Pullman Cayo Coco

Pullman Cayo Coco
4.114.114.114.114.11
4.11 based on 539 reviews
#2 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (246)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Awesome

, Grand Sault, NB
2020-03-19
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room and other facilities were very clean. Food was good. Service was also very good. The beach was amazing.
The weak points
None.
Certified

Hotel review

, Maple, ON
2020-02-26
We liked everything except luck of wifi [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pullman Cayo Coco - first time in Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-21
Fantastic hotel, great friendly staff, delicious food, awesome entertainment. The quick drive from the airport was an added bonus, as well as the beautiful ocean just steps away. The adults only section is a wonderful escape for people just looking for quiet and relaxation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We have always been hesitant to visit Cuba but our experience at Pullman was perfect! We will be back!
The weak points
There was a bit of construction/maintenance around the pool area which is why it only received 4/5. The only other improvement I could think of would be to offer free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.
Certified

Family Vacation at the Pullman Cayo Coco

, Woodbridge, HA
2020-01-30
We were travelling in a group of 8 people (5 adults and 3 kids)

Check in - was smooth, no issues, they gave us the rooms we requested when we booked

Food - large variety of food for both kids and adults. Fish everyday, pasta, pizza, burgers, etc
My only issue with the buffet, was they had no kids area for food, which was a challenge. We did have to wait in line at the buffet to get pasta (which the kids loved) but we would have to wait at least 20-30 mins. They didn't have pasta already where you could serve yourself. That being said, the pasta was delicious.

Beach - was beautiful and lots to do for the kids and family. Free catamaran on the resort, volleyball, basketball, tennis, ping pong. Pools were super clean and always games for the kids to play
Lots of chairs, we did reserve ours, but there were so many.
You can also take long walks on the beach which was nice
We did encounter some jellyfish but they didn't sting, so no issue

Rooms - beautiful, big and super clean. I loved the bathroom, where you can shower and bath at the same time :)

Last time I was in Cuba was 10 years ago, they really stepped up there service and food quality. I went not having high expectations, but I was pleasantly surprised how good everything was

Entertainment - was average, some nights were good, some were a bit boring (only when they did stuff with the audience - that was 2 nights out of the 7)

Overall great trip, only 10 mins from the airport! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was beautiful, food was tasty
The weak points
Need a children's area for the buffet. Hard to wait in line for mains like (fish, meat and pasta)
Certified

Rapport qualité-prix à revoir

, Québec, QC
2020-01-08
Le séjour était correct mais n'a pas correspondu à nos attentes. Selon notre avis, l'hôtel est un bon 3.5 étoiles et non un 5 étoiles.
L'hôtel en général (installations extérieures, aires communes) est négligé et mal entretenu: l'ameublement du lobby est sale et usé, des carreaux de céramique des piscines sont manquants, les accès en bois (passerelles vers la plage) sont défraîchis et la peinture est élimée, la propreté est généralement défaillante. Le site le plus impropre est la salle de restauration du buffet: les murs sont souillés d'éclaboussures de nourriture, les pattes des chaises sont sales. Un matin, il y avait encore des saletés de la vieille à terre, mêlées à 2 mégots de cigarettes dans un coin (???). Les machines à café automatiques coulaient régulièrement et il était fréquent de voir des guenilles à terre pour absorber l'eau. Aux heures de pointe, il manquait régulièrement d'assiettes et nous n'avons jamais réussi à avoir un ustensile de service par plat (il fallait utiliser le même ustensile pour plusieurs plats car il manquait toujours de cuillères ou de pinces pour se servir). Le buffet était très abondant avec beaucoup de variétés de poissons, viandes, fromage, salades, etc. Tout n'était pas toujours très bon mais c'était varié pour Cuba. Par contre, c'était répétitif midi et soir. Aucune thématique.
Mention spéciale au buffet du 31 décembre qui était spectaculaire autant au niveau du montage que des choix de plats (abondance de fruits de mer; langoustes, crevettes, pétoncles, couteaux, etc., charcuteries, fromages, viandes: cochon entier, cuisse de bœuf rôtie, etc.)
Les restaurants étaient impeccables, joliment décorés, au goût du jour, avec un personnel appliqué et courtois et un service très professionnel. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié d'autant que c'était très bon (français, italien et cubain très bons mais japonais plus ordinaire). À savoir: les heures et le choix de restaurant sont pré-déterminés au check-in, c'est un peu difficile de faire des changements mais en insistant un peu, nous y sommes arrivés. Donc gros écart de qualité entre le buffet et les restaurants.

La chambre était propre et semblait récemment rénovée. Confortable et agréable. Nous avons choisi côté "lagon" mais le lagon est un bras d'eau qui ressemble plus à un canal qu'à un lagon... Par contre, c'est le coin le plus tranquille. Les femmes de chambre sont particulièrement dérangeantes le matin au moment de leur tournée de nettoyage. Tôt le matin, elles se parlent d'une chambre à l'autre assez fortement sans égard à la tranaquillité des clients.
Il y a une basse-cour sur le site de l'hôtel: nous étions situés proche et il y avait un coq qui chantait à n'importe quel moment de la nuit, et un autre volatile lui rendait sa chanson, La première nuit nous avons trouvé cela comique mais rendu à la fin du séjour, on n'était plus capable d'entendre le chant du coq aux petites heures du matin (3h, 4h, etc).

Les 2 spectacles auxquels nous avons assisté étaient très bien, menés par des professionels du spectacle (la soirée brésilienne était réussie). Les petites prestations musicales dans le lobby au moment de l'apéro étaient sympathiques et plaisantes également. Pour ce qui est des animations de l'équipe de l'hôtel, elles sont conformes à ce que l'on peut avoir dans un tout-inclus si on aime les activités de partys autour de la piscine l'après-midi.

La plage est belle et propre, le sable est fin et blanc, aucune algue. Il y a des chaises longues en abondance et c'est la première fois où nous n'avons pas besoin d'aller réserver nos chaises le matin puisqu'il n'en manque pas à aucun moment de la journée.

Nous nous sommes fait dire à quelques reprises que le Pullman était un des 3 meilleurs hôtels de Cayo Coco. À la suite de notre séjour, nous nous questionnons sur la prestation des autres hôtels de cayo coco ou si simplement la réputation/classification du Pullman n'est pas surévaluée - à moins peut-être de se loger dans la section Collection qui semblait réellement être de catégorie 5 étoiles... Bien que le séjour fût agréable en général, nous ne pensons pas retourner au Pullman. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Plage belle, grande et propre - Quantité suffisante de chaises longues (neuves) - Pina colada au bar du lobby - la qualité des restaurants - Chambre confortable et agréable
The weak points
- Le manque d'entretien des installations extérieures - L'état général des aires communes surtout au buffet (sales ou négligées) - Personnel courtois mais sans plus - la basse-cour et le coq dans la nuit

Pullman Cayo Coco

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-26
One of the best Resorts I have stayed in Cuba, the room was huge plenty of space very clean, amazing views, well located, amazing cleaning staff.
Pool ground are very well kept, grass always cut, trees trimmed, very clean grounds. The bar men, well knowledge on the drinks . I found that the workmanship for a 4 year old Resort was poor but that might have to be with the contractor NOT Pullman Staff. I will always recommend this Resort to any one..... I love it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing lobby, rooms, ground, pools, beach, staff, and the entertainment staff the best I have seen
The weak points
I would hope that the food would be more of a variety if possible, if not, then its ok, plenty of food.
Certified

First Time Visit to Pullman

, Mississaugua, ON
2019-10-25
Just spent a fabulous week at this hotel. Spent most of our time swimming in the ocean. You can't beat the beaches in Cayo Coco. The evening entertainment was phenomenal! We especially welcomed our afternoon breaks in the air-conditioned Cigar bar with Ernesto and Alexia. Internet connection was sporadic. Wished Rogers had a Roam like home plan like Bell and Telus to be able to communicate with home. Enjoyed the French restaurant but also had reservations at the Italian and Japanese restaurant. The buffet offered an abundance of choices. Hotel was understaffed in restaurants but wait staff worked their best, always with a smile to serve guests. Kudos to them! Check out horseback riding on the beach with Jaicel and his horses. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Ernesto in Cigar Bar Evening entertainment
The weak points
Italian restaurant Wifi
Certified

Awesome week at Pullman Cayo Coco

, Lakefield, HA
2019-10-25
I spent a week in late October at the Pullman and had the best experience. There were 4 adults in our group and this being our first time at this resort, we could not find fault with anything. There were a large number of Canadians during our week there, both French and English speaking and all guests were friendly and inclusive. I especially appreciated the beautiful beach and abundance of shade covers and loungers as we spent so many hours on the beach and in the ocean. Aside from the disco which I did not go to, the nightly entertainment was awesome and plentiful, the best I have seen at an all inclusive resort. All the staff without exception were so friendly and seemed to love their jobs.The Buffet was great and the three specialty Resorts were really good as well. The Italian Restaurant was very under staffed and slow service due to a wedding we believe but the food was good. Our accommodation was really nice, quiet and comfortable. I have been to many All Inclusives and rarely go back a 2nd time but plan to return to the Pullman for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Staff and Entertainment
The weak points
Slow service at one Restaurant but due to a Wedding so not normal I think.
Certified

Review Pullman Cayo Coco

, Burlington, HA
2019-08-06
Good:
Food was good. Great location. Beautiful beaches. Awesome entertainment and activities. Good size bedroom and clean.
Hotel is clean.

Bad:
Bartenders have very poor customer services. Lack of supervision. People wait head-shakingly long for food. Needs improvement. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good. Great location. Beautiful beaches. Awesome entertainment and activities. Good size bedroom and clean.
The weak points
Bartenders have very poor customer services. Lack of supervision. People wait head-shakingly long for food. Needs improvement.
Certified

Great Time

, Montréal, QC
2019-08-03
Overall had a great time at this hotel with no complaints. Been to Cuba 9 times and this is one of the better hotels, although a little over-priced. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean hotel; great lobby with a great view of the grounds; spacious rooms and bathrooms; air-conditioned eating areas at the snack bar; nice piano bar; great coffee bar.
The weak points
Buffet food the same every night of the week. Been to other hotels in Cuba where every night was a theme night with food to match the theme, e.g., Mexican, Seafood, Italian, etc. Also, snack bar ran out of hotdogs for 6 days and no pizza for 2 days.
Certified

Pullman Cayo Coco

, Stoney Creek, ON
2019-06-24
The hotel was excellent; the view from the lobby was amazing. The resort was well designed, with breathtaking views and surrounded with very beautiful gardens. The entertainment was enjoyable, and the staff was very approachable and helpful. The food was very good. Ocean front room was very spacious; had excellent view from balcony, bed was comfortable, and shower was great! Will visit this resort again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beach, lots of pools to swim in, great food, comfortable rooms, and helpful staff.
The weak points
We sat outside in the evenings, enjoying the bands play cuban music, and wished the bands played longer!! (the 45 mins was too short- from 8:30-9:15pm)
Certified

June2019 Pullman Cayo Coco resort

, Montréal, QC
2019-06-14
1.Cleanliness
2.mid size resort withe everything so close only a short walk to the lobby,pool, restaurant s,beaches.
3.have elevator at the lobby and wheelchair accessible.
4.friendly staff.
5.cuban live band musics day and night.
6.foods are plenty and good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness,close to the beaches and other premises like restaurants,lobby, pools, theater.foods are plenty and good.
The weak points
Small swimming pool.beaches are nice but quite rocky at the edges.
Certified

First visit to Cuba

, Milton, ON
2019-06-01
The hotel staff was very friendly and eager to make our stay pleasant. We stayed on the adult side of the hotel (The Collection). It's perfect if you are looking for a quieter vacation experience, while having full access to the entire resort when you choose. The French and Cuban restaurants had the best food, and the cigar bar made the best gin and tonic. Overall I would go back to this resort again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
I found the quality of the alcohol weak. It cost extra peso's to get better quality drinks
Certified

PULL my leg MAN

, Scarborough, ON
2019-05-23
Was at the Pullman in Cayo Coco a couple of weeks ago. This was a recommendation from a friend. I have been to Cuba 6 times and know the drill. Usually get a kick out of reading complaints but this time we had the issues. Overall the place was nice. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly for the most part. We found the food lacking but the service was good. We had a sweet little girl helping us out daily in the buffet. The pool was dirty and the grounds were a little sketchy. Obviously the hurricanes took their toll. So that's understandable. What we couldn't get over was our rooms keys deactivating 3 times so 3 trips to the lobby at all hours. There was no diet cola to be found on the resort. Although after 5 days we bumped into a server at the pool who went on a mission and found us a large bottle and gave it to us. This way we could have a drink on our balcony after our day. That guy scored himself a few nice shirts and some body wash and deodorant the next day. I usually bring down a little care package for a certain individual who makes an impression.One day there was no beer and then the next no ice. Although not a show stopper these are the basics for any bar(s). We only received bar service in our room 2 days which again gave us no drinks prior to dinner. Again not the end of the world but it would have been nice and part of our package.. We were also fortunate e to situated across from a rooster pen. That was a bit of a drag as the rooster went off at any time even at night. The ala carts were good although no ice or diet cola. After all of that we still tipped everyone and tried to stay positive. Always had a good time in Cuba. This place was certainly not a 4.5 star resort. I know it's low season but a few things just came off as low budget. After all that we still love Cuba and their people. We will be back some day but its time to set our sites a little higher. Thanks for reading...J [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, cold air. Nice beach and great weather. Awesome rock show one night.
The weak points
Food was so basic, no beer at times, no ice at times, no diet cola, poor bar service, bad room keys, no piano player in the piano bar.

Nice Stay At Pullman Cayo Coco

, Oakville, ON
2019-05-21
Went to celebrate my son's 16th birthday, who wanted a vacation just to "chill". He got what he asked for. It was hot and sunny and the beach was beautiful. The water was really warm and calm so we could swim everyday. The hotel is clean, the room was nice (yes the beds are firm but it is what we prefer) and the food is just fine. Enjoyed a fresh fruit/smoothie or an omelette made to order each morning. Lots of options for lunch - pizza, hot dogs, burger, pasta, fruit, veg - there was something for everyone - anywhere you wanted it - indoor buffet, at the pool or at the beach. For dinners we had sea bass cooked to order on the nights at the buffet and went to the japanese (ok), cuban (really good) and italien (also good) on the other nights.
Can't speak to the entertainment as it is not our thing.
It rained about half the time for short periods but generally in the evening on the way back from dinner so we didn't care. Had one major day of rain in the afternoon - torrential sideways rain and thunder which was great for anyone who enjoys a good storm! The staff took it all in stride and by the next day, you would never have known. Side benefit was lots of shells on the beach the next morning.
Went on the Jeep Off tour (snorkelling in the am and over to the mainland in the afternoon for some "off roading" up the mountain to a look-out, a good cuban lunch, a crocodile farm and then a stop for the best pina coladas on the way back (driver not included)....
Went to Cuba (Santa Lucia) close to 16 years ago and hated it. The Pullman changed my mind on this country. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is great! - snorkelling, kayaking, swimming, walking, chillin'...
The weak points
You need to go to Cayo Coco to chill and relax. Not much else to do other than enjoy the beach and the resort. If you are looking to get a feel for the life and culture in Cuba, you need to go to Havana.
Certified

Amazing week

, Dartmouth, NS
2019-03-22
Stayed on the Collection side which gives you the best of both sides. Resort size is good, easy to get around.
Pools in both sizes are very clean.
Looking forward to returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort staff very friendly & helpful. Food in restaurants good; Japanese experience my favourite.Beach is AMAZING.
The weak points
It is difficult to think of any weak points. Maybe, have more authentic food in speciality restaurants.
Certified

Best Resort and Staff Ever

, Lower Sackville, NS
2019-02-17
Three out of 4 of us that were there last year came back this year. The other had a personal issue and sadly couldn't come but we did bring 3 others with us. It's hard to begin when everything was so perfect. First there was a man that does the Pullman games and MC's at the shows named Allen. My husband gave him a hat last year and an half hour after we arrived this year we ran into Allen and he remembered us and was so happy to see my husband again.He actually spent his off time this year hanging out with us in the lobby, at the Disco and the threatre. We really got to know each other on a personal level this year. Also the beautiful woman Yeisy Morgado Martinez who runs the kids club also remember us from last year. She was ahead of us with her back to us when I called her name and when she turned around and seen it was us the beautiful smile on her face and how she came running to us I will always remember as the highlight of this trip. We also got to know her better too this year. The overall service at this resort from the bar staff, registration, housekeepers,gardeners,entertainers etc is a 10plus all the way. It is because of the people that work at this resort is the reason we will be going back very soon.
We stayed in the collection suites this year and I can't think of one thing I would change and would recommend it to anyone that wants a beautiful vacation. The beach and pools are second to none.
The food in Cuba gets a bad rep cause there is nothing I wouldn't eat and I'm a fussy eater. I tried so many new foods and am really surprised at the foods I now like because of this. I wish we could have their French fried and pizza here in Canada cause they were the best ever. The al Carte restaurants were so good.
My son and his wife went with us for their first time and are thinking of going back in April. They travel all over and now only want to go back and explore Cuba.
We did 2 excursions and I love the history the tour guides give of Cuba along with all the places they take you.
The very best part was when Allen and Yeisy recognized us as before we left for the trip all my husband talked about was he couldn't wait to see them again and his mother told him they probably wouldn't remember him but they did and that made our trip. Thanks you to all the staff at the Pullman Cayo Coco for another amazing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, food, entertainment, every is perfect
The weak points
the wind but only mother nature can control that
Certified

YOW-613 23 AMAZING stay - see what I did here AA?

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-01
We just came back from a week ( I know, too short ) stay at the Pullman Cayo Coco and we loved it! We have been thinking the whole day on when we are going to be able to go back. It is the best resort we have stayed in Cuba!
Bonus points! No time shares people harassing you!

Summary: Pullman is a 5 star Cuban resort with 10 Star people! Pullman without its amazing people would just be a hotel. Pullman people is what made us feel welcome, like at home, and really looking forward to go back.

WARNING, LONG REVIEW AHEAD:

The Resort is conveniently located 15 to 20 minutes away from the Jardines del Rey airport ( check it out in google maps, it is really close!) so an added advantage is that when you arrive to Cayo Coco and you get the transfer from SunWing, Transat or Air Canada, you are the first one to get to your resort! There is no “2 hour bus ride” after a long flight and dealing with Cuban immigration like some other resorts ( I am looking at you Cayo Santa Maria), in 15 minutes you will be enjoying your mojito at the resort! This also applies on the departing day, you will be the latest one to be picked up! So you have extra time on your day to enjoy the resort!

Now when you come in at the lobby, the ocean view from there is AMAAAAZINNGGGG, we quickly checked in and decided to have a Mojito, we looked at the lobby bar and it was crowded, I was expecting to have to beg for a drink (like it happened to us in our stay in Varadero) but amazingly enough the bar tenders quickly approached us asking us what we wanted to drink.
The bar lobby staff were always extremely busy, but they were super quick to get to you all the time! Kudos to Arlent who was super quick to offer us our first Mojito and was always there for us. Everet who put up with us and out crazy stories and “la tia”. All the guys in the lobby bar were super professional even though they are super busy and I am sorry for not remembering all the names, Yuniesky (sorry, I know I am misspelling your name, I apologize) was also always there for us as. Lin and Ricardo who worked untiringly to make us happy I enjoyed quick conversation even though you were extremely busy and had hundreds of other clients.

We barely made it to the buffet and thought we will have to go to bed empty stomach but she welcomed us and even thought it was almost the end of her long shift she took care of us as if we were her first clients of the day, I am sorry for not remembering your name, but you have two sons, one works for the hotel too in the buffet and the other just turned 16, you work in the tables at the entrance, thank you for making us feel welcomed on our arrival and during our stay.

The food at the buffet was very good, which was really surprising to us due to our previous experience in Cuba. There were always fresh fruit, I ate all the Papaya every day ( or “fruta bomba” as I learnt later hehe), cheese assortments, ham, bacon, scrambled eggs, custom made omelettes for breakfast, and variety of food for lunch and dinner. The food at the buffet was really good, but buffet will always be buffet food due to its inherent challenges: keeping the food warm which eventually gets overcooked, which gets solved by serving fresh cooked food (like the grill section) but then you get long lines. In my experience in all my travel and cruises all buffets have this same problem and that is kind of expected when eating at a buffet ( The lines for the omelettes were surprisingly fast and quick though). I would give the buffet 5 stars considering the “Cuba” factor, I know that there is sometimes lack of items or ingredients in Cuba, but I never felt something was lacking in this buffet. Kudos to Roberto for keeping this super challenging buffet running smoothly and to all his team and for always greeting us with a smile, I was really surprised to see that he recognized my “chapulin” t-shirt! It was really nice talking to you and thank you for making us feel welcomed!

HIDDEN GEM for lunch, try the “Casa Campesina” or “Cuban House” (It's the same place). This restaurant requires a reservation for dinner, but you can go there for lunch without reservation! The lunch there is A-MA-ZING literally! It is the best lunch in the hotel, we were there for lunch almost every day (except for a couple of days where the place was reserved for lunch for some kind of “famous” baseball guy that we did not know who he was, all I cared was my tostones!)

I would even dare to say that the lunch food at the “Casa Campesina” is better that the night food with reservation at the same “Casa Campesin”. Don't get me wrong, the night food was awesome too, but for my personal taste it was too refined for me, too gourmet, tiny little cute portions perfect for an Instagram or Facebook picture….. but the lunch, oh my god, the lunch! It is tasty, filling, the pork, the tostones, the SOOOOUUUUP! The guanabana ice cream! Everything reminded me of when I was a kid and that authentic, un-pretentious kind of food made me feel at home. Kudos to Rodelmis his two colleagues and the cooks there. Rodelmis was always patient with us (remember we were there almost every day), sorry man for eating all the Tostones, I confess, it was me. Thank you Rodelmis for your patience, attention to detail and for ALWAYS making us feel welcomed and at home.

Want another Hidden Gem? The pool bar, it has the best pina coladas and the best mojitos! People literally line up for them! Thank you Omelio, Miry, Osmar and Ignacio for your amazing drinks and hard work, your efforts for providing outstanding and consistent drinks all day for us and thank you for your friendship. I had such a great time at the pool bar that I have asked Omelio if he wants to be my Cuban uncle lol

We also tried some of the Specialty restaurants at night:
- The Cuban, the food was delicious but too refined to my taste, I was expecting some “ropa vieja” or something authentic, as mentioned before we found tiny little portions perfect for Instagram. I preferred the lunch menu to be honest with you.
- Japanese Restaurant: The cooking show is entertaining and the food delicious. The tempura and soup appetizers were delicious. The main dish portions were generous, filling and delicious. Service was excellent but sadly I don't remember her name.
- La Perla ( I think it was French): we tried the beef and the lamb stew, both delicious and filling. I would like to highlight Jayi's service, she patiently gave us recommendations and she was really polite ( I think she is the most polite person I have found in Cuba, Jayi and Rodelmis at the Casa Campesina are excellent hosts!)

We also spent a great deal of time at the beach, Cuban Beaches are the best! Believe me I have been in Cartagena, Florida, Puerto Rico, Haiti, Jamaica, Cozumel, Cancun, and NOTHING BEATS the Cuban Beaches, calm waters, pristine beaches, translucent water and you can actually see the fish, nobody harassing you selling you stuff. The beach attendants were always quick to point us to available chairs and to clean them up for us, we never felt pressured to tip them ( like in Cancun, I felt almost harassed in Cancun ) and I wish I was able to talk more with them.

At the beach we had a lot of fun at the beach with the eastern bar staff, the Red Cross Life Guards and the animation staff (more on the animation staff later). Sunny beaches are awesome, we worked on our tan, but can you believe that one of our BEST days in Cayo Coco, was a really cold and rainy day? Beach was closed, it was raining and there was nobody in the pool because it was too cold, we were casually walking to the beach and since there was nobody there we decided to strike a conversation with the life guards, it was the most terrific afternoon! We talked about music, tv shows, culture, jokes had a blast! Kudos to the Red Cross life guards Fis, Martinez and Sopa (I asked around but nobody wanted to tell me your real name), it was really nice to talk to you guys while the beach was closed, thank you for your friendship and the wonderful conversations. Now I am downloading “Havana de Primera” from Alex Abreu, thanks to music recommendations from Fis, top notch singer!

Now, animation…. I am an introverted nerdy person (not shy at all, introverted, it is different), “leave me alone” kind of guy and I usually ignore the animation part and activities for a more relaxed approach. Usually it is me, my book, and sometimes I talk to my wife lol.

However, this time I had a really good time with the animation team and I miss them so much already, they motivated me to participate in a few games, the Aqua Gym (not a sports guy so I was surprised) and I even sang a couple of songs in the Karaoke! They were really fun, engaged, entertaining and always willing to speak to you and answer your questions. Thank you guys for being awesome and for giving us the pleasure to be your friends, share some time with you and for making us feel at home.

The animation team have really long shifts, but they are always energetic, happy to see you and happy to welcome you. Being at the beach, at the pool, Karaoke, Disco, or casually having a conversation with you in the lobby it was always a pleasure to see one of you guys, if the Pullman Cayo Coco resort was a human body, you guys would be the heart, you are the life of Pullman, without you guys Pullman would be just a “hotel”. You guys are a breath of fresh air to us and we enjoyed every second we spent with you. From making everybody enjoy the resort in different ways, from being funny, showing us some salsa moves (you still have to show me some bachata hehe) and even having some more deep conversations and the most important offering us the pleasure of your friendship.

- Bruno and Amazing Ahmed thanks for making us laugh so hard (if you see Bruno, ask him to show you the sexy dance moves from Moron)

- Geiny, Betty and Yuris (she reminds me of my little sister, a bit crazy but extremely fun), thanks for all the moments spent with us, for all the fun and for your friendship. Yuris, thank you for singing with me at the Karaoke and for showing me that catchy Portuguese song “ai se eu te pego” (google it, it is really catchy). Miss you guys a lot and I wish we had more time to talk more with you!

- Vladimir, thanks tio for putting up with us and our silly jokes, thanks for the amazing music and for your friendship.

- Choco and Charlie, amazing conversation about music, Polo Montanez and Maluma ( Charlie, I still prefer Polo than Maluma hehe )

- Baby Jr: You amazed me with your level of knowledge of my country and its history, you know more about it than us! Thanks for your genuine interests in other people's cultures, I will miss talking with you.

I know I am missing some people, for instance Yanelis, Mia, Liuba, Pocahontas and Geisy, I wish I had spent more time at Pullman so I could spend more time with you guys.

- Honorary mention: Fis (Fiki, LifeGuard), I think he should be part of the animation team I would go to the beach just to see what was Fis subject of the day (music, dance moves, jokes, etc). Really awesome to talk to Fis. Miss you bro.

In summary, I think Pullman is a 5 star Cuban resort with 10 Star people! Pullman without its amazing people would just be a hotel. Pullman people is what made us feel welcome, like at home, and really looking forward to go back.

What can Pullman improve? Note this is not a complaint, we had an amazing time at Pullman and there are always things to improve, I just want to see you guys succeed even more!

In my opinion, Pullman is a 5 stars resort when compared with Cuban resorts, and my rating reflects this. I think it is amazing all you achieve considering the well known realities of the country. I hope Pullman can become a real 5 star World Class resort. Comparing Pullman with other resorts outside Cuba, I would say it is 4 or 4 1/2 stars.

Some examples of things you can improve:

- Check in: We arrived late in the evening, were given our room number and signaled the building in a tiny map. The hotel might be familiar to you, but not to us. We were jet lagged, left alone to find our own way, in an unknown and dark place, it took us a while to find our room. 2 minutes later the bell boy shows up with our luggage.
- What I would like to happen instead at the reception: Hey guys, I know it is late and you are probably tired, here is a mojito while the bell boy GUIDES you to your room ( added value, to guide someone to your room, and maybe during the walk doing a hotel introduction and showing where is the buffet and 24 hour snack bar -people that arrive late are usually hungry- this has more perceived value than just carrying the bags and it does not take more time).

- Long lines for the grill items at the buffet and outdoor buffet: I only tried the grilled food once because I preferred to spend time sharing with family and friends rather than in a line up. I don't know if this even has a way to improve since buffets have inherent challenges.

- Better handling of expectations when amenities reserved for private events: We had lunch at Casa Campesina almost every day except 2 days. We came in as always, took seat and then we were told the place was reserved for some apparently famous baseball guy that I don't know or care, all I cared about was my Tostones! Okay, best and favorite restaurant is reserved one day, no big deal, the guy reserved it after all. Next day? SAME THING! We were sadly kicked out again and we were left tostones-less.
- What I would like to happen instead: We arrive at Casa Campesina, and there is a small sign that says “Closed for private event, today and tomorrow from Noon to 2 PM”. That's it, just a sign! Clearly managing customer's expectations!
- By the way, Kudos to Nadia and Yanquiel at the Quality office for quickly, calmly and professionally de-escalating the situation, sorry guys, we were frustrated and felt kicked out, and we were missing the amazing tostones so much.

Some other things to improve that you definitely don't see in a world class 5 star resort:

- Comment from someone at casa campesina (not any of the servers): “estos ahora la cogieron a venir todos los dias o que ?” very un-professional, even if I did not understand Spanish. In general be very, very, very careful before talking BS in Spanish, people understand more than you think.
- Yelling in the building our room was: “hey, xxxxx, come here!” - answer “no lo dejan cagar tranquilo a a uno” I just laughed at this to be honest with you, but again you would not see this in a world class 5 start resort.
- You know how noisy is when you are eating and drop your fork and knife? Well imagine this, trying to take a nap in the room when suddently “hey, xxxx, tirame el cuchillo ahi” and then someone throws a knife through the hallway floor to the other person. Again, not appropriate for a 5 star restort, in general the hallway of our bungalows were noisy, I understand you are trying to work at 11 AM, but people are in vacations and some people might want to take a nap.
- Finally, the stage at the theater was leaking during a performance and we were concerned for the safety of the artists. One of her slipped in the water puddle and fell, we can only hope she is okay.

I hope to see you guys again soon! Miss you so much, and as Ahmed would say our stay was "AAAAAMAZIINNNG, incredible, unbelievableeee!"

PS, I almost forgot, the 2 ladies that sing in some restaurants are awesome, one of them has a flute. I was always happy to see them and forgot to ask if they had a youtube channel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
PEOPLE PEOPLE PEOPLE! Close to the airport Awesome beaches Entertainment team is awesome!
The weak points
Long lines in the buffet grill Rooms might need some maintenance Better handling of expectations when amenities reserved for private events (just put a sign)
Certified

A Great Week at a Great Resort!!!

, Burlington, ON
2019-01-27
We spent an excellent week at the Pullman. We have travelled to Cuba 18 times now and this was by far the best resort we have stayed at. The rooms were very modern and clean. A walk-in shower and a bathtub with a shower. Very comfortable rooms. The beach was very beautiful with crystal clear water. Beach bars very close. A good variety of food. Enjoyed a great meal at the French restaurant. The cook (I believe his name was Julio) at the breakfast bar by the snack-bar cooked a great omelette. He was always very cheery and spoke Spanish and French with my wife each morning. The wait staff were excellent especially the 2 ladies that worked every day in the dining room beside the snack-bar area closes to the ocean. The nightly entertainment was very good. On Saturday night the rock band at the main theatre was fantastic, they had the audience up on the feet dancing and asking for more. Overall the best resort that I have stayed at in all my visits to Cuba. Can't wait to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was excellent. Great lobby bar. Check in was quick and easy. The room was the best, very modern.
The weak points
Nothing

Amazing - a must visit

, Greenfield Park, QC
2019-01-22
First-time in Cuba and I was very skeptical at first from the comments people were saying. Well they definitely proved me wrong. This resort is beautiful, beach was gorgeous and food was delicious. From the chicken to the delicious fish! I highly recommend this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool area, food and animator
The weak points
If I had to be really really picky there's some areas at the resort that needs some work. However people were constantly working.
Certified

Modern resort , pleasant updates

, St Lazare, QC
2019-01-09
Very nice hotel, rooms are modern and new . Very clean rooms, modern bathrooms with rain shower . Plenty of hot water and water pressure. Plenty of chairs at the beautiful beach . Busy at the pool and not much shade available. Frustrating to get reservations at a la carte restaurants, procédure not clear . Prestige side restaurant excellent ! We went even though not staying in prestige side ( adult only) part of resort. No coffee however in buffet restaurant at night ,nor the a la carte restaurants. You Have to go to lobby bar or 24 hour bar if you want a coffee. Coffee at breakfast in the buffet thank goodness. Overall very nice resort and we enjoyed our stay . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and clean , modern rooms and bathroom . Resort is a good size and everything easily accessible. Clean .
The weak points
New Year's Eve supper very disorganized, some employees who are not very helpful or friendly. Over crowded pool with little shade. Pathways are not well lit up at night , gardens and vegetation took a hit from last hurricane so not a lot of shade around
Certified

Pullman Cayo Cocco

, Newmarket, ON
2018-10-22
Staff was friendly and helpful
Hotel was clean
Hotel was not to big or not to small
Beach was amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff Clean
The weak points
More variety of food from lunch to dinner
Certified

Cayo Coco Stay @ The Pullman August 25-September 1

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-03
Check in was slow and the front desk staff were not very friendly.
There were a few good staff we met throughout our stay Carlo the Gardner, Yoneski and Yoneska the servers at the buffet and a bar-tender by the name of Amaury. Were it not for these 3 people I don't think we would have had a pleasant experience.
The desserts at the the buffet were not good and the selection remained the same all week.
The food was ok, better than we expected however again the selection remained the same throughout the week. Lots of red meat that should be cooked longer as it was too hard the same goes for the rice.
The Cuban and Italian restaurants were really good. The gourmet restaurant was awful the server was inexperienced and the appetizers (soup) we had were awful & the bread was old and hard. The entre took so long we got up and left we were there for over an hour before leaving and the server did not even realize we had left.
The maids only tidied up the rooms they did not clean them. Beds were made and towels switched & the refrigerator restocked daily with 2-3 beers, 1 water and 2 sodas. The sheets on one of our beds were stained we ended up ripping them out and having the maid replace them. The lever for the shower was loose and we reported it however no one came to fix it. We had no door sign for the maid to clean our room so we had to write one ourselves it took speaking to someone 6 times before one was provided mid-week. The El Carey snack only ever had grilled cheese sandwiches and pizza, breakfast selection at the buffet was the worst not much to choose from and if you were not there on time all the greedy guests ate everything. The lobby bar was always running out of glasses and mint was limited for drinks. There was no soap in the women's washroom in the buffet for more than 2 days. Rooms need to be cleaned better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Isolated location Some good staff The location of the rooms in proximity to the restaurants, beach, pool, bars, and theatre was decent (No long walks)
The weak points
The beach was ok, no crystal clear waters here (I thought Cuba was known for it's beaches) lots of seaweed 98% of the staff at this hotel need to work on improving their customer service skills Food selection at the buffet requires improvement
Certified

Pullman needs some help

, Toronto, ON
2018-07-23
The new parts of the hotel were quite nice but the older areas that have not been renovated are tired and look bad. Some of the staff were great but I found a lot of the staff especially in the buffet were not trained. The food is always a problem for us in Cuba but this was not great at all. Some issues were very frustrating, for instance there was a coffee station with two large coffee urns that never had coffee all week. On the last weekend there was coffee in another station but never any cups. Ice cream but no ice cream dishes. Soup but no bowls. Orange juice dispenser no glasses. When we requested glasses etc. none came. Large line ups for omelettes but the cook didn't know how to make them. The pools had algae around the edges. Exchange rate was so high at the front desk that it made it difficult to tip.Hallways very noisy at night. I love Cuba but I think this holiday has turned us off going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Laval, QC
2018-07-15
Enjoyed our time there very much [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, excellent staff, entertainment was good
The weak points
Food could be better, easier access to WiFi needed
Certified

Cayo Coco Family

, Porters Lake, NS
2018-04-24
Back from a fabulous week at Pullman Cayo Coco and it was just as fantastic as I had hoped! Very clean moderate sized resort. We had an issue with our AC when we first arrived and they were there within mins to fix it! Great service!
On our first morning a lady from customer service approached us in the lobby to make sure we had settled in nicely and had everything we needed (a nice touch I thought! It's really the little things that make a big difference!)
Lots of pools, beach is stunning and very wide with a mix of soft powdery sand and some gritty sand(but still easy to walk on), and turquoise water for days. Staff is top notch and we made great friends with many of the staff (it was an emotional goodbye at the end of our week [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, food, entertainment team, beach, pools
The weak points
beds were very firm. Hard plastic chairs on the beach (more blue chairs on the beach would be nice).
Certified

Pros and Cons

, Waterloo, ON
2018-04-23
Very mixed. Found the service to be mostly quite poor and staff could be quite rude. As two older women, we were often ignored in favor of serving male customers at the bar, in the restaurants, and at the front desk. The resort is large and things are spaced quite far apart. This was a challenge for us because of my mobility issues. Food was okay but you are best to choose foods that are prepared at the buffet on demand such as omelettes and burgers. Musicians were great. Dancers were not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach. The room.
The weak points
The nighttime shows. The food. The service.
Certified

Relaxing Vacation at PULLMAN!

, Kinkora, PE
2018-03-31
We loved the Pullman. It was our first visit to this resort, we would return and highly recommend. 12-15 mins from the airport! We booked a Garden View room and received a spectacular ocean view room. Early morning coffee with "Baileys" (I took some from bar in the evening) started our mornings on our balcony. Rooms were very, very clean and modern. AC always worked, great water pressure, temps were hit and miss if you showered at peak times (ie.5-6pm). We always had bottled water, soft drinks, beer and fresh towels. We did leave gifts for our maid, not sure if that helped, but she did thank us one morning when we met her in the hallway. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They definitely have the BEST staff in the Cayo's. Food was very good for Cuba. Lots of fresh grilled fish, pork, steak, chicken in the Buffet. Our favourite a la carte was La Perla (French restaurant) Try the ravioli and the rock lobster! Bring lots of sunscreen, aloe gel, relax and enjoy! We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Don't miss the evening entertainment in the Cabaret Theatre. Amazing talent! Pools are clean, and spacious. Infinity pool is the best and conveniently located close to the pool bar. Beaches are gorgeous. Could have easily stayed there sunrise to sunset.
The weak points
You do have to to reserve loungers before 7:45am to ensure a place in the shade at beach or pools. Plenty of loungers but shade is limited. We never did see the train to go to the market. We waited different times on 2 different days, but it never showed.
Certified

Nice resort, will go back

, Calgary, AB
2018-03-23
The hotel is couple of years old and very well maintained. There is a coffee maker and mini-fridge. Nice size bathroom with a full size tub and a shower. There are lots of programs on TV in English and other languages. The room was cleaned and mini-fridge restocked every day. Thank you Yamilka! Since we didn't use the pools, can't comment on them, but all the pools looked very clean and well maintained. We spent our days on the beautiful beach, swimming and just walking along the shore. Went to French, Japanese and Creole a la cart. Liked them all. But, the buffet was very good too. The hotel staff was friendly, always smiling and ready to help. we had a very good time there and would come back for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice room, good food variety, smiling, friendly stuff, beautiful beach
The weak points
no complains
Certified

Vacation

, Grand Falls , NB
2018-03-15
Great experience friendly staff. Food was good resort very clean and rooms are spacious. Only downfall is we got there late in the evening and it was hard to see where we were going to find our room which was far from the hobby would ve appreciated a lift to our building instead of walking in the dark not knowing where we were heading. Also had requested a room on first level cause I had knee replacement surgery 6 weeks before but was put on second floor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Arriving guest should have the option of being escorted to their room especially when arriving in the dark
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020