Sol Palmeras

Sol Palmeras
3.803.803.803.803.80
3.80 based on 261 reviews
#13 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (111)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-21
Gaint resort with friend staff. Had zero problems with my room and other visitors. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, daily activities
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-03-30
Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel and its services. We appreciate your positive comment about our hotel. We send you many greetings from Sol Palmeras.

Sol Palmeras feb 16-24

, Langley, HA
2020-02-29
Overall very good. Poor start as we arrived at 400am and told the junior suite we paid for was not available and we were to stay in the bungalows. The bungalows are rundown, uncomfortable and a long walk to the resort area. We had to really fight with front desk to get junior suite we paid for the next day [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff and room patio
The weak points
Bungalow- food is disappointing. Bar drinks were inconsistent,
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-03-13
Hello Craig: Thank you very much for your comments. We thank you very much that you have taken part of your time in offering your opinions. This is very important for us, it helps us to know the strengths and weaknesses of our service, especially those points where we must improve. We have a project of total renovation of our hotel in the coming years that includes all the rooms and services of the hotel. We thank you again and hope you come back. We send greetings from Sol Palmeras.

My favorite place to run away to.

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-23
Second time at Sol Palmeras and my life is simpler now - I will never need to spend any time thinking about where to go for a break again. This place is everything you could want in a Cuban resort - incredibly friendly staff, excellent dinning options and food quality, an amazing beach and a well kept and maintained property. It really is that good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- amazingly friendly staff even for Cuba - excellent dinning options and food quality - well maintained and clean
The weak points
Cant think of one.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-27
Dear Terrance: Thank you very much for your positive and encouraging comments. Your opinions commit us to improve our performance. We are very grateful that you choose us to spend your holidays in our hotel. We wait for you back. We send a cordial greeting from Sol Palmeras.

GREAT EXPERIENCE

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-10
This was our first visit to any beach resort and we are so happy we made the decision to stay in this resort. Very much a 5 star for a Cuban standard. Very open, clean and well maintained. We stayed in 2 bedroom bungalows and it provided enough space to our family with 2 teen kids and it was right on beach so always waking up to the sound of ocean and beautiful view. Rooms and washrooms seem a little bit dated but they were always very clean. And we always found a swan or a heart made out of the blankets to make us happy at the end of the day.

Tons of food variety, there was no shortage of any kind of food. We are all vegetarian but still found ample food to enjoy, esp desserts. So many different variety of desserts each day with every meal that our kids had them for bfast too(lol). They make fresh pizza and pasta for each meal which was bonus and on top of many other varieties of food. Lot of varieties of meat, cheese, salads, bread, rice, fruits, juices, yogurt and so much more. The only little issue i had was that they did not have much protein options for vegetarian people. They make beans almost every day but all of them has some kind of meat. I had chickpeas once with no meat. So even though i was never hungry but i would have appreciated if they consider more options for vegetarians. For bfast the chef makes choice of eggs- scrambled, omelette etc. Loved their coffee and they have variety of wines to offer too at both lunch and dinner. The bar service is super, one of the bar makes fresh pizza each night after 11:30 pm so we were nvr hungry even after a whole day outing you come back to have your drink and kids to enjoy pizza and hamburgers. The fresh fruit bar has amazing varieties of fresh juices, ice cream parlour was good esp their caramel and coconut ice cream. Remember their cheese and salad dressing may taste different from what we are used to here but they are still decent.

Pool side bar is amazing to be at in the evening. Pool area is big and adequate space for everyone to sun bathe or enjoy the pool. Resort is right on the beach and not even more than 5 min walk from wherever your room or bungalow may be. Bar on the beach has a number of alcoholic drinks too. My fav was Pina` Colada served at the main bldg at their terrace, this space is designed for smokers. Daily entertainment was great esp the Friday beach party and the magic and dance show at outdoor theater. We were able to book 2 restaurants from many, Tex Mex and Asian and they were amazing. I'm sure others would be equally amazing too. Need reservations for these and they need to be booked 2 days in advance and you can only be guaranteed space if you book them early morning. And i do not want to forget the servers- all of them are amazing with great service and hospitality. I want to name one especially- Edith at International Buffet restaurant, she is amazing and very warm person. And lastly i must say its very safe- our kids used to out by themselves even after midnight and i was nvr worried about them. Security guys are always out walking around and has enough lights everywhere.
I will visit Cuba again and will stay in the same hotel, don't even want to try other resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hospitality, Variety of drinks, food, Servers, entertainment, access to beach, pool, cleanliness
The weak points
More options food wise for vegetarians especially more protein.
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-22
Hello: Thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation and for your positive comments about our hotel and services. Their opinions about our options and variety of food are very important, because sometimes there are people who do not choose us because they think they will not find variety of food. Your suggestions for vegetarians are very valuable and we assure you that we will work to improve options for vegetarians. We will congratulate Edith on your part. Thanks again for this comment and for choosing us on your first trip to Cuba that we hope will be the first among many more. Best regards from Sol Palmeras.

We will be returning !

, Leduc, AB
2019-10-22
This was our first time to Cuba and we went with the understanding that food may be lacking and that we are dealing with a 3rd world country.
I was told I'll either love it or hate it.

I also wasn't expecting a top of the line room. Our room was “refreshed” not renovated but it served its purpose. The fridge was old but worked, the shower head was a bit low and the bathroom door stuck a bit but not enough to upset me in anyway! The beach makes up for it all! The bed was decent and the staff were friendly! The air conditioning kept the room cool and for the time I actually spent in my room, none of this had an effect on me.

It peeling paint and cracked sidewalk blocks offend you, don't go to Cuba.

The Latino and Tex mex restaurant did not disappoint! Our waiter Fidel was the best part! The Chinese was good too! The Buffett has a little bit for everyone, we found out favorite and had the same thing daily for breakfast. Waffles and fruit with eggs.

We fell in love with Cuba and will be back.
The ground were beautiful and well maintained. We found a couple plastic cups in the pool but blame that on ignorant guests who don't clean up after themselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-24
Good morning Melisssa. Thank you very much for choosing us as your vacation destination and for dedicating part of your time to writing this review on Monarc. What you say about food is very important because many people hesitate to choose us cause they think they won't find what to eat. Sometimes we have some difficulties, but our hotel, as well as the rest of the Varadero hotels are well stocked so that the quality of service is not affected. We love knowing that you fell in love with Cuba. It' is a beautiful country with wonderful and friendly people. We will take into account the negative aspects you mention, as it will help us grow and we will congratulate Fidel on your part. Thanks again for this comment and for choosing us on your first trip to Cuba that we hope will be the first among many more. Best regards from Sol Palmeras.

Great resort!!!!!!

, Sainte Marthe Sur Le Lac, QC
2019-06-03
Hotel has recently been renovated and looks great. 4th time staying at this hotel and wouldn't go anywhere else. Always clean, can always find something good to eat, very pleasant staff. 5 star for me!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, beach, food.....we don't use the pool but it's very nice and clean.
The weak points
None!
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-06-05
Hello Sharon. Thank you so much for choosing us for the 4th time as your vacation destination and for writing this great review on Monarc. Certainly the renovations carried out in the hotel have given it a fresher and rejuvenated look. That is our goal! It's very important to know that like the previous times you had a great time at Sol Palmeras. We thank you for recommending us and we're looking forward to your next visit. Best regards from Sol Palmeras.

Beautiful beach!

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-15
We stayed in two bungalows as a family of four would be tight in a regular room. The bungalows are close to the beach and spacious. However they are VERY dated and in somewhat poor condition. The maid did a great job keeping them clean though. Beach was great but be prepared to get up early to get shade and/or chair. I have been to Cuba and to other south destinations and have never been sick. Cooking staff rush to cook raw food (fish for me) and NO ONE wears gloves when handling fresh/raw or cooked food. That being said the staff were helpful and the resort property was relatively clean. I will definitely return again to Varadero but not this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, beach, beach! White sand and blue ocean. Watch the left side of the beach and there is sharp rocks as you walk out!
The weak points
FOOD - although it's pretty good for Cuba I got food poisoning. The first time ever in 20 years of travelling south for March Break.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-03-27
Hello. Thank you very much for choosing us as your vacation destination. We regret that your stay at our hotel hasn't been 100% satisfactory, although it's good to know that you felt welcomed by the staff. Concerning what you mentioned about the maintenance of the bungalows, we will take it into account as some of them really need to be updated. We will check as well the item you mention about undercooked food. On the other hand it is good to point out that in all areas of the hotel international hygiene standards are followed, which must be demanded daily by the heads of areas. Thank you again for your comments as they indicate opportunities for improvement to consider. Best regards.

Sol Palmeras Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-03
Good service, nice people, beautiful beach, clean hotel. Some TLC needed, but that did not ruin our impression and experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, location
The weak points
Serving drinks in plastic cups inside hotel
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-03-05
Hello Vaidaz. Thank you very much for choosing us as your vacation destination and for the time spent writing this comment on Monarc. It's very good to know that you had a nice experience in our resort, you felt welcomed by the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and of course our beach. We will check what you tell us about the use of plastic cups inside the hotel since it's not a usual practice. It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again at Sol Palmeras. Best regards.

Third time and looking at returning next month.

, Windsor, ON
2019-01-15
Always enjoy our visit to Sol Palmeras! The staff is wonderful and always so welcoming! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolutely the staff! Cleanliness and atmosphere are bonuses! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.
The weak points
I felt the evening shows started pretty late.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-01-17
Hello Sue. Thank you very much for this comment posted on Monarc and for letting us know that you had a nice stay in our hotel. It's good that you feel welcome and happy with the treatment of all the hotel staff. Our staff is really one of our main assets. If you need any help or information for your next visit you can write to the following address: community.manager.sep@meliacuba.com. Best regards.

Great trip

, Terrace Bay, ON
2018-11-22
We enjoyed our stay here. Loved the cabana, lots of room, comfortable, terrace to sit out at, close to beach! We had an unrenovated cabana but it was super clean and we had no complaints about it. Lack of hot water one day was quickly fixed. The main buffet had an incredible amount of choice and the food was all pretty tasty. A la carte restaurants were easy to book, and had no restrictions. We enjoyed the TexMex the best, also liked the Italian and Chinese. Lots of bars and the beer was always cold, lots of frozen drink options. We enjoyed a few shows, good talent. Pool was clean and refreshing. Lots of chairs at the pool and beach. Nice beach, took a beating in a storm when we were there but still good. Water was clean and warm in the ocean. Paddle boats and kayaks in good shape and easy to use. All in all a solid 4 star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food. Good restaurants and bars. Lunch outside with BBQ pig and chicken was excellent. Fresh breads, tasty cheeses, cold meats, yogurt, ice cream. Quiet cabana area with great beach access.
The weak points
Cafeteria atmosphere and noisy in main buffet. Watery and usually warm house wine. There is construction in the pool area but it didn't affect our use of anything.
Certified

Beach vacation

, Brampton, ON
2018-10-13
Overall good resort. Air-conditioned lobby and main buffet great asset. The main lobby is very nice, will be even nicer when the renovation is over.
The rooms in the main building are little dated, but clean. The beds are not too bad, although a new mattress would be nice, the sheets are clean and crisp, changed daily. Towels, although clean, don't have that soft feeling anymore. The food is tasty, Chinese restaurant definitely our favourite. The beach and the ocean absolutely beautiful, lots of new loungers, ideal place for sunbathing lovers, and for the beach walkers, never had problem with beach towels. Very friendly staff. Short ride to Varadero, speaking of which, beware of the horse and buggy ride prices the guys give you... The hourly price ($10 CUC) is per person not per buggy, also, rarely do they come back within one hour.. and a few minutes past an hour counts as a half on hour..so don't bather. it's not that good anyway..Hop on Hop of bus is a better option.
All in all good vacation.
The only negative things was, that the Sunwing rep. didn't post in the communication book that the plane was delayed 4 hours... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Nothing at the hotel.. Just Varadero horse and buggy rides...
Certified

Summer Vacation

, Timmins, ON
2018-07-31
Reception was not very friendly or even helpful. We arrived at 11:30 didn't get into our room Until 4:30. No assistance with our luggage when we arrived we were left to fend for ourselves. I had to ask if there was somewhere we could store our luggage and possibly change into our swim wear. I was under the impression that we had ami I bar in our room. When I inquired at reception I was simply told no, not included then was dismissed. My daughter and I both felt that we did not receive as good as treatment as other guest because we were English speaking. Our room was at a great location, very close to pool and beach! Our maid was very friendly and efficient. Food was good for Cuba, very disappointed that there were no manosias at breakfast. Enjoyed spending time in the lobby in evenings. Great entertainment and the service was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and the grounds were well maintained !
The weak points
Reception
Certified

Great experience

, North York, ON
2018-07-01
We really enjoyed our time at Sol Palmeras the bungalows were quiet and great for families ours was just a few steps to the beach which was awesome. Having a mall within walking distance very helpful to buy water, pop or snacks we needed. No complaints about the staff or service we never had an issue they were always attentive and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was great we especially enjoyed the Italian restaurant. The beach is one of the best in Varadero
Certified

Nice vacation

, Manotick, ON
2018-04-02
We had a very nice vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees are attentive and hard working Good selection of food Beach is incredible Lobby entertainment in the evening was really really great
The weak points
Wifi should be available in more areas than the lobby and you should be able to purchase more than an hour at a time. Better signs/ map. I had no idea there was a little market and bank machine at the other end of the resort.
Certified

1st time to Cuba

, Brockville, ON
2018-02-09
Some sections of the resort have been updated, and some are disgusting. We had to switch rooms 3 times during our 5 night/6 day trip. The service is VERY slow at this resort and the entertainment is mediocre. The food wasn't very hot in the buffet, but the a la carte restaurants were excellent. The Chinese restaurant had the best service & food in the entire resort. They need more bartenders at the beach bar, as the line ups were long. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome beach & Chinese A la carte
The weak points
Slow service & entertainment
Certified

Great time by all!

, Laval, QC
2017-06-23
We stayed at this resort June 11-18, 2017.
3 adults (37, 67, 70) 2 kids (4,5)
First time in Cuba. Read and heard so many mixed reviews about Cuba, was not sure what to expect.
The resort is clean, the lobby is always busy with the main bar open 24hr.
The buffet restaurant is on the lower floor of the main building. The great thing about staying in the building rooms, as opposed to the bungalows, is that in the event of rain you don't have to be outside.
The grounds are beautiful and well kept, people were working everyday.
It is not a huge resort. You don't need a ride to the beach. Everything is very accessible.
The beach was beautiful and practically private, with 3 sections of huts.
There is a mini club with daily activities for kids, by the pool and on the beach.
It is an older resort, some of the rooms need upkeep but considering we were only there to change and sleep the fact that the AC dripped, and has affected the wall around it didn't bother me.
Food was great for the most part; enough of a variety. We didn't have issues with getting sick.
The only surprising thing was the lack of seafood at the seafood restaurant... but really not an issue.
We loved our stay and experience here and would recommend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sol Palmeras

, Guelph, ON
2017-05-08
This was the fourth time for me at this. The food has improved from 2 1/2 years since I was last there. Beach is great, hotel is clean. They have renovated some of the rooms & the rest need to be done. We had a renovated room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, value for your money, great staff, great beach.
The weak points
Rooms not yet renovated.
Certified

Nice intro to Cuba

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-02-18
Older hotel but very well kept up and clean. Food was fairly basic but lots of selection. Lots of entertainment: tai chi, aquafit, synchronized swimming demo, dancing lessons, live music. Beach is gorgeous. Sailboats, catamaran & pedal boats - all free. We used them a lot. Staff is very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great

, Pointe Claire, QC
2017-02-15
Loved the hotel and grounds. Stayed in a bungalow which was great, although a bit of a walk. Not too crowded on beach, which was lovely. No rocks or shells so you don't need water shoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, grounds, room.
The weak points
Internet only works in a small area of the lobby.
Certified

Great vacation at Sol Palmeras

, Toronto, ON
2017-02-03
We went to Sol Palmeras twice. We stayed at the main hotel in 2014 with our 22 month old (now she is 5) and it was ok. But while we were there we noticed the bungalows. And in January 2017 we decided to stay at the Bungalows. We took note of the room numbers while we were there in 2014. Luckily we got the room we wanted in 2017 and it was very convenient. Our second daughter is 16 months old and both of our kids loved being there. Bungalow was spacious with one bedroom and a living area. It was about 5-8 minutes walking distance to the main building where the restaurants, pool and the main bars are. There is a snack/bar where the hot tubs are (about 2 minutes to the bungalow we were staying) so we got our grilled sandwiches, fries and drinks from there and it was sufficient for us in between meals. My husband also bought a bottle of rum just so that he didn't have to go to the bar every time he wanted a drink. You can purchase it from the hotel (about 7CUC) or from Plaza America which is about 10 minutes walking distance. I also brought some meals and snacks from home and it was really convenient for kids because after a few days they became picky eaters. We mostly spent the days at the beach which was about 1 minute away from our room. So if we forgot something it was super easy to go back. Or if someone needed a nap...

We also had our baby monitor with us so during nap time I was able to sit at the front of the bungalow and read a book and still enjoy the sun.The only thing is the walkway is right in front so it was getting a bit traffic during meal times. But it was busy with kids so I didn't pay much attention. Keep in mind the closer you get to the main building the louder it gets. One of the reason is the pool and the other is the outdoor theater. Some night shows are outside. It can get pretty loud...If you don't have kids and enjoy the shows it won't bother you. Our bungalow was very quite and peaceful.

Housekeeping staff appreciate used kids stuff...baby clothes, shoes...even your own clothes and shoes. Also soap and toothpaste etc is useful for them. Our housekeeping was great. Special thanks to Mileydis for making us feel like we were at our own home.

Food wasn't super but Cuba is not a place to expect great, gourmet food. There was grilled fish which they make right in front of you, it was fresh and tasted good. Also some foods are super salty but you can't go wrong with freshly cooked pasta and grilled meat/fish/chicken (I didn't eat chicken as a precaution)
Breakfast omelettes and fruit was great. I fed both my kids from the buffet and they didn't get sick. Water running from tap is filtered so it is safe to wash bottles for babies or brush teeth.

There was always clean beach towels. But I brought an extra towel with me just in case if we needed an additional dry towel. Sometimes we were too lazy to go change the towels.

For lunch we either ate grilled cheese or went to the beach restaurant where they grill ribs, chicken or fish (i liked the sardines) They also had a tasty paella.

People at the resort are very friendly and they love kids. 1-3CUC tip here and there goes a long way and people appreciate it a lot.

There is a babysitting service that you can arrange for 5CUC per hour if I didn't get it wrong. We didn't use the service but I met one of the ladies who babysit. She said there are two ladies (including herself) and they both have kids so they would need a day or two in advance to book the service. She seemed very nice and friendly with the kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Friendly and helpful Staff/Crew, Clean premises
The weak points
Some food at the buffet was too salty
Certified

Varadero Cuba

, Georgetown, ON
2017-01-17
Hotel was decent, but Government rules and regulations were not acceptable to me, will never return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff try hard to keep you happy
The weak points
the way their government does things is not ecceptable to me and I will never return to this country EVER
Certified

First time to Cuba

, Surrey, BC
2017-01-15
This hotel was ok, not sure how other hotels in Cuba compare to this one as this was our first time.
Good: staff in the restaurants and buffet, bar are great, they work extra hard for their tip. if you show tem tip ahead of your order or as soon as you sit down you get extra special service. There are many Canadians vacationing here, some visited this location up to 8x.
Hotel is clean. Chinese restaurant is the best. Lots of options at buffet to choose from. We figured it out in few days and went for things we liked. Fries at the beach bar are great.
Bad: large complex with too many people, we prefer more quiet ambience, meat is overcooked- they BBQ meat and then cut through it to make sure it is not pink and cook it little bit more for extra hard ness. The cook touched uncooked meat with the same utensils as cooked meat. Burger in a steak house restaurant is season what it tastes like chili powder and marjoram. My husband left it alone after first bite. Beach is very narrow and not that long compare to the beach in town of Varadero. You can only walk for about 15 minutes and the beach ends.
The entertainment in the evening is nice but we had a room next to the theater first night and the noise kept us up. Next day we switch to be few more rooms away from it and the noise was less noticeable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly Staff
The weak points
Huge complex with many people
Certified

Very Impressed

, Milton, ON
2016-12-12
A modest but well-equipped resort with excellent staff and fantastic beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beach, Location
The weak points
Several broken items in room, Very limited internet access.
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Sainte-Marthe-Sur-Le-Lac, QC
2016-11-14
Vacation from Nov 4th to Nov 12th.....amazing time at Sol Palmeras. Staff was amazing - special thanks to Dayana Martin who always has a smile on her face and a welcoming hug.
Other staff members that touched us were Ivan and Alexandro at the Steakhouse restaurant. Olga, Huberto, Marie-Teresa (Terry) and others at the buffet. Raime Lopez and others at the upstairs bar.
Rooms (bungalow) was a perfect size for us (3). Clean, spacious and felt like vacation.
Beach was clean and nice.
Hotel was always very clean, staff always had a smile.
Restaurants - all were very clean, plenty of good food.
This was my second time this year visiting Sol Palmeras and my parents first time ever in Cuba. We are already planning our trip next year.
We loved the fact that this is an older hotel - really felt like vacation and not like staying at an every day hotel.
Met alot of amazing people!!!!!
Will not hesitate to recommend this Hotel!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is amazing, perfect location
Certified

Good People and Perfect beach!

, Cote-Saint-Luc, QC
2016-07-03
For me that hotel its perfect,not far from airport,clean room,beautiful beach
good food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach,good food no mosquitos
The weak points
the stuff not happy for tips like 1 peso))))

My first vacation ever

, Haileybury, ON
2016-04-20
The hotel is beautiful, the roomsneed to be updated and does the air-conditioning. The grounds are amazing. The staff were great for the most part. The Cuban men are very forward and they get around. I'm not sure they realize that the guests talk to each. I went alone and was never bored or lonely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Winnipeg, Ma
2016-03-23
Friendly staff, good food, lots of nightly entertainment. Everything was clean but a bit old looking. Decor could use some sprucing up but we spent most of our time outside anyway! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Dated
Certified

Love this place

, Ladysmith Bc, BC
2016-02-21
Hotel management, staff, and entertainers were exceptional. As expected, the food was not great, but it was not too bad either. Everything from the room, to the grounds and beach area were spotlessly clean. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, location, beach, entertainment, quiet.
The weak points
Food could be better, rooms and furnishings could be updated.
Certified

Would Stay Again!

2015-10-15
Initially did not meet my expectations. At check in air conditioner did not work and toilet was plugged. It seems you can not put a shred of paper in the toilet. Once these issues were resolved and I saw the beach and sunk into relaxation all was better. Great Service throughout resort - people very friendly and kind. Buffet lacked but breakfast omelets were fresh and tasty. Great Cappuccinos and Americano coffees from the bar on 2nd floor. The quality of the specialty restaurants you can book were surprisingly good. Italian (Lasagna yum), Mexican (delicious fish) and Seafood (surprisingly good steak filet) were my favorites. Others raved about Chinese but not my favourite. Also preferred steak from Seafood Restaurant versus Steak from actual Steak House. Many restaurant choices compared to other hotels though so that is good. Great burgers and calamari at Mexican Restaurant for lunch. Ran into many returning hotel guests. Accommodations are very dated but everything is super clean. I had a lovely stay and would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful People, Beautiful Beach, Recommend Ocean View Suite (not really ocean view-skiff in background/more garden view but still nice)
The weak points
Internet - Purchased 1 hour for 2 pesos but many days it did not work.
Certified

Another wonderful week at Sol Palmeras

, Fredericton, NB
2015-05-04
From the minute we arrived to the time we left we were so royally treated! Our bungalow was close to the beach! Beach was glistening clean! Great choice of food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Such a porfessional staff who go out of their way to make your stay so comfportable
The weak points
Single beds pushed together to make a double!
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020