Sol Cayo Guillermo

Sol Cayo Guillermo
3.453.453.453.453.45
3.45 based on 392 reviews
#19 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (215)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Sol Cayo Guillermo

, Renfrew, ON
2020-02-09
Wonderful place to spend a leisurely vacation.Staff are very friendly and helpful. Beaches are absolutelyamazing. No one bothers you on the beach, no local people trying to sell things, very private. Food was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, great beach, private, nobody bothers you on the beach,food very good
The weak points
Some areas of the buildings could use a little fixing up. A few floor tiles missing in common areas. Grass long in placess
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-19
Dear Harry Smith, Thank you very much for taking your time and posting this so nice review in this important website after your holidays in Sol Cayo Guillermo. Thanks for the wonderful score and sharing the good points. Regarding issues you have mentioned, they are welcome and we're taking note because our customers feedback are a great opportunity for improvement, solo we want to thank you for that too. Of course we hope see you here again, please let us to know about your visit in advance. Looking forward to meet you, Sales Manager

Travel Agent Review

, Pembroke, ON
2019-04-02
I took my family to this hotel hoping to be able to recommend it to families on a budget. I went there with not high expectations. Just clean and friendly. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Hotel is very run down, like a 70's motel with mold & bugs. I would rate it a 2.5star at most. Staff is very unhelpful, unwilling to help and unpleasant which I have never found in Cuba. Dishes were dirty in buffet. Terrible food selection. We had one night of paid entertainment. The other nights were the hotels staff playing games with the guests. There was no pool towels. I was actually offered a dirty beach towel by staff until clean ones came in???
Clean ones never came in.
I was told I was being moved to a better room. Staff told me to pack up my family of 6. Once we arrived at the desk with luggage we were told, sorry you are not being moved now. I actually cried. I have never seen such poor customer service. When ever you asked to speak to someone in charge they would disappear into back room and then come out with a message. By the 3rd day we switched hotels and found that many guests from our resort had also moved to same resort. The only positive things I can say about this resort is it has a nice beach, great for kite surfing, the snack bar was good for the kids and when they had bananas the Banana Mama drink was very good. Gardener's were friendly.
P.S you have to pay for your room safe at this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach, great for kite surfing, the snack bar was good for the kids and when they had bananas the Banana Mama drink was very good. Gardener's were friendly.
The weak points
Dirty Dishes, Run down hotel, balcony's not safe, shower heads broken, bugs, poor food selection, pay for safe, unpleasant staff, no beach towels, no entertainment, staff unwilling to help, no management or supervisors to talk to.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-09
Dear Sherri Schilling, In first place I would like to thank you for posting your review on this site. Our guest's opinions and suggestions are of the upmost importance for us to improve our ongoing services. Receive my most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in your visit to our hotel. This is not nearly the experience we provide to our visitors. We are a group very committed to provide all guests with the best of our efforts. My deepest apologies for failing on providing you with a positive holiday experience. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the holiday vacation that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at Sol Cayo Guillermo. Please! contact us prior your arrival to change your last experience. With Warmest Regards, Nelido casay Diaz / Sales Manager

Amazing time had by all❤

, Brantford, ON
2018-02-22
From start till finish , our experience of the resort was stunningly beautiful!! The staff is AMAZING, so helpful so nice and attentive to everyone! Anita , Amileia , Edardo , Yasiel, lachee Danny & the rest of the entertainment team simply awesome ppl. The shows at night was the first time ever I've wanted to go to watch every night !! The rooms were clean , everything worked and the maid was great at leaving us no e towel displays and fans made out if the blankets and gardeners flowers and palm tree decor ! I didn't want to leave ! The Beach was the most beautiful beach I've ever seen anywhere else ! All of our excursions were so informative and so much fun ! I loved learning about the history and culture of Cuba . I will be back to this resort forsure. We made so many new friends and memories ❤ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, stunning , paradise, beautiful , want to go back !
The weak points
One bathroom for the main area and sometime ran out of toilet paper. Other then that amazing .
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2018-11-28
Dear Melanie, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to know we have met your expectations. Please! keep in touch and let us know when is your next visit. We will feel happy only to get the news. Have a lovely day! With Warmest Regards, Nelido Casay Diaz / Sales Maner

Iberostar Daiquiri

, Deux Montagnes, QC
2018-01-26
At last moment we were switched to this hotel as Guillermo was overbooked. The hotel was much better than I was expecting and we would definately go back. They are still rebuilding after the hurricane, but are almost finished, only the beach restaurant is not finished. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent and very friendly service, nice layout, good grills at the buffet, no shortage of chairs or shade at the beach. Bar service excellent
The weak points
Hot water was intermittent. The buffet could have more variety.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-24
Dear Garth Weston, In first place, we want to thank you for taking the time to share all your comments about your experience with future customers. I am so glad to know you have so much enjoyed your time with us and are very much looking forward to returning. What a great honor we felt when reading so many compliments on our facilities and sevices! You have posted a glorious review full of details and praises. Thank you very much. Do not worry because we will let our staff know about your cheering and positive comments. We know they are for sure a credit to our hotel. With Warmest Regards, Nelido Casay Diaz / Sales Manager

Really enjoyed our stay

, Hudson, QC
2017-03-30
The hotel was perfect for us – it has an exceptional beach, is relatively small and quiet, offers very nice food with a huge variety of options and it has a well planned and very pretty layout. It is a bit dilapidated but views are gorgeous and, apparently, there are plans for renos. It was a good place to meet up with friends, since we could find each other easily without any major coordination. Great place to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional beach, relatively small and quiet. Relaxed atmosphere. Food is very plentiful/varied and more than satisfactory. True fine dining in the international restaurant.
The weak points
Rooms were same style as photos but in somewhat amusing condition. Disco opens too late (usually 11:00 p.m.) Have to be careful where you walk - small steps, damaged walkways. Would prefer less entertainment with more quality musicians.
Certified

Not great for what I paid

, Calgary, AB
2017-03-30
Hotel construction is very low quality. Gardens are brown and dried up. Food was always cold and over cooked. Food was all around very bad. Lock on room didn't work to open room all week. Shower flooded into bathroom all week. Couldn't get onto their paid wifi once all week. At best this is a 3 star resort and it's way over priced. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sol cayo guillermo

, St. Thomas, ON
2017-02-20
Beautiful beach and staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach!
The weak points
Food variety
Certified

Many reasons not to stay here

, Maple, ON
2017-01-11
The only reason to stay here is the people and unfortunately that's not enough of a reason to spend so much money.

Everywhere you look, you can tell management has not kept the place up. The door to our first room was broken so badly we had to throw our weight against it to get in, and that continued even after they "fixed" it.

The room my mother-in-law was given was flooded; thank goodness she didn't slip and fall. The toilet in our second room broke numerous times and smelled as if other toilets were backing up into it, stinking up the whole room. Nothing was done to fix this.

On the last day of our stay, ants infested the bathroom, crawling out of the sink. We often had no fresh towels and had to remind staff to bring us clean towels. Our maid created a swan out of a blanket, which the kids liked, but I would have liked a cleaner room more.

The food was terrible. It almost tasted as if it was reheated from one meal to the next. My husband got food poisoning on the last day of our trip and each of us had diarrhea throughout our stay.

If there were activities for the kids, they were not advertised so my kids didn't know where to go.

I would actually like to give less than 1 butterfly rating, especially for the food and cleanliness.

My family will not stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sol Cayo Guillermo December 2016

, Ottawa, ON
2016-12-22
Positive Beach is beatiful and well maintained, Food is reasonable, the location and the garden are beatiful and well maintained, bars have a good variety of drinks and friendly service.

Needs Improvement : Water sports are from a different company and the service is really bad looking for big money for everthing. Kitebiarding beach charging extra 25CUC Day animation team and activities are very poor. The room furniture and utility are in very poor functional condition [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach location price
The weak points
Water sports animation
Certified

Good potential but bad service

, Montreal, QC
2016-06-24
The hotel has potential, but the staff needs to be trained. The sentence that I heard most was "I don't know, sir" they have a problem with schedules, nobody knows the meals time or how to book the other restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Activities team
The weak points
All the rest
Certified

1st time to Sol Cayo Guillermo

, Orillia, ON
2016-05-01
Our overall experience for my wife and I was slightly above expectations.
Pro. Got a free room upgrade,Con had to wait as our room and many others not ready.Con, Many local guests for first 4 days overcrowded pool and would clean out Buffet leaving little food for others as the would fill purses/ bags after they ate.
Pro. Staff from front desk and customer service all spoke English very well and solved any issues we had quickly and effectively.
Pro. Room was decent and was kept clean by our maid....we did tip regularly.Con room is older and needs some TLC.
Pro. We always received toilet paper and bottled water and when we didn't , it was looked after by customer service.
Pro.Food at the buffet was good and had good choices,food at A la Cart, International 5* quality.Con. very small could only reserve it once in 13 days.New A la Cart by Ocean front 3*Con. meat was over cooked making it tough.
Pro.Beach is one of the nicest Ive been to and they do clean the beach regularly.Con not enough shaded arras to sit under, caused people to reserve chairs at 6am in the morning.
Pro. Lobby Bar, Joni makes great drinks and Yamila is very sweet, but long lines and wait times for drinks because its a very small bar and they need a dishwasher to wash dishes not Yamilia when busy.Love the music in evening.
Pro. Evening entertainment/ shows, some where good others ok Con. volume was on the loud side for me and I'm a bit deaf. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach/ ocean is perfect,very tropical setting well manicured grounds/ gardens.Staff for most part is friendly and helpful.Bus ride from airport is about 40 minutes so not extremely long.We would go back for the right price.
The weak points
They have birds flying into Buffet and eating out of food trays, not very hygienic.To many cats hanging around Buffet.Resort is a bit older and needs some maintenance, but we did notice they are trying.The gym has no air and equipment is in rough shape.
Certified

Enjoyed our winter break

, Thunder Bay, ON
2016-03-25
Although the hotel units are in need of upgrades, the layout of the hotel is nice, quite spread out. The beach is great but there should be a bano closer to the beach bar. The pool was great and the evening foam party was so fun. The staff are very friendly but are sometimes limited in their ability to provide service due to "cuban" issues. We did enjoy our break from the Canadian winter and if we need another very laid back, relaxing, secluded vacation, we would come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very low key and secluded - perfect for a vacation with lots of down time
The weak points
only one a la carte restaurant which was very small, dated tv, needs upgrades
Certified

Good vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2016-03-06
The Sol C G is an older, smaller resort on one of Cuba's best beaches. There is one à la carte (although another is supposed to open up soon). The grounds are imaginatively designed and well maintained. Food is good - with the à la carte especially good. The beach is excellent. Since it's a smaller place you meet other guests easily and develop a certain rapport with the resaurant's employees. The room appliances mostly work and those that don't are fixed promptly when reported to the front desk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, ambience, grounds. Rooms are located in smaller units of two stories.
The weak points
Rooms are tired and need refurbishing. Same for sheets and towels.
Certified

Relax Relax Relax!

, Dartmouth, NS
2016-03-01
Being a first time Cuba traveller, I was unsure what to expect. Sol Cayo Guillermo was the perfect first time destination. The resort offered all we needed to fulfill a stress free, relaxing weeklong stay. The beach was phenominal, the food was what we expected, the excursions showed us the 'real Cuba' and the staff was very welcoming. Compared to comments made from people at nearby resorts, I feel like we made a great choice picking this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The relaxing atmosphere.
The weak points
No variety of activities. Basically drinking and laying around the pool are the only things to do.
Certified

Cuba in February

, Dartmouth, NS
2016-02-17
We went on a spur of the moment trip to Cuba as we just wanted a week away from winter. Have been to Cuba before so main purpose was just the beach in the sun. This resort filled our needs. A small very laid back place with a gorgeous beach. Not fancy by any means but the timing and the price for right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the staff
The weak points
Buffet noisy and food only so-so. Only 1 a la carte that was hard to get reservations for. Buildings showing age ( broken tiles,etc)
Certified

If the price is right would return maybe.........

, Caledon, ON
2016-01-26
We requested a room change every day and on the fifth day the hotel complied. Bus loads of people would depart and still we could not get our room changed and for that reason would probably not return. Only one ala carte restaurant with about 10 tables and the staff had to run to the buffet for beer etc. A bus person to do this running would enable the staff to offer better service. A nice salad bar, delicious coffee, beautiful beach and friendly people outshadowed the negatives but still would probably book elsewhere unless the price was right. lol [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and grounds
The weak points
rooms should be cleaner and more than one restaurant
Certified

Wonderful holiday!

, Owen Sound, ON
2016-01-22
This is a late review but wanted to share our experience. The arrival was great, we arrived early and our rooms were not ready yet. Not a problem we had our carry on bags packed for the beach. We were on the beach by noon enjoying a cold beverage.. Just wonderful.
This resort is set out beautifully. The beach is wonderful, white sand with beautiful waters.
Front reception was also great to deal with, Yaimi was the best!! Thanks Yaimi for assisting and helping us. You made our vacation one we will never forget.
No shortage of beach chairs.
The food was typical Cuban but always found something. Never went hungry. Great breakfasts. Also the service was excellent.
One day went down the beach to a small lobster shack and had best Cuban sea food ever!!
Cuban people are the best!
Hope to go back some day for another visit.
Cuba is the best place on earth to relax and shut down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
No real weak points for us. All was great and relaxing.

Beautiful country, not for everyone.

, Guelph, ON
2016-01-15
The country itself is beautiful. The water is just like you see it in the pictures. At Sol Cayo Guillermo that's where the positives ended for me.
The establishment is run down and dingy. It really feels like the only repairs being done are the ones immediately needed. My room had two leaks in the roof whenever it rained. The beds were hard. Everyone in my family (6 of us) ended up with some ailment. Mainly intestinal issues, but one of us was bitten severely from the sand fleas on the beach. Because of the uneven tiling in the toddler pool, one child who was crawling along the bottom ended up with scrapes on her legs over a period of time. They would only make the beds, but not change the sheets. I could go on, but the quality was not very good. If you do take a chance on this site, bring DEET insect spray, prepare yourself for potential stomach issues with preventative medicine and a Bubba mug (they serve all drinks in ridiculously small glasses) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First impressions!

, Cambridge, ON
2015-12-23
Rooms are very dated but clean. The beds and beddings need to be replaced. The grounds need more attention and there are a lot of tripping hazards down by the beach bar. Not good for walking at night unless you carry a flashlight with you around that area. The lobby bar is only open till 11:00 pm. There are no luggage holding rooms when checking out! There was only one a la carte open. The 24 hour bar/snack bar was not 24 hours as claimed! The snack bar is very limited, pizza, hotdogs, hamburgers, ham&cheese sandwiches at lunch time, but after lunch only ham and cheese sandwiches. I have been to Cuba 10 times now and I found this resort to be just okay. I will try another resort next time in Cayo Coco that is 4 star or better because I do like the area for fishing! Almost forgot, they charge 6 pesos per hour for late checkout and 2 pesos per day for room safe! This was a first for me at any resort in Cuba. So, you pay less initially for this resort but they get more $$ out of you in other ways! Lol! The the staff is great and they try their best to help but their hands are tied! The management needs to greatly improve this resort! There are a couple new 5 storey resorts being built beside them and I'm pretty sure this will take a lot of business away from this resort! The food at the buffet was actually not that bad, but limited! A lot of mystery food and mislabeled food items! Lol! Drinks at the buffet were taken out of picnic coolers to be served! That was a first for me as well! I like the idea of an open disco but they kept running out of drinks and make runs to the 24 hour bar! They should just make that area into the disco after the entertainment shows since they have the room and the sound system already set up there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff!
The weak points
Claims to have 24 hour bar/snacks! This was not the case, bar closed down at 2:00am and only able to get coffee. Exceptions were made for the locals. The beach is okay but needs to be cleaned more frequently! The resort grounds needs more attention.
Certified

Absolutely Fabulous!!!

, Burlington, ON
2015-03-05
We had the privilege of staying at this amazing hidden gem for a week in January to celebrate my birthday.

We like to start off by thanking Jose and Nelido for our charming room. It exceeded our expectations, with it's high cathedral ceiling, perfect location and amazing view.

The beach was one of the most beautiful and unique we have ever seen. When you go into the water, it was like velvet under your feet.

The food in the buffet restaurant had several made to order stations where your food was cooked fresh in front of you. Calamari is one of my favorite foods, and the fresh grilled and stuff spinach were both cooked to perfection. The beach grill was also very good, especially their paella, which was as tasty as what we had in Spain. On my birthday we went to the a la carte restaurant. It has a quaint, intimate atmosphere. Juan Alberto and his assistant went out of their way to make my birthday special, with lovely decorations, a cake, candles and champagne. Carlos made me a special birthday drink and gave us some bubbly to take to our room..

The entertainment was good, especially the water ballet, which was
excellent!!! We even went to the disco one night, which was packed and danced up a storm.

It's a wonderful Hemingway style resort, with a expansive beachfront, wonderful staff and everything you need at your fingertips,

Come…fall under it's spell. We did and we can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Layout of the resort, staff and beach
The weak points
None

Not so favourite hotel this year!

, Hanmer, ON
2015-01-31
We have always enjoyed this hotel as it was our 3rd visit. but If I would have know of the extensive rennovations taking place, I would have come at another time. Our room was not ready nor was it the best that we finally paid for. Our favourite restaurant was not there and was being rebuilt resulting in only 1 a la carte. I also like to work out and the gym really needs work! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beaches, food, staff
The weak points
just overall quality vs price was not there the gym needs much improvement
Certified

Excellent resort to return to!

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-10
Thoroughly enjoyed our 3rd visit to the resort. Excellent attentive management and staff providing great service. Entertainment (and animators) has been really good. Enjoyable. Our rooms have always been great and we have always gotten the room we want. The resort has been in the process of updating and renovating the rooms. They are now building another new restaurant. Food is also good, probably the best this most recent stay -Jan 2015. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Management and staff! Facilities. Beach.
The weak points
This is a minor point because I know it is a temporary thing. The Cubanito bar was closed, however I understand it was being renovated and soon to re-open.

AVOID if you can! FOOD is good! SERVICE is LOUSY!

, Montreal, QC
2014-12-27
I have traveled to Cuba 5 times before. I am not a picky person. However, this was, by far, the poorest experience ever. A few things must be said:

1. FOOD: better than other hotels I have stayed in (fish, shrimp and sometimes calamari was available). I must say I was POSITIVELY IMPRESSED. Thank you for that!

2. PREMIUM VIP ROOMS: a BAD joke!
a) THE ROOM: We were put up in a regular room. When our room was changed the next day, we were put in an old room, with very noisy air-conditioner and fridge. I had to unplug it.
b) THE BEACH TOWELS were NOT in the room, we had to ask for them ourselves!
c) THE OCEAN VIEW: Partial ocean view only, due, among other factors, to CONSTRUCTION going on right now!
d) THE EXTRAS: ("Valid only for guests booking the Premier Oceanview Room category", which we did)
- 1 Litre of water per room per day - WE NEVER GOT IT
- Dining: They advertise 3 Restaurants - there are ONLY 2.
- The Welcome Cocktail: WE NEVER HAD it.
- In and out Express delivery and pick-up of luggage: WE NEVER HAD it.
- Bottle of Rum (on arrival): it was NOT IN THE ROOM, we had to ask for it.
- Beach towels in room (on arrival): they were NOT in the room, we had to ask to have them.
- Bathrobe: there was ONLY 1 in the room.
- Electric coffeemaker with tea and coffee: NO TEA or COFFEE, NEVER GOT ANY.
- Mini-bar refilled daily with water, beer and soft drinks: they only refilled if you call them and insist!
- 3 reservations in à-la-carte restaurants guaranteed for stays of 7 nights: we ONLY GOT 2, because they were already booked.

3. HOTEL RATING: NOT a 4 star

4. ROOMS are very old, dirty spots here and there on the walls, bathroom, and walls cracked.

5. THEFT on the resort: some people have had things stolen from the balconies on the ground floor. Others have had their room broken into in the middle of the night, and had their money passports stolen. They were shocked!

6. THE BEACH: according to some tourists, they found it excellent. However, I must say that beaches in Varadero and Camaguey (Santa-Lucia) looked much better to me because they are larger, there are more places to hide from the sun and they are cleaner.

They use POWDERED MILK that they throw in the mixer to make the milk for coffee with milk, Spanish coffee, cappuccino and the pina coladas. Therefore, I have had the worst drinks ever in Cuba.

We were never greeted upon arrival, which other tourists had when THEY arrived.
We were never met by our "rep" upon arrival, either.

EVERYTHING IS VERY DISORGANIZED:
- they gave us a room that was a regular room vs SUPERIOR that we paid for;
- they gave us a new room the next day, BUT the front desk was running after us to tell us it's not the RIGHT ONE, and so they changed the room AGAIN.
- they once ran out of coffee at the bar.

I would not go back there.

-We missed breakfast on our last day, Dec. 25th, due to the early checkout time. That didn't make up for a complete 3 meals a day stay in Cuba, or for a whole 7-day package, either! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD is better than other places I have been to in Cuba. BEACH is OK. Some people said it's excellent. However, I've seen better in Varadero and in Camaguey (Grand Club and Brisas, Santa-Lucia)
The weak points
Some ROOMS/WALLS/FLOORS are dirty. Some air-conditioners and fridges are noisy. STAFF in the restaurant are LAZY. DRINKS at the bars are so so. CAPPUCCINO is BAD - they use powdered milk. Superior UPGRADE is a BAD JOKE.
Certified

A little Gem

, St-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, QC
2014-09-07
This hotel is awesome , it was beyond our expectations. Highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Dirty beaches at the point
Certified

Love SCG

, Cavan Monaghan, ON
2014-04-27
this was our 11th time to this resort. We love it, small casual,3 star resort with a 5 star beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach is amazing, staff are wonderful, small and easy to get around and meet others, comfortable and relaxing. food was good . great value for price and the beach alone is worth it
The weak points
older hotel rooms basic and like being at a cottage , which is fine with us.
Certified

Escape from the Canadian winter

, Mississauga, ON
2014-04-07
This was second time for us at the Sol Cayo Guillermo. We like this hotel a lot. The beach is awesome, the hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is very good, close to Cayo Coco airport. Excellent beach.
The weak points
Cannot think of any.
Certified

Great beach

, Ancaster, ON
2014-03-29
This was our third visit, so that is already a recommendation (10th visit to Cuba).
Food is better than you would expect from 3 and 1/2 star hotel in Cuba and we don't understand why some people complain about it. The beach is absolutely beautiful and only problem is that people reserve the launchers with their towels early in the morning, and then leave them unoccupied for a long time. Sand flees could be a problem for some people; many don't get bitten at all (mainly men). Remember that sand flee can only jump 40cm, so covering your legs up to your knees with baby oil is a good idea. On days when it is not very windy, hotel smokes the grounds at sunrise and sunset.
Money exchange is now done at reception, since they close the small bank they had before. The CUC money fluctuates by US-CND exchange rate. We got 85 CUC for $100 CND when bank ratio was $1.00 CND to around $0.90 US.
This resort is very relaxed, dress code is non-existent with a small exception for dining rooms. Some women dress better for evenings, men look always grubby.
Specialty restaurants are not that special, but have nice atmosphere.

In conclusion, this place is mainly for people, who just want to relax, stay around pool or on the beach, since distances from other places of Cuba are fairly large (Havana Trinidad..etc). Bikes are no longer available at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, the resort layout, food variety, staff friendliness, service, relaxed atmosphere..
The weak points
Sand flies and sand flees bites; people reserving the launchers with towels in the early morning and not occupying them for hours; random shortages of towels, glasses in dining room, water bottles for rooms..etc.
Certified

Basics at their Best

, North York, ON
2014-01-15
We have stayed at this resort in the past... a cpl yrs ago... and we were recognized by most of the staff and treated like returning family. We were so impressed with the tiny little things done by misc staff that made us feel like we never left. They have also made this resort very kite surfer friendly, big plus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The amazing staff and gorgeous beaches.
The weak points
We went during sand flea mating season... BOO
Certified

Nice

, Mississiaga, ON
2013-12-06
This is not my first time to Cayo Coco but my first time to Sol hotel.
For the price it actually was very nice. It is clean, the beach is beautiful and ideal for a long walk. The hotel is quiet and is ideal for a relaxing time away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is perfect! The hotele is clean. Anything that needed to be fixed or adressed was done almost right away.
The weak points
Food was not great
Certified

Tenth Time

, Bowmanville, ON
2013-11-25
Many repeat customers and it is not for the food! Great beach and great staff.
New lobby bar is good but others need renovation. Will we go back again? Of course! You can't expect more for the price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is the best and the staff are wonderful.
The weak points
The hotel is looking a little worn. Needs renovation in places i.e. bars. Food quality has gone down a bit. No lettuce, no bacon, blander than bland.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020