Blue Bay Villas Doradas

Blue Bay Villas Doradas
3.693.693.693.693.69
3.69 based on 210 reviews
#9 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (27)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Pleasant stay

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-18
Had a nice time. Love the bird/fish pond area. Also has shuffleboard & minigolf. Music is too noisy/walls too thin - definitely need earplugs to sleep, even on far side of resort. Staff all very friendly. Good blackout curtains. Some electrical sockets would let wider plugs fall out (bring a narrow splitter just in case). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet was decent and a la carte restaurants were very good. Storm surge messed up the beach for a few days, but then it was cleaned up and is nicely big. No trouble finding beach lounge chair, some challenge with pool lounge chair. Massages were great.
The weak points
Free wifi was very spotty/slow. There's a paid high speed though. A few fixtures/windows in the room were in bad shape. Pools are a little small for swimming, but good for volleyball. Walls/windows are thin, and event music was way too loud.
Certified

So much fun!

, Gainsborough, SK
2020-03-07
We had so much fun at this resort! The staff were super friendly, food was good and met so many nice people! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The activity staff were amazing! Veronica, Waldo and Jorge were so much fun and full of energy! Willie was awesome to get us to our room quickly and the lady at the front desk was very helpful when we upgraded our room. Hector made great omelets!
The weak points
It rained for 3 days but it didn't stop us from having fun. The resort is aged and needs some upgrades but the grounds were immaculate and beautiful
Certified

Okay for price range

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-16
Overall it was a lovely week. The beach was so close and well maintained, the Playa Dorada creates a well-protected area for swimming. The room was nice but rough around the edges (chipped paint, broken tiles). The wifi worked very well, and we were in one of the farther buildings.

The food was plentiful and well made if bland. I added salt or hot sauce to everything. My partner and I were vegan and mostly had no issues eating. There were always veggies, beans or stew. Eating at the restaurants was a bit trickier and required a lot of back and forth and even then they still added icecream to our dessert.

The resort itself was well laid out, with many places and pools to relax at. I chose this specific resort as there seemed to be a lot of activities (Spanish lessons, pool games. etc) and we ended up being very turned off by most of them. The activities seemed forced, right down to daily "forced choreography" of the staff to the same song every day. Ultimately it was these displays of consumerist activities that made us decide to never do this type of vacation again.

But if resorts are your thing, this place is great and the location is amazing.

. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, excellent beach, well spread out grounds, never felt crowded.
The weak points
Low-quality liquor and juice. The food I would describe as bland, generic, western diet food. (Burgers, hotdogs, chicken breast, white rice).
Certified

Decent Service, Nice Beachfront, Actual Resort Ok

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-07
Blue Bay is a decent all inclusive if you can find a great deal - the staff were very friendly, the food is decent for a stay of seven days or less (the rotating menu might get old fast), and the beach area is fantastic. However, it's one of the more dated resorts I've stayed at. The rooms and pool areas are in dire need of a facelift, and there are constant repairs being done.

I think having more in seat service for drinks at the pool and beach would have gone a long way in upping the experience. Same with having a retrofitted wifi system. One device per room is NOT enough, and the service was spotty at best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beachfront area, with soft rolling waves and warm water. Great staff service (at the bars and restaurants -> no roaming drink service). Good air conditioning in the rooms. Decent food for the Dominican.
The weak points
Very dated hotel, with a pool and deck area in need of major renovations. Dated rooms that are also in need of an overhaul. Terrible wifi setup - I ended up turning on my roaming for all 5 days to remain somewhat connected to home...
Certified

Tired resort

, Keswick, ON
2019-12-16
The place needs a facelift, our second time here and it has gone downhill rapidly.
Service staff are great, Mgmt terrible.
Too many vendors on the beach. Food is decent but bland, bring hot sauce with you.
I doubt we'll be back for a third time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service staff, waiters, bartenders and housekeepers especially Dio the best bartender.
The weak points
The front desk staff are insolent, incompetent and refused to return the copies of our passports.
Certified

Very nice holidays

, Mississauga, ON
2019-05-16
It was a great experience everyone was very helpful spacially the servers Rafael and Antonio, the food has good taste. The mexican buffet was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Wifi

Very disappointing

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-09
Hotel is small with some good employees who knows how to make customers happy except the from Desk Manager Liliana we asked her for a late check out because I was sick and she had very bad attitude and said they was not rooms available I feel she didn't try to help me.

It was very hard to get an extra a la cart reservation for the steak restaurant for our last night because restaurant was over booked on a hotel with a few guests, food at the buffet was always the same hot dog and hamburger.

I ask for Wi-Fi password at the reception and they told me go to the mall that was unacceptable not internet access in a four star resort.

Room was very clean and the beach was perfect, restaurant staff was very friendly.

Animation guys did a very good job, Santiago from circle one was very kind. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Not Wi-Fi

Relaxing

, Oro Medonte, ON
2019-04-28
Just returned from Puerto Plata and the weather was hot and sunny. I went with a friend that had surgery 7 months ago and wanted to relax. This is a quiet resort and overall was OK. The food was good, the drinks domestic only unless you want to buy name brands. We used the gym daily and that can definately be improved. I loved the nice long beach walks and no seaweed when we were there. The staff were mostly friendly and overall a pleasant stay. My rating is 3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, spa pool area for quiet, long beach
The weak points
Gym, gym equipment
Certified

Blue Bay Vacation

, Kettle Stony Point, ON
2019-03-01
Clean, comfortable, great pools and the nature sanctuary was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was great, staff excellent, many activities scheduled if you want to participate and the animation crew welcoming and enjoyable to all age groups.
The weak points
More shaded areas and loungers needed. Internet should be included.
Certified

Blue Bay Villas Doradas

, Newmarket, ON
2019-02-07
We arrived the evening of Jan. 26th. The resort is in the Playa Dorada beach complex which is a gated (with security) area with about 12 hotels. This was about 20 mins from the airport. The check in at the hotel was smooth. Initially we were disappointed with how basic the room was (they need some updating) however we managed for the week. Buildings 2, 3, 4 are close the the evening entertainment stage and are quite loud at night. The resort is very clean and immaculately kept. You can walk the entire resort in minutes.
The buffet food was excellent (omelette and pasta stations are a must). We went to 2 of the 3 a la cartes restaurants (Seafood and Asian) and they were very good as well. We were told the steak house is not really worth it unless you want to pay $30US for the Angus upgrade.
The beach is very wide and you can walk for an hour in each direction. There are vendors on the beach and they can become a bit cumbersome (just a friendly no thank you and they leave you alone). We stayed around the main pool area with the swim up bar. The bartenders are great. Make sure you bring a Bubba and some US $1 bills for tipping. They greatly appreciate that.
The staff are fantastic and extremely friendly (everyone speaks English) One night housekeeping forgot to leave extra toilet paper for us and we mentioned it at the front desk and by the time we got to our room (1 minute walk), there were 2 rolls waiting outside our door.
We also did the 1/2 city tour which is a must. The cable car up the mountain is breathtaking. I highly recommend it.
All in all this was a fantastic resort. If the rooms were not so dated I would definitely give this resort a 4.5/5 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Food Excellent Customer Service, friendly and helpful staff
The weak points
Standard room is very basic and needs some TLC Pool area tiles in and out of the pool need some TLC No Wi-Fi included (very expensive to buy it and only works for 1 device)
Certified

Ok

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-05
Overall the trip was good! Food was good, drinks were great. People were great. The resort is in need of an update. Only bad experience was the WIFI people - Don't give them your money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very good deal.

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-03
The staff working at the hotel definitely made the difference in my overall impression of the hotel. They were so kind and helpful. Junior was amazing as well as Eddy and the staff at the beach bar. The standard room was a bit small with no dresser to put your clothes but not a big deal. The beach was absolutely wonderful and you could walk for miles in either direction. If you went west you would find beach after beach, if you went east it was another hotel but still a very nice beach. I found the salespeople on the beach a bit much in that they tend you bother you quite a bit and I noticed they don't hang out as much at the other resorts. It's very annoying when you are trying to relax and you are asked 15 times in a single day if you want a massage or excursion or scarf and handmade object. i fully understand people have to make a living but it gets a bit much when you can't relax and they are hanging around the resort all day at that beach. Our room flooded and we moved to a room, still standard with a balcony and that was much more enjoyable. So overall we would go back and stay but I would pick another resort that was quieter with less vendors if I had to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff made the difference. Lobby and food and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet pool.
The weak points
Too many vendors not only trying to sell to you but staying in the vicinity and talking all day. The resort really should ensure they move on and not hang out there at the beach all day.
Certified

Perfect Vacation Spot

, Riverview, NB
2018-12-15
This was our second visit to Blue Bay Villas Doradas.
This is a small, older adult only resort with beautiful mature vegetation, a lovely beach (no, it isn't white sand but is the colour of the sand really important??) and clear warm water with a sandy bottom. It is immaculate, public washrooms are kept sparkling clean and there is continuing maintenance work quietly taking place. The food is very good and served at the appropriate temperatures. What makes this resort so special is the staff. Everyone at Team Blue Bay is so warm, helpful, friendly and pleasant, it makes you wonder why every place can't be like that. It is impossible to single out any particular employees because they are ALL wonderful! We were "welcomed home" by everyone on this visit and were treated like royalty. We had originally planned a different destination for our spring vacation, but contacted our travel agent on our third day here to switch us back to Blue Bay! We feel at home, comfortable and welcome here.
Our room was located in Building 7, a quiet area near the Spa with its own pool. Most of the daily activities are carried out by the 2 main pools, where it is livelier. There are beach activities as well and nightly entertainment. Blue Bay Villas Doradas offers something for everyone with the best customer service ever. Having travelled extensively throughout the world, I am giving Blue Bay well deserved high marks! Thank you Team Blue Bay for another fabulous vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service, Cleanliness, Beach, Grounds, Food
The weak points
* Internet is through an external provider and can be quite expensive. *Circle One Vacation Representatives can be annoying but just tell them a firm "No Thank you" and that will be the end of it.

Nice hotel with good Staff

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-15
My experience was absolutely satisfactory, good people and service was excellent, some points could improve like internet access, includes more activity at night time, more variety of fish in the main restaurant, however Staff is very efficient and work hard to please customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and Guest Service
The weak points
Need more variety of food

Not what we were expecting

, Milton, ON
2018-12-13
I have to say we normally go to cuba and tried this for a change. the bonus it was a small resort which is nice but unfortunately the food wasn't the greatest and there wasn't much of a selection; the resort was clean and well manicured; beach wasn't bad but what was a complete turn off was all the vendors that harassed you everytime you entered the beach; the staff were pleasant however the day we were checking out we could see the cleaning staff cleaning our room before we were to check out and in the process threw out items that were on the bed (not worth much but that's not the point wasn't impressed with that at all); the entertainment was basically all based on the quests there were only 2 nights when there were "professional" entertainment; beaches are nice but much better in cuba

My boyfriend and i have decided that we will stick Cuba in the future as it wasn't the worth the price [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
size of the resort; location to the airport
The weak points
limited food selections; vendors on the beach and harassed when on the beach; snack bar and 24 hour bar on the beach; entertainment
Certified

Pleasant experience

, Ottawa, ON
2018-12-13
The hotel is for adult only, I had a great time the only complaint is that I had to pay 60 dollars for WiFi that un aceptable in all resorts I have visited was included. Staff is very friendly specially Yeneiry in Circle one, she was very helpful. Food was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Wifi

Pleasant experience

, Ottawa, ON
2018-12-13
The hotel is for adult only, I had a great time the only complaint is that I had to pay 60 dollars for WiFi that un aceptable in all resorts I have visited was included. Staff is very friendly specially Yeneiry in Circle one, she was very helpful. Food was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Wifi

Anniversary wedding

, Beloeil, QC
2018-12-11
Amazing people. Good food. Rooms could be better, we enjoyed trip to Paradise Island it was very funny, things I did not like was I had to pay for internet access, safe was included in Air Transat package.

The service was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Internet access

Nice holiday in Dominican Republic

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-10
The hotel is small and very easy to get every thing you need. Staff is very friendly and polite, rooms need a renovation they are a little dated.

Beach la nice and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The employees
The weak points
Rooms

A new experience

, Hudson, ON
2018-12-03
Arriving early check in was very easy. Victor at Reception was pleasant and explained things in detail. Was given a towel card and bracelet while waiting for my room and was able to access the resort while waiting. Francisco at Guest Services definitely goes the extra mile to accomadate and his smiles and personality are an asset. Food has been good but selection could be more. Breakfast should have yogurt and fruit salad!! A la carte is delicious and staff too notch in the The Jade and The Grill restaurants. Pool is fabulous and all bar staff are great. The rooms are outdated but kept clean. Niurki Tavarez cleaned my room and always made it up nicely. The animation staff was friendly but I would like to see different types of games and activities that are not all “ in the pool”. Nightly shows were enjoyable to watch. I would like to hear more Dominican music, Bachata, Salsa and Merengue playing throughout the Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Awesome place

, Brampton, ON
2018-11-29
good clean no issues friendly people [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time all inclusive traveling

, St. Albert, AB
2018-11-20
The hotel itself on line shows alot of their prime rooms so don't be surprised when you get there and the room is not as pretty as it looked on line, although because it's so beautiful there you only use it for sleeping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location and an easy walk to the beach and ocean, buffet style eating at the main restaurant was always changing and delicious. Having a store on location was also handy. People were very friendly and easy to communicate with.
The weak points
Circle one people were annoying, Going to the beach and having town workers pushing products was extremely expensive and they don't take no well was annoying, No free wifi or safe
Certified

Vacation

, Spruce Grove, AB
2018-11-20
This was our first tropical all inclusive trip. Overall we both enjoyed our stay! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, food and drinks were great, and we enjoyed all the extra exclusions the resort had to offer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Access to the ocean, and the near by mall for shopping
The weak points
The "non-timeshare" people at the resort and the vendors on the beach
Certified

Review of resort

, Montréal, QC
2018-11-15
Room outdated and dirty. Customer service of Asian restaurant and front desk very poor [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
N/a
The weak points
Room, customer service of Asian restaurant and front desk
Certified

7 day all inclusive stay at Blue Bay Villa Doradas

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-28
We very much enjoyed our stay.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
Love Doradas Beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach you can walk for miles. Plenty of lounge chairs...Resort was half full Food was good...nothing special but tasty. Foam pool party on Sunday afternoon was awesome. ...Santos at the beach bar Is the best.
The weak points
Needs some TLC (a little paint would spruce it up). Buffet had limited amount of choices
Certified

An enjoyable experience

, Clarenville, NL
2018-09-19
My friend and I stayed at this resort 7 times and each time has been an enjoyable experience the staff is very friendly and will do everything to make ones stay there a memorable one ,, Ines the manager Johnny at the front desk are a pleasure to meet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The animation team Raul George,Chocolatè,Alfredo,Yolanda and Veronica are the best, very hard working,and friendly, the resort itself is dated but very clean and comfortable if one wants a relaxing vacation this is the place for you
The weak points
Rooms are dated but very clean buffet is not the best but one can always find something to eat

Beautiful Hotel

, Stoney Creek, ON
2018-09-19
Just spent 2 weeks at Bluebay Villas Doradas!
Lovely hotel, beautiful landscaped grounds and exceptionally friendly staff. Food had a nice varity in buffet for all 3 meals, all 3 a la carte restaurants were nice with great service.
There is something for everyone here, whether you want a quite relaxing vacation or you want to get involved in all the activities provided.
I would highly recommend this hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and management-they really care and try their best

Best Beach View!!!

, Edmonton, AB
2018-09-13
My whole experience in BlueBay was relaxing and fantastic, just how i wanted, spending time at the beach with my friends.
Never had an empty glass, it was always full of beer, or anything we requested.
It was a nice and relaxing experience, just what i needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Impecable service. Employees always willing to help. Beautiful Beach view.
The weak points
Too much people selling stuff in the beach area. I think it should include internet in rooms

A good experience

, Acton, ON
2018-03-07
I really liked the welcome with a welcome drink and cold towels, it is a quiet hotel with a staff that offers excellent service, the food was great and special the losbter dinner at the beach organized by the customer service, thanks guys. I recommend asking for a room in the quiet area near the spa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff and the service
The weak points
taxi service and wifi

P & L Alexander

, Orilla, ON
2018-01-19
Beautiful resort. The entrance was elegant and welcoming.
Staff were accomadating and friendly, especially the housekeeping. Very clean and always tidy in our room and the grounds were kept immaculate. Pools were clean and inviting.
Entertainment was especially a plus, excellent shows and fun games to play. All the staff were eager to please, and they went that extra distance to do just that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Always something to do, very eager staff to help at a moment's notice. Crowd pleasers. Staff were very polite and fun to be around. Veronica was an absolute joy to be around.
The weak points
Buffet. Beef , every time served it was inedible. Very tough to cut and /or chew. Rooms need blankets. We did not have one upon checking in , but was given one upon request. 2 Hand towels need to be put in rooms. We only had one. Beach was dirty at time
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020