Viva Wyndham V Heavens

Viva Wyndham V Heavens
3.783.783.783.783.78
3.78 based on 172 reviews
#7 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Plata
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (35)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great value for the money

, West Lincoln, ON
2020-03-15
Based on what we paid, our expectations were not that high in comparison to other resorts in other countries. The value we received would cost a MINIMUM of 50% more at a resort in Jamaica, for example. If you wish a vacation for R&R with great food, this is the place. There are enough activities around the pool to keep a lazy person active.
I would recommend that the management of the resort put a lot of effort into training the staff to listen and understand the international language of ENGLISH. The staff definitely care enough. We focused on tipping the staff that understood our needs and serviced us well. Only those that looked after us were tipped generously. We would rather tip generously than purchase souvenirs as we have enough "junk". I seriously contemplated staying a few more days. Had a lot of fun and R&R.
Our air carrier gave us elite status for the flight and upgraded our rooms. Great service from our air carrier. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for the money. It IS the Dominican. Strongly recommend this resort for a value vacation. We give it 4.5 out of 5
The weak points
Language barrier with some staff (prob 50%or more)

Descent resort but not 4 stars

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-03-14
Hotel was clean. Staff was pleasant. Restaurants were mediocre. Beach was nice, but ocean was rough and there were weeds. No options for sitting in the shade on beach. Just one pool, with no swim up bar. Quite a few of the lounge chairs around the pool were in rough shape/broken and there wasn't enough for everyone. Continuous problems with our room key not working. Our room was VERY noisy during the 9-11:00pm entertainment time and it wasn't possible to sleep til that was done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing Trip

, St Louis, PE
2020-03-04
Hotel
!) Room was clean,only problem was the bathroom floor on the third night and onward was wet it would not dry so found that very dangerous.And towels were not nice and fluffy also needed more face cloths .
2) Food was a good variety but found it cold most of the time and more fruit choice would have been great.
3) Entertainment would have been nice to see the shows start before 10pm and more around the pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Your workers be it the gardeners,food servers.chefs,room cleaners,entertainers,front desk workers. Were all hard workers hats off to every one all very friendly. We enjoyed the spa experience.
The weak points
I was disappointed in the cold food,and we had trouble with our room key they were reset but there were lots of times it took several trys to get the door open.
Certified

Great Vaule Choice! Viva Wyndham V Heavnes

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-22
We stayed at Viva Wyndham V Heavnes Adults only restore in Puerto Plata, Dominican. It was excellent and very peaceful vacation spot for couples during mid August month. Beach was really good. Most important is food was good, lots of choices to choose from (Buffet, Dominican, Fusion, Mexican and Italian restaurants)
Heads Up: Local Dominican's stays at the resort during weekends (They don't bother anyone and they mind their business, therefore no issues there - Just become crowded only) and staff are friendly but it would be ideal if they can improve English better, So we will be able to communicate with them better.
I will recommend if you wish to have simple peaceful vacation and able to enjoy your stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Beach area is very good, Food is good as well.
The weak points
Resort is open to Locals as well, therefore weekends become crowded. Staffs should improve their English skills.
Certified

First time in Dominican

, Brampton, ON
2019-04-23
First time coming to Dominican with my boyfriend. The place was amazing. Food was incredible - no complaints. The staff were so friendly, Pinky, tinker bell, Ralph, Jeffrey, chicken leg, wiz, and more! Everyone was so great to us. Beach was beautiful, pool was great, drinks were great. The place exceeded my expectations and more. We will be coming back!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, beach, pool, drinks, everything!
The weak points
Wifi was a little weak
Certified

Heaven bound.

, Tillsonburg, ON
2019-04-04
The stuff was amazing, the maids very friendly amazing job. The entertainers we're amazing, the Joker, Pinky, chocolatte, the most amazing one was chicken leg he is an amazing person, he's an excellent Entertainer we all fell in love with him, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Had a great time!

, Nepean, ON
2019-02-28
we traveled with another couple and had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment staff were so engaging and fun. They really knew how to keep the energy up and encourage participation.
The weak points
The advertisements regarding activities and restaurants that were not accurate was a bit frustrating since I like to plan things according to what is offered when
Certified

Okay resort

, Arnprior , ON
2019-02-07
Overall the resort is okay. The room was large, but the bed hard and when someone turned over, the whole bed shaked to wake up the other person. Pillows old and extremely soft. No hot water at sink but plenty at shower. It was frustrating to try to get lounger at pool-not enough and had to get up at 6am to put towels on or no lounger until 3p.m. Never saw a show-too late after being out in sun all day and never made it to disco at 11p.m. Perhaps offering entertainment earlier and dancing earlier would be nice so early diners can see a show and dance and then head off to bed and let people who want to stay up late, stay up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort is small and very close to airport. The meals were of good variety. Pool nice. Beach area well maintained.
The weak points
Not enough loungers at pool Not enough sitting areas for evening Entertainment too late
Certified

Pre Christmas vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-22
Our experience as a couple was very good. The grounds and rooms were kept very clean and stocked. Staff were friendly and helpful wether at front desk or cleaning staff and servers Entertainment crew work hard and encourage all to participate. Nice beach to walk in either direction, warm weather, clean beach area compared to other resorts near by. A laCarte and buffet and snack areas decent with lots of variety for your typical AI vacation. 5 min walk to beach along path is level and easy to get around. A minor issue, if you have allergies or get the sniffles there is no Kleenex in the rooms and it's around $12 US at stores close by for a box. Very clean resort and accommodating staff. Just be courteous and respectable to all staff and treat them the way you would wanted to be treated and your vacation will be awesome even if you find your own weak spots. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice and clean rooms and grounds. Nice beach Always easy for beach or pool loungers. Adults only, awesome entertainment crew.staff very friendly& helpful, good variety of food no need for reservations at AlaCarte rest's
The weak points
Room decor, no swim up bar, no room chairs to sit on, no Kleenex in room!!
Certified

Vacation

, Wahnapitae, ON
2018-12-19
It is very small, quiet and was only 41% capacity. Beach is long and great for walking. We enjoyed our vacation however had a few hiccups. The Front Desk Reception has one gentleman that is extremely miserable. We referred to him as Mr. Personality! Very arrogant. We where change $105US as our room only had a king bed (travelled with a friend and made many request for 2 beds). Was extremely sick for 24 hrs (not much of a drinker so not sure what the cause was). Great excursion with the buggies. Book your excursion from the folks at the beach and not with your Rep (Sunwing) etc. Same excursions with a saving of $30 US . The weather was amazingly hot and breezy. Perfect weather! Food is ok a step up from Cuba. Having free Internet was a Bonus! The entertainment staff are all very friendly and adorable ( Peter Pan, Elastic Boy, Africa, Joker). Over all we had an amazing vacation. Don't miss the Foam Pool Party ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Be aware of your purchase-it's good, not great

, Mississauga, ON
2018-12-01
This is a good hotel. Check several sources for details and star ratings, as we saw this hotel rated as both a 4 1/2 star and then as a 3 star. This hotel is what can be expected of an average hotel in the DR, but doesn't have the quality food service or luxury, pampered feel of a 4 1/2 star. We visited during shoulder season (end Nov.), so hotel was not busy, quiet and no crowding, maybe mostly because of the time of year we visited. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is a small hotel, so no overcrowding, no fighting for lounge chairs at the pool or the beach. The hotel is not obsessive about the pool towels, doesn't limit your a la carte dining or need reservations. Animation staff were good.
The weak points
The hotel & activity areas are not on the beach. There are no beachfront or oceanview rooms. Seniors/less mobile beware-The beach is a 5 min. walk along a path, passing resort buildings next door. It's a nice crescent bay, but wavy & deep dropoff.
Certified

Decent but not outstanding

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-01
Needs upgrading but not bad on the whole. I loved that it was adults only...
Restaurants were not all open due to small numbers of guests..but I'd rather have less guests and a quiet atmosphere and lose out on choice...although having both would be the ideal. Food was decent, although repetitive. One of my biggest beefs was that I couldn't get fresh juice...they had drink concoctions premade with lots of sugar but when I asked for nice blended juice with fresh pineapple, passion fruit, papaya etc I wasn't able to get any...disappointing.
I don't think at this point with the state of the rooms it should be classed as a 4 star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The setting lovely and the walk to the beach along the lagoon(except for the occasional sewer smell) was beautiful. The pool and bar area and other common areas were nicely kept and gave a good impression.
The weak points
Upgrades are definitely necessary for the rooms and bathrooms there are well used. The mattress was no longer a pillow top..it was rather compressed and not the most comfortable. The house keeping was OK but not great...not a lover of other people's hair.
Certified

Viva Windham

, Ajax, ON
2018-11-01
Great experience , consideration was given to my physical challenges...this was greatly appreciated ,in the choice of room ( 1st f!o or .... ),the disable bath,the constant help of all the staff to get into dining areas etc a really great time was had !...Am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Viva Wyndham V Heavens in Puerto Plata

, Gravenhurst, ON
2018-10-21
My stay at Viva Wyndham V Heavens in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic was great and I had a wonderful time there .I am handicapped, I don't walk very well, the staff were very accommodating, as they helped me out whenever I needed it. The room was great, quite roomy. The resturants were excellent, and the service and the food were great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The only thing I found was it was difficult to get in and out of the pool. Being handicapped I had a hard time getting up and down the ramp into the pool, without a rail to hang on to.
Certified

WORK & PLAY

, Brampton, ON
2018-05-17
I went to Viva Heaven to get away from the office and work away from distractions. This was a great setting to do that. Every morning after breakfast i would sit at the pool bar and type to my hearts content. by the afternoon I was ready for some fun and some sun. The entertainment staff was great at engaging everyone so no one felt left out.
Hospitality staff was great as well. They treated me courteously and it felt sincere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bar staff and Restaurant staff were very attentive and once they got to know you seemed to think ahead of you. I liked that a lot.
The weak points
Not all the restaurants are open every day. Might just be the time of year but that was a bit frustrating at times. the food was good quality but sometimes was not as hot as i would have preferred.
Certified

My vacation

, Moncton, NB
2018-05-06
Hotel was clean, staff is very accommodating, friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and cleanliness
The weak points
terrible exchange rate to get pesos
Certified

Very disappointed

, Lashburn, SK
2018-03-10
This resort could improve in many ways. The room, while clean when they cleaned it, was in need of maintenance and repair. 2 days out of 7 they didn't clean it and one of the days they did clean it, they didn't restock the fridge or coffee. My request for only pop and water in the fridge was only honoured the first day. The handheld shower head came off the hose and they came to fix it twice. Both times they simply pushed it back together so their "fix" only lasted til my next shower. The towels felt like sandpaper!
The food at the buffets was bland and boring. Both buffets were very small for the size of resort and almost always the same. Very little variety.
The only bar open in the evenings is the pool bar, with only one or 2 bartenders! The beach bar usually had only one bartender so waiting 5 to 10 minutes for a drink was common. The pool bar only had seating for 28 people!! The theatre was across the courtyard and up a flight of stairs from the bar, with only seating for about 40 people, and no drink service at all. The other area where they did karaoke and sometimes had live entertainment had seating for only 16 people!!! They have no lobby bar or any real gathering place for evening socializing.
The beach was decent although the was a lack of shade and not nearly enough loungers. It is worth mentioning that, being a supposed 5 star resort, there was no drink service on the beach either.
The Wi-Fi was available in most areas of the resort but the internet connection from the Wi-Fi was usually very poor often non existent. (Strong Wi-Fi signal but no internet) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach itself was nice for the most part, although they could've cleaned up the seaweed a little more often. Most of the staff was very friendly.
The weak points
The food was the worst I've had at any resort, including 3 star resorts. The drink availability was also the worse I've ever seen. The only snacks available after 10 pm is room service and limited to your choice of a chicken or tuna sandwich.
Certified

Nice stay, food OK

, Orleans, ON
2018-02-23
My spouse and I resided for 7 nights at the Viva Wyndham V Heavens (Adult only resort). We arrived around 3 o'clock, the check in was quick. Our room wing #1, 1st floor was ready (#1110, ground level) . FYI: Upon check in Jose (front desk) was very evasive as to the location our room, I asked him a few times if it was facing the parking lot, he never answered). We later found that this room faces the parking lot/entrance and is very noisy during the day (vehicles coming in, honking horn & at night with cars & buses coming in and persons walking/smoking/ talking very loud near lobby area) . We complained to Jose, he replied that he could only offer building #4 were we would hear the loud disco music until the early hours of the morning. We decided to stay in our room, but were awakened a few times during our stay…. Our room was nice & clean, we had an Amnesia Suite. Once you enter the room: the closet (2 doors) has wood hangers, an iron/ironing board and two white bath robes. You have one shelf and a free digital safe. Opposite the closet, you have a large counter with coffee maker, one open shelf above, closed storage space below and the small fridge with pop and beer (we were missing items in fridge upon our arrival). Then you have the sofa, coffee table and patio door. The washroom layout is of a nice size (closing door): toilet, shower with glass (had 2 options for the shower: a hand held shower head or the rainfall type), a sink and shelving below for towels…etc. The hairdryer was missing upon our arrival, we asked and one was later delivered. The water pressure and hot water were always good/ available. The AC was quiet and worked fine for all of our stay. We had a king size bed which we found extremely comfortable and there are light switches on both sides of the bed. The TV (flat screen, wall mounted) has approx. 30 channels to select from: a few English channels (BBC, CNN, movies, etc. …), and many Spanish. The patio door & window have very opaque curtains. Our balcony had 2 chairs small table. Our regular maid (btb Isabelle) service was good, she replenished our towels & fridge when needed (on 2 occasions we had items missing (at check in and when our regular maid was off). Also the replacing maid left the patio door unlocked. Our regular maid created ornaments on a daily basis. The main Buffet had a: (variety of meats, fish, pastas, cold cuts, soups, breads, cheeses, fresh fruits/vegetables, jams, peanut butter, ice cream, yogurts, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...). We found the cooked meats to be very salty. We found the AC to be too strong/windy in the buffet area. There is also the lunch restaurant at the beach, but it is not as elaborate as the main buffet and serves the same items every day. The pizza cooked in the wood oven was delicious. We went to the Blend (Steak) & Italian A la Carte restaurants. We enjoyed the Italian (beach) which we attended twice. There was no reservations needed and we never waited to be seated. The service at the 2 bars (beach & pool) was good. The pool was kept clean and the water was clear throughout the whole day. To access the beach you must walk approx. 5 minutes on a cement pathway. There is no sun umbrella on the beach. Long chairs at pool & beach were available early in the morning (until approx. 10:00 hrs). The location of the Viva Wyndham V Heavens is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way) for long distances. The Beach is nice, light brown sand and not too rough ocean water. There were salespersons walking the beach trying to get your attention. But, once you told them that you were not interested they did not bother you. Wi-Fi was free (including your room). It was slow at times but worked. We did not attend any night shows. The guests are mostly from Canada, Europe and USA. The gym located (2 nd floor close to theater) next to the Spa was nice. There are hand towels and a large water bottle in the gym area. We had our usual spot at the buffet area and we really appreciated the service with a smile we received from Isaira & Arturo at dinner time. The hard working hotel personnel are nice, friendly & give you a good service. We found our room noisy and we got awakened a few times at night. Besides this & fridge items missing on 2 occasions we found our overall vacation OK. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach. Nice large Amnesia suite.
The weak points
Room very noisy (facing entranceway/parking lot. Food repetitive & meats very salty. Buffet restaurant the AC was on too strong. The light fixtures were moving with the velocity of the air from the AC Line ups at the 2 bars. No sun umbrellas on beac
Certified

Resort

, Island View, NB
2018-02-19
It was nice. Our room was a bit musty. Damp on the first floor and our shower drain was clog. But resort and beaches food restaurant and staff were amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacation

, St Ignace, NB
2018-02-19
The staff was friendly and the food was really good but we prefer a bigger resort with a bar in the lobby where there would be music there etc... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food...clean resort
Certified

30 Island

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-01-17
No balcony...our friends had no airconditioner 3days ... musty small rooms no place for clothes except smelly closet? Front desk workers very unaccomadating!!! Would not go back. Said no rooms with balconies were available but resort and rooms seemed unoccupied? Never been in a resort with rooms without balconies buyer be ware? Lots of venders on the beach ... disturbing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD WAS GREAT
Certified

Amazing trip!

, Toronto, ON
2016-09-09
The hotel experience was great! We were greeted with smiles and helpful hands. The facility was clean and the workers made it a great experience for me and my friends. I wish they did the foam party at the pool that we had seen in pictures, but otherwise it was a dream come true! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place! Highly recommended!!!

, Hamilton, ON
2016-07-07
I loved the place! Staff was very friendly, the hotel - very clean, very safe, food was fine, room (Amnesia suite) was fabulous! The ocean and the beach were superb!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was great.
The weak points
None.
Certified

Great Resort!

, Saint-Hubert, QC
2016-07-01
This was my first time in the Dominican and it was a great firsf experience. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The food was great, except for the Italian. I loved the beach as well. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for an adults only resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The whole staff was so friendly and overall great! The food was good as well.
The weak points
They could have had all the restaurants opened on the same night. Wi-fi could be better.
Certified

Relaxing Week

, Holland Landing, ON
2016-06-14
Arrival at the resort was quick as was check in. Had the junior suite which was nice if not a little sparse. We were close to the lobby which was handy for 4 restaurants and the pool bar. A bit different from other resorts with no lobby bar. This was the pool bar which didn't have a large sitting area. Didn't go to any night entertainment and don't think there was much going on in that respect. Some of the younger crowd were there at the disco a few nights. Weather was great for relaxing the beach which is what we went for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was one of the cleanest we've been to. all the washrooms in the public areas were well kept. The beach area was nice and cleaned daily. We thought the swimming area had one of the best bottoms with no stones/rocks. Food overall was good.
The weak points
We were there in low season and resort was probably less than half full. The service in the buffet restaurants was not the greatest as at lunch, we would quite often be finished eating and not get a drink. Lots of people at the beach selling.
Certified

Not a bad vacation

, Laval, QC
2016-05-12
Hotel was recently updated and it is not bad. The food in all of the restaurants was just OK.....nothing fantastic. Not too much going on at the pool or the beach for amusement......they could improve on that. The staff at this hotel is one of the nicest I have encountered in a long time. I always gave a tip at the restaurants....they deserved it. Bar service was also great and there was always someone walking around to get you drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is fantastic
The weak points
Food could be better
Certified

Definitely not heaven

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-16
Where do I start?
I am an experienced traveller and have stayed at many resorts in many countries.
Star ratings are used for a reason, to help travellers discern if they wish to stay at a resort for the price offered. V Heaven was billed as a 4.5 star....................no where close, not a chance, no way in heaven or he--. Rating this place as such only skews the star system.
This resort had no ammenities you would expect in 4.5 star.
Reception, While quick and efficient our lady was unfriendly with a sour face. I greeted her in Spanish and she responded abruptley in English. No problem I can speak both languages .We arrived early and our rooms were not ready. No problem we can walk the resort. That took all of 5 minutes. But where was the beach? Sunwing offers this as ocean front which it is not! It is a 3-4 minute walk down a path, walled on one side and nice foilage and water on the other.
When we got to our Bliss rooms they were poor make overs NOT renovated. My friend's room had no air conditioning and was humid and very warm. Mine was like a freezer the only way to turn the heat up was to turn the air conditioning off.
While the main bedroom looked nice with a fresh coat of white paint , beds with fresh, crisp linens modern cabinetry and new curtains there was no chair, no where to sit other than on the bed and storage space was only adequate for one person. This room is far too small for two people. The Bathroom was a poor job! You could see where they ripped out the tub turning it into a glass walled walk in shower. Old holes in the wall tiles patched with putty. The floors do not slope to the drain so they flooded even with the ingenious use of stone chair rail on the floor to make a barrier to try and prevent this. The shower floors are done with polished wall tile making them crazy slippy, no grab bars so they become just plain dangerous. The shower ran hot and cold making you do the Hoky Poky.....step in ,step out repeat till you were clean. The floor from the bathroom does not meet the height of the bedroom tile leaving globs of glue exposed and an edge where one can trip or stub their toes. The countertops are the old ones painted white but are already showing wear and tear. This lipstick on a pig reno will not hold up and soon it will look like an exhausted Days Inn. Every second time I needed to use my safe I had to call security as it would not open. The windows do not lock and even though I was on the 3rd floor I still like a locking window. My phone was hooked up to the wrong room so when my friend called me she would get someone else.
The pools were nice and kept clean. There were not enough chairs to accomodate all of the guest but we always seemed to manage to get chairs at the small pool up stairs.
Bar service was frequent and friendly. The ocean awesome. There is a beach bar and restaraunt for guests to enjoy. You could walk to the right for at least 1/2 hour to the end of the resort where you will be stopped by security. To the left it is a shorter walk, the white post is the end of the resort. You will pass a tourist market which is fun.
If you encounter seaweed just walk a bit and you will find beautiful clear water to swim in.
The food Yikes! repetative and boring, cold and just sitting there jelling. EW! Not very many nutritional choices. No salad so I resorted to using the lettuce for the hamburgers and other toppings to make one. When we saw broccoli and carrots I thought it was a party! Speaking of hamburgers they were cooked in the kitchen and sat on a hot plate that was not turned on , therefor a cold plate. There is a grill right there so they could be made fresh. There was always a mystery meat stew and canned pasta sauces. Nothing looked appetizing and nothing was warm. Friut was limited to pineapple, melon and rock hard, dried out orange slices. Plenty of breads pizza and desserts.
I have never seen cheese stuffed hotdogs on a breakfast buffet before. For dinner there was always a protien turkey, chicken, pork roast and it was good as long as you drowned it in the very salty gravy they provided. We ate at the Italian and Blend. The service and presentation was wonderful but the food was nothing to write home about. Definitely not what you would expect for 4.5 star food that is for certain. I would have gladly skipped meals but being a diabetic I must eat.
Another curious thing....the staff eats from the same buffet and in the same dining room as the guests. Never seen this in a 4.5 star resort? They were all polite and presentable but there should be a staff room.
The wine was......can't think of a word suitable to use here so I will settle for horrid. the mixed drinks ar made with bottled pop which is flat.
The entertaiment staff was fun and energetic, friendly and definitely added life to the resort. They work from 9 am till midnight 6 days a week. As a result they had no time to create entertainment for the evenings. It is either a D.J. or Bad Karaoke and dancing. Most people retreated to their rooms by 9-10pm. A 2 piece band set up one night to do a few songs and there was a troup brought in one evening to perform a short dance show.
Overall it was a disappointing vacation. I have never been the first person in the lobby with my siutcase packed ready to go home till this vacation.
As a side note the duty free at the airport is no bargain and in US dollars best to buy it on the way into the country. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020