Iberostar Daiquiri

Iberostar Daiquiri
3.733.733.733.733.73
3.73 based on 609 reviews
#10 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (274)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Beautiful Setting and Incredible Staff!

, Birchy Head, NS
2020-03-16
This was my 4 th time to Daiquiri. The place is beautiful with wonderful sandy beaches, great snorkeling just off shore, and SUN! The food is very good, and fresh. I always find lots of options and fresh fruit!
The biggest thing that brings me back are the beautiful Cuban people who work there. They do their utmost to make your stay the best it can be. They are warm and welcoming, and if you take the time to get to know them, you appreciate them even more! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the beach the pool, iced cappuccinos, the food, hobby cat rides.
The weak points
There are many things that cannot be controlled in Cuba. Sometimes because of the embargo against Cuba by the US there is a shortage of some supplies. Sometimes there are water issues - hot water, but they do their best to fix it promptly.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-03-23
Dear Elaine, We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays. Amazing locations, professional staff, cleanliness and excellent standards of gastronomy are very important elements of our company and reading that you found them to your liking is brilliant news. Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Good experience

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-08
Nothing to complain about, little things that can be overlooked, way to much smoking for my liking but can be tolerated. activities are very good and the nightly show excellent. Jormer does a very good job mingling and entertaining the guests. Excellent place for kitesurf.
I will come back again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly personnel, daily buffet and bar -- 10 out of 10
The weak points
the specialty restaurants are not as expected.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-03-23
Dear Eugenio, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and also for taking the time to share your opinion. Every day is a new challenge for us based on our passion for providing our guests with an environment similar to a home from home and receiving excellent feedback such as yours shows us we are on the right track. Thank you for sharing this positive experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Family vacation 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-16
Checkin was slow and we had to change rooms the next day as we were in the noisy part of the hotel with young children
2nd room was great!
No other issues through the week [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was ok and pool water was really clean with no chlorine smell
The weak points
Food was repetitive at the buffet and service at the buffet was poor. Getting coffee in the morning and water at night was difficult.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-26
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your friendly comments are an incentive for us to continue to the best of our ability so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were in our hospitality. The fact that you could have a wonderful time in our hotel is an excellent confirmation of our efforts. Furthermore, we promise to investigate the areas of concern you raise in your review because we know it is through constant communication with our guests that we can be made aware of their particular wishes and preferences and thus ensure their well-being and satisfaction whilst staying at our hotel. Once more, we thank you for making our hotel your choice for this holiday and we will be delighted to welcome you back again in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Daquiri holiday review

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-04
We enjoyed the simplicity and cleanliness of hotel. Our rooms were clean amd the view was beautiful. The beach was cleaned regularly. Two negatives worth mentioning 1) the no seeum bugs were a pain. I had quite the bites where husband had a couple only. 2) tthe entertainment staff lacked enthusiasm and were minimally around during day. they were not very engaging. all else was awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach cleaned. rooms and resort simple but clean. food was fresh. staff were amazing
The weak points
entertainment staff not ery engaging and the bugs were a pain
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-26
Dear guest, We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time with us and want to thank you for sharing your experience. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensure that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration. Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Disappointing for an Iberostar

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-18
We picked Daiquiri because it is a smaller resort and my husband has mobility issues. It was good in that respect as our room was close to all amenities. Beautiful beach, but we could not use it due to extremely high winds. Great for the kite surfers, not for snorkelling. Resort is somewhat “tired”, but this is Cuba. Mostly ate fresh fruit, salads, cheese and fresh fish. There were burgers, pizza, donuts and fries but I don't come to Cuba for that kind of food. Our room was basic, but clean. No remote for tv, had to ask. Phone not working half the time and we didn't get our wake up call the day we had an early start. No phone directory. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, both rooms, public washrooms and the whole resort. Gardens well maintained. In general the staff are friendly and helpful. Star friends kept visitors engaged with games around the pool.
The weak points
Not much attention from bar staff. Had to fetch drinks most of the time. Dancers great, but not much variety in evening entertainment. Gym small and most of the electronics not working on life cycles etc. Food not great. Had to pay for room safe.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-01-23
Dear Rosita, We would like to express our appreciation for the time that you have taken to send us your review. We are sorry we were not able to completely satisfy you on this occasion. We aim to give our guests unforgettable holiday experiences through our exquisite cuisine, outstanding service and numerous facilities. Although we regret that some elements of your stay did not meet your expectations, we are thankful for your constructive comments and for the opportunity they provide for improvement. We would also like to express how pleased we are that you loved your room, the beautiful gardens and that you found our staff friendly and entertaining. Once more, we would like to thank you for your invaluable opinion, and we hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Enjoyed our stay.

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-31
We always enjoy the friendly staff, and the wonderful beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Weather, Friendly people.
The weak points
Some of the buildings and infrastructure need some repair or updating.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-01-13
Dear Edward, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the concerns you raise as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Great place....but..

, Barrie, ON
2019-12-10
Ok, so the staff were great and I was provided a convenient room as I have some mobility issues! The first day, however, we had 2 large cockroaches separately, a non working safe, a non working phone, which meant many trips by my wife to the front desk. Also, no facecloths, bath mats, or hot water. It took some time to resolve some of these things, but all except the hot water did get fixed! The staff were great over all, the entertainment ppl and all the serving people. My wife got sick on the third last day, probably foodborne illness, and couldn't go on a trip we had booked and paid for, and was left taking it really cool the last couple of days, she continued to be sick once back home and sought treatment. The food overall was really good, the Cuban and Italian a la cartes were great, Mexican disappointing! The main issue cleanliness and convenience wise was poorly located bathrooms with no hot water, in fact a poor availability of hand wash sinks for employees. Also raw food and sauces held at room temperature, and surfaces and tables not cleaned well. Also, there could be a few small things done to make things safer for mobility impaired ppl, and some general renovations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, nice beach, good food
The weak points
Hot water, bathrooms, things are getting a bit rundown, and little provision for mobility impaired ppl!
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-12-16
Dear Canuck, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on our all inclusive paradise resort Iberostar Daiquiri. Knowing that overall you had a fantastic time with us brings us great joy. We are grateful for your kind comments regarding our phenomenal staff and our exquisite cuisine, as these are founding pillars of our establishment. Furthermore, we are delighted you enjoyed our all-encompassing entertainment programme inclusive of themed parties, evening shows and live music. However, we are sorry that you felt the cleanliness and hygiene were lacking in places and would like to reassure you that staff execute a thorough daily cleaning routine in all areas of the resort. Furthermore, although we are glad that most discrepancies were fixed promptly, we are sorry that this was not the case for the hot water. We also regret that you felt our establishment was not appropriately set up in terms of mobility access and we will certainly look into improving it. Finally, we regularly use fumigating service throughout the hotel to keep the insects at bay, unfortunately it can occur that one escapes us so we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will pass on your valuable comments to the relevant departments and use them as an opportunity to enhance our resort. We wish your wife a speedy recovered and we would be delighted to welcome you at one of our Iberostar hotels around the world in the near future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Wonderful Place, Wonderful People!

, Birchy Head, NS
2019-11-11
This was my third, and best yet trip to Iberostar Daiquiri! The food is good, but the people who make and serve your food are wonderful! Everyone is friendly, happy, and are always smiling.
The entertainment staff do all that they can to make sure that everyone is having a good time, and work so hard to provide games, exercise classes and dance classes as well as many other things. The nightly entertainment in the theater is amazing! The dancers are phenomenal and their dancing and tricks are incredible. The general manager makes himself very visible and is open to comments. The sun, beach and sea are beautiful. Love the Hobby Cats! It also has a gym with a personal trainer to help you get the most from your workout. I love this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people who work at the resort. The beach, sun and sand. The food.
The weak points
The bugs at night - mosquitos and sand fleas. Take bug repellant.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-11-15
Dear Elaine, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to impress you with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. We are so glad you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Daiquiri

Cuba vacation

, Sudbury, HA
2019-04-08
Older, needs a bit of updating but a nice place in general, would revisit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff, beautiful beach
The weak points
needs updating
Certified

Fantastic resort !

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-16
Would highly recommend this resort ! Beach is visibly kept cleaner than other resorts around when you walk, good food, smaller resort so less people, excellent snorkeling on site and close by. Fridge refilled with water & beer every other day but you could get the big water bottle filled at one of the beverage place and staff were very helpful filling it for you. Additional beer or beverage always available at one of the bars ! Always at least one place open for food. When the beach bar is close the pool bar or main building bar is open a steps further. My patio door closed and had a lock.
2 pesos/day for the safe.
My bed sheets were always very clean. This area is very windy so perfect breeze. Saw only 1 fly and 1 mosquito.
WIFI is slow & not too reliable but cost only 1 CUC per hour by buying a card with codes and only works in lobby and at the Cayo Coco airport :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Smaller resort so less people on beach & pool ! 4 chefs at main buffet cooking to your liking a speciality (crepe, fish, meat, pizza, etc) Servers clapping hands to welcome people who were the first to line up for food as they come in main restaurant !
The weak points
Beige bed spread makes stains from previous user putting their travel bags with dirty wheels on the bed more visible. Some staff at front reception were very nice & welcoming but others were just very « business like » and not too friendly
Certified

A beautiful location!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-31
The beach at this resort was AMAZING! We were there for a week of relaxation and spent the majority of our time on the beach. The resort was showing its age, and we had a little excitement as our air conditioning leaked all over the floor in our room, but it's Cuba and we were on vacation so who cares. The staff fixed it and we were happy as clams. The staff were nice and accommodating. Food was very good. Very happy campers! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Rooms are a little shabby, and the Mattress could be improved
Certified

Nice resort, not perfect

, Vancouver, BC
2018-12-31
Checked in late on Friday, about 9:45 pm, after travelling for 12 hours. Even though buffet closed at 10 pm, could not get in and so did not eat til next morning. Very hungry and annoyed. WIFI at resort is adequate if you have your own device. The guest terminals were not functioning during the entire week. Guest services very kindly allowed to me complete my return airline check-in on their computer. Much appreciated but wanted to check my emails and more. Nothing available. Water was delivered to my room only once in seven days without asking. I had to go to guest services and carry a bottle back five times, guest services delivered water twice more after a 9 pm special request. Considering it is Cuba, food was plentiful and of decent quality. I had no trouble selecting enough appealing items. Orange juice not available. Milk always warm or hot, never cold. Effects of hurricane still evident. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well appointed rooms, defects fixed fast. Entertainment in the bar-lounge in the evenings was very good. Really enjoyed the flautist, the vocal group, the saxophonist and others. Club Havana shows were mostly entertaining, something different every nigh
The weak points
Guest computer terminal never worked. Snack bar only had ham & cheese sandwiches and fries. One night, not even bread for sandwich. A couple of nights there were also hot dogs. Never anything else.
Certified

Awesome weather and vacation experience!

, Birchy Head, NS
2018-10-30
The Daiquiri is an awesome place to vacation! It is a smaller resort that just makes it that much more comfortable. The staff are AMAZING! Carrillio the Buffet Chef makes incredible artwork pancakes and grills amazing lobster and many other things. Mama makes the most incredible smoothies. Lillian, Evelyn and Jasine are wonderful daytime servers in the buffet and always remember what I want. Eddy and Roly at night are great too! The maintinance staff - Raydel, Rollando and Jordan who are so courteous and helpful. Ivan, Nigel and so many others in the Entertainment staff. The gardeners who always have a smile and a "hola". The dancers and entertainers are incredible. I was there in February and again this trip and hope to go back!
For a 4 star the food is exceptionally good! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff here really make the resort what it is. Clean rooms, spacious and incredible views. Excellent food and drinks!
The weak points
Often not enough seating in and around the Lobby Bar. I was not overly impressed with the a la cart restaurants - the buffet was often better
Certified

Great food really friendly staff

, Moncton, NB
2018-10-20
I'm a relative Cuba newbie, having visited twice before in varadero and this was my first time in the chaos. However I have traveled extensively elsewhere in the world. I'm used to the wide range of opinions on Cuban cuisine but even the two previous times I was in no danger of starving.

The daiquiri however was a hugelypleasant surprise with tons of local and generally international choices each meal. Two choices would even ! Multiple a la carte stations were manned by pleasant and efficient people cooking fish, steak, hamburgers, eggs, bacon,pan cakes , roast meat etc.

The beds were my most grateful surprise. My previous experiences had prepared for a low lying box spring dorm mattress . WhaT awaited me, in a clean well maintained ed room was a bed better than the one I had left 1800 miles to the north.

The staff, contraception to gardeners to see ice and maintenance were so friendly and willing to put up with my bad Spanish ! Truly I felt at home from the minute I stepped off the bus and ,one week later,felt like I was leaving friends. I will be back!

The only downside was a temperamental Ving door lock but the staff went out of their way each time I needed assistance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, beds , entertainment,really relaxing
The weak points
None really as long as you don't want to be in a city
Certified

Unfair attitude

, Scarborough, ON
2018-04-04
We went to Iberostar Daiquiri for good Friday long weekend,
we did not have hot water in our room and this was not only our experience, there were so many guests with the same issue. when we took the issue to the customer service of course everybody was upset of not having hot water and very low water pressure in their room people were up set and angry. the front desk threatened us to call the POLICE on us!!!! imagine traveling to a foreign country and the hotel TELLS you "they will call police on you" just because to shout up every body.
this was a totally turn off to waste our money and time in a place they treat you like that.
Hotel itself was clean but....
the lack of hot water and low pressure water
not much/ variety of alcohol drink (!!!! we go there for drink)
Food was very bad
Beach has all sea weeds and sea plants
safety deposit box unlike other resorts was charged for $2.00 a day
Italian restaurant food was terrible
This was maybe 11th times we traveled to Cuba we never had these kind of experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Traveling to a foreign country we expect welcoming not threaten to call police on us.
The weak points
Zero for this hotel

Good value for the price

, Stouffville, ON
2018-03-26
Front desk staff were more attentive on this visit and a few issues with our room were addressed quickly. We finally, on our 4th visit, got a room with one bed rather than two, after paying for an upgrade. It was very comfortable. However we didn't get pink wrist bands until we asked for them based on a comment by a staff member. The pull-out bed was made up when we entered the room, we tried to put it away (it was blocking the balcony door) but couldn't get it all the way in. We didn't mention it and nobody ever fixed it.

The tennis courts need to be resurfaced, repainting isn't really good enough. We chose this resort because it had a tennis pro, so better courts would make the resort really stand out and attract more people.

Beach & sea is another main reason we visit and it was as good as a filled-in beach can be.

I think it's great that the management meets with guests to get feedback. The staff overall are wonderful and helpful, except for the lady in the cigar store. The shows have improved, there is a bit more variety and also live music multiple times a day. This year there was a fun beach party between our hotel and the neighbouring resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- The shows were great, lots of interaction, lots of live music every day. - nice beach, water great, watch for crabs
The weak points
- tennis courts
Certified

A resort. An amazing experience

, Windsor, ON
2018-03-08
Amazing food, Friendly service. The people working here care for your comfort and well being. They will bend over backwards to ensure that!! The beach is beautiful! 24 hour bar is amazing. Any kind of mixed drink you want, they have!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly people. GOOD FOOD. Amazing selection of drinks at the bar. THE BEST COFFEE
The weak points
I wish wi-fi and the lockbox in the room was free. But for the price, no big deal.
Certified

Not great

, Calgary, AB
2018-03-05
I went for a week and I don't think this is a 4 star hotel. I would say it is 2 star.

Cons:
- rooms weren't great. Towels smelled of mildew, no "do not disturb sign" (which means if you want to sleep in or you are sick, housekeeping will knock on your door 3 times throughout the day and wake you up), no clock, construction constantly happening during the day outside the third floor
- not enough chairs at the pool or beach. If you don't reserve a chair by 7am, they are ALL taken. There were only about 25 chairs at the pool and they were all reserved before breakfast. Same with the beach. I saw a woman complain to management that she and her husband had nowhere to sit for days, and all management did was give them 1 chair from storage. You are still able to use the pool without a chair - but you will need to sit on the concrete or go back to your room when you're done swimming. This is my biggest complaint.
- food is bland and takes too long. There is only one buffet for the entire resort, which means you will be waiting in line for 10-15 minutes for food at every meal. Pop was not available at the fountain machine the entire trip. Sometimes the staff had bottles of pop, sometimes they didn't. So your options for drinks at the buffet were beer, wine or water.
- not much variety with drinks. I asked a bartender for a list of drinks they offered. She reluctantly gave me a book and said "we don't make evrything in the book". So there is no way to know what is and isn't available, unless you stand there asking "can you make this? Can you make this?"
- check in was very hectic. Everyone rushed the front desk, there was no order, no way to know who was being helped, or if any staff was available to help you
- staff was friendly in general, but I had 1 staff member badgering me (3 times) about selling me an adapter because he claimed my electronics wouldn't work in the hotel room. He only talked to me when he saw I had my luggage and hasn't checked into my room yet. Once I got into the room - surprise - my electronics worked with the sockets perfectly.
- no wildlife on the resort what so ever, aside from a few stray cats. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff, shows
The weak points
Food, pool chairs, rooms

My week in Cuba

, St Catharines, ON
2017-05-02
The beach had been widened, which was nice and my room was convenient to everything. Room 4129 Varadero Building. It was nice that the lobby bar was open 24 hours as I could get a coffee before the buffet opened. The line ups were time consuming in the buffet, need more variety of pre-cooked items and more chefs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The lobby was nice and the service there.
The weak points
No hot water in my room until the last day. Reported it 3 times to guest services. People came but didn't seem to help until the last guy.
Certified

Return to the DAIQUIRI

, Truro, NS
2017-04-21
This was our 4th time here and 1st since 2010. We were concerned that the resort might have slipped since our last visit. We were pleasantly surprised and noticed improvements completed and more underway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness in all service areas. Food variety and quality good. Grounds well maintained. Expanded beach area.
The weak points
Do not expect easy internet access. Expect to play the towel game to get palapa/chairs. Enforcement of dress code lacking in all restaurants; ie. beach coverups/shirts. Long pants for men in speciality restaursnts.
Certified

Holiday

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2017-03-14
It was a great week. Clean hotel, good food, friendly staff. Nice sized hotel, not too big, but enough choice for dinners.
Fast service everywhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel size, distance to airport, a la carte restaurants, activities.
The weak points
Not a lot of shade huts by the water at the beach. Slow towel service.
Certified

Iberostar daiquiri

, Orillia, ON
2017-02-26
wonderful hotel and vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Diana at the pool bar was exceptional all staff in buffet were great
The weak points
over 70 and they put us on the 3rd floor not near the other 2 rooms with us
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Onoway, AB
2017-02-06
I recently returned from this resort in Cayo Coco. I found that the resort is run down and needs some extra attention to the bathrooms and cleanliness. There was only one bathroom that had toilet paper, soap and paper towel. The other bathrooms some times had toilet paper but no paper towel. Also when I went to customer services to advise of the washroom in the theatre they told me they would have it done. The next show I went to and everyone after that did not have anything. The bugs were bad and I found a large cockaroach in my room. I found the pool area needs major concrete work as there are holes in it where people can trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff

Enjoyed my stay

, Camrose, AB
2016-12-16
The resort is in a wonderful location. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, Beautiful Location, Excellent Food, Great Kiteboarding Location.
The weak points
Mosquitos.....
Certified

Great Time

, Waterville, NS
2016-11-25
The staff were very friendly and helpful.grounds were kept very clean,the beach was beautiful.the rooms were nice and cleaned everyday.Of course the food was cuban food,always displayed nicely, and we were always able to find something we liked.This was our first time in Cuba and it was a great experience.Would recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and pool
Certified

Great resort

, St-Colomban, QC
2016-09-24
Overall great resort- nice beaches, good food for Cuba, great value. Only issue is there is no real late night snack bar after 10:00 PM. They only have some bread with a slice of cheese lying around in the hot lobby area. All other resorts that I have been to usually have a real area opened where you can order somethibg to eat after 10:00. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and food is actually not bad for Cuba
The weak points
There is no snack bar after 10:00 PM- usually other resorts have some sort late night snack bar
Certified

Needle syringes in the sand

, Brampton, ON
2016-07-23
You have to read this. Mostly if you don't do drugs. My first review ever in 44 years. You could have a wonderful 7 nights at this resort and all that will cost you is a very small dip in your patience reserves and some 300CAD in tips to keep those smiles coming. 500 get you high fives. We're a Brampton family of four, 44, 43, 5, 3, traveled July 8-15 with Transat for 2550 total (pre tips and local stuff). Water is a foot deep for about 100 feet out – thus you the parent may enjoy your many beers and rums - stick to those by the way.

We're traveled about 45 times all over the Caribbean and perhaps 15 times in Cuba. It was our second visit at this resort. I'm old school and still believe that the success of the vacation is solely with me, provided a bare minimum is provided. We tipped about 500 and once I convinced everyone to leave the gastronomic monotony behind, I was laughing.

That is till the last day – when something that gives me bad dreams happened. They had a beach party the previous night, organized by the hotel. We thought nothing of it. We went to the beach huts, as we'd done each day. With that minimal dip in patience I myself cleaned the area around the hut just after the people with the rakes passed by. While I was fooling around in the sand, I found a small crack syringe. Needle up! My wife works for the police btw - she knows how those looks compared to insulin etc. I'm not panicking and clear the area, children on shoes curfew, etc some of you know what I mean. My wife tells me right away that these things almost never come in singles and I start looking for another one. We were 3 families altogether, my Burlington friends also a family of 4 souls plus my uncle/ant pair. There was nowhere else to go out of the sun at 10am-ish plus what was I supposed to do – leave a sign there “don't fool around here - needles”?

At that point I'm gathering my brains up and set out to get someone to rake the place up. I go to the place that gathers up all the complaints – guest services. A gal there Samira is on duty and tries to be helpful. Gathers my info and actually followed up with me later. I ask her right away - look I don't want to ruin my last day – just send someone to rake the place. Nothing till 11. Return and ask who the resort manager is. She says that the security manager needs to collect the evidence. I tell her again where the thing is and set out to meet security on the beach. Another hour goes by. We're in the sand away from the syringe place at this point. A security guy comes, no English, tells me something in Spanish and leaves. He knew what was I talking about as he puts his arm showing a stab sigh to the shoulder. Takes a look and goes. I'm taking the syringe (placed in a can of beer) to front desk. I describe the situation to the reception ladies (Ana and Merick/Mureck?) with the syringe in my hands. They tell me that they are occupied with the lack of WiFi, that was more important. I ask them to call the manager, Fernando; they won't and sort of pretend that they are trying to call him using a cell phone.

I was losing at that point and I knew it. With what's left of my patience I ask them to use the desk phone. No. Now dipped heavily into my reserves I ask them to call him on the radio as I had noticed the manager guy – Fernando - at the coffee bar in the morning getting the most pristine cream on his coffee. Fernando this Fernando that several times over the radio. 1o other minutes go by I'm standing there like an senselessly. I'm asking: have you told this guy why I'm here? How this is so dangerous. Cutting my losses. Going back to the beach . It is about 1:30PM now. I tell everyone – let's hit the pool. That girl Samira sees me again and asks for the syringe and room number again. She says that the security manager could not find us at the beach (untruthful, there were 5 adults there at the hut waiting for the uniform). I feel though something is wrong. I go the beach and head to the pool. On the way to the pool at about 2PM, guess who walks by: Fernando the manager. My wife gives him the low down. This guy says he does not know anything about our issue. Simona shows him the shots. After some 5 minutes I cut it short and ask him to see that the place is raked. He says yes yes of course. We go back to the beach. Nothing, We say let's lose ourselves in rum. The tide has come in right to the hut at this point 3pm-ish. Guess what other present is revealed? Another syringe. Transparent this time. Also needle up. My wife starts to freak out. We sign the beach police to come over. They come over right away. Radio this and that. Fernando the manager comes over in a hurry. He refuses to rake the place and wants to call the police. He wants the evidence, to analyze it. It's close to 5PM now, about 7 hours since we found the first one. All I wanted is for the place to be raked. Some of you could imagine the sleepless nights if you or a close one found a needle in their toe. I explain all that. But this top gun Fernando is with some security guy and the beach police and - without any respect - he starts outright lying about how he was there and how the other reports were there – the works. I lost it right there and told him to get out of my face.

Remember that you make your own vacation. Go there - anywhere - and laugh. I'm just here to warn you about Iberostar's staff unwillingness to rake the place given the circumstances. I could not prove to you right now that we weren't drunk around our 4 children or we're not an imbecilic combination of families.

Thus I'm leaving this at: watch the sand on the Iberostar Daiquri beach.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Best so far and probably hard to beat in Cuba

, Welland, ON
2016-06-07
Clean with great people, beach is really an attraction on it's own. Food was above of what you typically think Cuban resort food is. Entertainment needs a little revamping although this is just my opinion, very dance heavy and dancer who entertain do a good job just too much dance for me. Resort is mostly European people and very friendly. Weather was out of this world for 7 days with sun every single day except 1 hour before leaving to come back home. On this trip we were travelling with 3 people with disability and mobility was good, only a couple places like the beach bar we had some issues getting to washrooms. Everything is close which made it nice for our mobility issue. Our stay was pleasant and would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food and people not in any specific order.
The weak points
Disability access at beach bar, entertainment.
Certified

Superior 4 *

, Gatineau, QC
2016-05-25
First, staff at reception were most kind and patient, given that we arrived over 15 hours late because of our flight. After mentioning that we were repeat customers, we received a gift in our room. I stayed in room 5231 and everything was in working order, the room comfortable. I asked for extra pillows and received them promptly. However, the sheets for the king size bed were ill-fitted (much too small) so that we could not properly cover ourselves.
The food was good; the buffet offered an excellent variety of vegetables, fruits, fresh meats and fish. There was a great variety and plenty. Again service was generally very good. I wish the snack bar would have had pizza instead it is a snack buffet counter with hamburgers, hot dogs, fruits, bread. The buffet at the Ranchon was better (it had pizza) but with the main buffet being so close, I preferred returning there for meals.
The à la carte restaurants were fine, except if you go to the Italian or Cuban which are not air conditioned, you will need mosquito repellent when the sun begins to set.
There is no 24-hour bar. The lobby bar opens at 8h00. The pool bar did not have good service. Non bar staff served me more than once while bar staff faced the other side in the snack bar.
Entertainment in the lobby was very good while enjoying a drink before the show started at 21h30. The resort is small so everything is close, including the beach, which is beautiful. I don't know what it is like in peak season but it was difficult to find palapas after 8h30. Yes windy but we did have some calmer days. There are G.O.'s if you wish to participate in all sorts of activities.
There is a bank on site where you will get a better exchange rate than at the reception desk. There is also a gym to which I went every morning even though it is in dire need of scrubbing and not air conditioned as advertised.
I would return to this resort and will not hesitate to recommend it as a very good 4 star hotel in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Its small size and closeness to everything

Another great week in cuba

, Kentville, NS
2016-03-12
eighth visit to the daiquiri for us. some of the staff are the same as when we first visited in 2002. great people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
definitely the staff
The weak points
some buildings are ready for renos
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020