Playabachata Resort

Playabachata Resort
3.433.433.433.433.43
3.43 based on 87 reviews
#11 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (49)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Our stay at Playabachata resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-14
What beautiful way to spend a week of winter vacation. The country and resort were fantastic at making us feel welcome. Due to my mobility issues, everyone was very accommodating in assisting us. The service was excellent. We appreciate the service all around. Loved our room location with the view of the ocean. We would definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, always willing to help. Food was good-large selection for everyone. Hand sanitizer available at the public areas. Fantastic location on the ocean. Constant maintenance on the outside.
The weak points
Toilets didn't flush well
Certified

Average for price

, Stellarton, NS
2020-03-11
Playa Bachata
This is a combination resort, I think the names are Mambu, Merengue, Senator.
Senator is the renovated section and far better accommodations.
The grounds at all sections were lovely and well kept. Beach was great and has a beach bar on it.
Never an issue to get chairs at the pool or beach. Always beach towels available.
The food was excellent, good variety each day at the buffet. Pool snack bar is great.
We stayed at what I believe they call the Mambu, it was the lower end as far as quality goes. Although it advertised as 4* I feel it is more like a 3* as far as my experience goes. The rooms were dated but kept clean. Good air conditioning.
When I look at online adds for the resort, they are misleading as they mostly show pictures of the Senator section and do not make the distinction between sections. So, you think they are all the same quality and they are not.
Went to the senator to look around and it was by far the better place to stay. Tropical avenue has shops, a pizzeria and ice cream shop that are part of the all inclusive. The pizza was to die for. Found the staff at the Senator much friendlier also. We just visited but they were very friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to speak to you on the street and assist with whatever you asked for.
Nice perk is the 2 liquor dispensers in the room. One bottle of Rum and one of Vodka. Once empty we had to request, they refill it. Water and Pepsi in the room ever 2ed day.
Bathrooms in Lobby and Pool Bar were very clean, ladies worked hard to keep these clean by attending to them all day.
You can ask at front desk for additional water, but they do not always have it.
You can not drink tap water or even brush your teeth with it.
When you stay at one you can utilize some of the amenities at the other sections.
The Mangu did not have entertainment in the evenings and only had one a la cart a night (Steak House or Italian). You could go to a la cart at the other sections if you could get there.
No golf carts or carts of any sort to take you to your room or to the other sections. So, if mobility is an issue its not the place to stay.

Most staff were friendly. Rosario at the evening Buffet, Juan at the snack bar and a la cart, Jennifer at the buffet and Marcus at the pool bar were the individuals that stood out as exceptional servers.
Areas for improvements:
No one to show you to your room, no one to take luggage to and from your room.
No golf carts for transportation around the resort if you needed it.
Bar by buffet, hit and miss as to if it will be open or not. Even though they post certain hours there is no guarantee that it will be open. No entertainment at this section of the resort and we were there for 14 days.
No pool side bar service at chairs. No music or entertainment in the lobby.
Huge holes in the roof of the lobby, it rained 3 days and the lobby was like one big pond. They finally put large blue tarps on the roof to help with the flooding. Workers used small brooms and small mops to try and keep it under control. Workers worked tirelessly sweep out the water. Very slippery.
Plumbing not good, toilets have difficulty flushing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds, good location
The weak points
Dated rooms, buildings need work, not represented accurately online, expecting more that you got.
Certified

2.8 star

, Moncton, NB
2020-03-01
Last year our experience was fantastic 4 star, that is why we returned. This year the place has really declined. Exposed metal on roofs, huge chips in pool, holes in ceiling where a fan once was. Had to change rooms due to fan not working, Plumbing was horrible, no pillow cases on pillows and only a sheet on bed, no blanket. Never seen a face cloth in 2 weeks. New management was too pushy trying to sell memberships, said only 90 minutes of your time turned into 4 hours, so lost half a day of our vacation. Other people received an $80 voucher, we were not offered the same. Spoke with many others who share the same feeling. Staff seemed so happy last year saying hi more and smiling. This year most staff seems subdued, just doing their work with very little interaction. The entire feeling felt disappointing. I was raving to friends to go last year, now I won't be able to suggest this Resort. New Management seems focussed on their future Renovations that the upkeep to the existing Resort is suffering. Spoke with a couple who had been going to this Resort for 11 years said this will most likely be there last trip and sadly for us as well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointed

, Bracebridge , ON
2020-02-29
We were quite disappointed with our stay.
The room was ok, it was the bare minimum, unfortunately the A/C did not work for most of our stay, we made numerous complaints to the front desk to get this issue fixed, it was eventually addressed and a maintenance man did come and get it working.
The food at the buffet was exactly the same every day, the salad bar well stocked. The breakfast buffet was the best meal of the day.
The hotel is tired and needs to be updated. Entertainment in the evening was mediocre.
This hotel is not a four star.
We had been to this hotel eight years ago and it has definitely gone downhill. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool was clean. Staff were friendly. The bread and buns were good. Salad bar was great. Good beach.
The weak points
Beds are hard as rock, terrible to sleep on. Food is extremely repetitive. There seemed to be a shortage of cutlery at meal times. Issues were dealt with at a very slow pace. There was no evidence of security that we could see. Staff shortage
Certified

Over paid - underwhelmed

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-25
Paid way more than most people - thanks Sunwing! Hotel rooms were always smelling of mould.

When asking for service they don't really try to help you no matter what the topic. They will avoid doing any real work.
Dining in the buffets there was never cutlery or napkins.
The food was bare and basic. If you were not there when buffets opened either in the morning or evening dinners you missed out on food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was nice. The cleaning staff for the rooms were good and friendly. The bar staff were very nice.
The weak points
See hotel review. Worst resort I have ever been too.
Certified

Would definitely be back

, Foam Lake, SK
2020-02-08
We had a great time at the Playabachata resort. The resort was beautiful, the entertainment staff was the highlight of the trip and all other staff were incredibly friendly. The food was pretty good and we enjoyed having the choice of eating at a sit down restaurant or eating at the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment staff made the trip very memorable and kept us entertained the whole time. The resort was beautiful and the food was good.
The weak points
The rooms weren't as up to date as we thought and from 5:30-6:30pm all restaurants were closed which is prime supper time.
Certified

Playabachata Review

, Regina, SK
2020-02-01
Please see my strong and weak points [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredibly friendly staff Good food selection with a lot of healthy options Clean pool Clean beach Cleaning staff did a great job Wifi only in lobby (more focus on vacation)
The weak points
Room smelled stale from the time we arrived So many ants in our bathroom Cockroach in our room Wifi only in lobby (may be a good thing, though!) The reservation only restaurants were not great and the cooks need a lesson in steak doneness
Certified

Playabachata

, Milton, ON
2020-01-13
Location is good, resort structure dated but nice. Logistics of the resort crash and burn hard. After a four flight you have to wait 3 hours to get room and than have to move rooms the next day. Food you can sort of live on [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort location and beach is a 5 star. Clear water. Dive shop has fun and educated staff
The weak points
Everything else about the resort is 1 star. Food you can live on but not enjoy. Great deal of food under cooked. Staff need more training in languages
Certified

Assez ordinaire

, Dolbeau-Mistassini, QC
2019-03-10
La température était excellente, hôtel vraiment démodée, odeur d'humidité tellement présente dans les chambres qu'on a dû jeter plusieurs trucs en arrivant. Rien pour les enfants, nourriture bonne tout de même. Super bons spectacles! Je n'y retournerai pas certain!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Vin quand même bon, nourriture acceptable, beaucoup de chaises disponibles autant à la plage qu'à la piscine. Site propre et spectacles excellents, les meilleurs que j'ai vu en voyage mais arriver tôt pour avoir de la place.
The weak points
Chambres désuètes, odeur d'humidité et fourmis. Télévision sans son, lit très dur. Restaurant à la carte ne vaut pas du tout la peine.

Good Value

, Warman , SK
2019-03-02
We had a great time at this resort. The hotel was clean and the grounds well taken care of. The resort workers were friendly but did not go above and beyond and we never felt pressure for tips. The food was really good and always available somewhere. The a la carts were not well done with not enough servers and the Italian one required self service with food that was the same as the buffet but the steak was done better and food was tasty. Beautiful beach with plenty of room to sit however the green beach chairs were well worn and too saggy to sit comfortably. Overall it was a great vacation and the resort was worth the value paid [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, Good food, Large resort with plenty of walking places, Access to a cool shopping street with specialty coffee and ice cream, Nice pools
The weak points
Not enough servers, A la carts need work to make them feel different than the buffets, Beach chairs need replacing, Skinny tub in the bathroom
Certified

Great Family Vacation

, Charlottetown, PE
2019-02-20
From start to finish our experience at the resort was great.
- Check in was quick
- Room was clean with a nice terrace
- Food at the buffets was very good, always something for everyone, always something being cooked hot.
- The steak house a la cart was fine - we did not try the Italian
- The Caribbean Street had a terrific coffee shop, gelato & crepes spot, and a pizza place. All were good - we went for gelato and crepes every evening.
- Staff was pleasant and hard working - from the omelette station where our preferences were remembered after just one visit to the maintenance team that kept the grounds and buildings looking terrific.
- Check out was as quick as the check in [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Snorkelling off the beach - great for families - Never had to play the towel game to reserve a lounger - arriving at the pool after lunch we were still able to find a shady spot.
The weak points
- The beach does drop off quickly - Lots of smokers who do not adhere to the no-smoking areas - - we did not attend any of the evening entertainment due to this. We tried 4 evenings but were smoked out.
Certified

Disappointed

, Kingston, HA
2019-01-28
This resort is fine for people who just want to sit at a pool or on the beach and soak up the sun and eat and drink. Other than that, the resort doesn't offer much of anything. The beach is lovely. Clean, sandy bottom for swimming, ocean was fairly warm, lots of chairs available and a beach bar. Although not too long, the beach does offer a nice walk. There are tourist 'shops' available a very short walk from the swimming area. Very little peddling on the beach other than for hair braiding. The pool area is nice, as is the pool snack bar, however, the pools were very cold even though the weather was 30 degrees. The food was average. The mix for drinks is very limited and mostly consisted of adding slush. Be wary of the open bar as you need to upgrade to a different bar package if you want drinks other than the very basic. I was refused Bailey's and was not even permitted to pay for a drink. The rooms were okay but in need of some repairs. WiFi is only available in the lobby and was hit and miss. Seemed it was down more than it was available. The staff, not all but a good number, were not friendly - especially the bar staff. We asked for a wake up call as a back up to our own devices but never got it. The evenings are boring unless you want to just sit and drink. The entertainment was pathetic. There are excursions available but they are over priced for what is offered. There is no shuttle service to the town/market and to take a taxi costs $50 U.S. return. This resort was a RIU but was bought out a year ago and the new owners are clearly 'cheaping out'. Many people we talked to had the very same impression. One couple told us it was their 4th visit to this resort and this was their 1st visit under the new ownership. They said they won't be returning and either will we. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, although not too long, is lovely. Lots of chairs available as well as a beach bar. Completely enjoyed swimming in the ocean with sandy bottom.
The weak points
Cold pool water. Very poor nightly entertainment. Unfriendly staff. Isolated - no shuttle to town.
Certified

Poor experience

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-01-24
We had a robbery from our room. Hotel does not have cameras. Our door's lock was broken. Everything was stolen: money, our clothes, the presents that we bought for our friends, my make up, my phone, even the toothpaste. Our room wasn't cleaned three times during our vacation. We got sick after drinking water in the bar, so three days we spent near the washroom. Moreover, there was cockroaches in our room. If you decide to go there be prepared for rescue yourself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Fun Time

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-15
Genesis at the front desk was welcoming and always friendly
LIZ makes the best Spanish coffee
Beach is beautiful at this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020