Marien Puerto Plata Hotel

Marien Puerto Plata Hotel
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 781 reviews
#3 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (323)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Amazing week away!

, Cornwall, ON
2024-04-01
Staff is very friendly and always willing to help.
Food was delicious!
Bed and pillows were very comfortable (we did have to ask for additional blankets as we were cold a few nights - they were brought to our room within minutes of asking for them).
There was no shortage of lounge chairs (shade was more challenging to find by the pool).
The pool was easily accessible, with stairs and sloped entries on all three side.
A-la-carte restaurant reservations must be made each morning at 8am for that same evening - unless you upgrade to VIP.
VIP upgrades cost an additional $25usd or $85usd (2 packages to choose from) per day, per room. If you are wanting to have a massage, dinner on the beach and not have to reserve for a-la-carte restaurants, it would be worth it! best value is the $25 package.
Overall, we highly recommend this resort - for the price, it was everything we expected! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
small, quiet hotel Adult only section is close to the beach lots of shade at the beach
The weak points
little shade by the pool, you have to get up early to reserve your chair! vendors are a little too pushy for my liking
Certified

Marien Puerto Plata thoughts..

, Huntsville, ON
2024-03-30
All in all the resort property was well maintained. The staff were very friendly, making our stay a comfortable one.
As a family we prefer the Punta Cana esthetics. Maybe due to location of resort or years lapsed since returning to Dominican we were saddened by the amount of garbage/plastics on parts of the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pool was beautiful and very well kept. Night shows were a nice option for entertainment, A la carte restaurants were excellent change from buffet.
The weak points
We were advised tennis courts opened at 8 but did not. By day 5 we were finally advised by employee that you need to put your name down to play at 8am or sometimes gates open later. Meals lacked avocados/guac which we thought was odd. Rooms were dated.
Certified

Hotel and services

, Sauble Beach, ON
2024-02-29
The room was lack elevator and had to walk 3 sets of stairs. The ceiling was showing signs of water marks and possible falling debris. It rained twice and the bathroom was flooded, and dripping water that lasted for hours. Shower rod broke after dangling and was never replaced. Rods to pull curtain from door were broken. Service in dinning room was slow and lacking at times. Food was quite average. Times tables were not cleaned for next guest to sit. Entertainment was so so. Some staff were friendly but most seem not to care. Far from a 4 star, more of a 3 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Hard to find strong points, considering the stay, however there was one staff member who was quite helpful or tried to help in what way they could
The weak points
Services below par .... room was far from satisfactory, even with consistent request for changes or for items
Certified

Fun at Hotel Marien

, Huntsville, ON
2024-02-17
Spent 3 weeks at the Marien. Firstly Im going with 4 star overall because of the awesome staff and the resort in general. The food and beverage is 3-3.5 star along with the beach. Had VIP included in booking so experience was somewhat better especially ala carte booking at Vip lounge instead of huge line in the morning. We were upgraded to a superior room which was very nice. The staff were great especially bartenders Oscar and Gerson(Jason). Entertainment team were incredibly hard working and fun group. Buffet in the morning was OK but after 3wks was expecting a bit more variety and maybe some bacon(which the early birds had from what I hear). Did primarily ala carte every night(vip perk) almost always a good meal at the mexican brazilian and meditteranean places. good drinks at the bars however wine lovers be warned its from a jug unless you go to vip lounge. they do have bottles for purchase at the ala cartes. Pool is large and nice but they could use more chairs and more shade in that area. resort and grounds were clean and lots of maintenance being done. the beach was great for sunbathing, vip area has bar and bali beds. The water however is not like a cuban beach. the atlantic was pounding in most days with hi winds and waves causing red flags most the time. the water was murky with weeds and garbage washing up daily. Only 1 day I was able to snorkel off to left of swimming area at small reef to see fish. bring swimming shoes. also keep in mind once your on the beach the vendors will be on you especially if you walk to the right by the markets. Lots of garbage and plastic waste on the area beaches which was sad. Overall had a great time met lots of nice people both guests and staff. Make sure you check out Puerto Plata dont be hesitant to get a cab from outside the gates and barter for cab fare to town centre($7-12). Most sights are all close together from the square other than the cable car ride. Jumbo is 20min walk or 4min cab if you need anything(think walmart with a liqour store and cigar shop). would return but perhaps not for 3wks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
staff and resort in general
The weak points
beach and food beverage

Puerto Plata Stay

, Port Elgin, ON
2024-02-15
The resort was attractive and kept clean
Staff were friendly
Food was ok , not as good as Mexico
For the price it was good value [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

MARIAGE AU MARIEN

, Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, QC
2024-02-04
Nous étions un groupe de 17 personnes. Lors de la réservation en mai 2023, l'hôtel s'appelait Be Live Collection Marien. Il a changé de bannière à la fin de l'été et le forfait que nous avions sélectionné pour notre mariage n'existait plus. Ce fût ardu et laborieux de se faire comprendre dans nos échanges afin qu'ils respectent ce que l'on avait acheté. Un stress complémentaire à toute l'organisation et nous avons dû déboursé un montant supplémentaire car leur forfait coûtait plus cher et avait moins d'inclusion que le forfait du départ.
Ça partait mal......et ça n'a pas été agréable pour la planification.

Ceci étant dit, le mariage s'est bien déroulé rendu sur place et ils ont respecté tout ce qui avait été convenu lors de nos nombreux échanges de l'automne. Le service était parfait et nous sommes très satisfait au final ;)

Je connaissais déjà l'hôtel pour y avoir séjourné il y a plusieurs années (2009) et l'avoir aussi visité en tant qu'agent de voyage (à l'époque) en 2018. Nous l'avons choisi pour convenir au budget de nos invités et surtout, pour sa taille et l'infrastructure. Étant un petit site, tout est accessible facilement et parfait pour nos parents agés ayant des difficultés pour se déplacer. Chaise roulante disponible sur place.

SITE :
Petit, facile d'accès, belle végétation, bien entretenu, vieillot. Un bâtiment fermé durant notre séjour pour rénovation. Le site est calme et aéré. Personne ne se pile sur les pieds, tout est près. Dernier hôtel de la Playa Dorada, donc peu de vendeurs sur la plage. Belle vue sur les montagnes.

CHAMBRES:
Pour notre mariage, on nous a upgradé dans une suite rénovée face à la mer. Très lumineuse. Salon avec causeuse et fauteuils, table avec 2 chaises, une salle d'eau incluant une douche dans l'entrée, une grande chambre à coucher avec lit à baldaquin, énorme garde-robe avec 2 portes miroir, coffre-fort (inclus dans notre forfait mais payant pour les autres 30$/sem), commode tiroirs. Très grande salle de bain principale, long comptoir 2 lavabos, miroir de maquillage, séchoir, bain, douche indépendante, super bien éclairé. 2 balcons. On était très satisfait de notre chambre.
Nos invités avaient des chambres standards. Un style colonial. Pas rénovée, mais grande et correcte.

PLAGE:
Beaucoup de végétation, donc ombre ou soleil pour tous les goûts. Beaucoup de chaises, pas un problème de s'en trouver. Pas de réservation de chaise, bonne affaire. Belle profondeur, eau propre contrairement à l'hôtel à côté (Iberostar). Quelques minis cailloux à certains endroit à l'entrée de la mer mais sable aussi. Faut choisir l'endroit pour pas se faire mal aux pieds. Sable facile à marcher tout près de l'eau. La plage mesure environ 3 km. Casse-Croûte LE PETIT FRANÇOIS (tenu par un Québécois) à environ 15 minutes de marche. Un incontournable pour manger une poutine !! Il y a aussi des boutiques juste à côté du casse-croûte.

PISCINE: La piscine esr très grande pour un hôtel de 340 chambres. Divisée en 3 sections et les rives sont accessibles par de petites passerelles qui évite de faire le tour. Il y a toujours quelques places disponibles. Un bar à proximité.

PERSONNEL:
Tous gentils, souriant et serviable. Un gros wow !

RESTAURATION:
C'est ici que les points baissent un peu. Le buffet n'offre pas énormément de choix. Faut se lever de bonne heure pour avoir du bacon, passé 8h, oubliez ça. Le goût des aliments et des plats est très ordinaire. Ça serait étonnant d'engraisser durant vos vacances !!!! Mais, si vous n'êtes pas difficile, vous trouverez quelque chose à vous mettre sous la dent ;)

CASSE-CROÛTE de la plage : Les frites et hamburger très bon. 4 réchauds : pas toujours pareil selon les journées. Les ailes de poulet sont excellentes.

RESTO LE MYLOS : Mediterranéen. Nous avons souper à ce restaurant pour le mariage. C'était excellent. Notez que les hommes doivent avoir un pantalon long et soulier fermé pour ce resto.

RESTO BRÉSILIEN : Nous y avons manger plusieurs fois. Et la cuisson des viandes n'était pas constante. Mais le mini buffet d'accompagnement était très bon. Le poulet en brochette et la saucisse délicieux. Situé en bord de plage.

RESTO MEXICAIN : Bien dans l'ensemble. Menu moins élaboré mais correcte. Situé en bord de plage.

BAR : Un dans la discothèque du lobby, un à côté de la piscine et un autre en bordure de la plage (dans le casse-croûte). Les drinks sont délicieux.

DISCOTHÈQUE : Directement dans le lobby, piste de dance, table de billard ($). Tranquille jusqu'à 23h, bouge un peu après selon les touristes du moment. Les jeunes ne sont pas admis même accompagné d'une personne majeure. À moins de parlementer......

SPA : Service cordial. 5 de nos invités sont allé se faire masser et on apprécié le service. Environnement zen.

PROPRETÉ : Les chambres sont propres, la plupart des installations aussi. Les toilettes de la plage sont BOF.....sol mouillé, toilette qui ne se barre pas etc....il y a un laissé aller ici.

INTERNET: Très alléatoire. Ça ne fonctionnait pas bien, se débranchait tout le temps. Pour quelqu'un qui souhaite travailler à distance, ce n'est pas la place. C'était ardu....

ANIMATION : Pas eu connaissance de grand chose, mais on ne court pas après ça et on ne participe jamais. Ça semble quand même tranquille à ce niveau-là.

ACTIVITÉ HORS DE L'HÔTEL :
Nous avons fait la visite de Puerto Plata. 68$us Ce qui inclus :
Visite usine de rhum 30 minutes, cigare 30 minutes, chocolat 30 minutes. Avec vidéo/audio etc. Visite de 2-3 rue décorées.......vite fait. d'un quartier ''riche'' en bus. Un arrêt sur les remparts 10 minutes.
Dîner dans un resto Le Isabella, wow, magnifique endroit avec belle cour intérieur. Montée dans le téléphérique sur la montagne. On a fait la fil 45 minutes pour monter dans la cabine. Et rendu en haut, on avait 20 minutes :(
DONC, personnellement, je me serais passé de toutes les visites et attrape touristes et me serais contenté du téléphérique. Malheureusement, 20 minutes en haut de la montagne, c'est vraiment pas assez pour se promener dans les sentiers aménagés. Je suggère d'y aller par vos propres moyens et de ne pas compter votre temps. Ça vaudrait la peine. Sinon, c'est très décenant.

Conclusion : pour avoir fait au moins une soixantaine d'hôtels dans le sud, autant des 3* que des 5* vraiment haut de gamme, je lui donne 3.5*. Nous sommes très satisfait dans l'ensemble et nous avons eu une magnifique semaine en famille.
Je suggère cette hôtel comme premier voyage pour toutes personnes désirant se reposer avec un mini budget. En autant que la nourriture ne soit pas votre premier critère.
Température parfaite durant cette semaine. Soleil 28° jour, 22° soir. Venteux à la plage mais pas à la piscine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
- site petit et accessible - reposant - plage - végétation - personnel
The weak points
- nourriture - internet - vieillot

Great Family Vacation

, Kingston, ON
2024-01-18
We had the Family Junior Suite, and my kids are 12 and 14. I really appreciated it was on the main floor. The rooms were huge. The only issues - the pull out couch was broken, and the jacuzzi tub plug was not functional. I did not say anything to the staff, so they weren't given the opportunity to fix these issues for me at the time, so I am not docking stars for this - but they should check their rooms a little more thoroughly.

The staff were amazing and helpful. Our room was pristine each day. The restaurant staff were great with my kids, and my son even made a special trip to say goodbye to the Pasta Guy.

The food was okay as well. There was always something available to eat, and it tasted ok too. My kids loved the buffet the best, especially the pastries each day. Room service was ok. It says 24 hours, but in reality it's only a burger after 7pm. This was disappointing, but didn't have to be, if they set expectations for this in advance.

The nightly show was ok. There Africa Show (on Thursday) was by far the best show they had. They usually have a little kid show before the show began where kids could be on stage and dance. That was cute.

The grounds were well kept, there was always a chair around the pool or beach available just not in the shade. Regardless of their rules to not save seats, people woke up ridiculously early (like before 6am!) to put towels out on the prime locations. If this important to you, make sure to be a super early riser. The beach was soft sand, but that also means the water was sandy. Some people complained to us about this, but really? If you want clear water - go to a rocky beach... but then it's rocky. I prefer soft sand and some sandy water personally.

The activities were a bit confusing to join. Definitely on "Dominican Time", but this wasn't the hugest draw for us as my kids couldn't be included in the grown up activities. It was disappointing for my kids who are too old for Kids Club but also apparently too young for the other activities (they were told they were not allowed to join by staff). We did activities outside of the resort instead.

The wifi was every where in the resort, I was really surprised, and pretty decent. I was even able to text friends from the beach on FB Messenger.

I did not like when they had a flea market come to the resort parked right in front of the buffet. The people manning their tables were extremely pushy to sell, and would not take "no thank you" as an answer. We wound up going through a back entrance by the theater stage to avoid them. It was not pleasant. They were there for three days.

So there are good points, and not so great points, but overall - I would go to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very clean grounds, nice soft sand on beaches, food and drinks always available
The weak points
Shady chairs were taken before the sun even rose, room service is not 24 hours as advertised, no activities for tweens/teens, pushy flea market third party sellers
Sanitary measures
Housekeeping was amazing
Certified

What a changed hotel

, Hamilton, ON
2024-01-09
Let me first say I loved this hotel and staff. I have been going there for 8 years and sometimes twice in a year. The staff was always welcoming. Not so much this year.

Our vacation was Dec 22 to Jan 5 and its always in around those dates each year.
I'm not going to complain about the weather, seaweed or things floating in with the waves. The hotel can't help that.

Food - was good, not great as normal, you still get lots of choices just NO BACON in the mornings. No Fried Chicken in the snack bar at night anymore!! they ran out of french fries at the snack bar. the didn't put out buns for the hamburgers and you had to keep reminding them to replenish the Ketchup and Mustard. It was never like this is the past.

Rooms - A/C didn't work all the time, leaked all over the floors and had to put down towels so we didn't slip. Reported to the front desk and like before they would fix it right away, But no not this time have a couple of days of reminding them, they might show up and its fixed for a day or two.

Staff - this was truly disappointing as I always liked the staff, they were very happy and always willing to go that extra mile for you. Not this year no one is happy, didn't like the conversations and most of all didn't like being there.

This was my place of happiness and I loved it and couldn't wait to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Not good

, Montréal, QC
2024-01-01
This is a so called 5-star hotel, but my experience is not good. The food is close to 4-star, but the room is like a 3-star at most. No elevator in the building, so it is very difficult for the seniors to climb the stairs. They only provide one room card for each room, after I asked they made me an exception and gave me a second room card as they are "lack of cards". Wi-Fi is so unstable. The TV remote does not work at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The environment
The weak points
The facilities
Certified

Not recommend

, Montréal, QC
2024-01-01
So so experience in this so called 5-star hotel. The food was close to 4-star, but the room is only 3-star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The environment
The weak points
The facilities
Certified

4 time here

, Deseronto, ON
2023-12-17
First night at hotel dec 1 st
Toilet did not flush right, told maid in morning, she said it was fixed, using thru out day, same problem, told maid again next morning, after she cleaned room again a note written in Spanish was left.we took it to front desk next morning, they said toilet dont work , we need to change your room,
We moved to New room patio door wouldnt open,we went to lobby and told them,they said they will send someone to fix but you have to stay in room for workers to fix.3 hrs later they showed up,they were very pleasant and fixed.
I'm diabetic and for diet Pepsi at dinner, out of the 14 days eating at buffet, I had diet Pepsi 3 times.had to go to store on site and buy diet coke.this used to be a great resort, now under new management, it has significantly gone down hill. For the price and care, next time I'll go to Iberostar, Emotions or Sunscape. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
They workers try theyre best, but management has gone down hill, hotel going as good as your leaders
The weak points
As stated before management has gone down
Certified

Vacation

, Scarborough, ON
2023-04-28
My experience is very good and had fantastic time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good Service and very helpful staff
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Cambridge, ON
2023-04-25
The overall experience for our family of 4 was amazing. The staff was very friendly and service was great at any of the a la cart or buffet restaurants. The main staff was always helpful if we had questions or needed anything they were always willing to assist us. The pool was massive and maintained really well and it was only about 3.5 - 4 feet deep which was great too. Our room was a bit dated, but I didn't care about the looks of our room. The beds weren't the most comfortable or very big either (small for a queen). The hotel has been purchased by Hyatt and are supposed to be putting over a $1M into the facility which should really improve these qualities I hope. The beach was beautiful but fairly rocky. The beach went forever and connected all the resorts. Great for going for a nice walk in the morning. The water was absolutely beautiful. This was a very family friendly resort, there was obviously lots of drinks being had but it was not a party resort! That suited our family just fine!! The games they played every day were fun to participate in and watch. The shows at night were entertaining and we all enjoyed them. We wish the food selection was a bit better in the buffet for our kids (it was very difficult with 2 picky kids). We took the kids to the snack bar for lunches and dinner instead. At least they were able to get a hot dog or hamburger with French fries there. The main buffet didn't have any of this offered at any time. The food was good and lots of selection, just not very kid friendly. Breakfast was really good for all of us, lots of selections. We would definitely go back to vacation there again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pool, service, friendliness, large and roomy facilities
The weak points
Not great food selection for picky kids, rocky beach, uncomfortable and small beds, not great wi-fi (really bad in the room)
Certified

Another great stay

, Grand Bay Westfield, NB
2023-04-02
what can i say that i havent already said.. great place great people. ill be back in a few weeks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
i cant count how many times we have travelled to this resort.. but its all five star to us.. so far this year three times since jan 1. food, staff, beach and pool, the amenities the local area they are all plusses.. i highly reccomend this resort..
The weak points
nothing bad to say
Certified

Awesome people, old structures

, Rockcliffe, ON
2023-03-24
We had a great time, service is nice, front desk team is great, food was tasty, bars are good, rooms needs some improvement, heard about some fusion with another company, I hope this get some investment and get property update, we will be back next year, we loved it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service and employees actitude
The weak points
Areas need some investment, WiFi services is poor

Great experience

, Burlington, ON
2023-03-19
Front desk were very accommodating to our request for a room located in close proximity to our other family members [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, good specialty restaurants
The weak points
Not enough shade umbrellas by the pool

Home away from home

, Mascouche, QC
2023-03-16
As the title says this has become our home away from home. Our last trip in December 2022 was our 16th time and we have already booked our next 2 trips for September 2023 and December 2023. The amazing staff at the Guest Services has Jhoenny Mena Cruz as manager and he is top notch. He is always ready to assist in any way to make the vacationners stay a pleasant one. Other great managers include Amaurys Dominguez and Luis Pérez. The site is close enough to the airport, the grounds are well kept, the food is great at the buffet and even better at the 3 restaurants. Waiters are always smiling and service is exceptionnal. Of course the waiters at the bars are also very special. We greatly appreciate all this hotel has to offer and it is for this reason that we highly recommend this 4 star hotel. You will not regret it. Have a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing staff, great pool, good food.
The weak points
$3.00/day cost of room safe rental

Be Live Collection Marien

, Markham, ON
2023-03-14
My experience at this hotel was very pleasant. nothing adverse to report [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness, food was good, were good , staff friendly
The weak points
Put a note up that chairs around the pool cannot be reserved, once you get up your spot is gone I am Canadian, should be able to convert to cdn currency at the front desk
Certified

Be Live

, Lindsay, ON
2023-03-14
This hotel is honestly amazing. Lots of amazing people. The entertainment staff are some of the best people!! Few of the favs - Sexy Belly, Cappuccino, Jesus, Bladimir, Alan, Yan Carlos. The resort is beautiful. Lots of great foods! The specialty restaurants are a must try. The rooms are amazing and very comfortable. One of the best resorts I've visited. Lots of activities and things for people to do to keep busy. Night shows are amazing and the disco is a main highlight of the night time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment staff, Bar Staff, Beaches, Pool, Rooms, Daily Activities, Night Shows, Food and Restaurants

Great experience!!!

, Saint John, NB
2023-03-14
Arrival was greeted with refreshing drinks. Check in was speedy. Our room was building 7 which was at the back so I went up to lobby and did upgrade to building 8-123 as it is front of pool ground level with no stairs. Orlando was happy to make the change fast and easy.
Anna was our room maid, she was awesome,lots of towels and replenished fridge everyday.
Booked our evening dining at all the restaurants and the food was great.
Enjoyed the buffet daily, especially the donut bar....so good!!
Everything hot and fresh.
Enjoyed drinks served by happy friendly bartenders.
Took taxi ride to town, the driver stayed with us untill return making it safe and showing us all the hot spots.
Pool was hugh and clean...lots of room for everyone.
Local talent did fantastic job at the theater.
Grounds well kept.
All staff very very freindly, helpful and kind. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Wonderful staff make your stay the best it can be. Hot fresh food and lots of variety.
The weak points
Older resort rooms , could use some upgrades , very small tv.
Certified

Meilleures vacances de ma vie

, North York, ON
2023-03-12
Nous avons passé de merveilleuses vacances, comme tout dans la vie, il y a eu quelques inconvénients mais rien qui ne puisse être résolu. A notre arrivée à l'hôtel, nous avons été accueillis avec la boisson la plus rafraîchissante que j'aie jamais goûtée après un vol, puis l'enregistrement a été très rapide, les chambres ont été livrées immédiatement. Nous avons été emmenés dans notre chambre dans une voiturette de golf. Pendant la semaine, nous nous sommes beaucoup amusés, nous sommes sortis pour voir la ville et nous avons même pris des photos dans des voitures classiques. La seule chose que je peux dire, qui devrait s'améliorer, ce sont les activités dans la zone de la piscine, et varier les spectacles nocturnes, nous avons rencontré d'autres Canadiens qui nous ont dit qu'ils faisaient les mêmes spectacles chaque semaine, et quiconque y va plus d'une semaine, sera marre de regarder les mêmes émissions. Nous avons eu la chance de profiter d'une soirée mousse dans la piscine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Le service est très bon, surtout à la réception, ils sont toujours au courant de nous et essaient de bien faire les choses
The weak points
Il y avait beaucoup de moustiques dans les quartiers, le spectacle nocturne devrait être plus varié, le snack ne sert pas à grand chose après minuit.

Nice staff

, Montréal, QC
2023-03-07
We had a great time, there were some issues but we figured it out, first the room was a little moldy and we had to change it, the front desk team helped us a lot, because of the issue they provided us with a superior deluxe room in building 8, the only little problem there was mosquitoes everywhere, but we didn't mind a lot because we knew that it is a tropical island, other than that, it was a good journey, entertainment was good, food was good, drinks was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service at the desk area, guest services and bellboys are the best
The weak points
Need some extra work with mosquitoes and humidity in the rooms.

Good hotel

, Halifax, NS
2023-03-07
We had a great time, the front desk team is the best, they helped us since we arrived, also we paid for the VIP package, it was the best part, we had VIP beach area with a bar included also a VIP Lounge with also a bar and a snack, we will be back next year, Luis and John are really professional, they helped us a lot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The service is pretty good
The weak points
Area and rooms need some updates.

Muchos gracias

, Montréal, QC
2023-01-29
Of the 3 resorts I visited in D.R. Be Live is my very favorite one. The staff, especially John Acosta at the desk, Yevo at the Sports bar and ALL the staff at the buffet and restaurants and the cleaning crew were all so nice and always smiling. The Bell Boys were always of great service. Thank you to the day and evening entertainment groups, they kept a smile on my face. The dance troop led by the most talented Ricky was excellent every night. The pool is very well kept and clean. The food in all 3 restaurants was very good and I always found to my liking at the buffet. I will return!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
the wi-fi feed was pretty bad. To my taste, the wine at the buffet, Mexican and Brazilian was so so. The noise in the halls of my building was very echo.
Sanitary measures
although not mandatory, there was sanitizer at the entrance of the buffet.

Great place to stay

, Lloydminster, SK
2023-01-24
We took the kids (ages 19,20,21) on a family trip and the resort of choice was an excellent experience for us all. The staff took care of every task asked of them and the activities staff kept everyone on there toes with excitement around the pools and beach through the day and night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
great food and entertainment everyday
The weak points
we had lots of issues with our room cards working
Sanitary measures
there is sanitizer spread through out the resort and they still have the glass separation at most places.
Certified

Be live Puerta Plata

, Stayner, ON
2023-01-19
My stay was worth it All every moment there. The food, waiters especially Raphael and a few others waitresses, managers very professional and friendly indeed they catered for the children. As for the Entertainment Team from Bledimir, Chocolate, Sexy Belly with their manager Mosquito they attended to everyone even though we were different languages. Their responses in respect and a beautiful sunny smile and the theatre shows well done Everyone. We will be returning bringing others with us this year. Congratulations to a clean, healthy friendly staff including the Cleaning and I can not forget the golf carts guys you're all great! Well spent and enjoyed our vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Exceptionally Caring
The weak points
Just work on spraying bathroom and the vent in washroom. The mosquitoes were stubborn even after they were sprayed .

Great Trop

, Brantford, ON
2023-01-03
Hola! I recently stayed at the Be Live resort in Puerto Plata for a week. It was an excellent trip! The rooms were very good quality and clean. The main pool area and beach were both also very stunning. However, the entertainment team is what makes this hotel what it is. Aside from the daily programs and various games played everyday, the team is continuously talking to guests and ensuring that they are enjoying their stay. Shout out to Bladimir, Sexy Belly, Cappuccino, and Mosquito for all their hard work. They never failed to put a smile on our faces and kept the party going. My family had a great time and would return purely for the dedication this team has to making us all feel welcomed to this hotel. Food was great too, especially the Brazilian restaurant. Totally recommend this resort if you're looking to vacation in Puerto Plata. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Be live resort

, Brantford, ON
2023-01-03
I just got home after spending a week at the be live resort in puerto plata. It was truly an amazing experience, and I loved every minute of it. The resort is beautiful, the restaurants are awesome, and of course the staff was so pleasant. The entertainment staff.. Bladimir, sexy belly, Yan Carlo, Cappuccino, mosquito, chocolate, and more were so positive and they made everything so much fun. The resort would be nothing without them, they keep everyone entertained and happy. I genuinely enjoyed my time at this resort, and I would recommend to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Be live was a lot of fun

, Whitehorse, YT
2022-12-23
We went to DR for a family vacation for Christmas. We have been to DR a few times now and this was the best so far. The food is probably some of the best we've had in Dominican. The entertainment staff is excellent. The shows in the evening are amazing all the activities every day are so much fun. The reason we come to DR is because of the entertainment staff. Dominican people are always so great. We had such a great time with Bladamir, Cappuccino , John Carlos and sexy belly! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment staff
The weak points
WiFi is not fantastic- but you're on vacation! Needs a bit of maintenance in rooms and main areas

My awesome Dominican vacation

, Whitehorse, YT
2022-12-20
Beautiful resort and beach and lovely staff, especially the entertainment staff! They are always keeping you busy and entertained!! Bladimir, Yancarlos, Sexy belly, Cappuccino, and Jesus are the best entertainers and they're always dancing!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024