Riu Tequila

4.234.234.234.234.23
Riu Tequila
#15 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.23 based on 462 reviews
Traveller pictures (91)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

A Slice of Paradise

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-15
This is our 2nd stay at the Tequila and was just as great as our 1st. We will be returning next year. Thank you for making our vacation an enjoyable one! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff smile and make you feel welcome by saying "Ola" everytime they see you. Service in all areas is outstanding at the Tequila, the food is of good quality and the beach is beautiful. The area is very safe and that is why we return.
The weak points
Would like to see top shelf liquor like Baileys Irish Cream. Need better pillows.
Certified

Riu Tequila, January 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-07
We loved this Hotel and the location. The beach was a 10 minute walk or we can take the shuttle. Travelled as a Family,9 year old and 14 year old. The Rooms were clean and the staff was Friendly and helpful! Everywhere you look someone is cleaning and making sure the Hotel is kept in order. Their standards are certainly to par. This hotel is in the middle of natural vegetation and wildlife as there is still much surrounding jungle. The "Coati" are friendly but not to be pet or fed. They don't bother you as long as you don't bug them. Food was awesome in the buffet, a wide variety and I found every night to have a different theme. The Mexican restaurant ironically was lacking in quality. Stick to the Buffet, the Mexican food in the Buffet was awesome. Everything was FRESH! EveryDay from Breakfast to dinner you can't go wrong. As a Riu partner Hotel you can enjoy the amenities at the Neighbouring Riu Hotels, the Yucatan and Palace. Which we did! Lunch and shows! The Shows at the Tequila were fun. The Neon party is all ages as with all shows, my 9 year old danced away! The bars were well stocked in the room complete with 4 one litre bottles of water per day a six pack of beer, soft drinks and vodka, rum , gin ,and Tequila! The drinks at the bar were typical of a Mexican all inclusive watered down, due to the lack of Governing agency as we have in Canada when it comes to liquor control Boards. This is typical of an all inclusive, keep this in mind and expect nothing more! If you want a strong drink go into town! Town was a 6 minute cab ride and $6 US. Or $7 US depends on the driver. You can also safely walk into town, about 30 minutes! We did both and felt very safe. The Hotel Riu Tequila is part of a Gated Complex so again, Very safe! One bit of advise, do not book your excursions or day trips with your vacation reps ! There is a lot of people on the beach that are selling the same excursion with the same waivers and insurances for less! The rep is actually a third party sending you to the same place with that same person on the beach running your excursion! If renting a car to the neighbouring Island OF Cozumel, rent on the Island Not in Town. It is cheaper on the Island and you get the same car! Overall Great trip, Great Food, Great People, Very Safe, Kid Friendly, Adult Friendly, Lots to do, Very Clean. Visit the town , go Snorkelling! ENJOY! You are on Vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We really enjoyed being able to access the adjacent parter Riu Properties! Rooms and the Hotel itself were always clean. Food was great , lots to choose from and Fresh ! Very safe area! Highly recommend the Tequila
The weak points
I'm not sure there is anything ? My only issue had to do with our on site vacation rep not being 100% truthful as they are on commissions and are looking for the sale. There are other places in town and on the beach that will sell you the same !
Certified

Nice resort

, Laval, QC
2020-01-02
beautiful hotel, gentle staff, nice music and shows, food ok not so bad not the best... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort landscape, staff, swimming pools, room cleaness, friendly hotel
The weak points
food, drinks, sometime crowdy at the bar, afternoon snack bar very poor
Certified

Sunwing

, Thornhill, ON
2019-12-13
The place and beach were nice but the food was so salty and intertainments was not good at all , was boaring . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Not going back there again
Certified

Riu Tequila

, Port Perry, ON
2019-03-06
We visited Playa del Carmen Feb 24-Mar 3/19. We were greeted by friendly staff, the check-in was pleasant and smooth. We made our way to our rooms and shortly after our bags arrived. The room in the 21 block was nice, however located in the back. The view was limited and our swim suits would not dry, so we requested another room with a frontview and were relocated to the18 block the following day. The new room was modern bright and well maintained by the cleaning staff. The buffet was a good variety and there is something for everyone. The pools were cleaned daily and lovely. The entertainment staff were enthusiastic and had people participating in many events, including Bingo! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points of Riu are other Riu hotels close by and having access to them, we used the beach a few times, but ate lunch at the Yucatan daily.
The weak points
They need to monitor the indigenous wildlife (Coati) they are cute, however their numbers are increasing.
Certified

Lovely resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-12
We spent a wonderful week at this smaller resort the first week of February and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the time we checked in until leaving we felt that the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The food and drinks were all premium quality and the variety was amazing. It was our 30 wedding anniversary and a quick email before we arrived was answered right away. When we got to our room we were greeted with a anniversary banner above our bed and chocolate covered strawberries were on our table. Also they offered us a special dinner but unfortunately we ran out of time to take them up on their offer. We won't hesitate to come back to this beautiful resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, staff, entertainment
Certified

Riu tequila

, Maple Ridge, BC
2018-01-29
The hotel was nice, very clean, food was good and staff very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Tequila

, Mississauga, ON
2017-11-20
Love it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is friendly and helpful. The receptionist, waiters, bartenders, room service, grounds people are all amazing
The weak points
The building is a little bit old and needs some updating.
Certified

Riu Tequila

, Thunder Bay, HA
2017-01-20
This was our second 2 week stay at the hotel.We would likely visit again. The hotel style is perfect for it's charm and uniqueness. Would hate to see it change to a modern glass and marble hotel. The small compounds located among lovely pathways are so much nicer than a modern, many storied building. I hope it never changes. The staff in all departments are friendly and courteous. We were surprised to be remembered by several of the Jalisco staff. Overall one of our best vacation experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All aspects of the hotel, staff, and programs.
The weak points
None
Certified

Excellent stay at the Rui Tequila

, Etobicoke, ON
2016-11-29
The service at this facility was outstanding. Not only did our group not encounter any problems we didn't see anyone else having any issues either. Everything was on point and ran effortlessly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Tequila

, Whitby, ON
2015-12-01
Riu Tequila was the perfect place.staff were very friendly and worked very hard.food was excellent.felt very safe there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Ok

, Kitchener, ON
2015-08-24
Nice beach other than bad seaweed days and ants. Nice rooms. Food was not much better than Cuba...very salty and over-cooked... breakfast sausages are more like jerky.Staff are mostly very friendly and tried hard to please. Near the end of our stay the no-see-um were bad in the lobby and show area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Food
Certified

Dream week in Mexico!

, Calgary, AB
2015-05-14
It was beyond all expectations! Traditional and accomodating in every way. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best parts was the location (not far from playacar plaza and also 5th avenue). The beach was the best part.
The weak points
I didn't find one thing to complain about!
Certified

RIU Tequila, Two Thumbs Up

, Waterloo, ON
2015-05-06
Our 1 week stay at the RIU Tequila was most enjoyable. The resort was exceptionally clean and the facility and services exceeded our expectations. Though not located directly on the beach, the short stroll (or shuttle ride) to the beach was not an issue. Access to the beach front RIU Yucatan and its facilities provided the best of both resorts. Everything you'd expect from a 5 star resort and then some. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The facility, rooms, restaurants, food, entertainment, friendliness all exceeded expectations. Overall, an excellent value.
The weak points
Internet access in room would be nice. Mattresses may be a little too firm for some.
Certified

Rip tequila review

, Strathroy, ON
2015-04-28
Extremely clean. Polite and helpful workers. Food was excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Andrea bartender at the sports bar was awesome. The day she was off it took 3 people to do her job
The weak points
Sports pool activities were ok but shut down from 1200-1500. Need more activities.
Certified

Rip tequila

, Pitt Meadows, BC
2015-04-26
lovely hotel with pleasant and helpful employees and nice rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff.
The weak points
transportation too and from beach.
Certified

Very good hotel

, Toronto, ON
2015-04-06
A nice experience in the Playacar area. The food is fantastic with so many choices for every taste. The beaches are gorgeous with white sand and turquoise color. Very close to Playa del Carmen.
Probably the weakest point is the night show that needs a lot of improvement.
The hotel is highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food Beautiful beaches Exotic animals Close to Playa del Carmen
The weak points
Night show needs a lot improvement
Certified

George dvaladze

, Northyork, ON
2014-12-21
everything was best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything was best
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Great vacation!!!

2014-11-08
friendly crew, good food & entertainment [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food, cleanliness
The weak points
internet
Certified

Riu Tequila

, Stouffville, ON
2014-04-29
Had a great vacation - 7 days stay at Riu Tequila. Nice that we had access to all three Riu resorts. Rooms were nice. Beach was a 5 minute walk. Food was good. Majority was buffet. Mexican and Steakhouse were the best a la carts. If we were going back to Mexico - would definitely stay there again. Felt very safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff. Shows were good too.
The weak points
Food was good. Mostly buffets and only got to do 3 a la carts. One of which was buffet style.
Certified

Everything from peaceful to party!

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-25
The staff are exceptional. Atmosphere is welcoming. Rooms are well kept and very clean. You can enjoy quiet relaxation or enjoy the livlier atmospere of the pool.Evening will bring cocktails and a great show. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the exceptional vareiety of things to do.
The weak points
If sand is your thing it is a 10 minute walk.
Certified

Amazing resort

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-24
You cannot go wrong with this hotel. riu pulls it off as per usual fashion. Will be going bsck [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, people, beach, shows, rooms, cleanliness, all
The weak points
none
Certified

Riu Tequila Riviera Maya

, Oshawa, ON
2014-03-24
Hotel was great Loved the villas The staff was so nice and friendly and always working [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean staff very friendly and professional
The weak points
refrigerator was not cold
Certified

Great Vacation

, Waterloo, ON
2014-03-17
Excellent staff. Great beach. Good food.
We went during March Break when prices are absurdly inflated. If you can get a good deal on this hotel...it's worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-the beach with plenty of chairs and shade -excellent bar and buffet service
The weak points
-room was nothing fancy but did the trick -you have to walk to the beach but it's not far
Certified

Won't go back to the Riu Tequila

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-12
The Riu Tequila was a big disappointment,their service,entertainment, and snack bar sucks big time. I expected a lot more for a 41/2 resort but it was more like a 3 star, the walk to the beach was long and the shuttle service doesn't run from 12-3 the time you want to go to the beach and have to walk. Riu only have name and isn't what you get for your money's worth. If I have to use the Riu it would be the palace since its the only nice one.

Don't drink anything from their glasses in the room, I personally saw what happened with their with the cleaning staff.

Their's too much animals running loose on the resort which I didn't like, the cocktails were all powdered mixes. Their is nothing good to eat after the show, the snack bar is a hugh disappointment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, pool and food was great.
The weak points
No good food after dinner the snack bar is a joke, entertainment is lacking,and I personally saw the maid cleaned the glass with with same cloth she use to clean the sink how gross is that.
Certified

Winter Escape from Winnipeg

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-12
Great resort for families: Food was very good: Loved the Grounds and open areas. Service was excellent and Staff were very friendly. The Beach was "too far away" with an inadequate supply or number of Beach Chairs. The Entertainment was poor - the worst during my many years of Winter travel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Service, friendly staff and good food
The weak points
The Nightly Entertainment and inadequate number of Beach Chaise Lounges.
Certified

Wonderful week!

, Dieppe, NB
2014-03-02
Beautiful grounds and lobby. Fantastic beach. Great week!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
Restaurant a la carte
Certified

We wont be going back

, Barrie, ON
2014-03-02
This is our second time going to the Tequila. First in 2010 and again now. We loved it the first time but not so much this time. In 2010 they played music at the pool bar creating a wonderful atmosphere for a vacation. This time they had no system in place and instead the bartenders used a cheap iphone speaker that was blown. When I asked the bartender about this he shrugged his shoulders and said the sound system was broken. But I would like to say that the bar staff was wonderful. I booked a snorkeling trip with the Riu's authorized dealer scuba caribe, and after showing up on time was made to wait 40 minutes on the beach. I finally got up and walked away and never did get to go snorkeling, forfeiting 500 pesos. This hotel was ok but it paled in comparison with our last visit. I would not call it a 5 star, 3 for sure and maybe a 4 for some people. I was anticipating the music at the pool bar so I wasn't happy with the lack of good music and the excuse was not good either. 2-300 dollars would have fixed the sound system. I turned down cheaper trips to go to the Tequila. Maybe it's my fault for expecting it to be similar after four years. You may have a great time here but I wont be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice quiet parklike setting
The weak points
Resort is showing its age.
Certified

Always nice to go on a holiday

, Duncan, BC
2014-02-08
We had booked a 2 week holiday, but 4 days into it we were upgraded to the Riu Cancun, so we went and had a much better hotel for the rest of our trip. The Riu Tequila was nice but we were disappointed on the distance to the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent food and Beautiful beach
The weak points
hotel was not on the beach as we were told it was, so it was a long walk from our room to the beach. A lot of smoking in all the lobby area and the theater,bar area.
Certified

Riu tequila

, Chemainus, BC
2014-02-06
had a fantastic time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we have bean to many resorts and this resort had the best beach, cleanest room, best food and great employees
The weak points
smoking in the lobby @ theatre area stinks
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?