Starfish Cayo Guillermo

Starfish Cayo Guillermo
3.483.483.483.483.48
3.48 based on 664 reviews
#14 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco - Cayo Guillermo
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (576)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345678

Two star resort

, Pembroke, ON
2024-02-15
To begin there was no Buffet the food was limited to the point where you literally had hardly anything to choose from at lunch time literally had to eat buns toilet didn't work for 90% of the time blue towels were stinky from the start the wharf that went out in the water was collapsed and fall in the water most of the time the beer on top was buccaneero which is the worst beer that Cuba has catamaran not worth your time or money was rushed being late return to the catamaran did not get to eat the lunch that was paid for and exclusive had to leave for beer and lunch behind to get on the bus was talked very rudely by Angel the manager making my wife break down in tears that are that are matters were only opinions and that lots of people return and basically did not care what we had to say and address their problems now fighting with sunlink to get reimbursed for some money as we spent way too much for this trip and we're very disappointed through everything even the sun wing rep Tony nothing but lies save your money don't waste your time at this two-star Resort you're much better off going elsewhere beware you've been warned yes there was Sun yes there was ocean everything else was garbage and if you like listening to boom boom boom all night long how about her [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Terrible Resort don't waste your money simple as that
The weak points
Everything was garbage don't waste your money on a two star resort

Good, Bad and Ugly

, Ramara, ON
2024-01-31
Our check-in experience was friendly, however, when we entered our room, we were quite disappointed. Although the room was adequate, we found it needed a deep clean and inspection. We had 2 young children (2 & 5), which right away found an electrical outlet hanging open with the wires exposed. Our patio led to a unpleasant view with wet mud off to the one side and blocked by the kids camp building. Location wise, was great for us, just not safe. When I brought photos back to the front desk, they immediately called maintenance to fix the electrical outlet and offered to move us. Abel and Joel were very helpful and we appreciated the genuine effort.
Upon walking the property it was disheartening to see the unkept condition of the children's area and the pools. The fence railings were broken and laying on the ground with no apparent attempt to rectify. The same for the white aluminum railings between pools. The railings were either missing or falling out. The metal braces were exposed and children were climbing through them. The health and safety piece was missing. I know the GM or AGM did walks through some areas but there did not seem to be any concern or solution to at least quick remedy these areas until they could be fixed.
I have 15 years experience in hospitality working with Marriott International and know how important QA is, however, maybe this is not priority in Cuba or Blue Diamond? I have also traveled to Cuba many times and stayed with various resorts and star ratings. Star rating is not overly important to me and I do prefer smaller resorts with less amenities.
Please let me say we enjoyed our stay in the end, by not letting these things spoil the times for the children. We loved the beach and staff were very friendly. We met lots of lovely people that are repeat guests saying that they have been going there for years, although have noticed a decline this past year?
Maybe we were there in low season (January 22-28) however, the resort seemed busy.
There were no working outdoor showers to remove beach sand and salt, so people would jump into the pools the way the were, resulting in cloudy water and lots of sand and dirt in the water.
The buffet was always stocked with something you could eat, however, mostly the same things every day. Extremely slow prep at the grills and snack shack. They would only cook one person at a time, instead of putting more than one person on the grill. Until you felt comfortable to tell them (you felt like you were butting in) but you pretty much had to or you would be there for 40 minutes waiting!
I hope that some of these observations will help the management to address and resolve these items. If you can keep a blind eye to these items, you will have a great time. The staff work hard and long hours but always try to remain friendly and keep you happy.
Of course, you will hear that they ran out of items like, wine, coffee and eggs etc however, I felt they were replenished within days.
Not sure I will return but would like to as I enjoyed the size of the resort, beach and people there. However, not until some of the safety items are addressed.
Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach was great, loved walking out during low tide. We had hot water and air conditioner worked well.
The weak points
Safety of kids camp, railings and outdoor showers. The grass was knee high when we arrived and saw one of the landscapers trying to cut with a machette!
Certified

Pas terrible

, Repentigny, QC
2024-01-04
Mefiez vous des 2 clowns a reception !!! 2 astie de mangeux de marde [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
plage
The weak points
Mefiez vous des 2 clowns a reception et taxi = CROSSEUR !! salle a manger sa sent la m.... les naperons sur les tables sentent les vidanges , meme serviette de plage avec des trous pour 2 semaines toilette a reception deguelasse.

Awesome Vacation

, Margaree, NL
2023-04-08
There was a group of 6 ladies and we enjoyed every minute of our vacation. There was plenty of food, great entertainment, lots of hot water and the most friendly people. Will return to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Vacations at Starfish Cayo Gullermo

, Concord, ON
2023-03-16
It was a very entertaining vacation. The hotel is not luxurious but it is very nice and clean. Our room was number 530 in the Club, they offer a more personalized service and a very varied buffet, the pool is beautiful, and since the weather is summer all the time you can spend the day in the pool or on the beach. The staff was very friendly, especially the guys who served us in the restaurant. It is a 100% recommended hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Beach vacation

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2023-03-16
Hotel was good. Always had good selection of salad and some local fruit. Cooked meat fresh daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach the beach Rooms had excellent air conditioning.
The weak points
We had to ask to move out of wood cabin as walls were not sound proof at all and some water supply problem. We moved to cement one story and we were happy.
Certified

Not great, but good overall value

, Blainville, QC
2023-03-08
In general: Nice ressort although a bit older, it has some nice features. It's got a great beach location (nicer than most on that same beach) lots of chairs and sunshades always available pier adds charm.

I liked the smaller hut design compared to huge hotel complexes, and the groundskeeping was immaculate !! (5 stars to the groundskeepers) gives the ‘'Wow'' effect to the place.

Food was typical of Cuba; ok but lacking in variety if compared to other destinations (oddly in a southern destination fresh fruit and veggies are somewhat limited), but all in all it was still acceptable. Great desserts made things better (loved the crêpes!!) and the ‘'à la carte restaurants were great !!

Some small investments here and there could go a long way in improving the overall experience, such as :

- Safes in all rooms are all out of order (would be nice to put your passport or cash in something secure)
- Toilets don't flush (perhaps lack of water pressure?) have to fill garbage can each time and manually add water to get toilet to activate. (Even after asking to have it fixed, it never was).
- Bathroom door has a huge transparent window (you can see whoever's sitting on the toilet) would simply require some imitation stained glass self adhesive plastic roll to make the window somewhat opaque.
- No drawers in room to put your clothes, nor hangers in the closets. (I mean hangers aren't THAT expensive are they??)
- The ressort is an all inclusive as far as drinks go, but in the room they only restock water bottles, they could do like most ressorts and restock a few beers or colas in the fridge everyday.
- Room sheets were clean (I hope) but had many old stains all over (looked like blood) and blankets had black marks that looked like they had been run over by a cart or motorcycle. That alone gives a very bad first impression.
- There was hot water in fact too hot (scalding) and the bidet only shot boiling water so rendering it useless and actually dangerous.
- Finally the floor in our room was FILTHY (it looked clean at first glance) but simply walking from the shower to the bed your feet would become blackened by the filth requiring rewashing them and stepping on towels to make it back to the bed without getting them dirty again (although the cleaning crew were friendly, they weren't very efficient)

- The poolside snackbar : Delays were incredibly long (I think it's a strategy to not run through too much food) but incredibly inefficient: Employee runs out of bread leaves for 10 minutes… comes back with bread, makes a few sandwiches, ohhh now runs out of cheese, leaves for 10 minutes, comes back makes a few sandwiches runs out of ham… I mean he could have restocked everything at once. Everyday you had to wait between 60 to 90 minutes to get 4 lousy sandwiches. This plus there only being ham / chicken or fish sandwiches make that part unsatisfactory. Double the number of cooking stations, add a few easy serve options: Pizzas, nachos, tacos, hotdogs… and get the efficiency up !!!

Also :
- Medical staff quite good / available.
- Room air conditioner worked fine.
- Bars were fine.
- Entertainment far exceeded my expectations : Loved the dance and gymnastics numbers and the guitar / violin trio were Las Vegas worthy ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
- Groundskeeping was 5 star !! - EXCELLENT entertainment that exceeded my expectations. - Great beach location - Great à la carte restaurants crêpes
The weak points
- Rooms : Cleanliness / toilets / safes / no hangers etc - Poolside snack bar : inefficient / lacks variety - Buffet lacks variety
Certified

Low Quality - bad rooms

, Calgary, AB
2023-02-20
We had low expectations going to a 3 star resort in Cuba, but you really can't prepare yourself for living in a place that is so broken and dirty. Likely the worst resort in the area- we saw all the others from the tour bus. Overall disappointing and unpleasant experience.

ROOM: We paid extra to stay in a wooden bungalow. The website shows that they are near the beach. Ours was at the front of the lobby parking lot, near the traffic circle for the bus. We felt ripped off because all the other units are beachfront. Front desk was not wiling to change our room because they said the hotel is too full, come back later, etc. We did not care to waste vacation time trying to argue.

Headboards bolted to the wall and very broken. Fridge in the room had a 220V plug so was not able to plug into the 110V outlet on the wall. Phone did not work. Missing light bulbs. NO safe in the room. No toilet seat, towel bar, toilet paper holder, etc. Shower looks like a prison stall and there was no hot water all week. The bungalows are split into 2 units. The wall between is paper thin and we could hear our neighbours speaking, word for word. Air conditioning was good and worked properly. Bedding not changed during our stay. Bedding and towels were all stained and ripped- we did not feel very clean. Plastic and garbage on the ground outside our room.

AMENITIES: No beach towels available during our 7 day stay (I asked every day.) Front desk was not able to break American cash into smaller bills for tipping. Wifi is limited to 3 hours of use per room, per stay. You login to the wifi system and it is timed. Wifi only in lobby area. The red fabric seats in the lobby are dirty and worn.

FOOD: The “a la carte” restaurants were a smaller, worse buffet. We left the restaurant and went back to the main buffet. Plates were usually dirty. The food in Cuba is likely similar at all resorts. The snack bar only serves plain fries and sandwiches, which are a small bun with one piece of bologna in it. No ketchup or condiments. Will you enjoy the food? No. Will you be hungry? No.

DRINK: The maid gives a 1.5 L bottle of water, but not daily and it's not enough water for 2 adults. The slush machines are broken, so they just serve juice in them. Drinking water available in the lobby bar. Bring your own reusable cup. They serve everything in small disposable cups with plastic straws. Only powdered milk available for coffee at the buffet. Lobby bar has an espresso machine and real milk, but a longer wait.

ENTERTAINMENT: Bike and scooter rentals are not available here. You need to go next door at the Daiquiri resort to use. Scooters must be booked in advance. Entertainment goes until 11pm, so be prepared to hear the music thumping until that time. Hop on hop off bus is $5 to go to places like playa Pilar or the market. The non-motorized water sports are available for 1 hour at a time and only when it's not too windy.

BEACH: The ocean area in front of the hotel is all flats, meaning the water is about 1-2 feet deep for a very far ways out. Not suitable for swimming but okay for snorkelling. There are lots of of kite-boarders on the beach (10 -15 at a time), so the fish are usually scared away. Definitely no fly fishing, which is what we came to do. Used to be a fly fishing destination but the bonefish are scared off of the area. White sand and clear water. They comb the seaweed off the beach every day. Clean and lots of shaded huts. The fresh water showers for rinsing off sand are very broken. Most people rinse off in the pool, so the pool bottom is a bit sandy.

We found it difficult to spend our money on this trip because we did not have the opportunity to do so. We were not offered any upgrades like massages, hair braiding, kiteboarding lessons, lobster dinners, rentals, etc.

We spoke to others who changed rooms with no running water. Others told us this was the worst resort they have been to in their 8 trips to Cuba. Be prepared to make the best of your trip with the very basics and no help. Do not recommend. We will not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, water, AC
The weak points
No safe, toilet seat, lightbulbs, fridge, towel rack, toilet paper holder, etc. Sheets and towels were ripped and stained. No beach towels available. Buffet plates were dirty.
Certified

One week stay but 3 rooms!

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2023-01-19
We were disappointed in this resort. We had rented a wooden bungalow because it looked like a Canadian cabin. We ultimately stayed in 3 buildings. 1st building- no bath towels, 1 beach towel for the two of us, no remote for the TV. bugs. 2nd building- someone had filled the cracks between the boards with toilet paper, drawers of the dressers were broken and not usable knobs on the closet came off when used, bugs. Many bug bites from 1st and 2nd bungalows. 3rd building - 3rd time was a charm. Moved to a white oceanview. Everything worked and was acceptable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff was more than accommodating in response to our concerns. The manager of the site came to our 2nd bungalow and agreed the situation was unacceptable. He was a new manager with about 2 weeks on the job. The staff were positive.
The weak points
See above re the rooms. Wifi only in lobby and buffet restaurant.
Certified

Total Nightmare

, Beloeil, QC
2023-01-02
I dont even konw where to start... so im just gonna put it down point by point.

POSITIVE
1. Playa Pillar (20min bus drive 5$ per person 6years and up and 5$ per long chair to rent) it was the most beautifull beach I've seen so far. Btw you can hop on the bus from any hotel in Cayo Guillermo so....

2. The other tourists with whom we all shared our bad experience there, that was really conforting to share our misfortune somehow

3. The beach, really nice and shallow wich was perfect for my 2 kids (6 and 8 year old) their 1st trip ever

4. Some of the staff, majority wouldnt even smile at you

NEGATIVE
1. We paid 4800$ CAN for 3
2. Our wooden bungalow ROOM #301 had
-ant problem, no remote to control
-the AC so I had to use the breaker to turn it ON/OFF and it was stuck at 25 'C with the fan directly on the bed
-smelled like urine at 3 different areas(weirdly not in the bathroom)
-pillow smelled like roadkill..no joke, i complain and the lady hid it in the closet, i put it on the balcony and she put it back in our bed and my kids slept on that bed WITH IT
-roof leaked in 3 different spots when it rained, one of wich was over our bed
-moldy bed skirt ALOT OF it on 1 of them
-toillet flushed once or twice a day
-5hours before we got our room and once we did my 8year old son went to do #2 right aways and no TP to wipe him, had to run to the loby and no TP available, they gave me napkins to do the job
-all we got in our mini fridge was water, beercan or soda was only available at the loby or buffet
-sometimes no hot water in the shower
-shower was filthy
-showerhead was disfunctional so i had to hose my kids 1 at the time,turn off the water, soap them up, rinse them get em out quick
-shower faucet was also freaking electrified or the house was badly grounded because each time i turned the water on and touched the handle for the temperature and water pressure I got small electric shocks, it took me 2-3 days to realise what it was. At 1st I thought it was my fingers were tingly because of the trip or something
-the buffet had napkins the last 2-3 days of my 7 days trip
-the utensils at the buffet were often not cleaned at all, not badly washed, i MEAN still dirty from the customers and the table was all setup for the next customers....
-the guy putting down the forks would grab them by the pointy ends as he sets up the table....
-the dishes were often still dirty
-the gym, omg its a major dangerous place so dont use it
-once i cam back home and looked at the pictures on the website i realized that they date back to the early age of the resort, a bit like a dating app where the person uses pics from 10-15 years ago...i feel cheated and lied to
-the resort has MAJOR maintenace issues wich i will not list here, this review is long enough. I WILL NEVER GO BACK THERE, even for FREE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

My stay

, St. Catharines, ON
2022-12-16
The hotel staff were nice and helpful and tried to please with what they had to work with.If not for them stay would have been horrible. Food at buffet good but 14day stay 1hot cup of coffee no napkins,soup bowls,utensils,coffee cups basic utensils.Bar short ingredients for drinks no Cuban mint for mojitos go figure?Guests had money and phone stolen from room told front desk safe not working need battery no help.2 room's l know about we're robbed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

WIFI

, Ottawa, ON
2022-09-14
WIFI is not working that was so bad. Other things is very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Awful birthday trip

, Hamilton, ON
2022-08-27
We went here for my birthday and was very disappointed. In our room there was fleas all over the bathroom floor and in the bed. The back door of our room (on the first floor) had no long on it. Was told by the director general Sabine that they would send someone and never did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and the wait staff
Sanitary measures
There were none and the hand sanitizer dispenser was always empty
Certified

Amazing Hotel!

, Newcastle, ON
2022-08-19
We had a big group of all ages visit this hotel. The rooms are really nice and clean. The food is good and it was well organized. The manager was very friendly and accommodating whenever we had a request. I would definitely return for another visit in the future! Thank you for a wonderful vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean, well organized, friendly staff

Beautiful as ever and now even better!

, Montréal, QC
2022-07-18
I have traveled this destination very often, Cayo Guillermo has one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The Starfish Cayo Guillermo was a brand change a few years back, this hotel has been around for many years and had a certain vintage feel to it, Starfish did an awesome job with renovations. The staff is so experienced and always so generous especially Sabine, the General Manager who is always around to make sure everyone has the best vacation ever! Sabine speaks French, English, Spanish and is so nice to talk to, thank you so much for making our trip the best and making us fall in love once again with this destination! Please do not forget to stop by Pilar beach just a few minutes away, an absolute MUST-SEE! Thank you Starfish Cayo Guillermo, we cannot wait to be back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach Kitesurf Easy access to beach and all services
The weak points
40 minutes to Cayo Coco airport

Great spot in Cuba!

, Hamilton, ON
2022-07-06
I have stayed at this Hotel numerous times and have enjoyed it every time. The rooms are great and the resort is nice and quite! (They do have a disco for those who love the night life!) It's a great location to stay if you love fishing, as well! Hotel is located near the famous Hemingway bridge, which is great for fishing. Thank you to Sabine Adolphy and Mercy Rodriguez for all their great hospitality and for making our stay special! I will definitely be returning soon to see all my Amazing friends and family in Cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Home away from Home ❤️

, Hamilton, ON
2022-07-06
I absolutely love this place! It's definitely my Home away from Home every time I go to Cuba. The Staff are amazing and make you feel like Family ❤️ This resort is romantic, beautiful and quite, which makes for a memorable trip! Special Thank you so much to Sabine Adolphy (General Manager)) and to Mercy Rodriguez (Sales Manager) for going above and beyond with your amazing kindness and hospitality. As well, big hugs and kisses to the best Kitchen staff Leivism Napoles and Leticia! I will definitely be returning soon!!! Thank you to Everyone for everything! ❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful spot! Great Beaches! Amazing People!

Beautiful Beaches and Great Service!

, Woolwich, ON
2022-07-03
I went to starfish solo in April and loved it there. My hotel was nice, the food was decent and the beach was spectacular! Sabine (the hotel manager) made sure I had a comfortable stay and a nice room and was very helpful anytime I needed assistance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Made memories to spare!!!

, Mississauga, ON
2022-06-26
We honestly had a wonderful time. The costumer service was stellar, we had no issues whatsoever with the staff because everyone was very kind and eager to help us. Regarding the rooms, there could be some improvements overall but nothing too concerning, the price-quality balance is quite spot on. We loved all the watersports and the beaches of course are heaven on earth. Lastly the food was okay, not that much variety but given what we expected we cannot complain, especially the gala dinner we had on Wednesday which was quite nice. We a wonderful vacation and would return in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Costumer service Cleanliness Beaches
The weak points
Room accommodations

The best carribean experiences

, Mississauga, ON
2022-06-23
We returned to our happy place again after covid. It was even better than we remembered! The food gets 4 stars because the buffet totally renovated its installation and it felt very luxurious with the airconditioning. The snack bar had new renovations as well..roasted chicken every afternoon, it was honestly delicious... The service staff are always joyful and willing to give a helping hand wherever needed!  Customer service GETS A HUGE THUMBS UP  for all they did for us. I cannot remember all the names but a huge thank you and loads of appreciation, even more considering how things have worsened complicated after the pandemic. I'm already planning a return trip for next year. And really hope to see you all again. I wish you all the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Costumer service and staff
The weak points
Food is good quality but there is limited variety

Excellent vacations

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2022-06-10
I went to Cayo Guillermo 2019 and fell in love with this island.
During last three years I've been dreaming to return there and finally my dream become reality. I choose this hotel because it's small and the bungalows are on the beach. I have all my expectations fulfilled! My room was facing the ocean, it was sparkling clean with a good air conditioner, always hot water.
The people… I love you, guys, you are doing your best and more for us so we could have a really good time. Thank you!
All the stuff is amazing, I'm not going to write your names because I'm afraid I'll forget someone but I can't forget your smiles and the wonderful work you are doing. The food is good, so just ignore the people who complain.
The beach is simply amazing and the ocean too.
Wonderful vacation, be back as soon as I can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
People, location, very clean, good food
The weak points
None

Our Home away from Home ❤️

, Hamilton, ON
2022-05-26
All the Staff and Workers at this Resort are Amazing! I am so Happy it is finally reopen. This is is best place in Cuba!!! We stay here Every time we go! We got to meet some new People this trip who have gone above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. Thank you so much especially to Mercy and Sabine for all Their extra kindness!) And Thank you so much for the Special Dinner we had during Our stay. It was so Romantic and Special and honestly the Beat Dinner We have Ever had in Cuba! ❤️ We will be back soon to see all Our Friends and Family! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Best location in Cuba! Small intimate Resort with some of the best People in Cuba! Always feel like Family when we stay here! We look forward to going a couple times a year to this little piece of Heaven on Earth ❤️

Wether you are a kiteboarder or a beach bum!

, Beaconsfield, QC
2022-05-05
In mid April we spent two weeks with a group of six and we all decided that the hotel is better than ever! It seems every time we return our high expectations are not just met but exceeded! The new dining area is a huge improvement bright and airy and we all decided that this was the best food we've ever had in Cuba.
The new management seems to be doing an awesome job as whenever we had any small issues they were taken care of right away.
We are Kiteboarder's and we go there for the awesome wind and shallow water but I was amazed this time to find out how many regular beach goers are back for their 10th time!
In my mind adding everything up, great location, good food, awesome service and the bonus of individual cabana style rooms makes it my favourite hotel in the world.
Five stars and a bargain to boot! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Best kiteboarding hotel anywhere (especially for the price!) fantastic beach,good food and fantastic service whats not to love?!
The weak points
Stay in the concrete rooms if possible any negative reviews I read is from folks in the wooden bungalows.

Memories for a lifetime

, Saint Catharines, ON
2022-04-14
We just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at Starfish Cayo Guillermo. I'm happy to say that we enjoyed warm, friendly, welcoming people. From the groundskeepers, maintenance crew, housekeeping, the animation team, food & beverage staff, guest relations to upper management, absolutely everyone made our stay very special. The resort has been closed for a few years and there are areas that have not been used and it shows, but by week two we could see that things were progressing quickly with getting things back in tip-top shape.
If you are a beach person, like we are and like to swim and snorkel you should be aware that this beach is partially groomed, but mostly very natural which means there are shells and vegetation both on the beach and in the water. I would recommend water-shoes. To swim you must walk quite far out to get to a depth that is suitable for swimming as the water is shallow for a long way out with many sandbars that appear above water at low tide. The other option is to walk a few minutes along the beach where the water gets deeper almost immediately. The shallow water makes it ideal for families with small children, but be aware there is a kiteboarding school and many kiteboarding guests who make use of the same area. We had a kite crash to the beach about 5 meters behind us as we walked on the beach one day and yet another day we had a kiteboarder so close to us in knee-deep water that he high-fived me as he sailed past. Kiteboarding requires wind and this location is always windy, sometimes light winds, sometimes very strong winds. The water is warm and crystal clear but sadly not much to see for snorkelers unless you walk to the pier at the next resort where there are some schools of fish. We saw a barracuda, tiny sergeant majors and between the furthest pier at a now closed resort and the next resort there were MANY jellyfish which were easy enough to avoid contact with. Alternately, if the weather conditions permit you can take a catamaran to the off-shore reef or island for $25 USD. When we were there (the first 2 weeks of April) there were very few guests using the beach so it was nice and quiet.
The pool, which we never used was very well maintained and crystal clear. This is where most of the action takes place with the animation team offering games, competitions and entertainment. The music is loud, and it is a very active spot.
The entertainment was not something we attended regularly, but when we did it was very good. The precision water performers were our favourite as well as the dancing.
The food was very good, and we especially enjoyed the outdoor buffets. One at the beach bar, one in a small grassy area and one around the pool. The buffet provided a wide selection of foods, and the ala carte meals were exceptional.
Currency / shopping. This is very confusing, and we were told different things by different people. There are three currencies. The Cuban peso, the American dollar and the Canadian dollar. The stores at the resort price in USD and you can also use a Visa credit card. Bring small bills for tipping or tip your favourite staff (if they serve you repeatedly) a large single tip at the beginning or end of your stay.
Our trip was not totally without incident. We arrived back at our room one evening, opened our door with a card key and as we entered my boyfriend saw through the patio door curtains a shadow of person. At first, he thought the person was in the room, but although the door was slightly ajar it may have been that they never actually entered the room. Nothing was taken, in fact nothing was even touched. We do not blame the resort for this occurrence as it can happen (and does happen) anywhere in the world. Also, we do not think it reflects badly on them, in fact quite the opposite.
We reported this incident to Lolita in Guest Relations and she was shocked and appalled. She took the matter very seriously and immediately took appropriate action to launch an investigation. We were somewhat disarmed by the matter and because we were not comfortable staying in the same room, Lolita very quickly arranged for us to be moved to a different room for which we were very grateful. Thank you also to Sabine, the Director General for her concern and attention to the matter. She and Lolita continually checked on us and reassured us that matters of this nature are taken very seriously and that the police were also involved. The entire matter was solved quickly, and the resort is implementing new protocol to prevent similar occurrences. We were very impressed with Lolita and Sabine.
Other people that impressed us were a few of our favourites including a few we know by name and a few we don't since some of the staff do not wear name tags. Our daily servers in the buffet Yanely, Idalia, and Yaumar. A lady who was a server and often welcomed at the door. Our ala carte server. A man from the front desk who helped us change rooms and drove us to Aroma one night (I think his name starts with a Y). The gentleman who made the hats and grasshoppers. A sweet elderly gentleman who worked in the garden and cut me a hibiscus to wear in my hair. Another gardener who always greeted us warmly and offered us coconuts. Bartender Elvis. And July who we taught to play our favourite dice game.
Thank you everyone at Starfish Cayo Guillermo for helping us make wonderful memories that will stay with us for a lifetime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
the people the accommodation cleanliness
The weak points
shallow water kiteboard traffic wind

Starfish Cayo Guillermo

, Mississauga, ON
2022-04-08
It was my Birthday and upon arrival I feel like everyone was just waiting for me . Beautiful director of the hotel mrs. Sabina arrange all with such professionalism . First of all and most important is apartment was clean and accurately arranged, not ever during my stay I notice any insects. Pleasant staff , great job of cleaners and entertainers. Very creative schedule of simple thing like lunch around the pool or lunch BBQ outdoor .
I'm glad of time spent there and will be back some day [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Internet was complimentary and very fast
The weak points
AC at night is not best idea after hot day , so it's a low mode or fan running is good enough
Sanitary measures
Very clean everywhere , staff wearing mask all the time , guests is optional . Wall sanitation station very frequently installed and available to use at any time
Certified

Good

, Cookstown, ON
2022-03-26
The staff are fantastic. Entertainers are fun to be with. Ocean is so beautiful. Rooms are private and well cared for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff are the best Ocean is beautiful. We are use to visiting villages but there are no people living on the island.
The weak points
Take a converter We were told we did not need it but they did not have one for CPAP machine
Certified

Best beach!!

, Greenwood, NS
2022-03-21
We have done a couple Cuba trips this winter since not being able to travel for a couple of years. We visited in January and the beach by far was just the best. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were always looked after.

The new GM, Sabine, was always working and mingling with guests and you can she truly considered all feedback. She also advised us they are working with NRG2GO in Canada and will have pro Zumba and yoga instructors attending the resort to teach for the guests. Not many resorts offer this!!

The buffet had everything anyone could want. Constant Reno's happening and this resort is only going to get better! Entertainment staff was top notch. Always entertaining and you could participate in many things or none!

We will return soon!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beach

Best Resort I have been to

, Hamilton, ON
2020-03-02
I have been to Cuba 6 times and always had a wonderful time but this resort, OMG. The vibe here is FANTASTIC, The people, The Staff. Everything was on point. The staff are always willing to help you no matter what. Any issues were dealt with right away. The Staff are very attentive. Making sure you are happy and no issues.
I loved the resort because of the people. It made my trip to be Amazing, more than any others, and I have been to a few, all ranging in stars.
The food was good, its not the ritz but its food, don't forget where you are. They had some wonderful dinners. The al a cartes were wonderful.
The Entertainment was amazing. Always something going on.
Horseback riding right on the resort, go to the towel hut to arrange it..LOVED this.
Made a birthday cake for me and sang to me, so sweet.
The grounds were gorgeous, always well kept. The gardeners were always hard at work.
The security were always there to keep you safe but also to laugh with.
The maids were wonderful. Keeping the rooms very clean, as well as the property.

I can not say enough about this resort.
The atmosphere at this resort is Fantastic.
All the Staff are wonderful.
The bar staff, The gardners, maids, security, management..so on.
They all take pride in there jobs.

The beach was well kept. Gorgeous
The pools was always clean.

Can the resort use an update, of course. With the salt air, it will do damage but I think overall, this resort is in pretty great shape.
Loved the size of the resort as well, it was prefect.

I took quite a bit of care packages for ALL the staff, as the maids get from every room, day in and day out, so share the wealth and they are oh so Thankful.
They need toiletries, toys for children, candies as these items are very expensive for them. They are appreciative for any.

I can not wait to go back.
I loved this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff make this resort so wonderful. Had a fantastic time getting to know a lot of the staff. Always have a smile, and always so helpful.
The weak points
Wifi only in Lobby and spotty at that, but not there to be on internet, so didn't bother me

BEST TRIP EVER!!

, Portage La Prairie, MB
2020-02-24
Met a food group of people and from there we branches out and made more amazing relationships with other older couples and many amazing staff members. The GM of the resort (Caesar) interacted daily with my group of friends and myself and made sure we were satisfied at all times! We requested a foam party, the GM made a few calls, got us a foam party the next day! Cooking staff were all amazing. All needs were met when needed and overall great experience! If you wanted to go to ‘clubs' / ‘discos' the staff walked you there and back every night for safety or organized buses for only 2 pesos, there and back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- amazing room cleaners -amazing maintenance staff handing out coconuts/palm tree art/etc. -food staff amazing -entertainment was always different every night and great! - GM was amazing and all staff very interactive with all guests
The weak points
-only get wifi in the lobby
Certified

The perfect getaway!

, Dartmouth, NS
2020-02-15
We were 2 tired souls desperately looking for a relaxing getaway, and that's exactly what this vacation was...wonderfully relaxing.
We had booked the bungalow (an upgrade). Once checked in, we were a bit disappointed by the size of the 2 beds in the room. We ended up having to sleep separately..although we could have pushed the two beds together, we were too tired to care. We also struggled to sleep because we didn't realize at the time of booking that the bungalows have two rooms. The wall separating each room might as well not even be there, it sounded like the people next door were in the bed with us. Luckily we had ear plugs and soon fell asleep.
The resort was full but they managed to accommodate our request to move to a concrete room and was very happy with this room. Clean, very comfortable beds and the shower was great with lots of pressure and hot water.

Now for the great parts of this resort. The beach had lots of loungers and very clean and seaweed is cleaned regularly. Everyone was very friendly and many of the staff spoke English. One person stood out. Alex (one of the managers) was there day and night, making sure everything was running smoothly and was exceptionally welcoming and extremely kind. He is, most definitely, a great asset to this resort.
Although the resort is a bit dated, there are many areas that are quite lovely. The pools are well maintained, and even though the resort was full to capacity, I never once had to search for a lounger. The grounds are very well kept, buildings looked freshly painted and looks like a little village in the bungalow section.
The food was, in all honesty, my biggest concern. For a 3 star resort, I was expecting the usual. Boy was I in for a treat! Not only did I find food I liked...but it was tasty!! Like really tasty. This was a highlight of the week. I actually didn't eat very often at the grill because I saved my appetite for the buffet!
We went to only 1 a la carte, the italian one. Without a doubt, if you follow their advice on what is good, you will have a great experience! The only down side was their seafood spaghetti...it tastes a lot different than you would expect.
We didn't take in a lot of entertainment since we are early risers, so bedtimes were super early...but the shows we did see were extremely good and worth watching.
One of the best excusions we chose was the spa package. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. A quick 25 minute double decker bus ride will take you to the Plaza Flamenco. Here you can relax and enjoy yourself...this was a huge treat...not to be missed when going to Cayo Coco island.
Cesar (another manager) let us know that there are plans for lots of work to be done as a Canadian company recently purchased this resort.
All in all I was pleasantly surprised by how accurate the other reviews are about this place. We are definitely going to come back...next time will be for more than just 7 days.
Thanks to all of the staff for making this getaway the most memorable one! Until next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, management
The weak points
Bungalows need a better wall separating both rooms. Didn't feel like an upgrade.
Certified
pages: 12345678

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024