Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

3.953.953.953.953.95
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#24 of 117 hotels in Riviera Maya
3.95 based on 438 reviews
Traveller pictures (115)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

7 days in Paradise!!!!

, Bathurst , NB
2019-05-24
We were extremely EXTREMELY happy with our stay at the Sandos Caracol Eco resort!!!! We went as a family of three and could not have asked for better all around experience. The staff was absolutely unbelievable, the Kids club was a sure bonus and the amenities were all you can want and need. The access to room service, laundry service, night entertainment, sports bar etc. made this trip the best we have ha so far!! We regretted not having sat for the time share presentation as we will seriously be considering same as we will be back again and again !!!! I would be more than happy to speak further to how awesome this place is to anyone who will listen !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Pools -Night Shows -Staff -Animals -Shopping on resort -Literally everything !!
The weak points
- Nothing to really complain about, this place is an 11/10
Certified

Perfect family vacation destination

, Airdrie, AB
2019-04-29
A true all inclusive! So many on site free activities, we did not have to do excursions as there was never a shortage of eco tours included. Food was great, was a large resort, but never felt too busy. You can visit the sister resort just a short cab ride away and enjoy a beautiful beach day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great food, easy access to amenities, great pools with lots of lounging areas. Great variety of food and activities. Room was spacious.
The weak points
Not the nicest beach to swim, bring water shoes as is naturally rocky. Balcony was very small.
Certified

Mexico 2019

, Fort Saint John, BC
2019-04-27
I was traveling with my wife and 7year old daughter. If you have younger children this place is amazing. The three buffet restaurant are decent food very kid friendly the steak & seafood , Brazilian , Mediterranean & Japanese Job restaurants were amazing.The animals running around the resort was awesome my daughter especially loved the monkeys we would have to go to the bridge by the Mexican restaurant every morning to see them. The staff were great especially the lady's at the kids club. I was a little Leary of leaving my daughter by herself in a different country but after meeting the girls all I can say is wow especially Liz we hired her as a nanny for my daughter for a few hours so my wife and I could go to 5th ave. She was absolutely great with her she made my daughter feel comfortable right from the start. Lots to do and see at Sandos. All in all I would give a 4.5 star for this resort. The other half star was lost because of a little hiccup with the cleaning staff the second last morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
If I had to pick a weak point of this resort would be the beach. Very rocky out in the water but still beautiful. I didn't mind it because I didn't have to worry if my daughter was in the water.

Getting away from winter

, Cobourg, ON
2019-03-23
Our overall experience was great. We stayed in the adults only section, approximately 10 minute walk to the Select Club adult only beach. Our ground floor room was roomy enough for 2 with a very firm Kingsize bed. The food was excellent with a variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants, including a vegetarian restaurant on the ocean front. As an Eco resort, obvious care is taken to preserve natural vegetation with lots of shaded walkways and avoid disposable water containers. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just be aware that there is a membership sales plan that you will be invited to sit through. Though not as high pressure as some “time share” experiences the real time commitment is 2 hours start to finish. There was lots for families to do onsite and would recommend the resort for all ages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

11 days in paradise!

, Cochrane, AB
2019-03-03
I'm a single parent and traveled with my 9 year old daughter Feb. 17-28, 2019. The resort was well maintained and the staff were very kind and accommodating. The upgrade to the Signature Club and room upon check in was fantastic! Our original room type was Super Saver and I'm so happy we received the upgrade to take advantage of the updated room, WI-FI and room service. We stayed in building 23 which was great because it was close to the pool and beach. The resort grounds are huge and it did take a few days to figure out how to maneuver around. The wildlife were fun to watch and a great experience to get to see them in the jungle environment. The beach was nice but rocky so we didn't spend much time in the water. Water shoes are a must! The food was good and no issues with finding something to fill the gap. The Japanese restaurant was good, but not as exciting as I thought it would be. We enjoyed the International buffet, Italian, and steak and seafood restaurant. We really wanted to try the Brazilian restaurant but it was the farthest from our room and kids were only allowed after 8pm. We made the most use of the Tortuga pool that was next to our building but they didn't offer food service so we would have to leave the pool and search out food at another pool or back to the buffet. We did a lot of the activities offered by the resort and some of the nightly shows. The staff do an outstanding job! My daughter already wants to plan another trip back, but I'm not sure I would return only for the fact I like to experience different places. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and well maintained, good food choices, lots of activities
The weak points
Large property, rocky beach, limited food choices for lunch at the pool (hamburgers & hot dogs only)
Certified

Sandos caracol

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-02
Great resort, good food, good fun, clean and well run! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great experience, fun, clean, friendly!
Certified

Sandos Caracol

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-02
Great resort, well run! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort, well run, good food fun activities and shows!
Certified

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

, Leamington, ON
2019-02-20
Rooms were renovated and clean. Lots of trees and shade. Food was fairly good. Resort includes several experiences that you can sign up for. The pool tables, foosball tables and ping pong tables were nice for chilling in the evenings. Concierge were always helpful. The staff in the restaurants, cleaning staff, etc. know very little English but were always pleasant and helpful. The nightly shows were quite good. The Mexican Night was a lot of fun. There was a lot of selection for excursions in the area.

On the negative side, it was intermittently quite stinky. Sometimes when walking along the path to the rooms, it would smell like sewer. Other times it was something else - not sure if it was a jungle smell. The beach smelled like it too. They didn't clean the beach, so maybe it was the washed up seaweed. Going in the water was treacherous because of the rocks. Definitely bring water shoes and be careful.

The kids club leaders were great, however the scheduling was ridiculous. You have to wait until 6pm to sign up for the next day's activities and only 10 kids can sign up for each activity. A family resort should accommodate more than 10 kids for activities. Any child that wants to join, should have access.

I found it annoying that while we were inside the resort, we were getting hassled to buy, buy, buy from the vendors along the street and at the beach and pretty much everywhere else. I was asked for a massage several times a day. I understand getting hassled to buy if we went outside of the resort, but I wasn't expecting that on the inside. They even had people dressed up in Mayan costumes, Mexican costumes, with pretty umbrellas, etc. to get your picture taken with, for a cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Renovated, clean, helpful staff, good evening shows, resort experiences, tables for evening activities in sports area.
The weak points
Stinky, kids club sign up and # limit unrealistic, vendor haggling,
Certified

Another great winter vacation

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-20
This was our second trip as Royal Elite members to Sandos Caracol and we thought we explored lots last year, we still explored areas of the resort that we had not seen the year before. Absolutely enjoyed our time. Our room was in villa 6 overlooking main pool, was enjoyable to watch all at end of day. Food and service was excellent,premium drinks always enjoyable. Love meeting various people on royal elite side from all over the world. Animals all over resort were fun to watch and interact .
We did not go easily into becoming royal elite members last year, but in the long run, we are happy we did. As business owners, our time is precious when we go on holidays and we know exactly what to expect and what we will receive with our membership. Looking forward to exploring the other Sandos resorts and what they have to offer as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service-excellent, surroundings-beautiful, food-delicious,quality of rooms-comfortable. Even if its a bad weather day at beach, take a walk through jungle and you don't even notice the weather.
The weak points
As noted in other review, beach is little rocky and seaweed but is still enjoyable, besides, even a rocky beach is better than -30 C in Canada!

Visit # 5

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-10
VISIT # 5
We (our family) was at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort again Dec. 2018. Again, we love that it is in the Mayan Jungle – beautiful greenery and friendly wild life. The resort is clean and well maintained, they have made some great upgrades to some of the rooms and different spots of the resort to make our/your experience more enjoyable.
The resort is close to many touristy places to visit. This time we took a trip to ChichenItza or you can just stay on the resort where the staff treat you special every day.
We were up graded this time and loved our rooms and location. There were 7 of us, our 3 grown adult children and 2 grandchildren. There is something there for every age. What takes us back to this resort? Mostly the way the staff treat us, after 5 visits they really get to know who we are; it is like a ‘homecoming' each time we return. The staff go out of their way to make our/your stay wonderful, they are very personable and treat you like family.
We love going to the Toscana Restaurant where Yeni Flores ALWAYS greets us with great enthusiasm the greeters at the door are also very friendly and enthusiastic. At the Riviera (Mediterranean Restaurant) there is Pedro Silvan who is ALWAYS positive and ready to serve us or help us in any way he can.
At the main pool bar is Ruby – such a nice guy who at the end of his shift each day specifically passes by us on his way out and shakes each of our hands! The girls serving the drinks around the pool area - Ernestina and Martha are GREAT!
Most of all we were fortunate enough to meet Patric Loeser the Sub-Director. He went the EXTRA mile in making sure our visit was the best visit everyday that we were there. We were humbled (but loved how) Patric and his staff made us feel like celebrities. Patric Loeser is a great PR person and he is passionate about what he does. Patric checked in on us frequently and even joined us for a couple meals! Patric is very knowledgeable and I would say has wisdom and experiences beyond his years which makes conversation with him so easy.
Would we go back the 6th time? YES, and recommend this resort. The resort in itself amidst the jungle is beautiful but, it's people like Patric and all the staff at Sandos that keep us coming back. Thank you for such a wonderful family holiday experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Patric Loeser @ Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

, Martensville, SK
2019-02-09
My family & I have been to Sandos Eco Carcol resort for the last 5 consecutive years. The staff are incredible & the resort is well laid out. The fact that it is literally in the jungle & your not surrounded by concrete is absolutely phenomenal. The ECO atmosphere theme is prevalent throughout the facility.

In 2017 my family & I were blessed to meet Patric Loeser. Patric is a caring & companionate individual & is second to none. His customer service, attitude, & demeanor is so welcoming that you feel like family rather than a guest. His laugh alone is contagious. If you have an opportunity I would advise that you search him out!! Patric provided an EPIC vacation for our family. We are very grateful to him & the team at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort... we will be back in 2019.

Why Patric isn't the VP of operations for the Sandos chain of resorts is beyond me... I will come back just to see him. He is like a brother from another mother!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Family Resort

, Arnprior , ON
2019-01-23
Great experience at this resort. We brought our 2 young boys (5 & 2) and it was a great family resort. The waterpark and pools were a hit. The beach is on the smaller side and rocky which made it hard to swim, however the kids enjoyed playing at the shoreline where there weren't many rocks. The room was clean and spacious. Food was decent with a variety to choose from. The indoor kids play place was a bonus, a good spot to get out of the heat and let the kids run free in a safe zone. The night shows were very well done and enjoyed by the whole family. There are many nature paths to walk and explore and the wildlife is amazing. Lots to see and do! Would recommend as a family resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacation

, Oshawa, ON
2019-01-01
My husband and I were here for a week. We met some great people who we hung out with and made wonderful memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a king size bed with bunkbeds in it great for extra room/storage since it was just the two of us. Pools and bartenders were great. Grounds were maintained. Food was good at Mexican and Japanese.
The weak points
The trying to upsell was annoying. First day all we wanted to do was get to the pool/sun and it's hard but really unless your rude they go on and on. I finally got up and said thanks no we're done! The entertainment is ok not great.

Nice family vacation

, Cambridge, ON
2018-12-27
We had some difficulty on check-in. They offered us an 'upgrade' when we arrived which after some questioning we wanted to decline (as the room didn't seem as nice as the one we had booked) but quickly realized that it wasn't really optional as the room we had booked was not available - we were never provided with an explanation why, but assume they double booked. So, we were forced to take another room (which it turned out was not as nice as the room we had booked - our three kids had to sleep together on a day bed) for the first night. We then had to check out at 10 am on the second day and then check back in again at 4 pm. Not the end of the world, but it meant we weren't able to settle in as we had hoped and it caused some stress as we weren't confident we were going to get the room we had booked.

Once we were able to settle into the room we had booked (Eco Family Penthouse) the accommodations were great. The rooms were very clean and spacious and newly renovated. The pools were very nice and very clean. The beach was nice but lots of seaweed and quite rocky (not the beach itself, but the water) and it was quite rough most of the time (red flags were up the entire week).

Only other negatives about the resort from my perspective would be the following:
1. The sewage/septic system could use some work. Walking through parts of the resort there was a very strong smell of sewage. This smell also came up into the bathroom in our room which was rather unpleasant. We had to leave the toilet seat down and the bathroom fan on with the door closed.
2. It would have been nice to be able to make reservations as the a la carte restaurants. If you didn't go to dinner very early, the wait was sometimes an hour or more which meant that you were late for or missed the evening entertainment.
3. Some of the amenities that were supposed to be included with our room (all rooms actually) were lacking - for example we never got our bathrobes and slippers despite asking repeatedly, and the bar fridge in our room only got restocked if we asked and there were never any snacks it it.

The restaurants themselves were okay - decent variety, and the a la cartes had a children's menu (although it was the same kids menu at all the restaurants).

The water park was nice, but two of our three kids (ages 11, 10 and 8) were too short to go on most of the water slides. Interestingly, our kids weren't really interested in the water park and preferred the pools, so next time we book, a water park probably won't be part of the criteria.

Not sure I would book this resort again, but at the end of the day we came home tanned and relaxed with some great family memories! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Newly renovated family suites; nice pools; decent restaurants.
The weak points
Sewage smell in some areas which came up into the bathroom in our room. Can't make reservations at the a la carte restaurants.
Certified

Living on the farm

, Gatineau, QC
2018-12-04
Chicken and cat on the lobby, poops on pathways, need to watch step. Foul smell near one of their restaurant. Some staffs not helpful, not good in resolving problems passing to one another until you reach nowhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good picture
The weak points
Cleanliness
Certified

Best vacay and Our Dream Wedding!!

, High River, AB
2018-11-27
We had an amazing week with all our friends and family, a gorgeous Dream Beach Wedding with an even more beautiful rooftop reception and a week honeymoon after on our own.
I cannot say enough about the resorts' wedding department, especially Kiani and Anacarin. It can be tough to communicate while trying to organize and plan everything from so far away, but somehow they made it easy and everything worked out unbelievably well! We had guests tell us it was the best wedding they have ever been to, and other couples start planning their destination wedding after seeing ours.
Our kids are 1 and 3 and they were able to enjoy all the family friendly amenities that the resort has to offer. The adults only section is also great for a getaway from the family/kid atmosphere.
Once in a lifetime trip we won't soon forget! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Wonderful return to my favourite place

, Cornwall, ON
2018-10-21
This was my third trip to Sandos Caracol. I joined the Royale Elite family two years ago and have no regrets. I'm going to be brutally honest in this review in saying this resort isn't for everybody. I only say this as some people have a cookie cutter idea of what resorts should like like after having gone to other ones and Caracol is unique. The resort has been built around the jungle. If you are looking for manicured lawns and maintained gardens, it won't be here. Caracol is wild, lush vegetation, mangroves, cenotes and all that goes with it. There is a smell in one area of the resort from the mangrove area. After the first day past it doesn't bother you, it's part of the experience of being in the true jungle. The animals wander free, peacocks, coatis, monkeys, cats and birds. It's a wildlife bonanza. Moving on, the resort is always impeccably maintained for cleanliness. I have NEVER seen a staff work so hard and show so much pride in a hotel. The staff also go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful and that you are satisfied. You are treated like family each and every time. I have been to fancier places but will continue to return “home” to Caracol for this simple reason. Thank you again to Patric Loeser who we met on the first evening and who continued to check in with us throughout our week. I also want to give a shout out to Jaime, Juana, Gray, Leidy and Melissa from the RE pool, and lastly Karina from the Brazilian restaurant. Without all of you our trip wouldn't have been half as nice. I can't wait to go back in February and would recommend this resort to anyone that wants to try something outside the box. You won't regret it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Animals, lush vegetation, cleanliness ad wonderful staff
The weak points
The food could use some improvement. It's very good in the a la cartel areas but the buffets could be better

Overall awesome resort

, Sherwood Park , AB
2018-09-12
Our experience at the hotel was great, we really enjoyed our stay, we rented a scooter for my mom which was a great idea as the resort is very large and lots of walking is required.
The best place to eat is at the Los Lirios restaurant by the adults only pool, the service and food was awesome.
The entertainment by the pool was very entertaining, Spencer really made our time at the pool and at the evening events a great experience.
We loved all the monkeys and other animals that are all around the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment by Spencer and the Los Lirios restaurant.
The weak points
The only thing that we were disappointed about was when we checked in and our rooms were not side by side as pre requested.
Certified

My First Trip To Mexico

, Miramichi, NB
2018-05-09
The room was in need for some new furniture i.e. dressers and end tables which very marked and the finishing was missing in multiple spots. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had easy access to the pools and beach but for vacationers who were further away I think the signage could be improved.
The weak points
We were disappointed in the beach in that it was very "rocky" and difficult to manoeuver.
Certified

Mostly Awesome

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-26
The hotel was great. The pools were wonderful including the slides. My son particularly liked the swim up bar. The À la carte restaurants were all very good (except the Italian which everyone else raves about). The rooms weren't awesome but they were nice (and who plans on spending their time in their rooms anyway). The people were very nice and accommodating. It is clearly designed for families so if you have a child and don't have friends going along, there will be kids to play with. The downside: I hate the towel cards. You get as many towel cards as you have people. If you lose a towel or card... $30. It can be loud at night. There are cool things going on, like music, shows etc, but you can hear them in your room depending on where you are. The bad: Some restaurants have weird hours or days that are closed so find out when you get there. They don't have the best beach, but the sister resort which you have access to does and again, the pools are awesome. I found the beds to be hard (but that's personal preference). Expect check-in to take a lot longer than it should (an hour or so). The vendors are very aggressive as are the timeshare offerings which is probably the same at all of the resorts. My advice, be ready to negotiate. DO NOT PAY FULL PRICE. Even with the negatives listed, which were the only ones, We had a great time. If you have kids, THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO! If you're looking for the Ritz and Glitz resort, This is not your place (their sister resort is). The most important question: Would I go back? Absolutely, in fact we're rethinking our vacation plans for next year and may be back sooner than originally planned. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong Points: The Pools, A la carte restaurants, helpfulness of staff. Things to do.
The weak points
Weak points: Check-in, towel cards, hard mattress, vendor and timeshare offering aggressiveness.
Certified

Easter at Sandos Caracol

, Ndip, QC
2018-04-09
We were two families who spent 7 days at the Sandos Caracol resort. Workers were friendly, the food was great, grounds were very clean, the animals and centotes were awesome. The beach was not great, but we spent 2 days at the Sandos playacar beach which was just awesome. The water park was horrible and dangerous, one of us even got injured but nothing was done about it it even ruined our clothing. The time share was also bad, they completely try to trick you and hide the fact that they were time share. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, the food, the animals.
The weak points
Water park, beach, time share
Certified

Great family resort

, Edmonton, AB
2018-03-08
Great family resort that is not your typical concrete and clear cut resort. Lush jungle and well maintained walking trails! The staff are top notch and the food is decent. The only bad thing is the sales people! Do not attend there royal elite sales pitch turn it down they are pushy and do not take no for a answer! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Water slides good for the family Restaurants are good The buffets are decent Pools are clean and well maintained Rooms are clean and comfortable All the service staff are great!
The weak points
Royal Elite sals staff are very pushy once you say no! Do not attend unless you are looking to drop 21000 or 42000 US dollars!
Certified

Excellent resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-28
This is by far the best resort I have ever stayed in. Food was excellent and there was so much to do - something for everyone. The shows at night are unbelievable - theatre quality and in an actual theatre. Beautiful property. I could rave about this resort for hours and would highly recommend it to everyone. Best of all is the service. Impeccable especially the waiters - go above and beyond to ensure everything is perfect. One young man at the Laguna buffet restaurant, Cesar morales, especially stands out. So hard working and personable. Meeting him and having him wait on us was enough to not want to go anywhere else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, food, friendliness of staff, entertainment and nature
The weak points
Rocky beach, mosquitos
Certified

Over review of Sandos Caracol Eco

, Parksville, BC
2018-02-13
This has been our 4th visit to this resort and our experience has been excellent each visit. The rooms are clean and comfortable but we are most impressed with the staff and service. We would like to commend a couple of staff in particular. Victor who was a server in the lobby and the theatre bar. He was always happy and attentive and we looked forward to seeing him nightly. The second staff member was Lety by the pool by the Brazilian Restaurant. She was a gem. She was always very busy but always took the time to chat with a lovely smile. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personal Service from the Sub Director Patric Loeser to the waiters and housekeeping.
The weak points
Little disappointed in the beach which appeared rockier than previous years

Vacation

, Rouleau, SK
2018-02-12
Great hotel, great food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT – good time, but I would

, Navan, ON
2018-01-20
SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT – good time, but I would not recommend to adult family and friends.
I drafted these comments while still at the resort. I recall reading guest comments before our departure, hoping some of the recurring complaints, such as check in wait time, would be solved by our arrival. No, .. wishful thinking. I don't want to come across as a big sourpuss, so I will first admit that we enjoyed our 9 day stay at the resort, but mainly because of the beautiful weather, incredible surroundings, and welcoming staff. This resort is perfect for families with young children, offering lots of youth activities and infrastructures to keep the little ones going all day long.
Would I recommend Sandos Caracol Eco Resort to my “adult” family and friends; NO, absolutely not.
Here is a list of my disappointments;

CHECK IN COUNTER; expect to wait a minimum 1 hour, to 1.5 hours for check in. The resort keeps only two of the 7 check in counters open at any given time (this was the case throughout our 9 day stay). When we first arrived at the check in area, we were told to stand in one of two lines. After 10 minutes, my wife suggested we change lanes, as the other one seemed to be moving a bit faster, so we did. After another 40 minutes, we were “next to be served”, as was the couple in the other line that used to be behind us. Then to everyone's surprise (& chock), .. the check in clerk of our former line announced that “he is going on break, please move to the other line”. Well !!!, .. for those in that line up, that now meant their wait time would easily be another 1 hour (so in total, 1 hour and 45 minutes). Needless to say, there were many unhappy campers now behind us. Lastly, when we finally got to our room with keys in hand, we discovered we were given the wrong keys (half the resort, including our room, have a new type of door lock, and we were given the old style key), so we had to come go back to the check in desk.

ARTIFICIAL SWEETENERS , SUCH AS ASPARTAME & SUCRALOSE: I am particularly sensitive to artificial sweeteners, such as aspartame and sucralose. So is my wife. No allergies, we just dislike the taste, and after taste brought on by these artificial sweeteners. NOTE, ALL JUICES AND DRINKS THROUGHOUT THE RESOURT USE ARTIFICIAL SWEETNERS. Pinacoladas, daiquiris, all made with artificial sweeteners. Even the breakfast orange juice is made from concentrate with added artificial sweeteners. We were unsuccessful in ordering any juice or drink without artificial sugar, and had to settle for canned pop or tetra packs (drink boxes for children). We finally had our concerns addressed on 7th day by insisting to speak with the food and beverage manager Rigo. Although Rigo was extremely sympathetic, he said that in his last 7 years at the resort, which accommodates 2,500 guest daily, we were the first guests ever to complain about the artificial sweeteners. I told Rigo we spoke with two other couples a few days earlier who said they could not stomach the resort's sweeteners, and had complained to their concierge. Rigo said the complaints never reached him (so lesson for future guests, if you want your concerns taken seriously, speak directly with a manager). Rigo explained the resort uses a liquid artificial sweetener called “Jarabe Natural Sweetener” (which makes it very confusing if you ask your barperson for a drink with a “natural sugar”. The liquid sweetener is apparently easier to dilute in drinks, and also acts as a preservative. I told Rigo I was surprised his “purportedly all natural resort” would use artificial sweeteners, which have been labelled carcinogenic by many international health authorities. We also reminded Rigo that SANDOS CARACOL was the first resort ever that we visit where artificial sweeteners are utilized.

NON SMOKING AREAS; We are non-smokers, and always look for non-smoking areas. We paid extra to be part of the “Select Adult Only” club. The beach area for the select club includes 10 day beds, in fairly close proximity to each other. Smoking is allowed. Although only 1 in 10 smoked, we were often exposed to cigarette smoke (European cigarettes, very vial smelling). We brought this to our concierge's attention, but he told us there is nothing she could do, the day bed area (the only one that comes with our upgrade package) does not include a no-smoking area. My advice if you are a non-smoker, don't buy the Select upgrade package, it is not worth it (or at least it is not worth it at this resort).

FOOD IS LUKE WARM; the food served throughout the resort, including buffets and a-la-carte restaurants was luke warm at best. In the buffet areas, the prepared foods are presented on trays that sit on ceramic surfaces, which are either not warm, or not warm enough. This system also tends to dry out the food (as opposed to a steam bath system, that would keep the food both moist and hot).

To be fair with Sandos Caracole, we still enjoyed our stay at the Eco Resort. We hope our comments will motivate management to address the issues we have raised. We also encourage future guests of Eco Resort to address their concerns directly with management.
We have been on many southern holidays, including several Mexican resorts. I would rate this resort a 3.5 only. If you keep your expectations in line with this rating, Sandos Caracol Eco Resort could be a good fit for your holidays. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Review of Sandos Caracol Eco resort Jan 2018

, Gatineau, QC
2018-01-15
PROS: Great food at the Laguna buffet at all meals (only restaurant we tried), beautiful grounds with jungle and ruins, nice beach and pools. Water slides are a bonus, but not as safe as those in Canada. Very clean resort all around, most services quick (except for front desk/reception/client service). Ecological.

CONS: The front doors to the rooms are very thin and therefore the rooms are super noisy if you are in an area where there is foot traffic; and you can hear neighbors arriving to their door as if they were in your room. We were in building 13 and it was horrendous, every night. We could hear the music shows, we could hear people laughing, talking, walking as if they were in our room with us. Difficult to sleep early when traffic noise goes on till late in the night. Also able to hear all movements on upper level (chairs moving, walking), so if you are a light sleeper, get an upper level and away from traffic areas. Hotel was fully booked so we could not change rooms.
Check in took 1 hour. Any calls from our room to reception or front desk/client services never answered.

Overall, I would return, but would pick a better location for our room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food at the Laguna buffet, beautiful grounds with jungle and ruins, nice beach and pools. Very clean resort, most services quick (except for front desk/reception/client service).
The weak points
The front doors to the rooms are very thin and therefore the rooms are super noisy if you are in an area where there is foot traffic and neighbors arriving. Also able to hear all movements on upper level (chairs moving, walking). Check in took 1 hour..
Certified

Great place for kids!

, Vulcan, AB
2017-12-10
We have a 1 1/2 year old and 3 1/2 year old and had a complete blast with them on our stay. Between the waterpark, beach, two pools, play place, petting zoo and theatre there was no time to be bored! The place is huge but the walkways make it very easy to get anywhere quickly. The whole place is very well cared for, it was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people are crazy friendly and so nice. There is so much to do you don't need to leave the resort if you want a change of pace. The sand is AMAZING, softest sand ever. There are bars and snack foods EVERYWHERE.
The weak points
The ocean is covered in rocks about three feet in. So unless you have a water floaty or water shoes you're not going into the ocean. The unrenovated rooms are kind of a hot mess.
Certified

Being spoiled at Sandos Caracol

, Vancouver, BC
2017-11-28
As regular visitors to Sandos Caracol, we have yet to be disappointed. On the contrary our experience gets better every time. We were there on October 31 to November 07/17
We had booked an eco saver room, but we were treated to
Select club adults only, for no extra charge.
We love the natural setting of the resort. Daily we were feeding spider monkeys right on our balcony. There is wildlife all through the resort.
One of the major reasons we keep coming back is the daily morning Yoga practice with our favorite teacher/ "guru"
Juan Carlos. He is an amazing teacher, physically and spiritually. When we book our trip, first we make sure Juan Carlos will be there.
The buffets, the restaurants, the bars, the activities the nightly shows, the beach, were excellent.
We are looking forward to our next visit.
Nick Tsougrianis [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The natural setting, the yoga, the beach, the shows
The weak points
I can't think of any
Certified

Great Family Resort

, Pembroke, ON
2017-11-20
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was awesome. great service. The resort was huge. Lots of bars. A fantastic place for young children.
The weak points
The Resort was huge. Had a difficult time finding some of the pools in the kids area.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?