are going. That that was odd seeing that you pay alot for excursion yet it doesnt include transportation. First time i see that.

Generally it was a nice resort, fantastic people. If you just want to sit down and relax for a week, this is a good place. However if you want more action then i would choose another place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Staff Was Amazing!!!

, Stevensville, ON
2017-03-13
Our room was outdated , but we did see them working on updating rooms .. The entertainment staff the best I've ever seen. Food was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation

, Meaford, ON
2017-02-28
Great food, pools, staff. Had a problem with the safe but it was seen to within a few minutes!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
varied wildlife, lush vegetation, lots of chairs at beach and pool areas, wonderful food, great staff
The weak points
rooms a bit worn out, no opening windows, entry to beach difficult but a known factor.

Recharge batteries

, Freelton, ON
2016-12-22
Great staff food and location. If you like to snorkel or dive,you are right on the start of reef. Water access to water is best done by the steps on the dock. Beach is beautiful but hard to enter from sand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff food location wild life on grounds
The weak points
beach entry
Certified

Wonderful!

, London, ON
2016-12-14
I traveled with my husband and 6 other couples and we had a wonderful time, the resort was clean and quiet and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
So clean and comfortable, rooms are being renovated the renovated rooms are much nicer than the unrenovated rooms, very safe resort, staff are amazing and they put on great entertainment in the evenings they make it a lot of fun.
The weak points
our room was not renovated yet so it was very damp the a/c didnt work well in our room, wi-fi access wasnt great but i thought that worked for us well.
Certified

Great Experience

, Brampton, ON
2016-11-25
The hotel is older and not as fancy as some other Iberostar hotels I have stayed at but the rooms and common areas are clean.
The strengths of this place are the people. I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction with all of the staff at this hotel. Service was good and the food was also very good for an all inclusive resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
Certified

Third Time and Coming Back

, Guelph, ON
2016-04-10
This was our third time at this resort...we will be back. This resort is serving brand name beverage alcohol, not that watered down stuff you mostly get. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wilbur is the best waiter ever. The grounds are always pristine.
The weak points
Please keep the cats out of the restaurants.
Certified

Fantastic holiday!!

, Calgary, AB
2016-01-31
Loved the hotel a little older but still served its purpose very clean and beautiful surroundings
The staff was incredible and very accommodating, the food was always good and plenty of it!
The entertainment was top notch Alexandria, lily, Aileen,Memo ,Orlando ,Cesar and the entire Star Friends crew made us feel welcome and included us in their lives for a while
I would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was awesome!!
The weak points
The beach was too rocky by the shore the only really good way to get in was off the dock
Certified

Hotel

, Wardsville, ON
2015-01-19
Nice. Had a good time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pools. Nice grounds. Good staff. Excellent shows put on by staff
The weak points
Beach was rocky. Lots of cats
Certified

Great Resort For Scuba Divers!

, Uxbridge, ON
2015-01-13
I had a great trip and would go back again! Good resort, good food, good staff! This resort caters to scuba divers. Dressel Divers located right at the resort is a great operation to do your diving with. I did six dives over the course of the week, all fun! The beach is rocky at the shore , so wear water shoes or enter the water off the dock to get past the rocks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Great resort for scuba divers. - Good food. - Good Staff. - very nice resort grounds. - Very clean.
The weak points
- Rocky shoreline at the beach.
Certified

Great quiet place for divers, snorkelers, foodies

, Ottawa, ON
2014-12-19
Due to its location it's great for diving and snorkeling.
You can see a lot of fish even from the beach - close to the dock. There are steps from the dock into the water.
High quality service and food. Has a tennis court and an air-conditioned gym. Very mature vegetation on the territory, a lot of exotic birds. On the beach you can choose to stay under the shadow of palms or to be out under the Sun. As you can guess, the resort is very quiet because it's far from any city. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location for divers and snorkeling quietness mature vegetation and a lot of exotic birds service food: high quality and nice variety
The weak points
it's a bit exhausted due to the age of the resort I guess: air conditioner, TV..
Certified

Great resort

, Ottawa, ON
2014-06-24
We stayed here in 2010 and the food has improved a lot since then. Staff are excellent. For a small resort the evening shows are very well done. Great value for money and close to best diving and snorkelling spots on the island. Cozumel continues to be a top choice if you love water sports. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. Shows. Beautiful grounds. Small resort was easy to get around for my elderly mother.
The weak points
Pool and beach could be cleaner. We have noticed both times that this resort and island attract a lot of loud rednecks from the southern states, which can be tiring but is not the resort's fault.
Certified

Liked it a lot!

, Aurora, ON
2014-03-30
Everything was great! Food was very good, almost as good as at 5-star Mexican hotels,the only missing was champagne at breakfast :-), very good choice of cheese, meats, fruit, etc. Service at the restaurants is pretty good, especially Wilbert and Henry.
Yes, the beach's rocky, yet, lots of shade if you wanna stay out of sun. Snorkel at the hotel beach is boring, just a bunch of lazy fish under the dock. We went beyond the hotel property (to the left), found some small reefs with more interesting fishes, saw a starfish, a green eel, three sting-rays, a lobster...And the snorkel trip -(bought it from the agent in a lobby)- was amazing!!! Worth every penny we paid ($55.00/each).
Live music was pretty good, although it's too American, we'd prefer something more Caribbean, dancing inspiring...(Not all people like spending their evenings at the bar...)Shows are so-so, some very good; boys are better, girls need more training, sorry for saying that :-(
Wild life at the hotel territory is amazing, adding some individuality to this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, crew...
The weak points
None
Certified

Excellente!

, Ajax, ON
2014-03-23
Spent a wonderful week at the Iberostar in Cozumel. The lush vegetation, peacocks, flamingos and iguanas made a beautiful backdrop to the comfortable cabanas, huge pool and lovely beachfront. Staff were friendly and helpful, meals plentiful and varied enough for us. The animation team provided activities and smiling faces from morning aqua aerobics to evening shows. Rooms were clean and well maintained.

The beach is rocky for swimming but nice to walk along. Swim at the pool or snorkel from the pier. Plenty of chairs and shade or sunny spots as you prefer. Just reserve your spot early with a towel. Beach towels provided and could be exchanged for new ones as often as you liked by the pool. Lots of trips for divers and snorkelers right from the pier.

It was also very safe. This was our first trip to Mexico and I read many negative reviews in preparation. However, I did not encounter a negative comment from anyone while I was there. Would go back tomorrow if I could!

This was our first trip to Mexico and I read all the negative reviews in preparation. However, I did not encounter a negative comment from anyone there and would go back tomorrow if I could! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Tropical setting, pool, food and accommodation. Divers paradise.
The weak points
Beach is rocky for swimming
Certified

Holiday at Iberostar Cozumel

, Guelph, ON
2014-02-24
We had a great time for our honeymoon

We would definitely recommend this location to our friends and family.

Lots of great wildlife all around the resort (friendly) and beautifully maintained grounds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing - so hard working and really made you feel welcome. This food was delicious and always a wide variety at each meal.
The weak points
The wifi isn't free The beach front isn't walk out into water friendly unless you have water shoes and have good balance - there is a dock you can use to walk out to the dedicated stairs to get into the water but be careful can be slippery!
Certified

AMAZING!

, Keswick, ON
2014-02-16
Amazing hotel, amazing food, amazing staff! Went to Alberto's which was one second away on the beach, great food and amazing scenery. Very safe place. Wildlife all over the resort and just an overall amazing experience. The only poor thing was the beach, you had to go in off the dock but it didn't matter, once in off the dock it was perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, location
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Nice Place Needs Work

, Kingston, NS
2014-02-09
Good service at front desk and restaurants. Maid service was very good and rooms were cleaned promptly. The grounds were well kept and it was not a far walk to anything. The buffet was good and the one a la carte I had was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service at front desk and restaurants. Maid service was very good and rooms were cleaned promptly. The grounds were well kept and it was not a far walk to anything. The buffet was good and the one a la carte I had was excellent.
The weak points
Beach was not good for swimming unless you had water shoes. The spa service was overpriced and I have seen nicer Jacuzzis at my friends homes. The wifi was over priced and you had to pay a separate fee for each device which is ridiculous. Rooms adequate.
Certified

Diving great

, Sutton, ON
2014-01-20
Had a good time, went with the family to dive. The dive shop and dive masters were great my daughter is only 12 and they treated her well. Grounds are nice and the staff were very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
diving food and staff
The weak points
weather in early Jan. cool. Not many kids for our child to hand out with.
Certified

Fantastic Holiday

, Cornwall, ON
2014-01-20
The Iberostar hotel was a great destination. The rooms and resort was spotlessly clean, the staff was helpful and friendly and the ambience was great. The food was average but consistent unless you went to the a la carte restaurants which were delicious. The dive shop was somewhat pricey, I would recommend using an outside company if you plan on diving (they will pick you up at the resort pier as well). The entertainment was excellent....really more than we expected for a resort. I would highly recommend this property and we will be returning to stay there on our next vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was friendly and outgoing, hotel was clean, location was great
The weak points
Buffet food was repetitive
Certified

2 thumbs up !

, Surrey, BC
2014-01-13
It is rainy season, and thats just what it did. 4 hrs of sun in 7 days. When you go to a place this far out, thats a problem. They do have commercial free movies in your room! Thats why we vacation! Seriously, the hotel is great, fun, nice pool, awesome beach, lots of activities, and great staff. The food is very good, a large variety , and changes daily. A la cartes were very nice, great steaks, and offered a selection of decent wines. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Stop sitting on the fence, just book it!
The weak points
Been to alot of resorts all over the world, I had no negative feelings here at all. (it rained and stormed every day, not a fault of the resort)
Certified

Beautiful Cozumel

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-12-24
Hotel is comfortable, staff is very friendly, food is good and entertainment team is doing very well. We've had two minor problems in room; they were fixed promptly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good staff response on your needs; excellent service without assuming tips
The weak points
Beach could be better
Certified

First time at Cozumel

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-20
Excellent getaway. Iberostar is one of the best resorts we've been at, so far. Excellent food, spotless everything - restaurants, room, bathroom, beach, alleys. Friendly and helpful staff, very good evening entertainment. Lots of options for snorkeling, scuba, trips. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality vs. price, cleanliness, food, quality of the resort overall.
The weak points
The beach. Cozumel is not like Cuba. The beach is nice and very well taken care of, but when going into the water you need to watch extremely carefully your steps because of the rocky bottom (you need to use the dock).
Certified

Iberostar

, Thornhill, ON
2013-12-14
bad beach
good food
good service
great grounds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
grounds
The weak points
beach
Certified

Great vacation

, Milton, ON
2013-11-28
This was our second stay at the Iberostar Cozumel. My fiancé and I are both scuba divers, and the dive shop (Dressel Divers) on site is one of the main reasons we returned. We stayed in room 8611 - it was close to the beach and pool, the room was a bit run down but clean. Wifi is not included but can be purchased for the week at ~40 USD, and is available all over the resort. The food was plain, and not always warm, but there was plenty of options. The pool was clean as was the beach. The beach is very rocky and water shoes are required, although it's easier to enter the water by using the stairs on the dock. The entire staff at this resort are amazing and so friendly. If you are interested in a quiet resort that has a very laid back vibe, then the Iberostar is a great option. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location for scuba diving
The weak points
Beach, run down rooms
Certified

Excellent 2 weeks

, Burlington, ON
2013-11-22
Our experience was reaaly great and we have nothing but praise for the staff at Iberostar Cozumel. From reception who handled all our requirements with prompt attention, the dining and bar staff who were very attentive (even to those who never tipped) and the house maids who cleaned our room daily such that we thought we were arriving every time we returned. We had read that the food was below par but we found quite the opposite. The buffet restaurant (breakfast and dinner) had a huge and varied selection of good quality foood that would more than satisfy 95% of guests and the Specialty restaurants were all excellent. Special tacos or red snapper at the Mexican restaurant are really good. The tenderloin at the Grill restaurant was melt in your mouth quality and the Grouper served at the Rock restaurant is as good as anything you will get at a michelin rated restaurant. The snorkeling tour (3 reefs) was very good but the island tour is a waste of time and money. Anyone travelling to Cozumel in November needs to be prepared for some rainy weather and bring some bug spray as the mosquitos do proliferate after the rains. The Star Friends staff who handled the entertainment were nothing short of amazing. Lots of activities during the day and some excellent shows at night. We didn't dive but did a lot of snorkling and some really good snorkling just off the pier at the resort. Lots of rock and coral on the beach so you will need swim shoes should you wish to walk in rather than use the steps on the pier. We have no hesitation in recommending Iberostar Cozumel to anyone looking for a good vacation at a reasonable cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, great food, excellent snorkeling, good entertainment.
The weak points
only problem we had was with smoking being allowed in the lobby and inside bars.
Certified

Underwater world of delights

, Windsor, ON
2013-11-22
nice a place where you can relax... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice team
The weak points
Not really...
Certified

Older and smaller

, Caledonia, ON
2013-05-13
The resort is an older resort, not a lot of walking to be needed to get everywhere, pool was warm, gulf was warm, staff was limited I believe to off season, food was good and always something that all could eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
overall clean resort
The weak points
some food could have been warmer
Certified

Iberostar Cozumel

, Burlington, ON
2013-03-31
Great hotel. Would defiantly go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice layout, clean, well organized, and great food. Staff very helpful, and efficient . Good diving.
The weak points
Didn't think much of the American restaurant. It appears that people book the sun beds around the pool at night with a towel, and may not show up until the afternoon.
Certified

Iberostar Cozumel

, Brampton, ON
2013-03-17
This was our 4th trip to an Iberostar resort. We like the quality of this chain so we try to stay at these resorts whenever possible. This resort was at the standard we expected. Very nice, clean, friendly staff. The beach is for snokelling so it is rocky. Rooms are small with little storage. This may be a problem when multiple people are sharing a room or a cot is added. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-nice grounds with a jungle feel -lots of wildlife running around -lots of food -very friendly staff -very clean -animation staff have lots of activities going on -could snorkel right off the pier -3 pools so the pool never felt crowded
The weak points
-rooms were quite small especially with 3 people sharing -only one option for lunch which made it very crowded and hard to find a seat. We went during March Break so the resort was full
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?