Puerto Plata Village

Puerto Plata Village
3.223.223.223.223.22
3.22 based on 49 reviews
#15 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Resort does NOT match star rating or pictures

, Oakville, ON
2019-01-05
I am trying to post this review in as many websites as possible so the next traveller will not be mislead by advertising as I was.

I have travelled in the Caribbean and stayed in 3-stars resorts, even in Cuba, but this one was my first (and hopefully the last) disappointment. For those in North-America, the actual state of this resort was even below any road motel I may ever stayed at. So, it is not worth the price you pay.

The Puerto Plata Village resort might have been a 3-star in the past but now it is no more than a 2-star.

I requested my travel agency to assist in moving my family to a decent resort when its rep showed up for the orientation on the day following my arrival and wasted one day worth of my vacation before that could happen.

Here are some of the « highlights »:
- No access card to the room door and only one key was offered to the four of us.
- The room was crying out for some renovation
- There was mold in the washroom
- The beach was not at a walking distance
- There did not seem to have enough food for all guests
- The wine served came from a plastic bottle

Unless you are looking for motel-like accommodation, I would not advise staying at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Many

Older but worth the money

, Camrose, AB
2017-02-05
The hotel is older but has been somewhat maintained. Some of the guest complained about not having hot water. We had hot water but no blow dryer in the rooms. Overall were clean. The food was fantastic and had two a le carte restaurants that were both great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was great and the entertainment was good
The weak points
Not on the beach and the front desk staff did not understand complaints.
Certified

No Frills !!!

, Cornwall, ON
2013-03-17
Dated but clean and efficient. we were 2 adults so we got we we expected. A comfortable room on the 3rd floor with a balcony- soap, hot water & fresh towels everyday! Price vs value- it's a good deal, in the end, we got the same beach, the same sun, the same beer & the same rum that other payed in a 5 stars !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff & service- !!
The weak points
It is dated- not dirty but in need of some fixing. Tiles are broken in places and uneven- cracks near the pool, etc.
Certified

Ok

, Niagara Falls, ON
2013-03-08
Hotel is very dated but is clean and frendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and friendly
The weak points
Room,bed and pillows very old
Certified

As expected

, Kingston, ON
2013-02-10
It was pretty much as we expected, not a bad value for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff do their best with what they have to please you and make it a memorable vacation
The weak points
Food gets boring
Certified

Good value for your $

, Montreal, QC
2013-02-09
Everything was as expected or better. If you're looking for value, this is the place. The suites are well worth the extra money as you get a whole lot of additional space, free in-room internet and they're comfy and clean (after all, I don't want to buy the furniture!). Food was well prepared and plentiful, service excellent, as good a beach as you'll find in Playa Dorada with plenty of chairs and beach club (bar and food). There was simply nothing to complain about! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Free internet in suite, friendly, helpful staff, bacon twice a week!
The weak points
Not on the beach, but regular transportation to and from. Don't choose this hotel for the nightly shows.
Certified

Randy's Rant!

, Stephenville, NL
2012-11-27
I've stayed at a lot of the resorts in the Playa Dorada area. This is one of the better ones. The food was excellent and the room was fine. One leak from the bathroom above which was corrected quickly. Staff were friendly and the resort is conveniently located near the mall and the car rental agency. The beach is across the road. They have a shuttle service for the beach. Free internet access. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, location.
The weak points
Starting to show it's age.
Certified

Good Bye Winter

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-06
A fun place to be. I have returned many times. The staff are friendly and courteous, the animation/recreation staff are the best and so full of energy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We have returned to this resort a few times as we have made friends with the animation staff. They are full of energy and very friendly and always make our trip great.
The weak points
It is the Dominican so everything happens "Minana" so if there is a repair to happen, never expect it to be done right away...it is the Caribbean culture, lol
Certified

Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2012-01-30
Very enjoyable. Mostly Europeans. Food was good, staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were really great.
The weak points
Rooms are very dated.
Certified

My trip

, Guelph, ON
2010-04-26
It was great. Liked the food, service and activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
activities
The weak points
no fridge in room not a lot of night life at the hotel
Certified

Puerto plata village

, Prince Albert, ON
2010-03-22
loved it all, the service, the entertainment, the food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the animators
The weak points
the rooms
Certified

Trip # 6 at the resort...

, Cornwall,, ON
2010-03-20
Days are fixed for à la carte restuarants- could not try the Dominican restaurant. Less people working(pool/grounds) = gone down a bit from the years before. 3 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food/drinks. Close to Puerto Plata city- in Playa Dorada complex.
The weak points
A few more cut back this year. Very limited for the à la carte restaurants with fixed day(s).
Certified

The People Make it A Great Experience

, Brampton, ON
2010-03-16
For the price I paid, I felt content with the resort. The resort was really nothing special, but the people totally make up for it. The Animation Team was amazing, they were so much fun and they always encouraged people to get involved. The bartenders were so much fun and always happy to see you. There is a a shopping centre and club (Coco Bongo) about 10 minutes away. I would only recommend the club for anyone under 25. There are alot of locals there and it tends to draw a younger crowd. although i did go to the club a couple of times, I would not recommend any girls to go there alone. Go in a big group or go with some of the employees from the resort. They look out for you and protect you from the jerks. For a 3.5 star I was really impressed with the food. Book the a la carte Italian, it was delicious. I had heard that there were lots of ants in the rooms, but decided to book here anyway. I was prepared though I brought along those Raid Ant Traps and didn't see any more ants after day two. The ants are teeny tiny (nothing to be afraid of). If you love the beach, I would recommend you pay extra and go to Punta Cana or Cuba, but if you just want to have some fun, have some laughs, enjoy the sun and meet some great people, at a reasonable price Puerta Plata Village is a great value for your money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly & Fun Animation Team Friendly & Fun Bartenders Waiters & Waitresses, Quick & friendly service The pool - big and spacious Disco - Big & spacious Food = Excellent for a 3.5 star resort
The weak points
Must take shuttle to beach Beach water is dirty Disco during the week is by the pool and not many people would participate Not very clean resort
Certified

Great Deal

, Magnetawan, ON
2010-03-10
The hotel is located very close to the airport. They say it is only a fifteen minute drive and it is!
We were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. This hotel was so much nicer than we expected as it is only rated a 3 star.
The beach is located across the road and down a path; but, there is a shuttle running constantly and it is only a five minute walk. There is a snack bar and bar located there, so it isn't a problem to pack up your towel and a book and stay for the day.
Very sandy, nice beach.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a small hotel so the service always seems so personal.
The grounds and rooms are very clean and well maintained.
The Italian and Mexican A la Carte restaurants are both very good.
The buffet always had a large selection at every meal.
There is a snack bar open at off times with burgers, hot dogs and pizza. All very good.
Unfortunately, we did have a few days of rain, but the staff was out quick with board games and interactive activities to keep people amused.
The value is great for this hotel.
I highly recommend it.
We had a great experience and would certainly return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location Cleanliness Friendly Staff Great food
The weak points
Can't think of a thing
Certified

Great time

, Ottawa, ON
2010-02-24
this was a awsome resort,the bar and animation staff are so nice and friendly, the food was also great u could find a little bit of everything,the rooms are clean and spacious overall we had a great vacation and looking forward to going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we loved the bar staff
The weak points
the beach
Certified

Puerto Plata village resort

, Debert, NS
2010-02-20
We stayed 2 weeks. I would prefer to break up the next trip to a different spot for the second week as you get tired of the same food and entertainment. We had an incident with the staff coming into our room after we left for the day. They used our bathroom facilities and one day forgot their toothbrushes. The management felt it was voodo!, not staff. That was a different experience. Overall we got what we paid for.Although the rooms in the past has radios, fridges, and coffee makers, irons or boards and now have none unless you pay for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet, clean rooms and grounds
The weak points
not on the beach, but did have a cart to take you there. not much entertainment. other resorts have outside entertainment and although this resort had some, it was mostly the staff of the resort.
Certified

Great for the price.

, Caledon, ON
2009-06-17
This was our second trip to the Village. We stay there when we travel with our children. It is very safe and comfortable. It is very much a family resort and not a place for singles or folks looking to party. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bungalow rooms
The weak points
Food selection
Certified

Trip # 5 at PPV

, Cornwall, ON
2009-06-17
Always a pleasure to go there. Great food/ Great Staff/ Great Location! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service
The weak points
Only one pool and 500 meters from the beach
Certified

Riu Mambo

, Aurora, ON
2009-06-17
Loved the hotel and staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was great as was the beach.
The weak points
The food - especially the Italian dinner we stood in line to book for 1/2 hour.
Certified

P p village

, Brampton, HA
2009-06-14
pretty good place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean resort
The weak points
the buffet items
Certified

Awesome

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-12
It was a lovely stay with friendly and efficient staff and pretty little casas to stay in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool area was fantastic, the falls were an added treat.
The weak points
The room was a little small and without a balcony or porch
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020