Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
3.923.923.923.923.92
3.92 based on 523 reviews
#30 of 137 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (244)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Worst service, food and wait times ever

, Grafton, ON
2024-02-26
If food and service are important check boxes for your vacation, DO NOT GO to Sandos Caracol. I've been to over 20 resorts and this is the worst resort for service and food I have ever experienced. There is no chair service for drinks or food so prepare to spend a lot of time in line ups the entire trip. The staff are not very accommodating and in some cases down right unfriendly. For the cost of this trip there are much better options available for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful natural setting. Kids enjoyed the water slides and wild life.
The weak points
Service is horrible. No service to your chairs for drinks or food. The reservation restaurants are near impossible to reserve. Wait time to book the other Brazilian or Japanese restaurant is 2-3 hours.
Sanitary measures
reasonably clean for the most part
Certified

Worst resort ever

, Cantley, QC
2024-01-29
buffet food is disgusting. need to be up at midnight to book a la carte restaurant if not shows complete by 1am on their application.
long line up for bars.
not a lot of variety for alcohol (always run out of something)
they don't refill fridge in the room and don't leave clean shower towels.
was a waste of money and time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
monkeys are cute
The weak points
app for request and a la carte booking not efficient buffet are disgusting long line up for food and bars staff are frustrated
Certified

Ethan

, West Kelowna, BC
2024-01-21
Overall the trip was awesome, I would highly recommend for families with kids under 15 or animal lovers. Our kids were 6 and 9 and had a blast walking by monkeys and Coati's on the paths around the resort. The staff were very helpful and great with the kids, we chartered a boat from the beach of the resort to go snorkeling and fishing and the captain helped both kids bring in a tuna plus when we went snorkelling they were so patient with our kids constantly messing up there masks. I would highly recommend the Cenote tour and going through the caverns. We didn't even get a chance for the kids to go to the kids club because we were having so much fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff were great, Animals around the resort were awesome for the kids, tons of fun stuff to do at the resort, Water Park was awesome for kids under 12 and the wifi throughout the resort was strong and fast with only a few dead zones.
The weak points
Room service was almost impossible to get ahold of, The booking system for restaurants was clunky and a bit of a pain that only being able to book for the next day starting at midnight. Would be nice if booking for the next day opened at 6pm
Certified

Nice location for family vacation but

, Coquitlam, BC
2023-12-31
Great location and amenities for a family but I would not recommend if you are expecting american food quality standards. Our room was fairly up to date and reasonably clean except the shower constantly over filled. Because of the type of bathroom we had it would completely flood so you couldn't go to washroom without getting your clothes wet. It took a few requests to fix the issue, my recommendation is if there's an issue with your room complain right away and follow up as they don't seem to care or they forget.There is an overwhelming bad smell of suwer at times not sure if that is normal for the area as it's our first visit. One night we had to air out our room for an hour as it was so strong, I grew up on a farm so when I say bad... Other than that facilities are fairly clean pools are nice, beach is natural. Maybe we just had bad luck with the room, but the food at the buffet is substandard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Service was at par to the price

, Toronto, ON
2023-12-30
Hotel room was good, area was clean, food was overall good except some restaurants where we didn't go again. A la carte was difficult to book, but with multiple tries, we were able to take dinner at all a la carte restaurants. El Templo, Los Lirios were the best experience out of all. Staff was very pleasant and always had smile on their face. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Worst Resort we have ever been

, Sherwood Park , AB
2023-12-13
From the moment we arrived to the day we left (left 2 days early), we had nothing but headaches with this resort. Thanks to our amazing travel agent Ashley for getting us out of there.
We didn't have 3 meals bc the resort literally ran out of food at the lunch and breakfast service, the app never worked, mold in rooms, no towels, ac leaking and or not working, no one would answer the phones for 3 days, front desk and concierge couldn't even help and there was no actual west jet rep on site to assist. Booked dinner reso and then they said we didn't have one so that was a meal we didn't get at all and went to get chips at the store. I could write a lot more but it's not worth it. So happy we left. Resort however is refusing to give any sort of refund. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Book somewhere else

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-12-05
Overall the experience was sub par. The food other than a couple al la Cartes was inedible. Always cold. The drink were always watered down, the servers tried but very understaffed.
Some are very rude and won't serve you until you tip a large amount. I tipped everytime I ate and got a drink. Still hit and miss service. Currently there is rolling blackouts where Ac doesent work and internet goes down. If your from Canada be prepared to be overheated.

Food was always cold at the buffet. Left out for hours to rot at unsafe food handling temperatures.

There is not a clock or picture to be found anywhere on the resort or rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The environment and resort.
The weak points
The beach, the food, the drinks, the lack of power.
Sanitary measures
Resort was clean food left at very dangerous heating levels for bacteria growth
Certified

Sandos Caracol

, Lethbridge, AB
2023-05-29
I am writing this review on behalf of my clients. This is what they had to say about this resort: To be honest, the resort was a bit disappointing. The service was lack lustre - we didnt get an intro to the resort at all when we arrived and had one of my friends not been to the resort before we would have missed out on alot.
The restaurants you had to make reservations to were INCREDIBLE - so good! but the service in the buffet restaurants was terrible - no one gave us coffee or water when we arrived, they werent very friendly, food was NOT very good and it was super noisy and overcrowded and disorganized - this was the main buffet and the lunch/beach buffet.
I would definitely not call this a 4.5-5 star resort.
The rooms were relatively clean which was nice.
The pools were pretty small.
and the whole resort was really spread out and not very userfriendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean rooms
The weak points
Small pools Staff not friendly Slow service in restaurants Food not very good
Pro

Sandos Caracol eco resort

, Carstairs, AB
2023-05-03
Incredible experience with the natural beauty, great food and excellent staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Fabulous food and could book restaurants for the week. Beautiful property with many interesting animals and birds, and activities to do. Great night show. Happy and excellent staff.
The weak points
Steps in main pool need a bright painted line along front edge as many fell and injured. All ala cart dinners should be able to be booked online and in person. People need to know that they NEED insect repellents with them at this resort.
Certified

Had a Great Time!

, Airdrie, AB
2023-04-24
We had a great time as a family at the Sandos Caracol Eco resort! It's a massive resort with many activities to do, and things to see/experience. Be prepared to walk a lot, and don't forget your water shoes or bug spray. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
International buffet had a fabulous selection at meals. Lots of on site activities to do during the day. Kids enjoyed ordering room service. Staff were all very kind.
The weak points
The beach is VERY rocky... water shoes are a must! Buffet(s) NOT good about food cross contamination. The a la carte restaurants... small portions, had to go to buffet afterwards. Mosquitoes were horrible in the evenings.
Certified

Don't waste your money

, Calgary, AB
2023-04-01
High priced resort and not worth the money. Terrible food that's served cold when it should be hot or at least warm, like tacos. Pizza was soggy and Spongy. Pasta was hard. Pancakes were cold. Waterslides are not as pictured. Can't book any Al A Carte meals due to people booking the times up solid but then they don't show up so the restaurants aren't even half full. The family pool is very small so it's packed full at all times and you can't get towels or a chair unless you go to the pool at 6-7am. Spoke to the front desk and concierge, they were rude and unwilling to assist with issues brought forward. Beer served with ice, warm water in your room. Can't pay money for things offered on resort like henna for the kids. It gets charged to your room and you pay a huge bill before you leave. The gym costs $24 every time you want to go to it. The only Good dinner you can book if you're lucky is Pure Nights, that costs not included, and it costs almost $300 for a family of 4! Do not bother booking this resort, save your money and find another place to spend time. This was the worst family Vacation ever and it was the most expensive one. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone but “recommended for” is mandatory so I put shopping. 10/10 DO NOT RECOMMEND [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
There are none.
Certified

A must see resort

, Borden, SK
2023-03-07
Hotel rooms were very clean and excellent room service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
There's a lot of restaurants and snack bars and a awesome water park at this resort and evening entertainment
The weak points
Beach swimming area very rocky
Sanitary measures
Mask worn in restaurant and buffet areas
Certified

Didn't live up to expectations

, Cochin, SK
2023-03-06
The stay was ok, definitely won't be going back here. The rooms were clean and tidy and staff was very pleasant. The resort seemed to be very understaffed. Kids loved the water slides and small water park, but watch for the animals, they will jump right up on your chair and take your food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great staff, clean rooms, great water park.
The weak points
Lineups everywhere, no beach, no reservations at a la carte restaurants.
Certified

Sandos

, Mission, BC
2023-01-30
The hotel grounds are beautiful. Well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was subpar. Nightlife mediocre. Definitely a family resort. Mexican night was fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff are great. The wildlife on the grounds make the resort a wonderful place to stay. The entertainers at .ain't pool are fun. Smoothie bar at pool a nice touch.
The weak points
The food is not great. Cold. No flavor. Need more options at snack bars. The smell of sewer in some parts of resort is concerning.
Sanitary measures
Masks are worn in buffet area. Definitely not needed.
Certified

Great Resort

, Brampton, ON
2022-12-21
Really good for a family with young kids [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Kids club, food, beach
The weak points
Check in and check out, TV
Sanitary measures
Good
Certified

Beautiful

, Battleford, SK
2022-12-07
Overall a great experience, would definitely go back. Very family friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy beds, lots of wildlife, nice pools.
The weak points
Check in staff is very minimal and takes a long time to check in.
Certified

Sandos family vacation

, Thornhill, ON
2022-07-19
Our overall experience was favourable. The kids enjoyed the water park. The food in the Al a cart restaurants were good although the Mexican restaurant was not our favourite. The first few days there was a lot of seaweed, fortunately it cleared up for the rest of our stay. Getting into the ocean was rocky and once the seaweed cleared we could better see a path to carefully venture into the ocean with water shoes. Once in the water was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The facility is lovely, greenery, variety of animals and the steps that were taken to make it an eco friendly environment. The facility was clean. despite fallen fruits from some of the trees on the walk ways were kept clean.
The weak points
It took 1-11/2 hr to be checked in with only one staff member processing. Not enough dishes available at the buffet at meal time. No spoons available at the cereal or yogurt station available only upon request.
Sanitary measures
Good that masks required in buffet but adherence was Inconsistent. There should be a separate serving utensil for each dish in the buffet and there was not. Good that Tables were sanitized between users.
Certified

Parfait avec des enfants

, Québec, QC
2022-05-02
Le site est beau, beaucoup de choses à voir et d'activités sur le site . Beaucoup de nature, d'animaux (coatis singes araignées, pan), mini ferme, baignade dans la cenote et la riviera, la piste cyclable et sentier de ruines maya. On a fait des activités variées même sans avoir à acheter d'excursion. Il y a des piscines tranquilles et d'autres avec animation selon les goûts. Les glissades d'eau sont vraiment géniales et il y en a pour tous les âges, même pour les adultes et elles sont vaiment le fun! Les restaus et buffet sont ok. Je conseille le Mexicain. Seule déception, la plage vraiment erodée, énormément d'algues et des grosses roches dans l'eau donc peu invitant à se baigner. Mais le reste compense et on a beaucoup aimé l'endroit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Activités variées, nature, glissades d'eau
The weak points
Plage
Certified

Nice

, Québec, QC
2022-05-02
My wife and I were pretty disappointed on our first day. We had waited in line for our check-in for more than an hour only to discover that our bracelets would not open our room doors. At the lobby, we were told that we had to wait in line again. Thankfully, two employees, Esmeralda at the concierge service and Eduardo at the front desk, were very helpful in speeding up this process. The pools and the waterpark are beautiful, but the beach is a mess, with smelly algae everywhere. The food was hit and miss. In all, it was a nice experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Family Trip

, Pincher Creek, AB
2022-04-24
The hotel staff work very hard, however the resort was short staffed. Service was very slow, often waiting for drinks and sometimes never got them. Our Son is dairy and gluten free and the resort could not guarantee this, he ended up being on medication the entire trip. We also requested a room/bed upgrade and it never happened. The manager called our room the last day we were there to try to make things right and told us he would put a bottle of tequila in our room... that also never happened. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Great Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-01-19
The resort in general is great. So much free activities that u don't really need to go out for excursions and entertainments. The Resort has everything: nature activities, educational free tours, 6 beautiful cenotes, Mayan historical sites, snorkeling, water park, beach, kayak, romantic boat, all kinds of sports, fantastic unlimited ala carte restaurants, you name it they have everything. We enjoyed all they have to offer. Great vacation for all members of the family, young or old folks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amenities, Food, excellent services, great facilities
The weak points
Basic rooms are unpleasant. Old linen, towels, equipments, etc..Smelly too. Need to book for upgrade room to next level or more.
Certified

This place is paradise

, Surrey, BC
2021-11-15
We recently returned from a lovely 7 day stay in the Eco Family section in a superior room. We had a king bed and bunk bed, in a recently renovated room. We are 2 parents and 2 kids (9 and 12). The kids loved the animals all over the resort including coatis, deer, monkeys, 2 donkeys, bunnies, etc. We enjoyed the various pools and the waterpark. We barely left the resort because there was so much to do - swim in the cenote, Jade river tour, etc. The beach is rocky, we just wore water shoes. The wifi was spotty in different areas of the resort. I didn't enjoy hearing the DJ music loudly playing from far away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great pools, the a la carte restaurants were excellents (especially the teppanyaki, brazilian, and Los Lirios. The room was perfect. The staff all over the resort were very friendly. We enjoyed the fire show and Descendants, the rest were ok.
The weak points
The buffet food wasn't appealing, although we always found something to eat. My daughter was bored at the kids club, maybe too old at 9. The water slides were in poor repair (sagging stair treads). Check in took 1.5 hours on a Friday evening.
Sanitary measures
Staff was mostly wearing masks. Mask wearing was encouraged indoors for guests, people were asked to put one on at the buffet and at bars. But we were still serving ourselves at the buffet, sharing utensils. Beach/pool chairs did not have any spacing.
Certified

Amazing Trip

, Leduc, AB
2020-12-12
The resort is such a beautiful place. You can see many workers working around the grounds to keep it looking clean and well kept. the only downsides were that the room smelled like mold and there was some mold in out bathroom but if we left the bathroom door closed the room didnt smell as bad. the food was amazing in the restaurants however the buffet was not the greatest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
entertainment crew was amazing and loved to chat with the guests to get to know them. my fav place to eat was the Italian restaurant. cleaning staff was awesome as well as the drink services.
The weak points
Dinner Buffet had not so great food. rooms smelled like mold.
Sanitary measures
masks are warn by all the staff, guests have to wear them while inside buildings, all tables are sanitized after each use. the reception has class between you and them.
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Monks Head, NS
2020-03-17
Myself, my husband and my parents stayed at this resort. Lots of eco tours that are included with your stay. The bellboys were very helpful with getting us to the restaurant that is furthest away from the main lobby (my Dad has mobility issues) by taking us on the golf cart.
We stayed in the adults only section. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, helpful staff. The landscape of the resort is well kept. Lots of activities to do that are included in the stay.
The weak points
The beach is rocky but this is the only weak point to this resort.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Dawn, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Fabulous family resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-18
We had a terrific time at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort! We stayed for 7 days but felt that we were not ready to leave and would do 10 days next time. Lots to do on the resort but everything is still very walk able. We visited Sandos Playacar as well for the day, beautiful beach bu the resort was huge and seemed that there would be a awful lot more walking than Carocol. We also loved the amount of jungle on the Carocol property. It provided for a secluded feeling and also provided reprieve from the sun when needed.
The facilities were all very clean and the kids club was top notch!! We loved all the wildlife as well. The monkeys and peacocks were favourites for sure.
My only recommendation would be to consider carefully where you put the designated smoking areas. While the people who smoked were very consider for the most part to smoke in the designated areas, the one located by the main pool near the kids section was located beach side and the breeze off the water placed the smoke directly across the kids pool.
Other than that we loved our vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Toni, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Great Family Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-10
We all enjoyed the wildlife and vegetation on the property. There were lots of activities for the kids. The waterpark was fun for the kids.

The rooms were clean and staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The kids loved the animals on the property, especially the monkeys and turtles. The dining rooms were spacious
The weak points
Poolside food would have been nice as in other resorts. The beach was very rocky, disappointing. The quality of the food was just ok.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Dear Guest, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Eco Resort

, Cranbrook, BC
2020-02-01
Got upgraded to a nice room. The pool was under construction even after I emailed the hotel before my trip and they said no construction. Our daughter loved the water slides. We did a snorkel trip from the dive shop and it was really windy. My daughters snorkel was broken and the boat left no where to been seen. It was very scary to say the least. I filed a complaint but never receive anything compensation. The bartenders were great and very friendly. Kids club was fun. The romantic boat ride was nice. It was a really cool resort with lots to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to see and do. Many animals and a cool jungle feel. The shows were awesome. Water slides were fun. They let kids participate in the Fantasy show and my daughter loved it (age9).
The weak points
The water park pool area was under construction and I had emailed the hotel before I came and they said no renovations. The food wasn't that good. No soap in the room. The resort is hard to navigate.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Jeremy, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

A perfect stay

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-22
I could not recommend this resort any more highly. It was the perfect place for the whole family, with something for everyone. It was safe, clean and felt like a home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful wildlife, very clean, wonderful food, superb shows and activities, beautiful, great value.
The weak points
None.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Robert, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort is just OK

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-19
1. Beach: the worst!
Well, we read reviews and most of the travelers were saying, beach is the worst, but we could not imagine how right they were: rocks, huge and small are everywhere. O wait, half of the beach is prohibited to use due to motor boats but I tried it once in the morning (7 am) and o God, no rocks where, so hotel cleaned the part to make sure motor boats are not damaged and left us, people struggling with it...
DON'T GO THERE IF YOU ARE BEACH LOVER (we are and we are never coming back!).

2. FOOD: just average
Buffets were OK.
A la carte: they have no idea how to cook stake or see food, period.
Mexican food was just average
Drinks? Watery everything, beer, tequila, coke, mineral water, etc.

3. STAFF: just OK
Unless you tip them in advance, machine is broken to prepare pina colada, Don Julio Tequila is not available, coffee machine is without coffee, etc.
We do tip staff all the time every time, but this was close to non sense.
Same for the room cleaning/feel in the fridge: despite the tips they barely made the bets, to feel the fridge with new set of beer/soda you had to call the reception DAILY!

4. Elite Club aka Time Share: just terrible
We made a note during the booking, please do not try to sell/give us any Time Share presentations, and yet again, after the check in (oh, by the way, lady at reception tried to sell us "upgrade" for 500 US$ in cash!!! No thank you!) the time share selling lady tried to push to listen for 2 hours presentation, we politely declined, so she literally become aggressive! We had to find the bell boy, our luggage and navigate to our room ourselves!!!

So long story short: we are never coming back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Aqua Park - Multiple Pools for Kids - Kids friendly jungles
The weak points
- Literally, it's impossible to swim in the ocean: ROCKS, rocks are everywhere, does not matter you do have swim shoes or not, IMPOSSIBLE TO ENJOY THE BEACH! - Ocean Water is so dirty and muddy, impossible to enjoy the waves
Certified

Mostly a great time!

, Ayr, ON
2019-12-18
There were a few nuisances that we were aware of prior to travelling; mosquitoes, smells and the rocky beach but we weren't bothered. We had planned to visit Sandos Beach Resort to experience the great beach but were happy enough so didn't bother.

The inconsistent quality of food was annoying (overdone hotdogs, cold nacho cheese, recycled meals) but we always found something to eat. Waiting in line to get into the buffet isn't ideal either. The staff were generally pleasant but not overly friendly. We often were kept waiting at the very busy buffet. We were reluctant to try the a la cartes as our kids are fussy so perhaps there was some better food that we missed out on. We were regularly asked about purchasing massages or braids but they were never rude when we politely declined. Same for the timeshare meeting. They asked and offered us money for a cab ride to the beach resort but were still friendly when we declined.

Overall, the stay was great though.

There were so many shows, pools, activities and kids club options so we were never bored. Our kids loved seeing cats, monkeys, birds, coati, raccoons, pigs and more!

I found the grounds and buildings/bathrooms were regularly cleaned and well maintained. We had no problems with our room. We needed bedding for the trundle bed so called reception and didn't need to wait too long.

I enjoyed a massage at the spa and was given birthday cake and champagne in my room.

We choose this resort for the variety of activities and the eco-aspects. In those areas we were not disappointed. The resort is beautiful and unique. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was clean, our room was great, lots of activities to keep the family busy. Most staff were pleasant. Ice cream machines at several locations! Animals and eco activities. The spa was lovely, including the eucalyptus steam room. Wifi. The cenote.
The weak points
The food at the buffet was repetitive and often poor quality. We often had to wait in line to get into the buffet (10-15 minutes). Part of the waterpark was closed for a few days. Limited food options at certain times.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024