Tryp Cayo Coco

Tryp Cayo Coco
3.633.633.633.633.63
3.63 based on 1161 reviews
#14 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (303)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Bad trip 3yrs ago

, Trent Hills, ON
2020-02-23
this will be our 7th time hear 3 yrs ago after hurrican we had terrible time, hopefully when we arrive wed mornig that things will different , would like groundfloor in building 11 close to private pool my husband had heart surgry Mario castronaro arriving wed morning [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location
The weak points
none
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-02-27
Dear Mario; Thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco once again and for taking the time to share this comment with us. We are very sorry you had experienced a bad stay last time and we really hope you can enjoy a better holiday this time. Please, do not hesitate on contacting us if you need anything or you have any issue, it will be a pleasure to assist you. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Staff makes this a five star resort.

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-19
Will return for great value, great staff and overall great ambience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodating helpful friendly staff. Very clean. Good variety of fresh food at buffet.
The weak points
Entertainment is too loud. Common allergens foods could be put together in the buffet to avoid cross-contamination.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-31
Dear Marg K, Thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for sharing this review with us. We are always glad to read opinions like yours and it will be a great pleasure for us to have you back! We will work on weak points you have mentionned because you are the main reason we work for. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Trip cayo coco

, Medicine Hat, AB
2020-01-17
Overall a positive experience but the room was not good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good variety of food each meal The grounds/pool clean and tidy Entertainment excellent Staff excellent
The weak points
Room Kettle didn't work Outdated decor Bed old and. Worn Plugs and electrical outlets falling apart Toilet plugged and sometimes wouldn't flush Ran out of hot water Coffee in dining room very bad
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-20
Hello Valerie; We would like to thank you for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share this review with us. We apologize for the incident you have mentionned and we have already analyzed it with the department involved, we will not stop working in order to improve our service and to make you happy. We look forward to another visit, it will be a pleasure to receive you. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Tryp Cayo coco Cuba

, Laval, QC
2020-01-14
Hello I've been at this hotel many times and last time was 6 years ago. This hotel is so special to me, the staff is incredible and hotel and restaurants was amazing . Unfortunately after the hurricane 2 years ago, many things changed such as some restaurants were closed and 2 of them got distroyed. The hotel itself is not as it was but the staff always friendly and wonderful and they do there best to make you comfortable. For sure I will continue to go at the Tryp Cayo coco [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff , beach feels like home
The weak points
Less restaurants open because of the hurricane
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2020-01-20
Hello Diana, Thank you very much for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for spending your time posting a comment about your recent stay with us, your opinions are the best feedback we receive as we always work based on meeting your expectations. We will pass all your comments to the management so they can work on the details you have mentionned and will pass your nice comments about our staff, they will be very happy to hear them. Thanks a lot for your loyalty and we look forward to receiving you soon. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Tryp in december

, Tavistock, ON
2019-12-11
It was a great week. Had good sunny weather. Staff went above and beyond in all areas. Staff very friendly and ensuring you were having a good time. Music and enertaining was great every night. Beach clean and groomed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-18
Dear Robert; Thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for posting such a nice comment about your recent stay with us. It made us really happy to read reviews like yours as you are the main reason we work for. We assure you we will not stop working in order to improve our services. We hope to receive you again in the near future. With warmest regards, Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Great week. Will I return again???? Yes

, Burlington, ON
2019-12-11
Had another great week here. Staff as usual where the greatest. Building 7 was just opening up again when I was leaving. Work is being done quickly to the Beach Bar and Grill. Can't wait to see the finished product in April. My opinion of the Bed and 2 Chairs on the beach for 10CUC a day is that it is a waste of space and chairs that we all could use. I had to ask the staff to find me a chair as there seem to be a shortage and it is not high season yet. Totally like the earlier buffet opening, 6:30 instead of 7:00
We must remember to tip the Guest Services Staff, they are always in the background working hard, but rarely tipped. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff where all excellent. They have great memories. Grounds including the pool and the beach where great. Guest services are the best and really try to help.
The weak points
The loud Thump, Thump of the Base even though the music had been turned down, sometimes till 1 and 2 am. No StirFry Station open in the buffet all week.
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-12-18
Hello mrcasey13; Thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your vacations and for posting such a good comment about your vacations in our hotel. We appreciatte a lot your honest review and we are very glad to read you had a memorable week. Thanks a lot for your advise about the bali beds, your comments are always useful and welcomed, we care a lot about your feedback. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Home away from home

, La Prairie, QC
2019-11-16
It was a great vacation as usual. The Food is improved and the beach is exceptional! The staff is always wondeful and so is the manager. Can't wait to go back, very soon. Client Services is always ready to help with anything you need. Thank you Try Cayo Coco for being my home away from home! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and great staff
The weak points
Aging hotel
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-11-22
Hello Maram; We would like to thank you for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is truly appreciated as you are the main reason we work for. We assure you we will not stop working on improving our services. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a nice time with us and we will pass on your comments about our staff. Thanks a lot for your loyalty and for being part of our beautiful family. We look forward to receiving you again. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez Alemán Sales Manager

Enjoyed my Solo 2 week stay at this resort A

, Burlington, ON
2019-11-08
October 17-31, 2019. First time for me to do a 2 week trip. I always travel Solo. The staff are excellent. Many remembered me and I them after about 1 1/2 years. Guest services are top notched and extremely helpful. Only half the resort was open due to supposedly renovations being done to blocks 7 and up.(I prefer Block 7, 8 or 9 which I hope I can get on my return for the 4th time in April) Missed the quiet pool and the Beach Bar and Grill which was also closed I understand due to weather damage. Only one small Hut with limited drinks on the beach. (great lady running it) Only 1 different A la Carte available every night. Buffet got a bit monotonous the 2nd week of my stay and the A/C could have been used especially in the evening. Staff where wonderful again. Weekends got a bit loud with the locals coming in with their big families. Entertainment staff practice all day but was not so impressive my second week there. Seemed to be more for local kids for at least 2 nights. There were some Shortages but not that many (Like where are the Onions for my Omelettes.LOL and the Cristal Beer) Stayed in Block 6 and had the GM as my neighbor part of my time. I do hope the single supplement will be waived starting April 1st and not May 1st as I always travel solo and cannot afford the price increase. Over all I had a great 2 weeks there and will be returning to see my friends in the staff in April. I understand many people do not like having to check bags when going into the buffet, but I personally think it is great and sure helps with food shortages due to bags being filled. One thing I really noticed is the number of noisy cats around. Another positive is the exchange rate 73 cuc for 100 cnd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean grounds and pretty quiet
The weak points
Only 1/2 the resort was open and the Beach Bar and grill was closed as was the quiet pool
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-11-14
Hello mrcasey13; We would like to thank you for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is truly appreciated as you are the main reason we work for. We are really sorry because your stay did not satisfy your expectations and we assure you we are working hard in order to get all our services restaured. We will pass all your comments to the management so they can work on the details you have mentionned and will pass your nice comments about our staff, they will be very happy to hear them. Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we hope to have you back soon, in the future do not hesitate to contact us if you have any special request, it will be a pleasure to help you. Best regards, Ladys M. Rodríguez Sales Manager

My favorite place on earth :)

, Montréal, QC
2019-10-14
Once again the Tryp exceeded my every expectation. My husband and I went on a fairly last minute trip knowing that we were heading out during the rainy season, and we didn't care. The staff at this hotel are beyond amazing- it's a pleasure to be here from start to finish!
I think people forget that Cuba is Cuba and have unrealistic expectations on occasion. The Tryp is the place for people that know what Cuba is like, and want to have a laid-back week being spoiled by the friendliest staff that Cuba could offer. 100% of the employees will do anything they can to make your stay all it can be!
Right off the bat, the reception and lobby area is open, bright, easy to navigate, and staffed by the friendliest people possible. The recent change to making this area non-smoking is greatly appreciated, especially when the check-in or check-out crowds are larger. It's also great when using the wifi. They take care of getting you checked in, and oriented within the resort, quickly and efficiently.
The rooms are simple but more than sufficient- beds are comfy, rooms are clean, there's a good safe and a mini fridge, bathrooms are clean and I've never had a problem with water pressure etc. If you're the kind of person that needs a state of the art, massive flat-screen TV etc then honestly, why go to Cuba? Go to Best Buy and re-do your living room instead.
If you know anything about Cuba you'll know the food can be commented on. However, I'm a picky eater and I've never once had an issue- fresh meats and seafood are grilled to order at the buffet, the arroz congris is one of my favorite things ever, and the fresh fruit and veggies are to die for! My husband wishes I'd make him breakfast like you get at the buffet :)
The a la carte restaurants are also exceptional, with a fun ambiance at each. I highly recommend the lasagna when the Italian is open!
The beaches are the most amazing, beautiful things ever, and Tryp is working hard to keep them that way! The dunes are gorgeous as the purple plant is flowering and lush. The ocean is indescribable so I'm barely going to try- the water is blue and clear and shallow enough to walk out and enjoy for ages. The sand is soft, but still offers enough shells for the kids to run around collecting.
Due to the absolutely amazing ocean, I didn't even get in the pool once, so no opinion on the pool forthcoming, however the swim-up bar is accessible by a bridge and I can tell you- go at least once during animation for a drink and to play Bingo!
To summarize... Go to the Tryp. It's an older, unassuming hotel that plays to it's skills; which are the most amazing location, and the most amazing staff. The people that work here go so very far above and beyond to make sure every aspect of your stay is enjoyable.
I wanted to shout-out the staff that made my week special but I don't have enough room, suffice it to say I've gone into budget overdrive so I can go back sooner than usual- I'm "homesick" for the Tryp already. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff! Everyone from customer service (Yay Gelly!) to the gardeners and cleaning staff are fantastic and make you feel welcome.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-24
Hello Laurel; Thanks a lot for coming to Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share such an amazing review about your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read your opinions and to know you have enjoyed your days with us. This feedback is highly appreciated and it made us really happy to hear you mention our staff. We know there is room for improvement and we assure you we will not stop working in order to make our services better and to provide better experiences. We will pass on your nice comments to our staff, it will certainly bright their days. Your review made us really happy and it is the best way to congrat our staff as we are always working in order to satisfy your expectations. We are so glad to know you were so pleased with our facilities and services. We look forward to seeing you in the near future, thanks for becoming part of our big family. With warmest regards, Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

Not the same

, Whitby, ON
2019-09-17
I have been going to this hotel for many years. The renovations looked nice but half of the hotel was still being renovated. The beach was dirty with all seaweed, they used to drag and clean the beach in the morning before but was unpleasant this time. The ala carte was amazing but the buffet for lunch and breakfast served the same food and was unappealling. The staff is still super friendly which was good to see. I went to Pullman for two days and loved it. For the price I paid, I am staying at Pullman the next time. Tryp is outdated and needs to rebuild the ala carte restaurants in different locations rather that having it in the main building and alternating the different options on different days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing and the ala carte restaurant food quality is top notch.
The weak points
Beach is dirty, need to complete renovations and rooms and hotel is outdated.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-01
Hi dear Whitby, Thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for posting this feedback about your recent stay in the hotel. As you could see we are working on improving our services. We still drag and clean the beach but this service do not belong to the hotel, it is another company who provide it and as we had problems with fuel they were not working. I will pass your comments about the food to our chef, we have rebuild the a la carte restaurants, we have a cuban, an oriental and an italian restaurant very updated but they were closed due to low occupancy. I am very sorry to know you don' t want to comeback to the hotel and I apologize for the aspects you have mentionned. With warmest regards, Ladys M. Rodriguez Sales Manager

Amazing Trip

, Lambton Shores, ON
2019-06-01
When arriving @ TRYP it is like returning to our "Home away from home" It is very heartwarming to be greeted with smiles & hugs from the staff !!! Met up with families that we met the previous year and the staff was great meeting all of our needs when we wanted to dine together every night. Already looking forward to returning in 2020 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Was our 6th time to Cuba and 4th time to TRYP !!! We are never disappointed when we return to TRYP. The food was delicious, rooms were clean and the staff was AMAZING
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-06-07
Hello dear Ron & Lori Hodgins; Thank you very much for leaving your comments in our profile of the web, we really like to know that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. It is gratifying to know that we are your "home away from home" and that returning to Tryp is a yearning at every homecoming. Our main objective is to make our customers feel part of the great Tryp family. We are waiting for you again to offer you a wonderful vacation. Thank you for choosing us and recommend us to our visitors. Attentively.... Indira Neyra Davila Sales Manager

Excellent trip

, Cobourg, ON
2019-05-31
Always an excellent stay at the tryp cayo coco. The staff are the best around. Always treat you like family. Food is excellent and lots of it. Great atmosphere. Can't wait to go again next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-09-10
Hello dear Wilde1537; Thanks a lot for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays and for sharing with us this awesome review about your stay with us. We are truly happy to know you enjoyed a nice holidays here and you are thinking on coming back. It will be a real pleasure to have you back. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodríguez/ Sales Manager

The worst resort

, Scarborough, ON
2017-08-25
This was the worst hotel ever. The door locks on room doors didn't work. Pool was always dirty and sandy. There were no cups and plates even though it was all inclusive, people had to share or else you could not get anything. The booze was only local alcohol except for the Havana club. The water made us all sick because it was not from a sealed bottle. The rooms were outdated and falling apart. Do not go no matter how affordable it is you will be very disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A few waiters were good. The al la carte restaurants were decent.
The weak points
Everything about the hotel was terrible. The general manager Christian did not take pride in the place and make sure the guests were taken care of so who will.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-01
Hello Andrew, Thank you for sharing your experience in this website, your comments are very helpful for the management. We would like to inform you that we are currently making some changes that will revert some of these experiences you had during your stay. Our staff is always striving in providing our customers an excellent and unforgettable experience. We hope you can come back for a better experience in the future. Thank you for your time. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodriguez Sales Manager

Cayo coco

, Toronto, ON
2017-06-23
I was impressed with the food at try Cayo coco. The staff were all friendly and the tourists were as well. The beach is amazing!! The night life is good as well if you decide to stay at the resort or go out to a club outside the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-01
Hello Luigi, Thanks a lot for coming to Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share such an amazing review about your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read your opinions and to know you have enjoyed your days with us. This feedback is highly appreciated and it made us really happy to hear you mention part of our staff. We know there is room for improvement and we assure you we will not stop working in order to make our services better and to provide better experiences. With warmest regards, Ladys M. Rodriguez Sales Manager

Breathtaking views and friendly staff

, Etobicoke, ON
2017-04-25
This place is breathtaking; from the pool to the beach. My fiancé and I enjoyed our 7 days stay here and couldn't have asked for more. The staff is really friendly, accommodating and will fix any issues in less than 30 minutes as they did for our phone and safe. I would recommend getting a bicycle from the rental place (1 hour free like we did everyday) and explore the area and the other resorts nearby and also to try the stir fry at dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, beach, staff
The weak points
The swamp under the lobby bridge
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-01
Hello Mavis A, Thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for posting such a nice review about your recent stay in our hotel. Your comment has truly brightned our day and we assure you we will keep on with the good work. Our staff will be extremely happy to hear your opinion. We hope you visit us again in the near future. With warmest regards; Ladys M. Rodriguez Sales Manager

From Kouchibouguac nb

, St Charles, NB
2017-04-04
We had a very good time at this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice staff
The weak points
To many cats
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2019-10-01
Hello Nicc, First of all, thanks a lot for choosing Tryp Cayo Coco to spend your holidays and for sharing with us this review about your recent stay in our hotel. We highly appreciate our customer´s opinions as this feedback is really important for us in order to work on improving our services. We really hope to have you back someday soon. With warmest regards, Ladys M. Rodriguez Sales Manager

TRYP review

, Orleans, ON
2017-02-12
Overall pretty good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best beach cayo coco

, Brampton, ON
2017-01-17
We had a great time in Cuba. Short 15min bus ride from airport. Nice, older resort. Mature, beautiful grounds, with many palm trees, spotted hummingbirds and lots of other birds. Clean swimming pools and good customer service (any our problems were resolved very quickly). Food for the most part was very good for Cuba, particularly in the buffet where they have Spanish chef. Great untouched turquoise-blue water beach. Lots of beach space and chairs. Lots of young people. Excellent beach activities and sports: beach volleyball, jogging and kite surfing school where you can take lessons with licensed instructors. Fun to kite-surf and watch how kite surfers jump and ride their kites. Will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent beach
The weak points
hotel rooms shabby/tired

Great trip!

, Richmond Hill, ON
2016-12-29
Hotel is clean and cozy.Staff is very friendly, food is fresh , a lot of different choices for fruits and vegetables. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food is fresh,rooms are clean, staff is friendly
The weak points
no wifi, not enough wifi cards for selling
Certified

Awesome party place

, Petawawa, ON
2016-12-17
Great place to party and mingle with people. But be aware this hotel is dated and old. Also very stingy on extras like bottled water and soap. Bartenders and maids are great, front desk staff less than helpful. Rooms are a wreck but you get what you pay for. Do not hesitate ask for a different room if unhappy. Awesome place to drink but go with low expectations as hotel is 25 plus years old and nothing has been renovated even though they say it is. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great bartenders and certain staff. Awesome people. non watered down drinks. Price. This hotel makes mingling easy.
The weak points
Old and dated, food bland, rooms terrible. Front desk staff rude and unhelpful. Whole hotel lost water for a day, hotel didn't even hand out extra water. Nothing in room bar fridge, hotel is stingy with bottled water.
Certified

Agent review - could have been better

, Edmonton, AB
2016-11-07
Third visit to Cuba, first time to Cayo Coco. Have been to many All Inclusive, 4 star and 5 star properties, and this resort just seemed to fall short in every aspect. Beach not cleared of seaweed to the point it was excessive, could not walk around it. Bland drink menu (staff not knowledgeable when ordering off menu). Speakers WAY too loud at night time shows (saw little girl crying due to noise). Half the resort was closed down (possibly for renos?) so only 1 pool available and it was always too noisy. Given room facing pool, had to ask to move to quieter location, only 1 option available as half of the hotel rooms not operational. Schedule of activities not followed (wanted to do archery, staff never showed up at scheduled time). For 2 days lights not working in bathroom (and no window) so was very dark. Once fixed water stopped working for 1 day - 1st no pressure, then no hot water. Only 1 A la carte restaurant (as others were shut down with other half of resort). They switch up menu throughout the week - steakhouse, cuban, and international. 1st day went to make reservations and the steakhouse was already booked full for the week, so couldn't go. Asked to book at other 2, were given reservations. Went to International one night - was average. 2nd night, went for the 'Cuban', except it was still the international menu...we had been given reservations for 2 nights of the same. NOT a good resort for vegetarians or anyone with allergies. LOTS of cross contamination with buffet utensils (not enough tools provided so guest have to use same ones on multiple dishes). Almost all rice/pasta/salad dishes at buffet had meat in them (I'm vegetarian, partner is not). Rained hard 1st day, most paths to the rooms were flooded, by next day stopped. Staff would squeegee the lobby area, but guests were left having to walk through deep puddles to get to their rooms. There is a tourist bus which goes to Playa Pillar beach and a tourist "train" trolley that goes between resorts and to the local shop in the area. Went to use the train one day (which is operated not by resort), and despite seeing it on other days, it never showed up the day we needed it after waiting a full hour (had a posted schedule which was not followed). Stay away from Playa Pillar beach. Supposed to be 'one of the best in the world' - its NOT. It was also covered in seaweed that was not cleared away. You have to PAY for any sort of beach chair. Pay for bathroom. Pay for drinks (to be expected off resort), and it was no better than at our resort. Was also never told its an HOUR and A HALF drive to get there from Tryp (had tried to get info from guest services before going, but they were not helpful). We stayed maybe 20 mins and took the next available bus to leave. Tried to use Guest Services a few times for information on the resort and area - every-time felt like we were bothering staff, and it would take a long time for them to acknowledge you, usually got an 'I don't know' answer for basic questions, and never an offer to find out the info for us. When asking Reception, would be told to go see Guest Services. Overall felt the entire time that the staff would trying to do 'just good enough' and so the entire experience just fell short of being what it should have been. Had the resort been fully open and operational, maybe it would have met expectations better, but it did not. It was off season, and that is when we usually travel, so we are used to resorts having portions closed down due to less guests travelling, but if anything it means customer service should be that much better as there is more time to dedicate to the guests they do have, and this resort did not do that. Recommendation - try somewhere else instead. Will not be sending any of my future clients to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Evening entertainment staff worked hard to put on quality shows.
The weak points
MANY- see review. Poor beach. Poor customer service. Average food. Too noisy.
Certified

Previous Trip to Tryp

, East York, ON
2016-09-02
I am writing this review a few years after we actually went to Tryp, but we just booked to go back in November and we are very excited for our 4th visit to Tryp. We have visited different resorts over the past 10 years and Tryp remains our favourite.

Pools are awesome. The swim up bar bartenters are quick and friendly. Always enjoyed the activities around the main pool, and the quiet pool is always avail if you need to chill.

Beach is fantastic, crystal blue water, you can take some bread and feed the fish. Lots of chairs and shady areas.

Pizza Restaurant is a nice way to change it up from the buffet. Its located a short walk down the beach. Pizza was very good.

Buffet has lots of variety, all three times we went we never had a problem finding something good to eat.

STAFF: A in my opinion. We were always remembered on our return visits. Its been three years since we have been back but I am sure Yolady and Belkeit in the Buffet will remember us. We had so much fun with them, especially Yolady who pranked around with us all the time. She made sure I had a birthday cake last time we were there. I hope they are both still there.

Animation shows. They didn't change much each time we were there, but its always fun to go watch, and we quite enjoyed the kids shows as they bring all the kids up on stage.

Rooms are dated, yes....but always clean and the housekeepers do a wonderful job. We have never had to ask for a room switch at this hotel, most other places we have been to in Cuba we usually had to either change rooms or pay for an upgrade. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, pool, beach
The weak points
The only weak point I can think of is if you get ignorant tourists there at the same time as you.

Tryp Cayo Coco.

, Montreal, QC
2016-06-18
We have good impression about this hotel in general but a few bottles in lobby bar we asked to drink,it was refused?!All included is all included,right?Rom*Havana club 7 old* for example,we like it with coffee but didn't even test.Also one person Edgar who works in the beach bar and now in the buffet trying to sell cuban sigars every time we visit hotel.we think this person should not work in the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Beach, Awesome Location

, Oakville, ON
2016-04-13
Hotel
It is an old, worn out hotel. I would recommend you keep this in mind and don't expect to have a Fancy 5 or 4 Star Hotel.
I can keep on & on about the things which needs to be taken care of, but, I will not, you can read some of them in the bad reviews mine is only about the good things Smile.

The Beach
My Family & I went to enjoy the beach and the sun and we did. We loved the Beach, we loved the diving and snorkeling in that location and it is literally few meters from the shore. They had a bad stormy winter season this year and a some of beach amenities were destroyed, but they are taking care of this now.

Staff
Most of the Staff are helpful and will greet you with a smile which is what you need when you are on vacation. Tips are expected for sure, but when you are treated well and served on time and with good quality, it is a deserved tip.

Animation Program
It was good, and the Animation team during the day is just Great doing their best to entertain and let every one have fun, they had a Karaoke night and I though it was quite fun. In general, there are things to do for all ages, young (Disco nights) and old mature.

Bar
The Cuban beer was actually quite good I heard people flattering it (Sorry not a beer person). The Whisky and Vodka (well, I had an impression I was drinking moonshine) Rom, specially the dark one was quite good, the light one was Ok too.

I was astonished though the they ran out of Dark ROM at the beach and pool bars on Saturday, Sunday and Monday April 9,10,11, so for those days we had to walk all back and forward to the main bar.

Food
Food in Cuba was never great but you will always find something which will fit you and your taste

The thing which I couldn't get during all of my stay is how come they never changed the bread toaster which was broken and this silly line up of people waiting for a miracle, I think this must ‘ve been taken care of for sure.

The Fried fish at the beach restaurant was quite good, they call it the fish of the day so the days we had lunch there were lucky with our pick. My son loved the Spaghetti and macaroni.

I am super sorry but I did not like any of the Buffet Sweet choice, I don't need the extra weight any way Smile [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing great beaches, lovely place for snorkeling and diving
The weak points
the hotel is really worn out, needs a lot of working.
Certified

Tryp cayo coco

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-03-12
Dated rooms, not the best finish, but clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was clean. Food was reliable, depending on selections. Didn't change it up enough. Good a la carte.
The weak points
Dated rooms and finish. Not bad, but let's you feel you've overpaid by 20-25%
Certified

Avoid if you have dietary restrictions

, Cochrane, ON
2016-02-20
The hotel is aging. The housekeeping staff and gardeners do their best. There is absolutely no concessions for individuals who are celiac, even at the "a la carte" restaurants there is no understanding of dietary restrictions. No real fruit juices or milk (only powdered). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The ocean is beautiful. The gardens are well cared for.
The weak points
The food, the juices, the toilets that did not flush in public washrooms, nothing to dry hands with in public washrooms, lack of wheelchair accessibility to the beach.
Certified

Decevant jusqu'au dernier jour

, Quebec, QC
2016-01-21
Mon dernier séjour au TRYP Cayo Coco
Déception jour après jour.
Séjour 2eme semaine de janvier 2016 :

Les points positifs : La plage de cayo coco, son eau cristalline, le service des cubains dans les restaurants et activités.

Les points négatifs :

Plage : Malgré la beauté de la place, les algues et autres détritus sont simplement poussé en arrière de la plage… vous aurez la tête dans une décharge de poubelle et les pieds dans du beau sable.
Chambre : Mobilier sale et cassé, salle de bains sale et désuètes, chasse d'eau fonctionnant 1 fois sur 3, pas de pression, pas d'eau chaude (ou à peine tiède) habituez-vous à vous doucher a l'eau froide avant de partir, moisissures dans le système de climatisation, les bas des murs et la tête de lit. Thermostat de climatisation non fonctionnel (glacial ou chaud… c'est à votre choix) insonorisation des porte zéro pointé, vous entendrez toutes les personnes (même les plus silencieuse) rentrer se coucher et claquer les porte car elles ne fermeront que comme ça.

Lieux communs : toilettes communes… bouchée plus de la moitié du séjour, pas de papier toilette, pas ou peu de savon. Jardin en rénovation, en chantier, ca enlève un peu de magie… pas de travaux de toute la semaine donc ça semble être des rénovations décennales…

Restaurants : correct en termes de qualité de nourriture, très bien en terme de service des employés… mais faut-il que les restaurants soient ouverts. Sur les photos des différents sites l'hôtel propose des grills a plusieurs endroits du site…visiblement ca doit être du photo montage car aucun des 4 grills ont été en opération durant la semaine.
Pour l'heure du midi vous aurez le choix du buffet ou du ‘'restaurant'' en bord de mer. Attention vous n'aurez pas le choix des 10 items qu'il y a sur la carte… il manque toujours un ingrédient…donc reste3-4 items…

Bar : je conçois qu'à la plage, à la piscine, les verres en verres sont bannis pour une question de sécurité. Par contre dans le lobby, le bar central doit avoir 25 verres disponibles… le reste vous devrez vous contenter de verre en plastique… ça n'a pas le même gout et cela enlève encore un peu de magie.
Ckeckout : Attention DANGER. A notre grande surprise nous avons dû payer pour des appels téléphonique de notre chambre effectués a 3:00AM et a 5:30AM sur plusieurs jours…pour des numéros cubains… visiblement je dois être bilingue espagnol dans mes phases de somnambulisme… de plus etant 5 personnes, nous avons rendu nos 5 serviettes… mais visiblement leur système informatique est aussi fonctionnel que l'eau chaude de la douche et ils nous réclament une 6eme serviette… donc 20CUC soit presque 30$cad pour un torchon délavé, taché ou déchiré. Nous avons protesté auprès de l'accueil, puis du manager… refusant de payer, ils ont déchargé nos valises du bus, nous menaçant de faire partir celui-ci, et nous causerait des problèmes pour nous rendre à l'aéroport ou embarquer dans l'avion. Protestant toujours sur cette façon de faire, nous nous sommes retrouvé entouré de la sécurité de l'hôtel… une belle forme d'intimidation.
Agent Air canada : nous avons expliqué au représentant sur place de notre problème, mais visiblement puisque nous n'avons pas participé à la réunion d'information le première journée et que nous ne l'avions pas sollicité durant notre séjour (donc pris d'excursion auprès de lui je présume), il ne pouvait rien faire… pour éviter de se retrouver coincé a Cuba, nous nous sommes acquitté du racket et sommes parti très déçu avec nos 3 enfants.

Conclusion : Cela faisait la 8eme fois que nous allions a Cuba (et dans la chaine mélia/sol/tryp) et cela a été la pire expérience de voyage. L'hôtel Tryp est une place a éviter a tout prix, malgré les bons prix que l'on peut trouver… on peut être tolèrent sur la qualité, aux services mais nullement a l'ARNAQUES, au RACKET et a l'INTIMIDATION. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plages si on fait abstraction des dechets derriere vos chaises
The weak points
Intimidation et racket

Yes I would go back!

, Renfrew, ON
2016-01-20
The staff are amazing. The rooms need some TLC. A lot of mould issues, but once we got a room change it was better. The pool area is very clean and nice and big. The beach is amazing, so beautiful. We never ran out of hot water. We did have problems with our converters. So we had an electrician come to our room so we could use our straightener. Mosquitos are horrible so bring some bug spray! The beach and pool make up for all the little issues!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool area is very clean. Beach is beautiful. Staff was great.
The weak points
Mould in rooms. Plug ins in rough shape.
Certified

Vacation to Tryp

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-01-07
Hotel was clean, rooms were clean, beach and pool were awesome. Some of the restaurants were closed during our stay. Food was good but gets monotonous to eat for 7 straight days. The local pop is terrible but the other drinks were ok. Overall I came for the beaches and relaxing, that's what Tryp offered. We did a day trip to Pillar beach which was nice (take bus or taxi not the excursion) also we flew to Havana for the day trip excursion which was a highlight of the trip and recommended if you want to see real Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
15 minutes from the airport, Beaches, Pool, Rooms are dated but clean Beach side grill was nice, Since Cayo Coco is only for tourist and no locals live there you didn't get pestered on the beach by people trying to sell you stuff
The weak points
Pop and quality of alcohol, Food was ok but needs more variety, Although lazy(whole point of being on vacation) it would have been nice to have beach servers to take drinks orders so you didn't have to go get your own.
Certified

Cuban Experience

, Fauquier, BC
2015-06-20
Older resort, (just like us),good service, happy we went as this was our first trip to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location on the beach, staff very helpful & friendly.
The weak points
Like most beach resorts the practice of reserving beach chairs by placing a item on the chair then leaving for a unlimited time is rude to the other guests at the resort.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020