Iberostar Tainos

Iberostar Tainos
3.703.703.703.703.70
3.70 based on 196 reviews
#38 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (54)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
$wpages 1234

Great location, Great service

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-27
Overall a very good vacation.

The resort is easy to navigate and not overly big to get around.

Beach and pools were very good, always found a chair. (beach had a few sand flees so bring some bug spray)

Ground are will kept, rooms are a good size, slightly dated, but very clean.
Service was excellent for all aspects.

The entertainment staff did a very good with the shows

The buffet food was OK, nothing great but OK. The Japanese specialty was the best.

Wi-Fi had to be purchased unless you booked a pool side bungalow which gives you 1 hour a day! (may not be a bad thing to put your internet toys down!)

We did the Havana trip, about a 2-hour drive but very worth the drive

There is some wacky rule you can't take Cuban money out of the Country when you head home so don't arrive at the airport with a bunch or you will be exchanging with locals for a discounted rate to return to Canadian [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location staff
The weak points
Food was only OK
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Buzz, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to impress you with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. We are so glad you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Tainos

Cuban Holiday

, St Isidore, ON
2020-01-17
We had taken a bungalow which was real clean and just right for us. The beach was clean with easy access , also plenty of room and didn't have trouble finding a place to relax.
The staff right from reception to caretakers were friendly and always anxious to help.
We have traveled to Cuba a few times and when you go to a different country that you are not familiar with it can be a little difficult , not the case at this resort.
Also I have to mention that all the staff was great , one did stand out , she was always willing to assist and gave a nice wave and big smile when we showed up to the food buffet , made us feel at home with her great sense of humor and personality , Glenda made our stay a lot more enjoyable and fun that's why we kept going to Glenda to serve us . Thanks Glenda ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-22
Dear Carol, Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience. Finally, we thank you once again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Tainos

Tainos

, Longueuil, QC
2019-05-28
clean, spacious, friendly stuff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very nice resort, clean, friendly people, all experience from the beginning to the end was excellent. Good food. Animation group took very good care on and off the beach, entertainment group was also very people oriented.
Certified

Need lots of attention

, Conception Bay South, NL
2018-06-25
Have been going to IberostarTainos for 6 years, it seems like it is going down hill. Seems to be smaller amount of staff. Room cleanliness has to go with the maid you have. Most maids were great, but this last trip was terrible. Rooms need upgrading badly. Lounge needs new furniture, its been neglected like a lot of things there. Food has gotten much better, but that was our highlight of things improving. Daytime entertainment is very poor, very little if any at the pool daily. Staff is great, its the only reason we keep going back. Keep up the good work. Coffee in the buffet is not fit to drink, have to go to lounge for a decent cup of coffee.Not sure if we will return there anymore, unless we hear of things changing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, pool was great and has one of the best beaches on the strip.Food has improved greatly.
The weak points
Entertainment, shortage of staffing around resort. Lobby is terrible as to what it used to be.

Good Holiday

, Miramichi, NB
2017-04-18
Had a fun time. It was not our first trip there and it is the staff that make the trip most enjoyable. There is always something that a person can find to eat at meals . The rooms we had maybe a little dated but were clean and comfortable and also quiet. Would recommend that one gets a bungalow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
By all means the Beach
The weak points
The Cuban Restaurant
Certified

Wonderful week at the Tainos

, Ottawa, ON
2017-03-24
Our family just returned from a wonderful week at the Tainos. Smaller hotel which made it very pleasant. Fast check in, room was ready early, short stroll to the beach, pool and restaurants. The hotel and rooms were very clean, the staff was amazing in all departments! Buffet was a little repetitive but we could always find something new to have some variety. We will definitely be returning! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff... exceptional. Animation staff was wonderful. Not overbearing, just the right balance. Of course the beach.
The weak points
Buffet a little repetitive but still good.
Certified

Wonderful Trip

, Murray Harbour,, PE
2017-01-23
We were pleasantly surprised at quality of accommodations and service we received. It was one less star than a previous stay we had but the only difference was, no facecloth, no coffee maker and nicer staff!! The 5 star we had previously stayed at was newer and nice but the staff was miserable unless you were tipping them. We did not find that at the Iberostar Tainos. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service overall in the public areas was very good and the Staff very friendly.
The weak points
Our maid should have been thorough from the beginning and it wasn't until we started leaving tips that she switched out towels and cleared away dirty dishes.The drinking glasses need to be replaced every day-she only did this once.
Certified

Terrible food, outdated room

, Brossard, QC
2016-06-10
very little food selection, air conditioning doesn't work very well. room furniture are broken, ants, spiders, lizard in the room. very cool front desk staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach
The weak points
terrible food, room needs upgraded
Certified

Wonderful trip

, Miramichi, NB
2016-05-02
This being our sixth time at this resort we knew what to expect. We were not disappointed!!! This being an older and smaller Iberostar it is very well maintained with an extremely friendly staff. Georges, Roberto, Julio, Beatrix, Giselle, Yamaris are only a few to mention All are friendly, having smiling faces and willing to help at all times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff and of course the BEACH
The weak points
Noticed that there needs to be some updates in the main building as it is showing some age. One may say Food but there is always something that one can find. The bread has always been great.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Toronto, ON
2015-09-05
Although being one of the oldest Iberostars you can easily be fooled. Very clean well maintained friendly and professional staff. It's a little cozier than the other Iberostar's but I loved it. The bungalows are fantastic. The shows aren't up to par as the other iberostars but good enough. The Japanese restaurant is great very filling and entertaining. Extremely organized. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean updated resort, Fernando the bell boy was very friendly and helpful. Desk staff were great. Impressed with how well maintained the resort was.
The weak points
Cleaning staff need to be a little more appreciative and courteous, more frequent pool activities but we loved the animation team especially Leslie . Food particularly meat being left out in the sun wasn't great. Buffet closed way too early for breakfast
Certified

Cuba- Feb 2015

, Toronto, ON
2015-02-18
Hotel was clean, most of the staff were very friendly, beach and pool were nice. Food not so great but always something edible to eat at the buffet. Hotel says they have a snack bar from 11pm - 5am, they don't. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, lots of activities on resort
The weak points
Food
Certified

Family vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2014-06-15
This was our first family vacation with our 9 month baby. Had a wonderful time there. The staff are amazing and more then happy to help. The resort was definitely smaller then any I have been on and very quiet. Entertainment at night didn't go very late so that didn't bother us as we were in bed pretty early for our baby. Daytime enertainment could have been better, wasn't too much really and they didn't play music either so made pool and beach quiet, so could do better with that. Food was better then I was expecting. The beach was gorgeous and very clean as was the whole resort. Overall was very satisfied for our vacation. If I was travelling without my baby or with friends I definitely would not choose this resort but for family I would definitely recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome staff. Beautiful beaches. Clean resort. Very good family resort
The weak points
Daytime entertainment could be better or least music during day. More variety of food seemed like everyday the same breakfast lunch and dinner
Certified

Tainos

, Aurora, ON
2014-06-01
Quiet and friendly Resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
perfect beach and amazing Star Friends
The weak points
food is simple
Certified

Iberostar tainos

, North Forks, NB
2014-05-12
Front staff and all staff very friendly when you arrive but when your leaving they can be rude like they cant wait for you to leave. Room had ants on counters and they said they would spray and didnt. Staff begging for tips is a put off . Beach was amazing ..room needed a better cleaning and my bed was broken ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff great when arrive and as long as your there until ready to leave...food average ..room ok not 4 star maybe 3
The weak points
Front staff rude on last day like they couldnt wait to get rid of us and wouldnt change money from 10 CUC to two fives and we saw they had the fives and they said they didnt have any,aunts in room,bed broken begging for tips is hard to take
Certified

Good Choice

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-08
Lovely gardens, pool and beach. No lineups for buffet or bars. Food slightly better than expected. Some strange things on buffet but you could always find something to eat. House wine not very good. Japanese restaurant bit disappointing. Most of staff very friendly and accommodating. Recommend staying in bungalows and not hotel rooms. As usual in Cuba, some updating of decor is needed, but all was very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. Cleanliness. Outside maintenance and gardens. Pool. Always enough chairs at beach and pool. Fresh fruit at all meals. Cappuccino at bars.
The weak points
House Wine. Coffee at buffet.
Certified

Excellent

2014-03-06
This hotel was an excellent choice for us. It was clean, spacious and had some of the best staff we've ever encountered. The beach was amazing. They were doing a bit of renovations which the hotel needs, but the rooms and main areas were still well-maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff. Beautiful beach. Food was actually pretty good. Drinks were some of the best I've tasted
The weak points
After the show there's not much to do, so it caters more to an older crowd. There's no "snack" bar for late at night, even if it's open until midnight would be nice. Rooms need a bit of updating but the chambermaids did an excellent job of cleaning them.
Certified

Good value resort

, Sackville, Ne
2014-03-01
I stayed at Tainos with my 14-year daughter. The resort is relatively small - beach, pool, bars etc all within a 5 minute or less walk from your room. The beach is the best part - white sand, lots of loungers and shade, and a close-by bar. The pool attracted lots of families and looked very clean.
We had a room on the upper level of one of the bungalows. It was very big and comfortable. Could have been a little cleaner, but I've seen much worse at home in Canada. A/C works, lots of hot water and good pressure.
The food was as expected, i.e. it's Cuba, so we were told not to expect anything too spectacular. As a vegetarian, I didn't have as many choices, although on the occasions when I asked for something (like a fajita) to be made without meat, they accommodated me.
The drinks and bar staff were great. Bars every few feet as you walk from the hotel to the beach!
We didn't attend all of the entertainment options, but the musicians that we saw were very good.
Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful; sometimes a little slow but not a big deal.
Internet is available on computers in the lobby for 10CUC/hour. It's pretty slow but functional.
This resort had a good mix of couples, seniors, and families with children. Not a party resort - very few 20-somethings (mostly with their parents anyways).
Overall, I recommend this resort for the price. Not a super high-end luxury vacation, but very good value and a really nice experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is fantastic. Resort is clean and pretty. Everything is close by. Quite quiet and friendly.
The weak points
Food is as expected - not amazing, but a fair amount of choice.
Certified

Nice resort

, Thunder Bay, ON
2014-02-27
Nice pool and great beach. Some things below expectations - running out of towels daily. Little access to the a la carte restaurants. The Japanese one was OK only.

Food was good in general.

The place shuts down other than the nightly show. You'd have to go to town to party.

Can rent a car in the next resort.

Overall I was happy and would recommend it. It's a recommend but I wasn't blown away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach. Calm resort
The weak points
Staff helpful and friendly in general. But only mildly so in general. Not quite that very welcoming feeling. Not a party resort but Varadero has options.
Certified

OK if you've have nothing to compare it to

, Limehouse, ON
2014-02-11
This hotel was OK but not much for the price paid. Some of the basics were not well supplied. We were given two flimsy towels for showering and two tiny hand towels, one tiny bar of soap. No Kleenex in the room and when I asked the housekeeping lady for some, she told me she didn't have any so I asked for an extra roll of toilet paper. We spent first two nights in one room with only one bed, not a good arrangement when travelling with a teenage daughter. Our first room was in the main building which reeked of cigarette smoke since they have absolutely no restrictions on smoking areas and there were many Europeans there who have no consideration for where they smoke. The front desk was accommodating and moved us to another room on the third day which was in one of the bungalow buildings with a nice little patio. It was mediocre clean, very limited cleaning service while you are there. Beds made but not changed during the entire time we were there, quick tidy of bathroom and what appeared to be a dirty cloth on a mop across the main area of the room. Had to ask for bottled water, it wasn't replaced daily. You had the feeling that most things were supplied on a minimalistic level and not that we are over-indulgers but it was quite hot and bottled water should be readily supplied. Some of the staff were great and we learned some things about Varadero, their life and Cuba. Others were very indifferent as if they couldn't care less. By the way, there are vendors on the beach trying to sell you things but not as aggressive as in the Dominican.
Oh and of course the food. Not so good, OK not good at all. Vacationing is an opportunity to take time and enjoy eating however not quite sure why they couldn't cook the food with some flavor. They had staff with chef hats on but not much chef activity going on. There too, it almost seemed as if the one day they received their shipment of cabbage because half the dishes on the buffet were cooked with cabbage. The next day it was something else. Very limited variety, bland, mundane. Also had a bad stomach for three days, not sure what from. Am not a drinker so had to be the food or the water which it shouldn't be since we only drank bottled water.
The best part was the beach. Beautiful sand by this resort. We walked the entire stretch and this resort is situated along the nicest section. The water is also fabulous, as green and clear as in the pictures and quite shallow with sandbars so would be good for kids. Lots of chairs available both on the beach and by the pool which was nice. The Star Friends group worked hard to provide various activities throughout the day. Tried Cuba, probably would not go back, can think of many other places to try and compared to Dominican and Costa Rica, we are willing to pay the bit more to get the more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great, compares with or even better than Punta Cana. Nice setting with lots of greenery. Pool area also nice. Some of the staff were very pleasant and definitely worked hard to ensure guests were well taken care of.
The weak points
The food was substandard, not much selection, very bland. Not sure what exactly the staff with the chefs hats were doing because it certainly wasn't making the food flavourful. Rooms very minimally supplied re: towels, soap, toilet paper, bottled water.
Certified

Food was substandard

, Elmwood, ON
2014-02-08
The rooms were good, staff were very good, pool was nice and beach was great. The food was substandard. The roasted turkey was served raw, pink on the inside. It should have been cooked for a few more hours. Beef was tough, buns too hard. The draft beer was not very good and .it had a terrible odour to it. The evaluation of this hotel was Below Expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, rooms and staff are excellant
The weak points
The beer had a strange smell to it, turned even me off the beer.
Certified

Iberostar (Ineedabeertostay) Tainos

, Windsor, ON
2014-02-08
Good clean hotel for the price. Great beach. Food was disappointing as had to stick with same few repetitive edible options. Bugers at ouside grill ok for lunch- yes they had ketchup and mustard.
Espresso and cappuccino good in lobby. Overall impression is that it is a poor version of Iberostar in Mexico. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This small resort was easy to navigate.The staff was friendly and the reception desk staff very efficient. The beach was beautiful and there was a sandbar about 75 feet from shore. The pool was nice with a comfortable temperature. Very good live music.
The weak points
Lack of toilet paper outside the room. Really limited edible food choices. Poor evening show. Nobody stays to dance at disco, probably because they left during the evening show. Not allowed to take out HobieCat on your own.
Certified

To the point.....Good.

, Oakville, ON
2014-02-05
The positive:

Fantastic beach (clean and groomed daily), very nice pool area, food better than expected, friendly staff

The negative:

Hotel is very dated. It's clean, but it's old and very much in need of an update.

Summary:

Great for a couples 4 night vacation. Don't think it would be for a longer stay, unless you want to stay on a beach for that period. And yes, it's a four star by Caribbean standards.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic Beach, Clean, well kept grounds, Nice pool, Overall good food, Friendly Staff.
The weak points
Dated hotel in need of a renovation and update.
Certified

Bad food and dirty rooms

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-29
Nice personnel, bad food and dirty rooms [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
cleanliness
Certified

Be aware of sand-fleas!

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-27
Good hotel, excellent beaches, good food. Unfortunately the room was infested w. sand fleas. Although we reported it, from receptionist to local doctor they were all specialists saying that it was allergy. Only after we got back home, our family doctor after analysis and consult told us it was sand-fleas, and not at all alergy!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Beaches. Clean location. Good food.
The weak points
The room infested w/sand fleas. Both of us bitten. We reported this, the receptionist had competence of a doctor, she said it was allergy. Went to local doc, he wanted money, then he said it is allergy. We got home family doc confirmed sand-fleas!
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-19
I wish we'd been advised that the hotel was under construction! Half of the villas were being worked on and there was construction underway throughout the entire resort. Our room was in the main building facing the front entrance. They were re-tiling the fountains from early morning until late at night, leading to the sound of buzz saws and hammering.

2 nights into our stay the a/c unit began to leak in our room, leading to a massive dripping mess. I attempted to call the front desk but no one answered, leading me to have to get dressed and trek down to the lobby in the middle of the night to seek assistance. My first was to request that we be moved to a new room but I was affronted by a very surly woman that outright refused, stating that there were no vacant rooms; which was odd, since I kept seeing a lot of empty rooms with doors wide open in the main building, let alone the villas that weren't under construction! When I asked to speak with a manager I was told (in a very surly tone) that there wasn't one on duty and that I'd have to "worry about it in the morning." In the end, I spoke with the guy at the bell desk and he arranged for a maintenance worker to come up and fix it for me.

I'd been warned about the food in Cuba but nothing could prepare me for how awful it truly was. Seriously. It was horrible.

The pool is incredibly small and the layout is a bit wonky. Not a huge deal since--let's face it--you come to the Caribbean for the ocean.

The beach is beautiful. There's zero negative to say about it. It's just a shame that there's only 1 small beach bar and no servers. This leads to a lot of people trekking back and forth. This is exacerbated by the tiny Dixie cups the resort serves drinks in. Make sure you bring your own large drinking conveyance with you!

If you're looking for a place to unwind, I'd suggest seeking another resort. Iberostar Tainos seemingly appeals to families so there are children swarming throughout the resort. The beach has a number of palm umbrellas (they were actually installing about 30 new umbrellas while we were there) but they're spaced very close together. It wasn't uncommon to be squeezed between a throng of other people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the ocean.
The weak points
The food, the overall service, the lack of things to do at the resort. If you're travelling as a couple hoping to avoid children, then I'd suggest avoiding this resort altogether.
Certified

Great vacation experience!!!!!!!!!!!!

, North Vancouver, BC
2013-12-16
If you don't adjust your expectations with an understanding of what is going on socialist political-wise to Cuba then you may be disappointed. The food is "okay" but you can always find healthy food to eat. The Cubans do the best that they can to make us visitors happy in our vacations and for that they do an excellent job. It's not easy for them, but they work very hard to please others whereas they don't see themselves ever having the same travelling and financial opportunities as ourselves. Their country island has many treasures for us visitors. We took an inexpensive half-day trip (about $35 each) to the nearby city of Matanzas which included a fantastic visit to the Bellamar caves full of crystals. Our tour guide was awesome and gave us a lot of insight to what regular Cubans experience and clearly has a great love for her country. Another trip we took was to Havana, of course......the architecture is stunning although in much need of renovation but made me think of European old cities I have seen. All throughout our trip we saw many old classic cars either in great shape or as beater cars. Many tourists opt to pay for a classic car taxi to get to Havana for a trip and back. There are still no American tourists there but my husband says that American classic car enthusiasts are salivating at the possibilities of scooping up these cars from Cuba once the USA lifts their embargo to this country....so enjoy the great cars of the 50s and 60s while they are still there in great abundance. Cigars and Cuban rum are also their flagship items. Ask the locals their opinions on which are best to buy as what is more readily seen is not necessarily their best products to enjoy.
Another tourist we talked to went on a jeep safari expedition which included another amazing cave to be seen.
We were going to go to the more local Varadero Tropicana show but it was cancelled due to structural roof issues, so, if you book this excursion make sure the roof isn't collapsing.
If you want to go into Varadero from this resort you can take the red or blue double decker buses from the main road for 5 pesos each. Keep the ticket as it lasts the whole day so you can hop on and off the bus as you like. However, if you first hop on a red bus you can only go on the red buses and not on the blue ones and vice versa. Make sure you don't get talked into going the wrong way which happened to us so it took us a lot longer to get into town...they just want your pesos for their bus. You can actually get a taxi fairly cheap to take you into town...one offered us a ride for just 5 pesos for the both of us.
Take insect repellant as there are mosquitoes there and they don't sell any repellant there. Those nasty insects like me a lot so I came back with a number of red splotchy wounds on my lower legs and arms.
My friend and I enjoyed this resort a lot. I wouldn't recommend staying at anything below a 4-star resort. The beach was awesome and clean. There are shells and coral to be found on the beaches especially when the ocean waves are fast and furious (as we approached a full moon at the end of our stay).
I read another review before I left stating that children's medication was a desirable "gift" to be given to parental Cubans so I brought a bottle of Children's chewable tylenol and gave it to a staff member at the resort.....her reaction was as if I had given her a brick of gold. The staff like gifts and tips. Okay...it's an all-inclusive resort and you don't have to tip.....but in reality those Cubans who work in the tourist industry rely on tips to supplement the paltry average Cuban salary of 16 CUC pesos/day which is why you'll find doctors and engineers working in tourism as it pays better for them/their families. Cubans are well-educated with a 100% literacy rate, but it's the tourist industry that pays them better. They have strict restrictions placed on them by their government. Tardiness and tourist complaints can get them fired. Be nice to them.....they mean well and are good people! Enjoy your trip! Be respectful of their culture, and enjoy the beautiful treasures to be found on this Island!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is amazing, and the staff were all friendly. There are 2 camels (dromedaries)in the field beside the resort, and the Delphinario (dolphins)is beside that, so, within walking distance. Smaller resort.
The weak points
The flights both ways are red-eyes for those leaving from Vancouver, Edmonton and Calgary which cause jet lag issues. Before arriving in Varadero from Vanc. a flight attendant sprays the aisle with insecticide...bring a face mask/wear glasses if you can.
Certified

A real recommendable hotel

, Montreal, QC
2013-11-06
I'm really satisfied with my first experience in Cuba, especially in Iberostar Taninos. It is such a great place to stay: great services, delicious foods, beautiful beach, clean room...Worthy! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great management, great team in hotel!
The weak points
It should have one more restaurant a la carte.
Certified

Great hotel!

, Toronto, ON
2013-09-23
Would definitely go back again. hotel is on the small side which I prefer. Not too busy when we got there and there was always space in the beach chairs and pool chairs. beach was gorgeous and staff were generally nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
gorgeous beaches. great food although sometimes can be too salty, staff were generally pleasant.
The weak points
we could not open the balcony to the door so we asked front desk to fix it twice but no one came.
Certified

Great time at the Tainos

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-09-17
Overall, we were very happy with our selection. The resort has been updated - our room had a flat screen tv and was very clean everyday - with amazing towel art! The pillows were super flat, but there were decorative ones you could shove underneath and we all slept fine! The people were amazing - front desk crew was probably the nicest I've had contact with. Claudia in guest services went above and beyond for us! The bartenders, the waiters and waitresses - all very friendly and tried to liven the place up a bit! Other than the food - which we fully expected to be just okay - our only complaint would be how quiet and boring the resort was....but you can't fault them 100% - it was the other guests there at that time - they were just very quiet! We would have liked a little more entertainment or games throughout the daytime - that was pretty non-existant. We made the best of it - had our own music at the beach and ventured out each night to different clubs in the area - all only 10 pesos away! We ate at the Cuban restaurant and got eaten alive by bugs - the food wasn't great - but we honestly just wanted to get out of there!! The Japanese restaurant was very good - we all enjoyed this meal and left full! The buffet was okay at dinner - pasta made to order and different selection of meats made fresh. The "24 hour" buffet was dissappointing - the food was made and just left out for hours - and you could tell! They made the best pina coladas at the lobby bar! All in all we had a great time - we knew what to expect before we went, had an open mind and didn't let the small stuff bother us!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people!! Everyone we dealt with was AMAZING!!! Claudia in guest services was fantastic and so helpful!Also the beach was gorgeous!! New beach chairs! Everything was super clean as well!
The weak points
The food - however this is expected - it is Cuba!! We always found something to eat, but don't go expecting gourmet! For us, the biggest dissapointment was definately the lack of entertainment thru the day and the general quietness of the resort.
Certified

Will not recommend this resort

, Mississauga, ON
2013-08-19
The facility is old and needs updating. The sheets and towells are thread bare with holes. No face clothes available and the pillows are bats of cotton. The bathroom needs a proper cleaning and the floors should be mopped. The buffet dining room is taken over by flies. This is not healthy.Happy to be home for proper food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches is beautiful.
The weak points
Need to get rid of the flies in the dining room.
Certified
$wpages 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020