Moon Palace Jamaica

3.303.303.303.303.30
Moon Palace Jamaica
#5 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ocho Rios
3.30 based on 386 reviews
Traveller pictures (59)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great family vacation

, Dieppe, NB
2020-03-08
We had an awesome time. Staff were amazing. Very clean and beautiful reasort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff 100%. A la carte restaurants were excellent, especially Momo (both the hibachi grill and the restaurant). Loved that so many excursions were available right from the hotel pier.
The weak points
The beach is not as beautiful as many other resorts we have been to (quite full of rocks) but beautiful anyhow. Rooms were on the small side. Buffet was not really good.
Certified

Moon Palace Ochio Rios

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-17
We stayed here Sept 2018 and loved it so much and came back Sept 2019, unfortunately a lot has changed in 1yr. Our last day my family had the worst experience, our bus to the airport was set to leave st 4pm, we got there 3.50pm, at 4 15pm we had not set off, a staff named Shane was lying to us that we'll leave in 5mins, we were there till 5pm, turns out Shane had been briebed by the other guest to hold the bus till they got there. It's a shame how we were treated with no regard all because of Shane's greed. My kids witnessed all this with no apologies from Shane or the guests when they finally arrived. It was TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. We'll NOT be returning here that's for sure!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Individual staff were very nice
The weak points
Overall management was not good, nightly entertainment was lack luster.
Certified

Mr

, Markham, ON
2018-07-19
It was not worth the price paid. Service in general was lacking at all restaurants. At a la cartes there were long wait times between apps and mains. So many staff working yet no attention to the guess and their needs. Grounds and pools were well maintained. My spa experience was excellent. The booking of trips with the vacation planners were a little inconvenience because of the wait times to do so. Tried 4 days in a row to get reservations at the hibachi and within 8 minutes it was all booked up. Enjoyed the coffee shop. The beach was the best. With the service at the beach being very good. The guys on the beach to an excellent job. The room was small especially since I upgraded to the superior deluxe in order to get a bigger room which it was not. The bathroom was very small and could not have 2 people in there. Bed was comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was absolutely beautiful. The spa experience was excellent and well worth the price. Beach service was excellent. Got drinks, food and towels with no issues on the beach.
The weak points
Restaurant service was consistently very poor and food quality was mediocre. Lots of staff but no one seems to be in a good mood or friendly on any level. Took long to get your food and drinks and some cases the order was wrong.
Certified

Not satisfied

, Toronoto, ON
2017-12-29
Rooms and bathrooms are very small .
Very few restaurants, very slow service , buffet specially at breakfast time did not have new options very boring after 2 days . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

March Break Moon Palace-Great!!

, Brampton, HA
2017-03-21
great service, clean, great food, beautiful beaches, gardens....great place for families!!!Definitely go back!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people #1-so friendly and efficient-best asset the resort has, service, food all great! lots of stuff to do
The weak points
front desk friendliness and experience not great-we landed late they only had 1 person to check all families in-took too long. Wine selection could be better-buying it was good-but the all inclusive wine was terrible.
Certified

Amazing Service

, Calgary, AB
2016-03-14
Wonderful location, service and rooms. All staff were so friendly and helpful. Incredible decor and right in Ocho Rios, so no long rides to excursions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel, great service great for families
The weak points
long ride from airport
Pro

Sunset Grande - Good first time in Jamaica

, Truro, NS
2014-07-03
This was my first time in Jamaica and it didn't disappoint me. The beaches were clean and well kept and the food was some of the best that I've ever had in a long time. I think that the overall customer service could be a little better (most workers didn't seem to interact with customers or be curious unless getting a tip) But that being said all issues that came up were resolved fairly quickly. It's was a good place for my honeymoon with my wife [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent and there was always plenty of staff to assist you with anything that you needed.
The weak points
The pool bars were usually unattended and when the staff was there they seemed unwilling to go to the lower pool bar area.
Certified

2 week holiday

, Whitby, ON
2014-04-12
this is the 3rd time we have gone. The resort is lovely. So it was as we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the hotel offers 5 pools and there are various places to relax. you can have lots of sun, shade, quite, and lively. the resort is beautiful.
The weak points
Had a problem with the air conditioner leaking on the floor. they were quick to fix.
Certified

Great Location

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2014-04-06
this was my second trip to this hotel in 5 months. Location is fab. On the beach but outside the hotel is the city of Ochi. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and staff. beach was nice.
The weak points
internet wasn't that strong
Certified

Vacation at Jamaica Grande

, Mississauga, ON
2014-03-19
The Hotel was ok... we were disappointed with the Beach this is not a Beach it is a man made Lake no waves , lots of sea weed I would not go here again, there was no free wifi at this hotel we asked for a Jamaican Pattie were told we would have to pay for it ?? The Entertainment was sub standard [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Drinks and bar
The weak points
Food could be better
Certified

Hotel did not provide us a good time

, Markham, ON
2014-03-13
I had a great time in Jamaica as my family lives there. I am from Canada and have traveled all over the Caribbean. I am not rich but have a decent level of expectation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- No room service - No minibar fridge in room - No food in the room ** I brought food anyway - No 24 hour food. Grill closes at 2 AM. During my vacation I am not bound by time.
The weak points
- They had two very good dine-in restaurants (reservations are hard to get as usual). - Cleaning staff was great! - Gave good amount of alcohol in mixed drinks when asked.
Certified

Lovely resort

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-12
Resort is fun, clean and close to shopping. The staff worked very hard to make our time there very pleasant. I would like to see a small quiet outside garden area where one can sit and get away from the noise and music of the hotel. I loved the coffee station/lounge area in the north tower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, knowledgeable, interesting staff, good variety of dishes at the buffet, lots of activities if you choose to participate, shopping within walking distance. A nice resort and we would definitely return.
The weak points
Lots of music and noise everywhere. I was looking for a quiet place to rest and knit.
Certified

Rooms Below Standards

, Killarney Road, NB
2014-03-11
The food was incrediable. Great bar tenders and awesome staff. Our room was in the North Tower. Had a balcony with a view of the dumpster and room is way out dated and in need of a reno. The other couple we were travelling with had a moldy smelling room. Wouldn't recommend taking a room in the North Tower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and Service was awesome. Great rstaraunts
The weak points
Rooms in North Tower are terrible
Certified

Should be 3.5 star

, Rr 4 Carleton Place, ON
2014-03-10
The hotel itself was nice and the staff were awesome. The food was terrible if you like fruits and veggies there was no rotation in the buffet. Rooms were clean, we had issues with the bathtub not draining and the toilet running that were not resolved by the end of our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort had lot to offer with the water slide nice pools and shared areas. The grounds were smaller that made it easy to navigate. You are located in the town shopping outside the gates
The weak points
Food was terrible no rotation of the buffet, I ended up with food poising and missed a day of the trip. Rooms were small and dated bathroom was a disaster
Certified

MY 6TH TIME IN JAMAICA, SO IM AN EXPERT NOW

, Mont-Royal, QC
2014-03-07
My first time at this resort. What i didnt like; being on the 10th flr, with non stop waiting for elevators to go up and down. Im used to resorts no more than 4 stories high, so i dont use elevators. A fridge in the room that IS NOT STOCKED EVERY, YOU HAVE TO YOURSELF,N.G.Powdered instant coffee in the room, no drip coffee (N.G, Jamaica is known for amazing coffee, coffee in the room was no good). No rack on balcony to hang wet clothes. No room service available free or not (im used to free room service). Terrible desserts, worst ive had in my lifetime, been to thousands of restaurants. Shocked by this, Jamaica is known for its cuisine. The safe in the room comes with a key that costs $100 if you lose it. No key chain. Other hotels use an electronic safe with a code. NOW FOR THE GOOD; good food actually (just not the desserts) The lamb,beef, chicken and fish dishes were pretty good. Friendly and helpful staff, I always tipped the housekeeper, bartenders and servers, i never forgot.Big resort, very clean with nice layout.Our room was clean and everything worked. Cool Hustlers on the beach,very good weed and hash. Conclusion; I guess i got what i paid for at this time of the yr (the resort i usually go to was $450 more a person at this time, that's why i chose Sunset Jamaica Grande.Its fine for the budget but if you can afford better....... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the weather
The weak points
The desserts, services and amenities that are not offered or not included
Certified

As expected

, Cambridge, ON
2014-03-03
Overall good,hotel is well located.Will visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jamaican Breakfast.Beach BBQ.
The weak points
Nice tennis courts, but needs better up keep.
Certified

Not a four Star

, Kingston, ON
2014-02-26
1. Property and area are over priced. this property is really warn down and the beach area small with lots of over grown seaweed. The elevators are a coin toss at best if they work north Tower broke down to 1 of 3 elavators at times. Entertainment was really poorly done or non existant. Catamarans you had to go with a staff member Kayaks were restricted to a very small area of use close to a 100m by 100m. One of our members was shocked by a lamp switch and recieved a burn on her hand. No premium alchohol ie Grand Marnier, Yegamister, Scotch etc... Hit and miss for a hot shower. Most of the staff were very unattentive and disconcerned with guest requests. Internet service 15 dollars a day, Hotel is kept very clean. Restaraunt buffet has a minnimum variety of foods and the same every day no specialties. We spent valentines day there and for the first time in all of my travells nothing was put on at the Buffet. If you wanted you could spend 100 US to have a dinner on the beach. So on and so forth the list goes on and on. If you want a true 2.5 or minnimum 3 star this is the place.The price you pay to go here you can easily go to Mexico to a real 4 star with premium service I know we were at RIU Palace Los Cabos last year for less price.I hope this sincerly helps you to make a clear and decise decision. Last thing everything outside the resort is expensive. Barter Barter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Very worn out resort including the Staff poor choice for food variety. Recommended has to be filled out B/S I recommend this for No One I only put culture for the Bob Marley Tour
Certified

Had a great time lots of R&R

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-26
We were happy with hotel very clean it is a little older resort so know this before booking food was as expected a 3 star would be the beach beautiful the walk to Ocho Rios was great also town very friendly. Garth from the resort was Awesome!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
its a tourist spot ships in everyday lots of shopping and markets
The weak points
the buffet was crap
Certified

Terrible hotel

, Sudbury, ON
2014-02-22
this hotel first of all is more like a 2 star than the rated 4 - hotel staff not friendly, ran out of booze and ice almost everyday and food was terrible - just an overall bad experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
not many if any
The weak points
dirty - unfriendly staff - not accomondating - poor food qaulity - lack of service and amneties
Certified

Nice vacation spot

, Cocagne, NB
2014-02-11
Overall the hotel was really nice, right on the water. Weather wasn't the best, but we could get around the entire complex without going out in the rain, which was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, good food, renovated portion really nice
The weak points
Complex ran out of beer one day, not many king size rooms, more family oriented
Certified

A great resort with many options

, Red Deer, AB
2014-02-09
We really enjoyed staying at this resort. The rooms were not 5 star but were clean and offered everything we needed. The staff were really awesome and soooo sweet. This resort offered many food choices and entertainment. It also had a few bars and pools to pick from. It was a 5 minute walk into Ocho Rios and was a five min. bus ride to Dolphin Cove and Mystic Mountain for excursions. We are definantly going back here and are recommending it to all our friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were so awesome and helpful. Always had a smile and a " Hey Mon " for you. The resort met all my expectations and more. I am so glad we stayed here and we do plan on returning one day.
The weak points
The only weak points I can think of is I wish there was more than 4 hangers in our room and the bathroom sink plug was broken. It was really a nice resort to stay at.
Certified

Just ok

, Winniepeg, MB
2014-02-06
the hotel is ok but could use some updating. no bugs or rodents clean beds large grounds great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location
The weak points
needs some TLC and updating
Certified

Great Holiday

, Stoney Creek, ON
2014-02-05
We enjoyed the pools, food and drinks. The staff was very friendly and there were no shortage of chairs unlike other hotels. The only thing missing are more cabanas on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The a la carte restaurant were excellent and staff very friendly.
The weak points
The beach could use some more cabanas. The beach 15 ft out too mucky.
Certified

Great

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-01
We got to the hotel after 10 pm,got to our room turn on the bed side light and it went dark,maintenance person came, but it could not be fix till the next day. had some problems with the bathroom fixture it spill water everywhere we try hard not to flood the place.However at our well-come back dinner for return guest, I met the GM" had a talk with him and he gave us a room change,(great room) everything went well after that I had a great vacation. I have gone to this hotel four times, it feels like home away from home to me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reception and all staff very good,cleanliness good,great beach, great location.
The weak points
Balcony doors ,Bathroom taps and sinks always a problem even light fixtures needs repair.the hotel is old needs some work and overall, but you will still have a great vacation it feels like home with a bit of problem, it is my fourth visit .
Certified

Impressive

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-28
Really great, the staff (from the beach cleaners to the front desk) were friendly and always helpful. The meals were good and varied enough to meet most peoples preferences, love the fact that dinner was open to 10pm,which meant we could still get dinner after a long days' excursion. We had an issue with the balcony door, it was really hard to open, but were offered a room change. Their seemed to be a lot of activities for all ages including young children. Only disappointment (for us) was the evening entertainment. At least for the early part of the evening, it would have been nice to hear traditional (folk/cultural) Jamaican music. Surely there are local musicians who are talented enough to play for us "old fogeys". I hear enough rap/rock etc, at home. When I'm in the islands it's nice to hear local, traditional music. The younger generation can have the 10pm - 3am. For once an all inclusive resort was truly "an all inclusive"
We had a great time and would (already have) recommend it to anyone. Hope to come back in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food, the hotel.
The weak points
Departures for tours/airport could be better organized. Possibly with signs and collection areas. It was hard to figure out where/what bus you were supposed to be on without constantly asking.
Certified

Great Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2014-01-25
Really enjoyed my vacation in Ochos Rios. Food is very good however they could use some jam in the breakfast buffet. Lots of walking as the resort is quite large. South beach is beautiful for swimming. should have free wifi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Staff, Libations
The weak points
Wifi is not free and works intermittently
Certified

Boring

, Nepean, ON
2014-01-20
friendly, clean, good location. The food cheap cheap cheap tomato sauce, cream sauce is it so hard to put hamburger in it. Not much day time activities. hot tub not monitored enough at night people having sex in it Did not want to go in after that and one of the reasons I did return is for the hot tub. I paid good money and did not eat at the resort much ate at burger king and KFC chicken [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
will not return 3rd time I wil stay at rooms ocho rios
The weak points
food
Certified

Had a great time.

, Acton, ON
2014-01-12
Had a great time. Staff was abundant and happy to help. Food was good. Beach and location were excellent. Only complaint were the rooms had a bad smell, old yucky bedding, very old and worm out furniture and the rooms were small.
Beach in water was full of garbage on smaller second beach. Often found broken beer bottle glass on the sand even after it appeared to be raked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Entertainment Food Hotel grounds
The weak points
Room: smelly and small Beach: too much garbage in water
Certified

Sunset Jamaica Grande Overrated/Overpriced

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-06
Rude front End Staff. Did not get room requested; waite 2 days for a change. Floor in 1st room was wet from malfunctioning A/C. 2nd Room A/C could not control temperature - either on or off. Chesterfield pull out filthy. Drawers to dresser had to be pried open then they would not close completely. Food and service in 2 of the 3 specialty restaurants was terrible; in the 3rd it was excellent. Staff in main restaurant very friendly and helpful. No food or drinks allowed in room. Rooms offered only intant coffee (In Jamaica?) Elevator indicatos did not work at all on floor 7 the entire time there, half of indicator buttons in elevtors did not work. Room cleaning staff very friendly and did a pretty good job. Generally, hotel was very clean. All pools were not more than 3-3 1/2 feet deep. Overall rating 2-21/2 stars. Well below expectations; would not recommend or stay there again. Your 4 star rating way off!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food ok in main dining room. Good entertainment. Good access to field trips.
The weak points
Room condition poor Ront desk / Reception staff rude and non-responsive. Rooms poor quality. Avoid specialty restaurants
Certified

Do not booked to this hotel

, Kirkland Lake, ON
2014-01-06
Avoid at all costs.. do not waste your money!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none!!
The weak points
rooms are dated,cabana not acceptabl;had to change room, it was rated a 4 on your website but when I guestioned the services, rooms,empty fridge ect they comfirmed it was a 3.5 and asked us if we booked through itravel?? why?? hotel is not suitable
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ocho Rios's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Seniors Families

Are you a hotel owner?