Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
3.613.613.613.613.61
3.61 based on 1662 reviews
#13 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco - Cayo Guillermo
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (960)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Xmas Vacation

, Hanmer, ON
2024-02-13
Mediocre at best. Resort looks run down. Food .....well ......can't even describe it as it's still a mystery to me. Have to stand in line for at least an hour to reserve a restaurant every second day. Couldn't even get eggs for breakfast. Let's just say I didn't gain a pound this Christmas. Nothing stocked in room...no drinks....no coffee for the entire week. Powdered milk only and no soda, so drinks were basically rum punch or beer.
Daily entertainment was the exact same every day, which became somewhat of a bore after day 3. No wifi except in the lobby. Bugs were bad, looked like I had a bad case of chicken pox. Bring alot of bills....seem to only get decent service the more you give along with being asked to leave behind all your belongings upon departure.
Watch your young daughters, some staff/entertainment crew are not shy.
Definitely a one and done place to visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beaches Nightly entertainment If you like to party....definitely the place for you.
The weak points
Food Drink selection Bugs
Sanitary measures
Okay However the Cuban airport was a disaster. No handsoap in washrooms and no hand sanitizer in any of the dispensers
Certified

A Dream Wedding and Unforgettable Stay at Memories

, Québec, QC
2024-02-11
Our journey to finding the perfect getaway and wedding destination culminated in the most enchanting experience at Memories Caribe Beach Resort. As a Canadian couple who had ventured to this resort for the first time in 2023, we were captivated by its charm, leading us to choose it as the venue for our symbolic wedding in January 2024. The decision couldn't have been more perfect!
The resort itself is a slice of paradise, creating an idyllic backdrop for our special day and vacation. Despite Cuba's occasional shortages, the resort's incredible staff ensured these moments were barely noticed, always going above and beyond to ensure our group's comfort and happiness. Their attention to detail, warmth, and professionalism helped us plan the perfect ceremony.
Opting for the Diamond Club was a decision we'll never regret, enhancing our stay with exclusive perks like the VIP beach area, which is worth every penny for that extra touch of luxury and tranquility. Our accommodation in the "Suite Al Fresco" was truly enjoyable, with its unique outdoor shower feature and impeccable housekeeping service, adding a special touch to our getaway.
The beauty of Cayo Coco and the exceptional service at Memories Caribe Beach Resort have left an indelible mark on us and our wedding group, some of whom are already planning their return. This resort is a gem for those seeking a serene adult-only experience, offering a peaceful escape in a picturesque setting.
We wholeheartedly recommend Memories Caribe Beach Resort to anyone wanting to experience the best of Cayo Coco. It's a place where the best memories are made. We're already counting down the days until we return to our little paradise, a tradition we hope to keep for years to come. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach and the staff!!!
The weak points
This is Cuba, which means that there are shortages at time. The resort is also a little old but it remains well maintained and clean.

Vacation in Gaza Strip > Vacation Memories Caribe

, Arnprior , ON
2024-01-15
This Resort needs to be shut down, the conditions are unacceptable, even for Cuba.

Rooms: The rooms are infested with little bugs and every air conditioner is filled with black mold, blowing moldy spoors in all the rooms. I took picture's of everything. That's the big stuff. Other comments are, its a 50/50 chance of having hot water, Power will randomly go off, Rooms are super dated, you are rationed to 1 roll of toilet paper every 2 days, the door has a gap in it and bugs/small lizards will come into your room. Overall rooms are super dated.

Beach: The beach is nice but you cant even enjoy it because you will be swarmed by flies during the day and mosquitos when the sun is down. The drink service at the beach is the only good service at this entire hotel, One of the resorts 2 good employees works there. The girl at the coffee place is the other good employee.

Food: The food is horrific. Even for Cuba it is horrific. There are flies covering everything. We are not picky eaters and the only thing we could eat all week is eggs for breakfast (which they don't have sometimes) and chease sandwiches'. There are no condiments, everything is bland. The salt and pepper shakers are all full of hard crystalized salt. Mostly though my problem is the food not being safe to eat because its covered in flies.

Overall: The resort is super dated, the service takes forever, the bugs are unbearable. This vacation was absolute hell, This resort is embarrassing and I can't see how its even possible to fix. They need to shut this place down. I am not a picky traveler at all but I wouldn't spend another day here if someone offered me money. A week vacation here is like winning the show Survivor except there is no prize, Your prize is you get to go home.

FYI: All of the 5 star Trip advisor and Google reviews for this resort are FAKE. They are bots, have a look, Each one says the same thing basically and all of the posters names are a fist name and a letter for a last name. Example: Breelne P, Alexis B, Jimmy P, Samantha S. The resort will comment on each Fake post to help their rating. They won't do this with real reviews. It's pathetic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
None
The weak points
Service, Beach, Rooms, Bugs/flies, Overall.
Sanitary measures
Flies and bugs are covering all of the food, everywhere.
Certified

Memories Cayo Coco review - Cuba

, Ottawa, ON
2024-01-04
Overall Experience 4/10
Beach was great
Charter fishing was awesome
Taxis great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beaches Entertainment
The weak points
Rooms Lobby Wifi
Sanitary measures
Did not see any
Certified

A great resort worth 3-3.5 stars

, Victoria, BC
2023-12-29
I was lucky to have a really nice room with hot water, clean sheets, spacious. Great vegetable and fruit varieties at the buffet. Enjoyed eggs when available 4/7 days. Cuban restaurant excellent, asian restaurant poor. Evening entertainment ok. Very friendly staff, lived staff in beach moved chairs for me. Nice facilities overall but have stayed at 3 stars in Santiago de cuba and varadero that were as nice. Excursion on catamaran - was very upset that lunch was at dolphinarium (surprise!) - not ethical. Great Christmas dinner. Loved the musicians. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
See above
The weak points
See above Filthy handicapped bathroom
Certified

Amazing staff at Memories Caribe

, North York, ON
2023-12-28
This was our third visit to Memories Caribe in Cayo Coco. We keep returning because firstly all the staff there are amazing!!! From the gardeners (Jose, Raffa, and Eddy) who provide us with unlimited coconuts everyday; the folks at the reception (Zulay, Javier and Aliesky); Bernardo and Wilbur for rides around the resort; at the Lobby bar (Yasser, Yelitza, Yeilin, Disney, Ketlin, Denaris, Anjel), Waitresses at the Buffet; the bartenders and chefs at the snack bar; Reni at the beach bar always serving with a smile; the chefs in the Buffet (Macheho, Leone and Janiel) who stand fry eggs or pancakes for breakfast and fish or chicken at lunchtime; Jessica who makes the restaurant reservations; Elvis and Jovani who manage the Asian and Cuban restaurants; Jusmilba at Beans Café, along with countless others whose names I forget. Everyone always makes us feel welcome and special.
Tita at guest services is a joy to meet, and she invited us to the special Ambassador lobster dinner, where we met other returning guests and some of the resort managers.
The beach is amazing, with soft white sand, no rocks. There are always plenty of beach chairs. I enjoy the daily beach activities run by the entertainment staff such as the 10 am stretching, followed by Zumba and sometimes Salsa dance classes, volleyball, and aqua fitness.
The unlimited Wi-Fi in the Lobby and lobby bar area were good (but not available in other areas of the resort or the rooms).
The dance shows at night were phenomenal, as was the musical entertainment at the Lobby bar, with various musicians on different evenings.
If there were any issues with the room, we reported it to the guest services and they immediately sent someone to repair (e.g. The flush, or a ceiling light).
The hop on hop off bus to the tourist market is worth the $5 ticket, because there the liquor store has a bigger variety than the shop at the resort or the duty-free shops at the airport. There is also a wider selection of souvenir stores there than at the airport. It is amazing to see the handicrafts despite their limited resources.
What is appreciated much more than $ tips are things which are simply not available there for them to purchase even with all the $s. Particularly medications like Tylenol, Cough drops, Band-Aids, Polysporin, and so on. Pens, bags, make up, calendars, even lightly used toys, clothing, shoes, etc. are overwhelmingly appreciated! We need very little when there, so we pack all these things in our suitcases and pay for extra suitcases which we leave behind for them. We have never had any issues at customs.
The flies and mosquitoes are the only negative aspects, but these are much less in winter than the summers there. Using ones own reusable covered drinkware helps.
Overall, we have been happier at Memories Caribe than at any other Caribbean resort, and will no doubt return whenever we can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The friendly, helpful staff throughout the resort. The beach. The great entertainment and night beach party. The Iced coffee with Cuban cream, mango daiquiris,...
The weak points
The flies and mosquitoes. Some days they may not have eggs, or coke, or wine, but they make up for it with pancakes, and a variety of other drinks.
Sanitary measures
Excellent in our room. Some flies in the buffet. Sometimes no soap in the public washrooms.

Family vacation

, Toronto, ON
2023-12-27
Overall Okay, we saw lots of people who are "regulars" at the resort.
I would rate the hotel 3 out of 5.
Needs to be refreshed and upgraded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very friendly and easygoing entertainment staff, helpful and attentive personnel at the restaurants and buffet, well maintained territory, clean sandy beach and pool, free WIFI at the lobby of the resort
The weak points
Dated rooms and amenities, not very welcoming lobby of the resort ( dry plants, cheap seating furniture )
Sanitary measures
Average
Certified

Memories Caribe

, Victoria, BC
2023-12-26
I had a great time in this hotel with amazing workers, and great beaches. My room was good, everything worked, no mold was present. Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great, helpfull workers. Very nice gardens and grounds. Fast service for food and drinks. Great entertainment. Amazing beaches. Pelican lives on hotel grounds, very entertaining.
The weak points
Flies in a buffet room.
Sanitary measures
Need to paint white tables in the buffet room, they start to look black from dirt. Pay attention to the basic sanitary techniques, wash hands, etc.
Certified

Beaches are great

, Val Caron, ON
2023-12-18
We checked in and were given a room. It was not what we booked so we went back to the desk to see why we were not told they downgraded the room. Told to come back the next day and they would see if there were any rooms left in what we booked, no problem. Desk staff are trying to be nice but are getting a lot of complaints from travellers. The room was changed.
Get your wi-fi password when you are checking in. Wi-fi is around the lobby area only.
There is no soda anywhere, so if you drink your alcohol with it, you need to bring it with you. Don't drink the water. They leave you a large bottle in the room every day to drink.
The food is ok, no complaints. It was good and tasty. Bring spices if you like them.
It is Cuba so don't expect miracles when the locals have nothing either. They are trying their best.
Except for the lack of hot water, this resort is great for the money. The place is not too large, has things to do if you want and places to veg if you don't.
Diamond Club is worth the extra. Food at the beach is great and the service is good.
Bring bills to exchange with the staff. They cannot take coins to the bank. Don't bother to buy Cuban money. They are happy with Canadian or American dollars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach was the highlight. Food was not as bad as advertised. Staff are excellent.
The weak points
Showers have no hot water.
Certified

Adult only

, Embrun, ON
2023-11-30
Was okay, very clean and service amazing.they still don't know how to cut meat, must be done against the grain.lots of assorted food dish we had pizza at the beach amazing good and hot. Overall 8 out of 10 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Be informed before you book

, Pincourt, QC
2023-11-21
I enjoy indulging in all the things I love while on vacation and this was not possible at this resort because it was lacking in almost everything I wanted. I would not go back or recommend. It was certainly wasn't nearly worth the $2000 I paid, Very disappointing to say the least. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach, clean and friendly staff. Entertainment every day. Cuban restaurant was the best out of the a la cartes
The weak points
No wine except at a la carte, no eggs until the last two days no coke, no hot water in my room. Buffet was the same every day and stuff like syrop, butter, and sugar would be there one day gone the next. Toaster didn't work.
Certified

Not happy

, St. Catharines, ON
2023-11-05
We did not have a good experience at Caribe. No warm water, toilet not working, supplies very low. Food was not good at all. We asked to have our water and toilet looked at but each day no one did. Staff were rude about it. Very disappointed with this resort and unfortunately will not return to this resort. We would like some discount due to the water and toilet issues [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Memories Caribe October 2023

, Fonthill, ON
2023-11-01
As with all resorts, there are pros and cons. Let's start with the pros:

This resort has the potential to be spectacular! For me, it is the perfect size, not too big; the buildings are two story or bungalows; everything is within walking distance. There was always evening entertainment, but it generally was a quiet resort, so if you are looking to just relax and de-stress, this is a great option.

The pool area is nice! There are plenty of lounges, a few restaurants surrounding it, the pool bar, a 24 hour eatery/bar plus the lobby. Nicely compact and well laid out.

Our room was great! We had one of the bungalow rooms with a king sized bed and outdoor shower. It was clean with plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage. The bed and the pillows were comfortable. Our room server was efficient in cleaning daily and left lovely towel animals each day for us to enjoy!

The beach was nice. We are not "beach people", so I can't say it was fantastic. There were sand fleas, however the water was very shallow so you could wade out quite far and the colour was beautiful. We were able to walk for quite a distance (sometimes having to wade through water, but again, it was shallow).

As Diamond club members, we had access to a snack bar and bar on the beach - there was a grill there, so there was an option for fresh fish, sausage and chicken on occasion.

Bites - this was the 24 hour snack bar. It was nice to have a place that was open late late at night and early in the morning. We are early risers, so it was nice to get a coffee before the restaurant/buffet opened. They do make a decent coffee, which was served, in the morning, with a pastry.

The staff were friendly and helpful; always helping with lounges on the beach or by the pool; the entertainment staff had a variety of activities to keep you busy (if that's what you wanted).

However, the resort is not spectacular, for the following reasons:

It needs some tender loving care - there are a few tiles missing in the pool, the concrete paths can be uneven, some of the paint is a little 'tired'. The lounges along the pool and the pool/beach towels are a little worn.

The towels are not changed daily in the rooms - this generally does not bother me, but I'd like the option to have fresh towels if needed. Plus there were no washclothes. We loved the idea of the outdoor shower, but I'm not sure that it got cleaned often, with the occasional dead bugs. The shower itself was large but the showerhead was tucked into a corner, so there was a lot of wasted space - I would have preferred the showerhead more centered. Water pressure is low and did not get really hot - in fact it took a while to get to a reasonably warm temperature.

The public bathrooms - they were generally clean, but they did not often have toilet paper. I made sure I carried some with me whenever I left our room, just in case. We actually brought some from home, because we had been warned about the lack of toilet paper in Cuban resorts.

The food: We upgraded to the Diamond level, and this gave us an a la carte restaurant in the morning for breakfast where they made the best eggs and bacon! Plus there was a choice of fruits, cheeses, meats and cereal as additional options. The buffet ran out of eggs on all but two of the days, however, we were able to have eggs every morning. It also gave us four a la carte choices for the week, rather than just two.

The buffet: I'm not a fan of buffets to begin with. There were little to no vegetable options. The largest choices were pasta, fish and chicken/pork/beef at the grills, and while they were grilled freshly, they were often overcooked. There were rice, and potato dishes, but not a lot of choice, and often not warm. They did make a nice soup daily. The choices were generally the same, or close to the same, everyday, so options were limited as was variety.

The a la carte restaurants - each of them has a theme (Asian, Cuban, Italian, Mediterranean) but the food they serve is not really from those cultures. Again, no vegetables. Each plate came with a protein, rice and potatoes. The desserts were similar, if not the same, in each of the restaurants, just named differently.

The drinks: Rum and vodka - that was pretty much it. The diamond club members did have a few more options at both the lobby bar and the private bar on the beach, but not much. However, it was the mixes that left much to be desired. No juice was used - so lemonade was from a bottle, marguirita mix was powdered, and everything had sugar in it (way too much at times). So by the 3rd or 4th day, the drinks were not so enjoyable. There was no wine in the restaurants (except for our last night there). We did see people who had purchased wine (either in the resort store or at the market) but you could not order a glass of wine at the bar.

The sports bar did not show sports! That was a big let down, as we had assumed that we could catch hockey or football games.

Some of my issues listed above may have been because of shortages in Cuba itself, some may have been because this is the low season for them - I'm not sure. Some may have been because, well, this is Cuba after all.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced vacation, time in the sun to relax and you are not fussy about the level and quality of food and drink, then this resort is a good option. I would still recommend upgrading to the Diamond Club level. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The room was great, the resort was quiet and a good size, the staff were friendly.
The weak points
The food and drinks are pretty low quality.
Certified

DON'T GO TO THIS RESORT

, Penetanguishene, ON
2023-10-28
Flies covering the food and tables in the restaurant's no eggs for breakfast no wine unless you buy it, mosquito's eating you alive in the evening's , staff really nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
everything except staff
Certified

Reasonable for the price

, Peterborough, ON
2023-10-21
We booked the diamond club upgrade and definitely glad we did. 20 minute drive from the airport is great. Room was dated but everything worked well and was always clean. Housekeeping service was fantastic, Maria kept everything wonderfully clean. The buffet was very limited and repetitive, but the diamond club has access to other options for breakfast ( a la carte with eggs every day, pastries, fruits, meats cheeses etc) a beach grill with burgers, hot dogs, sandwiches and fries, as well as lobster for a cost, and a couple of days, fresh bbq'd tuna and pork leg with rice, slaw etc. there was no wine, but beer and liquor were plentiful. Beans cafe has amazing cappuccino. Service everywhere was fantastic, friendly and efficient. Beach is absolutely stunning, with lots of loungers and palapas. Beach waiter service is excellent. Tipping seems to be a big question so here goes: Canadian money is fine, in all forms…however, if you are using loonies and toonies, buy them back from the staff each day so they have bills as that is all they can exchange at their banks. Gifts: any over the counter medication is great, bug spray, toiletries, toothbrushes, toothpaste, bandages, maxi pads, razors soap, laundry strips, polysporin etc…anything is appreciated even clothes,shoes etc. there was a espresso coffee machine in the room but no coffee pods available for it, so either bring your own or bring instant coffee to mix with the hot water. Pop availability is basically non existent even to buy at the store.
Bug spray is a definite need, we have travelled here twice before and never needed it but we were thankful to have brought it this time.
for what we paid, we were extremely happy, it is by no means luxury, but it is certainly a beautiful environment with wonderful service. We will definitely return but again, diamond club upgrade is a must to allow yourself options to make more food options available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service Beach
The weak points
Buffet Mosquitoes
Certified

Amazing beach

, Huntsville, ON
2023-10-06
First time here for a week. Very short ride from airport. Nice grounds. Room was great everything worked. Beach is 5 star. Staff friendly and helpful. Entertainment was good. No kids. Free wifi but not in your room. Two ala carte restaurants( creole was closed). Bar was great but only rum beer and wine available at most times and no mixes other than juice. Resident dogs cats and a pelican on site looking for handouts. Ala cartes were very good. Cool 1950s taxis outside. $5 hop on bus very cool way to see the area. The negative....due to shortages the buffet is often without the usual staples but they do best they can and there will usually be something you like available. Never saw a salad or yogurt but bacon and pancakes everyday and chicken and rice and pork and bread. Eggs and beef hit and miss. Pasta and pizza was good. Great resort for a cheap cuba getaway and beach chilling. In a quiet area. Lots of music in the piano bar and theatre and route 66 bar at nite if you want nitelife. Pool games were fun. Cant comment on diamond club amenity upgrade but it was $16us a day per person to purchase there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and staff amazing. Room was great. Ala cartes very good.
The weak points
Buffet needs help at lunch and dinner.

Review of memories caribe

, Bedford, NS
2023-09-18
People great! Quality of resort and food very low [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Excellent resort

, Caistor Centre, ON
2023-07-23
Fantastic beach and staff. Beach staff are incredible and the beach bar amazing at Diamond club. I had a room directly at the beach was amazing. Front staff always wanting help if you need anything. Ocean lots of fish and very warm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing staff
The weak points
Nothing to complain about.
Certified

The worst hotel I ever visited

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2023-06-21
I used to visit Cuba twice per year with my husband, kids and friends during the last 10 years
After this trip we made our decision to not go back again.
It's not about the food, but about the hygiene. Flies, mosquitoes, cockroaches in the food, over counters, in the rooms, lobby, etc.
It was disgusting!
Even motels are better! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, though the awful smell of sewers.
The weak points
Everything except the beach is auwful, including the staff and the service. I don't recommend it to anyone, but I have to check a box to publish the review.

Garbage!

, Hamilton, ON
2023-06-18
This place is a joke. 4 stars?! I give it motel status. Where do I start with the problems.
1. Rooms are dated and have a musky smell
2. The food is barely edible
3. Bugs infested rooms
4. Flies infested food ( literally everywhere with no care in the dining hall)
5. Drinks..... Haha haha
6. Completely understaffed
7. Toliet barely work ( flooded the room and not just ours . Very common issue. And staff would just shrug it off)
8. The pool had missing tiles. ( Easily cut yourself in it)
9. Medical center looks like something from the 60s with Dollarama/ dollar tree "bandages"
10. WIFI can only be accessed in the lobby.. at 10KB/S (yes it's that slow) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The entertainment staff they do try. And the beach.. THAT'S IT.
The weak points
Everything. It's a bloody joke. Only go here if you're desperate to leave and everything else is booked.
Certified

Vacation

, Cottam, ON
2023-06-09
Great overall experience would go back 100% [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The location, the staff and people, the beach, the resort
The weak points
The food and the bugs
Certified

Great trip

, Ingersoll, ON
2023-05-09
Absolutely beautiful beaches food was good too staff amazing. But the flies need to be taken a little more seriously. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Beach

, Montréal, QC
2023-04-08
Beautiful beach, wonderful staff. No complaints on the food considering.
Shortages like every other resort
Diamond club a must and well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
Wine and hot water issues
Certified

Amazing as always…!

, Minesing, ON
2023-02-13
Hi my name is Shawn and my wife Michelle and I visited this resort in the first week of February 2023. It was my second time and Michelle's third time and we have to say this is the best resort for value, food, entertainment and the spectacular beach!
Hats off to Alba and Jesus for the amazing management to staff and ground's keeping, the resort was clean and very well kept, staff was very helpful and friendly!
We were part of the “diamond club” which gives you more value for your vacation and well worth it!
Rooms are very nice and updated as well as all buildings freshly painted!
I'd like to thank all Memories Caribe Staff for an amazing stay at a beautiful 5 star resort and a special thanks to Alba and Jesus for all your hard work!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach, rooms, food, entertainment and staff!! WELL DONE….we'll definitely be back!!
The weak points
N/A

It was nice but

, Ottawa, ON
2023-01-19
Beach- 5 ⭐️
Staff- 4.5 ⭐️
Food- 2 ⭐️
Room- 2 ⭐️
Overall experience - 3 ⭐️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
Room and food
Certified

Nice

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2023-01-13
Very welcoming. Nice size suites. Staff helpful and friendly. Lots of walking areas, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great staff. Wonderful coffee/ice cream shop. Nice size pool
The weak points
Many, many biting bugs. Narrow beach area.
Certified

A TRUE FIVE STAR PARADISE!!!

, Ottawa, ON
2023-01-03
A TRUE FIVE STAR PARADISE!!!

The best hotel for adults in Cuba. Everything was perfect: stunning location and views, great long and beautiful pristine beach and pool, modern design grounds, clean and beautiful rooms, wonderful service, great food choice, amazing shows and great music.

BRAVO TO THE SPECTACULAR HANDS-ON MANAGEMENT TEAM LED BY ALBA AND JESUS THAT MAKE OF THIS RESORT A TRUE FIVE STAR PARADISE!!! WE CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK!

Rooms with lagoon views have beautiful sunrises and much quieter
Make sure to upgrade to DIAMOND CLUB for room upgrades and personalized beach service, a la cart breakfast and premium drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
HOTEL MANAGEMENT PARADISIAC BEACH HOTEL GROUNDS AND GARDENS WONDERFUL RESTAURANT, BAR & ACTIVITIES STAFF
The weak points
NONE

The TRUTH about Memories Caribe Beach CAYO COCO

, Belle River, ON
2022-11-16
An honest summation for anyone considering going to this resort is to check your expectations at the door. What was meant to be a great little last-minute getaway to the #2 ranked resort (and I use the word resort loosely) turned into an eye opening experience. Seriously you could NOT make this stuff up. We decided that since the last minute price was so good we would upgrade to Diamond Club and thank God we did. Diamond Club is NOT an upgrade, I repeat NOT an upgrade. What Diamond Club did guarantee us was working air conditioning, a working toilet, hot water and a safe that worked. Without the upgrade we would have been like the less fortunate guests there who did not get these luxuries.

We arrived at the resort at 10pm, without our welcome drink which I don't care about but am only noting if that matters to you. We were given our room information and told to take a photo of the only resort map available that was taped to the counter top. That was so that we could find our own way to our rooms and our luggage would follow. So off we went into the darkness, down unlit or poorly lit pathways searching for a building. After getting lost on our own we finally found our room. It was a side by side one level building with an outdoor shower which was private and kind of cool. The room was a basic room with a king bed that would not have sheets changed the entire week, a mini fridge that was completely empty, although it is supposed to be stocked daily and a bathroom that had a toilet with a minimal supply of recycled toilet paper that resembled swiss cheese.

The pool was nice enough but would benefit by railings at the stairs. The pool bar was in a shaded area and staffed by a man who didn't seem to like his job much. To each his own, there were other bars to choose from if you wanted.

The daytime entertainment team consisted of 2 people that would socialize with the patrons, not run any organized games and were under the impression that turning the music up louder was entertainment enough. On one occasion they came out and danced for the guests and then left. The worst entertainment/engagement staff I have ever encountered.

Provisions…. Where do I start. It's Cuba so keep an open mind. I have to say you won't starve there and I am certain nobody goes there for the food anyway but besides the gluttony of guests my only complaint would be the speed at which the service stations operated. Standing well over 30 minutes in line to get pasta is quite unusual but at least it was available. What they DID run out of during our stay was Cola and then Sprite, Fanta was now available. They ran out of Coffee, Beer, Vodka, Tequila during our stay. At one point they ran out of cups and were serving guests drinks out of the bottom half of a soda bottle they cut open. Then there is the power outage, water unavailable to the resort and the usual ‘sorry no toilet paper' so bring your own. Like I said you can't make this stuff up.

Reservations, don't get me started. We were diamond club and ended up with NO specialty restaurant reservations.

Let's talk about bugs, literally hundreds of bites later we have stopped scratching. From sand flees to noseeum's and your run of the mill fly. This place had them in spades. Might have gotten worse once they cut the one-foot high grass mid week or when they fogged the resort but everything we brought that was meant to help with bugs did not work.

Best thing about this was the beautiful water. I am glad I saw it because I will NEVER see it again. By mid week we would have been ok if a hurricane evacuated us. It took forever for the vacation to end. Thank God we met some other wonderful guests who kept us laughing and sane all week.



Thought this place deserved a dose of honesty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful Beach
The weak points
See above
Certified

Terrible trip

, Mississauga, ON
2022-09-25
Memories caribe is no good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cheap
The weak points
Mosquitos everywhere and almost all day
Sanitary measures
Ok
Certified

A great Vacation

, Welland, ON
2022-08-09
We enjoyed our stay very much after upgrading to a room with a bathroom door. Food was tasty and we never had a reason to go hungry. Al la carte food was wonderful. The staff are friendly and accommodating and want to please you in every way they can. The beach and pool were awesome and we loved the fact that music was playing from 10 in the morning until 11 at night. It always seemed to be festive. Evening shows were great as well as daytime activity if you want to join in.
Our only complaints were that every time we used the sink or shower, the floor leaked from underneath and our patio doors took an armload of strength to open and close. We made the best of it and still had an awesome time. We informed management and they said after our departure they would close the room from future tourists until it was fixed .. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff will help in any way. Beautiful beach and resort. Cleanliness of the resort is very good.
The weak points
Most rooms have bathrooms with NO doors. You walk into the room and see right into the bathroom shower and if there is a door where the toilet is, the door is transparent glass. No Privacy whatsoever.
Sanitary measures
Sanitizer machines empty, not seeing any furniture being sanitized after use. Tables not being wiped with sanitizer after use. Masked use by some but not all of the staff.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024