Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
3.953.953.953.953.95
3.95 based on 462 reviews
#26 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (145)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Amazing resort!

, Monks Head, NS
2020-03-17
Myself, my husband and my parents stayed at this resort. Lots of eco tours that are included with your stay. The bellboys were very helpful with getting us to the restaurant that is furthest away from the main lobby (my Dad has mobility issues) by taking us on the golf cart.
We stayed in the adults only section. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, helpful staff. The landscape of the resort is well kept. Lots of activities to do that are included in the stay.
The weak points
The beach is rocky but this is the only weak point to this resort.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Dawn, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Fabulous family resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-18
We had a terrific time at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort! We stayed for 7 days but felt that we were not ready to leave and would do 10 days next time. Lots to do on the resort but everything is still very walk able. We visited Sandos Playacar as well for the day, beautiful beach bu the resort was huge and seemed that there would be a awful lot more walking than Carocol. We also loved the amount of jungle on the Carocol property. It provided for a secluded feeling and also provided reprieve from the sun when needed.
The facilities were all very clean and the kids club was top notch!! We loved all the wildlife as well. The monkeys and peacocks were favourites for sure.
My only recommendation would be to consider carefully where you put the designated smoking areas. While the people who smoked were very consider for the most part to smoke in the designated areas, the one located by the main pool near the kids section was located beach side and the breeze off the water placed the smoke directly across the kids pool.
Other than that we loved our vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Toni, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Great Family Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-10
We all enjoyed the wildlife and vegetation on the property. There were lots of activities for the kids. The waterpark was fun for the kids.

The rooms were clean and staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The kids loved the animals on the property, especially the monkeys and turtles. The dining rooms were spacious
The weak points
Poolside food would have been nice as in other resorts. The beach was very rocky, disappointing. The quality of the food was just ok.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Dear Guest, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Eco Resort

, Cranbrook, BC
2020-02-01
Got upgraded to a nice room. The pool was under construction even after I emailed the hotel before my trip and they said no construction. Our daughter loved the water slides. We did a snorkel trip from the dive shop and it was really windy. My daughters snorkel was broken and the boat left no where to been seen. It was very scary to say the least. I filed a complaint but never receive anything compensation. The bartenders were great and very friendly. Kids club was fun. The romantic boat ride was nice. It was a really cool resort with lots to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to see and do. Many animals and a cool jungle feel. The shows were awesome. Water slides were fun. They let kids participate in the Fantasy show and my daughter loved it (age9).
The weak points
The water park pool area was under construction and I had emailed the hotel before I came and they said no renovations. The food wasn't that good. No soap in the room. The resort is hard to navigate.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Jeremy, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

A perfect stay

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-22
I could not recommend this resort any more highly. It was the perfect place for the whole family, with something for everyone. It was safe, clean and felt like a home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful wildlife, very clean, wonderful food, superb shows and activities, beautiful, great value.
The weak points
None.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Robert, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort is just OK

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-19
1. Beach: the worst!
Well, we read reviews and most of the travelers were saying, beach is the worst, but we could not imagine how right they were: rocks, huge and small are everywhere. O wait, half of the beach is prohibited to use due to motor boats but I tried it once in the morning (7 am) and o God, no rocks where, so hotel cleaned the part to make sure motor boats are not damaged and left us, people struggling with it...
DON'T GO THERE IF YOU ARE BEACH LOVER (we are and we are never coming back!).

2. FOOD: just average
Buffets were OK.
A la carte: they have no idea how to cook stake or see food, period.
Mexican food was just average
Drinks? Watery everything, beer, tequila, coke, mineral water, etc.

3. STAFF: just OK
Unless you tip them in advance, machine is broken to prepare pina colada, Don Julio Tequila is not available, coffee machine is without coffee, etc.
We do tip staff all the time every time, but this was close to non sense.
Same for the room cleaning/feel in the fridge: despite the tips they barely made the bets, to feel the fridge with new set of beer/soda you had to call the reception DAILY!

4. Elite Club aka Time Share: just terrible
We made a note during the booking, please do not try to sell/give us any Time Share presentations, and yet again, after the check in (oh, by the way, lady at reception tried to sell us "upgrade" for 500 US$ in cash!!! No thank you!) the time share selling lady tried to push to listen for 2 hours presentation, we politely declined, so she literally become aggressive! We had to find the bell boy, our luggage and navigate to our room ourselves!!!

So long story short: we are never coming back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Aqua Park - Multiple Pools for Kids - Kids friendly jungles
The weak points
- Literally, it's impossible to swim in the ocean: ROCKS, rocks are everywhere, does not matter you do have swim shoes or not, IMPOSSIBLE TO ENJOY THE BEACH! - Ocean Water is so dirty and muddy, impossible to enjoy the waves
Certified

Mostly a great time!

, Ayr, ON
2019-12-18
There were a few nuisances that we were aware of prior to travelling; mosquitoes, smells and the rocky beach but we weren't bothered. We had planned to visit Sandos Beach Resort to experience the great beach but were happy enough so didn't bother.

The inconsistent quality of food was annoying (overdone hotdogs, cold nacho cheese, recycled meals) but we always found something to eat. Waiting in line to get into the buffet isn't ideal either. The staff were generally pleasant but not overly friendly. We often were kept waiting at the very busy buffet. We were reluctant to try the a la cartes as our kids are fussy so perhaps there was some better food that we missed out on. We were regularly asked about purchasing massages or braids but they were never rude when we politely declined. Same for the timeshare meeting. They asked and offered us money for a cab ride to the beach resort but were still friendly when we declined.

Overall, the stay was great though.

There were so many shows, pools, activities and kids club options so we were never bored. Our kids loved seeing cats, monkeys, birds, coati, raccoons, pigs and more!

I found the grounds and buildings/bathrooms were regularly cleaned and well maintained. We had no problems with our room. We needed bedding for the trundle bed so called reception and didn't need to wait too long.

I enjoyed a massage at the spa and was given birthday cake and champagne in my room.

We choose this resort for the variety of activities and the eco-aspects. In those areas we were not disappointed. The resort is beautiful and unique. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was clean, our room was great, lots of activities to keep the family busy. Most staff were pleasant. Ice cream machines at several locations! Animals and eco activities. The spa was lovely, including the eucalyptus steam room. Wifi. The cenote.
The weak points
The food at the buffet was repetitive and often poor quality. We often had to wait in line to get into the buffet (10-15 minutes). Part of the waterpark was closed for a few days. Limited food options at certain times.
Certified

Family friendly resort

, Mississauga, ON
2019-12-18
Beautiful resort with lots of activities for the kids and adults. Front desk check person Mary was awesome she upgraded our room to Superior room that helped us a lot with 2 kids. However, food and entertainment were bit disappointing. Would be nice to have music all the time near bar, beach and pool. Most of the time it will be quiet. I am bit disappointed by alcohol quality as well.
Still I would vote 4 because of nature experience and house keeping service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club is awesome. Front desk was helpful. House keeping is good.
The weak points
Music, food and drinks are disappointing.
Certified

Not great, not horrible

, Parkland County, AB
2019-12-14
As a whole, the resort was okay. It was decent enough and the kids had fun. I would not however book it again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment was good. Very kid friendly Family room was good. Environment was nice. Waterpark was nice.
The weak points
Service was hit and miss. Food was mediocre No wow factor Food labels at buffet were not great for anyone with allergies.
Certified

Great time

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-11-17
The rooms were really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were always beach chairs and plenty of towels. The shows were very good. I liked the water jug in the room just be sure to bring your own bottle to refill if you'd like to carry it with you. There was a lot to do right on the resort. All of the wildlife was really cool as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great room. Good food. Great beach. WiFi was excellent.
The weak points
Reservations at the restaurants would be better. There were two we didn't get to because the wait was too long. Also we got tagged for the Sandos buy-in presentation. Don't do it. They say 90 mins but took 3 hrs. Bathrooms at kids waterpark not good.
Certified

Family vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-15
The resort is well kept and grounds are beautiful. Water park is perfect for the little ones and adults can join in on the fun too. Beach was nice, clean and not too over crowded. Pool side was not over crowded either could always get a shady lounger. The down side is the food. Very repetitive and I even got really sick. Vomiting diarrhea cramps the works! I've recently found out that this resort has had these problems in the past. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

7 days in Paradise!!!!

, Bathurst , NB
2019-05-24
We were extremely EXTREMELY happy with our stay at the Sandos Caracol Eco resort!!!! We went as a family of three and could not have asked for better all around experience. The staff was absolutely unbelievable, the Kids club was a sure bonus and the amenities were all you can want and need. The access to room service, laundry service, night entertainment, sports bar etc. made this trip the best we have ha so far!! We regretted not having sat for the time share presentation as we will seriously be considering same as we will be back again and again !!!! I would be more than happy to speak further to how awesome this place is to anyone who will listen !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Pools -Night Shows -Staff -Animals -Shopping on resort -Literally everything !!
The weak points
- Nothing to really complain about, this place is an 11/10
Certified

Perfect family vacation destination

, Airdrie, AB
2019-04-29
A true all inclusive! So many on site free activities, we did not have to do excursions as there was never a shortage of eco tours included. Food was great, was a large resort, but never felt too busy. You can visit the sister resort just a short cab ride away and enjoy a beautiful beach day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great food, easy access to amenities, great pools with lots of lounging areas. Great variety of food and activities. Room was spacious.
The weak points
Not the nicest beach to swim, bring water shoes as is naturally rocky. Balcony was very small.
Certified

Mexico 2019

, Fort Saint John, BC
2019-04-27
I was traveling with my wife and 7year old daughter. If you have younger children this place is amazing. The three buffet restaurant are decent food very kid friendly the steak & seafood , Brazilian , Mediterranean & Japanese Job restaurants were amazing.The animals running around the resort was awesome my daughter especially loved the monkeys we would have to go to the bridge by the Mexican restaurant every morning to see them. The staff were great especially the lady's at the kids club. I was a little Leary of leaving my daughter by herself in a different country but after meeting the girls all I can say is wow especially Liz we hired her as a nanny for my daughter for a few hours so my wife and I could go to 5th ave. She was absolutely great with her she made my daughter feel comfortable right from the start. Lots to do and see at Sandos. All in all I would give a 4.5 star for this resort. The other half star was lost because of a little hiccup with the cleaning staff the second last morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
If I had to pick a weak point of this resort would be the beach. Very rocky out in the water but still beautiful. I didn't mind it because I didn't have to worry if my daughter was in the water.

Getting away from winter

, Cobourg, ON
2019-03-23
Our overall experience was great. We stayed in the adults only section, approximately 10 minute walk to the Select Club adult only beach. Our ground floor room was roomy enough for 2 with a very firm Kingsize bed. The food was excellent with a variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants, including a vegetarian restaurant on the ocean front. As an Eco resort, obvious care is taken to preserve natural vegetation with lots of shaded walkways and avoid disposable water containers. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just be aware that there is a membership sales plan that you will be invited to sit through. Though not as high pressure as some “time share” experiences the real time commitment is 2 hours start to finish. There was lots for families to do onsite and would recommend the resort for all ages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

11 days in paradise!

, Cochrane, AB
2019-03-03
I'm a single parent and traveled with my 9 year old daughter Feb. 17-28, 2019. The resort was well maintained and the staff were very kind and accommodating. The upgrade to the Signature Club and room upon check in was fantastic! Our original room type was Super Saver and I'm so happy we received the upgrade to take advantage of the updated room, WI-FI and room service. We stayed in building 23 which was great because it was close to the pool and beach. The resort grounds are huge and it did take a few days to figure out how to maneuver around. The wildlife were fun to watch and a great experience to get to see them in the jungle environment. The beach was nice but rocky so we didn't spend much time in the water. Water shoes are a must! The food was good and no issues with finding something to fill the gap. The Japanese restaurant was good, but not as exciting as I thought it would be. We enjoyed the International buffet, Italian, and steak and seafood restaurant. We really wanted to try the Brazilian restaurant but it was the farthest from our room and kids were only allowed after 8pm. We made the most use of the Tortuga pool that was next to our building but they didn't offer food service so we would have to leave the pool and search out food at another pool or back to the buffet. We did a lot of the activities offered by the resort and some of the nightly shows. The staff do an outstanding job! My daughter already wants to plan another trip back, but I'm not sure I would return only for the fact I like to experience different places. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and well maintained, good food choices, lots of activities
The weak points
Large property, rocky beach, limited food choices for lunch at the pool (hamburgers & hot dogs only)
Certified

Sandos caracol

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-02
Great resort, good food, good fun, clean and well run! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great experience, fun, clean, friendly!
Certified

Sandos Caracol

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-02
Great resort, well run! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort, well run, good food fun activities and shows!
Certified

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

, Leamington, ON
2019-02-20
Rooms were renovated and clean. Lots of trees and shade. Food was fairly good. Resort includes several experiences that you can sign up for. The pool tables, foosball tables and ping pong tables were nice for chilling in the evenings. Concierge were always helpful. The staff in the restaurants, cleaning staff, etc. know very little English but were always pleasant and helpful. The nightly shows were quite good. The Mexican Night was a lot of fun. There was a lot of selection for excursions in the area.

On the negative side, it was intermittently quite stinky. Sometimes when walking along the path to the rooms, it would smell like sewer. Other times it was something else - not sure if it was a jungle smell. The beach smelled like it too. They didn't clean the beach, so maybe it was the washed up seaweed. Going in the water was treacherous because of the rocks. Definitely bring water shoes and be careful.

The kids club leaders were great, however the scheduling was ridiculous. You have to wait until 6pm to sign up for the next day's activities and only 10 kids can sign up for each activity. A family resort should accommodate more than 10 kids for activities. Any child that wants to join, should have access.

I found it annoying that while we were inside the resort, we were getting hassled to buy, buy, buy from the vendors along the street and at the beach and pretty much everywhere else. I was asked for a massage several times a day. I understand getting hassled to buy if we went outside of the resort, but I wasn't expecting that on the inside. They even had people dressed up in Mayan costumes, Mexican costumes, with pretty umbrellas, etc. to get your picture taken with, for a cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Renovated, clean, helpful staff, good evening shows, resort experiences, tables for evening activities in sports area.
The weak points
Stinky, kids club sign up and # limit unrealistic, vendor haggling,
Certified

Another great winter vacation

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-20
This was our second trip as Royal Elite members to Sandos Caracol and we thought we explored lots last year, we still explored areas of the resort that we had not seen the year before. Absolutely enjoyed our time. Our room was in villa 6 overlooking main pool, was enjoyable to watch all at end of day. Food and service was excellent,premium drinks always enjoyable. Love meeting various people on royal elite side from all over the world. Animals all over resort were fun to watch and interact .
We did not go easily into becoming royal elite members last year, but in the long run, we are happy we did. As business owners, our time is precious when we go on holidays and we know exactly what to expect and what we will receive with our membership. Looking forward to exploring the other Sandos resorts and what they have to offer as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service-excellent, surroundings-beautiful, food-delicious,quality of rooms-comfortable. Even if its a bad weather day at beach, take a walk through jungle and you don't even notice the weather.
The weak points
As noted in other review, beach is little rocky and seaweed but is still enjoyable, besides, even a rocky beach is better than -30 C in Canada!

Visit # 5

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-10
VISIT # 5
We (our family) was at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort again Dec. 2018. Again, we love that it is in the Mayan Jungle – beautiful greenery and friendly wild life. The resort is clean and well maintained, they have made some great upgrades to some of the rooms and different spots of the resort to make our/your experience more enjoyable.
The resort is close to many touristy places to visit. This time we took a trip to ChichenItza or you can just stay on the resort where the staff treat you special every day.
We were up graded this time and loved our rooms and location. There were 7 of us, our 3 grown adult children and 2 grandchildren. There is something there for every age. What takes us back to this resort? Mostly the way the staff treat us, after 5 visits they really get to know who we are; it is like a ‘homecoming' each time we return. The staff go out of their way to make our/your stay wonderful, they are very personable and treat you like family.
We love going to the Toscana Restaurant where Yeni Flores ALWAYS greets us with great enthusiasm the greeters at the door are also very friendly and enthusiastic. At the Riviera (Mediterranean Restaurant) there is Pedro Silvan who is ALWAYS positive and ready to serve us or help us in any way he can.
At the main pool bar is Ruby – such a nice guy who at the end of his shift each day specifically passes by us on his way out and shakes each of our hands! The girls serving the drinks around the pool area - Ernestina and Martha are GREAT!
Most of all we were fortunate enough to meet Patric Loeser the Sub-Director. He went the EXTRA mile in making sure our visit was the best visit everyday that we were there. We were humbled (but loved how) Patric and his staff made us feel like celebrities. Patric Loeser is a great PR person and he is passionate about what he does. Patric checked in on us frequently and even joined us for a couple meals! Patric is very knowledgeable and I would say has wisdom and experiences beyond his years which makes conversation with him so easy.
Would we go back the 6th time? YES, and recommend this resort. The resort in itself amidst the jungle is beautiful but, it's people like Patric and all the staff at Sandos that keep us coming back. Thank you for such a wonderful family holiday experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Patric Loeser @ Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

, Martensville, SK
2019-02-09
My family & I have been to Sandos Eco Carcol resort for the last 5 consecutive years. The staff are incredible & the resort is well laid out. The fact that it is literally in the jungle & your not surrounded by concrete is absolutely phenomenal. The ECO atmosphere theme is prevalent throughout the facility.

In 2017 my family & I were blessed to meet Patric Loeser. Patric is a caring & companionate individual & is second to none. His customer service, attitude, & demeanor is so welcoming that you feel like family rather than a guest. His laugh alone is contagious. If you have an opportunity I would advise that you search him out!! Patric provided an EPIC vacation for our family. We are very grateful to him & the team at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort... we will be back in 2019.

Why Patric isn't the VP of operations for the Sandos chain of resorts is beyond me... I will come back just to see him. He is like a brother from another mother!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Family Resort

, Arnprior , ON
2019-01-23
Great experience at this resort. We brought our 2 young boys (5 & 2) and it was a great family resort. The waterpark and pools were a hit. The beach is on the smaller side and rocky which made it hard to swim, however the kids enjoyed playing at the shoreline where there weren't many rocks. The room was clean and spacious. Food was decent with a variety to choose from. The indoor kids play place was a bonus, a good spot to get out of the heat and let the kids run free in a safe zone. The night shows were very well done and enjoyed by the whole family. There are many nature paths to walk and explore and the wildlife is amazing. Lots to see and do! Would recommend as a family resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacation

, Oshawa, ON
2019-01-01
My husband and I were here for a week. We met some great people who we hung out with and made wonderful memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a king size bed with bunkbeds in it great for extra room/storage since it was just the two of us. Pools and bartenders were great. Grounds were maintained. Food was good at Mexican and Japanese.
The weak points
The trying to upsell was annoying. First day all we wanted to do was get to the pool/sun and it's hard but really unless your rude they go on and on. I finally got up and said thanks no we're done! The entertainment is ok not great.

Nice family vacation

, Cambridge, ON
2018-12-27
We had some difficulty on check-in. They offered us an 'upgrade' when we arrived which after some questioning we wanted to decline (as the room didn't seem as nice as the one we had booked) but quickly realized that it wasn't really optional as the room we had booked was not available - we were never provided with an explanation why, but assume they double booked. So, we were forced to take another room (which it turned out was not as nice as the room we had booked - our three kids had to sleep together on a day bed) for the first night. We then had to check out at 10 am on the second day and then check back in again at 4 pm. Not the end of the world, but it meant we weren't able to settle in as we had hoped and it caused some stress as we weren't confident we were going to get the room we had booked.

Once we were able to settle into the room we had booked (Eco Family Penthouse) the accommodations were great. The rooms were very clean and spacious and newly renovated. The pools were very nice and very clean. The beach was nice but lots of seaweed and quite rocky (not the beach itself, but the water) and it was quite rough most of the time (red flags were up the entire week).

Only other negatives about the resort from my perspective would be the following:
1. The sewage/septic system could use some work. Walking through parts of the resort there was a very strong smell of sewage. This smell also came up into the bathroom in our room which was rather unpleasant. We had to leave the toilet seat down and the bathroom fan on with the door closed.
2. It would have been nice to be able to make reservations as the a la carte restaurants. If you didn't go to dinner very early, the wait was sometimes an hour or more which meant that you were late for or missed the evening entertainment.
3. Some of the amenities that were supposed to be included with our room (all rooms actually) were lacking - for example we never got our bathrobes and slippers despite asking repeatedly, and the bar fridge in our room only got restocked if we asked and there were never any snacks it it.

The restaurants themselves were okay - decent variety, and the a la cartes had a children's menu (although it was the same kids menu at all the restaurants).

The water park was nice, but two of our three kids (ages 11, 10 and 8) were too short to go on most of the water slides. Interestingly, our kids weren't really interested in the water park and preferred the pools, so next time we book, a water park probably won't be part of the criteria.

Not sure I would book this resort again, but at the end of the day we came home tanned and relaxed with some great family memories! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Newly renovated family suites; nice pools; decent restaurants.
The weak points
Sewage smell in some areas which came up into the bathroom in our room. Can't make reservations at the a la carte restaurants.
Certified

Living on the farm

, Gatineau, QC
2018-12-04
Chicken and cat on the lobby, poops on pathways, need to watch step. Foul smell near one of their restaurant. Some staffs not helpful, not good in resolving problems passing to one another until you reach nowhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good picture
The weak points
Cleanliness
Certified

Best vacay and Our Dream Wedding!!

, High River, AB
2018-11-27
We had an amazing week with all our friends and family, a gorgeous Dream Beach Wedding with an even more beautiful rooftop reception and a week honeymoon after on our own.
I cannot say enough about the resorts' wedding department, especially Kiani and Anacarin. It can be tough to communicate while trying to organize and plan everything from so far away, but somehow they made it easy and everything worked out unbelievably well! We had guests tell us it was the best wedding they have ever been to, and other couples start planning their destination wedding after seeing ours.
Our kids are 1 and 3 and they were able to enjoy all the family friendly amenities that the resort has to offer. The adults only section is also great for a getaway from the family/kid atmosphere.
Once in a lifetime trip we won't soon forget! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wonderful return to my favourite place

, Cornwall, ON
2018-10-21
This was my third trip to Sandos Caracol. I joined the Royale Elite family two years ago and have no regrets. I'm going to be brutally honest in this review in saying this resort isn't for everybody. I only say this as some people have a cookie cutter idea of what resorts should like like after having gone to other ones and Caracol is unique. The resort has been built around the jungle. If you are looking for manicured lawns and maintained gardens, it won't be here. Caracol is wild, lush vegetation, mangroves, cenotes and all that goes with it. There is a smell in one area of the resort from the mangrove area. After the first day past it doesn't bother you, it's part of the experience of being in the true jungle. The animals wander free, peacocks, coatis, monkeys, cats and birds. It's a wildlife bonanza. Moving on, the resort is always impeccably maintained for cleanliness. I have NEVER seen a staff work so hard and show so much pride in a hotel. The staff also go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful and that you are satisfied. You are treated like family each and every time. I have been to fancier places but will continue to return “home” to Caracol for this simple reason. Thank you again to Patric Loeser who we met on the first evening and who continued to check in with us throughout our week. I also want to give a shout out to Jaime, Juana, Gray, Leidy and Melissa from the RE pool, and lastly Karina from the Brazilian restaurant. Without all of you our trip wouldn't have been half as nice. I can't wait to go back in February and would recommend this resort to anyone that wants to try something outside the box. You won't regret it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Animals, lush vegetation, cleanliness ad wonderful staff
The weak points
The food could use some improvement. It's very good in the a la cartel areas but the buffets could be better

Overall awesome resort

, Sherwood Park , AB
2018-09-12
Our experience at the hotel was great, we really enjoyed our stay, we rented a scooter for my mom which was a great idea as the resort is very large and lots of walking is required.
The best place to eat is at the Los Lirios restaurant by the adults only pool, the service and food was awesome.
The entertainment by the pool was very entertaining, Spencer really made our time at the pool and at the evening events a great experience.
We loved all the monkeys and other animals that are all around the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment by Spencer and the Los Lirios restaurant.
The weak points
The only thing that we were disappointed about was when we checked in and our rooms were not side by side as pre requested.
Certified

My First Trip To Mexico

, Miramichi, NB
2018-05-09
The room was in need for some new furniture i.e. dressers and end tables which very marked and the finishing was missing in multiple spots. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had easy access to the pools and beach but for vacationers who were further away I think the signage could be improved.
The weak points
We were disappointed in the beach in that it was very "rocky" and difficult to manoeuver.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020