Sandals Halcyon Beach

4.474.474.474.474.47
Sandals Halcyon Beach
#9 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in St Lucia
4.47 based on 17 reviews
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Mr

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-09-12
Nice Quiet small resort with great service but could use more restaurant choices and a few upgrades for a Sandals (4 star /not 5 star ) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good location ,nice rooms, beautiful landscaping ,food pretty good especially the Italian restaurant
The weak points
lack of restaurants, especially for breakfast (one choice ) ,could use a pizzeria ?
Certified

Sandals Halcyon April 2015

, Waverley, NS
2015-05-13
Beautiful Lush property. Quaint and quiet. The perfect place to relax and unwind. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lush, beautiful property. Great for quiet relaxation.
The weak points
We have been to other properties where the food choices have been more varied....but I expect this is because the resort is smaller in guest size than others. We definitely didn't go hungry and the food offered was good quality and tasty.
Certified

Spectacular vacation

, St. Catharines, ON
2014-10-07
Sandals halcyon exceeded our expectations. The service was excellent. Room, food, grounds were impeccable. Will definitely be returning to this sandals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Wonderful holiday

, Burlington, ON
2013-11-05
The sandals halcyon was the perfect choice for us. It was very clean (and I have high standards) and very well kept. We really liked that it was a smaller resort than the Grand and La Toc because we enjoy more peaceful relaxing vacations. The other two resorts were very nice as well but had more organized activities in the public areas and it got quite loud.
The food was great. Pretty sure I gained about 10lbs. Kelly's has great steak, Mario's has a great lasagna, kimonos was really fun and the food was tasty(go hungry, it's a lot of food) and baysides breakfast and lunch buffets were really good with dishes that changed every day. Their a la carte dinner was so good too. The French onion soup was the best I've ever had. The drinks were plentiful and the bartenders were so fun. Actually every single staff member from lawn maintenance to servers to hotel management were above and beyond any expectation we had. The beachside grill was perfect for an afternoon or late night snack too. We spent a lot of time at the beach, the water was so warm. Because all beaches in st Lucia are public there are local vendors on the beach daily however it was always the same handful of guys and they were really nice and not too pushy. Once we bought something they didn't ask for another sale and instead greeted us every day and thanked us for our business when we were leaving. They do make very lovely crafts as souvenirs.
If you stay in st Lucia you MUST do the joe knows excursion!!! It's a great way to see the island. You will visit many shorelines, a waterfall, an active volcano where you can put the volcanic mud all over you (it seriously makes you baby bum soft) and then you rinse in the hot sulphur bath. You will stop for lunch at a local buffet where they have good local food and you will snorke close by. We saw some cool fish and lots of nice coral. To finish the day they will take you to a randome private beach where you will enjoy their rum punch (so good...be careful lol). They are excellent guides and entertainers. We had a blast and made some good friends on this trip. We would have done it twice if we were there longer.
The only down side to our whole trip was the shuttle ride back. I felt a bit car sick due to the winding roads and heat (the drinks the night before could also be a factor) but bring gravol!
Overall we really enjoyed our trip to st Lucia and sandals definitely iced the cake! If you book club level take part in their daily cocktail events. It's only one hour and we won free stuff just for showing up for drinks in their lounge instead of the bar (sweet)!
We were so sad we had to go so we already booked our next sandals vacation. Can't wait to visit Barbados next year!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything. Especially the people! They made me feel so at home I was actually sad I wouldn't be seeing them again.
The weak points
Shuttle to and from the airport. It's a bit over an hour and very twisty and bumpy.
Certified

Somewhat pleased with this facility

, Scarborough, ON
2013-04-23
VERY IMPORTANT!!!!
You must have at least 6 months on your passport or you will not be able to travel to St. Lucia (VERY STRICT ABOUT THIS) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The bedroom and bathroom are lovely and very clean. Meals were excellent at Kelly's Dockside and Mario's.
The weak points
Entermainment is sorely lacking in this facility. There is nothing to do in the evening after dinner. Bar fridge not replenished daily as advertised, took 4 days and only after Hskp was called. Weather horrible, rained everyday(not their fault),not 5 star
Certified

Sandals Halycon St. Lucia

, Brampton, ON
2013-03-31
Best service of the three Sandals in St. Lucia [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wine and food
The weak points
Wifi charge is a ripoff for a high end resort ...suggest this be included in the price immediately
Certified

Fun with Friends

, Bowmanville, ON
2012-03-14
beyond expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
beach
Certified

Great Hotel

, Kingston, ON
2011-06-01
The hotel tries to satisfy. The grounds are well maintained and the staff works very hard to make your life easy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel is very well maintained. Food is good. Drinks are premium. Staff is very friendly.
The weak points
Minor harrasment from people selling stuff on the beach. It happens everywhere. There is security though.
Certified

Honeymoon

, Surrey, BC
2011-05-26
The resort was an average resort I was expecting more. The beaches were not as I expected. The food at our resort was very average for the price paid thought we would have received more higher quality food. we were limited to three restaurants and only one of them was open all the time. The locals on the beaches infront of the resort made if uncomfortable to sit and relax on the beach with my wife. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful and friendly staff, the ability to go between the three sandals resorts
The weak points
for the price paid was expecting better food and better beaches
Certified

Sandals Halcyon vacation

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-10
My husband and I absolutely adored our time at the Sandals Halcyon. The staff there is truly amazing and they really set this hotel apart. The grounds are amazing! The rooms themselves are not particular special, but are very comfortable. The drinks and food were great. We paid for butler service and it was totally worthwhile. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and grounds!
The weak points
Rooms are not rundown, but they aren't especially impressive - especially the bathroom.
Certified

Expectations Met

, Ridgetown, ON
2011-01-28
Overall our experience at Sandals Halcyon was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The food, service and friendliness at all the restaurants (Bayside, the Pier, Marios and Kimonos was wonderfull. The gardens were exceptional and the gift shop provided many possibilities for fullfilling gift requests. The name of this resort matches it's atmosphere, peace and serenity.The beach was great and if one understands how the ocean and waves behave one can easily accept why the water is murky with suspended sand.One suggestion would be for the music at the main pool be adapted to suit a more mature crowd with some Belafonte, Sandpipers, Sinatra et cetera. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quality, service, friendliness of staff
The weak points
music, bistro bar
Certified

Sandals Halcyon

, Edmonton, AB
2009-09-18
Super service, great location.
Rooms could use some upgrading, which I believe they were in the middle of renos at the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Service, beautiful resort, gorgeous island, smaller resort
The weak points
Renovations needed
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?