Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort And Spa

Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort And Spa
3.473.473.473.473.47
3.47 based on 58 reviews
#9 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cozumel
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (34)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Wonderful Vacation

, Laval, QC
2018-03-28
We had an awesome trip and would definitely go back, One adult with three children ages 10, 8, and 6. The entertainment team they had was excellent especially the one for kids, Arbey, Isis, Alejandro and many others. The quality to price ratio was very good. So if you keep that in mind I'm sure you will enjoy this resort. A very nice resort for the price, if you are the type of person that expects to get Filet Mignon when you eat at McDonalds than this place is probably not for you :) I've stayed at Sandals Negril which is a way better resort and I loved it, but this was probably a better value when considering the price. If you don't like rocky beaches Cozumel in general may not be the right destination for you, the beach at the resort is very beautiful but you need water shoes to get waist deep in the ocean or you will have sore feet because it's very rocky. The snorkelling in Cozumel is great but the ocean is a little rougher than Jamaica. I've heard this from multiple people about Cancuun and Riviera maya as well, but there is more to see, much more coral and fish. The rooms are nice but the bathroom could use a little updating. They could probably use one more a la carte restaurant, but the food was good in general especially the breakfast buffet, their guacamole is amazing and their Nachos. Only 2 pools and not big pools but very nice and lots of activities in the main pool. No public jacuzzi though, but I didn't even notice until 5 days in to the trip when I saw a private one walking by a room, because we were having such a good time. They had a Mexican and then a Caribbean night while we were there which were really nice. They put lots of tables next to the main pool and theatre area and had nice ethnic shows and outdoor buffet. Staff were really nice and helpful. When you arrive they offer you to sit through a presentation in exchange for funny money. It takes about 2 hours including breakfast, they are not very pushy if you say no and if you are planning on doing excursions it's definitely worth it, we got $300 of "Funny Money" to spend at the resort or on excursions. So we were able to use it for snorkelling boat tour and Dolphin Discovery. I had read reviews beforehand that said they weren't pushy or aggressive, which was true or I would have skipped the presentation. My kids had a great time and want to go back next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel Grounds are beautiful and well laid out. Nice rooms. Breakfast buffet, pools are small but nice. Beach if you like snorkelling(which I do)
The weak points
Beach if you don't like snorkelling, it's beautiful but to swim you need water shoes to go further than 4-5 feet into the water, sharp rocky/coral sea floor which makes for awesome snorkelling. No public jacuzzi. Bathroom needs remodelling.
Certified

2 1/2 star at best

, Dundas, ON
2015-03-23
rooms need a lot of work air conditioners need replaced [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
medical care is very good
The weak points
cold food. most air conditioners make a lot of noise
Certified

Great for snorkeling & diving, not much else

, Toronto, ON
2014-12-30
Too many stairs. The staff was great but the rest was disappointing. Even the snorkeling right off the resort was not very good. We had to buy an excursion. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great towels, weather was fine.
The weak points
Stony water so that we couldn't swim in the ocean. The food quality was poor and without variation. Very poor entertainment at any time during the day.
Certified

2nd Time There

, Bob Caygeon, ON
2014-01-10
We decided to go back to Sabor because we love the Oceanfront rooms and we love the snorkelling. The food, drinks and people are fantastic. We always pay extra for an oceanfront room. This will not disappoint and worth the extra money. We had a great time as usual. Thanks again!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, staff, pools are really nice too.
The weak points
If you like to swim in the ocean it is not for you. Coral and rock all the way out, not just at the shore.
Certified

Renovations in Progress

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-23
While we were there renovations were going on. Half the resort was closed and being gutted. The other half was being upgraded but they really tried not to impact guests.
Our room was just steps from the beach which we loved. You can snorkel right there or if you are a diver there is a wharf where the dive companies can pick you up.
The staff was great; whenever you thanked them for anything the response was “my pleasure”. When we checked in our safe was not attached to the wall and the hot water tap didn't work. They immediately sent staff to resolve the problem. The bed was very comfortable. Given the hot humid climate the ceiling fan and air conditioning was appreciated. I was surprised that the room didn't have a bar fridge but after being there for a week there was a day when I noticed bar fridges being delivered to a lot of the rooms – our included. I guess that is part of the upgrade that is going on. I also noticed workers repainting many of the buildings in our part of the resort, but that really didn't inconvenience us at all.
As for the renovations, yes there is a lot of work going on. The set of building around the pool with the swim up bar was completely fenced off. All of the buildings there appear to be completely gutted and undergoing a total over hall. The renovations didn't bother us at all. Yes if you were in the main eating complex you could hear hammering, but other than that it really didn't affect us.
Sabor has 3 main restaurants, but only two were ever open at a time for the evening meal. Being low season, with very few people there, I think that was all they could justify. Mind you it was nice not having to “reserve” for dinner; we could just choose which ever we felt like. All but the Mexican restaurant are right on the water so the ambiance for meals was great. After two weeks I was tired of the food even though it was just fine. Also, the only decaf coffee was instant.
I liked the gym – lots of good equipment in a good space. Initially it wasn't open when we arrived as they were just moving it to a new location in the shopping complex. The spa was really nice and I had a fabulous massage from Anna there.
I'd really hoped to use the bicycles they had, but unfortunately they would not let individuals take them out alone and the entertainment staff didn't have biking on their schedule while we were there. We did rent a scooter one day and that was fun.
During our stay 4-5 times there was no hot water. The shower at the beach didn't work one day as well. My expectation is that issues such as these will continue to improve as there were definite signs of upgrades in progress. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beaches, great staff, nice location. Current ongoing renovations should continue improvements.
The weak points
Only internet access is in the lobby and signal is weak. Decaf coffee is instant only.
Certified

Sadly Disappointed

, Penfield, NY
2013-03-13
My husband and I have been to this resort many times. We have experienced the tranfer of ownership many times. This vacation was a very big let down.We feel that Belair Travel should have let us know how much contruction was taking place at this time. We feel we paid more than other years, but only received half of the amenities the resort originally had. Bathrooms around pools were under construction with total lack of use. Bars & restaurants were shut down & the noise was unbearable for some. I thought we should have been notified of this major undertaking at this facility. Maybe the price could have reflected some of the inconveniences. The food was not bad but as a fruit eater at lunch & dinner there was not any. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I must say that the staff was eager to deliver good quality attention under such chaos.
The weak points
Lack of bathrooms around pools and beach.
Certified

Stay Away

, Grand Bend , ON
2013-03-06
My husband and I stayed at this resort from feb 25 to march 4 and we were very disappointed with this hotel the food was horrible we only ate breakfast at the resort each day and ate off the resort for every other meal. the rooms are clean but out dated and the beach is very rocky and hard to access. there were also a lack of pool chairs although the room we stayed in had a nice view of the "junk yard" which had easily 40 chairs just stacked up and not abke to be used. Overall I am not a picky person but unless you pay 500 or less stay away! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the drinks were cold
The weak points
the food and a 15 us dollar cab ride into town so expensive to travel around
Certified

Sabor great for snorkling

, Mount Hope, ON
2013-03-05
One strong point before i begin! We were there with another couple and we had a great time!!!
Now where do i start,
Its not a 4 star hotel.
When you do ur reserch some of the pics you see on the internet have rooms with access to lazy river and water slides, well thats not sabor, thats secrets resort, which is next to sabor, this section i was aming for when i was booking my vacation, it didnt work out, so whatch out, thats how they lure you in.
Its got 2 small pools and one big pool mostly for kids.
Never enough beach chears on the beach.
The bottom of the ocean is rocky, so make sure you buy a pair of water shoes ( surfing shoes) or you'll get hurt.
In our entire stay we had only one night show, it was fire show that last about 30 min.
No seafood!!!! Oh sorry one day there was some fish :)
Food is the same every day, if it wasnt for mexican salsa, food would as plain as cuban, but i have to admit, pizzeria is one amazing place to have your lunch at, you have a choise of about 10 different pizzas, plus you get to enjoy a beautiful view, because this quiet restoraunt is located right on the beach.
Our room was cleaned twice in our entire stay.
No beer or soft drinks in the room.
If you want to rent car to explore the island (which i recomend doing) there are time share people on the resort that offer you to rent a car for free if you listen to their horse$h@& for a couple of hours, but please dont get tricked into it, dont matter how good it sounds, just smile and be cool :)

Overall the island itself is absolutely beautiful, especially the other side.
I think that Sabor is decent resort but extremely overpriced as the rest of Mexico. I' ve been to the carribian over 11 times including Cuba, Mexico, Dominican republic.
Love mexicans, love tequila, love mexican food, but i tell ya nothin beats punta cana servicewise, foodwise and partywise. Bottom line is i dont think i'll come back to Mexico in next 10 years. Gracias! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkling
The weak points
No intertaiment
Certified

Excellent Vacation - Will Return

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2013-02-10
We were so pleased with our stay at Sabor. We paid extra for the beachfront rooms and it is well worth it. Swimming at the beach is not good but we came to snorkel, and it is excellent here. We saw tons of underwater life right out front.We went on the jeep tour and saw the entire Island, next time we will rent our own jeep and do it again.Food was wonderful, staff are all great. Luis the bartender was so much fun! We will be back for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff and all the food at Sabor were great. We never had a bad meal and the staff are very friendly and helpful.Sunsets are stunning!!
The weak points
If you are looking for a beach with good swimming this is not it. Excellent for snorkelling, you can always swim in one of the pools though.
Certified

If a deal looks good, you get what you pay for

, Keswick, ON
2013-01-30
The hotel was under renovation, patio door did not lock, bathtube would not drain adequately. During a shower the tub would fill. When I booked in October there was a buffett restaurant. Buffet was closed for renovation. AlaCart restaurants we very small portions of food. Nightime entertainment was very poor and not every night. The hotel was very quiet not much activities going on. I would never go back or recommend it to anyone. On the positive side the actual staff were very pleasant to bad the administration was not aware of travellers expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkelling right of the hotel beach was excellent.
The weak points
No entertainment, no buffet for lunch or dinner,no icecream,,,no open soda fountain, rooms need tender loving care, plumbing drainage poor, patio doors not locking, lack of comfortable duvet or blankets, low budget, low quality resort,,,,,2 star resort
Certified

Quiet and Relaxing Week at The Sabor

, Brantford, ON
2013-01-27
Friendly greeting at the front desk, however, no rooms were given to guests prior to 2pm, so if you have an early flight be prepared to wait for a room. Its not that big of deal though--you were able to still use all the facilities of the resort while you were waiting for your room.

Rooms are clean, but very basic. A mini fridge and coffee maker would be nice though. The resort was in the middle of renovations and updates so maybe once this is complete the rooms will have these amenities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing customer service. All the staff went out of their way to make your vacation memorable.
The weak points
A few small updates and amenities would make this resort amazing. Adding an in room mini fridge, iron and ironing board and coffee maker would be a huge improvement.
Certified

Great vacation

, Stradford, ON
2012-04-15
Excellent service - would definitely return and recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff immediately responded to requests.
The weak points
I do not have any criticism.
Certified

Good Vacation

, Milton, ON
2012-04-09
The Hotel was very clean and up kept. If you are looking for a white sandy beach then this isnt the place for you. Although water was nice it was quite rocky walking in so water shoes or fins are a must. The buffet was not up to par but if you are lucky enough to upgrade then the food was delisous. The guys and girls at Vista Del Mar did an amazing job. People were all very friendly and acommidating to us. Not much of a night life at the hotel so if your looking for a party this isnt the place. Other than that its about the same reviews as everyone else. If your looking for an amazing place this probably isnt it but it was still worth the money, we have paid much more in the past and typically you get what you pay for!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet terrible
The weak points
Vista Del Mar and Italian restaurant Great!
Certified

Great Vacation

, Angus, ON
2012-04-01
Enjoyed our week at the Sabor.We feel that we received tremendous value for our holiday dollars. Friendly staff, nice resort grounds, all meals were very good, room was clean and air conditioner worked fine, weather was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice lobby area to sit, food is very good (don't pay attention to the complainers, I'd like to see what they eat on a daily basis), main pool was clean and not busy, no line ups for drinks/food, daily activities around the pool, nightly entertainment.
The weak points
Location (it was a$30.00 U.S. return taxi trip into town),beach was too rocky for safe entry into the water ( should be dredged),snorkelling wasn't very good out front of the hotel and there was a sewage smell at the resort and in the beach water.
Certified

Sabor Resort

, Scarborough, ON
2012-03-11
Resort is nice, good food, friendly, helpful staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort, great food, friendly, helpful staff
The weak points
Could hear the staff working early in the morning.
Certified

Sabor

, Waterloo, ON
2012-02-26
excellent resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
will definitely return
The weak points
should cater to Vegans on request
Certified

Beyond my expectations!

, Varennes, QC
2012-02-17
For a 3 star resort, payed just under $900.00 for an all inclusive, I say the Sabor gives the most bang for the buck!

We were 2 friends on a diving escapade.

When we got there, we were told our assigned room had only one queen bed. After explaning that we were NOT a couple, A drink and a snack later we were relocated in a great room in building 11 on the 3rd floor. WoW!

Close to the beach and the pier from where we were picked up and dropped off for our dives, a conveniant balcony railing to dry our gear during the night. A large enough, clean, 2 bed main room. All the hot water you want and plenty of water pressure for your showers, and an ironing board if you want to press your shirt for the night out!

All the Personnel was friendly and helpful, the food was great! You always want a little more variety in a buffet, but everything looked fresh and tasted great. I never was in want of more and the staff did their utmost to keep us happy at all times.

Robertos, the a la carte restaurant was open to all as long as you reserved the same day between 12:00 and 15:00. We went twice and had a great time.

We forgot our safe combination (or was it alcohol induced memory loss) and they sent up a technician who promptly hooked her gizmo and opened our safe.

A gladly given tip of a dollar or two kept the drinks and special requests coming without fail.

In a few as in many word ... great value for the money with the added bonus of friendly and helpful staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service, location, and the best dives I've ever had!
The weak points
Pffff ... maybe, but just being picky here, maybe just a bit more variety in the buffet.
Certified

Best beach

, London, ON
2012-02-06
best beach area in Cozumel, our room was right on the beach, the closest I have ever been to the shoreline. We were given a free upgrade and we also had a jacuzzi tub outside on our balcony. Wasn't enamored with the food, however, but there was an a la carte restaurant which was better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach area and activities
The weak points
the quality of the food, too much repetition
Certified

Sabor

, Bainsville, QC
2012-01-27
Okay for price nothing wow except sunsets Maybee partly because 12 hour flight delay and crappy buffet [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and bartenders They cant do enough to please you Food at snack bar is better than at buffet
The weak points
food @ buffet restaurant and quality of beach Great for snorkeling but not for walking Too much coral!!!
Certified

Ok for an old resort!!

, Gatineau, QC
2012-01-27
Great holiday!! The Staff was very friendly and service was great. Buffet was ok, resturant was good you could order steak and no problems getting reservations. Rooms were clean... No fridge but there was a water cooler outside the door. Beach was only good for snorkeling really rocky. Not a bad resort for the price I give it 3 1/2 *. Don't forget to bring your straws!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything at the resort was central no long walks any where for drinks, food or bathrooms.
The weak points
Beach. You couldn't walk along the water.
Certified

Nice Resort but over-rated

, Perkinsfield, ON
2011-03-04
we arrived at about 10-30 am and were met by a very friendly bell-boy who looked after our luggage as we new 3 o'clock is check in time, we asked at the desk if we were getting our ocean front room that we paid extra to get, we were told yes so off we went to explore. the grounds are very well kept and evry thing is tidy. around 2-30 pm we went back to the desk to see if our room was ready yet, we were told another 20 minutes, while we were waiting another visitor came up to the desk and complained about something and wanted another room, while we watched they gave him an ocean view room after telling us there were none ready yet, he took to his new room and i asked again, and again they told us 20 minutes and then just began to ignore us all together, there was a young girl that seemed to be trying hard to help some ofthe other people so i begged her to help, in 10 minutes we were in a beautiful ocean view room but it was now gone 4 pm.
Our only other real peeve is the food selection is very poor and not very appertising to look at, other than the 2 meals we had at Roberto's we did not have one good meal.
For these reasons we cannot give this resort more than a 3 star rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The bar staff (Rigo)at the swim up bar
The weak points
beach is very hard for walking due to the sharp coral sand, and the food is awfull
Certified

We would Return

, Hamilton, ON
2011-01-18
View from oceanFRONT room was great! View from oceanVIEW not so great unless you like leaning out your window to see! Food was fine if not outstanding.
Service was excellent especially if you left a $ or 2. Wine was very good!
Sand Dollar Sports, the DIVE op was great!: friendly staff, good boats in a variety of sizes. Staff does setup and changes tanks. We dove for 65$ for a 2 tank dive including a BCD. They ONLY offer 2 tank dives and the morning trip leaves at 8:00am!!!
Diving was great ..sharks, turtles, rays....We had never drift dived and had some anxiety so we got our own DM privado for $45 extra for 2 dives
Entries and exits were easy...with a dive platform on the stern of the boats and helpful dive crew. We just drifted with the current...easy...the DM popped a sausage to the surface and when we surfaced there was the dive boat that backed right up so we could climb aboard [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, no kids, great dive op and friendly, attentive wait staff. Wonderful view from oceanfront room
The weak points
not enough storage space in room, food tended to be repetitive, maids banging on doors at 6:30am wanting to clean rooms...shower barely running but when we complained there was a repair guy there in 15 minutes
Certified

Transitions

, Oshawa, ON
2010-03-20
wonderfull resort - current issue with family activities as resort is transforming to mostly adults only - need to restructure activities for kids and teens in family area - the staff however was very accomodating during the transition and still permitted the families in the new adults only area for the duration of our stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
absolutely beautiful island --- discount price for kids
The weak points
family/kids/teens programming for now
Certified

3 stars, maybe

, Brampton, ON
2010-03-05
The location of the hotel is good - not too close to the urban center, and in close proximity to excellent diving. The beach is terrific, as are the hotel grounds. Our room, which was adjacent to the beach, was small and dated, but it was quite sufficient for our needs. On the down side, there was a distinct odour of sewage at many locations throughtout the compound, we didn't have hot water 2 or 3 mornings, and the shows were generally uninteresting. The buffet at "la Isla" is the smallest I've ever encountered i.e. it has little choice, and the heaters were rarely turned on underneath the chafing dishes. Nevertheless, we never went hungry and the food was reasonably good. The best dining, however, is at Roberto's, but ya have to line up first thing in the morning to make reservations at 8 AM for that evening. The lineup starts to form shortly after 7 AM.

Buffet and dining-room service is good, but the waiters are all hurried. I took that as a sign that they are probably understaffed.

We went there for a diving holiday, and the dive center at the resort is excellent. Good service, good equipment, good staff at the shop and on the boats, and very helpful for all things related to diving.

Internet access is available by WiFi in the hotel lobby

I'd go back to the Wyndam again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- reasonable facilities for the cost - good beach - good location on the island - well-manicured grounds - excellent diving facility at the resort
The weak points
- frequent sewage odour around the grounds - small buffet, few choices - didn't have the heat on beneath the buffet chafing dishes most of the time
Certified

Scuba

, Jackson Point, ON
2010-02-27
friendly staff want to please,rooms okay,lack of water pressure at times and hot water but its hot outside did not bother us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
suitable food,beaches nice,snorkeling great,snack bar the best.
The weak points
lack of staff when busy and lack of facilities when busy
Certified

Sheer disappointment. A 2 star, maybe

, Georgetown, ON
2010-02-26
Regardless of how good a deal you get - it won t be and you will be left feeling ripped off.The good reviews on this site are for the Aura, Regency and Sabor section. BEWARE!!! Do not stay in a Club Caribbean room. After a torturous exit from the airport -- accosted by relentless timeshare salespeople -- we waited 90 minutes in a line to be checked in to the hotel. Two front desk staff on duty to check in somewhere in the region of 50 guests - unbelievable. Then we were told that there was only one key per room (difficult for a family with kids) and that families with kids were relegated to one pool....... the one with the swim up bar and the lazy river are in the adult only section. After finally making it to our room we were met with a non-functioning air conditioner and a bathtub that looked like Freddy Krueger s face. The stench emanating from what may have been the sewage treatment facility was unbearable. We were moved into a somewhat more inhabitable room by a front desk manager who was obviously used to being the recipient of customer dissatisfaction. The resort was entirely understaffed and the poor customer service was a direct result of this rather than the attitudes of individual staff. There were a few individual servers andf front desk staff who actually seemed to give a damn.... Luis at Roberto s the best!! Food was mediocre in La Isla - the buffet and short order cooks expected to be tipped for flipping an egg and bacon was held ransom -- very tacky. To give credit where it s due Roberto s -- the ONLY a la carte restaurant -- was a welcome respite. Unless you are seasoned diver looking to experience only the magic beneath the ocean surface, do yourself a favour and stay away from this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location and ideal for divers.
The weak points
Run down, poor service, mediocre food.
Certified

Cozumel fun

, Port Hope, ON
2010-02-26
Excellent staff - very accomodating

Hotel was a little outdated but clean Overall excellent experience and would go again.Well worth what we paid for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel had all necessary amenities
The weak points
Sometimes long wait periods for eating areas
Certified

Not the greatest

, Rockwood, ON
2010-02-25
The hotel was clean and well taken care of and the staff and food were excellent. The only down sides were that the Management seemed to skimp on things to save money, for example, none of the pools were heated, there were no pens in the rooms and when we left a message to speak to the Manager about a problem, it took multiple calls before he responded - not good management service at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service was excellent.
The weak points
There were too many small things that the management skimped on that deterred from having an excellent vacation.
Certified

Wyndham Cozumel

, Orangeville, ON
2010-02-10
Faculities were acceptable, Entertainment staff excellent,
Room poor plumbing, cleaning staff in frequent, front desk unresponsive
Sunwing representative, unable to liason between front desk and issues, this person was only interested in selling package excrussions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outgoing friendly staff,Beverage-ent Great snokeling
The weak points
Room, Plumbing Odour
Certified

Good value

, Welland, ON
2009-06-18
we enjoyed our stay at wyndham cozumel. rooms were nice, staff helpful and friendly, food was good, buffet was small but plenty of food to eat, beach was rocky but very pretty, water shoes would be helpful, we got a last minute deal for the money it was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020