Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar
3.883.883.883.883.88
3.88 based on 139 reviews
#4 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (83)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Nice resort, great people but the beach.....

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-23
Decent resort, compact design, everything was within an easy walk from the room. The food was pretty good, always two grills going, fresh fish on one, chicken and meat on the other. The bars are well stocked and the bar staff are great. The issue is the beach. The natural shoreline is rocky. There is a small sand area at the water land a boardwalk area for lounges. The boardwalk blocks the view of the water from the sand lounge area.
We like walking the beach but this is only possible during low tide. The resort is a 20 minute walk to Pilar Beach. Pilar Beach bass decent restaurant and bar. Prices are reasonable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people are amazing. The food is quite good with a decent selection. The rooms are okay.
The weak points
The only issue is the beach. Pilar Beach is excellent. If you don't mind a walk it's a good alternative.... But then it becomes a pay bar...
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear Donald, We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays. Amazing locations, professional staff, cleanliness and excellent standards of gastronomy are very important elements of our company and reading that you found them to your liking is brilliant news. Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Cuba March Break 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-22
All of the staff were very nice during our stay. The hotel room was big and clean. The hotel buffet food was ok for the most part, but the other specialty restaurants there had much better tasting food, some of which was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very easy to relax there. There is a 24 hour snack bar.
The weak points
The hotel buffet food could be better although breakfast offerings were quite good.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear guest, First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. The entire team is not only genuinely friendly but is also given continuous training of best service and working practices. We are therefore very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a wonderful impression on you. Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Good value for money

, Granby, QC
2020-02-29
Clean resort, extremely friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean public areas, very friendly and helpful staff, they make you feel that your important to them.
The weak points
The food was ok but not as big a variety as other resorts in Cuba that we have visited in the pass.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Henry, Thank you very much for your friendly review. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near fututre. Best Regards Quality Manager, Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Playa Pilar Review

, Tottenham, ON
2020-01-31
This hotel was a lovely place for my partner and I to relax and enjoy some sunshine. A short 20 minute walk to Playa Pilar was a definite bonus! The food was average, the staff friendly and the drinks delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-03
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impressions of your stay at our hotel. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests can appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our daily efforts aim to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort while soaking up the unique atmosphere. Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Great week at Iberostar Playa Pilar

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-25
This was my second time at this resort having travelled there December 2019. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds. the staff and the hotel itself . Hotel is totally accessible to scooters and all make an effort to accommodate travelers with disabilities with their kindness.
The weak points
The beach does tend to be rocky , water shoes needed . Once in the water it is nice white sand.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-29
Dear Mimi and Popi We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday. Every day is a new and exciting challenge for us as we work to provide our guests with a feeling of staying at a home away from home. Again we thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

NO GLASS AROUND POOL

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-20
NO GLASS AROUND POOL , LEADS TO BROKEN GLASS AND CUT FEET [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Allacart restaurants were excellent
The weak points
Should be no glass allowed around pool, no food allowed around pool to attract the seagulls , no smoking in lobby, people smoking right under no smoking signs , pool to cold to use
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-24
Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our paradise resort Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar. We are very pleased you loved our a la carte restaurants as exceptional cuisine is a prime pillar of our establishment. Our chefs will be heartwarmed to know their efforts were a highlight of your trip. On the other hand, we always welcome ideas from our guests, so we thank you for your comments. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and and we hope to see you again soon at one of our Iberostar resorts. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

One of the Better Resorts on the Cayo's

, Keswick, ON
2020-01-20
Hotel was nice. Beach was awesome. Food was meh (to be expected in Cuba). Service was good around the resort... with the exception of the Ranchon Snack Bar where both the service and the food quality, compared to the rest of the resort, is very poor.

Nothing overly memorable about the place, but we heard often it was the nicest resort in Cayo Coco/Guillermo. With it being so windy all week (seriously... wind all 7 days that shut down the beach activities centre the entire time), it was nice to have the pool area not being right off the beach as a respite from the wind. Our Swimout private plunge pool was a bit of a waste of money because of the wind, but the suite itself made up for it.

Asiatic a la Carte was awesome, and the Cigar Bar was perfect (and rarely busy). Forget the guys name at the Cigar Bar, but he was really cool, helpful, and makes the best drinks throughout the resort, bar none. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Boardwalk, Cigar Bar, Asiatic a la Carte, Housekeeping.
The weak points
Gourmet a la Carte is anything but gourmet, the wind can be relentless in early to mid January, and the Ranchon snack bar is a bit strange to figure out at first, and the service here compared to the rest of the resort is noticeably awful.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-27
Dear guest, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your rating. Although your comments show that in most areas we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our detailed service, we have taken your feedback on board regarding the concerns you raise as we are aware that we can only improve on the basis of constant dialogue with our guests. Again we want to thank you very much for sharing your review of our establishment and would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Great week in Paradise

, Stouffville, ON
2019-12-16
This was our eighth time in Cuba and the first time at this resort. We had a fantastic vacation. I have stayed at other Iberostar properties and this by far was the nicest. The lobby is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and spacious. The gardeners keep the grounds beautifully maintained. And for the first time in Cuba, we found a resort where the food was great. While the breakfast buffet was repetitive, the lunch and dinner buffets were different every night. They even served half lobster one night. While we were there we noticed that there were a handful of Iberostar Corporate people there and they made some minor tweaks that made the food even better. The drinks at all of the bars were great. If you do go, ask Marie Claire in the buffet for her Sangria. It beat out anywhere else on the resort. One night she told me that they did not have orange juice so she made it with peach and it was so good I drank 2. The A la Carte restaurants serve very good food. The Japanese is a must just for the show. The Star Camp (Kids Club) leaders were awesome and their mini disco at 8 pm was always different and really fun. The ladies were really great at engaging the children. The Kid's club property has a nice water park with shade. Overall it was a great week. I think I have found my resort to visit again and again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was very clean. Great Star Camp. The beach is lacking but they created a boardwalk with beach chairs and Bali Beds over the water which we found was better. Staff is awesome. Awards every night from the daily activities.
The weak points
Awards ceremony was great but late(9:20 PM) every night. It was hard for the younger kids from Star Camp to claim their awards. Due to the resort being 20% full we noticed some amenities were not available- Ice Cream bar, Sports Bar.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-23
Dear Allison, Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience. Finally, we thank you once again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Nicest hotel 800 meters from Playa Pilar

, Montréal, QC
2019-12-15
Best hotel so far after visiting Cuba forever . I am a travel agent.
I ranked the wifi but in truth I had my own cell phone hooked up to the roaming plan of my cable provider. Better than in Montreal .
The management is awesome and attend to requests immediately. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness, the staff the beach with its overwater Bali Beds
The weak points
Just a tiny gift shop but great prices
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-12-17
Dear Marie It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at our hotel and we really appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us and other travellers. The fact that we were able to impress you with our excellent standards in every area that characterise our company is of great importance to us. We are so glad you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Needs some improvements.

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-05
Overall, the resort is great. Room is clean despite some little bugs in the bathroom probably because of the heat.
The reception team is nice and always available, helpful. Bellboys are great as well. The service is great at the buffet. The restaurants are quite disappointing though. I don't see a difference on the meals. It is like the same foods that are in the buffet but more well presented on the plate.
and the service is too slow.
Cleaning lady is very nice and does nice decoration with the blankets such as rabbit, elephants,snakes.
The team at the swimming pool is friendly, nice. Dailene is super nice and professional . I love the fact that they speak English and French very well.
Wi Fi is not super strong, it logs me out often, not having signals in the room. I have to go to the reception to get better signals. I was located at the bungalow 11.
Location is great , beach is ok but a lot of corals, so it is complicated for the children to bathe. In the swimming pool and beach, it should have more shelters . the sun is everywhere all day , there are so many long chairs but not enough parasols. and people tends to leave their blue towels without being there to save the spot, which is not fair , so we don't have the choice to do the same. it is non sense.
Animation and shows are not very entertaining. I was expecting a beach party where you can dance, but instead it was just regular animation as the one in the theatre area. Very boring.
The kids club is terrible. My daughters, 8 and 5 have signed up for face painting and they were waiting in the playing room doing nothing but just waiting, and after an hour and a half, they couldn't do the face painting. They had an awful time where they were very disappointed. So they said that they don't want to go again anymore.they really didn't like it.
The food is bad. But apparently that what everybody said in Cuba. the food is not good. It is fresh but doesn't taste like real food. it is like imitation of everything. I have a stomach ache after 3 days until I leave.
All I can say is the service and team are great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is great, the team is always there and nice and professional.
The weak points
Kids club needs to be improved. Animations as well.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-09-11
Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret reading that your recent stay at Iberostar fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback with us. Firstly, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with our cuisine. Gastronomy plays a very important role in our hotel, it is fundamental to us that all our guests enjoy their meals during their stay. Furthermore, we apologise for the discrepancies that you found. We are sorry that you had this experience during your stay and apologise for any inconvenience due to the above. On the other hand we are glad to read that your have found our staff are highly trained professionals as they are renowned for their kind and competent manner. We trust that you have taken some great memories home with you from Cuba We would like to think that you will give us another opportunity and visit one of our many hotels in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-03
Having just returned from a one week trip to this hotel, I wanted write my review while my experience is still fresh in my mind. Just know that I don't have many positive things to say, so if you are looking for validation in choosing this resort, perhaps you should move on to another review.

Arrival at the resort - no bell boy to help with the luggage, had to wheel it to our building and carry up the stairs, not a big deal, but not what I have experienced at other resorts, including other resorts in Cuba. There seemed to be no shortage of carts, they were all parked in the lot, there was however, a shortage of drivers.

1st room - was very moldy. Spent one night in this room, 922 in block 9. The whole room smelled! The bedding smelled so moldy that I was having difficulty breathing and didn't sleep much that night. No coffee maker, no hand towels, dead roach (I get it, roaches don't freak me out, but this roach was dead and should have been swept away when the room was cleaned.) The pillow reeked and when I asked for another, I was told they didn't have one. The closet and drawers all smelled, but the fridge was the worst. Obviously this room had not been used in a long while and had not been properly prepared to receive guests. Needless to say we moved.

2nd room
We moved to room 937, in block 9. Much better, Perhaps because it was a top floor, end unit, the sun helped with the moisture, don't know, don't care. It was clean and equipped for guests. With regards to the move, Only one cart circulating and therefore still no carts to take us from the reception area, back to the room with the bell boy (minus a cart) to show us room 937 , no way I was moving until I saw and smelled, where I was going. We waited a good 20 minutes and decided to walk back to our building with the bell boy in tow. He had to come with us because he had the key to the new room. Not sure why they didn't just give me the key and let me have a look - go figure.

By the time the move was all sorted out, we'd lost the morning. No more room issues after the move. - The room was kept clean and well stocked. It's hotel policy to change the bedding on the third day of your stay.

Food - not great, you won't go hungry. The usual Cuban food review, repetitive, not very fresh. The fish was particularly sad. If you like fish - don't go to this resort. Had dinner at the Japanese restaurant, edible. The Mediterranean restaurant, well, what can I say, the fish was so old that it boarded on rotten. Took one bite and ate my veggies. Didn't eat at another al a carte for the rest of our stay.

Lots of coffee flavoured ice cream at a family resort - very odd given most kids don't usually have coffee anything, but perhaps they got a good price on it. After I raised my concern with one of the buffet staff, miraculously , chocolate, strawberry and caramel flavoured ice cream appeared in the freezer.

Beach - if you like calm. shallow waters, this beach is for you. Yes, we saw fish, including star fish (this was the highlight of my trip), but if you are expecting large quantities, and varieties of colourful, multi-coloured fish, sorry, not here.

Access to this beach is different, and I thought I might enjoy it until I got there. There is a boardwalk along the edge of the beach with beach chairs and beach beds on it. The beach beds were old and neglected and some didn't even have clean covers on them. Tried one and couldn't handle the bugs. If you decide to take a beach chair on the sand, your view of the water is obstructed by the boardwalk - its kind of frustrating to be on a beach and not be able to see the full expanse of the ocean before you. I didn't like if after all.

What else?

Pool - The pool area is fine, just be careful, the ground can be slippery. Had a day where they were out of pool towels by 9:30a.m. and had to use my room towels instead, which then let to a shortage of bath towels. This only happened once, but they are vary protective of the linens at this resort - I guess they are hard to come by.

Lighting - this resort is poorly lit, especially the path to the Mediterranean restaurant. This becomes a bigger issue when it rains, the paths are slippery and you can't see where you are going very well. At first glance, the light fixtures are in place and you think perhaps they just need light bulbs to be changed but they you realize, nope, they need to replace the light fixture and haven't for a long while. I raised my concern with the Manager of the Mediterranean restaurant and he assured me they would improve the lighting on the path to the restaurant, but I walk away knowing they wouldn't - it's just that kind of place. Pack a flashlight.

Bugs - plenty of them, seems like the resort does not spray. Take bug spray and spray always and everywhere. If you have an evening flight, spray before you head out to the airport because the mosquitoes will eat you alive on the tarmac and even on the plan.

Oh, no bell boy or cart to help with our luggage when we were checking out either.

This is not a 4.5 star resort, not even by Cuban standards, and if this is the best resort in Cayo Coco, perhaps Canadians should go elsewhere until the resort management team steps up - this resort is only 3 years old, but it has been greatly neglected. The staff do their best, but its obvious to anyone who takes the time to see, this place is in desperate need of a new management team. Until that happens, Canadians should stay away. For just shy of $1200 for a weeks stay (in the off season) , go elsewhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-09-06
Dear Fatima, On behalf of our team at Iberostar we would like to thank you for your feedback and also, apologise that we did not please you on this occasion. First of all we would like to reassure you that cleanliness is a priority at our hotel. Our rooms are cleaned daily following a strict hygiene regime so we deeply regret that you found this not to be the case in your first room and we will relay your comments to our cleaning department as we take such matters very seriously. Furthermore, our team of professional chefs strive on a daily basis to offer our guests the best possible selection of local and international food and regret that we did not completely fulfill your expectations. You can rest assured that we will investigate the areas of concern that you mention in your review and we thank you for the improvement possibilities that they provide us with. On the other hand, we are delighted to read of your pleasure with the beach situated next to our hotel and sincerely hope that you have taken some wonderful memories home with you from Cuba. We trust that Iberostar will remain in your holiday plans in the future and would be thrilled to see you again at one of our beautifully located establishments around the world. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Playa Pilar

, St Thomas, ON
2019-05-16
Hotel is clean ,staff is great, grounds are beautiful, but food is so so, and a lot of boards need to be replaced on the boardwalk. Beach is beautiful and snorkeling is great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean room, cleangrounds,and beautiful beach.
The weak points
Boardwalks and docks are in need of a lot of boards that needs to be replaced. Tripping hazard and someone's going to break a leg. After watching a staff member clean under there fingernails with a carving knife and them putting it back on cutting board
Certified

Great.

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-20
We were very satisfied with our recent vacation at Iberostar Playa Pilar. We will be back again!

Thanks,
Len [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Playa Pilar March Vacation

, Vaughan, ON
2019-03-20
We had a great time during March break as a family of three. The hotel is by walking distance to famous playa pilar beach which is a paradise. We went there 4 times in 7 days by walking from the road, the beach and by swimming. We had an amazing time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel entertainment team is great with lots of activities. The night dance shows were top class. The 11 dancers of the hotel are absolutely fantastic. The hotel is new with great beach facilities, bars and restaurants. We ate lots of fish. Good food.
The weak points
There was no hot water, not even warm for 2 days. The room is cleaning is not the best. Also, they don't often clean the cups and glasses from beach and pool area. Some public washrooms weren't clean. But, this is so typical in Cuba at other places, too.
Certified

Almost Heavenly

, Oshawa, ON
2019-03-10
The overall experience was very good. The hotel, rooms and grounds were
immaculate. The staff all pleasant and very helpful.
The location was ideal for you had a very pleasant man made beach and its a short walk along the water to the popular Pilar Beach. So many pools to choose from and lots of chairs.
There were 4 specialty restaurants. We could only choose 3 for a seven day stay. The food and service was exceptional. They were always saying its a new menu because they were serving what was available for food. Before you eat your hot dog on the beach grill, take a bite and see whats inside. I took 2 plain hot dogs and they were very well done. It tasted strange. It was not meat inside but looked like a gel. I threw them both out. Visit the Cigar Bar. You can get a drink without smoking or just walk in for its worth a look to see all the old pictures in the bar.
My best suggestion in regards to food is to get it freshly cooked at the stations. The tasted is much better.
Plenty of booze selection but if you wanted a better quality you have to pay and the price is not cheap per ounce.
I took a bad fall coming out of the pool. Be careful of the tile beside the plastic grill. Its very slippery. I landed on my shoulder and thought I broke it. Had to see the Hotel doctor. Saw children slipping falling. The rest of the pool platform is great to walk on. The hotel said we are the only ones to complain about this. My left arm is badly bruised and when people asked how it happened said they saw other people falling. Be careful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant hotel.The whole place shows well and is immaculate. Staff is more than helpful and will try to make your stay enjoyable.
The weak points
The main complaint is that they have this lovely boardwalk across the beach. Be careful. Lots of holes for you leg to go through or you can see lots of boards are cracked. You or your children could break and ankle or leg
Certified

Girls Trip

, Palgrave, ON
2019-03-08
My experience at this hotel was excellent! You don't go to Cuba for the food but the food here was actually quite good. The breakfast was lacking in some areas but you could never go wrong with an omelette and some toast. Lunch and dinner were both plentiful and delicious. We tried 2 a-la-carte restaurants (Mediterranean and Japanese) and they were both so yummy. This property is lacking a nice beach area but the boardwalks over the water provided a different aspect that the norm. Walking off the deck and into the crystal clear waters, you can see the white sand at the bottom, my jaw literally dropped it was absolutely stunning. The water activities were good and we went out kayaking into the water and with no waves we were able to maneuver easily. The walk to Pilar Beach is about 20min but you can somewhat swim over in the shallow water if you want. Our group of girls took some amazing photos along the way.

Front desk and reception at the hotel was excellent, very helpful when you needed something. The grounds around the hotel were lovely, well kept and had beautiful trees and flowering plants. The pools were nice although I don't think they had enough chlorine because they were always trying to clean the algae. We chose the lowest room category but they upgraded us to a seaview room with 3 beds which I must say was stunning. It was nice to have a seaview on the third floor. A few things in the room were damaged like handles on the closet doors, and the patio door as well. The bathroom in the room was good, some issues with the toilet flushing, I just think it took a long time to refill. Internet in the lobby was good, 1 CUC for 1 hour, but it's like that at all the hotels so nothing new. Our villa was close to the lobby so we were lucky to get wifi in our room. Even though this hotel is a bit farther from the airport it was nice to be much loser to Playa Pilar that the other hotels so it really just depends on what you're looking for as a traveller.

Now for the best part... the Entertainment Team! This hotels entertainment team is fantastic, they work so hard to make sure everyone is having fun all the time. From the games at the pool, beach and the evening shows they were all well executed. The entertainment team was always very energetic and dancing with big smiles on their face. A big shout out to Pedro, Darien and David! They made our vacation so much fun! We will definitely be coming back because of how they made our vacation so enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Entertainment team - Playa Pilar - Food is good for Cuba
The weak points
- Not enough chlorine in the pool (algae) - Not a beach front hotel
Certified

Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-17
Employees are very friendly, especially the entertainment staff, Mary, Eiser, Lionel, Pedro, Alexis,Osmar and Darien.
Special mention to Manuel the chair and lounge attendant.
Rafael the restaurant and bar supervisor was always available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees are very friendly, especially the entertainment staff.
The weak points
Cleanliness of the public washrooms. Always short of toilet paper and floors dirty.
Certified

Beautiful Beach, Disappointing Hotel.

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-29
First, I would like to mention this was not our first time to Cuba. We already knew that food wouldn't be the same quality as other Caribbean areas.

Beach: The Hotel beach was ok. You have a boardwalk to get into water. Clarity wasn't the best, all considering we did have some windy days. You can walk far out in the water without getting back your waist.Their was also nice variety of fish for snorkeling.

Playa Pilar Beach: Iberostar Playa Pilar is the closest hotel in Cayo Guillermo to this beach, which gives you the option to walk to it (around 20 minutes) or take a bus,compared to other hotels where walking is not an option.Sadly, the hotel charges you 5 CUC (Cuban Dollars) per person to bring you to the beach and back. I personally think that's too expensive when wanting to go there everyday.
The water is absolutely stunning! Reminded me of the Bahamas, Grand Cayman islands! Super clear and white sand beach.
You do have to pay for your chairs, food, drinks. Chairs are 2 CUC each or 10CUC for a bed in shade with 3 drinks included.
Or you can just place your towel on sand for free.

Hotel: Rooms could have been better maintained, Our remote control was partially defective(only half buttons worked even after changing batteries), The cleanliness was ok, but could of definitely been improved on, after a few days in room we noticed dust accumulating meaning they wouldn't wipe down surfaces when cleaning and our mini fridge was never getting replenished.

Food: The restaurants were good. The buffets could use some improving.
We stuck to foods that were cooked in front of us such as: omelettes, shrimp, fish, chicken etc. Doing this made meals a lot better, however the wait times were very long.

Unfortunately, they seem to be understaffed during busy hours which would cause us to wait long just for a glass of Coke, wine etc. If you go early upon opening it would be the best thing.
What also disappointed me was the pictures of the hotel when booking show beautiful high quality lounge chairs and furniture which they do not have anymore, were replaced with cheaper quality lounge chairs and etc. So that was a little misleading...

The front desk were always very accommodating and polite which was appreciated.


In all, if your looking for a beautiful beach as your priority, you cant go wrong with this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Playa Pilar Beach, Great Hard Working Staff.
The weak points
Food, Cleanliness of public washrooms. Uncomfortable Beds.
Certified

Iberostar Playa Pilar

, Regina, SK
2019-01-28
This resort was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The employees were great, from the entertainment team to the lobby bar, buffet, al a cartes, especially Japanese. Our cleaning lady Yusy was amazing!
The weak points
Bathrooms by the pool and the snack bar were not restocked with toilet paper and paper towel regularly. The beds were not the most comfortable!
Certified

Great vacation

, Calgary, AB
2018-09-25
Great waterfront
Great beach staff
No problem with the food
Cigar bar staff are really knowledgeable
Entertainment staff are amazing
Overall a great resort
4 th time to Cuba and still loving it there
Definitely recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing entertainment staff and beach bar crew Senor Denis,Israel and Alain thanks for a great experience You guys rock!
The weak points
Gift shop was in need of some supplies
Certified

HORRIBLE HOTEL

, Montréal, QC
2018-09-03
August 23 to August 30
Susan

This is my first time at this resort Iberostar Playa Pilar and it will be my last!!!! My friend and I had to change rooms 3 times due to cockroaches in the room and she found one on the bed, found huge bugs in the toilet!! I was so disgusted that I wanted to go home. I didn't pay 1425.00 to have roaches in my room and to get diarrhea from the food!!! I have been to Cuba many times and I have never been this sick. I arrived home yesterday and I'm still sick and I can't even go out!!!! Our room was never cleaned, we had toilet paper in the back of the toilet the whole time we were there. She never broomed or washed the floor!!! There was no pressure in the shower that I had to wash my hair in the freakin sink!! The buffet was not good, the only positive thing I can say about this resort is the entertainment team they interacted with everyone made sure we all have a great time!! Thank you to Mary, Keilan, Ronnie, Osmar and Alexis.
I would return only for the entertainment team but unfortunately I need to eat. If you want to lose weight I recommend this hotel because in one week I lost 8 pounds from all the diarrhea!!
We stayed at bungalow 5 room 519 and we still had roaches.
I have never seen roaches in any of my previous visits to other resorts in Cayo Coco
Please everyone read the reviews before you book and don't believe the travel agencies that say that any resort is 5 stars. This is cuba there are NO 5 Star resorts!!! I'm pretty sure they lie when they say they have been there and it's excellent!! They just want your money and don't care about you. I will never return to Cuba. I don't need to waste my money to get sick and have roaches in my room!! I caught a bacteria and im on medication. This resort is not recommended for anyone, but I have to mark something to post my ad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

I highly recommend this hotel

, Scarborough, ON
2018-07-02
This is our 5th stay at IPP and we wouldn't dream of going anywhere else. This place is absolute paradise. We have been fortunate enough to develop great relationships with the staff so we feel like we are going back to visit family. I highly recommend this hotel and will continue to support it on my future travels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is the main reason we go back! They are amazing! Very warm and personable and genuine. They are all very hard workers. The hotel is always kept very clean at all times.
The weak points
There is nothing bad I could possibly say about this hotel.
Certified

Relaxing stay

, Keswick, ON
2018-06-22
overall good service, buffet restaurant good sometimes food was not warm, rooms nice and clean, staff is working very hard to make gusts happy, lobby and beach bar vey good, grounds clean and nice we will be back . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms, lobby, very good staff (bartenders ,reception ,cooks , maids) beach/water,location
The weak points
pail of garbage behind building #14 and around catamarans
Certified

Great value for money

, Moncton, NB
2018-05-04
Staff was very friendly, pool was fun and size of the resort is perfect as you can get anywhere (pool, beach, reception, rooms) in a short distance walk. The beach is wonderful for snorkeling and a visit to Pilar beach is a must! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly, pool was fun and size of the resort is perfect as you can get anywhere (pool, beach, reception, rooms) in a short distance walk. The beach is wonderful for snorkeling and a visit to Pilar beach is a must!
The weak points
Very slippery around the resort. Kids club outside needed some TLC as there were broken items and lots of debris in the sand.
Certified

March 29 - April 05th 2018

, Pouch Cove, NL
2018-04-07
Great resort! My daughter and I recently traveled to the resort and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. I have been to other Iberostar resorts in Cuba and this one ranks right up there with the others. Never had any issues with the accommodations, food, or the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Would highly recommend the Japanese a la carte restaurant. Delicious and entertaining.
The weak points
The beach directly in front of the hotel is not the greatest, however they have compensated with the boardwalk. A short 12 minute walk though and you can be at Playa Pilar beach which is amazing!!!!
Certified

Iberostar Playa Pilar

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-05
Spent 10 days with small kids. Lots of activities during the day and at night so there is always something to do. The location is unique. Its not right at the beach but there is a beautiful pier with lots of room and the water starts off about 1 foot deep and stays shallow for a while. Beautiful beach area around 300 feet from the pier or you can walk to Pilar around 15 minutes. Walked a couple of times but never spent any time there. The ones at the hotel are perfect. Have been travelling every year for the last 20 years to different locations (4th time in Cuba) and the people at this resort are by far the best I have come across. Friendly and willing to do anything to make you smile. There is also an ice cream stand along with a guy making fresh churros every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment team is awesome (Alex, Lily, Rambo). Large clean rooms, grounds pretty, everything very well maintained.
The weak points
Food was good both at buffet and ala-carte restaurants. Buffet food could use a little more variety it gets boring after a week.
Certified

Excellent location

, Ajax, ON
2018-03-24
Beautifully located next to the Pillar Beach (12-15min walking distance). Staff are friendly, client oriented approach. Specialty restaurants are really good! Open buffet is ok. We stayed in room #0931, beautiful ocean view. Animation team especially the dance team is highly well trained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pure ocean
The weak points
Main open buffet restaurant is not always clean.
Certified

Ibérostar Playa Pilar

, St Catharines, HA
2017-03-19
A wonderful stay. Staff were lovely, food was reasonable, facilities great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facility, staff, location
The weak points
WiFi, Beach size
Certified

Stuff made our vacation unforgettable

, Saint Thomas, ON
2016-11-29
Newer hotel, excellent entertainment team at pool side..
Great pool.
Had fantastic 8 days 3 weeks ago
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rDgzPhhNx4&t=311s [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Stuff
The weak points
no real beach, just a nice board walk

Awesome Vacation Destination

, Bowmanville, ON
2016-05-24
This resort is a must see! Only open for 4 months and it is beautiful!
We requested a ground floor room but were given a 3rd floor room with an ocean view (which is usually an additional charge). The staff are very friendly and try their best to speak English as much as possible. We went away with the anticipation that the food would not be good but were very surprised to find that the food was really good. They have made to order fresh meat and fish stations where they cook to order. There is also made to order pizza, pasta and at breakfast omelets and pancakes/french toast.
I definitely recommend walking from the resort, in the ocean, to Pilar beach. It is about a ten or fifteen minute walk and the water is shallow enough that you can stay in all the way there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is very clean - didn't see a single cockroach. Food is good. Staff is very friendly.
The weak points
Not much of a beach.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020