Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.603.603.603.603.60
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
#13 of 19 hotels in Cayo Coco
3.60 based on 1418 reviews
Traveller pictures (565)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great value

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-09
This was my 2nd stay at this resort, the first since they've made it adults only. The rooms look much improved, the pool and beach are still in amazing shape and the grounds are well taken care of.

Food is decent (but not 5 star), expected for Cuba. Great resort for the value conscious or those just looking for some of the best beaches out there with no expectation other than a fun time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lobby Bar - Jacel and Daenaris are amazing! Staff are always helpful! Diamond Club upgrade was worth it!
The weak points
Rainy season = Bugs. Bring repellant or antihistamines and cream if you are attacked.
Certified

Amazing Beach

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-06-18
My husband and I were at this hotel second week of June. Our second time. Nothing much changed since we were there last Oct./18.
Food...They really need more variety at the buffet. They do seem to recycle there food a lot. Mediterrean was just so so, Asian was good. Snack bar serves burgers, hot dogs, and fries. The burgers were terrible, raw. Pizza bar at the beach is delicious
Drinks were good. I had a chocolate tequilla one night and they were out of it the rest of the week.
Room was nice. We had diamond club superior deluxe. And there are no doors on the bathroom, so if you go with someone, and want privacy, the other person will have to go out on the balcony or leave the room. The chairs on the balcony are very uncomfortable. Did not even sit on the balcony.
The beach here is the jewel. It is a beautiful beach. We were on the diamond club side so lots of shade and they even added more palapias since last time we were there. We did have waiter service. It was a young man, cant remember his name. He was great and very nice and polite.
If you want peace, quiet and tranquility, this is the place for you. Small intimate resort. Lots of repeat customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Our vacation

, Scarborough, ON
2019-05-22
The hotel did not explain many things that we had to find out on our own which made some aspects of the trip difficult. Was clean, staff was friendly and it was good overall.

No bathroom door.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, clean, room
The weak points
Food, hours of operation
Certified

Winter Vacation

, Laval, QC
2019-04-07
Staff very friendly. Most spoke adequately in English. Would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy to navigate.
The weak points
Mosquitos, sand fleas and no-see-ums in abundance. Lots of stagnant water, never noticed spraying/fumigation.
Certified

I lovvvvvvveeeeeeeeee Pasta!

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-26
Blown away by how nice the room was for the price we paid. Kept cleaned every day. Impressed by how great the entertainment was. Thought the entertainers were also equally entertaining. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1. Great entertainment every night 2. Entertainers were fantastic, very friendly and loved to ensure you were happy (thanks Ricardo and Johnnie) 3. Room quality is very high!
The weak points
1. Food (other than the pasta - my fav!) 2. Excursions are priced to Canadian market (not cheap) 3. Cave party was cancelled (we paid and no bus ever came)
Certified

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

, Blackfalds, AB
2019-02-22
Had a wonderful time here, there was 6 of us that travelled from Canada. Very clean, quiet resort with some amazing people that work there. We all had a very relaxing and wonderful time. From a very fast check-in to a fast, easy check-out, could not ask for better service.
Rooms were larger with deck/balcony and very clean. Lots of variety to choose from the buffet. Because it located by a lagoon lots of bugs, so bring bug spray. Must recommend to take a taxi to Lenny's, for lobster, shrimp and fish. Excellent meal for 15 pesos!!! Just keep in mind any tours are on the main land so are a ways away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service was excellent, the place was so clean and well taken care of. The beach and water the best.
The weak points
More chairs around pool and at beach without tipping someone to find you one that they put away. Another bathroom closer to beach bar would be good.
Certified

Beautiful resort with professional hospitality

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-08
We went for 2 weeks. Gorgeous clean white sand beach with plenty of palapas and lounge chairs. Fun and friendly animators run games and give dance lessons on the beach. Volleyball was fun. We loved the great swimming and long walks. And the fun pizza place and sandwich snack bar and great beer on the beach. The grounds are also very beautiful and cared for, lots of flowers and super clean.
What really impressed us and made our 2 weeks relaxing and fun was the great hospitality. If you have a problem go to Public Relation and they will fix it. Plenty of drinking water in our room. Food in the Buffet was good with lots of choices, including very fresh calamari when we were there. A la cartes are fun for a change but not over the top for eats. Excellent coffee in the Piano Bar and delicious chiros at pool side.
Lots of excursions and beach toys too but we were content to hang out at the resort and 2 weeks was not too long. Just right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The management and the workers really want you to have a great holiday.
The weak points
we had a few problems, such as no hot water in our room but we went to Public Relations and they gave us a new room right away. I would call this a strong point but you do have to ask for it.
Certified

Very satisfied

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-05
Best hotel I have been in yet in cayo coco..very clean. Beach amazing. Staff willing to help out with smiles always. Excellent service.
I even left my wallet at the sports bar after an excursion and it was returned to me with nothing missing. Thank you Michael for that... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Very clean. Omelette and pizza on the beach yummy but pizza ran out most days as some people took multiple at a time
The weak points
No clean beach towel for the entire week.food variety poor...same food every meal.only 3 al a Carte and they were all fully booked so didn't get to utilize
Certified

Memories Carie Beach Resort-Cayo Coco-Cuba

, Brampton, ON
2019-02-04
When we booked the trip to Memories Caribe, we selected ‘superior accommodation'. When we arrived, we were given a ‘superior' room in block 17 (which we later found out that it was in fact ‘standard' which meant that the room was not renovated). Awful beds, noisy air conditioning and armies of mosquitos, flies and other insects that bit us mercilessly (even now, three weeks after we returned home, I still have to use medicated ointments). Our initial joy had started to dissipate soon after we got the room, but when one night at the end of our first week, a rather large cockroach crossed our room at a very fast pace, while we were watching tv, our joy totally disappeared. The following day we went to client services, where client services reps dressed in grey suits were borderline rude, saying that they have to ‘investigate' our reports. We told them abt the poor quality of the beds with pieces of fabric coming off the mattresses, about the wholes in the wardrobe walls, about the space between the floor and the balcony door and the gap in the upper part of the balcony door which were all allowing insects to circulate freely. They did not like it; they became rude and told us that after they investigate, we will have another room at 5 pm. We did get a new room at 5 pm which was much better than the first one.

On a positive note, entertainers such as Luis Angel Soto, Yaimara Gordon, Daniela Bravo, or Lionel who is a supervisor in the buffet area, or Rudy the churros master chef with the loveliest personality, or Jordan who is working on landscaping are just a few of the friendly and hard working staff at the resort who made our stay at Memories Caribe a pleasant experience.

Food was good, there was a large choice of dishes, live kitchen, fruits and veggies, sweets and of course the beech resort drinks.

Entertainment was nice including all sorts of activities, dance lessons, Spanish language all sorts of beach games.

They need to work on updating all the rooms that they already sell at an ‘updated' price. They need to fumigate (which they don't), as the mosquitoes and the other numerous insects are too much.

There were also many locals coming to the resort looking busy and inspecting/supervising the staff; and they were treated like big bosses. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort but too many ponds and lakes which attract insects; good choice of foods, staff was friendly and curteous in general with few exceptions in client services who were not helpful and had a bit of an attitude on top of things.
The weak points
The quality of the room should match the prices they are charging. They expect tourists to pay big bucks but the rooms quality is not always there. They should fumigate to keep the insects away.

Memories caribe Cayo coco

, Sebright, ON
2019-02-03
Smaller resort which is perfect if you are just looking to relax. Food was excellent, especially for Cuba. Hotel staff and entertainment was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food Good people
The weak points
No night life
Certified

Good Memories Caribe

, Summerside, PE
2019-02-01
Overall our stay at Memories Caribe was very enjoyable.

The staff was welcoming and attentive to our needs which greatly impacted on our positive stay. This favourable staffing remark includes the front desk, service, food and beverage, entertainment, house-keeping and grounds maintenance. If I missed anyone, I apologize as every interaction with staff was positive.

There were structural repairs occurring during our stay but this had no real effect on our vacation. Our room was comfortable and thoroughly cleaned daily.

The buffet chefs were great. They made every effort to prepare our meals to our liking. We dined at the Cuban and Mediterranean a la carte restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed these as well.

The beach too was wonderful. Any photographs uploaded don't do it justice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Need a few more beach chairs
Certified

Overall Review of Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-30
Overall the Hotel was good, but the food was terrible, especially at the Cuban Restaurant - not much was available to choose from the menu as the items were not available.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great place

, Tamworth, HA
2019-01-24
I love the place and had no issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and very accommodating
Certified

Cuban Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-23
It has beautiful grounds and a great location. The rooms were meticulously kept and the hotel staff was ready and willing to help with anything. We enjoyed the variety of food and the desserts table was divine. There was always someone from the hotel to bring you a lounge at the beach or a cold drink of your choosing. The entertainment was interesting and varied each night. They were great entertainers and we did have the shows we preferred, but they were all well done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and their willingness to help. The grounds and closeness to the ocean. The management for dealing with noise complaints.
The weak points
Never enough beach towels to trade for new ones. Did not like new way of open washrooms, no doors at all.
Certified

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-01-15
WE loved it.Would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Place to vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-11
The hotel is one I have stayed at before and enjoyed. I,like that it was adult only. Very clean. I am handi capped and travel with a scooter and everyone is very kind and helpful to me. Food was good and you can have anything freshly made for you. Overall the place is beautiful, friendly, clean and welcoming, I will return next year. Cuban hospitality is the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good if you like relaxing

, Angus, ON
2018-11-26
this hotel doesnt offer many excursions as its more remote, so i wouldnt recommend visiting this resort if you like to do excursions and travel off the resort. the one excursion i did go on was a one and a half hour drive. this resort however does have a great beach and pool and very friendly staff. i went to the italian restaurant and was given un cooked chicken so as a result i did not eat there and ended up going to the snack bar. i got sick on this trip, which i am guessing it was from not eating enough food or from the food i did eat, i was sick for 2 days straight. not enjoyable, but its not a bad hotel! i think while travelling to cuba you just cant have very high expectations! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, pool, snack bar
The weak points
buffet, restaurants, location

Relaxing and Refreshing vacation spot

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-15
Our experience in this resort was wonderful. Staffs were friendly and cooperative. Facilities are excellent and beach is breathtakingly beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Pool, Activities, Boating
The weak points
Food! Being a vegan, we didn't have many options to eat from. Even vegetarian dishes had fish in them.
Certified

FANTASTIC WEEK!!!

, Montréal, QC
2018-06-30
We had an amazing week at Memories!! The weather was superb!!! The check-in was very smooth - we were welcomed with smiles and a Welcome Cocktail. We arrived at about 8:30p.m. - I can't remember the names of the staff at the reception desk but they were great and always ready to accommodate! We booked a Deluxe Room (not sure which view - but i'm not there for the view) - room was beautiful! King size bed, a sitting area and a great modern bathroom (good water pressure and always hot water) - the toilet area not an issue not sure what all the fuss is about!! There is a little partition which hides you and when booking and looking at the reviews you know that there is no room door & there will be no door as this is the design - so GET OVER IT!! Our cleaning lady Yudy was amazing! Every day she had done something beautiful with towels - its the little things that matter. Room was always very clean. Lobby bar was very nice - yes a bit cold with the A/C but we welcomed it as the nights were humid. Staff again very friendly! Lobby washrooms - were very clean & modern! Remember people the ones who make the mess our the guests which is YOU - so they don't have someone standing in front of the bathrooms 24/7 to clean up your mess!! Think about it when you are going to your favourite mall or restaurant there is paper and toilets clogged - it happens even in North America!!! Beans Café - great cold coffee and ice cream :). Always a treat after a day at the beach. The beach - what can I say BEAUTIFUL & AMAZING! Enough long chairs and staff was great at both bars and grills. Pizza was superb and on the other side (which I think people are not aware - which is for everyone not only Diamond Club) the chicken sandwiches, hot dogs and hamburgers delicious! The Churros Man always a pleasure to see him on the beach handing out churros!! The outdoor showers are coming - we saw them building them - so patience people!!
Buffet was very good - lots of variety and there is something for everyone!! No complaints for breakfast and lunch - we had dinner once at the buffet all was good. We were lucky to enjoy all 4 a la carte restaurants - with even an extra night at the Mediterranean. Thanks to Jose at La Casa del Vino who recommended two wines for two of our dinners. This is a great concept. You can make your dinner reservations starting at 7a.m. & for 10 cuc or 15 cuc you can purchase a bottle of wine with your dinner and they will have it waiting for you at your table. They have a great selection of wines and sparkling wine - I would definitely recommend it! All the restaurants were very good!! Service was great! The Snack Bar was very good - bartenders always smiling and food was good as well. The vegetation was beautiful - the gardeners are hard at work making the grounds beautiful and let me tell you they were! We took the bus for 5cuc round trip to Playa Pilar - a beautiful beach. For 10 cuc you get 2 lounge chairs and 3 cocktails - not a bad deal. There are bathrooms and a restaurant. You can take the bus from your hotel and they provide you with return schedule - very well done. It's a great day trip!!! On another note - the hotel was 40% occupied and everything was up and running! All the facilities and all the restaurants - sometimes you go to a hotel and they have to close certain areas because of the capacity - not here all was running perfectly!! The Wi-Fi was working very well for 1 cuc you get an hour and you can use it in the lobby or Lobby Bar. Animators were wonderful around the beach area - got the crowd going. Our departure was at 5:30pm. and we were able to reserve a courtesy room to shower and change - which was great! We had time to enjoy the day and have lunch and a few cocktails before our bus came to pick us up. All you need to do is go to the Reception the day of your departure and ask to reserve the room. You have half an hour to shower and get ready. It was very convenient. So all in all - we had an amazing week - no complaints! I've been to other Memories hotels and all have been good but I have to say this Memories Hotel just went beyond my expectations considering just over 7 months ago the devastation they occurred and they have overcome so much and have made this resort so inviting and pleasurable! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Deluxe Room amazing Staff always smiling A la carte restaurants Casa del Vinos Everything just amazing
The weak points
Those damn mosquitos

Good overall

, Laval, QC
2018-04-30
good overall, perfect beach, food good always something to eat, rooms clean and renewed, nice sports bar new, nice cafe, nice big pool, very clean, very very nice people, incredably dedicated, smiling always, trying to please always, only bad thing the lobby bar is so cold you cannot enjoy wonderful musiciens! in all good but prices are up to much this year, compared to last because this was our 12th time there. In all very good hotel if they keep prices down and accetable like years before- cause new hotel coming around... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach cleanness personnel
The weak points
lobby bar to cold freezing
Certified

So much potential

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-04-04
Booked a lake view room but got a lagoon view. Refurbished rooms have no doors to the bathroom and hence, no privacy (great rain showerheads though). Chairs in some rooms & patios/balconies are very uncomfortable. Food was good if you got it hot & freshly cooked at the grilling stations. Poor coffee in the buffet at breakfast time. Poor quality wines in the buffet at lunch & dinner time. The beach is VERY good.The pizzas at the beach hut were good. Good cappuccinos & ice cream at Beans Café by the pool. The staff was mostly friendly & efficient. The entertainment was good. If you're not a smoker and you like to sit outside at or near the main buildings you're not gonna be pleased (YUCK!). Some of the men's public washrooms were in rough shape & dirty. Not enough shade around the pool. Not enough shade at the beach, unless you get there by 7:00 o'clock AM. Some dilapidated loungers need to be replaced. Foot showers around both the beach & pool were out of order, so you drag more sand into your room. As we had a late departure we were supposed to get a room to shower in on our last day; front desk goes and sends us, last minute, to a room in which a family of 3 was already showering in! WTF! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Friendly staff. Good entertainment.
The weak points
Refurbished bathrooms have no privacy (no doors). No foot showers at the beach. Dirty, poorly maintained mens' public washrooms. No areas designated for smokers outdoors. Not enough shade at the pool and beach. Poor quality wines in the buffet.

Cayo Coco

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-02
Good resort, nice outlay, private beach, very nice rooms .. recommended only for seniors and families that want relaxing vacation .. adults/singles/couples that wants to do any excursions, then would recommend either Havana or Varadero ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Layout, nice rooms, friendly staff, wide variety of food.
The weak points
Being a vegetarian doesn't help much but still good options. Really need to work on Italian a-la carte food. Rating 1/10
Certified

Lovely and relaxing

, Bradford, ON
2018-03-27
The staff was very friendly. Armando makes amazing drinks! The property is lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is AMAZING! Great for swimming and walking. Lots of shade covers too.
The weak points
The food was just okay. Great omelettes.
Certified

Best beach

, Hawkesbury, ON
2018-03-19
Best beach ever, food excellent! but the rooms are awfull, found cockroaches. The gest service were quick to respond to the problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach! beach!
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

Memories Caribe

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-19
Disappointed in drinks and cheap watered down alcohol. We stayed Diamond club and did not notice a difference. We were able to get better quality booze at the lobby bar but we had to ask each time. Food was quite good. Loved the churros and ice cream. No decaf coffee which was very unfortunate, as I cannot have caffeine. Service was inconsistent. A few happy people but very hard to get cutlery, napkins, or a smile from most. Lots of service workers rolling their eyes at you because you ask for a spoon, etc.
We were both sick with diarrhea and vomiting, as were people we were with during our stay.
Would definitely not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is gorgeous. Good pool service in Diamond Club most days.
The weak points
Buffet restaurant table servers weren't friendly for the most part. Terrible drinks with very watered down alcohol. Husband and myself were sick with diarrhea and vomiting during trip.
Certified

Wonderful, relaxing vacation!

, Windsor, ON
2018-03-14
Friendly staff, good service, lots of entertainment(water show was the best), clean resort, beautiful beach!!! We loved our vacation. LOVED the live music in the piano bar and at the restaurants each night(including buffet). The violin was beautiful. The pool was large and very clean. Not enough shade at the pool, though. Not sure if some of the shade 'umbrellas' were destroyed by the hurricane or not? The entertainment staff was so friendly and had games going on all day by the pool and some on the beach.
Everyone was very helpful, if we needed anything.
Our room was not renovated and a little outdated but clean and towels replaced every day. Maid folded them into animals, flowers, etc daily and left fresh flowers for us in the designs. The shower had a good flow and never ran out of hot water.
Sand fleas at the beach but we brought bug spray and were fine. We walked for miles each day in the water along the beach from sandbar to sandbar and through shallow water. So beautiful.
Tour to Morun was awesome! Loved the boat ride, and traditional Cuban lunch. It was nice to see more of the Cuban culture on this excursion.
Food was really good at this resort. Better than we expected. There was a ton of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. Everyone should find something to eat.
Overall a great resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is beautiful! You can walk for miles IN the water along sandbars and through the shallow water. Friendly, fast service. Food is excellent. TONS of options at the buffet. Asian restaurant is awesome! Entertainment.
The weak points
They need to add dressers to put our clothes in our room. It's hard to live out of a suitcase for a week. They need to add more shade 'umbrellas' at the pool. They were always taken by 8am. Sand fleas on beach. Bring bug spray!
Certified

Great Holiday

, Roseneath, ON
2018-03-10
Had a fantastic vacation. The staff were helpful and friendly...always had a smile :)
The grounds were lovely. A great resort for anyone with mobility issues. Public washrooms were always clean.
Beach was spectacular, crystal clear water and when the tide is out you can walk for what seems like miles.
Our room was clean and spacious, we had the superior lake view which I highly recommend, beautiful sunrise:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice size resort, everything was in close proximity. Beach was gorgeous. The staff were awesome.
The weak points
No bathroom door in our room lol
Certified

Not bad, but not up to

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-28
I have had great and poor experiences in hotels traveling to Cuba for over 20 years. On this occasion I expected to have a great experience as the "Memories" chain has very high standards (usually). I was incredibly disappointed to find a room literally full of spiders on my arrival (walked face first through a web as I entered the room - we arrived after dark). I had to kill 8 spiders in the entryway and bathroom before heading to the main room for a few more. We also found that the sliding door to the outdoor shower did not lock, nor did the main sliding glass doors from the back porch into the room... so, essentially we had a completely unsecured room. In addition, the outside lights for our small bungalow did not work, so we had to locate our room at night completely in the dark and navigate the path to it in the dark. We complained of these issues to the front desk and were told they would be looked after immediately. 2 days later the shower door lock was fixed. Nothing else was fixed before we left the resort.

If you like to work out, the gym at this resort is more complete than most. In addition to the standard cardio equipment they have some free weights and benches as well as a pretty good universal machine.

The a la Carte restaurants, as usual, have excellent service, but food not really any better than the buffet. It is nice to have a meal with your partner where you are waited on, so that aspect is romantic,

On a further note regarding service, they have a system of handling the lounges poolside that is rather annoying. Except for a few chairs, the lounges are gathered up at night so each day there is a guy that stands next to the stack and it is his job to bring you chairs. I had never seen this system before and so the first time I had to get some I headed over to the stack myself to grab a couple.... the guy came running over and very politely told me, no problem friend, it is my job, I will bring them for you. My partner and I were in swim suits just planning to tan for a bit so we had no money with us... once the chairs arrived he was clearly expecting a tip... we didn't have one.... he left abruptly and for the rest of the week did not approach us when we came to the pool area. Of course, I do not tolerate this behaviour, so we generally found available chairs on our own, but a couple of times we had to approach him.... ask for chairs and then have a stare off with him before he grudgingly would take them off the stack and drag them over, at which point he continued to get not tip. I understand that money can motivate you to do an exceptional job, but it should not be expected nor should a patron be punished for not tipping. A few of the bar tenders are the same, tip them and they are your best friend, don't tip them regularly and they will try their best to not make eye contact with you when you come for a drink..... others are pleasant and fun regardless of the tip you leave. I generally try to avoid tipping on occasion to see which staff is which and then use, and tip the ones who seem to be just generally nicer people.

Overall these facilities are generally aged and run down (foregoing the hurricane damage). usually the team of gardeners in Cuba are very proud and grounds are immaculate at even the seediest hotels. Here there was broken glass and shingles on the ground (probably from the hurricane) but no one had made any effort to clean it up (raking, picking them up by hand). There was also green waste all around, fallen leaves, and palm fronds etc.... again, usually this stuff is constantly being raked up and carted away. There were people trimming the bushes and running a lawn mower, but they just seemed to have a low standard of how the property was to be maintained.

When it came to cleaning the room, almost nothing was done daily. We came to the room one day just as the staff was about to enter so we just hung back to wait for them to finish (they did not see us). 3 of them entered the room and were finished in about 2 to 3 minutes. It seemed the room was swept (never mopped), the bed was made and the toilet and sink were cleaned. I noticed that both the tub and the outdoor shower had the same pieces of dirt in them day after day. I generally reuse my towels quite a bit at a hotel. The staff often changes the towels anyway every couple of days even if I have it hung and not on the floor. Here they seemed to ONLY change a towel if it was soaking wet AND on the floor. This may not be a criticism as they may be truly following the green policy, but that isn't how it felt, I don't think they noticed that towels had been used and rehung, I think they just thought those ones were unused. In any case, the r attention to the room was certainly minimal compared to what I amused to in Cuba and even more so from "Memories".

Overall this resort is very mediocre so the price tag of a "Memories" property is unjustified. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach - When the tide is out there is an interesting string of sandbars just offshore that allow you to walk across the ocean for some distance (2 or 3 km's) all the way to neighbouring resorts.
The weak points
As usual in Cuba, most staff members are amazing, but, there are always a few that are clearly only motivated by tips. If you don't tip them once, they will completely ignore you from then on.
Certified

Bad Memories!

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-22
Arrival late at night and NOT given the room booked and paid for - we paid for Superior Lakeview Terrace, and got musty old room overlooking an Irma devastated lawn far from the lake. No towel racks, no toilet paper holder, nothing hanging on the walls. Alianna did her best to keep the room clean and used bleach several days in a row to help with the smell. No water in the fountains until the last day of our stay. Buffet food was luke-warm at the best of times as was the coffee. Raoul, thank you for the smiles and high-fives my friend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Alianna, cleaning staff made our musty room "liveable", Raoul in the dining room and his pleasant smile and attitude made our day every morning at breakfast. Beer was cold and bar staff were awesome! Beach impeccably clean despite Irma's attack last fall.
The weak points
Front Desk need an attitude class, and should NEVER ridicule patrons in their language, especially when a patron understands most of their discussion!
Certified

Our stay

, Brampton, ON
2018-02-14
Had a great time One of our best vacations. Olsen and Jessica in the sports bar were the best ever Great excursions for good price Great food (For cuba) Clean and very friendly staff Beautiful BEACH with amazing little pizzas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food staff Lino on the 4x4 excursion and Olsen and Jess
The weak points
Room could have used air freshener due to no bathroom door lol
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?