Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.613.613.613.613.61
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
#12 of 19 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
3.61 based on 1471 reviews
Traveller pictures (637)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Second time to Memories.

, Red Deer, AB
2020-01-18
We arrived late afternoon, we had a very fast check in. Our luggage was delivered promptly to our room. Room was clean and fresh smelling. We recognized several of the workers from our previous trip. They were always smiling and very friendly. Buffet food was great. Asian was good and the Mediterranean restaurant was good also. Evening entertainment was very good to watch. Beach was fantastic as usual. Only downfall it was very windy everyday, not the resorts fault. This is the first time we have been to the same resort twice and I'm sure we will return again , great resort , friendly staff. Awesome place. Thanks for a great vacation Memories Caribe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Good food. Great beach.
The weak points
Hot water is inconsistent. Food availability was inconsistent.
Certified

I might come back to Memories

, Wolseley, SK
2019-12-21
I traveled alone and found very few non-French speaking people. If I came back, I'd bring a friend. Best parts were:
•Rudi at the Churro Bar by the pool. Sweetest guy!
•The beach! You can walk for miles when tide is out (usually at 2-3 pm) and find conch shells and starfish.
• Beans Coffee and Ice Cream bar. Great Iced coffee.• Pilar excursion. •Rancho Palma restarant on Rum and sugarcane excursion, amazing BBQ pork. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
•Don't drink the coffee at the buffet, go to the coffee bar and get a latte machhiatto. •sand flea's •cold buffet food, get them to cook pasta, omelets and meat for you. If you are a picky eater, don't bother coming to Cuba. You won't like anything.
Certified

Clean, friendly, good-value, superb beach

, Beaconsfield, QC
2019-12-17
This is a quiet, relaxing resort with a wonderful beach. Be sure to check your TV, AC, and hot water BEFORE unpacking! The rooms are quite varied. The nicest ones are in buildings 24-21 on the lagoon side and if possible, on the second floor. The garden room are nice, but if they are at number 25...they are noisy due to their proximity to the pool, which has music blaring ALL the time.
The food is good and varied, but best to come early.
Bring bug spray, After-Bite and facial sunscreen. The store doesn't carry these items.
The room has a coffee-maker, but you have to ask for coffee at the front desk. You need to bring milk to your room's small refrigerator.I suggest you bring your own coffee, since the one provided, is awful.
There are lots of chairs and chairs on the beach. Diamond Club only gives you drink service at your chair. During peak season, you will need to "towel" your chair by 9am...even sooner at the pool.
There is no snorkelling nearby, unlike Memories Jibacoa that is adult only as well, and has a swim-up reef!
The manager is Ernesto or his assistant is Alba. Ask for them for any major problems.
There is a spa, and beauty salon on site as well as a very good modern-equipped, gym. There are also basketball, tennis, and paddle ball courts.
If you leave Montreal at 7am, you only be in your room by 1pm due to long waits at the airport upon arrival.
Be aware that new regulations concerning Cuban money, mean that you can no longer change back your Cuban currency, once you have passed security. Keep this in mind when buying Cuban money at the hotel.
Best buys are Cuban rum, and excellent honey.
It is cheaper to book your excursions in Canadian money online or on the plane going, than in Cuban currency once in Cuba. The exchange rate is banked to the American dollar at 68 Cuban to 100 Cad.
There is an affordable hop-on tour bus for $5 CU to other hotels and Pilar beach.
You need to reserve your a la carte restos as soon as possible upon arrival. The Mediterranean is very good.
Bring a portable coffee mug and go to the "Bites" bar in the morning for a good strong coffee. The stuff in the dining room (only in the morning) is awful!
Be aware that soon rooms in the newer section, have no bathroom door!!! If you are travelling with a partner, this might be a concern. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
great disparity in types of rooms...some with no bathroom door
Certified

Memories Caribe

, Peterborough, ON
2019-11-30
My second visit to Memories Caribe. Smaller resort with 328 rooms. Adults only. 16 It's a bit of a walk from the lobby to the beach, but not far enough that you need golf carts or shuttles to get around. There are none of these at Memories Caribe. There is a 6 seat van-type vehicle that will take you and your luggage to your room if you so desire. We went Diamond Club which has a few perks. Sit down breakfast every morning in the Mediterranean Restaurant. Nice touch. Wait service on the beach in a section reserved for Diamond Club. Two beers and two soda pops in your mini fridge everyday. The Superior Deluxe Junior Suites have no door on the bathroom. Bring a shower curtain and Velcro strips. Problem solved. Smokers bring your own ashtray. Store on site sells snacks, cigars, alcohol and items you may have forgotten to pack. No need for voltage converter. Several English channels on the TV. Brings loads of bug spray. I've been there in July and November, no difference. The no seeums are everywhere. I started taking Benadryl a week before I arrived and everyday I was there. I got bites, but no ugly welts or itching. The food is hit and miss. No fault of the resort. The bread and buns are awesome. Fries at beach and snack bar are delicious. They have ketchup. No relish or mustard. Bring peanut butter. The beach is breathtaking. Wifi in lobby and around piano bar. One hour for one peso. Log off when finished, or the hour runs out. Exchange your money at the lobby. Bring an insulated mug for drinks. Get a coffee in your mug from the snack bar first thing in the morning. Try the mango ice cream from Beans Cafe. Delicious. The majority of staff work 12 hour days, 6 days a week and make $40 a month. Tip them. I gave a gardener some zip ties. He was so grateful. I gave a fidget spinner to the man at the beach who set up my loungers for me. He almost cried with appreciation. Another gardener loved the fish hooks I gave him. Things we take for granted are not available for most Cubans. You won't find incredible food or high end booze here, but you won't starve and the rum and vodka are fine. Give it a try. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Memories created

, Seeleys Bay, ON
2019-11-13
Wasnt impressed by staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is fantastic Quality of food is pretty good for Cuba Relaxing couples resort
The weak points
Staff need to be more friendly and smile more often Seafood variety is poor
Certified

Fabulous Week Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-26
We just got back and we are already planning our next trip to this resort. We upgraded to Diamond Club after the first day as we wanted a room closer to the beach and the resort was more then accommodating for us. Everyone was so friendly and the staff are always available to meet your needs. Very clean room and the A/C was great especially after a long wonderful day at the sugar sand beach. We are so pleased we picked this one! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, easily traversed, beautiful beach and the ocean was a dream come true.
The weak points
10 block rooms are very dated and a little too far away from the beach. We moved to 23 block on the upgrade. Bathroom doors would be appreciated.
Certified

Memories Caribe September 2019

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-23
Good weather and picture perfect beach!!
It was a very good vacation :-). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach for relaxing
The weak points
Food and service
Certified

Great value

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-09
This was my 2nd stay at this resort, the first since they've made it adults only. The rooms look much improved, the pool and beach are still in amazing shape and the grounds are well taken care of.

Food is decent (but not 5 star), expected for Cuba. Great resort for the value conscious or those just looking for some of the best beaches out there with no expectation other than a fun time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lobby Bar - Jacel and Daenaris are amazing! Staff are always helpful! Diamond Club upgrade was worth it!
The weak points
Rainy season = Bugs. Bring repellant or antihistamines and cream if you are attacked.
Certified

Amazing Beach

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-06-18
My husband and I were at this hotel second week of June. Our second time. Nothing much changed since we were there last Oct./18.
Food...They really need more variety at the buffet. They do seem to recycle there food a lot. Mediterrean was just so so, Asian was good. Snack bar serves burgers, hot dogs, and fries. The burgers were terrible, raw. Pizza bar at the beach is delicious
Drinks were good. I had a chocolate tequilla one night and they were out of it the rest of the week.
Room was nice. We had diamond club superior deluxe. And there are no doors on the bathroom, so if you go with someone, and want privacy, the other person will have to go out on the balcony or leave the room. The chairs on the balcony are very uncomfortable. Did not even sit on the balcony.
The beach here is the jewel. It is a beautiful beach. We were on the diamond club side so lots of shade and they even added more palapias since last time we were there. We did have waiter service. It was a young man, cant remember his name. He was great and very nice and polite.
If you want peace, quiet and tranquility, this is the place for you. Small intimate resort. Lots of repeat customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Our vacation

, Scarborough, ON
2019-05-22
The hotel did not explain many things that we had to find out on our own which made some aspects of the trip difficult. Was clean, staff was friendly and it was good overall.

No bathroom door.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, clean, room
The weak points
Food, hours of operation
Certified

Winter Vacation

, Laval, QC
2019-04-07
Staff very friendly. Most spoke adequately in English. Would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy to navigate.
The weak points
Mosquitos, sand fleas and no-see-ums in abundance. Lots of stagnant water, never noticed spraying/fumigation.
Certified

I lovvvvvvveeeeeeeeee Pasta!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-26
Blown away by how nice the room was for the price we paid. Kept cleaned every day. Impressed by how great the entertainment was. Thought the entertainers were also equally entertaining. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1. Great entertainment every night 2. Entertainers were fantastic, very friendly and loved to ensure you were happy (thanks Ricardo and Johnnie) 3. Room quality is very high!
The weak points
1. Food (other than the pasta - my fav!) 2. Excursions are priced to Canadian market (not cheap) 3. Cave party was cancelled (we paid and no bus ever came)
Certified

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

, Blackfalds, AB
2019-02-22
Had a wonderful time here, there was 6 of us that travelled from Canada. Very clean, quiet resort with some amazing people that work there. We all had a very relaxing and wonderful time. From a very fast check-in to a fast, easy check-out, could not ask for better service.
Rooms were larger with deck/balcony and very clean. Lots of variety to choose from the buffet. Because it located by a lagoon lots of bugs, so bring bug spray. Must recommend to take a taxi to Lenny's, for lobster, shrimp and fish. Excellent meal for 15 pesos!!! Just keep in mind any tours are on the main land so are a ways away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service was excellent, the place was so clean and well taken care of. The beach and water the best.
The weak points
More chairs around pool and at beach without tipping someone to find you one that they put away. Another bathroom closer to beach bar would be good.
Certified

Beautiful resort with professional hospitality

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-08
We went for 2 weeks. Gorgeous clean white sand beach with plenty of palapas and lounge chairs. Fun and friendly animators run games and give dance lessons on the beach. Volleyball was fun. We loved the great swimming and long walks. And the fun pizza place and sandwich snack bar and great beer on the beach. The grounds are also very beautiful and cared for, lots of flowers and super clean.
What really impressed us and made our 2 weeks relaxing and fun was the great hospitality. If you have a problem go to Public Relation and they will fix it. Plenty of drinking water in our room. Food in the Buffet was good with lots of choices, including very fresh calamari when we were there. A la cartes are fun for a change but not over the top for eats. Excellent coffee in the Piano Bar and delicious chiros at pool side.
Lots of excursions and beach toys too but we were content to hang out at the resort and 2 weeks was not too long. Just right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The management and the workers really want you to have a great holiday.
The weak points
we had a few problems, such as no hot water in our room but we went to Public Relations and they gave us a new room right away. I would call this a strong point but you do have to ask for it.
Certified

Very satisfied

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-05
Best hotel I have been in yet in cayo coco..very clean. Beach amazing. Staff willing to help out with smiles always. Excellent service.
I even left my wallet at the sports bar after an excursion and it was returned to me with nothing missing. Thank you Michael for that... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Very clean. Omelette and pizza on the beach yummy but pizza ran out most days as some people took multiple at a time
The weak points
No clean beach towel for the entire week.food variety poor...same food every meal.only 3 al a Carte and they were all fully booked so didn't get to utilize
Certified

Memories Carie Beach Resort-Cayo Coco-Cuba

, Brampton, ON
2019-02-04
When we booked the trip to Memories Caribe, we selected ‘superior accommodation'. When we arrived, we were given a ‘superior' room in block 17 (which we later found out that it was in fact ‘standard' which meant that the room was not renovated). Awful beds, noisy air conditioning and armies of mosquitos, flies and other insects that bit us mercilessly (even now, three weeks after we returned home, I still have to use medicated ointments). Our initial joy had started to dissipate soon after we got the room, but when one night at the end of our first week, a rather large cockroach crossed our room at a very fast pace, while we were watching tv, our joy totally disappeared. The following day we went to client services, where client services reps dressed in grey suits were borderline rude, saying that they have to ‘investigate' our reports. We told them abt the poor quality of the beds with pieces of fabric coming off the mattresses, about the wholes in the wardrobe walls, about the space between the floor and the balcony door and the gap in the upper part of the balcony door which were all allowing insects to circulate freely. They did not like it; they became rude and told us that after they investigate, we will have another room at 5 pm. We did get a new room at 5 pm which was much better than the first one.

On a positive note, entertainers such as Luis Angel Soto, Yaimara Gordon, Daniela Bravo, or Lionel who is a supervisor in the buffet area, or Rudy the churros master chef with the loveliest personality, or Jordan who is working on landscaping are just a few of the friendly and hard working staff at the resort who made our stay at Memories Caribe a pleasant experience.

Food was good, there was a large choice of dishes, live kitchen, fruits and veggies, sweets and of course the beech resort drinks.

Entertainment was nice including all sorts of activities, dance lessons, Spanish language all sorts of beach games.

They need to work on updating all the rooms that they already sell at an ‘updated' price. They need to fumigate (which they don't), as the mosquitoes and the other numerous insects are too much.

There were also many locals coming to the resort looking busy and inspecting/supervising the staff; and they were treated like big bosses. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort but too many ponds and lakes which attract insects; good choice of foods, staff was friendly and curteous in general with few exceptions in client services who were not helpful and had a bit of an attitude on top of things.
The weak points
The quality of the room should match the prices they are charging. They expect tourists to pay big bucks but the rooms quality is not always there. They should fumigate to keep the insects away.

Memories caribe Cayo coco

, Sebright, ON
2019-02-03
Smaller resort which is perfect if you are just looking to relax. Food was excellent, especially for Cuba. Hotel staff and entertainment was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food Good people
The weak points
No night life
Certified

Good Memories Caribe

, Summerside, PE
2019-02-01
Overall our stay at Memories Caribe was very enjoyable.

The staff was welcoming and attentive to our needs which greatly impacted on our positive stay. This favourable staffing remark includes the front desk, service, food and beverage, entertainment, house-keeping and grounds maintenance. If I missed anyone, I apologize as every interaction with staff was positive.

There were structural repairs occurring during our stay but this had no real effect on our vacation. Our room was comfortable and thoroughly cleaned daily.

The buffet chefs were great. They made every effort to prepare our meals to our liking. We dined at the Cuban and Mediterranean a la carte restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed these as well.

The beach too was wonderful. Any photographs uploaded don't do it justice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Need a few more beach chairs
Certified

Overall Review of Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-30
Overall the Hotel was good, but the food was terrible, especially at the Cuban Restaurant - not much was available to choose from the menu as the items were not available.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place

, Tamworth, HA
2019-01-24
I love the place and had no issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and very accommodating
Certified

Cuban Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-23
It has beautiful grounds and a great location. The rooms were meticulously kept and the hotel staff was ready and willing to help with anything. We enjoyed the variety of food and the desserts table was divine. There was always someone from the hotel to bring you a lounge at the beach or a cold drink of your choosing. The entertainment was interesting and varied each night. They were great entertainers and we did have the shows we preferred, but they were all well done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and their willingness to help. The grounds and closeness to the ocean. The management for dealing with noise complaints.
The weak points
Never enough beach towels to trade for new ones. Did not like new way of open washrooms, no doors at all.
Certified

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-01-15
WE loved it.Would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Place to vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-11
The hotel is one I have stayed at before and enjoyed. I,like that it was adult only. Very clean. I am handi capped and travel with a scooter and everyone is very kind and helpful to me. Food was good and you can have anything freshly made for you. Overall the place is beautiful, friendly, clean and welcoming, I will return next year. Cuban hospitality is the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good if you like relaxing

, Angus, ON
2018-11-26
this hotel doesnt offer many excursions as its more remote, so i wouldnt recommend visiting this resort if you like to do excursions and travel off the resort. the one excursion i did go on was a one and a half hour drive. this resort however does have a great beach and pool and very friendly staff. i went to the italian restaurant and was given un cooked chicken so as a result i did not eat there and ended up going to the snack bar. i got sick on this trip, which i am guessing it was from not eating enough food or from the food i did eat, i was sick for 2 days straight. not enjoyable, but its not a bad hotel! i think while travelling to cuba you just cant have very high expectations! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, pool, snack bar
The weak points
buffet, restaurants, location

Relaxing and Refreshing vacation spot

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-15
Our experience in this resort was wonderful. Staffs were friendly and cooperative. Facilities are excellent and beach is breathtakingly beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Pool, Activities, Boating
The weak points
Food! Being a vegan, we didn't have many options to eat from. Even vegetarian dishes had fish in them.
Certified

FANTASTIC WEEK!!!

, Montréal, QC
2018-06-30
We had an amazing week at Memories!! The weather was superb!!! The check-in was very smooth - we were welcomed with smiles and a Welcome Cocktail. We arrived at about 8:30p.m. - I can't remember the names of the staff at the reception desk but they were great and always ready to accommodate! We booked a Deluxe Room (not sure which view - but i'm not there for the view) - room was beautiful! King size bed, a sitting area and a great modern bathroom (good water pressure and always hot water) - the toilet area not an issue not sure what all the fuss is about!! There is a little partition which hides you and when booking and looking at the reviews you know that there is no room door & there will be no door as this is the design - so GET OVER IT!! Our cleaning lady Yudy was amazing! Every day she had done something beautiful with towels - its the little things that matter. Room was always very clean. Lobby bar was very nice - yes a bit cold with the A/C but we welcomed it as the nights were humid. Staff again very friendly! Lobby washrooms - were very clean & modern! Remember people the ones who make the mess our the guests which is YOU - so they don't have someone standing in front of the bathrooms 24/7 to clean up your mess!! Think about it when you are going to your favourite mall or restaurant there is paper and toilets clogged - it happens even in North America!!! Beans Café - great cold coffee and ice cream :). Always a treat after a day at the beach. The beach - what can I say BEAUTIFUL & AMAZING! Enough long chairs and staff was great at both bars and grills. Pizza was superb and on the other side (which I think people are not aware - which is for everyone not only Diamond Club) the chicken sandwiches, hot dogs and hamburgers delicious! The Churros Man always a pleasure to see him on the beach handing out churros!! The outdoor showers are coming - we saw them building them - so patience people!!
Buffet was very good - lots of variety and there is something for everyone!! No complaints for breakfast and lunch - we had dinner once at the buffet all was good. We were lucky to enjoy all 4 a la carte restaurants - with even an extra night at the Mediterranean. Thanks to Jose at La Casa del Vino who recommended two wines for two of our dinners. This is a great concept. You can make your dinner reservations starting at 7a.m. & for 10 cuc or 15 cuc you can purchase a bottle of wine with your dinner and they will have it waiting for you at your table. They have a great selection of wines and sparkling wine - I would definitely recommend it! All the restaurants were very good!! Service was great! The Snack Bar was very good - bartenders always smiling and food was good as well. The vegetation was beautiful - the gardeners are hard at work making the grounds beautiful and let me tell you they were! We took the bus for 5cuc round trip to Playa Pilar - a beautiful beach. For 10 cuc you get 2 lounge chairs and 3 cocktails - not a bad deal. There are bathrooms and a restaurant. You can take the bus from your hotel and they provide you with return schedule - very well done. It's a great day trip!!! On another note - the hotel was 40% occupied and everything was up and running! All the facilities and all the restaurants - sometimes you go to a hotel and they have to close certain areas because of the capacity - not here all was running perfectly!! The Wi-Fi was working very well for 1 cuc you get an hour and you can use it in the lobby or Lobby Bar. Animators were wonderful around the beach area - got the crowd going. Our departure was at 5:30pm. and we were able to reserve a courtesy room to shower and change - which was great! We had time to enjoy the day and have lunch and a few cocktails before our bus came to pick us up. All you need to do is go to the Reception the day of your departure and ask to reserve the room. You have half an hour to shower and get ready. It was very convenient. So all in all - we had an amazing week - no complaints! I've been to other Memories hotels and all have been good but I have to say this Memories Hotel just went beyond my expectations considering just over 7 months ago the devastation they occurred and they have overcome so much and have made this resort so inviting and pleasurable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Deluxe Room amazing Staff always smiling A la carte restaurants Casa del Vinos Everything just amazing
The weak points
Those damn mosquitos

Good overall

, Laval, QC
2018-04-30
good overall, perfect beach, food good always something to eat, rooms clean and renewed, nice sports bar new, nice cafe, nice big pool, very clean, very very nice people, incredably dedicated, smiling always, trying to please always, only bad thing the lobby bar is so cold you cannot enjoy wonderful musiciens! in all good but prices are up to much this year, compared to last because this was our 12th time there. In all very good hotel if they keep prices down and accetable like years before- cause new hotel coming around... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach cleanness personnel
The weak points
lobby bar to cold freezing
Certified

So much potential

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-04-04
Booked a lake view room but got a lagoon view. Refurbished rooms have no doors to the bathroom and hence, no privacy (great rain showerheads though). Chairs in some rooms & patios/balconies are very uncomfortable. Food was good if you got it hot & freshly cooked at the grilling stations. Poor coffee in the buffet at breakfast time. Poor quality wines in the buffet at lunch & dinner time. The beach is VERY good.The pizzas at the beach hut were good. Good cappuccinos & ice cream at Beans Café by the pool. The staff was mostly friendly & efficient. The entertainment was good. If you're not a smoker and you like to sit outside at or near the main buildings you're not gonna be pleased (YUCK!). Some of the men's public washrooms were in rough shape & dirty. Not enough shade around the pool. Not enough shade at the beach, unless you get there by 7:00 o'clock AM. Some dilapidated loungers need to be replaced. Foot showers around both the beach & pool were out of order, so you drag more sand into your room. As we had a late departure we were supposed to get a room to shower in on our last day; front desk goes and sends us, last minute, to a room in which a family of 3 was already showering in! WTF! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Friendly staff. Good entertainment.
The weak points
Refurbished bathrooms have no privacy (no doors). No foot showers at the beach. Dirty, poorly maintained mens' public washrooms. No areas designated for smokers outdoors. Not enough shade at the pool and beach. Poor quality wines in the buffet.

Cayo Coco

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-02
Good resort, nice outlay, private beach, very nice rooms .. recommended only for seniors and families that want relaxing vacation .. adults/singles/couples that wants to do any excursions, then would recommend either Havana or Varadero ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Layout, nice rooms, friendly staff, wide variety of food.
The weak points
Being a vegetarian doesn't help much but still good options. Really need to work on Italian a-la carte food. Rating 1/10
Certified

Lovely and relaxing

, Bradford, ON
2018-03-27
The staff was very friendly. Armando makes amazing drinks! The property is lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is AMAZING! Great for swimming and walking. Lots of shade covers too.
The weak points
The food was just okay. Great omelettes.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?