Paradisus Rio De Oro

4.384.384.384.384.38
Paradisus Rio De Oro
#1 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
4.38 based on 502 reviews
Traveller pictures (242)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345678

Hope to go back again soon

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-15
Great location, clear ocean water, nice beach to walk on, not too crowded. If you like walking, this is a good choice, as there are walks around the facility and on the beach. Snorkelling right off the beach along the coral reef was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the food and service, staff was great. We were able to enjoy the spa and had a massage or two, including a therapeutic one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great views from shore, nice for walking, great food, friendly and courteous staff, enjoyed the snorkelling
The weak points
Maybe some places could use a fresh coat of paint and the sidewalks could use some maintenance, if that matters, minor details as far as I'm concerned.
Certified

Amazing experience

, Little Britain, ON
2020-02-11
Our vacation here was excellent. We had the trip booked for several months but sept 11 our 10 week old grandson passed away. We were hesitant on going on the vacation but figured it might help with our heads. Checking in was quick, taken straight to our rooms. There was a restaurant/grill still open for us when we arrived. Rooms were clean, everything worked. Pools were beautiful. Beach was beautiful. The resort was slow as Thomas Cooke had declared bankruptcy the week before. To say the least we had lots of staff for few guests. I met a lady in the lobby who is a professional artist. Her name is Yohonis Crus Betancourt. I gave her a picture of my grandson. On the Friday she returned with a portrait for me. I took it out of the envelope and cried. It was more lifelike than the picture. If you want a painting done go see her. When I go back to Cuba it will be to this resort just to get another painting done. Everything about the resort was beautiful. The staff were amazing and one of the managers,Alexis Riveron,he went above and beyond what I think he needed too. I would highly recommend this resort. I know I'll be going back.
Steve beacock [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
There was nothing I would change about this resort.

Jan. 14, 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-17
This was my 5th time at this resort in the past I have really enjoyed myself and have had great weather I have always stayed at The Royal Service

However this time around not so much. We had rain for most of the week while I was there.
I had asked the resort by sending them a email a few weeks before my trip if I could have the room That I stayed in last night and they said they would do their best to have it for me. When I got there the receptionist said no that room was not available
It seemed liked every time I went to the bar to get a drink they were always out of the liquor that they needed to make the drink so they were always substituting. The restaurant at the beach was closed I was so disappointed with that. The food at the Royal Service wasn't as good as I had it in the past and same with the service. Trying to exchange money at the front desk was another disappointment they never seem to be able to do it and if they did it was in large bills which wasn't good for tipping they suggested that I go to the other resort.
The reason I have stayed at the Royal Service is because they are suppose to cater to you and pamper you I sure didn't feel this time I was here. I paid double the amount that I would have paid for staying at the main resort and I'm sorry to say the value was not there this time around. I was very disappointed.

In the past I have recommended this resort to many of my friends In not sure after my experience this time that I would do that sorry to say [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
My butlers made me a private dinner In my room and I enjoyed that a lot
The weak points
Please see above
Certified

Amazing resort to Relax

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-12-23
Very good service, very good food, quite and clean
If you are over 50 this is the hotel to go to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-02
Dear Hessam Samarghandi,, Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your holidays and for sharing this lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department

50th Anniversary

, Montréal, QC
2019-11-20
Great hotel excellent service. Great staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff couldn't nicer Pablo, Marieanella,& Lorenzo at the pool.
The weak points
Getting a little dated but well maintained.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-11-28
Dear David Strutz, Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your holidays. We are very happy to know you had a great time. We hope to have you back some time soon! Warm regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Royal Services at Paradisus Rio de Oro, the best!

, Guelph, ON
2019-10-14
Royal Services at Paradisus Rio de Oro is really a "paradises". I was there with my sister a couple of weeks ago. Everything was "perfect". The hotel is located in a really nice spa. The nature surround it is beautiful. The beach is small but very nice and relaxing. The hotel facilities are really good, the rooms are nice, clean and spacious but the best of all is the services! All the employees are great since the manager to the restaurant, lobby bar, beach bar, reception, butler, transport between buildings. All of them are very professionals and hard workers and make you feel that you are in a family. I really recommend Royal Services at Paradisus Rio de Oro. I'll be back soon, for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-10-31
Dear Dolores D, Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel and services, we appreciate your recommendations for future customers. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and we hope to have you here again soon.. Warm Regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

PRDO at its best

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-03
Our third time here (on the Royal Service side) and not the last one.
Rooms are large and well appointed, a separate beach exclusive for RS guests and the gourmet restaurant where they will be happy to customize their menu per your request.
The only downside is that rooms show their age and I hope management will start refurbishing soon.
We had great time there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and facilities on the Royal Service side
The weak points
Aging building interior
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-10-31
Dear Snorkeler, We are pleased to have been able to offer you the service you expected and enjoy all our facilities. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to have you at our hotel again very soon. Warm regards, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Home away from home

, Sarnia, ON
2019-09-06
It is home away from home for us . Our 10th visit at Rio de Oro and looking to go back again next month to visit " family". The resort is the finest and the staff makes it even more endearing. Martica does the yoga every morning, followed by water exercises, then spanish lessons in the afternoon. Next dinner at one of the a la Carte's followed by great entertainment, yet another one of Martica strong points. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to go to Cuba. Shout outs to Alex, Aya and the entertainment crew. They do an excellent job. Now, that is on the regular side where we have been 4 times.
Since then, we've gone to royal service in the same resort 6 times where it is more laid back and get pampered rotten. Everyone has become like family, especially David, who keeps our mini bar topped up with our favourite drinks.
This resort is the best there is and we can't get wait to get back. It is reasonably priced and absolutely gorgeous with amazing beaches. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

The Best in Cuba!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-07-19
I have been to Cuba about 16 times (in various cities), and this was the best hotel experience I've ever had. I highly recommend it. I love to snorkel, and the beach here was also the best I've seen in Cuba. I went with a group of friends, and the lifeguard Angel Victor was even gracious enough to give us a snorkel tour! He dove in, picked up sea urchins in his hands (I had no idea you could handle these safely, but this kind was ok he said), then he would break them with a rock and feed the fish with the interior of the urchin! We were so grateful for his generosity and hospitality. The rooms in the hotel are great, the food was good and nobody in our group got sick, the staff was all around friendly and helpful. We are highly likely to return, mainly because of the incredibly beautiful snorkeling we were able to discover thanks to Angel Victor the lifeguard! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing snorkeling, nice big rooms, friendly staff, good food, free wifi in lobby
The weak points
The food can be a little repetitive at the buffet, but hey, it's Cuba! Despite this, there was always plenty to choose from.
Certified

Wonderful Resort

, Hamilton, ON
2019-06-25
We have just returned from a a one week stay at this fantastic resort. This was our 8th or 9th visit to this same resort and we have never had anything but great things to say.
The staff at the resort made the difference, everyone was so genuinely friendly and helpful. The food was a good selection, there were always things to do on the beach, or the pool or lobby.. and the room was really clean and comfortable.
All of the staff, (and I do mean ALL of them), were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
The choice of restaurants was superb, with something for everyone. We visited the Japanese restaurant, El Patio, and the Mediterranean during our stay. Mediterranean and El Patio is more of a "intimate" dining experience. The buffet is excellent as well.
There is a poolside restaurant that is now open 24 hours, delicious pizza, calamari, and sandwiches.
The beachside restaurant, where Roberto and his team made you feel very welcome, the food was great and the view over the beach to the crystal clear waters was to die for.
The pool was superb, kept very clean- never too crowded and always plenty of sun loungers available.
Delmis and her entertainment staff were as always amazing. Special shout out to Delmis, Jennifer, and Alec. They are encouraging to invite you to join the activities and they seem to enjoy the activities along with you. What a great job to have! The morning pool aerobics were well organized and fun.
Special Thank you to Yander at the Lobby bar, Marisol at the pool restaurant, and Rolando who we saw at the beach restaurant, buffet, lobby bar and the grounds - always had a smile and a welcome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, beach
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-02
Dear Linda, It is always rewarding to read that we print so memorable experiences in your lives. Thank you so much for sharing them with other travelers. We hope to have you back many more times. Receive warmest regards from all our staff, who will love to see you again! Sincerely yours, Wendy Valiente Sales Department Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & SPA

Cuba is reborn to us

, Barrie, ON
2019-04-21
Our friends talked us into returning to Cuba. we have been to Cayo Coco (Pestana) and Cayo Santa Maria (Valentin Perla Blanca).and vowed we would not return to Cuba. Beaches were fabulous but the staff and food was less desirable. The Paradisus really changed our tune. Never pushed a plate of food away!!! Went deep sea fishing and the chef prepared our Maui Maui that we caught and served us in a great presentation!! The staff was amazing from the check in, beach service, entertainment, life guard, cart drivers and so on and so on. I wish I could list everyone but you will see if you decide to go to the PRDO. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Love Holguin

, Kingston, ON
2019-04-17
This is our 3 rd time to this beautiful resort. The beach is smaller than Varadero or Cayo Coco but is still beautiful. We did some snorkeling right out in front of our resort. The food is great and staff are wonderful. Will definitely be looking forward to going back in October. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, food and rooms.
The weak points
Smaller beach but still beautiful.

Third time a charm cuban paradise

, Barrie, ON
2019-03-07
Hola mi amigos! This is our third trip over 10 years, and we are so happy to return to where our vacations started in 2009.In 2011 we got engaged on the beach. Now we are back and this time we moved to 10 days.(now the new7). First of all we want to thank the whole staff for making our vacation so restful, happy, and welcome.I am going to name a few of many who either touched our hearts, or made us feel like family. To start; Sarah Jeisy Melo Rojas, cant say enough of this amazing lady whom you may never see, but makes this resort rock.Along with her partner, Wendy,Thank you Marco (general manager) for ensuring the guests have the best you can provide, in sometimes hard conditions.Lisandro (food and beverage manager). without your hard work the amazing and tasty foods and drinks we all enjoy would not be the same.The bar and food staff whom we connected with were professional, polite and fun Dixon (lobster dinner),Rolando and Luis at Beach bar, Elisabeth beach restaurant. Yipsy and Maylin in buffet.Osmany,and Disney pool bar.helping our waistline expand was Mercedes in Flambe station.Our maid Mariluz outstanding .Now on with resort. From the time we step off bus from airport, greeted with cool towel,and a glass of champagne, you know its good. Fast easy check in and whisked to room. The updated bathrooms are nice to see. the resort even though built in 1998, is always improving despite setbacks, like hurricanes and supply issues.. We are not there to look for faults, but to stop for a moment and enjoy what great things this resort and its people are providing us. We were there 20 feb to march 02. Never crowded and plenty of variety to drink or eat.If anyone bitches about Cuban resort food needs to shake their head.Realize where you are, and how hard it can be to get supplies. I am a chef, and i cannot find fault anywhere. Yum yum ha ha.This resort is not a loud party place. Quiet relaxation is the deal here. Ok im rambling, just want to say come enjoy, relax and let the staff here make your stay beautiful making memories. Gracias mi amigos [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Awesome

, Ajax, ON
2019-02-03
The hotel was what I expected very clean helpful staff and food was very good. One of the staff in the office should be commended for her efforts in helping me solve a problem which I had arriving at the hotel. She was finishing her shift but still still stayed to help me her name was Olga. I will definitely come back. The cleaning lady who had cleaned our room did an excellent job and as well should be commended.
. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms helpful and friendly staff

Best honeymoon ever!

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-31
Last november, I visited PRDO for my honeymoon. I have to tell that Sarah and Iraida made me live an amazing experience there. I have 0 complains about the hotel, the food and the staff.

We arrived and they received us with the best customer service ever! The room was very spacious and very clean.

I have to say that is the best hotel I ever visited in Cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing customer service ever! Great food variation Big room and confortable bed Cocktails on point!

Paradisus!

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-28
Truly a beautiful resort! Just got back from a week there with my Wife. A stunning location and setting. We enjoyed the gym they had with a view over the ocean. The food was easily the best we've had in Cuba. The Rooms were very large and had a brand new bathroom with lots of space. The only complaint with the room were the blinds. Seemed inadequate for covering, but could have just been our room. The entertainment was also excellent. We usually went to bed early but there was live music around every corner it seemed - piano singer, opera singers, guitar players, etc... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Location and setting
Certified

Amazing stay!!

, Lacombe, AB
2019-01-12
You would never be disappointed in your stay it was unbelievabley amazing!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Luxurious

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-24
superb resort; quiet; very good food; large pool; beach ok thus. spa luxurious; staff and service excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
the beach
Certified

Big dissapointment from a repeat guest

, Mississauga, ON
2018-11-09
This was our 7th time back so I knew what we were getting....so I thought.
Our first room was like walking into an oven the A/C out of order the mini fridge wasn't plugged in so we try to plug it in no luck as the outlet is too far for the cord to reach and no you can't move it closer because it's in a built in unit. We move rooms which took hours and way past the so called 3:00pm check in, second room at least works. This place is falling apart there was mold all over the pool tiles you couldn't walk without stepping on it, there was garbage never picked up all week. The restaurants are over taken by birds so no matter where you sit there is bird poop, I watched as these birds land on the table, cutlery, napkins and yes leave they're evidence. We use to enjoy the lounge area where you could watch the entertainment but good luck not getting poop landing on you by the infestation of hundreds of birds above you. This place in my opinion is a 3 star at best, the food quality and variety is so pathetic.
Please for those of you who say this is Cuba what do you expect, I've been to Cuba many many times and to this resort at least 7 times but because of my experience I will never return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

What a gem!

, Peterborough, ON
2018-11-09
Our group of 4 girlfriends stayed from Oct 26-Nov 2/18. We chose this resort because of the amazing reviews. We all agreed that this was a wonderful place, and it was the absolute right pick! The food was excellent, the rooms were huge (we each had a junior suite in block 38). Huge new walk-in shower with great water pressure and lots of hot water. Rooms were kept spotlessly clean by the lovely Daritza. What a sweetheart! We enjoyed the peaceful spa facilities on 2 occasions. Beach was very clean, with lots of chairs and shade at the beach and pool. Lorenzo at the pool bar is amazing, and a real asset to the resort, as are all of the employees we interacted with. Leo and Maria at the buffet, Juliet and Yander at the Lobby bar, just to name a few. We would definitely return to this lovely and lush paradise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible staff, spacious clean rooms, lush gardens all around.
The weak points
No weak points to speak of.
Certified

Paradisus Rio De Oro best in Holguin area

, Embrun, ON
2018-10-08
We found this nice sized hotel resort to have excellent service with a lovely pool and slightly better food than other resorts in the area. Bathroom was recently renovated with granite counter, marble flooring and tile shower. Basic room was very spacious with small refrigerator, desk, and large sitting area. Balcony included a good sized wall rack to hang wet clothes to dry, which was handy. We went horseback riding at stables located just over bridge and saw some interesting caves with bats (bring a good flashlight along) for only 30 CUC for two hours. We tried all five restaurants and enjoyed the El Patio and Japanese the best. Grilled fish in main dining hall was delicious. Overall, we would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Early October was a great time with no line ups and not busy at all. Quiet and peaceful location. Great spacious rooms and nice sized resort (not too big). Landscaping was well maintained and beautiful.
The weak points
Their chefs could use some tips on gourmet cooking with seasonings and spices. Food presentation was lovely, but seasoning and sauces were lackluster at times. Entertainment could be improved with some classical music and a pop opera singer.
Certified

Amazing Paradise

, East York, ON
2018-07-19
15 special days in paradise. I travel for the first time with my girlfriend in May. The reception was excellent. The greatest value that the hotel has is its workers. The a la carte restaurants are exceptional. The Royal Service pool overlooks the sea, which makes it a dream. The beaches are incredible, bathed in crystal clear water and surrounded by reef. We will return without a doubt next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, facilities, staff, place
The weak points
None

Paradisus rio de oro

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-22
Pro:
good and fast services , beach, good choice of drinks in bars, polite and friendly staff.

con: dinner's dress code, which require long pants in the main buffet. This dress code is only for men. Some women come in so short shorts that you can see their buttocks. That is not fair, this is a gender discrimination!! I saw guy came in jeans and running shoes, and they let him in. That is mockery of the dress code. In tropical country this particular dress code can make sense only if you have air conditioned room, which is not in main buffet. Right now it is hot and uncomfortable to wear long pants.
Food: beef no steaks, either hamburger or stew, other not chewable.
Fish is all farmed. Some of them have muddy taste.
Fruits are very limited choice, bananas were only 2 days during my stay.
Red wine is servied at ambient temperature, and suppose to have 16º-18º C. Staff didn't know about this. Five star hotel?
In Jamaica 3 star hotel has better food! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful Escape

, Bolton , ON
2018-04-24
Such a beautiful setting. Loved the open air lobby with fountains and gardens. The built in theatre in the lobby provided some top quality musical groups. Don't miss an opportunity to visit the spa. It has its own salt water pool and beautiful small beach with access to some wonderful reefs for snorkelling. The food in the buffet was varied, fresh and top quality. One of the best places I have visited. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cant say enough about the beauty of the grounds and the amazing beach and reefs surrounding the hotel.
The weak points
All of the remaining smokers in the world seemed to be having a convention at the hotel.
Certified

Paradisus Royal Service

, North Salem, NS
2018-04-03
Stayed at Paradisus Royal service in room 9224, it was a second floor junior suite. There was a frog that came up through the drain pipe in the sink while I was brushing my teeth. Gross and disgusting. Staff came to look but the frog went back down the drain. They had no interest in resolving why frog made it up the drain pipe. No apologies either. If a frog can come up through so can a rodent or a snake. So little froggy is waiting for the next guest in room 9224. Not impresssed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful vacations

, Montréal, QC
2017-12-19
The hotel is very well located, however, I think they should invest in renovations. The distribution of rooms is very good in my opinion. Almost every room location is surrounded by beautiful and well maintained gardens. so if you get a possibility to book an ocean view room, you will not regret it.

Besides the beaches, the hotel offers for you different activities, like horse riding, diving, snorkelling, walks, catamaran, etc.

The service is great, most of personal are very respectful, kind and helpful.

The food is not very consistent, sometimes good sometimes not. But in general it is very acceptable and the variety fits most of people's taste.

I really enjoy my experience in this resort and would recommend for anyone seeking for relaxing vacations, in a wonderful place and great service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, service.
The weak points
old infrastructure.
Certified

Best Vacation so far

, Hamilton, ON
2017-10-29
I've been to Cuba many times and always travel there without any expectations.

I have no complaints about this resort! It has been the most beautiful! Food was amazing (much better than other places in Cuba, very large selection with 24 hour room service and a very large bar selection as well) , the rooms were very clean, the beach was stunning (one side was rocky which was great for snorkelling which is included at this resort) and the other side was the most beautiful white sand with bright blue water!

They always had beach activities including horseback riding and a whole roasted pig one day for lunch.

The place also has a very romantic feel to it, and the staff were great and accommodating! I will definitely be coming back next year!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and drinks
The weak points
Despite generous tips, The maids did not make any swans or anything special to my room (not hugely important or even necessary, I'm just used to that in Cuba)
Certified

Return to Paradise

, St. Catharines, ON
2017-10-16
This was my fourth time back to this resort and the first time in October. I was a little hesitant to book in October knowing it was hurricane season but the price was too good to resist. I couldn't have been more elated with the whole vacation, especially the weather. I spent more time than any other in the ocean due to the calmness. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Meeting IRMA

, Bolton , ON
2017-10-13
A wonderful return holiday even though IRMA created havoc. We are always very impressed with the whole staff at Paradisus on our regular trips and even more so during and after Irma.
The resort had enough generator power so we weren't in the dark. The chefs and cook staff provided plenty of good food - even delivering it to rooms at the height of the storm! Amazing!
We have never had any complaints about customer service...it is their #1 objective and, in this situation, achieved it in every way.
Guaranteed to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service, cleanliness, organization and friendliness.
The weak points
None

Yes, Yes, Yes ....& YES for PRDO

, King City, ON
2017-07-12
Trip to Paradisus Rio de Oro ~ Royal Service May 27st – June 3rd 2017

Yes: this was a great trip from arrival at Paradisus Rio de Oro front desk to our check-out.

Yes: we had remarkable service, food and holiday.

Yes: we look forward to returning.

And

Yes: I would highly recommend this resort to others.

Room
Our room was clean & spacious with all the amenities. It was fabulous.

Royal Lobby
Lobby is open, clean, and comfortable – other than the chairs around the piano which while clean are not that comfortable. The staff are friendly and very helpful 100% of the time

Royal Pool
Pool is well maintained and such a great area to just chill. But I am uncertain who made the light choice for the area between the pool & lobby – the ‘large light bulbs'. All I can say is it must have looked good in the catalogue. While functional and a great towel drying spot – not really IMHO fitting for this area.

Royal Food
From room service to bar to the restaurant all was a wonderful gastronomical experience. The food here is a real treat to the taste buds and to the eye.

Main hotel – food here was also very enjoyable experience. No concerns or complaints.... a recommendation that the lobby bar entertainment area needs some revitalization. It is functional and clean but not inviting and rather dated.

Resort Grounds
It is dry right now in Cuba and they are in great need of rain but yet the grounds keepers have done an amazing job to keep it clean & beautiful

Entertainment
We did not see as much on this trip but was very happy to hear Dulcé Maria Lopez sing. She has an amazing voice and stage presence.
Would also like to mention & thank......Sarah Jeisy & Dunieski form the office for all they do & did for us on this vacation. “Thank you again”. And a thank you also goes out to Jean-Marc the SolMelia GM, Lina & the wonderful Llenma from Royal along with the chef & Elier & wait staff who supplied remarkable meals throughout our trip.

YES this was a 5 star vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quaint hotel, lots of well groomed property and surpurb staff
The weak points
longer beach for walks would be nice. & more moderately priced Massage therapy
pages: 12345678

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?