Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort

3.793.793.793.793.79
Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
#6 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
3.79 based on 604 reviews
Traveller pictures (284)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Enjoyable Vacation

, Halifax, NS
2020-03-09
The hotel is recently renovated from what we were told. Almost every aspect was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort location is fantastic, amenities were great. The grounds are kept in exceptional condition.
The weak points
Food not always hot. Could use more seating around the resort for those who cannot walk great distances.
Certified

A Great Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2020-03-06
Beautiful resort, lovely rooms, VERY clean .... pools are kept exceptionally well. Gardens are lovely. Staff is friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLEAN WELL KEPT
The weak points
Not enough staff and staff seems overwhelmed at times. Selections in the buffet could be increased.
Certified

?

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-23
more hot water machines for tea in the am. line up too long, Very nice
hotel other than my few complaints. Very friendly, want to please. The place
is just not a 5 star to me more of a 4 star. Room basic but clean and bed
terrific. Something is missing to make it awesome. Not polished enough.
More snacks in the store to pay for like chips, nuts, chocolate bars..
Very cute walk way to pizza and ice cream and other stores. Would recommend and would go back and reserve the rooms with the pools!!
So beautiful. Very casual place which I like. Italian restaurant did not have a Cesar salad so disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
see below as rated.
The weak points
bathtub dirty ring in tub, fan not working, water bottle supply not regularly topped up, bulb burn't out, trouble with key to safety deposit box had to call for all these inconveniences that should be checked before a new person uses the room.
Certified

Wonderful experience

, Mono, ON
2020-02-23
I would definitely return to this resort. It was filled to capacity though I never felt crowded. I loved the variety of restaurants especially the pizza, ice cream and specialty coffee alley.
Rooms were clean and staff were very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly and great variety.
The weak points
The buffet definitely needs more coffee machines and one coffee machine strictly for the staff who are serving tables. Also the specialty coffee shop should open at 6 am not 11am. Most days I only wanted coffee for breakfast and I am a very early riser.
Certified

Nice pleasant stay in puerto plata

, Pembroke, ON
2020-02-18
The hotel was renovated about 7 months ago. Very open and bright. The weather was great the week we were there. Your not bothered by vendors or for timeshares at this resort. Of the 3 A la Cartes the Japanese is the best and the other 2 were ok. If you like pizza goto the middle resort restaurant buffet as it is stone cooked. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay. Would return to this resort in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness, hospitality staff very friendly most of the staff speak good English, food and drinks.Easy to find beach chairs and plenty of sun and shade. Room nice and clean and good size.
The weak points
some parts of the beach, would need a bar on the beach.

Great spot for a relaxing vacation only!

, Everett, ON
2020-02-14
Vacation was good at this quaint resort as it was relaxing and love the fact that pool and beach are so close and easy to walk to. If you are booking, book in the luxury section (nicer rooms & buildings). Espresso machines in rooms are useless. They don't work properly and give you tiny amount of coffee. They should install regular Keurig machines so you can enjoy a reasonable cup before heading out. Food at the buffet is not great...same stuff every day. They need to have more variety and more Canadianized food. Corn on pizza is not appealing to me :) A la carte restaurants fill up quick and are just okay (better than buffet but I have been to better). If they improved the food then this would be a great place to return to but I won't be returning for that reason. Food is too important. Beach is great. Another problem is the towel hut NEVER HAS TOWELS. They say they are coming in 10 minutes...never replenished. I kept the same towel most of the week. Not ideal when you spend a ton of money on a vacation for you and your family. Also people save chairs early and they should NOT be allowed to do that. Staff should be removing the towels. You should be able to find chairs but it is difficult because people save them and show up hours later...NOT RIGHT. If hotel implemented and stood by the policy it would make a huge difference. You shouldn't be stressed on vacation and that was a stress I felt along with the food. Also, there are beautiful swim up pool suites but they are not available unless you are a vacation member. They say to inquire about a small surcharge to upgrade to this suite but then ask you to sit through a 90 minute orientation on their vacation club membership...BEWARE and then you don't get to have the pool suite! They sit empty which is absolutely ridiculous when I was willing to pay extra money for the swim up suite! Cappucino Café was great with their croissants and specialty coffee. Pizza parlour guy was not friendly or welcoming. Cruise ships visit port beside resort which was neat to see. My pros and cons. I think I will stick with Jamaica... :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Pool were close to resort...resort was easy to get around for walking. Relaxing resort.
The weak points
Food was not appealing. Staff were not very helpful when you complain. They look like they are going to help you, they speak Spanish to someone but nothing is done. No beach towels available. Chairs are saved so you can't find pool/beach seating easily.
Certified

Good resort for the price

, Saint Catharines, ON
2020-02-11
Great lay out of the hotel. Easy walking distance. Food was pretty good. Only thing I wish they played music the whole day at the pool bar as you could see people wanted to party but the entertainment team was on at odd times. All they would have to do is put spotify on and let it play. Also it needs a beach bar and a disco on senator side as it's currently at the resort next door and it doesnt have the premium liquor that you get on senator. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great lay out. Tons of shade on the beach if you want it. Foods good. Beautiful scenery with the mountains behind you and ocean in front
The weak points
Lack of music at the pool all day, no beach bar, lounge chairs by the pool are always taken so go early and claim yours, no disco on senator side
Certified

Fantastic Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-11
Love love love the Senator.
This hotel has a fantastic atmosphere and is beautifully updated. We stayed here when it was the Bachata and also loved it. That is why we returned.
Our room was great building 4 close to everything.
Food was very good. We really enjoyed the Japanese ala carte! Juan Pablo is hands down the most energetic upbeat Attentive server we met on our whole trip.
We were a little disappointed with the service at the sports bar. They were happy to take drink orders but food orders not so much. Would love to see more seating there as well.
Biggest disappointment was lack of shade by the pool!! NEEDS MORE UMBRELLAS!!!
I went to read at the pool at around 7am everyday and most of the loungers were taken and all of the umbrellas. NEED MORE UMBRELLAS!!! I can not stress this enough!
Will return again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Definitely would return!

, Petrolia, ON
2020-02-06
My Husband and I wanted a resort that we could go and relax at. This resort definitely allowed us to do that. It felt very tropical with palm trees everywhere. The property was spotless. Lots of lounge chairs on the beach with plenty of shade if needed. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We upgraded our room to the swim up, which we really enjoyed and would do that again. The food was plentiful and we certainly did not go hungry. We would return to this resort. Loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, grass was highly maintained, great drinks, rooms were really nice, loved the slippers and the robes, great staff, great quality for the price
The weak points
Wish a coffee maker would have been in the room

Senator Puerto Plata

, Sarnia, ON
2020-01-19
Nice but...a few issues...hardly anyone spoke English. Most hotel staff were not understanding of English language. Beach was course sand and never had a chance to swim in it .. every day was red flagged. Food was so so except the steak house was excellent. Entertainment was poor ...but the price was good and if u are a drinker (which I'm not) it would be great . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

My stay at the senator.

, Winkler, MB
2020-01-19
Overall a good experience,
Buffet Food could have a little more flavour to it, restaurants that we tried are very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
As I am Canadian and love hockey In winter, the resort could use more hockey in the bar and rooms. Plus more seating area for evenings.
Certified

Good value

, Kitchener, ON
2020-01-09
Over all our stay at the Senator was very pleasant. The hotel was very clean and well cared for with very friendly people. We would definitely look at returning again for a future vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good value for the money. Very well maintained and very pleasant people.
The weak points
Under staffing and the buffet didn't offer enough variation for diary needs.
Certified

Fantastic time

, Moncton, HA
2019-12-30
This was our family's first time going down south and was overwhelmed with the fantastic-ness of this resort. The daytime entertainment did a great job incorporating everybody in their activities. The buffet food was good but nothing special, except for Christmas Eve which was beyond expectations. The à la cartes were nice however we only got to experience the steak and Italian. My only complaint is the booking for the à la cartes is a little difficult. It would be much easier booking when checking in for the amount that is granted. The facilities were very clean and I never saw a maid not cleaning. The staff were also very friendly and helped however they could. Trying to get a sun bed was difficult unless you wanted to get up at 7:30am everyday to reserve it. Also there were times when there was tables available but no chairs or vice-versa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Clean Friendly
The weak points
Booking reservations Lack of chairs for tables Lack of sun beds
Certified

A beautiful resorts.

, Ravenna, ON
2019-03-28
We were in an older building but it was still nice. We had no issues with our room. If you bring a HDMI cable you can hook up your ipad to the tv to use Netflix, etc. The wifi in the resort is quite good. The room was clean as was the whole resort. The food was good. We especially liked the Grill/Bar by the pool. It was something different every day. The beach was a little steep and hard to walk on but well kept. We tended to stay by the pool. Everyone saved their pool chairs early in the morning. But there were always lots of chairs and umbrellas. I didn't hear any complaints about that. You can get decent coffee in the Sports Bar any time at all. Especially good if you're an early riser. The air conditioning in the room wasn't always consistent through the night. But I think there was an issue after an overnight storm. It was only one night. The staff were helpful but I think they were understaffed as there didn't seem to be enough staff at peak times in the buffet. All restaurants were good. If you want a reservation at the Tapinake bar you need to line up around 11:30am. They take reservations starting at noon for the next night. It was a great experience and meal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort and the grounds are beautiful. The stonework is beautiful. The views just gorgeous. There was lots of room at the pool.
The weak points
The service was a little slow.
Certified

Perfect Weather and perfect staff

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-28
We stayed for a week and had a very good experience. The staff is super friendly, very helpful and most speak excellent English. I've seen reviews were people say the staff is very unfriendly or rude, so maybe its the way the those reviewers asked for assistance that's really the issue. We treated everyone with respect and that's what we received in return. The Senator has a very good and very hard working staff in all areas.

When we checked in we were greeted by Angelo who, in my opinion, is one of the best customer service representatives that we have ever met. Angelo helped us with our room #1518, booking tips and with any minor issues we had. Hopefully the Senator will make Angelo the manager for the front desk. His brand of service is what you would receive at a 7 star resort.

The resort is super clean and maintenance is top notch. We had an issue with the toilet one night and it was fixed within an hour, and the maintenance man even returned in the morning just to check that everything was working fine. The lady who cleaned our room was outstanding, and we have very high standards for cleanliness and we were very impressed with housekeeping.

The only down side for us was the food. But to be fair, we hate buffets and avoid them whenever possible. So if you like buffets, please ignore my comments. The buffet had a decent variety, but I found most things cool, overcooked and dry. The fruit selection was excellent and the omelet station was good, so that's about all I had from the buffet. There was a large section of cakes and pastries that looked nice, but we never tried any so I can't comment on the quality. The best food for lunch is the outdoor BBQ that they set up everyday with different offerings. The BBQ fish was the best, but the ribs, chops and chicken were also very good.

That Asian restaurant opened while we were there, so we went. It was a thumbs down from me, but most people seemed to really like it, so I'll leave that to individual taste. The Italian was a big miss for us, as it was just like the buffet food with waiters. The only home run is the Steak House. Great food and a really great staff. If all the restaurants were like the Steak House the Senator could be a Foodie destination. The Pizza, Ice Cream and Coffee House were also big hits. Friendly staff, good service and not very busy. I agree with other reviewers that the resort needs signage. You need to go into the stores to see what it is, but I assume the signage will appear at some point in the future.

We stayed in a renovated room, and in reality it's just the old room with a coat of paint on everything. The bed was very comfortable, but the shower is small, cupboard space is good and they could use better lighting in the room. A/C worked well and we always had hot water and good water pressure.

Overall we rate the Senator very highly and I assume it will be even better in the future as they finish the renovations. I disagree with all the negative reviews that I've read, because we only had positive experiences to report. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Staff, super clean everywhere, beautiful scenery, great beach, nice pool, Steak House restaurant, animation team, housekeeping and maintenance.
The weak points
The buffet, Asian and Italian Restaurants. Nightly entertainment.
Certified

Great vacation

, Erin, ON
2019-03-17
After reading many reviews from different sites we went there Worrying we shouldn't had booked this resort..we had a swim out room and it was amazing. We got the room we had booked .for those with all the negativity shame on you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great room awesome food.relaxing
The weak points
Windy

Shiny on the outside...

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-26
Feb.17-Feb.24/2019

On arrival, we were blown away by how beautiful the lobby looked. However, we were not welcomed (no drinks or towels) when getting off the bus. The front desk staff were helpful in confirming our room, but getting to our room was another challenge. Navigating the resort at night time is difficult, because there are not a lot of signs telling you where to go.

Our room was not in theme with the modern, breathtaking appeal of the lobby. Dated furniture, flooring, and bathroom left us not very impressed. For the first few nights, our toilet would consistently stop working. Front desk staff were not very helpful in correcting this issue, as they only sent the handy man once out of the three times we called. Although cleaning staff do an excellent job of cleaning the room, the times at which they come to clean are very inconsistent. Sometimes it'll be as late as 3/4 PM or as early as 11 AM. Restocking toilet paper, Kleenex, shampoo, conditioner, only happens occasionally. We also did not get a welcome package or maps to tell us more about the resort or what's offered.

Overall layout of the resort is visually appealing, but practically poor. The way the paths are layed out on the resort make no sense, cutting across the grass can save lots of time, but it is not permitted. However, the ocean views from almost everywhere on the resort (lobby, tropical avenue, pools, restaurants, gym) make for a pleasant (long) walk. In addition, the resort is lacking signs. There are no signs above any restaurants, only small printed papers taped on the doors. There is no board to show what activities are planned for the day. There are no signs to show where tropical avenue is (the alley where the pizza shop, coffee shop, ice cream shop, and gift shops are located). There is no decor to inform guests about what's inside each shop. Overall, this creates an unwelcoming and unappealing/boring atmosphere.

Majority of staff were terrible. Unfriendly, unwelcoming, and down right rude. Especially the ice cream and pizza shop staff. They did not greet us as we walked in, and looked annoyed and not happy to be there, it made us feel like we were bothering them. Cleaning staff and bar/restaurant staff are not too bad, they were helpful and at least smiled at us. Overall, the experience with the staff made our trip worse. We would not come back because of the poor guest treatment.

Food was decent, but not as good as Mexican resorts. We only ate at the buffet, because we did not know what the a la carte restaurants served (lack of signs). Buffet had a pretty good selection of different foods (vegetarian options, no vegan options). My boyfriend got food poisoning when he ate the seafood rice, so stay clear of that. They had baked goods, salad bar, cheese, meat, desserts, pizza, and two stations that changed every day (main courses). Drink service was pretty good, however not enough service staff to attend to everybody. Some people went without water. Overall, food was not an issue, decent selection and tasted good.

The ocean is not very clear and has lots of rocks, seaweed, and sharp shells. Not the best beach. We stayed by the pools most of our stay. Also, pools are beside each other it is more like one big pool. Not enough lounge chairs, umbrellas, and tables. We are early risers and got up at 7 AM, so getting chairs was not an issue. But any later than 8 AM and you won't get chairs by the pool (old people get up early and take the best spots). We suggest getting new towels instead of tickets at the end of day and bringing them with you to your room, so you can claim chairs faster in the morning. The towels are not always available right in the morning. The two pools are medium size (more on the smaller side), can get crowded in the afternoon.

In terms of entertainment, daily activities are boring. Entertainment staff try to make the day more fun, but it is targeted for older guests. Also, it is very repetitive (mostly same activities every day). There are no water sports or sporting activities (except for one small beach volleyball court shared by both resorts). We did not stay up for night entertainment, because it wasn't advertised to be very exciting. In addition, we were offered various excursions by staff these were fairly pricy but it included zip lining, jet skiing, dolphin swimming, and hiking through the Dominican forest. Not very appealing.

The spa was not ready, but they had massage parlours on the beach (not very private). The gym is newly renovated, it contained three treadmills, a few ellipticals, some bikes, free weights, and stationary weight machines. There was also an enthusiastic fitness instructor to greet us at the door and was there to help with our workout. There were also towels and water if needed. Overall, very clean and well maintained facility. Best hotel gym we've seen!

A quick warning, there is a path that leads off the resort to another small beach and plaza. It is not part of the resort and not safe. We suggest only to go during the day or just to avoid that area. Located by the white fences overlooking the bay where the cruise ships come in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing hotel

, Terrasse-Vaudreuil, QC
2019-02-21
Had a great time here.. All new nd clean and great food. Rooms have nre beds etc. Great service. Thery try their best but slow at times.. New hotel. Highly recommend it. Been to 30 different resorts in Cuba and DR and one of my favs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everyting
The weak points
Smoking everywhere.

Not Spa Like At All

, London, ON
2019-02-13
I visited this hotel in a group of 15. Our first few days were okay, but as the number of guests increased, the service decreased.The buffet was not being restocked, and if you weren't there early, choices were limited. It was impossible to get water, or coffee, and forget even trying to get a drink.
All the restaurants are overly-lite, and very loud. There is no spa feel about having a meal here.
It was impossible to get into an a-la-carte restaurant unless you committed to standing in line, sometimes for over an hour.
The lobby area, and outside the sports bar are very nice. Beautiful sofas and seating and lots of it.
We had an Ocean View Luxury Junior Suite, and it was very nice. Great beds, towels, robes and slippers and a great view!
Unfortunately, our shower leaked into the bedroom and toilet room, and didn't drain away, so that when you went to take the next shower, there was still a lot of water in the bottom of the shower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beds, towels, robes and slippers. Resort is very clean and well maintained.
The weak points
Not enough staff and the restaurant areas are too loud and bright. Very limited entertainment.

Senator Resort Spa

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-09
For the most part my stay at this resort was quite enjoyable. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. The surroundings are very pristine - in other words "stark". A lot of white and brightness! I preferred the environment at Play Buchata with a more natural setting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and very efficient staff looking after rooms, etc.
The weak points
The buffet at the Senator is very good but the service is lacking. They seem to be very unsure of themselves and we had to request water and wine to be served. Unlike the Restaurant Roco where we were served promptly and efficiently.
Certified

The Senator Resort

, Barrie, ON
2019-01-29
The hotel was nice. The common areas were open and nice and bright. The buffet area was large and staff great. Views were very nice and proximity to the Cruise Port meant you could watch all the ships come in from your lounger on the beach. Lots of pool areas including a separate family pool for the younger children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Resort was very clean and the staff were nice. The food was very good and lots of room both inside and out on patios to eat your meals.
The weak points
Some of the buildings are not finished yet and the only choices for bathrooms are your room or the main lounge outside the a buffet area as the others by the pool area and beach are not finished yet. There are only two a la Carte restaurants open now.
Certified

Nice resort

, Ottawa, ON
2018-03-23
In the past this hotel was awesome, but this year I noticed the room needs to be upgraded (shower is small, furniture is falling apart, air conditioning didn't work well). But the staff is friendly, food was good and overall the hotel is great. Maybe the new owners will do a lot of upgrading. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, great location and awesome price. Food was very good. Staff is very friendly.
The weak points
The quality of cleanliness, furniture in room, air conditioning is not as good as it has been in the past. Probably because the resort has been sold. It needs to be upgraded.
Certified

So Sad to Leave

, Halifax, NS
2018-03-22
Had the best time at this resort. Felt so relaxed and taken care of the entire time.
Hotel was clean and well kept. Needs some updates, but that is to be expected since it has been sold, and updating at this point is pointless. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service and staff are amazing and friendly.
The weak points
Rooms smell musty, it's the weather and the heat that do this, can't be helped. We got used to it.
Certified

Great resort

, Steinbach, MB
2018-03-12
This was my second time at a RIU resort (last year in Puerto Vallarta), and now I realize once you've been to one you have been to them all. No complaints with food, service, or entertainment. The hotel was nothing fancy or special but sufficed for a weeks stay. The Bachata is in a nice area about 30 minutes away from the airport and shares a beach with the RIU Merengue. For those who like walking miles on the beach, then this would not be the best location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great resort layout, the pool, buffet and rooms are all in a decent walking distance.
The weak points
Wi-fi was free but dicey; sometimes it worked great but not consistent.
Certified

Awesome vacation

, Glenboro, MB
2018-02-09
The hotel was very clean, friendly staff, and excellent food. I recommend this as a great get away. Everything was in short walking distance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort and great food.
The weak points
I can not think of one.
Certified

Holiday Happy

, Winkler, MB
2018-01-21
We have been to the Riu Bachata 6 times. We have been to 3 other resorts in Puerto Plata, and 1 resort in Punta Cana, but the Riu is our favourite vacation spot. The staff is so very friendly and interactive, the food is fantastic, accommodations are clean and comfortable, grounds well tended, pool staff very eager to please and keep pool area very clean. Great bang for our buck. We certainly want to return, and we recommend a visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food All staff
Certified

Great Holiday!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-01-01
The week in Riu Bachata filled with great food, entertainment and sun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Travel agent Great food Helpful staff Entertainment staff Kids club
The weak points
Beds in the room Wi-Fi access Old furniture Swim up bar should be separate from kids pool especially with alcohol
Certified

Great getaway

, Angus, ON
2017-04-22
We had a great time. Hotel is dated but very clean. Food is what you can expect for an all inclusive, good variety, great self serve coffee machines! Beautiful location beach is lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Burning of GARABAGE

, Venise, QC
2017-04-10
The Riu is a nice resort and the entertainment is excellent but the burning of GARABAGE in the area is a hazard to our Heath we have to breathe is every night which was not pleasant one issue in the room one day no towels, toilet paper or water there was 1or 2 waiters at the buffet that were very rude. the beach is not nice besides that we had a okay stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Salami , Chicken legs were the best
The weak points
If you don't have a dollar at the bar in the pool the bar man takes his time and only server the people that way a buck. yes I did tip but we shouldn't have to tip every time you get a drink need to change it up at the buffet
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Dunnville, ON
2017-03-30
We had the best trip ever food was great staff was excellent rooms were perfect. I will be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food
The weak points
None
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?