Emotions By Hodelpa Playa Dorada

Emotions By Hodelpa Playa Dorada
3.893.893.893.893.89
3.89 based on 110 reviews
#5 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (86)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Family vacation

, Pointe Claire, QC
2020-03-15
We had great time on our vacation.
our company was great, we travelled with family and friends - 13 in total.
we enjoyed the restaurants, the pool and the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the coffee bar was great, pool restaurant was excellent most servers were friendly
The weak points
our room leaked, water was coming in through the ceiling, we had to ask for water daily instead of having our fridge stocked
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Oromocto, HA
2020-03-07
Our stay at Emotions was wonderful. The resort itself is the perfect size. We never had to wait in a food line!!!! The staff was very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great size, friendly staff
The weak points
would like to see a better seating area at the reception. The only one they have was outside infront of loud speakers. We love to play games and cards and found there was no spot for it.
Certified

Emotions

, Oromocto, HA
2020-03-01
the hotel was wonderful.. we had a swim up room with a view of the beach.. Two out of four rooms in our building/pool flooded during a tropical rain but we were safe and still swimming.. there were some negatives about the resort but were very small.. there was no bar or place in the lobby to even get a drink of water.. on a rainy evening people gathered in the lobby and then had to leave... ice cream was not always available in the buffet and the price in the coffee shop was really expensive.. the rooms were big, modern and clean, the staff was awesome, the beach had some seaweed after the storm that blew through but they were out there early every morning raking.. there were some venders on the beach but they know how to take no for an answer.. lots to do for children, especially love the skating rink and climbing wall.. its a 10 min walk to the mall which is also inside the compound so felt completely safe walking there,, would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff was great, the rooms large, modern and clean..the beach was beautiful.. the buildings were close and it was just a 3 minute walk everywhere from our room.. the food was good, well cooked and well presented.. we loved it and would go back
The weak points
the selection of food in the buffet was repetitive, no bar or place in the lobby to get a drink, no place to hang wet clothes or towels b.. we got 2 free 15 min massages which they would not combine into one half hour she tried to upsell the whole time
Certified

Enjoyable vacation

, Longueuil, QC
2020-02-13
We enjoyed our stay at the resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-beautiful beach that you can also go for long walks, friendly, warm staff, excellent choice of fruits and vegetables
The weak points
-bathroom has poor lighting and ceiling leaked after rainfall -you will be approached by vendors but in general they leave you alone after you say no
Certified

Great stay

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-01-26
We really enjoyed our stay@ Emotions By Hodelpa Playa Dorada. Staff very friendly. Rooms are very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best Vacation

, Mascouche, QC
2020-01-16
I went to Emotions by my self, i love to take my vacations alone to relax!! And i thought it would be a normal relaxing week but no!LOL! It was seriously the best resort ever!!
The staff make you dance and participate in all kinds of games all day and night! Theres prices to win and its just really always fun to see or participate in what they have going on!! There was partys on the beach, at the resort, in the club every night there was something!! Its never boring!! Because of the staff and they're games and programs i learn to dance a little bachata and then all week i danced!! It was so much fun!!!
The food was very good! I dont eat meat but i eat fish and all week i ate salads, shrimps, fish, eggs, fruits and lots of veggies and everything was perfect!!
I also dont drink any other milk then almond milk and they had some!! First resort Ive been that had almond milk.
There is plenty of chairs on the beach or at the pool and theres always entertainment everywhere!!!
DJ Aris is super good making sure to keep us Dancing
Jose, Javier, Richie and all the other geo are super super good!!! They work like crazy to make sure we have fun and that we are having a good time!!!
I took the adult room and it was worth it to me to just be a little more quiet sometimes because you have an all adult private pool and bar and also the 24hours room service is very good!! Theres something for everyone from pizza and fries and buggers to salad with salmon and pasta!!

Because its part of 14 resort Complexe we can go out of the resort and still be safe! I did go out with other visitors though i think thats still important no matter what!

My trip was seriously perfect so much so that im going back in February!! This is the first time im going back to a resort 2x usually i like to try new but i seriously felt like home away from home... like i said the Staff is amazing and they make you feel like part of the family... like friends!! Im going back to relax by the beach, dance and have a good time!!!

Oh almost forgot, the room is super super clean also modern and bathroom also very clean!!
the cleaning ladys they are also perfect my room was spotless!!! And they were super sweet with the staff!!

The wifi is PERFECT everywhere even on the beach i never lost connection!

Hope this review helps people to take a decision!! I know i chose this resort based on some reviews on this website!! ☺️☺️☺️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Food Beach EVERYTHING!!! Lolll
The weak points
It was december so we had a bit of rain!! But not the resorts fault!! Lol

The all inclusive with Extras.

, Blainville, QC
2019-04-23
General impressions on the Hotel / complex are that it is a small resort with a great location, some points really need improvement. greeted with a welcome cocktail upon checkin was a nice touch, rooms are spacious and comfy. The minibar included was barely filled to our needs, 4 people in the room only one water bottle, even after asking for more. The beach is incredible but lacking shady areas (palapas or other), we had to rise early to secure a shaded area. The site mentions 5 restaurants, should be noted that only 4 are available to all, the other is reserved to Elite members, which is one the irritants of the resort the salesperson were constantly trying to lure us into that meeting to access elite members. The eternity pool is yet another extra on the resort, accessible only to spa clients or for a 10$ USD. One huge positive, the animation crew specificaly Jose Ortiz, and Adelfi De La Rosa were incredible. They went over and above to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The 3 a la carte restaurants (no reservation needed) we're nice a plus for the dominican one. Should also be noted that on weekends floods of local tourists come in and things can get very crowdy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, beach,
The weak points
pushy sales tactics, below par service.
Certified

Unsafe

, Saint Catharines, ON
2019-02-13
All my money was stolen from my locked safe in my room. $1350 US and $50 Canadian. Hotel doesnt claim any responsibility. Police report done. After telling people to be careful my room door was left wide open. Trying to scare me for talking. I was scared. Same food little vaiety. Service poor after money stolen as no tips. Kids splashing And taking over bar pool. Terrible vacation . False advertisement VIP swim out will get free massages etc. We got nothing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather was nice firat 4 days. Staff good until my money was stolen
The weak points
Thieves poor service. Intimidation small variety of food hotel false advertising sweep theft under carpet

Emotions Playa Dorada

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-31
Hotel was beautiful. All very new. Grounds will be even nicer once all the plants have had time to grow. Staff very friendly and accommodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We traveled in low season so service was great. No waiting for anything. Buffet food was in its own room with automatic doors.
The weak points
The buffet needs to get real bacon for breakfast.
Certified

Vacation

, Belleville, ON
2018-10-25
Had a great week wished entertainment was a bit better but we wanted to relax and that's what we did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Emotions

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-22
First impression, immediately following our registration was being accosted by hotel representatives wanting to sell upgrades. The hotel was more interested in getting those upgrades than keeping guests happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment crew were excellent, very friendly and engaging. Nice Beach and pool areas. Grounds we're kept very clean
The weak points
Constant harrassment by hotel representatives wanting to sell "upgrades". Poorly designed rooms - shower flooded when used - staff did not care. - food mediocre
Certified

Vacation at Emotions by Hodelpa, Puerto Plata, DR

, Montréal, QC
2018-01-24
We booked 2 rooms are the Emotions by Hodelpa resort, Puerto Plata from Jan 9-16, 2018.
In general, we are happy with the time spent at this resort. The staff is very helpful and polite, they greet us every time with their hands on heart. Many thanks to Alba from the Reception dept. for helping us to change our rooms (due to problems with the bathroom).
The resort is under renovation so it is understandably that you hear some noise early in the morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Food quality: bufret with good variety plus 4 à la carte restaurants. - Staff service: excellent in every way. - Beach cleanliness: very good. - Rooms: newly renovated, large and clean
The weak points
- Shower and toilet: in one of our rooms, water runs out from the shower area (gap under the glass wall). Some toilets don't flush well and or leak. - Tennis court: only 1. in some areas, balls either bounce wildly or don't bounce, needs top sand
Certified

Wonderful Modern Resort

, Oakville, ON
2018-01-07
My wife and I spent Dec 26th to Jan. 2nd at the New Emotions in Puerto Plata. Bottom line the resort is wonderful. As other reviewers have said the resort is still not totally renovated yet, we might have been the first to occupy our room in the adults only section. Check-in took a long time. Make sure to pack shorts or swim suits in your carry-on. As the resort is still a work in progress some things didn't work. We got the room service menu on day three but the phone didn't work to call in an order. The elevator broke on day five so we had to walk up 4 floors to our room for the rest of the week. The newly renovated rooms are very nice. The walk-in shower is huge, it had three shower heads! There was premium toiletry products, and hot water was plentiful. We loved the adults only area with its own pool and bar. It was quite for relaxing and small enough to get to know your neighbours over a pre-dinner drink. Food was very good. We ate at the a la carte restaurants mostly and really liked the Dominican restaurant and the Italian restaurant. The New Years feast in the buffet was outstanding. The beach was very good, and we always managed to get loungers with shade. The staff at Emotions is outstanding. They went out of their way to help and accommodate the guests. Roberto, the bartender at the lounge bar (it didn't have a name yet) was terrific and introduced me to some wonderful Dominican rums. Will we return to Emotions? Let's just say we spent the last couple of days scouting out future room locations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New modern rooms Great staff and service Very good food
The weak points
Renovations continuing Long check-in process

Pleasant surprise!

, Laval, QC
2018-01-03
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Check-in took a bit longer than expected. Our room should have been ready at 3pm, but was only available 2 hours later. Resort was nicely renovated. Big pool, hot tub, swim up bar and kids pool. The restaurants were all very modern with contemporary design flair. Food was delicious. Very fresh with plenty of choices. Rooms were spacious and beds and pillows were very confortable. Since the hotel was so new, there was still lots of construction going on (unfinished rooms, construction crews, holes in walls) and one restaurant on the beach was not yet open. It was interesting to see new things added every day (new path lights, new garbage cans/ashtrays and new pool chairs/tables added around the pool area). There were activities for the kids: arcade, tennis court, rock climbing wall, batting cage and archery. There's also a golf course and shopping mall right around the corner of the hotel. The animation team was great, very energetic and friendly. Our room (building 19) was right next to the theater where they hosted the shows every night. It was extremely loud at times and the music and cheering would keep us up at night. The beach and pool area were very clean and were not overcrowded during our stay. The beach beds (huts) had built in USB ports and plugs to charge any electronics which was a great touch! Only things which we found disappointing were the leaky roofs in the buffet restaurant and several areas around the resort. The showers were badly designed and water would leak everywhere on the floor. The toilets had no water pressure, and ours would clog up almost everyday. Our TV had no signal and it took 2 people almost an hour to figure out how to fix it. The signal dropped again a few days later. I didn't bother calling them back to fix it. It would have also been nice to have coat hangers in the closet, but I'm sure they would have brought some if we had requested them. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definately go back once all the little hiccups have been fixed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Buffet Ergo's was delicious! Seafood was outstanding! - Beach snack bar was very good! - Access to wifi throughout the resort, even on the beach! - Coffee shop was very good! - New and clean resort - Beds were very confortable.
The weak points
- Bad shower design. Water would leak everywhere. - No water pressure in toilets. Would clog up alomost every day. - No TV signal upon arrival. Took alomost 1 hour to fix and signal dropped again after a few days. - Leaking roofs throughout the resort
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020