Royal Decameron Complex

3.913.913.913.913.91
Royal Decameron Complex
#4 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
3.91 based on 1133 reviews
Traveller pictures (223)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

The travel agent next door

, Olds, AB
2020-03-26
The hotel was great very clean and friendly staff. It was small enough that it was very easy to get around and yet very very quiet. The nightly shows were very professional . Our only disappointment was with the city tour it was not a city tour but a sales pitch for expensive jewellery and tequila , our guide left 2elderly ladies behind that had trouble keeping up and left the tour Before we arrived back at the hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet cleanliness friendly
The weak points
Fourth floor no elevators lol
Certified

Fabulous time despite Covid-19

, Burnaby, BC
2020-03-24
We had a fabulous time despite the threat of the covid19 virus. The hotel is clean and the food is good. The entertainment team are extraordinary and shows are the best I have seen at any resort in Mexico. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hidden Mexican Gem

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-14
First time at this resort and we were pleasantly surprised! Clean rooms and the entire resort was well maintained! Awesome staff, great entertainment and we LOVED there were mainly Canadians here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GORGEOUS Beach, that we walked to Bucerias!
The weak points
A la carte reservation system wasn't the best, personally I think people should show up, if no room, then no room but this is minor. Fridges in the room would be nice too.
Certified

Relaxing week

, Abbotsford, BC
2020-02-20
the property is spacious, beautiful, and well maintained, thanks to hard work by the staff. they are courteous and helpful. food was very good--we enjoyed choosing different restaurants for supper each night. swimming pools are lovely, and iguanas provide entertainment! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
tidiness, sense of safety, variety of types of food, weather was perfect
The weak points
getting up to book suppers, difficulty get money exchanged
Certified

Not what we expected

, Stony Plain, AB
2020-02-17
Overall the resort was not what we expected. The grounds and the exterior of the building are well maintained and look very nice. The room and bathroom were not very nice, they are very much in need of an upgrade. There are no shelves, hooks or anyplace to put your clothes, etc you either have to put them on the toilet tank or on the floor. The sink is separate from the bathroom and the area around the sink is way too small to put your shaving kit and other toiletries. The doors on the sink cupboard were also ready to fall off. The bedroom area is large enough but again the is nowhere to put your suitcases other than on the floor. We used a plastic table off the balcony for one siutcase and balanced the other one on top of a chair. The tv took up the majority of the top of the dresser so again no place to put anything. The room was also in need of new paint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The exterior of the buildings and grounds are well maintained. The food is on average pretty good and the restaurants are clean.
The weak points
Room and bathroom are badly in need of an upgrade. Our first room, building 4, was full of bugs so we were moved to building 2. As mentioned earlier the room was not good at all. We will not be returning to this resort.
Certified

Great place

, Kleefeld, MB
2020-01-23
This is a great place to stay! It is our second time going there and it was just as great as the first time. The staff are friendly and helpful. Everything was clean. There was a great variety of food. We enjoyed the boogie boards, volleyball, pools and ocean. It also has the added feature of pottery painting (for a cost, of course). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Royal Decameron Complex

, Dapp, AB
2020-01-14
This was a very average hotel. The beach location was absolutely fabulous, but the hotel itself left us feeling "meh". We asked for face clothes upon arrival, as our room did not have any, and none were ever provided. The housekeeping left much to be desired as we often did not have towels replaced (solely taken away) and did not have water bottles replaced daily. The food was okay. It was mostly bland, however that staff was fabulous! Always friendly! While we enjoyed our getaway as a whole, we will not be heading back to this property. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- beach location - friendly servers at restaurants and bars
The weak points
- housekeeping - food
Certified

Survey

, Agassiz, BC
2019-12-17
We enjoy this resort very much.We have been going to this resort from December 2001. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms,basic but very clean and comfortable.
The weak points
Music two loud in theatre.Lights should maybe put on in theatre when people are entering and leaving.Food not bad but buffet could be a little hotter.
Certified

My home away from home.

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-08
Our third time at this hotel, We love it here, the staff are absolutely top notch.
Any complaints I have are minor inconveniences. I would definitely stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing, the food was magnificent. Views of the beach are gorgeous.
The weak points
Hotel could use some updating ie: coffee maker and fridge in rooms. Swim up bar in the adult pool would be nice and beach drink service.
Certified

Another great holiday

, Burnaby, BC
2019-12-06
We have stayed here many times and always enjoy our visits.
I have noticed a need for supervision at the buffets-people are eating from buffets, using their hands and generally not practicing good hygiene. Hand sanitizers would help [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is always excellent and work very hard
The weak points
there are always mixed feelings about dinner reservations system..guests must line up very early to secure a table.
Certified

Good Bang for your buck!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-11-18
Overall experience was good. Would recommend it to others. Not a 5 start but decent for the price. The staff make the place great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly welcoming staff! Everyone looked like they were working their butt off all the time. Appreciated the cleanliness of the grounds/pool area and loved the bright colors of the buildings. Great location. Also enjoyed the entertainment.
The weak points
Rooms could be nicer. We stayed in block 2 and found it very noisy at night. Do not recommend this block if you have younger kids. Beds uncomfortable, lighting was poor. Didn't find the food great.
Certified

Royal Decameron Bucerias

, St Albert, AB
2019-11-14
I spent one week 'solo' at the resort in Bucerias. I felt totally comfortable and safe. The staff were very accommodating; the buffet food very plentiful and the bar service very fast. The evening shows were top notch and the gourmet restaurants were 5 star. I ate fantastic lamb and super excellent burgers. The outstanding server MURTADO in the Rodizio snack bar really gave me comfort and great care. I will return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff...gourmet restaurants...feeling safe ...excellent showers
The weak points
sparse english at front desk
Certified

Disappointed

, Vancouver, BC
2019-09-10
The first few days were good but went down hill from there,we got ripped off on our tour in more ways then one . From the tour guide to the tour organizer. .. the hotel itself ripped us off ...everyone got sick from food .the alcohol was so watered down.I could go on .my count out o f a hundred 03,,,it was truly a bad experience. Some nice people. .not very meny. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful grounds

, Edmonton, AB
2019-08-22
First impression pulling driving downhill on an old road was not attractive to start with, nor was the room. Clean but could use a bit of updating. However, the grounds are gorgeous. Wifi only in one building that we knew of. Not necessarily a bad thing, but nice to have in the room.
Palm trees with coconuts, flowers, green green grass, cool iguanas of all shapes and sizes wandering the ground was impressive. The service is great. Staff is super nice. Food at buffet and Brazillian a la cart was excellent. All good, except the adult pool should be open later than 7:00pm. Maybe its just a seasonal thing. But we Would go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are gorgeous
The weak points
Adult Pool closes too early
Certified

Dream vacation

, Richmond, BC
2019-07-22
My experience with Royal Decameron was excellent. The hotel was beautiful,the staff amazing, specially Ruth at the bar,Miguel and Humberto at Radizzio restaurant and all the staff that work at the buffet specially Ms Castro who prepared our eggs every morning. The only thing that I will suggest is a little bit of TLC needed for the rooms. Our ocean view room had incredible views, however for the price , should have a mini fridge at least,the sink was not draining properly and air conditioner not cool enough. But we had the best vacation ever . The activities were fun and well organized,the buffed food was delicious and always something new,the restaurants a la carte were excellent.We felt surrounded by family, and will definitely go back and recommend this hotel to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-07-08
We stayed at the Royal Decameron from June 29th to July 6th and had a fantastic time. The check in was very quick and the staff, friendly. We stayed in block 5 ( by the adult pool) which was very quiet. Air conditioning worked great. Room was clean every day. Beach was very nice and super sandy. We enjoyed the food and always found delicious things to eat. The shows were good...some better than others. Overall a fantastic week in paradise. Will be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, very friendly staff, nice location, clean and well kept grounds, nice beach and pool areas.
The weak points
The pools could be a few degrees cooler to be more refreshing, information should be posted on where to obtain the sports equipment.
Certified

Just what we needed, Once again

, Kamloops, BC
2019-05-22
We have been going to the Decameron for 9 years now simply because it is exactly what we are looking for. Clean rooms, good food, great beach, courteous staff. Nothing fancy but just a great place to relax [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Consistent service over 9 nine years. Good food, friendly staff, very clean, nice beach. It is a great spot to relax and enjoy time.
The weak points
Limited internet, but that may not be a bad thing. It is a holiday
Certified

Remarks

, Hinton, AB
2019-05-20
Was good had my kids this time, they had fun , only thing was the breakfest not serving in locations ckised some days , if Bacon was done didn't bring anymore out , but overall excellent . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Burnaby, BC
2019-03-25
The hotel rooms are clean and spacious. The activities team are fabulous. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Holiday

, Waldhof, ON
2019-03-15
This is the first time we have been to Mexico and the hotel and the experience was fantastic. The hotel is very clean and the staff is so friendly and accommodating. We would go back. There's so much to do if you want to or as little as you want. There's entertainment every evening at the resort and also off the resort. There's 6 buildings and every building has its own pool and bar. There are 7 restaurants. There's also a Doctor on site if needed. We would recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is very good. It is only a 30 minute bus ride to the hotel from Puerto Vallarta airport.
Certified

Quality of hotel

, Sechelt , BC
2019-03-08
the only true Mexican hotel left in Mexico.
staff, grounds, service etc, all beyond reproach.
the only downside, if you can call it that, is not being able to pre-book the block of your choice, there are six blocks, all unique [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
only Mexican hotel left
The weak points
no pre- booking of block choice
Certified

Still not bad

, Kelowna, BC
2019-02-07
We have stayed at the Royal Decameron in Bucerias six times now. And this time changes were quite noticeable.
The Tropical restaurant was renovated: new tiles on the floor and (very) bright lights overhead.
The changes in the offering were not good, however: a much smaller salad bar, no butter (only that horrible margarine), and a so-called seafood paella with bits and pieces of crawfish in its shells that nobody could open.
Some of the old staff seems to have gone, not necessarily a bad thing.
And practically all the drinks available at the bar(s) contain no alcohol whatsoever. Which is actually good, nobody was passing out on the lawn as we have witnessed several times in the past.
If you can overlook these deficiencies you can enjoy a good holiday there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, beach, accessibility
The weak points
food, food, food
Certified

Good for one and good for all

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-01-28
5th time since 1998 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Older resort. Well kept. Wonderful staff from the front desk to the gardeners and all in between
The weak points
Not a good selection of Spirits. Need some Flor-De Cana Rum or Appleton's
Certified

Royal decameron bucerius

, Gueloh, ON
2019-01-20
Clean rooms staff very nice !food was horrendous!stew pork everyday .breakfast lunch and dinner always the same alacart was just as bad Brazilian bbq was by far the only good meal I had on the resort!and it was nothing to write home about! Drinks very hard to get really messed up hrs!I'm a cigar smoker and it bothers lotsa people so I enjoy a cigar on the balcony! But because of no mini fridge in the room very difficult to enjoy a drink with the cigar!espresso machine wasn't available to anyone til 10 am !I was up and out of my room at 6 am! The town has a tonne of food options which made it bearable. Would not return or recomend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Town is great and right there
The weak points
Old !crusty old people that are there years and years think they own the place
Certified

Waste of money

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-18
Although the weather was wonderful, and we met some very nice people, the major drawbacks (which were considerable) can be summed up in 3 points. Terrible food, smoking everywhere, and pervasive noise throughout the complex.

After moving rooms 3 times we finally found a relatively quiet room in block 6. Relatively is the key word here.

The food is monotonous and sometimes hard to identify. Most meat comes in sauces with unknown ingredients (important if you have food allergies as I do), and everything is cold to lukewarm including the tea/coffee.

Smokers here act as though their right to smoke supercedes anyone else's claim to clear air. People will smoke cigars and cigarettes everywhere including under no smoking signs.

There are many better resorts in and around Puerto Vallarta. Don't waste your money on this one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly support staff & people Nice pools and beach area
The weak points
Beds were like slate marble Noisy all the time Smoking allowed everywhere Terrible food Poor location

Fantastic Experience

, Ft Saskatchewan, Al
2018-12-30
We were extremely impressed with the Royal Decameron. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly and willing to help. For such a large complex everything is very close and easy to access. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Welcome to Mexico.

, Airdrie, AB
2018-10-01
My wife and I had been to this resort twice in the past 7 years and we decided it was time for a good two week vacation for our 15th anniversary. The Royal Decameron Complex (RDC) had been fairly good in the past and always cheap enough to head out for dinner if we got tired of the buffet food. The concept held more true than ever in that regard.

I'll start with the arrival at the airport. Even though we've been to Mexico a dozen or so times we never get suckered in to the transport guys before you actually leave the terminal, until this time, almost. They have become extremely aggressive and will lie to your face, telling you that they are your transport connection. Even if you tell them your contact is outside they will lie again and say that you are outside. ITS A LIE! Just ignore them until you are physically OUTSIDE. There are a ton of vacation package company reps 'outside' that will get you to your transport. If you do get corralled before you get there expect to take a free cab to a time share presentation wasting at least a half day of your vacation, unless of course you can handle it love the challenge of getting free stuff for your reward. Good for you if you can pull it off without it costing you.

Arrival at the RDC was easy, check in was smooth though a few visitors did not get the rooms they requested months in advance due to disabilities. That turned out to be a struggle as the level of english at the front desk was limited. Given the number of Canadians that visit the area you would think it would be more of a pre-requisite, however, the RDC has become a heavy favourite with nationals for a short three or four day break. That said, you will feel like you are in a foreign country, which you are. In an all inclusive setting this is something fairly uncommon for us but it's not necessarily a bad thing. Nothing fancy from the front desk, just a regular key on a lanyard and you have to pay for the safe key, about $60 US for two weeks.

The room was bare bones. A motel 6 is nicer in regards to fit and finish but this facility is old. It looks like it's repaired with stuff on sale at the local used parts hardware store. Maybe that's a bit extreme but you get the point. This is not a 4 star resort when it comes to the rooms. The bed was lousy and we could feel the springs. The AC was loud, 62db the equivalent of a normal conversation, all night long. No wash cloths either. Motel 6 would supply those, just sayin'. The AC pooped the bed a week in and it took them 2 hours to show up with no tools to fix it. Granted it was after 10 PM but still, all he did was push buttons which I had already done. The decision was made to move us to another room. By 1AM we were settled into another room, a room which had been denied to someone else who was injured and told it was not available. Can you say WHAT!!?? This one had two rock solid beds, solid like like plywood. At least the AC worked and was quiet. Thats all that was quiet though. It was bottom floor next to the adult pool restaurant and across from the evening show and disco, so you could hear the dishes in the morning and the boom boom boom wells into the wee hours of the morning, not to mention all the people coming back to their rooms. Stay away from the north wing of block 5, shoot for the south or east wing if you can. Lots of water pressure in the shower and the toilet worked fine.

The pools were crazy busy aside from the adult pool which is where we spend our time. It did have plenty of bugs and bees in it, including a few little 'back swimmers' which can bite you, but a fairly quiet pool unless a wild family of nationals shows up.

Steer clear of the buffet. This is where you'll really feel like your in Mexico. For a city that is reportedly one of the best cities in Mexico to dine out you would hope they had a better selection. Rice and beans, super saucy beef and pork, over cooked vegetables, dry pizza, over and over again. Go to the a la carte restaurants. Picollo is air conditioned, all others are not. The Jap Jap was not very good but the Wok was and they share a kitchen. Rodizio is good too. Didn't get to the Mexican Grill. Their daytime burgers at the mexican grill are great for lunch.

The grounds are quite well kept, probably a 3.5 star job. We didn't hit the beach because we didn't want to be hounded to buy stuff and people were getting hit by jelly fish in the water. Plenty of Iguanas around and they get fed behind the adult pool restaurant every day. Lots to see even though it smells like a zoo.

All in all we probably won't go back to the RDC. Ownership changed a couple years ago and they have reportedly cut costs dramatically which has caused a lot of old staff to move on to another resort, though the new staff is mostly friendly. Security didn't seem to care much when we found a severely injured Iguana that needed attention. They would have rather sat around and chatted with the lifeguard than step in and help an injured and picked on animal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la Carte Restaurants, mostly friendly staff. Nice to see large Mexican families enjoying themselves on vacation, even though the buffet turns into a mad house.
The weak points
Beds are poor, the place needs a major renovation to bring this up to par with other offerings in the area. Buffet food is horrible.
Certified

Royal Decameron Complex

, Penhold, AB
2018-08-20
I have no complaints about this hotel.The staff is very friendly the food is good. I would definitely recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots off pools.The adult pool is the best for us.Lots of choices for A la cart.
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Birthday trip

, Maple Ridge, BC
2018-06-20
It's was ok, pool was not refreshing at all, not much of a selection of food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Royal De Cameron

, Eckville, AB
2018-05-04
We will be back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
24 hr restaurant should be available
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?