Club Cayo Guillermo

Club Cayo Guillermo
3.453.453.453.453.45
3.45 based on 596 reviews
#16 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (399)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Best Resort I have been to

, Hamilton, ON
2020-03-02
I have been to Cuba 6 times and always had a wonderful time but this resort, OMG. The vibe here is FANTASTIC, The people, The Staff. Everything was on point. The staff are always willing to help you no matter what. Any issues were dealt with right away. The Staff are very attentive. Making sure you are happy and no issues.
I loved the resort because of the people. It made my trip to be Amazing, more than any others, and I have been to a few, all ranging in stars.
The food was good, its not the ritz but its food, don't forget where you are. They had some wonderful dinners. The al a cartes were wonderful.
The Entertainment was amazing. Always something going on.
Horseback riding right on the resort, go to the towel hut to arrange it..LOVED this.
Made a birthday cake for me and sang to me, so sweet.
The grounds were gorgeous, always well kept. The gardeners were always hard at work.
The security were always there to keep you safe but also to laugh with.
The maids were wonderful. Keeping the rooms very clean, as well as the property.

I can not say enough about this resort.
The atmosphere at this resort is Fantastic.
All the Staff are wonderful.
The bar staff, The gardners, maids, security, management..so on.
They all take pride in there jobs.

The beach was well kept. Gorgeous
The pools was always clean.

Can the resort use an update, of course. With the salt air, it will do damage but I think overall, this resort is in pretty great shape.
Loved the size of the resort as well, it was prefect.

I took quite a bit of care packages for ALL the staff, as the maids get from every room, day in and day out, so share the wealth and they are oh so Thankful.
They need toiletries, toys for children, candies as these items are very expensive for them. They are appreciative for any.

I can not wait to go back.
I loved this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff make this resort so wonderful. Had a fantastic time getting to know a lot of the staff. Always have a smile, and always so helpful.
The weak points
Wifi only in Lobby and spotty at that, but not there to be on internet, so didn't bother me

BEST TRIP EVER!!

, Portage La Prairie, MB
2020-02-24
Met a food group of people and from there we branches out and made more amazing relationships with other older couples and many amazing staff members. The GM of the resort (Caesar) interacted daily with my group of friends and myself and made sure we were satisfied at all times! We requested a foam party, the GM made a few calls, got us a foam party the next day! Cooking staff were all amazing. All needs were met when needed and overall great experience! If you wanted to go to ‘clubs' / ‘discos' the staff walked you there and back every night for safety or organized buses for only 2 pesos, there and back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- amazing room cleaners -amazing maintenance staff handing out coconuts/palm tree art/etc. -food staff amazing -entertainment was always different every night and great! - GM was amazing and all staff very interactive with all guests
The weak points
-only get wifi in the lobby
Certified

The perfect getaway!

, Dartmouth, NS
2020-02-15
We were 2 tired souls desperately looking for a relaxing getaway, and that's exactly what this vacation was...wonderfully relaxing.
We had booked the bungalow (an upgrade). Once checked in, we were a bit disappointed by the size of the 2 beds in the room. We ended up having to sleep separately..although we could have pushed the two beds together, we were too tired to care. We also struggled to sleep because we didn't realize at the time of booking that the bungalows have two rooms. The wall separating each room might as well not even be there, it sounded like the people next door were in the bed with us. Luckily we had ear plugs and soon fell asleep.
The resort was full but they managed to accommodate our request to move to a concrete room and was very happy with this room. Clean, very comfortable beds and the shower was great with lots of pressure and hot water.

Now for the great parts of this resort. The beach had lots of loungers and very clean and seaweed is cleaned regularly. Everyone was very friendly and many of the staff spoke English. One person stood out. Alex (one of the managers) was there day and night, making sure everything was running smoothly and was exceptionally welcoming and extremely kind. He is, most definitely, a great asset to this resort.
Although the resort is a bit dated, there are many areas that are quite lovely. The pools are well maintained, and even though the resort was full to capacity, I never once had to search for a lounger. The grounds are very well kept, buildings looked freshly painted and looks like a little village in the bungalow section.
The food was, in all honesty, my biggest concern. For a 3 star resort, I was expecting the usual. Boy was I in for a treat! Not only did I find food I liked...but it was tasty!! Like really tasty. This was a highlight of the week. I actually didn't eat very often at the grill because I saved my appetite for the buffet!
We went to only 1 a la carte, the italian one. Without a doubt, if you follow their advice on what is good, you will have a great experience! The only down side was their seafood spaghetti...it tastes a lot different than you would expect.
We didn't take in a lot of entertainment since we are early risers, so bedtimes were super early...but the shows we did see were extremely good and worth watching.
One of the best excusions we chose was the spa package. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. A quick 25 minute double decker bus ride will take you to the Plaza Flamenco. Here you can relax and enjoy yourself...this was a huge treat...not to be missed when going to Cayo Coco island.
Cesar (another manager) let us know that there are plans for lots of work to be done as a Canadian company recently purchased this resort.
All in all I was pleasantly surprised by how accurate the other reviews are about this place. We are definitely going to come back...next time will be for more than just 7 days.
Thanks to all of the staff for making this getaway the most memorable one! Until next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, management
The weak points
Bungalows need a better wall separating both rooms. Didn't feel like an upgrade.
Certified

CLUB CAYO GUILLERMO

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-08
Excellent Resort for All ages. Perfect lay out. Can see ocean from main lobby.
Food was good, lots of variety. Rooms spacious and we got connecting rooms making it perfect for the children [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is excellent Beach was breathtaking
The weak points
Little hiccups with safe in room but attentively fixed No 24 hour snacks
Certified

Best hotel ever

, Scarborough, ON
2020-01-21
Best place ever ! Love the hotel , the people so friendly !The beach awesome ! We had the best time ever in Cuba , because this hotel , everywhere I went to Cuba never had ‘this god time ! Delicious food, best entertainment day and night ! Now we booked again On February 2-16 February ! Love Cuba , and the club Cayo Guillermo with All in include ♥️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Club Cayo Guillermo

, Leduc, AB
2019-12-28
Overall good experience. This is an old resort and they were doing maintenance and renovations however I did enjoy it. It is under new management. There is a bus you can use to travel the small island for $5/day. The dolphinarium is a 10 minute walk. No screens on the windows so bugs can get in. Depending on the wind will depend on how good/bad the bugs are. It was very windy while I was there. It's one of the most popular places to kite surf because of that and the shallow beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good customer service, clean room, good cleaning staff, food was good, nice beach, massage available, horse ride on the beach, kite surfing
The weak points
When it started raining, water leaked in through the window. There are not enough bars/restaurants for the size of the resort. I had to wait to get into the buffet many times and some of the food ran out. The water was on/off for many hours one day.
Certified

Second Visit in a Year

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-23
We just returned from Club Cayo Guillermo. This was our second visit in a year as we were pleasantly surprised last time(see our review last November). The hotel has changed hands twice in the last year and is now owned by Blue Diamond. The General Manager and his team were talking to guests all week to make sure they were happy and was there anything they would like to see. The grounds were filled with Gardeners and crews working to get the hotel to where Blue Diamond want it to be. Food was great again this trip, fresh meat and fish cooked to order every lunch and dinner and eggs and crepes on offer every breakfast. The wait staff were awesome especially Yulia and Elvis. The Animation team were great. Organising games and shows, they were giving away 3 bottles of rum a day to winners of those "Crazy Games" as they call them. We won 2 ourselves....Thanks to George and Angie and the rest of the team. The shows were fun to watch and always high energy. We will head back next year!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ceasar(GM) and Alejandro always on the property with the guests. Wait staff were attentive and the animation team were fun.
The weak points
The quiet pool at the back needs love. Caesar is aware of it and the order is in for the supplies to get it cleaned up.
Certified

Towels

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-10
Firstly I would like to commend the bar and entertainment staff at the resort, awesome and friendly. As for the management and front desk staff, they need alot of customer service improvement. Myself and my 16 year old daughter and her friend were treated very unprofessional by guest services and management. Upon our check out were approached regarding 'missing' towels...yes towels!!! I allowed the manager to check our luggage for the towels which of course were not in our luggage as we didn't take the 3 towels. I was approached on several occasions regarding the towels to the point of being asked to leave the resort without assistance of transportation to the airport. At this point our flight was 7 hours away so leaving wasn't an option as I had kids with me. I refused to leave the resort so therefore she said security would remove me and my guests. Needless to say I was very upset and was in disbelief of the experience. My daughter approached the manager and 4 other key staff because she was accused of stealing the towels. Words were exchanged by staff in a yelling manner towards my daughter and myself. Very unprofessional especially over towels. I was asked to pay $61 USA for the towels and if I did not than the chambermaid was going to have to pay. I was not going to allow that to happen considering they work hard for wages for so much less. In the end I was charged $50 USA for the towels and I was rid of the harrassment from guest services and management. Please think twice before booking with this resort. I felt the situation could have been dealt with a better solution. I felt like a criminal and other staff were staring and pointing. All of this over TOWELS!!!!!! I will never recommend or go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Too many to list.
Certified

Simply amazing

, Saint-Leonard, QC
2019-06-15
We've been to this resort over 10 times and what makes it extra special is the staff. We consider them family! They go over and above to try to accommodate you. They are some of the happiest, humble and genuine people we've ever met. There is nothing that they won't do to try to help.

The food may not be what we North American's are use to, but I've never met anyone who starved while being there. Maybe we should lower our standards and realize that all they have, they offer, and it's done with heart.

There have been complaints about sheets and towels not being changed on a daily basis. A simple question. Do we change our sheets and wash our towels every day? If they don't supply fresh towels on a daily basis, there's a reason. We don't know what goes on behind the scenes and it's not out of laziness that it's not done. The staff (all of them) work long hours, some doing double shifts. Where is the compassion and understanding?

Complaints about bugs, frogs and so forth in rooms. What control do they have over that? Being on a tropical island comes with those critters. Do we not have bugs back home? They fog the grounds every morning and early evening, however there's only so much that they can do.

Complaints about the grounds. The grounds are manicured to perfection! I don't know where those people that complained about the grounds were staying, but it wasn't here. There are gardeners constantly pulling weeds, watering the plants and removing dead leaves, and so forth. Garbage around the grounds has never been witnessed by myself or my husband.

Public bathrooms? I recommend having some toilet paper in your fanny pack or purse. Although they are always maintained, you may have walked in at a time of day when the worker hasn't had the chance to replenish the paper. I've been to public bathrooms back home where the bathroom are not even fit for a dog to use. What excuse do we have for that?

The rooms are very clean and bright. We've never stayed at the wooden bungalows, so I can't comment on those. In regards to complaints about the phone not working in a room. How often would you need to use the phone? If it's for a wake-up call, then at that point if the phone is not working and it's mentioned to the front desk, I'm sure that they'd be more than willing to wake you up with a knock on the door.

I strongly suggest this resort to anyone and everyone. It's simply beautiful, relaxing and the staff are wonderful.
An A goes to Lolita (Public Relations) Pepe (front desk), Julia (waitress), Julio (gardner), Edwin (front desk manager) Ermos (bartender), Capitana (bartender) Tony (bartender) for their hard work and making us feel like we're part of their family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, location and amenities
The weak points
NONE

Great resort for the price!

, Clarks Harbour, NS
2019-06-10
We booked this resort as a cheap place to go to rest and relax. We're not picky people and went with no real expectations. We LOVED this resort! There is so much going for it and we would happily return.

What we loved:

There is plenty of shaded areas both by the pool (even private little cabanas) and at the beach which is long and never seems to be busy at all because it's so long and spread out.

The staff are super! We tipped and received phenomenal service. Our table was ready for us at every meal with our drinks of choice already waiting when we were ready to sit with our food.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept with flowering shrubs lining all the many walk ways (this is a very sprawling resort with "duplex" buildings with 2 rooms in most). Lots of places to stroll around and just walk off some of the food and drinks after dinner.

The beach was great. My husband doesn't swim but because the beach is a long sandbar it's not deep and is great for children and people who aren't comfortable in deep water or strong waves. Fish will happily eat out of your hand if you offer them a little bit of bread - even in knee deep water.

The pier with the covered area at the end is a perfect place to spend the day watching the fish and pelicans.

The buffet had fresh cooked to order eggs, crepes, etc. in the morning, fresh grilled fish and meats at lunch and dinner. Being Nova Scotians we loved the grilled fish and ate it every single day. There was also lovely fresh fruit, lots of simple fare of vegetables, rices, pickles, cheese, cold cuts and delicious breads. Cuban food appears to be quite simple with little seasoning so if you need lots of salt and pepper on your meals you might want to bring your own. Even with the short supply of many things in Cuba there was no shortage of food. We felt very grateful for every mouthful.

The grounds keepers were handy with a machete and a coconut fresh from the many trees on the grounds and would lop off the top so you could have a refreshing coconut water drink (we recommend hitting the bar for the addition of a little dash of coconut rum - it's to die for!!!)

The lobby bar (Hemingways) is excellent. The drinks here are the best as is the coffee. Nightly there is a musician or singer preforming there for more "gentle" folks.

What wasn't so great:

The rooms and buildings are a tad bit run down and could use a bit of sprucing up. Staff do try to make things attractive with fresh cut flowers in the public areas.

The music at the pool bar/entertainment area is loud and almost exclusively dance music with a lot of bass so if that's not your bag, then you may want to stay at the lobby bar area otherwise it's a great place to hang out and have some fun. We're not big fans of the dance music but it does stop by 10 pm or so at night so it doesn't interfere with a peaceful nights sleep.

Mosquitoes come out around 8 pm every night and they are fast little ninja mosquitoes not the big dumb ones like we have here. Take and use bug repellent so you can enjoy the evening hours too. Also, if you have a louvered vent area in the bathroom of your room, keep your bathroom door closed at night because a few mosquitoes may find their way in overnight. The resort is set along a wetland reserve area so keep this in mind.

We went to just veg and relax so we didn't partake of the entertainments much except at the lobby bar and one morning of sailing and snorkeling. If you are inclined to be more active, there are kayaks, paddle boats, snorkeling, paddle boards free of charge. Also pool parties and special outdoor bbq meals at lunchtime with Cuban performers.

While the buildings/rooms may not be 5 star, and if you can live with that, then you can have a very nice vacation at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Value for the money

, Riverton, MB
2019-03-18
We have been to Cuba several times but this was the first time at this resort. The staff was pleasant especially Ada our chamber maid.

Upon arrival we found our safe did not work, after mentioning it to Adolpho the problem was resolved very quickly.

We had upgraded to a bungalow which definitely was not worth it. Dresser was in disrepair with broken drawers and no fridge as advertised. Walls were so thin you could hear everything the neighbors said and could see outside through the outside walls.

Food was generally very good with plenty of variety for breakfast, lunch, and supper. Unfortunately serving personnel were quite slow getting drinks to table. Often after we were almost done eating.

Daily entertainment although very loud was very good. Particularly the musicians at the Hemingway bar in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adult entertainment at Hemingway bar. Excellent outdoor barbecue and entertainment.
The weak points
Broken coffee maker for 3 days, no tap beer for 3 days, and 2 broken grills for breakfast one day. Also often a shortage of dishes at buffet and dessert area.
Certified

Gran caribe

, Bowmanville, ON
2019-03-13
I t was our first visit to Cuba and we were advised that the food would not be the best and i have to agree
Having said that, the beautiful ocean, sand and pools were more of a priority for us.
The staff were all super friendly and accommodating. We loved , loved loved the event staff. They had us participating in fun games and dancing( we are usually just happy watching).
We would certainly stay at this resort again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great for the Money

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-25
My girlfriend and I spent 3 days here. It was all the time away we could get. I booked because of the price. Pleasantly surprised at what we got for our money. Fresh crepes and or eggs every morning and fresh meat and fish cooked to order at every lunch and dinner. 3 pools, 2 at the front with the animation team and 1 on its own nice and quiet. The resort is large and the beach is long and deep so if you are going during peak times you will still have no trouble with a crowded beach.We were in the wooden 2 storey section near the quiet pool. The pools could do with a bit of a clean and the coffee at the buffet in the morning was not great(coffee at the bar was awesome). We would absolutely go back here. Almost all the accomodations are bungalows so great if stairs are a challenge [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were awesome. Everyone so friendly. Beach is deep and long. Water is 3ft deep even 50 metres from shore so great for kids.
The weak points
Hurricane Irma washed much of the sand off the beach so it is a bit shelly. Coffee in the buffet not great. Pools really need to be cleaned, water was clear but too much sand and grout mold.
Certified

Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo

, Peterborough, ON
2018-09-24
Beautiful, bright, clean, open concept at main lobby. Arrived late and they wanted to forgo sign in to give me a chance to have something to eat as the restaurant was about to close. I thought that was nice. Sign in was a breeze and escort to my room was really quick. Nice wooden buildings with 4 rooms each. Could use a bit of sound proofing though. Nice concrete walkways and wooden boardwalks, very open with lots of foliage. Two prestine swimming pools, clean and bright. Very laid back atmosphere, no pressure what so ever. I'm 65 and this was my first visit to Cuba, I've been to Bermuda and Dominica Republic and out of the three, Cuba is at the top. I will really recommend going there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff = very outgoing, friendly and considerate about your needs. Service = Top notch, right there when you need them. Overall = They made me feel like family, not a tourist.
The weak points
Walkways = Could use a little more lighting. Food = Not too much of a choice, could have more variety. Rooms = No face clothes and bar fridge not stocked.
Certified

AMAZING

, Three Fathom Harbour, NS
2018-04-07
Had the most amazing time at this resort.The hotel is just above 3 star, be aware of this and do not have 5 star expectations. I had no expectations and my vacation was the best ever. I traveled alone and met the most amazing people from all over the world. The staff were amazing and helpful.They tried to accommodate me as I had some room issues, Food was great for the buffet. The beach was astounding!!! The dogs are to keep wild critters away, just sayin. I will be back! Thank you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and friendliness, Axel, Pablo, Norie, Mia, Maria, Elvis, Roberto, Danger! The Beach!!
The weak points
Wish I could've stayed longer

Good Vacation

, Fredericton, NB
2018-03-18
I enjoyed my week at Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo. The hotel was simple but had everything I need. I am not picky and used this vacation to simply relax in the sun. The trip was a success for that.

The rooms were clean and simple. The maid services were ok but not outstanding. All rooms were close to the beach.

The food was adequate. The buffet food was not great, but there were always fresh options prepared/grilled in front of you at your request. These were the best food options. I did not try and of the a la carte restaurants so cannot comment.

The beach was very nice and was never busy. There were lots of kite surfers in the water, but always beach chairs available. I didn't spend much time at the pool but it always seemed like there were chairs available there too.

The WIFI was not very good. It's only available in the lobby area and you need to purchase it an hour at a time. The cost is fine, but the internet is very slow, especially at times when many people are in the lobby using it. Make sure you log off the internet when you're done using it so you don't waste the time you've purchased. You can use it over several different sessions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Relaxation
The weak points
Nothing major stood out - it is Cuba so set your expectations accordingly.
Certified

Don't go here.

, Dundas, ON
2017-05-25
We were moved from main building, to adults only, without notice..
No running water.
Day 1. Shower rod fell, hit me on head and shower was broken. Reported. After sunscreen and deet, no shower.
Day 2. More sunscreen and deet. The fixed shower  Go to shower – no water on resort. Reported it. They said 30 mins it will be fixed. And to rep who sent bottled water which we did not need. Tried to tell him it was shower water and he said it would be back on, tomorrow. Then went off for two days. He wouldn't answer calls. Coffee? No coffee. They made some elsewhere (uhm) and brought it in. We were told, one coffee each.
Day 3. No water. Reported it. 1.5 hrs to be fixed. Going to kayak to marsh area – no water boats or peddle boats or anything available this week. Water came in dribbles. No enough to shower. Maids clean not bathrooms, there were no clean towels. Can't flush. Every bathroom smelt like and outhouse and no one could wash hands.
Day 4. No water. Reported it. About half a day to fix. Used garbage can to fill from pool, to flush. More sunscreen, deet. No water to shower. Asked for clean towels. Maid said no.Lobby said no. I left dirty towels on Lobby desk. Then Lobby gave me swim towels.
Day 5. No water.
Day 6. No water. Sunwing moved their people out. I was told the water would be on until I leave. Went to room… no water. Waited. No water. Reported to rep. Our phone no longer worked (sick of complaints), went to Lobby to report. Water came on about 5. Showered.
Day 7. Showered before we left. Less than 15 hrs with water on a 7 day trip

Cubanas loundly partied all night in closed Jacuzzi with bubbles. And they were met at bus with a glass of orange juice after telling us there was no orange juice.

The stories of a resort without water, are just too much to convey. Gross, smelly, unsanitary. 2000 allowed in here or I would tell you more about how GROSS it was!!
Management communicated nothing with us.
- no safety deposit work and the fridge is not cold [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Any trouble and management does not communicate with us.

My experiance

, Saint John, NB
2017-03-01
The hotel was below what I expected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach..Great staff and great food.
The weak points
Bathroom had leak that was never fixed.Hard time to get toilet paper each day.Bed linen was only changed once while I was there.
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Mississauga, ON
2017-02-16
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo is great resort.bin Cayo Guillremo. Best value for your money.
Great for families, couples, and solos.
Located on one of the best beach I have ever seen my years of travel. Calmest turquoise blue water, great shallow waters with little to no waves
Whitest sand a long strip that stitches about 20 km. In February middle of high season and still great.
Rooms are individual one level houses and bungalows thought the property.
Landscaping on the property is 5 star.
Despite what people say the food in this resort was excellent. And lots of variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Landscaping on resort grounds. One of the best beaches
Certified

No frills

, Gatineau, QC
2017-01-31
Sercotel Cayo Guillermo is a basic no frills establishment. The staff are friendly and courteous, the room was clean, but the food and its presentation was basic. There was cereal but no sign of milk... I asked for milk and a server poured some into my bowl, but when I brought the first spoonful to my mouth discovered that the milk was hot! There were plenty of pastries, and bread to run through the toaster, but nothing, other than margarine (if you were lucky) to put on your toast. Bring your own jam, marmalade or whatever. Bananas were like gold, as soon as some appeared they'd get snatched up by the arm load. Coffee in the buffet is bad, better to go for a cappuccino at the pool or lobby bar.

There are many many places to trip, stub toes, or worse. Cracked and broken tiles, sharp edges abound. There is a distinct lack of maintenance. Otherwise everything is clean and tidy.

The room was basic. Clean, but ill fitting doors, a TV that only sometimes worked, exposed 220v circuit breakers and missing wall plates. Be careful with the water! The hot water was dangerously hot!

This was my first time in Cuba and only my second time at an all-inclusive. When I was there I had friends at the neighbouring Iberostar Daiquiri hotel and since the bracelets were the same colour as at the Sercotel I visited several times. I also ate dinner with my friends a few times, and can tell you that the food and presentation in the buffet is miles better than at Sercotel. There is a difference in price between the two resorts and it's not hard to see why. Other than the food though I preferred the spread out spacious feel of Sercotel, and the fact that the kiting zone was part of Sercotel was a major bonus for me.

There is a prestige, adults only section of the resort, i don't think it's much more expensive, perhaps 10cuc/day. It's much tidier and the food looked better, there's also a hot tub which would have been nice after hours and hours of amazing kiteboarding. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The kiteboarding was PHENOMENAL!
Certified

Continues to Impress

, Carbon, AB
2016-03-18
5 times I have now been here, 4 times they have changed owners, but they still continue to impress me with the service. Starting with the Front desk all the way to the Yard Staff. I will be returning in the fall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort, Not Hotel style rooms, Easy to meet all staff and new people.
The weak points
Beach is narrow, When tide is out there is no sea
Certified

Lovely Resort

, Carbon, AB
2016-03-18
I loved this resort. Smaller resort, no line ups, clean place, friendly staff, great food. Being a smaller resort you get to meet the guests from other places. Have many new face book friends now. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Meeting other guests and staff. Clean friendly place. Should be rated higher than a 3 star.
The weak points
Quite often windy.
Certified

Little piece of heaven to relax and enjoy

, Oshawa, ON
2015-12-13
we just returned from a week at the Gran Caribe. I have been to Cuba 7 times but never to Cayo Coco and decided to give it a chance. Honestly other than the constant no see ums biting, this resort was a little piece of heaven for me to relax. From the staff to the other visitors it was such a grand experience. We had a couple of issues with the room but it was dealt with in a good manner. They even offered to upgrade us to an ocean front room for no extra cost. We refused this offer due to the lack of privacy in that location. Our room had an ocean view but complete privacy from our neighbours. Julia in the restaurant stole our hearts with her lovely personality and constant attention to our needs at meals. She even spoke to the front office regarding our couple of small issues and I believe it was her that got them to offer us an upgrade. The resort includes a safe, beach towels free of charge as well as a paddle boat daily for an hour and a 30 minute ride on the catamaran. It was so nice watching the kite surfers and relaxing on the private beach without tons of people around. The nightly entertainment was awesome. They had a Michael Jackson performance that was second to none. The bug spray can be bought at Dollarama is the best one so far. Even Muskall didn't work for some there. This is Cuba and if you go for the relaxation and don't expect a Hilton hotel, you will love it. Take any clothes you are getting rid of and give them to the workers. They appreciate it so much. I loved my time there. Met people from all over the world and made a couple of good friends as well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
peaceful, no loud drunks walking around fighting, great ocean shallow enough to walk a long way out, staff were amazing and dealt with issues quickly..
The weak points
the constant no see ums biting. This was my only complaint and it cant be helped I guess. You are surrounding by swamps and water. Goes with the terrirory.

Bad experience!!!

, North York, ON
2015-07-18
I was first time in Cuba , and was a very bad experience, because the food and service was execrable !!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No strong point
The weak points
All was weak
Certified

Very

, London, ON
2015-06-12
This hotel was "tired" to put it politely. The beach in front of the hotel had litter, old , broken, and discarded beach lounges etc. The grounds were weedy and unkept. The food was, even by Cuban standards, pretty sad.
I would not go to this resort ever again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff were nice.
The weak points
the resort!
Certified

Cayo coco

, Spruce Grove, AB
2015-04-03
Poor service front desk, fitness area poor hours and eqient needing repair, shower broken, poor lighting due to burnt out light bulbs, water had to be purchased on an all inclusive, no blender drinks for 6 days of 7 day stay. Beach beautiful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Front desk staff very poor service lack of information, made error and copied master key but refused to admit error, tried to up grade gave different times and person to see none of were correct, food tasteless, shower broken took 3 calls to get towels
Certified

Early March Vacation

, Wainwright, AB
2015-03-06
ALL the workers at this resort were AWESOME! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF
The weak points
Time spent getting threw customs on the way out was rediculous!
Certified

Stay at the resort

, Spriengfield M.B., MB
2015-01-20
We had to buy our water the whole week. We got no water delivered to our rooms. It said all inclusive and since water is the only thing I drink, didn't like that. Other than that it was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We never got water in our room the whole week we had to go and buy it. And it said very clear all inclusive. And I don't drink anything else then water. That I was very disappointed with. But other than that it was awesome
The weak points
Buying water
Certified

Below Expectations

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-16
Overall the Hotel staff were friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Patio door was locked shut, card lock failed, bed bugs present
Certified

Grand caribe club guillermo cayo coco

, Bishop S Cove, NL
2015-01-09
It's was ok not near what was expected the water went every day for hours at a time no cable TV for the whole week lost power/lights at buffet bigger the tip better the service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort with great beaches and the weather was great
The weak points
The front reception was ignorent. No cable in room for full week asked 6 times to have it fixed. Power went while out to buffet. Other restaurants never opened all week toilets clogged constantly every day the water went several hours at a time
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020