Riu Palace Aruba

Riu Palace Aruba
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 173 reviews
#2 of 12 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Aruba
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (29)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Paradise

, Oakville, ON
2021-10-13
We loved it so much!! We went for our honeymoon and were so impressed by how clean, safe and enjoyable it was. It was an all inclusive dream and pretty good value for the price you pay as it is more expensive than an all inclusive in some other places like DR, Cuba, Mexico, etc. also you'll fall in love with Arubians, so friendly! Would definitely recommend and come again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Really good food, beautiful grounds, clean and well kept, directly on the best part of the beach, friendly and attentive staff. We got upgraded to a room with a beautiful view free of charge because it was our honeymoon. Beds are comfortable.
The weak points
The food was really good for an all inclusive but between 4-6:30, the only place to get food is the “Sports Bar” which has some self serve snacks. The self serve snacks are lackluster to put it nicely. Room service is also lackluster.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Followed masking protocols in indoor spaces and enforced it. Sanitizer everywhere.
Certified

A Great Family Vacation!... After a false start

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-25
Our initial arrival didn't go well, but they did make it right after the first night.

Upon arrival we were sent to the block of rooms on the first floor. These rooms were run down. Instead of two beds for the "kids" (age 22 and 19), there was one big bed and a cot! The rooms were directly behind the Bar that blared music from 5pm until midnight and the first morning we had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom! We immediately went to the front desk to let them know and they moved us to two rooms in the main building. (Room 513 & 514). We highly recommend these rooms. They are more updated, very clean and have great views of the pools and beach. Two separate queen beds in one room and one King plus in the other.

The restaurants are all first come, first serve, so there is never an issue getting a table. The buffet offers a wide variety of choices, the food here was very good and fresh.

The evening entertainment runs from 8pm until 11pm, and it's loud! But quiet after 11pm.

We didn't really spend any time at the pools but it looked lovely and the there is lots of seating available.

The only NEGATIVE during our stay was the seating at the beach! There are not enough umbrella huts to accommodate the number of guests, so you have to wake up by 6am to ensure you get one. They're all taken by 7am. Not really what you want to do on vacation!

Overall we would highly recommend the Riu Palace. It's very clean, the staff friendly, the food good and the beach BEAUTIFUL! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach, Good Food and Friendly Service
The weak points
Not enough Beach umbrellas, having to wake up at 6am to find a beach chair, Wifi is spotty
Certified

Riu Palace Aruba

, Oakville, ON
2020-02-24
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel overall. This rating would also be dependant on ones personal standards. Service was great but hotel is in need and can use some renovations, upgrades and some additional upkeep. The Riu Palace is a Family Resort unlike the Riu Antillas located directly next door which is Adult only. One big disappointment was the lack of non designated smoking areas within the resort. I would have totally understood it was the Adult only side but this was not the case. There wasn't one designated smoking area.
People were freely smoking at all the pool areas and even by the kids pool and playground areas. I would say only about 5 .....no more than 10 percent of guest were smokers so it wouldn't have been that hard to set up a few designated areas thruout the resort. We were enjoying most days on lounge chairs when smokers suddenly set up close by and it was absolutely terrible. Some were smoking cigarettes, others were smoking cigars. Even our entire hallway to our room smelled like cigar smoke for two of the seven days we stayed. Being year 2020 this was so disrespectful and ignorant.

The service was great. We gave additional tips averaging a dollar per person during meals. $5 per day for the lady who cleaned our room. At no point during our stay did this additional tipping feel like it was expected which was really nice. Staff Service 5 stars (food and bar). Resort Property Condition 3.5 Stars. Evening Entertainment Activities 2 Stars. Buffet Food 4 Stars. Speciality Dining 3.5 Stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing service from the Staff. Really nice pool.
The weak points
Hotel upkeep and age is showing. No designated smoking areas.
Certified

Wonderful place

, Bolton , ON
2019-12-30
This hotel and location were beautiful. We would definitely go back except that in the future we would be very specific about which hotel tower we request. The 3 towers are not all equal in room types and quality. The room, particularly the washroom, were not what we were expecting considering the price. But Aruba is beautiful and the beaches and location of the hotel were amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and beaches
The weak points
Room type and washroom
Certified

Riu Palace

, Milton, ON
2018-12-06
Great resort. Couldn't ask for a better holiday. The employees were so friendly and helpful pool and beach was great. The restaurants were amazing. Rooms were nice with fully stocked fridge and liquor dispenser will definitely go back and recommend to all my friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU PALACE

, Blue Mountain, ON
2018-10-04
This resort had it all. Restaurants were fabulous. Rooms quite comfortable. Service was exceptional.

Enjoyed ourselves immensely. Would go again and stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Palace Aruba

, Toronto, ON
2018-08-22
The hotel was really nice. The food was outstanding! I would have preferred that the washroom area had either a door or a shower curtain as there was no privacy when you are travelling with children. I also was very disappointed that smoking was allowed through out the entire resort. It was not appropriate for children to be around all that smoke. Wish the rooms were updated or renovated. Pillows were very uncomfortable. Overall service of the resort was wonderful. Entertainment and music was excellent. Would definelty go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was outstanding, dining service was also fantastic. Pool was very large and there was lots of space. The entertainment at night was amazing.
The weak points
Smoking should not be permitted. The bathrooms should be private. The maid service or who ever replaces the bar fridge should be more considerate as we found an empty coke and beer can in our fridge during our stay. Wish pool water was warmer.
Certified

Wonderful BFF Getaway

, Thornhill, ON
2018-02-20
My friend and I travelled from Toronto for 1 week to this all inclusive resort. Beautiful beach and sunsets, food was excellent, weather was great, a little cloudy a couple days, but is was hurricane season. Our room was spacious and very clean, nice ocean view. Entertainment at night was good.
We checked out the adult only RIU next door, and we spent some time at the pool there during the day. It was nice as well, but our rooms were larger and nicer. We took a couple tours, one was the Aruba Dinner and Nightlife tour, fun bus, it went from bar-bar, had an appetizer and beverage at each and enjoyed local music and dinner. The other was a 4X4 tour, we drove our own vehicle, it was an amazing adventure.
We would certainly return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spacious rooms, courteous staff, great location.
The weak points
Nothing I can think of.
Pro

Amazing Aruba

, Fort Erie, ON
2017-03-22
The island of Aruba is a paradise. The people are genuine and the daily sunshine incomparable. However the RIU Palace accommodations are terrible. We requested a junior suite with 2 beds to accommodate my spouse and I and our adult daughter. Upon arrival we found our room included 2 double beds side by side which are usually put together for a huge king to accommodate couples. When we inquired at reception about another bed housekeeping brought us a twin cot with a 4" deep mattress for our daughter. Our adult daughter is 5'9" need I say more. After another inquiry reception said our request was filled by providing 2 beds. We separated the 2 doubles so the 3 of us wouldn't be sleeping on top of each other and managed for the first night. By the second night my spouse and I were so uncomfortable in our bed we went to reception again and our travel rep in the hotel. They offered 2 alternative rooms with a sofa bed but without the 10th floor ocean view we currently had. They couldn't bring in a sofa bed to our room because it was "too much work". It took us pushing to talk to the hotel manager before we were accommodated another room on the same floor. So on day 3 of our stay we had to pack up and move to another room and finally have beds we all could feel comfortable in. So much of our vacation time was consumed with our visits to reception and our travel rep in the hotel over our accommodations. What a waste.
Wristbands must be worn at all times. Yuk - makes you feel like you're at an amusement park. Oh and don't lose it or you have to pay $100 for a replacement. Who wants a blue wristband on in photos? Pool towels are available with a towel card issued upon arrival. Don't lose your towel or you're charged $20 for it. Oh and we were allotted only 2 room keys because our daughter wasn't quite 18 and not old enough to have one. On day 3 when our new room was awarded us the manager gave us 3 keys - but on day 1 reception couldn't break policy and give us 3? We paid $13,000 CAD for this vacation and were asked to wear plastic blue bands, sleep in inadequate sized beds and be policed over key cards and pool towels....definitely not the "top all inclusive resort" we were lead to believe we booked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great bar, restaurant services
The weak points
Lacking room accommodations.
Certified

Riu Palace Aruba

, Burlington, ON
2017-02-22
Service by all hotel staff was fantastic. Awesome weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU Palace Aruba

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-04-09
This is the third time at the Riu in Aruba and will continue to travel there. There has been extensive renovations through out the complex and have found it to have a fresh look. As per our previous visits the food did not disappoint and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, clean,beach, pool
The weak points
The Milano Restaurant can use a change up in its offerings. Meals having more of a Mediterranean flavour should make it more enjoyable.
Certified

RIU PALACE ARUBA

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-18
The outside of the resort is beautiful. We had a great time. But for the money we paid this resort I don't feel that it is a 5 star property. The beds were hard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nearby restaurants and close to the beach
The weak points
Hard mattress, very busy place and not enough restaurants
Certified

Excellent hotel

, Toronto, ON
2014-11-02
Excellent hotel, great service, amazing food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was great
The weak points
No weak points
Certified

RIU ARUBA

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-03-13
Hotel was nice, hotel employees were very friendly, some noise due to renovations, great beach front , great food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great food- great beach front
The weak points
hotel activities were lacking -
Certified

Nice place, lovely vacation

, Burlington, ON
2014-03-10
Overall this is a nice hotel. The beach is really beautiful, the grounds are well maintained and the food is quite good with something for everyone. You can walk a long way on the waters edge, or use the walkway that runs between the beach and all the hotels. The only drawback to the Riu was that our room was somewhat "tired" and could use an update. The bed was extremely hard (not sure if the top mattress was really just another box spring!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, great location, well maintained grounds, good food, polite and helpful staff
The weak points
Room needs updating
Certified

Amazing place! Will definitely be returning!

, Plantagenet, ON
2014-03-06
This was a great vacation! Hotel is super clean, service is great, food was plentiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
VERY clean (hotel and island), nice clean rooms, great food (buffet and restaurants), excellent customer service
The weak points
Wifi is poor; you can get it only in the lobby if/when you are lucky. Promotion states you can get it in all guestrooms but we attempted many times without success. You can only book restaurants the morning of, which is a bit of a pain.
Certified

Paradise on hearth

, Alfred, ON
2014-03-05
Good food
Beach is very Nice & clean
Nice hôtel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, cleanliness, friendly staff
The weak points
Havions to réserve de very morning at the restaurant
Certified

Aruba Lover - Third time

, Burlington, ON
2014-02-19
Great trip, third time, stayed at the Holiday Inn first time, which I would not recommend - they are currently under renovations. Second time stayed at the Occidential which needs updating but would return. This time at the Riu which I think needs to be updated a bit but enjoyed the resort and would return. Street access to shops are perfect as well as the bus stop is outside to your left to get to downtown. Very safe area and would recommend Aruba to everyone. Great entertainment outside the hotels. Senior Frogs, Hardrock bands every night and totally enjoyed Sapranos Piano lounge. Great trip!!!! Can't wait to schedule my next trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Third time in Aruba. Great location and view from rooms were awesome and food was pretty good. The building is beautiful to look at and the staff are wonderful. Street access to shops and buses are perfect. I would return to the Riu.
The weak points
Rooms need updating at the Riu, more of a 4 star. We very much enjoyed ourselves and met great people at the resort as well. Don't be late for your dinner reservations at the Italian, they will turn you away.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-19
Fourth time at this Hotel. Book Junior Room Ocean View and you will not be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool and beach area. Lots of food options. Outstanding view from room.The best rooms are 'junior suite ocean view'.
The weak points
Wish they would enforce, "No shirt, shoes policy" in dining areas. Too many 'bare bums' in eating areas.
Certified

ARUBA TRIP

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-06
GOOD HOTEL TO STAY. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
VERY GOOD HOTEL AND VERY CLEAN.
The weak points
WASHROOMS NOT VERY CLOSE TO BEACH.
Certified

Riu

, St.Catharines, ON
2014-01-01
everything was good. bed was way too hard but got a memory foam mattress for it. food was great. good weather and so nice to be close to everything [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location
The weak points
vacation went by too quickly
Certified

Aruba is AWESOME

, Bluevale, ON
2013-12-18
One word AWESOME [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, very accomodating
The weak points
loud music around the pool, not everyone is 20 something
Certified

Not 5 star

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-13
As a single person, I was put in a room nobody else wanted, next to service elevators. Elevators woke me up numerous times in the middle of the night and had constant activity from 8 a.m. The lock on the door broke and it took several requests before a technician showed up. It took over an hour before the lock was changed. It took 2 days and several calls before a broken radio was replaced. I had to ask many times for washcloths. I also had my suitcase damaged at Aruba Airport and several items were stolen. I only used the buffet as you had to get up very early to book other restaurants. Buffet food was reasonable. Overall an O.K. vacation but not worth the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice hotel architecture. Food at the buffet reasonable for a 5 star hotel
The weak points
Room. speed of service.
Certified

Riu Palace Aruba

, Aurora, ON
2013-11-23
Overall satisfactory. Restaurants were low point. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional food selection in buffet. Great pool side service.
The weak points
No bar service on beach. Lack of water sports. Reservations for alacarte were ridiculous.
Certified

RIU Palace Aruba

, Etbicoke, ON
2013-11-20
Fabulous as always! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and service
The weak points
Unable to access wifi in the room and spa.
Certified

ONE HAPPY ISLAND, TWO HAPPY PEOPLE

, Markham, ON
2013-11-13
THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME WE BEEN TO ARUBA AND WE WILL GO BACK. IT IS ONE BEAUTIFUL ISLAND, VERY CLEAN, THE PEOPLE ARE VERY FRIENDLY, AND OF COURSE THE WEATHER WAS FANTASTIC. THE HOTEL, I GIVE IT A 5 , THE FOOD IS VERY GOOD, THE GROUNDS ARE IMMACULATE AND THE SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEAUTIFUL WHITE SANDY BEACH, CALM TURQUOISE WATER. THE HOTEL IS TRULY A PALACE.
The weak points
THE ENTERTAINMENT, THE SHOWS START AT 10PM, TOO LATE FOR US AND THIS IS THE FIRST RIU HOTEL THAT WE HAVE BEEN TO THAT DID NOT HAVE SIGNS SHOWING WHAT SHOW WAS PLAYING THAT NIGHT
Certified

Excellent Place to go

, Cambridge, ON
2013-11-06
The Riu Palace in Aruba is First Class, the Food was great and the people were friendly. Of all the trips to the Caribean, this was the best place, by far. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach and pool areas were always clean. would definately come back on another holiday to Aruba
The weak points
not alot of pushy locals on the beach even thought they are public.
Certified

2 star rooms at a 5 star hotel

, Burlington, ON
2013-10-23
Rooms are very moldy and outdated unfortunately it made the trip less enjoyable. Although the beach, food and service were 5 star the room is not more than a 2 star very disappointing from the Riu chain of hotels I would have to think twice before booking another Riu. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, service and location.
The weak points
Room is a 2 star. Changed rooms twice, extremely moldy and damp very unhealthy. Had to buy air fresheners, the rooms were damp and moldy. Unfortunately I have to discard of my luggage as I am unable to get the moldy smell out of it.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2013-10-07
Had a great time. The hotel was very clean, friendly and outgoing staff. Very highly recommended [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food, cleanliness and wonderful hospitaity
The weak points
Very windy. Impossible to lie on beach
Certified

Riu Palace Aruba

, Sarnia, ON
2013-10-04
Honeymoon in Sept 16-23. Resort was breathtaking. Staff were excellent. Room was excellent. Stayed in block B 8th floor. Pool and beach were great, lounge chairs were available but prime locations filled up by late morning-noon. Spa was excellent. Food was beyond what we expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The view, beach, food.
The weak points
Available seating around pool
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021