Melia Cozumel Golf

Melia Cozumel Golf
3.673.673.673.673.67
3.67 based on 187 reviews
#7 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cozumel
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (27)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-12
We had an excellent experience. Love that the resort is smaller and more intimate. Everything is very easily accessible and well labelled. Lots of directional signs so you know where everything is. The staff were great love Enrique at the swim up bar and Patricia at the Omlette station they both were very friendly fast and effiecient at their jobs! The resort is very clean and the food was also great always lots of choices. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, pool, the maintenance staff was wonderful they spent so much time cleaning the pool each morning.
The weak points
Many of the servers didn't seem friendly, they did their job of clearing plates but no friendly chit chat.
Certified

Worth the experience

, St Thomas, ON
2020-02-05
We had a wonderful time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, resort was well maintained for cleanliness.
The weak points
Found it strange there wasn't a dresser for clothes.. water temp in shower was terribly inconsistent from burning hot to freezing cold.
Certified

Very nice

, St Thomas, ON
2020-02-03
This all inclusive is awesome,small but always able to find good eats no matter which meal....easy to get around and very nice people in all areas of resort....for the most part its what "YOU" make of your trip.....any of the bad reviews, are usually people that whine and complain about every little thing......the golf course is nice and island is incredible.....go have fun at this resort....you wont regret it.....cheers [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice budget hotel

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-08
Front desk very helpful.
Entertainment crew and waiters vey friendly.
Nice and clean pool.
Rooms dated but clean.
A la carte restaurant good but limited choice buffet [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not too big hotel with grounds beautifully kept..
The weak points
The sea weeds spoiled the beach area.
Certified

Love Melia

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-15
good food, well priced, staff cannot do enough for you, our Travel Agent, #CoreensTravels was able to work her magic and obtain rooms together and helped arrange a surprise birthday dinner. Great resort. I will definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food, staff
The weak points
none
Certified

Great Week

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-14
I have stayed at this hotel in the past and was further impressed this time. They have added more a la carte options and food was very good. Excellent service at restaurants, led by Juan, buffet manager.
Our maid service was excellent,Lorena. Clean, comfortable and we enjoyed the golf.We will return.Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, near airport and proximity to town. Well maintained, comfortable beds and room.
The weak points
Pools are fine and clean, while the beach is deep and long there was an issue with dark waters in ocean due to seaweed. Signs were posted, it is natural but not great if you like to swim in the ocean.
Certified

Great spot!

, Chilliwack, BC
2017-02-01
We loved our stay at the Melia! Beach is awesome with clear tourqoise water and little seaweed. Beach was raked and cleaned each morning and good amount of sunbathing options from lounge chairs to padded beach beds and hanging Hammocks. Room was large and open with ample bath, robes, slippers, and balcony with chairs and ocean view. All inclusive food was great with a broad variety each day. 3 restaurants for a More personal touch requiring reservations. The staff is friendly and helpful. We commented the staff seems to like their jobs and seem happy to be there! This shows us they are treated well and appreciated in the job they do. From the towel people to the Spanish class educator, everyone was wonderful and wanted to make our stay great. Everyone was appreciative of our attention and thank yous! It is nice to feel cared for and this is why we will come back. We had the all inclusive golf package at a very reasonable price $1740 PP x7 days. 5min taxi -$5 US to downtown and the golf course. The golf course had a caring and friendly staff as well, and the course was surrounded by Natural jungle foilage with the occasional crocodiles and iguanas -but safe. Rental golf clubs were nice Nike's and they had cold washcloths for each person after your game. Great on the hot days. All inclusive alcohol as good as well with the swim up bar and various places on the property to indulge. Entertainment nightly was varied as an option to enjoy. Featured concerts, karaoke and fire dancers when we were there. There are kids activities, however separated areas for adults. Our experience was very satisfying and the personal feel will bring us back. Will return asap. Dale and Annette Lowey Jan 2017. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean!
The weak points
Have to take your ice Bucket to one of the bars for ice in the room. Readyset45
Certified

Below Expectations

, Peterborough, ON
2016-03-01
Buffet never hot, or enough choices.
Room with golf package just o.k.
Golf course is very good.
Cozumel the town there is very nice.
The people are very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
golf package
The weak points
buffet poor

Girls Getaway

, Thornhill, ON
2016-02-07
I just returned from a 4 night/5 day stay at this resort. I have to say that the staff are amazing at this resort. Always friendly and helpful and very accommodating. Our group of 18 Canadian Ladies had an absolutely fantastic time.
Beach was beautiful, food was good, service was above expectations.
Rooms were comfortable, some of the ladies in the garden rooms found them a little musty, not sure what could be done for that. Overall a great stay!
We will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff.
The weak points
Pool was too cold, in the adult pool.
Pro

Melia Cozumel

, Saskatoon, SK
2015-03-23
Excellent experience in all ways! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet; good separation between adults and family pool areas. Great staff. Lovely and clean rooms.
The weak points
Internet access intermittent unless you pay extra.
Certified

Love the Caribbean

, Sarnia, ON
2015-02-17
The staff at this hotel are very friendly. The food is very good. The hotel is very clean. Would I return? Unfortunately no, there is no night entertainment and you could not swim at all in the water. It was very murky the whole time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the cleanliness, the comfort of the beds.
The weak points
Beach, lack of entertainment
Certified

Nice hotel

2015-02-17
Nice and clean. Nothing spectacular. Very little night activities. A disco or piano bar would have been nice. Daily activities could have been better
Advertised. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, nice staff
The weak points
Not much night entertainment
Certified

Fantastic vacation

, Woodlawn, ON
2014-03-17
Great resort. I would recommend it to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small, comfortable resort. Has every thing you need. We all loved it.
The weak points
Air Canada travel rep at location was not very helpful
Certified

Great Vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2014-03-10
Second time there and loved it even more. Nice small resort, staff bends over to please you, everyone is very happy. The beach is awesome, its great having the pool right beside and a bar in between with great service! The food was great, enjoy the restaurant on the beach at night. First week in march and a full resort but always found a great spot on the beach and around the pool never looked full. Great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach,the size of resort and the friendly staff
The weak points
that the garden rooms did not have bar fridges in their rooms
Certified

Going the Extra Mile

, Hamilton, ON
2014-03-10
We visited this resort March 2014 with friends. It is not a large resort, but beautiful and well kept. While vacationing I had a family emergency and had to return home. The staff actually went throughout the grounds calling my name and room number so as to give me my messsage. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, cleanliness, location to town and airport were GREAT!
The weak points
internet was amiss for me. Only 2 a la carte's (not huge deal)
Certified

Good

, New Westminster, BC
2014-02-18
Decent hotel, substandard business services. Food ok, but seafood and vegetarian alternatives quite limited. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall good
The weak points
Transportation
Certified

Great resort

, Innisfil, ON
2014-02-17
We had an excellent vacation for the second time here. Service, Food, Cleanliness, Beach and Amenities all were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, Food, Cleanliness, Beach and Amenities all were great.
The weak points
Can't think of anything.
Certified

Great quiet resort

, Saint Catharines, ON
2014-02-11
AS in the past the food was good, the rooms are clean and well keep. The staff are very nice and willing to take care of you. The resort was kind of quiet so they closed the beach bar early and only had the Grill Restaurant open 2 nights in the week that we where there, leaving you with only 2 choices. This I don't think is right. But the buffet was fine. All good looking forward to going back next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Over all a nice smaller sized resort and have seen improvements every time we have stayed with the Melia
The weak points
Care of main pool, in the week we where there never saw it vacuumed by staff, also too many time saw glass by pool.
Certified

Great Vacation

2014-02-07
My wife and I spent two glorious weeks at the Melia Cozumel.
The weather was great. The food was just as we expected in a Mexican All inclusive. Lots to eat at every meal. hotel staff are welcoming and cheerful. at every meal we were served with great attention. This was our 5th visit to Cozumel and first to the Melia. It's a great place to vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach was cleaned of seaweed and then was great to swim in.
The weak points
Standing in line for a la carte restaurant was ok but confusing.
Certified

Nice time

, Dunchurch, ON
2013-11-29
Overall nice hotel with very friendly personnel, good and clean rooms. The food was OK , with many options. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
The sea
Certified

Melia, Cozumel June 2013

, Nepean, ON
2013-07-02
Great little hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points - everything is so close - beach to pool etc which is great I thought. Nice beach...calm waters. Beautiful white sand. Great hot weather and great breeze so you don't feel too hot.
The weak points
We went in June, so it was quiet...but that is to be expected at that time of year.
Certified

Melia Cozumel

, London, ON
2013-04-22
The staff was friendly and courteous. Most staff spoke English well enough. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was good but not great. The beach is fantastic. I didn't see a nicer beach on the island. Don't depend on a wakeup call. We asked for one so we could get up early to catch our plane and the call didn't come but we had a backup alarm. The sports equipment is only one hour free per day. The Hobbie Cat is one hour free per day after having to pay $31 for a lesson even if you are already experienced. Over all the hotel was very nice and I would recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing getaway at a reasonable price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beach, Cleanliness
The weak points
Might be a little to quiet for some. There is not a lot of night life.
Certified

OK

, Burlington, ON
2013-04-19
Lots of friendly guests and the staff were great. buffet food below expectations, great drinks and beach was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, great location and friendly staff.
The weak points
food at the buffet...need coffee in the rooms..should not line up for a la carte
Certified

Excellent resort

, Innisfil, ON
2013-04-14
We had an exceptionally good holiday at this resort. The beach is much nicer than the brochure pictures shows. There are some rocky spots in water but at least there is a beach not sand, rock then water. Housekeeping went above expectations, anticpating needs before requested. All staff were very freindly and accomodating. We weren't approached even once even though there is time share on premises. There were no long line ups at the buffet or in the restaurants. Food was very good, fresh, plentiful and a good variety. There were no loud music playing that I could hear at night or during day. All aspects of the hotel are very clean and well maintained. I would highly reccomend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was fantastic, staff was freindly and efficient, food was very good, location was good.
The weak points
Need more info on hotel upon arrival (Did not know there was a Dive Shop on site until last day). Would have been nice to have a shaded spot at adult pool. Would have liked coffee available in am at lobby bar and/or coffee makers in room.
Certified

Cuba verses Cozumel

, Innisfil, ON
2013-04-14
This was our first trip to Cozumel, we have been to Cuba 5 times and there are some huge differences between the two. The air terminal in Cozumel is worse than in Veradero believe it or not. Our plane was the only one disembarking and it took us over an hour and a half to clear the terminal. They brought out dogs and sniffed every piece of luggage that came off of the plane! Five bags at a time! Then they hand searched every piece of carry on and every bag even the duty free from the plane. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that we could not check into our room until 3:00 PM thankfully the room was actually ready by 12:00 and we were able to move into our room and freshen up, change and so on enabling us to start to enjoy what was left of our first day. How ever not so for many others, we still seen people sitting in the lobby board to tears waiting for there room. Our flight left Toronto at 06:00 so most every one had been to the Toronto airport by 03:00 am. One huge difference that we found in Cozumel was the bar system. The bars do not open until 10:00 to 10:30 depending on the staff that day and they close at 02:00. Not a big deal for us but it was for our travel buddies. There are no coffee bar either and my wife did miss her Spanish coffee after breakfast that she had grown so a custom to in Cuba. The Hotel it self was great the room was fantastic the staff couldn't do enough for you! They was always as helpful was possible. This was the first time ever we did not need to call down to the desk to sent up maintenance to repair some thing in our room!
The food in the main buffet was some what limited, you only received bacon is if you asked for it and it came fresh out of a deep fryer to your table. The main meat for breakfast was hot dogs, they consider them as sausage. The food in the elacart and from the beach snack bar was the best we have ever had on a vacation. The beach is unbelievable the sand was like talcum powder and there was a crew of 4 hands raking it every morning at exactly 06:00 every morning! The pools were also cleaned and maintained at that time every day. Some one was constantly sweeping the pool area and the side walks every day. The hotel is not new but it is VERY well kept unlike older hotels in Cuba. Our tour provider was Nolitours and we had a lot of problems with them and especially their rep in the hotel. His name was Wilson and he was only interested in booking things that he could make some side money on, this I will take up with Nolitours No need to bore you with that. BUT if you are a scuba diver there is a dive center through the hotel at the water sports hut. We didn't find this out till it was too late for me to book the dive I wanted (Wreck Dive) I hope you were not too board reading our long report and we hope you find this helpful. A couple from Ontario [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Elecarts front desk staff
The weak points
Buffet no coffee bar
Certified

Would not go back

, Kitchener, ON
2013-04-08
over 20 trips under my belt and i have never complained until now. the food worst ever.most employees are great ).the hotel is beautiful we really liked it . food could have been better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
view from room
The weak points
food
Certified

Not Bad for the Price

, Madoc, ON
2013-03-06
Not a bad little hotel, but the food was not great quality and the service was spotty. For the price, about what you'd expect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beaches - wonderful
The weak points
Food and too few lounge chairs at beach and pool. People get up at 6 am to 'save' as many as they need and hold on to them all day with their towels.
Certified

Great except for the all night rave next door

, Gores Landing, ON
2013-02-24
The staff and property were great. There was, however , an all night rave ( until 7:00 am) on the Saturday night. The booming bass had the windows rattling across the resort and it was impossible to sleep anywhere on the Property. When I went to the lobby at 5:00 am, there were people there with pillows and blankets trying to sleep. We later learned that this happens every Saturday night. Very disappointing and will be contacting my tour operator and credit card company for compensation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
The rave
Certified

Melia Cozumel

, Mississauga, ON
2013-02-24
Location great,beach and staff great. Bring or buy own wine. House wine awful have it in sangria. "Private Party" occurs apparently every Sat night from 10pm-7am Sun. So loud it rattles patio doors. Like a rock concert.No sleep .Next door hotel up also. Don't bother asking front desk they state since it is private party so there is nothing they can do about it. Some people slept by adult pool outside but music is so loud it really didn't matter.It was our first time to Mexico we usually go to Cuba. Food and wine better in Cuba. We will not be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,staff work extremely hard
The weak points
Food and wine. No sleep Sat night. Rock concert music from 10 pm until 7 am sunday. So loud it rattles furniture and balcony doors. Apparently happens every Sat night.
Certified

Melia Cozumel

, Georgetown, ON
2013-02-19
Had a Great Holiday with my daughter and her family! Will visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
lots to do and see
The weak points
bikes should be free
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020