Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
3.783.783.783.783.78
3.78 based on 65 reviews
#6 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Ochi Rios Sandals

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-15
See below on the good and bad [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and breakfast/dinners were excellent House keeping was also very good
The weak points
Lunch buffets were average...not as good as our past 4 Sandals Service at bars/restaurants were hit and miss...were excellent at times but barely average at others...very similar to the Sandals Ocho Blog
Certified

Wonderful Wedding moon !

, Huntsville, ON
2017-09-25
We stayed at Sandals Ocho Rios from September 3rd -10th 2017. We were married on September 5th, 2017.

We can't say enough wonderful things about this resort, and the amazing staff, food, etc.

Since we were there during the tail end of Irma, the beach was closed for the end of our visit and as such we didn't get to experience the water sports or our sunset dinner at Kelly's Dockside grill on the night before we left. Even though it was windy and wavy, the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy, entertained, and well fed.

Our wedding day was perfect, and exactly what we wanted. We eloped, and I thought I would miss my family - but the Sandals staff, especially our wedding planner Kerry-Ann and our photographer Ricardo made sure we FELT like we were surrounded by family.

Particularly Tenniel in the Club lounge, Oshean at the front desk, Javada in the entertainment crew, were wonderful. But also - every single server remembered not only our names, but what drinks we liked. It was truly remarkable service.

This is a truly all inclusive resort, and there is fantastic service from every person you meet. They take care of everything ! I am now a Sandals for lifer - I won't go to another resort, as they just can't compare. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, service, service, and food ! The service was a level I have never experienced before. They go out of their way to ensure that your needs are not only anticipated, but exceeded. I gained 15 lbs !!
The weak points
The airport was closed and there was not a lot of support and direction from staff. A better discount should be offered to guests if they are forced to extend their stay due to storms, airport closures, etc.
Certified

LOVED IT!!!

, Repentigny, QC
2017-06-08
Great hotel! what a lovely place for couples, every corner has been design specialy for us... they really have a touch in service, all the staff was kind and seeking how to serve us. small but beautiful beaches... the one in front of the building is like a pool, but I loved the beach near ochi club with deeper waters. restaurants are great, animation one of a kind. we took the transportation and spent a day at beaches hotel where we could use the all inclusive as in sandals... excellent way to get to know both hotels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service, restaurants, entertainment
Certified

Ocho Rios Jamaica

, Petawawa, ON
2017-01-26
We had a wonderful time at this resort. The hotel was great. Lots of different restaurants to choose from. The room was very nice. The entertainment was great. Big Momma at the Rabbit Hole was amazing.
The message by the beach could be more secluded. Your having a romantic couples massage and you have guests walking by talking, laughing, guests are waiting for the catamaran cruise. Does not seem very romantic to us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Rabbit hole Bar. Loved it there. Everyone was treated the same because of the no tipping policy
The weak points
Bathroom in the room could use some touchups. Needs a Cappuccino machine on the ocean side for guess to access early in the morning while they watch the sunrise. Just like the one on the Hill top. The Massage by the beach should be more secluded.
Certified

Our Honeymoon at Sandals Ochi

, Cypress River, MB
2017-01-23
Our room was quite nice, however we were expecting a balcony but because we were on the second floor we didn't have one. The shower had very poor water pressure. Very comfortable bed. The food was excellent. We booked our meal reservations first thing the next morning after the night we arrived and the earliest we could get was 9 pm for most including Kelly's on the dock and La Gourmand on the hillside. Still a great meal, but come that late we were almost to the point of not wanting to eat a meal. The staff were very professional, accommodating and friendly. Be prepared to answer to staff asking you to book your spa appt everywhere you go. We swam in the ocean everyday and only went in the pools to experience the swim up bars as the pools were so cold. Weather was nice. Resort was clean. Washrooms were few and far between. Close to several excursion locations - Dunn's River Falls, Mystic Mountain, Blue Holes and River tubing, Horseback Riding, etc. Seven days was perfect, 10 days would have been too long for us. Overall a great location for our honeymoon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sandals Ochi Beach Honeymoon Review

, Kitchener, ON
2016-08-18
Everything about this resort exudes class.The staff were amazing and friendly, as were the resort guests. Environmentally speaking, every square inch of this resort is absolutely beautiful! The gardens, beach, pools, etc. The grounds are kept immaculate. We had a butler villa with a private pool. The rooms were clean and perfectly sized. The restaurants were all very good and the food was spectacular. Each night our butler made us reservations so we had a chance to try all of the a la carte restaurants. The butler service was an awesome addition as well. Aside from booking us our dinner reservations each night, we could call them (via our cellphone the resort provided) and have them pick us up and take us to wherever we wanted to go. They also would call to check-in on us throughout the day and ask if there was anything we needed. They often brought us drinks. They also booked our massages on the beach. I highly recommend the butler service. It just made our stay that much more relaxing! Aside from the butler service- all of our wait staff was great. All of the bartenders were super friendly, efficient and accommodating. The 'Playmaker' staff also knew how to get the party started. They often rounded us up for games and fun activities throughout the day but were also sensitive to your needs if you just wanted to relax. There's a lot of selection when it comes to food- aside from the a la carte restaurants- there's a jerk chicken shack, make your own pizza bar, and many buffets scattered throughout the resort. Put it this way- you will never go hungry and there's always somewhere open to eat. There's also a 24/7 room service menu. We ordered breakfast to our room regularly throughout our stay and we would have our own breakfast on the patio overlooking the resort. Overall, this resort is beautiful and the staff are amazing. They will accommodate you any way you need. Highly recommend upgrading and getting the butler service for a truly all-inclusive experience. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing grounds, staff and food!
The weak points
Can't think of any- amazing resort all around.
Certified

Three Star Resort

, Kemptville, ON
2016-04-30
We were disappointed with the resort, especially our room. The room was very "tired" and the bathroom was even worse with a broken toilet lid, mildew in the caulking around the tub, broken tap handle and very old bath tub. Only one of the two elevators were operational for the week we were there. In general, this resort needs a good sprucing up. For the money we paid, we were expecting a much nicer resort and therefore will not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Honeymoon Dream

, Alliston, ON
2016-02-16
The Sandals experience at Ochi Beach in Ocho Rios was phenomenal. Excellent food, great quality drinks, awesome atmosphere and our butlers were fantastic. There was lots to do and keep you entertained, but also lots of places to just relax and enjoy the sunshine. We stayed in the villa with the pool, and although it was shared with 3 other suites, we never had issues of privacy or our pool ever being overcrowded; we had privacy to it whenever we wanted. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food/very friendly staff/variety of things to do/butlers were fantastic/clean facilities
The weak points
Spa staff were a little pushy.
Certified

Romantic Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2014-02-24
My husband and I and another couple stayed at Sandals Grande Riviera from January 31/14-February 7/14.The drive from the airport was quite long, about 1.5 hours. The highway is not too bad and we were in a small van with 1 other couple. Overall, the resort is quite big, divided into two parts. We stayed on the Riviera side in a regular room. We did not have a butler. The beach is quite small and the pools on this side were small and limited seating. The pool on the Manor side was very large and beautiful and we spent most of our time there. There is a shuttle between sides and it was there every 5 minutes or so to take you back and forth. The bar service at the beach and pools was excellent! The girls came around every few minutes to bring you drinks or whatever you needed. The food for the most part was fabulous, especially the lobster at Sabrina's and the food at China Doll. There was always a waiting list at Valentino's and when we finally got to eat there, it took nearly 3 hours to complete our meal. The resort is very clean and the staff was very friendly and always accommodating.We had a couple's massage at the spa and it was wonderful. Overall we had a very romantic, relaxing vacation and would go back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very large, very clean resort. Fabulous food, great bar service, all top shelf liquor!Beautiful pool on Manor side.Friendly staff!
The weak points
About an hour and a half from the airport. Beach is very small and pools on Riviera side were very small and very limited seating around the pools. Service at some of the restaurants was slow, especially Valentino's.
Certified

Everything we could hope for.

, Barrie, ON
2014-02-11
Wonderful service, food and drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches were nice, no current. The food and drinks were delicious. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Nothing really to complain about.
Certified

Fantastic Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2014-02-04
We arrived in Christmas day, Sandals handled everything getting from the baggage pickup to providing a comfortable ride to the resort. Room , personalized Butler service was above and beyond, restaurants and the meals were excellent. New Years eve party was fantastic. We really enjoyed the trip. I highly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Butler Service was amazing. Our butler's went above and beyond. Highly recommend it.
The weak points
Website Scuba criteria should be clearly communicated too avoid disappointment,we are very active divers with 1500 plus dives all over the world, and was unable to dive as I am over 45 and smoke. This trip was chosen with diving as key.
Certified

Dream Vacation

, Mt. Carmel, NL
2013-11-22
Couldn't ask for anything better. Excellent food, top of the line service. The butlers went above and beyond their requirements to make sure our vacation was perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendliness of staff.
The weak points
No elevator in Great House.
Certified

Amazing trip and so beautiful :)

, Brantford, ON
2013-11-10
amazing trip best vacation ever :) staff are unbelievably friendly and so helpful :) you cant go wrong with this resort..absolutely amazing!! :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the pools, the staff, entertainment
The weak points
they dont have miles of beach
Certified

YEAH MON!

, Iqaluit, NU
2013-10-24
At first both me and my girlfriend were getting to know the resort but did not know where everything was. A little confused with directions so we had to actually go through the whole resort to know where everything was. Other then that, had a great time! Highly recommended! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
By far the best experience I had for the first time going down for a Caribbean vacation. Great people, great place.
The weak points
Spent the same amount of money for a room on the Riviera side room as for butler service. The resort should have a proper guidance as to where everything is on the resort.
Certified

Returning home

, Toronto, ON
2013-09-17
As returning Sandals SSG members, we were we greeted and treated very well. We love the friendly people and lush gardens. We stay on the Riviera side closer to Watersports as we enjoy the use of the Hobies and kayaks. There are many fine restaurant choices, many of which are air conditioned. The nice thing is that you can have exactly what you want, simply by asking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly atmosphere, lush well manicured property, fine food and drink. Always great beds. Lots of options.
The weak points
Beach smaller than pictured, some suites remotely located, Entertainment - could have dancing to a band at least one night a week.
Certified

Sandals Grande Riviera

, Thorhild, AB
2013-09-16
Outstanding. Great in the off-season too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, atmosphere and a fun place.
The weak points
Stayed at Great House. Fantasic place but you have to take shuttle to get to beach and other parts of the resort. If you are young & spend a lot of time at the beach doing activities (sailing, scuba, snorcolling, etc) then you should stay near the beach
Certified

Good Time at Sandal's Grand Rio's

, Toronto, ON
2013-08-28
- nice room given
- hotel has been renovated about 2-3
yrs. ago and looks even better and
cleaner; pretty atmosphere
- food varies depending which of the
many restaurants you eat at. For us
the mountain side had good places;
although we stayed at the Ocean side
- service was overall very good. A
couple of sourpusses but probably no
resort can have perfect staff, were
all human and have stresses; I tried
to avoid the trouble - lack of service
- when it arouse and move around it.
- although beach space is at a premium
(probably standard in Jamaica), the
layout is very pretty and the main
beach is clean and the ocean bottom
very sandy smooth. No clogs needed
here but perhaps on the secondary
beach on the Ochi side.
- had a beach party one night and the
food was excellent
- had chocolate sweet table small party
one night on the mountain side -
sweets were good; good live music
- same night had Kareoke in mountain
side main bar; very good; very scenic
bar
- some of the restaurants have very
scenic views
- lots of activities available
- friendly crowd; many people on
honeymoon - definitely a younger crowd
so if you are in your 50's like us
don't expect to see to many people in
that age range [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Selection for food,activities and areas. This is a huge complex with a mountain side and beach side with lots of pools, cot areas, food places. Service is good, staff is friendly.
The weak points
Food needs to improve for breakfast/lunch, but it is still not bad. Dinner spots are hit & miss. Better resort for the less fussy traveller - example - the wine is not drinkable - be discriminating in your drink choices. Lots of pushy selling -annoying.
Certified

May Long Weekend Ocho Rios

, Brampton, ON
2013-05-22
Loved our short stay at Ocho Rios Sandals. Ideal romantic getaway. Resort was beautiful, lots of spaces for couples to relax. Also nice for groups. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
plenty of loungers and towels, staff walked around taking drink orders on beach and poolside
The weak points
2.5 hr drive from kingston airport
Certified

An OK Sandals Resort.

, Waterloo, ON
2013-04-30
The picture of the beach is deceiving. It is VERY small. Beautiful water though. We stayed on the Villa side so we had to take a shuttle over to the beach. Maybe we didn't read the description properly but we were surprised. The shuttles ran constantly so it was never a problem. We found the music quite loud and they will not turn it down. Good for the younger crowd. Food was average. Our butlers, Richard and Jeremy were great, they couldn't do enough for us. We came back in January from Sandals Emerald Bay, Bahamas and that resort is alot smaller but alot better. We wouldn't return to the Grand Riviera as there are better resorts and the drive from Montego Bay is 2 hours. A bit long for a mediocre resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Butler Service. Shared pool with 2 other couples outside villa.
The weak points
Beach. Need shuttle if staying on the Villa (Hill) side.
Certified

Once Is Enough

, Scarborough, ON
2013-04-14
There is so much to tell!! Flew into Kingston, for a 4 day getaway from it all vacation. According to Sandals "Luxury Included"We travelled through mountains to get to resort, lots of scenery, but dangerous, the van was sub-standard and possibly unsafe. old van, guy stops for gas, goes over a speedbump, and rear bumper falls off..delayed while he fixed it and away we went. 1.5 to 2 hour drive, yeah right,it took us 3 , cars were passing us left right and center lol. Had one really close call, that I think even scared our driver...
We get to Sandals resort, get to our room, no alcohol in rooms, no beer. Air conditioning did not work...fan in bathroom did not work..."luxury included"...I don't think so. They gave us a little packet with info in it for the spa, problem was there was no map of where the restaurants were and what was available. We stopped by a nice restaurant on the pier, but you could only eat there with butler service?? Then we went to another one, I didn't see the hostess stand, or a hostess for that matter, and was chased down and told I had to check in and wait to be seated. Oops! Went to another restaurant, open air, ordered a bottle of their featured wine, "Beringer White Zinfandel", only to be given a $38 tab for it...what??? It is under $10 where I come from...food was ok at best.
Breakfast buffet was good. But again, you had to wait to be seated and rarely a host or hostess standing there waiting for you.
if you wanted a nice bottle of cold beer in your room, it was $3 each, for Red Stripe!!! This is not what I was expecting from an all inclusive...but weather is nice and the service at the beach was great. We were expecting reggae music at the beach...know what we got?? Justin Bieber lol. How could they ever think that is what the guests are expecting...it was on a loop, so the same songs kept playing lol.
So this night we head for dinner, 2 people in front of us waiting to be seated...15-20 minutes later when there is now 25 people waiting...we are told that because it started sprinkling, they had to move guests inside. But...they already had the inside tables set for breakfast..so they had to clear them all reset them and move the guests. Leave your name and room number and go to the bar for a drink. Some great guitar playing for entertainment. We get seated 1/2 later, food was again yuck! Wine was good though at another $38 dollars for the bottle
We again spent the rest of day at beach, listening to the "Biebs" lol. Had a burger at a beach grill which was ok..we didn't go for dinner this night.
We receive notice that our checkout time is 7am. Huh? Our flight is early afternoon. Bus will be taking us back to airport at 7:30. No coffee or tea in lobby, go had to go to breakfast buffet down by the beach to get some. Glad I did cause van didn't show up until 830...it was a lovely, clean safe ride back to the airport. And only 2 hours.
We are laughing about it now, but having stayed at many resorts and thinking we were getting something special by going to Sandals...no way.
Thank you for your inquiry! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Everything but the cleanliness...
Certified

Sandals Ohos Rios

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-20
Well priced resort with better than average facilities and knowledgeable and helpful staff, especially our two butlers. Food was OK. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Butler service was great; staff generally helpful and pleasant. Facilities were clean and well kept.
The weak points
Long trip to the airport. Otherwise no real weak points.
Certified

Beautiful county - not sure of its future

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-02-18
We stayed on the Hillside and we are glad we did, the riviera side was crowded. Didn't know there was a main road between the two sides, which was surprising. Food is excellent, beach was disappointing, very small and dirty. They offer butler service and while lots of people apparently like this, I believe that they are digressing and should not offer (we had and declined) butler service. Jamaicans pride themselves on their ancestors and history of slavery, their independence etc., yet this type of service just feels like they are digressing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent at all restaurants.
The weak points
When restaurants are advertised as no reservations required, this should mean everyone! Allowing only those people with butlers to make reservations, keeping other people waiting should not be allowed.
Certified

Not worth it

, Toronto, ON
2012-07-27
Don't bother, the hotel is too expensive and definitely not a 5 star, 3.5 stars max.
The beach is tiny and lots of seaweed on the shore, which is barely cleaned by staff. Food is average, nothing spectacular. Rooms are tiny. The ocean view we paid for is a joke - it's on the other side of the road and it's a pool view.

Everything is pretty expensive and the quality of service does not justify the price. Go to Mayan Riviera instead, it's cheaper and much better overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none.
The weak points
Too expensive for this kind of service and definitely not a 5 star hotel. Rooms are tiny. Beach is super small and dirty.
Certified

Sandals Grande Riviera

, Brampton, ON
2012-04-16
As usual Sandals provides a resort that is clean, with plentiful food and beautiful manicured lawns and grounds. I have to admit confusion about a "luxury" resort chain not providing microwaves in the rooms, when even budget hotels like the Red Roof or Howard Johnson do! This left my husband asking staff to warm in a pan a meal, which they did not infact warm at all, but simply served on a hot plate. Need I mention Red Roof also provides free Wi-fi Internet, which Sandals charged $14 US for one day! Outrageous! Also, I found that there were several efforts to "nickel and dime" guests, by providing 3 antiquated internet kiosk (one of which did not work), that would only work when it collected money, but would freeze or not load web pages during the Internet session. Also, there was no posting on the in-room phones for a charges for local calls, so to my surprise I was met with a $20 US bill for 7 calls, none of which were longer than 7 minutes. The staff were pleasant, accommodating and courteous for the most part. Particularly the IT manager who promised to waive the charge for the useless internet kiosk. The bathroom sink fell apart and I had to have it serviced. The room was otherwise clean and well appointed. I have been to Sandals twice and will likely go again, knowing that I need to plan ahead for some major inconveniences, because the staff, resorts, and restaurants are worth it if the price is right. I had to call the front desk myself to remind them of the day of my departure, as they did not provide departure instructions as is customary, to my room. Having spent $13,000 at the Negril site 3 years ago for my honeymoon, and having a spectacular experience, this was a let down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restaurants, pleasant staff, beautiful grounds and scenery.
The weak points
Lack of Internet or overly expensive internet service, lack of in-room microwave, maintainence issues in the bathroom.
Certified

Awesome trip

, Edmonton, Al
2012-04-01
My boyfriend and I travelled to Jamaica for a week and we loved every second of it. The staff would bend over back for you they were so friendly. We left Jamaica with many new friends. The food was awesome, we quite enjoyed the sushi place as we started there every night for appetizers and sake bombs. What a blast! I recommend booking Kelly's and Kimonos when you check in as e heard other people couldn't get in. I have travelled to 3 other all inclusives in Mexico and Cuba and this resort was awesome! It is a little far from the airport but worth it. If you want a long beach this resort doesn't offer hat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Long drive from airport
Certified

GREAT TRIP!

, Newmarket, ON
2012-03-19
This was the best vacation I have taken. The staff were amazing and so helpful. We loved the food and everything Sandals had to offer. The free snorkeling was great! We really had nothing to complain about. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Service Cleanliness The people of Jamaica were just amazing! So frienly and kind!
The weak points
If I had to pick something to complain about I guess there could have been more towels outside.
Certified

Flight

, Northbay, ON
2012-03-12
Hotel was nice, service was good but Flight was a nightmare...delayed 9 hours with no reason and missed out on a day at the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff- Melissa who cleaned our pool everyday was amazingly friendly. Housekeeping good. Service excellent
The weak points
No night life Everything cancelled due to weather and not made up on nicer days no reservations for Valentinos and had to wait 2 hours. Tried to reserve for a meal on the pier...booked 1 week in advance. Front desk at main lobby not helpful
Certified

Great Value

, Barrie, ON
2012-02-21
We really enjoyed our stay and would return in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent
The weak points
Beach area was small - pools made up for it
Certified

SANDALS GRANDE RIVIERA BEACH AND VILLA

, Manotick, ON
2012-02-14
Excellent!
Food, villa, service and general atmosphere was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly service
The weak points
Beach gets crowded.
Certified

Bad check in, good vacation.

, Dieppe, NB
2012-02-13
Nice resort, maybe not 5 star , but a nice place, good service. We reserved, book and paid for a room on the Seaside, but the resort decided they would upgrade us to the Villas. They are very nice, with private pools and living rooms, but you need approx. 20-30min round trip via shuttle to get to the beach. If that is what you want, then great. This is not what we wanted and basically at check in, they didn't have rooms for us on the Seaside side. Nothing. They weren't even guaranteeing that they would have the rooms that we booked all week. We finally made quite the fuss and they switched us the next day, but then our luggage didn't make it to the room.

If you enjoy up to a 30mins one-way trip to get sunscreen or your camera from your room, stay on the Villa side. It's 2mins on the Seaside side.

Once all this was sorted out, we had a great time. Front desk staff wasn't very helpful. The whole check in wasn't to Sandals standards for sure.

2hr shuttle from airport.

Other resorts do things like snacks, more food etc. better, but no complaints really.

I played 5 rounds of golf and had a good time. It's not the best course, but plays well and a nice walk. Caddies are great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good staff, nice resort. Many restaurants and most you don't need reservations.
The weak points
They invested money on the wrong side of their resort and looks like they try to 'upgrade' people into staying there. Beach is small. Not enough chairs by the pools.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020