Bahia Principe Grand San Juan

Bahia Principe Grand San Juan
3.633.633.633.633.63
3.63 based on 534 reviews
#14 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (107)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Better than I anticipated, good for the price

, Sydney Mines, NS
2019-04-04
Check-in, room cleanliness, food quality, drinks and entertainment very good, beach was good, the 3 pools were nice, 1.25 hour bus ride from the airport a little bumpy, quiet resort during my stay, WiFi slow and one had to re-activate such every 24 hours, disco dark/dreary with mostly Spanish music being played, the circus show at the theater was amazing, late check out was available for $35 U.S. until 6pm, left luggage/valuables in the room/safe until departure, weather ok with a few light rain showers during the week, jacuzzi's near pool not working during my stay, low lighting in my room, had to let water run for 5 minutes or more to get hot water to shower [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The secluded beach just west of the resort was pretty cool for exploring (1 - 2 km) with the palm trees over the water (visually pleasing), the circus show at the theater, food quality
The weak points
Guests playing their portable music next to the pool, less attentive service at the buffet, mostly an older crowd (perhaps a plus), Disco could be better re music and lighting, some naggy vendors near beach

February 29, 2019 review

, Consecon, ON
2019-02-13
Beautiful resort located on the Atlantic Ocean. Employees were very polite and friendly. Very quiet resort not over booked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful setting. Always kept neat and clean. Staff very friendly. Loved that it was very quiet and in a remote area.
The weak points
Although there was lots of variety of food, it was the same food over and over again. It was not tasteful. Desserts were yummy.
Certified

Very enjoyable week in the warm sun!

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-29
Very positive! The grounds are well kept. Rooms clean, beds comfortable and minibar serviced everyday. The resort is large but well laid out to reach the central facilities ( Buffet, Restaurants, pool, lobby etc. ) within a short walk. The service was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was plentiful, tasty and very well prepared. We received excellent service from waitstaff, maid, reception, aquatic center, entertainment etc. really wonderful. There are plenty of things to do & visit outside the resort but nobody wants to tell you.
The weak points
The resort is isolated and the airports of Porto Platta or Samana are far. AC Rep & tour operator let you believe that theirs are the only tours available and push for expensive tourist taxis. Unless you know about local alternative and leave on your own.
Certified

Awesome Stay!

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-29
This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. We traveled as a family with our two sons ages 18 and 15, along with another couple and 16 year old. This is the first Grand Bahia resort, so it's older, but it is extremely clean, and the grounds are beautiful, we would definitely return. I loved that it isn't in a string of resorts, it is off by itself, the town of Rio San Juan being about a five minute drive down the road. It was about 1 hour 20 minutes from the Puerto Plata airport. The food and drinks were good. The main buffet has theme nights, the Mexican and Asian were the best. There is always something to eat. We only did two a la cartes, the Italian and Japanese, the Japanese was the better of the two. The Mediterranean is strict on men wearing long pants and closed toe shoes, so we passed on that one. They book up fast, so you really have to make your reservations as soon as you get there. The staff was very friendly. The main pool was hard to get loungers at, we did our first day, but most of them have towels on them before 7am. There is a smaller pool on the other side of the main buffet restaurant, and we had no problems getting loungers at that one. There is a bar at that pool (not swim up), and washrooms, it's quieter, no organized activities, but we really enjoyed it. We aren't beach people, I did walk it a little bit. Vendors would walk the beach, but I only ever saw two or three of them, and only one asked if I wanted to shop, I said no thanks, and off he went, no problems. I did get some sand flea bites one evening when I went to the beach to take sunset pictures, but during the day I had no issues, and I wasn't bothered by bugs anywhere else. My 15 year old and the 16 year old played a lot of tennis, badmitton, mini golf, pool, etc. The private road into the resort is lined with little shops, about half of them are occupied, so there were lots of places to buy things. We did one excursion, we booked with the guys by the main pool, directly with the resort, and they were very nice, we had a great trip. They took us to a church, a school, a farm, a really nice beach, a waterfall to watch locals jump 70' into the pool below, and lastly to a cave lagoon called Blue Lake. It was 9:30-4:30, all day, leaving right from the resort with the first stop 10 minutes or so up the road, well worth it. We got a 20% discount plus they charged us for six people and let us have one free, so my family saved almost $100Cdn from what I had expected to pay. The only free wifi was in the lobby, and evenings it could be hard to get on, but I always got connected eventually. You could get wifi in your room or throughout the resort for extra charge, but we didn't bother. We weren't there to be on the internet all day. There were tons of tv channels and quite a lot in English. Before bed time we could always find something to watch. We didn't watch all of the evening shows, but the circus show was really good, and the Dominican Night show was as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean! Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good food and drinks. No climbing, a few steps in the lobby, buildings mostly two storey and a few three storey. Beach is a few feet from the pools and restaurants.
The weak points
Sometimes the buffet restaurant was a little slow clearing tables. Free wifi throughout the resort would be great instead of just in the lobby.
Certified

Not what we expected not a 4 star

, Gatineau, QC
2018-03-06
Would not recommend this resort. This resort needs to renovate. Paint on lobby ceiling is peeling and light cover is falling off. The grounds are not clean, lights near rooms and on the pathway are burned out and not replaced. Hotel staff is lazy and not very friendly unless money is handed to them. I asked for a glass of Iris cream,was told there was no more, and ignored by waiter. Ring around the tub and toilet upon arrival in our room and still there after a week. Found a huge cockroach in my room and although promised to fumigate was never done because bug was there the next day. At the beach restaurant called Casita Blanca birds are eating in food at buffet and staff are not ushering them away but just standing around talking. Food at buffet is ok but always warm. Two of the three a la carte restaurants are fair. Italian is terrible. Main pool is too small for number of guests and people are fighting over chairs. Beach is nice to walk but cannot swim in the ocean, water is brown and muddy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None.
The weak points
Cleanliness, beach, pool, food, rooms, temperature.

Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

, Lasalette, ON
2018-03-04
Excellent resort to spend quiet time or get involved in activities. It's your choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are many, from the staff, front desk, rooms, meals, restaurants, cleanliness, grounds and so on. It is not over crowded. Would recommend this resort to anyone.
The weak points
One will have to search because if there is a weak point they are few and far between.
Certified

Bad Experience..bad vacation.

, Pooler, GA
2018-02-17
Very BAD EXPERIENCE......My room 1717 was getting water from the ceiling.Then I found out that the rooms right above mine,1817 and 1917 were actually confined due to leaks from the rain...so who knows for how long this had been happening and how much mold actually I and my family have been exposed too.I have videos and pictures to prove. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They have 3 major or main restaurants..the food is not as good as we expected..also you have to reserve ahead of time..like 1 or 2 days and dress formal...on the resort by the beach..give me a break.
The weak points
Everything,they have salesman that bother you with the time share part of the resort...also they dont serve you drinks if you dont go for them..and the beach is ugly..no waves...and more salesman all over trying to sell you something
Certified

Great Resort

, Terrebonne, QC
2018-02-02
Rooms were good, food was excellent, beach is not great. Sand bugs are a real thing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Food, beautiful resort- clean and large.
The weak points
Long drive from airport (1 to 1,5 hours). Beach is hard packed brown sand, with big water breaker bags to protect the beach... and sand fleas ... so not great. One central pool... no rooms have "pool view" ... and a couple small pools.
Certified

Not classified as a 4 star

, Peterborough, ON
2018-01-08
The hotel was not up to date, cracks in the ceiling and could see everything under the door as critters could get in. No coffee pot in the room, no hot water. We also had ants in our room, so you had to shake everything out before you put it on. I would class this as a 3 star. The only thing good was the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Awful

, St Johns, NL
2017-12-30
Hotel was ok, staff were absolutely horrible. Staff in Punta Cana, Mex, and Jamaica are much friendlier. Staff here were slow, seemed annoyed, lazy, never smiled...
We also paid for the expensive wifi for 7 days and never worked...for anyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches Food
The weak points
Staff and Wifi
Certified

Servitude at its Best--Bahia Principe Rio San Juan

, Kingston, ON
2017-10-28
The greatest leader in the world is the one who serves the best, not the one eager to be served, and the people at The Grand Bahia Principe Rio San Juan take servitude to the next level.

When we seek out the good said good will reveal itself unlike anything else. There is always a weak link to be found, however, at this particular resort, they are few and far between. In all fairness, only after 5 stays will this truly begin to reveal itself as the most authentic ever...because it continues to repeat itself over and over and over again to the point where this group of Dominican people become like family, and not just another vacation spot. What an incredible feeling this is to experience...especially when you know that you know that you know, that these people are for real...a rarity indeed...and an experience to treasure for a lifetime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Unbeatable servitude ... Always striving to meet the need ... Excellent from management Marta to greeting host, Herberto to El la carte reservations guy, Waldy, to Maid-Service
The weak points
Could I find some weak points...sure...but because there are so few and petty...not worth it...super clean affordable place to vacation
Certified

Good

, Toronto, ON
2017-08-26
its my second time at this resort. Lots of changes since 2011. Water pressure was not enough. No nightly colourful shows. But did changed suites for closer one to the lobby due to a condition. No WELCOME BACK banner on the door nor no champagnes ( like we had in some other resorts). But I do love the Bahia chains - will definitely go to a different location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not really good

, Toronto, ON
2017-08-26
we had NO hot water to shower with for 7 days, we made several complaints at the front desk but nothing was done. AC was not cold enough. Its a OK hotel but need some upgrading. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bahia Principe San juan

, Toronto, ON
2017-07-29
Is a very nice hotel with very nice people and stuff I've been going there for years it had its ups and downs, I think it could just be better a bit more of qualities of the drinks they offer and bit of the services, too many dominicans on the weekend I just think why why not allow ppl from outside to come to the street party is full of Dominicans anyways [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time in dominican

, Garson, ON
2017-06-30
We had a wonderful time at the Grand Bahia Principe San Juan and would definitely return. The beaches were beautiful. Proximity to excursions was great. The food was delicious and the staff was exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff, rooms, food
The weak points
Long walk from room to lobby. There's cart transportation but it wasn't very consistent. The walk was enjoyable though. There were no bars at our end of the beach although one was under construction. Again a minor weak point
Certified

March Break 2017 with Graduating class

, Ottawa, ON
2017-03-26
We enjoyed our week very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very well maintained. The resort is a good size. The food and entertainment were very enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Animation crew, variety at the buffet, evening show, activities.
The weak points
Insufficient Gluten free and high protein vegan food, need more 1$ bills available to facilitate tipping. Rooms could have more modern furniture and bathrooms. Rooms should come with a safe for free. We paid extra for reliable Wifi.
Certified

People of The Dominican Make this Hotel Resort

, Kingston, ON
2017-03-25
People of The Dominican Make this Hotel Resort everything it is.
Tourists might keep in mind that the reality the staff live is nothing like their own; they don't get holidays...and they live to serve...unlike tourists who live to be served. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff of this resort as with all Latino run resorts, is the best and most genuine
The weak points
There are none, unless of course we are too concerned about HOOKING UP WITH WIFI because of how important we really are ... lol ... or some other trivial matter
Certified

Review: GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE SAN JUAN

, Quyon, QC
2017-03-16
Overall, the vacation/resort was great. It was our 1st time to Dominican Republic. Staff and people in general were very pleasant and accommodating. People genuinely seemed happy and they were happy to deal with the patrons. The food was great. The Air Canada vacations representative was courteous and helpful. Some tings to improve:
- Resort needs some TLC. For instance the main lobby needs paint on the ceiling as it is peeling. The main pool is faded "yellow" and should be repainted (it gives the illusion of having yellow liquid in the pool).
- The room bathroom could have been cleaned a bit more thoroughly. Especially the sink/counter top which was not cleaned during the stay.
- There were never any facecloths to replace existing ones.

The other surprise I had was that only a few staff were fluent in English.

Lastly, about 600 canadian high school student s arrived during our stay. We were lucky enough to not have many of them stay close to our hotel room, however some we not that lucky. It did make for some very busy pool/lobby areas. It would have been nice (and appropriate) had guests been informed that such a large group of students were arriving. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff happiness and willingness to help. Food Safety
The weak points
Grand Bahia Principe "Privilege" sales pitch ... the representatives were pushy. We did not attend their sales seminar. Hotel TLC Bathroom supplies
Certified

A Good Time. Some Improvements Needed

, London, ON
2017-03-08
I will detail some items I feel of importance:
Weather: amazing. Warm everyday. Some rain, overcast but plenty to do in rain or shine.
Transportation: Flight was great. Ride to hotel a bit long (1.5 hours). Will look for closer to airport hotels in the future as I can spend more time on resort than travelling to and from.
Hotel: Oldest one in Bahia Principe line. Is easy to navigate.
Rooms: 2 story villas and were decent. Always clean. Fridge stocked daily with water, Coors Light cans and pop. Bathrooms were fine. Always had water pressure with hot water. No english channels on the tv. Doors are locked with an actual key - no swipe cards. Keys have your room number engraved in them, so be sure not to lose them or leave them behind. We did not get a safe key. Our electronics were left out, personal belongings, etc and were all fine...until the last night. $100.00 USD was stolen from a zipper compartment in back pack in our room while we were at dinner. The CAD and all belongings were not touched. We did notify security.
Rooms could use a coffee maker/tea as sitting on the balcony in the morning would have been just that much more perfect.
Grounds: were beautiful. Older mature hotel, so the landscape is indicative with mature palms and plenty of greenspace. The hotel property is approximately 1 km from one end to the other. We really enjoyed the walk as restaurants and bars along the way or walk along the beach. Walk is accessible for those with mobility issues as ramps are accessible anywhere an incline or steps may be present. Request a room closer to the lobby if you do not enjoy long walks.
Food: was decent. Buffet was a HUGE dining area. The food was plentiful and they themed it nightly for dinner. Food was okay. A good alternative if you can not get a la cartes. A la cartes are much better of course. I didn't enjoy the Japanese very much. Ambience was lovely but food was only ok. Italian was good and only restaurant with espresso available. Mediterranean was by far the best. Wonderful menu, excellent food and service. Only unfortunate is that the restaurant is in the middle of the hotel rooms. There is no view looking out at gardens or the ocean like the other 2 a la cartes.
Drinks: espresso only available in Italian or in Lobby bar from a self-serve machine. Regular coffee however was delicious and available in all restaurants. No mimosas available in any restaurant, only at the pool bar when it opens at 10:00 am. Wine was not good at all. I couldn't drink it. Was lucky to see Smirnoff available at the pool bar a couple days, but it quickly disappears. Remainder of adult drinks are local which are fine (beer is presidente), but international drinks are advertised as available which we found out they are, but for additional price. I spend enough to go away, I don't want to have to pay a surcharge for international drinks. 24 hour drinks is also advertised. This is not true. The hotel bars close at 11:00. The disco just out on the driveway is open to 2:00 am.
Service: was good. Most workers are kind and smile.
Beach: this resort is located on the side of the north side of the island. Anyone complaining about brown sand obviously does not know where they are. There is no white sand or turquoise waters. No one ever claimed there is. I always enjoy the ocean so it makes no difference to me. The beach could use a good rake, but it was overall warm, clean shallow waters and plenty of chairs available.
Pools: clean and plenty of chairs available.
Wifi: terrible. only works in lobby, but very slow island service, therefore competing with all others for the limited access. Took me 3 days to finally get on. Yes I want to disconnect but I still prefer the access when I want it.
Timeshare: its called premium club or something. They do have perks like separate pool, premium lounge, premium drinks, much better wifi, beach, etc. We did get to experience this for a day.
I went with a friend, however this resort caters to all demographics and all travelers. Many families, seniors, couples, singles, spring breakers. Felt safe and secure throughout the resort, the airport and even in Rio San Juan where we did a day trip on our own. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather Plenty of chairs at pools and beach Mediterranean Restaurant coffee
The weak points
Drinks Lack of modern amenities (coffee makers, swipe keys, automatic safes) No international drinks or 24 drinks as advertised (without paying a surcharge)
Certified

Best value in Dominican

, Woodstock, ON
2017-01-28
Staff are so friendly and engaging in this lovely setting [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, water activities on the beach, sufficient beach chairs for everyone,beach and pool
The weak points
Inconsistent room cleaning times. Bus ride from airport was 90 min delayed until 1 am
Certified

Amazing resort experience

, London, ON
2016-04-30
We had an amazing time at this resort. It was rainy most nights and overcast most days but the pools were great and the animation team kept everything upbeat. Henrry aka Cappuccino was amazing as well as the rest of team. Always funny and we enjoyed the dancing and daily bingo! On our first day we found Aneida at one of the bars and she was so amazing that all week long we looked specifically for her. We enjoyed the wide variety of food options and looked the opportunity to plant coconut trees on earth day as well as being able to have fresh coconuts to enjoy the milk and meat! I would recommend this resort to all my family and friends.
The only weak point about this resort is the beach itself. There are man made sand dunes in the water to, I presume, decrease the undertow, but as a result the beach sand is a grayish colour and the water is not clear. The beaches that we visited en route To the resort and on our excursion had beautiful yellowish white sand and turquoise waters. I really wish the resort was also like that. Other than that no complaints. The temperature of the ocean and the depth of the water at the beach were perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, activities/entertainment, and all the staff are amazing. This resort has a great atmosphere about it and is very well maintained.
The weak points
The beach sand and water. My boyfriend and I went with another couple and we have many bug bites, they did not, so I would recommend bringing a decent bug spray. Never saw any mosquitos though, just tiny fruit fly like bugs that bite
Certified

My experience in the Dominican Republic

, Etobicoke, ON
2016-04-14
Beautiful resort but I wished if the food was much better. Wi-Fi and spa services were disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort with nice rooms. Always clean and well maintained.
The weak points
Food, Wi-Fi and spa services. Lack of bars and bartenders around the main lobby/pool area.
Certified

50th birthday get away

, Townsend, ON
2016-04-10
We went to the resort for my husbands 50th without the kids. I had sent an email prior to arrival letting them know the date of his birthday. I told them at check in and when booking our restaurant on his birthday. I told them he could not have chocolate due to migraines.....we received chocolate. No notice of his birthday it came and went. Had they emailed me back I could have brought my own decorations for the room.
The resort is big but spread out so no one is crowded any where. There is a large buffet. They were constantly refilling the food, cleaning your table and getting you beverages.
The beach is long and large with a lot of lounge chairs so you never go without.
It is a very clean resort.
A lot of entertainment nightly which was away from the guests rooms so you didn't have noice at night. The nightly set up was nice.
none of the guests received a wake up call which is very important on check out days.
The staff was not friendly at check In and the check out he didn't even speak to us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice spot on the beach daily. A lot of drinks to choose from. Clean well maintained resort. The grounds staff work very hard to make the resort beautiful.
The weak points
Check in staff not friendly. NO wake up calls although they write it down. Check out staff would not speak to you at all......just check you out and that is it. Keep in mind it is a buffet so some of the food was very repetitive,
Certified

One of the nicest

, Moorefield, ON
2016-03-30
beautiful place, food was good checkin was terrible, pools fun, beach not so good but its the north side! the bus ride to and from airport is an hour and the are crazy drivers hang on! Air conditioner broke one night,called front desk twice spent the night sweating, didnt come to fix til next morning. meeting lots of nice people is the best thing about our trips. disco and street dance are must for the dancers [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we love quiet pool but fun in the main pool with swim up bar
The weak points
arrival check in was awful took us over 2 hours and 1 hour crazy bus ride from airport
Certified

3.5 star other hotels in chain better quality

, Clifton, NS
2016-03-22
A good hotel for price paid. Beach is nice to walk on but swimming is just OK . Rooms older but good shape. Doors do not fit tight to frame. Food is good with nice variety. Pools nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service.
The weak points
Location to airport. Beach water.
Certified

Bahia Principe

, Whitby, ON
2016-03-21
As expected. Food was decent. Service was good. Beaches were nicer in the Diamond Club section. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Pro

Great Vacation

, Waterville, QC
2016-03-09
The food was good and the rooms were clean. Loved the option of different pools as the resort is so big. Nice shuttle service to transport people around who have difficulty walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool & food
The weak points
I missed my Keurig coffee!
Certified

Great Experience

, Angus, ON
2016-03-02
We just returned from grand Bahia Principe San Juan 02/29/2016. The resort is very nice, well maintained grounds, this is our 3rd time staying with this resort chain and will not be our last. The entertainment team is GREAT. The beach is not white sand, more dark but still nice. The food however is over the top, you will never go hungry, and the food variety is delicious. The employees work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay! The young Girl Dahiana who runs the kids club is fantastic,my daughter is very shy, but Dahiana made her so happy. She does a wonderful job with the kids and mini disco. Overall great experience at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Staff
The weak points
Beach not so great
Certified

Great vacation

, Sunderland, ON
2016-02-25
Good food, great facilities, wonderful service, friendly staff and lots of them available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Private beach, great staff
The weak points
Distance from offsite excursions
Certified

Good hotel

, North York, ON
2016-02-19
i went to GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE SAN juan and it was very well spend,the maid were very friendly and I will recommend any one to this hotel at anytime,


GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE SAN JUAN [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020