Casa Marina Reef Resort

3.493.493.493.493.49
Casa Marina Reef Resort
#1 of 2 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Sosua
3.49 based on 301 reviews
Traveller pictures (135)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

It was “okay”

, Grafton, ON
2020-03-13
I've travelled several times and although this resort was beautiful and clean it was lacking several things that warrant my reason for not returning. The bars are opened at various times and very spread out which made it difficult to find a drink at any given time. The staff was friendly IF I addressed them first (never experienced this before). It was hard to find someone for a drink in the buffet and clearing of tables was awful. On a good note: the food was good and beds were super comfy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food Beautiful view Comfy beds
The weak points
Most staff not receptive VERY difficult to find a drink
Certified

Amazing Stay

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-07
This was our first trip ever to the Dominican Republic. The resort was nice and close to the airport. Once we arrived at the resort and I saw the place with my own eyes... it is beyond breathtaking. Pictures do not do this place justice at all. You were staying in a renovated room which was simple and lovely. Everything was clean and comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, great food at the buffet, fun entertainment...
The weak points
None
Certified

Amazing stay

, Burlington, ON
2020-02-14
Front desk staff seemed confused and not very helpful at check in and during stay. After that all was amazing. Room clean cleaned daily and room maids worked around your siesta! Renovated room was bright. Walk in shower nice but leaked into bathroom big time! Grounds beautiful and always being maintained including 2 large pools, 1 kiddie pool and 3 adult only small pools. Buffet had decent food lots of fresh fruit and veggies. Supper had a couple of special nights of BBQ lobster and another of roast beef. 3 al-a-carte were great. Lunch in the snack shop easy to get to and quick. Beaches located down steps but were open all 10 days and very clean and clear water. Can not wait to do 2 weeks next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
located in town walking distance to almost anything Super clean and friendly staff
The weak points
Front desk staff, no dressers in any rooms, cheap plastic chairs on balcony
Certified

Nice place; staff/ service: room for improvement

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-30
I return to this place because this is the only option in the town of Sosua - where you can find the small town friendly atmosphere with the busy night life...
The hotel is OK generally, but for the whole week they were unable to repair my TV... i have complained every day and i got lot of promises. The last was that after my travel they will replace it... so be careful with room #145 :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, nice, comfortable
The weak points
No drinks and food in the night, staff is more interested to entertain themselves then to serve you in the bar... (do not watch how they "wash" the plastic cups you are drinking from...)
Certified

Resort is in Transistion - Watch the Food

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-07
My wife and I booked a two week vacation - after looking for this resort as we had been here 12 years ago. We booked a deluxe garden view room back in July. When we first arrived - we were informed that our room had been upgraded and that to experience all the amenities (VIP) it would cost another $200.00 - we accepted. We arrived on a Wednesday - the resort was being renovated and our building had just been re-opened - The room was brand new! I did notice mold on the bathroom fan and later realized that it is because they have their air conditioning set for 20degrees causing the room to be moist all the time - the sheets always felt moist. The resort itself is beautiful - many pools, choice of restaurants and a theatre. We ate at the buffet for our first three days- it's all bottled water - the eggs ,meat, and vegetables were not kept to temperature in the steamers and hot plates on each meal occasion (my wife's background is Food and Beverage) which was concerning. On our first Saturday there my wife and I both came down with what she thinks was e-coli infection. We were bed ridden for three days and still continued to be near washrooms after that as the diarrhea was uncontrollable. The staff were very accommodating and tried to help us as much they could. I recuperated while there but my wife continued to feel ill and didn't start to eat until January 5th when we were home! Her experience caused her to stop eating and she lost a total of 10 pounds. I would hesitate to visit there and think that in a couple of years when they have all the restorations completed and the operations are more organized I may try it again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is beautiful and the staff are great! It is nice to be able to leave the resort and go into the local town which has a great bar - The Jolly Roger - that is owned by a couple from London, ON, Canada. If you go definitely check them out!
The weak points
Be extremely mindful of the temperatures of the food from the buffet. If it's not hot - don't eat it!
Certified

Awesome Resort!

, Owen Sound, ON
2019-11-03
This was our 12th visit to Casa Marina and it didn't disappoint. Renovations are great. Good food, lots of variety ~ Good drinks (but only until 11pm unless you go to the disco) ~ Rooms are basic but clean and roomy. As this is low season the a la carte restaurants were all done in 2 restaurants but all were open. Two red flag days out of 14 days for the beach. A great place to relax and see some of the Dominican culture. We will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Food Good Drinks Rooms kept very clean. Beautiful Gardens
The weak points
Not a lot for kids to do here.
Certified

2nd time and can't wait to go back!!!

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-20
Casa Marina is a wonderful resort. This was our 2nd trip to the resort and are planning on coming back in April again. The staff are wonderful, the resort is clean and the food and drinks are great. We had an upgraded room with a king bed. Comfortable bed and nice balcony. The one minus this trip was only 1 pool open due to renovations. We made due. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean room, good food and friendly staff.
The weak points
Only one pool open due to renovations.
Certified

Ok

, St Catharines, HA
2019-03-04
The hotel has many pretty views of the ocean. the resort is a up hill climb so not great for elderly or anyone with leg issues. the maids are amazing the entertainment staff most friendly and fun but a few that dont really want to be there. the front desk staff very rude and unfriendly. been going to Dominican for over 10 years and finding the people not as happy to see you like they use to. a lot of Russian guest here more than 70 % and they drink a lot and dont wait in lines they go right in front of you. I would go back to try again but if find something else this would not be an option. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
views and pools
The weak points
customer services with a smile
Certified

I am happy to stay there.I can recommend any one

, Ottawa, HA
2019-02-06
I like to see more service after hours like early morning tea and coffee [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
every day cleaning room excellent stuff
Certified

Cass Marina Resort

, Brampton, ON
2018-12-03
Second time at this resort. Rooms were great ground level pool side. Buffet food was quite good something for everyone and more. Beaches were a little too wavey due to weather but when calm they are lovely. Close to local shops and restaurants walking distance or a short cab drive. Would recommend and return myself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sun fun

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-02
this hotel was very nice . the newer section looked 4-5 stars.The reservation restaurants are all at the same location ,nothing special about the food,best to eat at cafeteria.Night shows are held outside with limited seating. There is no gym and no main great lobby area to sit in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff,you can walk into town from this location.
The weak points
There are 2 beaches,although they warn you to get out f the water on main beach,never seen life guards.Beach shut down some days because of high waves.Disco plays lousy music.
Certified

Definitely a nice place to spend vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2018-11-21
This is our second time at resort. Had a little difficulty with reception getting a decent room. Food, beaches, resort are excellent value. Staff are absolutely wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beaches, location, food, pools.
The weak points
Reception not very helpful, could not get a room on main floor even though we have knee issues. Desserts could be improved, too much of the same. Shows need a better home. No free wifi, signal could be improved. Free safes needed. Room renovations needed
Certified

Casa Marina Beach and Reef Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-07-06
good value for the money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The Jacuzzi's overlooking the ocean are very nice.
The weak points
During the off season (we went in June), the locals come for the weekends. It becomes very loud and crowded with lots of unruly children.
Certified

Casa marina reef resort

, Hamilton, ON
2018-06-14
Hotel was clean. Stayed in a garden view room, non renovated. They are doing a lot of renovations with in the hotels. Food was very good , alot of variety, pools down by the reefs were excellent, staff friendly and efficient. First time ever staying at a all inclusive resort. Would return to this resort in a minute. There is a sister resort right beside each other so you can use there facilities. Very close bus ride from airport to resort.

Entertainment was very bad, basically none, everything was done by staff or people staying at the resort, no swim up bar nd nothing open 24 hours.

Very close to downtown about a 2 minute walk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food good, lovely clean grounds, close to town and airport
The weak points
Bathroom

Good trip

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-18
Its was a plesant trip.
All was good.
Only thing was some of the bartenders didnt seem they wanted to be there.
No warm smile . Slow.
Other than that it was plesent place. Good lodging. And really quiet at night.
Surprising for a big resort.
Would recommend it highly.
Going back knext year....
Doug. Ontario. Canada0 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Value for the money

, Georgetown, ON
2018-02-18
Adequate vacation for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort and rooms were kept clean.
The weak points
Not enough bar tenders. Lack of clean towels but room towels were sufficient.
Certified

Great time!!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-01-15
Very clean!! Had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Poor

, Midland, ON
2017-04-24
I will never go back to this place again. I ask for no kids and there was. It's no fun by your self [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Non if your one person your treated like your not there
The weak points
Food same food for lunch every Day hotdogs hamburgers fries
Certified

PROS & CONS

, Thornhill, ON
2017-01-01
PROS

* Beach very good
* Food good
* Maid who made our room was very nice
* Staff at restaurants were friendly
* Lots of places to sit/lie down in sun and shade
* Room was clean and everything worked
* Good value for the money
* Pool never crowded/very nice
* Lots of pools
* Little jacuzzi pools along shore were nice
* Lots of security kept guest safe
* Very nice BBQ dinner at Sea Scape restaurant
* Free wifi - it works best first thing in the morning when most people are sleeping. During the day, there are too many people using the wifi so very slow or no more ip address. However, it is free. Saw that some people were able to make calls over wifi.
* The place seem to be wheelchair and stroller accessible

CONS

* Smokers paradise - everyone smokes and you get to enjoy second hand smoke, no matter where you went in resort
* Very noisy - you can hear everything happening in the hallway
* The entertainment was very very bad
* Coffee and beer were weak
* Bartenders were very unfriendly
* Front desk staff were also unfriendly
* Sosua - did not feel safe
* Very poor signs on resort - it took us forever to find our rooms
* Saw a huge cockroach at the omelette station. If you see one during the day, that mean there are many many at the resort. Obviously they are aware of the problem because on Dec 28, they asked us to leave the room for 2 hours to fumigate the rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points: Nice beach and nice view. Lots of places to catch the sun or lie under the shade
The weak points
The weak points: The staff were very unfriendly. The cockroach sighting was nasty. The hotel should tackle this problem very aggressively. Fumigating the rooms are fine but the kitchen needs more. I recommend AdvionCockroach gel bait
Certified

Great vacation

, Jordan Station, ON
2016-04-27
This is our 3rd stay at the Casa Marina Reef. A request for rooms on the ground floor/pool view and close to each other was confirmed. We were very happy with our stay. The quality of the food has improved since our visit last year and we did not leave the resort to eat elsewhere. The bar tenders were very liberal with the alcohol and the drinks were tasty! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The ocean front location! Beautiful ocean views. The grounds are well kept and overall very pleasing.
The weak points
Internet access, but as we totally disconnect, was not a concern for us.
Certified

CASA mARINA BEACH RESORT

, Halifax, NS
2016-04-13
The rooms at Casa Marine Beach Resort at very bad, rooms have not had any up grades since we were there in 2000. It was our 8th time at this resort. Everything else is about an 8 on the scale. The grounds and the staff are great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Cheap Vacation

, Mulmur, ON
2016-04-02
If you want a relaxing vacation with not a whole lot to do then this is the place. Check in and restaurant staff were very nice. There is nothing for kids to do at this resort. Excursions cost a lot. One thing I was not impressed with was the beach towel staff. I had my towels for 2 days and when I went to exchange them I got a hard time from him and he was very rude. Food was okay but repetitive. 5 days would have been long enough. On our last day there my sun glasses were stolen and when I asked people if they had seen anyone near our chair they just said staff from the resort. So keep your stuff locked up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sun
The weak points
Bathroom and air conditioning
Certified

So-so

, Peterborough, ON
2016-03-30
Rooms need updating, staff seem overworked (one bartender and very long lineups make guests and staff irritable). Why not have entertainment at 8 or 8.30 so everyone can attend? Wifi too weak to log in, even in hot spots. No refill of water or pop in rooms. Tiny lobby gets extremely crowded and hot when groups are checking in and out. People arguing over beach umbrellas because thete is no shade and not enough umbrellas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport. Price.
The weak points
Understaffed, not enough beach umbrellas to provide shade, bugs in bathroom.

As expected, good trip overall

, Burlington, ON
2016-03-30
The good:
Food was good
Pools and beach are great and very accessible
There was some confusion over if the bike tour was running on Good Friday or not, and when we talked to the manager he reinstated it that day just for a small group of us, so that was appreciated

Free wifi in the (small) lobby with a code they give you at the front desk, but pick quiet times to even attempt getting on.

10-15 min drive to/from airport, so not far at all

The not good:
One of our party saw cockroaches at night in the bathroom, but the rest of us did not (though, we weren't looking for them..)

They fumigated the rooms once during the week

Travel representative at the hotel forgot/did not warn me that we would need to pay an additional fee for transit when arriving at one of the day-trips. Make sure you ask if what you're paying covers everything.

Make sure you have correct change for ANYTHING you want to buy. Everyone (except the hotel store) will tell you they have change until they get your money in hand, THEN they will say, 'I don't have change, I'll just give you more instead-- ie another braid (happened to us offsite), or an additional picture with the parrot (happened to us ONSITE at the hotel, which I think is WORSE).

Rooms are generic, and could use some drawers etc to put away your clothes.. but we weren't there for fancy rooms, so was ok.

Some of the vendors that set up shop a couple times a week at the hotel are VERY aggressive.

Can't drink the tap water (in DR in general) but they have lots of places to refill your bottles.

The bartenders seem overworked and there are often lines.

Overall, a good trip though, the weather was beautiful.

I would go somewhere else next time for a change though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, weather
The weak points
Aggressive people not giving change when they already have my money in hand
Certified

Needs some help

, Brantford, ON
2016-02-17
The resort itself is awesome, but the staff need to learn to smile(other than the maids, who were always friendly). Front desk staff and waiters and bar staff are not friendly or helpful. The room we were in (gardenview) needs alot of updating. Overall ,this could be a great resort, they just need some staff shakeup and some updates on the rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and pools
The weak points
staff and rooms

Therapeutic getaway!

, Orangeville, ON
2016-01-26
The reefs with the majestic waves crashing against it was music to my ears as was the beach's surf! The room was bright and clean... The food, so nutritious especially the breakfast-yummy. We enjoyed all that this resort had to offer! We were there last April for the first time and is now our FAVORITE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sea, sand, sun...nature's beauty! Good food. All, was top notch...
The weak points
Not enough staff speak English..
Certified

Casa marina Aug 2015

, Peterborough, ON
2015-08-12
Good value for the money .. could use upgrading /new linens and beds. Reception not well organized, need more control over lines /cutting in etc. Staff did seem overwhelmed not in control of procedure. Check in required 3 returns to front desk check was cumbersome and over complicated. However a good holiday and satisfied with value would consider returning to this property for the same money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to airport /gardens and exterior property well maintained and clean. Lots of bars and quick access to amenities
The weak points
Rooms really need upgrading.
Certified

Vacantion 2015

, Oshawa, ON
2015-07-22
It was more then i expect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice vacation!
The weak points
We will be beak...
Certified

Superb

, Orangeville, ON
2015-04-09
One of the best resorts for its beaches and activities! Loved the reef with its magical splashes.
It was an awesome holiday...no luxury but nature at its best! Would go again 'today''. lol [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds...beaches.
The weak points
None...
Certified

Great holiday

, Mississauga, ON
2015-04-08
We enjoyed everything. Hotel was good. Food and entertainment was awesome.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome place loved it...
The weak points
Locals on beach on weekend
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Sosua's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Families Singles Seniors Beaches Couples

Are you a hotel owner?