Sol Cayo Coco

Sol Cayo Coco
3.873.873.873.873.87
3.87 based on 462 reviews
#16 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco - Cayo Guillermo
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (252)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Great time!

, Dartmouth, NS
2024-02-28
It is a really nice resort, with even better workers. Close enough to walk to the market and very nice beach and pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very nice people, good food for Cuba.
The weak points
Didn't always have all ingredients for food.
Sanitary measures
Clean overall.

Flight Centre all inclusive booked 2023 March

, Petawawa, ON
2024-01-29
Our stay at Sol Hotel Cayo CoCo all inclusive was for 2 weeks and our arrival and check in went great, Henry attended our luggage and brought us to our room and gave a short briefing. He is very professional and can solve any issue when asked. Sol by Melia, is a bit of an older place but well established and maintained by various tradesmen, gardeners, and friendly staff. The housekeeping in our room was completed daily and we had no problems, with cleaning or security. At the buffet, bars, a la carte Restaurant, all staff were professional, friendly, courteous. The entertainment staff is great and socializes daily with guests. Most events like 5 pm Bingo, organized games like darts, and openings like the gym, are started on Cuban time [late]. I found this is the norm on all our visits to Cuba. The beach/entertainment staff is great, and lots of fun. the music is played loud while volleyball is played so if you want quiet, go to the magnificient beach in the afternoon. The staff moves poolside in the afternoon.The daily bingo is at 5 pm and when numbers are called by the entertainment director, it is not fun. Some people left the games due to his continuous delays, as he asks guests to guess the next number when between say 20 and 30. It is funny one or two times but after this, the game interest is lost because this same joke is done 10 to 20 times. I also attended the gym; out of the first six days it wasn't open consistently. Hit or miss depending on the entertainment director whom holds the key. I enjoyed the food daily, made by the super chefs. They produced some very good, healthy, fruits, salads, desserts, proteins, veggies and breakfast items for what they were given. I will attend this hotel again definity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
THE STAFF BEACHES
The weak points
NO SHOWER WATER SOMETIMES MINI ANTS [KEEP FOOD IN FRIDGE] MOSQUITOS FLIGHT CENTRE DID NOT HONOR A DISCOUNTED PRICE
Certified

Repeaters 3rd time at Sol Cayo Cocco

, Penetanguishene, ON
2024-01-22
Overall, we were happy with our stay and we will go back to the Sol again! We experienced no shortage off eggs or bread and short line ups at omlette station and pasta station at buffet restaurant. Great Beaches and great weather and short 12 min from airport top reasons why we enjoy this resort! Overall food was good by Cuban standards. Entertainment needs some improvement compared to past years [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Has 2 distinct beaches for long walks in either direction. We brought snacks just in case but never touched them as we always found enough food choices to be satisfied. Bottled water replenished each day in mini fridge. No charge for safe. Pool area nice
The weak points
Resort buildings needs updating, fresh paint and many minor hazards needing repair. Friendly staff 50%only. Only one a la cart restaurant hard to book. No white wine! Less activities than in our past stays there
Sanitary measures
overall reasonable sanitary measures! Toilet paper and soap availble in common area washrooms that were cleaned regularly
Certified

Great trip!!!

, Tottenham, ON
2023-04-10
We stayed at Sol Cayo Coco for 2 weeks and had a great trip. Although Cuba is lacking in a lot of food selections, there were always many choices, we certainly didn't go hungry!

I'd like to thank: Bianca, Ofrey & Sergio in the Lobby Bar; Erick & Lixandy in the Buffet; Henry our bellboy; Saul at the beach bar; Madeline at the a la cartes; Mily, Yordani & Havier in Animation; Yenia at the Mojito Bar; Chef Michael; Nurse Jenn & the wonderful Dr. who helped us out when needed. All of these people made our stay extra special. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The wonderful staff & the beautiful beach.
Certified

Awesome Stay at the Sol!

, Barrie, ON
2023-03-28
Just got back from an amazing week at the Sol. I love this place so much and cannot wait to go back again. Beautiful gardens pools and beaches (yes plural as there are 2 beaches), great food with lots of options either at the buffet or pool bar, nice cold drinks and most of all really amazing workers that go all out for you and your kids. Perfect location only 15 minutes from the airport. Entertainment staff go all out. I can't wait to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Sol Cayo Coco

, Yarker, ON
2020-03-22
Great staff, perfect beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beaches, food was the best we have had in 4 visits there
Certified

Another fantastic holiday at the Sol!!

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-19
This was our fifth year in a row and we were certainly not disappointed. It was great to see all our friends again and be welcomed so warmly. Want to give special mention to Ernesto, Carlos Daniel, Blanca, Franley (makes the best Ron Collins), and our two beauties of the dining room, Meilyn and Yanitza. They make every year special. We will be back next year ❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff; new mattresses; staff; variety of food available (including vegetarian options); staff; cocktail reception for Canadian guests; staff; cleanliness of our room; staff; lots of hot water
The weak points
Food not always hot
Certified

Great small revovated hotel

, Montréal, QC
2020-03-16
Very good value for your money. I got an ocean view for no extra charge. The room was large with 2 double comfy beds. Good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
view, 2 beaches, location, service
The weak points
Not enough fresh fruit & juice variety, no danishs for breakfast. A la carte restaurant-Mexican food ? not enough choice of seafood.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-18
Dear guest: Thank you for your visit and your positive review. It was a pleasure to attend you during your stay. We all will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards from Sol Cayo Coco.

5* in my eyes

, Caledonia, ON
2019-12-10
Absolutely one of the best vacations I have had in all of our many many times in Cuba!
Our room was clean and spacious, and beds and pillows were comfortable. Despite my dietary needs, the food was plentiful and the Chef looked after making sure my needs were met!
I love the lobby it is the place where good friends meet, share the laughter and the fun, sipping on a cappuccino, mexican coffee or a glass of wine, it is very inviting, thank you Alex and the fantastic bartenders!
The pools are pristine, and there is a place for everyone, I do wish they had steps, a handle or ladder to remove ones self from the lower quiet pool, as some of us are afraid of falling.
The massages are to die for, oh my god they are wonderful, and Baby should be commended on her professionalism. Thank you Baby!
The beaches, what can I say? They are both exquisite, clean and comfortable, you have two choices which is wonderful, you have the one in front of the hotel, which is great for swimming etc.
Or you have the one that is accessible from the Hotel that is pure caribbean, you can walk for miles along the beautiful coast, barefoot and tranquil, limited on chairs as it is a public beach, but breathtaking none the less.
And last but not least, all the staff...wow...they are amazing!!!
The staff make this Hotel a 5 star in my eyes!!!
Congratulations to the new manager Pablo Balsa, he and his staff made our vacation something to remember, along with Naivi, Lissett (Lizzy) Henry, Alex, Baby, Roly, Yanitza, and I know there are many more wonderful staff, and I apologize for not remembering your names, but you are in our hearts!
We will return very soon!

Paul and Lynn [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Strong point is STAFF!!! Beach, cleanliness, layout of the hotel, comfortable beds, cater to dietary issues.
The weak points
Accessibility to entering and exiting the quiet pool, there does need to have a rail, a handle, a ladder something to allow accessibility in and out of the pool, we don't want anyone falling on their vacation.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-31
Dear guest: On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Coco. We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Coco we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays. We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return. We hope to see you very soon. Cordially,

Awesome vacation

, Richmond Hill, ON
2019-12-09
The entrance to the hotel is open space and inviting. Very friendly staff processed us quickly. Our room in block 1 was bright, spacious, clean, tastefully decorated. Modern fixtures in the bathroom.
The buffet offered quite a variety of pleasantly presented food. Despite severe food allergies, I had plenty choices and gained 3 kg. The a la carte restaurant caters to your wishes, can highly recommend. The snack bar offers snacks for all pallets.
The pools are clean and inviting. All bars offer local and international drinks.
The 2 beaches have more than enough umbrellas and sun beds.
The new young and enthusiastic manager, Pablo Balsa, added evening meals around the pool, including entertainment, and sometimes lunch in the same location. A much welcome fresh ambiance at Sol CC. Of course the amazing, friendly, professional, kind staff are the feature that brings us back every year. Will be returning early in the new year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-31
Dear guest: Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for. We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest. We hope you can come back to Sol Cayo Coco again. Cordially.

Sol cayo coco

, Hamilton, ON
2019-11-16
slow in cleaning my room. late afternoon hotel was only half full. had to hide down toilet paper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
food was so so
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-02
Dear Guest: We have received your comments regarding your stay in our hotel Sol Sirenas Cayo Coco. First of all, I would like to offer my most sincere apologies if we couldn´t satisfy all your expectations. Our intention is always to improve our services, so your comments help us in this purpose. Best Regards We have received your comments regarding your stay in our hotel Sol Sirenas Coral. First of all, I would like to offer my most sincere apologies if we couldn´t satisfy all your expectations. Our intention is always to improve our services, so your comments help us in this purpose. Best Regards

Solid Three Stars

, Moncton, NB
2019-10-21
Badly damaged by Hurricane Irma several years ago this resort has done an admirable job of recovering given the limitations of the current economic conditions. Staff are friendly, and accommodating. I only had one issue with a strong mildew smell in my original room but I was only half way thru explaining it when the receptionist had already started assigning a new room to my key card. Excellent Customer service ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The effort and dedication to cleaning by the staff shows in every corner, room and yes , bathrooms. Food was good and kept at proper temp. Enough variety that you didn't get bored .
The weak points
In slow times the heat and humidity tend to build up a mildew smell , especially in the ground floor units. Some of the air conditioning needs to be tweaked as the units leak onto the floor. I suspect blocked drain pans account for most of that.
Certified

Paradise.

, Glace Bay, NS
2019-05-17
Sol Cayo Coco
April 2019
Loved this resort. A great place to relax and enjoy the warmth and water. A quiet resort which was what we were looking for. The pools are beautiful, although there is only one ladder at the deep end of the main pool. Definitely needs another ladder in the shallow end for those with mobility problems. Also need rails for the stairs at the bottom pool for the same reason.
Very impressed with the staff. Most spoke excellent english so communication was no problem.
They were very friendly and provided great service all around, including the bar tenders, waiters, and the customer service personel, and front desk staff. The buffet provided a good selection overall and we had no problem with the quality of the food. The deserts were very tasty also. However there was a shortage of bread due to the unrest in Venisvela. There was a fresh supply the last two days were there though. After reading the reviews before our trip we brought a loaf of bread with us. Recommend people bring some also. Service was fast and there were no long lineups at the cooking stations. One station had a singing chef. A very nice touch.
Our room was on the second floor of the block facing the pool. It had a great view of the pools and the ocean. We called it a million dollar view. Absolutely loved it. We spent most of our time sitting on the balcony because of this, when we weren't swimming of cource. We could take in all pool side activities from there also.
There are actually 2 beautiful white sand beaches. The one directly beyound the pools has a gentle slope and is where the water activities are. The other is to the left and is a great beach for children to swim. There is no drop off and you can walk out quite far before it starts to get deep.
Our room had a rain shower and a boudet. Personally wish they had a tub as I prefer it. The shower could also use a hand rail.
The rooms are very well maintained and the beds are extremely comfortable. Yanet did a great job with our rooms and was very friendly. Always smiling.
We had two problems while we were there. No hot water when we arrived and a leak in the air conditioning. Both times we called the front desk they had a maintenance man come fix the problems right away. Very impressive. The front desk staff are great.
Frank, our Air Tranat rep. Is amazing. I forgot to take one of my medications with me and he and his wife went that extra mile to make sure I got some medication to get me through my stay here. I can not say enough about the quality of service he provided. Thank you so much Frank! Air Transat should be proud to have someone represent them with this excellent quality of service.
Also loved the night time entertainment. It was not overbearing. Here was a gentleman singing some old rock and roll music, on two different occsasions. And a gentleman playing some soft guitar music on another occasion. Very relaxing entertainment. This suited us just fine. Also there was no loud disco to keep you wake at night.
We were told before we went that they do not take U.S. dollars. That is false. They definitely do take U.S. money.
Overall we loved Sol and will definitely be back. It is going to be our destination of choice. Thank you Sol Cayo Coco for a wonderful experience. See you soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Very friendly, polite, courteous and always on top of things.
The weak points
Need more ladders and rails for pools.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-21
Dear Ms. Campbell: Thank you very much for your excellent comment. That is why our staff works for. We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest. We hope you can come back to Sol Cayo Coco again.

Sol Cayo Coco (March 2019)

, Ste Ursule, QC
2019-03-18
Second time at this hotel and it was really heart warming to see that various employees remembered me. It is like a family away from home. Service was amazing! Food has improved. Site is simple but clean. Gym
needs to be updated. Beaches are fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent personnel, great service and fantastic beaches.
The weak points
Gym and restaurant options
Certified

Amazing

, Hamilton, ON
2019-03-13
Amazing hotel. I've stayed here 3 times and hope to go back again. The staff is second to none, always friendly and smiling. They make you feel incredibly welcome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fun with Friends

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-17
The staff really make this hotel stand out, so nice. Rooms are big, bed was comfortable for me, firm! Beaches were really nice two sides to choose from. Disco was fun, shows were pretty good for a small hotel. Pools are nice just no stairs, really difficult getting in or out. Buffet was decent, alacart was booked up, Snack bar with Pizza was very good, chicken & fries at beach was good too. Good bang for the buck, met lots of people from UK, some Russians, Angentina,States and of course Canadians! Good place, I will visit again for sure, bring bug spray! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach, friendly staff, food is pretty good for Cuba!
The weak points
no stairs into any of the pools just a ladder! watch out for holes in cement walkway to beach
Certified

Cayo coco

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2018-04-16
Lovely as they have greatly improved since the terrible damage of the hurricane. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful friendly staff. The beach is great and the weather was fantastic.
The weak points
It was difficult getting a bottle of water each day.
Certified

Nice experience and great value

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-12
This is a three star so don't expect all the trimmings, but it is comfortable with nice beds and bathrooms ( many refurbished because of Irma). There are two beaches, both of which are fabulous, the food is typical cuban, but plenty of variety with fresh grilled fish and meat. The staff are very friendly and everywhere is kept spotless. The grounds are being replanted after the effects of the hurricane and loss of trees, but this means that most rooms have an ocean view now. We met many guests who return to this hotel year after year. If you like to laze by the ocean and take long walks along sandy beaches, then this is the place and its great value for money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches !!
The weak points
none really
Certified

3rd time's a charm!!

, Oakville, ON
2018-04-08
This was our third visit to the Sol and we will be back again next year. The staff at this resort are amazing and go out of their way to make sure you have the vacation you expected. The beach is beautiful - you can walk for miles. Always a chair available beach or pool side. Rooms are kept so clean and often had beautiful towel art to come back to. From arrival to departure, the Sol Cayo Coco is my only choice for a vacation in Cuba!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are amazing - Yanitza, Meilyn & Milados in the dining room; Didier, Juan Carlos and Blanca in the lobby bar; Alex, Arley and Alberto at the pool bar. Never went hungry - pool grill, buffet - all excellent...and churros at the beach!!!
The weak points
Food was not always warm, but generally no complaints about this resort.
Certified

Best time

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-03-11
This hotel is like a second home. The staff are genuinely caring. The rooms are beautiful and clean as well as the grounds, the cleaning staff are always working hard to ensure it stays clean. We met a lot of our friends that go every year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is amazing especially when Michael makes your eggs for breakfast and pasta for lunch due to he puts his heart into his preparation. The beach is spectacular as well as the lagoon. The customer service is excellent.
The weak points
There are none, considering that they are still recovering from the hurricane.
Certified

AHmazing!

, Peterborough, ON
2018-02-13
I travelled with my 17 year old daughter and was pleasantly surprised with this resort! We had read good reviews so picked this one and we couldn't be any happier!! Our room was amazing! (2400 block is great - ocean view without paying the upgrade) and our bathroom was very big with a rainhead shower that always had hot water and lots of pressure any time of day!
The staff were FANTASTIC and the service was always top notch. Lobby bar (Bianca - you are a doll) was always a great place to hang out and enjoy some entertainment.
We got the Beach Party at Flamenco included in our package and it's a MUST do. So much fun. Hola Sun host was great! Always making sure we were ok. I would TOTALLY recommend this hotel and I know we will be going back!
I like smaller resorts so it was perfect for me but there was still lots of chairs available at both beaches and pool anytime we needed them. No fighting for a spot which is nice.
The food was incredible as far as I'm concerned. My daughter is a vegetarian AND a picky eater and she had no problem whatsoever. I didn't lose weight on THIS trip :)

Thank you Sol Cayo Coco! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness Staff Food selection Beaches
The weak points
Windy at the one beach I think discos should start at 10 and not 11 - get more people there

Many trees gone from hurrican

, Longueuil, QC
2018-01-29
This is the 3rd time I go to this resort. .The difference between now and 10 years ago is their loss of mature coconut trees. There are a few mature trees and some younger ones have been planted so it will take a few years to come back.
Considering the time frame from the 2 hurricanes in Oct ,I was surprised and pleased at how well the hotel looked.
The employees have all changed since I was there last, but are still super friendly.
Although we had 2 days of yellow flag and 5 of red, the beach was still great to walk along in the water . The yellow days we went in , water nice and warm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
customer care
The weak points
not good for people alone
Certified

All about the customer

, Calgary, AB
2018-01-24
The staff at the resort always seem to be concentrated on customer service. We arrived at night and were just too late to catch the dinner buffet. The staff noticed this and made sure that we had something to eat for the night.

Any questions we had were quickly taken care of.

The resort itself is beautiful and we is very close to the beach. The beach is seashell lovers dream. It seemed to have the most shells out of all of Cayo Coco. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is paradise. Welcomed to use the facilities at the other resorts. There are many tour options and transportation. Walking distance to the market. The food was great!
The weak points
The bathroom in the room was a little weak and at times didn't work. The shower didn't always the hottest water. Both of these things were very minimal and at they did not hinder our experience at all.
Certified

Paradise returned

, Chateauguay, QC
2017-12-02
I have just returned from this hotel. It is my 7th time and each time it only gets better. The purpose of this trip was to reconnect with as I call them my Cuban family, after Irma hit them so hard.

Only block 1 was opened and few guests were there. This did not stop the staff from giving it their 100%. The warmth of these people is was keeps you coming back. No matter what they had just been through, they all wore a smile. The service was above par, the cleanliness impeccable. There was not one thing that needed improvement.

If you are looking for a small cozy hotel, close to everything, 20 minutes from airport, less than 5 minutes walk from hotel to beach/pool, you will not be better served. The quality of the food & drinks is above par. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff-food-cleaniness

Looking forward to returning

, Ontario north, ON
2017-04-10
There are many lengthy reviews and almost all positive. I can't add to them.
Great people, two great (and different) remarkable!! beaches, opportunities for activities and excursions, a great variety of food, clean facilities and smiling staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches. Security. Food.
The weak points
The activity coordinator was rather loud mid afternoon for an hour and the music pm could be loud for about an hour. There are rooms facing away from the pool area which would avoid the 'boom, boom'. We could see others, middle aged, felt as we did.
Certified

Another great stay at the Sol Cayo Coco!!

, Oakville, ON
2017-03-26
This was our second visit to the Sol Cayo Coco and it was even better than the first. Our room wss great - close to the beach and a view of the ocean from our patio. Our maid - Mailin - kept it spotless every day. She left us a new bottle of water every day and she did some wonderful towel art. We spent most of our time at the beach and enjoyed the new palapas they built while we were there. Thanks to Hector for always finding us a chair. The beach bar is right there, so you don't have to go far for a drink. There is also a smoothie bar where Erick can whip you up a nice drink. The pool is beautiful. Three different pools, never a problem to find a chair, although go early if you want one under a palapa. They switched to brand new towels while we were there - nice, bright orange, thick & plush - big difference from the old ones. The pool bar staff are excellent. Thanks to Ofrei and Alfredo for their great rum punch and pina colada, and Mowrie for working so hard to maintain the pool. The pool grill offers a great lunch - burgers, fries, pizza, etc. You can also enjoy a nice lunch at the beach grill - the chicken was delicious. We have never had a problem with food in Cuba and the buffet here is the best I have seen. So many things to choose from every day. Thanks to Yanitza and Meilyn for making breakfast/lunch so much fun. These two wonderful ladies are a big part of why we choose the Sol. Thanks also to Miladis, one of the sweetest people you will ever meet, for taking such good care of us at dinner. The coffee at the buffet is not the best, but go and see Blanca at the lobby bar and she will make you a nice espresso or cappuccino. The evening entertainment was fun as always. We had a wonderful week at the Sol Cayo Coco and we will be back again next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the beach, the food
Certified

Sol Cayo Coco

, Dunnville, ON
2017-03-12
Hotel and surrounding area is beautiful...Beach was fantastic [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff are both fantastic
The weak points
Food quality and selection wasn't very good
Certified

Cant wait to go back

, Ottawa, ON
2017-01-01
We loved the Sol Cayo Coco. There is nothing not to love because the staff at the Sol are so friendly and caring that whatever bothers you they will fix as soon as they can. The beach is beautiful, the food is good, the entertainment at the pool is bar none. Everyone makes you feel right at home. We were also fortunate to have a room with a nice balcony with a view of the beach. There was also a huge picture window overlooking the beach. The only thing is the bathroom had a smell when we first came in but we advised the front desk and this was taken care of. We would definitely go back as the price was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff makes it because of their friendliness and willingness to fix any problem you have.
The weak points
the hotel is dated and the bathrooms need some help.

Fantastic place to relax!!

, Barrie, ON
2016-11-01
Juan Carlos in the Cuban lobby bar makes THE BEST Pina Colada!! 2nd best is the stand outside the Commercial Centre. Take the 'train' for 3 CUC to Playa Prohibida or walk 75 min. Have their 'Special' for 15 CUC Lobster! Fish, shrimp, rice, salad. We shared a plate and it was more than enough and the view is fantastic. It was too windy to snorkel there when we were there. Take the catamaran out to the reef for 1 hr of snorkelling for 15CUC/pp. it's worth it!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff, location
The weak points
Can't think of any weak points. It is a great little place. A gem!!
Certified

Very nice resort

, Laval, QC
2016-10-12
An overall great resort. The staff is very friendly & welcoming. The food is great with a nice variety. Rooms are clean with AC units working fine. Would strongly recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and food.
The weak points
Closest town or city is 65klm away.
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024