Catalonia Playa Maroma

Catalonia Playa Maroma
4.114.114.114.114.11
4.11 based on 476 reviews
#18 of 140 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (398)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Magical Trip!!

, Plattsville, ON
2024-05-28
Catalonia Playa Maroma will always hold a special place in my heart! My family went to this place when I was 14 years old and my parents have gone annually the last few years. We decided to to visit Catalonia as our first trip as a couple and my partner's first time travelling ever! It was an absolute dream and my now fiancé proposed on the beach! The resort photography place captured the moment beautifully for us to remember for the rest of our lives.

We highly recommend this place if you are looking for a vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
-Their were not many children around and we were never disturbed. - The resort is so full of character! Lots of exotic and tropical vibes! -Staff were so sweet! -luxury experience for an affordable price -Shady Beach
The weak points
-pool closes at 8pm -pool was warmer than a hot tub. The weather was 35 degrees and the pool was still being heated way too warm. -Seaweed build up was substantial on our last day and it wasn't cleared like the resorts nextdoor.
Certified

Mexico Holiday with friends

, Regina, SK
2024-02-05
Buffet was exceptional for food choices from breakfast to lunch and supper. Al Carte were fun to attend and try the Teppanyaki was the best for group entertainment. Maids are fantastic to detail cleaning. Pool and beaches are clean and cool. Entertainment at night every night our fantastic. All staff are friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Buffet food choices 5 star. Rooms are cool and clean.
The weak points
Had 1 cockroach in the room at night . Fruit bat on the deck which did no harm .
Sanitary measures
Very clean rooms and plenty of bottled water.
Certified

Great hotel, beautiful beach

, Montréal, QC
2024-01-29
We were two families with young kids ages (4 to 7). The place is great, cosy and everything we could have asked for.
The kids enjoyed both the beach and the pool (eventough its one pool, its so big that it feels like there are several pools).
The food was great with many choices, the passage through the jungle is great, kids loved seeing the wild life.
Everybody in our group (10 people) agreed that they would happily go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
- beach - rooms - pools - food
The weak points
- kids activities and shows are too late
Certified

Wonderful family-friendly resort

, Delta, HA
2023-12-31
A little rough around the edges but overall a pretty good resort, which caters well to families with young children. Great location with a relaxing jungle feel, beautiful beach and pool, decent amenities and lots of activities. The food is good for the most part. Eating outdoors can be a little challenging at times due to the coatis trying to steal your food. Staff are friendly, however slow to respond to requests if you call the reception from your room. The first room we were allocated had problems with the aircon but they were able to find us another room pretty quickly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The resort is clean and well-kept for the most part. The bathrooms could do with a bit of an upgrade. The food is good offering lots of variety. The Christmas buffet was spectacular! Lots of fun activities for kids and adults.
The weak points
Service is a little slow at times. Constant loud music by the pool can be a little much. Depending on where your room is based you can hear music from the neighbouring resorts at night.
Certified

Nice - Old style hotel

, Beaconsfield, QC
2023-10-25
Check in was easy, nice welcome drink and the they put you a bracelet depending if you are Executive, Privileged or regular customer. It's worth to at least take privilege, which will allow you to go to the BLOVED restaurant located besides the pool and the beach. Should be noted that the food and staff are EXCELLENT. Also, there are reserved spots on the beach for the Privileged and also better chairs for the Executive section.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, the cleaning lady was exceptional.

The evening shows were very good.

The beach was perfect, lots of palm trees to shade you from the sun. Lots of entertainments at the pool.

The hotel is not new, it's an older Spanish/Mexican style complex, it is well maintained and clean.

As for the food at the buffet, it is very redundant, it is good, however they should at least have theme night in one spot of the buffet (Mexican-Sushi-Italian and so on). That way you don't have to go to the A la carte restaurant every night.

For the BAD, the Coati are very cute at first, however they always are looking for food or drinks, which can be a real pain. At night we go to the lobby bar, next thing you know they are on they are walking on the tables, if you leave you drink unattended there is a good change that it will end up on the floor.

Will I go back NO, not because I don't like this hotel, it is simply I like to try different hotels. If the price is right, I suggest to try it!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great Staff - Complex is well maintained and clean - Nice Beach - BLOVED restaurant excellent
The weak points
Coati can be a real pain. Buffet food is redundant also Coati can be a pain if you eat outside, although it is fully netted. (I guess there are some holes in the mesh)

Great family vacation

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-04
Spent a week at Catalonia playa Maroma with family of 5. Kids 6 and under. Good food and weather. Recommend upgrading to privilege club. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean, scenic, green.
The weak points
A little dated. Very hot and humid in the lobby.
Certified

Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Edmonotn, AB
2023-02-07
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort, we spent 2 full weeks here and thoroughly enjoyed all of the available amenities at the resort. The beach area is stunning and the water was great. The pool area was also very nice with a number of spots available daily. The staff were exceptionally professional in all aspects and we really appreciated the high level of service. The meals in the restaurants were all fabulous and we were never disappointed. The rooms were spacious and well kept by great housekeeping staff. The grounds are very nice and with the numerous trees and wildlife it really a well thought out resort. The plastic in the ocean is concerning but this is a world wide issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff work hard at making sure everyone is comfortable. The entertainment staff were also very good at keeping activities going and shows were done very well.
The weak points
The gym is small for the size of resort with limited equipment, A/C did not have the ability to keep the area cooler and water & towels were often not available. Our room had a couple of water leaks that were dealt with quickly by maintenance.
Sanitary measures
All areas were always kept to a high level of cleanliness.
Certified

Quite Getaway

, Thunder Bay, ON
2022-11-15
This place was very clean and maintained. All staff was friendly, no matter what they did. The beach was the best part for me, just like the pictures they show. The food was a 4 out of 5. was good not great. But with this in mind. You don't go to a Mexican place for Italian or Chinese food. Would have liked to see a more traditional Mexican food in that restaurant. Never a problem getting a beach or pool chair. They have a small kids play area as well, but place seem more oriented to couples than families with kids. Would I go back. Sure would. Very relaxing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beach was beautiful, clean with no rocky areas
The weak points
night is low key, not much in the line of dancing ...like disco
Certified

Great Honeymoon

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-15
We went here on our honeymoon and it was great. The service was great. The people were helpful and very friendly. It was very clean. Our room was amazing. I love how all the walk ways were canopied and the nature was preserved. It was a great place for walks.I have never stayed somewhere that was so relaxing and beautiful. And the food of course was yummy. There is a cafe where you can get great drinks and sandwiches, a taco truck, and a sausage truck. Sooo good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was amazing!
The weak points
-The only thing I didn't like was that I thought that the condition of the beach chairs could be improved, the were pretty ratty.
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Gatineau, QC
2020-03-11
The resort is a hidden treasure. Its location in the Yucatan jungle is amazing! The rooms are very comfortable and clean (we upgraded to premium room), the food is exceptionally good, the resort is very clean, and the staff is kind and their entertaining team is fantastic. We really liked Chiara's Pilates class every morning on the beach. The evening shows are very good.
We had dinner at the Italian restaurant which was average. The Japanese restaurant is very good.
We will definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- the resort location - the great food - cleanliness - the entertainment team -
The weak points
- the quality of the cocktails - the quality of coffee at the bars, buffet and in the room - water activities ( included in the package) on the beach
Certified

Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-31
The overall was positive experience. The hotel is located about 40 minutes away from the airport but provided transportation was great, very comfortable vans and very friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, away from major cities so was no local people on the beach. Big area for the resort and small amount of rooms, not so busy on the beach or dining rooms. Natural jungles made great shadowy trails. Very clean pool. Good alcohol selection.
The weak points
Some rooms were old with outdated furniture and plumbing. Some mould was found in the shower. Some Alacarte restaurants was offering very limited menu. The room did not have good insulation so could hear lots of noise around.
Certified

Great Resort

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2019-05-09
Just returned from this resort May 6, 19, highly recommended food was great our favorite was Japanese, Italian, and the steak house.
There was a issue with seweed but nothing much can be done about that we just used the pool for a couple of days. the rooms were spotless. no complaints from us at all very good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Spectacular place to stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-27
Food and pools were absolutely beautiful. Staff made everything so easy. Rooms were clean. Pool was stunning and not too far from the beach, which was also amazing. We cant wait to come back!!! Out new favorite place ♥️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Revisit to Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Barrie, ON
2019-04-21
We stayed Privileged for 11 days and did not want to leave. Better booze, better rooms, and better beach area. The staff does a great job doing what they can to make you stay excellent. Enrique and Jorge are the greatest beach service on the Privileged side. Manuel and lizbeth kept me active with the volleyball and beach chair games. Being Privileged also gave us free room service, unlimited breakfast and lunch at their beloved restaurant which was excellent as well. We had great meals at all the Ala cartes. 3 times at the Grill, twice at the Italian, twice at the Japanese (once at the regular and once at the show table) once at the Mexican and once at the Tapas. Be ready to gain weight or go to the gym everyday! I have a washboard stomach...it just has a load of laundry in it!!! LOL. You will not be disappointed if you choose this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food and ala cartes were excellent. Gained weight in 11 days. Privileged is the way to go.
The weak points
Beach bar mens room was not nice.Very bad odor. Towel game goes on. Some people brought there own towels and would reserve chairs at the beach and at the pool! non privileged people sat in privileged area. no enforcement!!! People should be ashamed!

October 2018 at the Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Chambly, QC
2018-11-04
This is a older Spanish/Mexican style complex it is fairly well maintained and clean, the pool area and the beach are fairly spacious for the amount of rooms you don't feel like a sardine in a can.
The biggest disappointment was the variety / selection of the food at all the restaurants with the exception of the Japanese a la carte, don't expect to see any seafood anywhere unless you are willing to pay 50 USD for a lobster dinner they are offering, the service at the buffet was pathetic at times, trying to get beverages (water, coffee, wine) took forever with a very few exceptions as was the case for the picking-up of used dishes, even at the a la carte restaurants beverage refills were somewhat slow,was this a management tactic to cut costs as was the cheap wine served at the buffet in comparison to the rest of the site, from my perspective there was enough staff to do the job properly just a big lack of management presence and supervision to oversee operations "at the floor level" in comparison to the 8 - 9 other sites in area we have been to.
Another deception was the efforts put into cleaning of the beach after an invasion of algae a few days before our arrival, we have never seen anything even come close to what we saw, it took them over 9 days to finally get all the algae cleaned while other surrounding places had things under control by the fourth day, again where was management, even under normal conditions the 3-4 man crew responsible for beach clean-up reminded me of unionized city workers, where one works while the the other 2-3 look-on, meanwhile the work at hand drags on.
Over all I would not recommend this place simply because of the 2 -3 negatives that take away heavily from a fairly nice site/location, I worked for Hilton International for 5 years earlier in my career and can honestly state that management is to solely to blame for the inefficiencies of the restaurants operations / food selections and of certain staff members/teams; old Hebrew proverb "When the fish stinks it stinks from the head".
Unfortunately overall this site is at the bottom of the list of the 8-9 other locations we have been to in Cancun/Riviera Maya, a better bang for the buck elsewhere in the area should not be too difficult to find. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Site although older is well maintained and fairly clean. Japanese a la carte restaurante. Drinks and beach/pool beverage service. Beach (when cleaned). Size of complex, not too big and enough room for just about everyone at the beach/pool.
The weak points
Poor service at Buffet restaurant, a la Carte restaurants some what better. Food variety was sub par all over(exception Japanese a la carte) , a touch above a basic "Cuba" menu,no seafood at all. Beach cleaning efforts were pretty minimal at times.
Certified

Nice but

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-01
Nice location with beautiful white sand beach, what is you pay, what will get you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Over all stay is good, have mentioned needed extra bed, accomdated after, good staff and friendly people.
The weak points
Alots restaurants but with limitation, buffet is limited, no seafood or too limited choice of food taste
Certified

Excellent service

, Mississauga, ON
2017-11-18
Thank you all in the name of the family Becerra.

Thank you for your hard work and for make us feel like home. It was our first trip with our two girls and it was amazing. The kindness of the waiters and the personal of the hotel make easy an relaxing our trip.

The shows were amazing, well prepared and with tons of creativity. We will like to thank all the recreation department ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Thank for all the personal but especially Edwin, Crystal, Jessica! Thanks for all your good service and dedication towards your work
The weak points
We tried 2 times to go to the Japanese restaurant but one day was close and the other one was full by reservations. However, we were told that we didn't need to make a reservation.
Certified

Not impressed

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-05-04
Upon check in at the Catalonia we werebgreted nicely and upgraded to the "privileged" rooms at no extra cost so my family can be side by side.

Aside from Priveleged rooms the resort is quiet outdated so are we he swimming pools.

Food was good at the restaurants okay at the buffet. Anything extra you would want like fancy wines or seafood was all at extra cost. It is considered a 4* and imported alcohol and other extras are not included which is expected but I wouldn't rate this place a 4* maximum 3* maybe.

I met several people that did complain and say the hote was not wheelchair friendly and the service and food wasn't as good as in previous years.

My daughters floating device was left behind because we had to run from the rain storm and once we returned in the evening it was gone even though other toys still remained where we left them. The next morning we saw a family with exactly the same device as we had the night before and they claimed they brought it from Latin America. We complained to guests services and the security or whoever he was went to speak with them asking us to no longer approach the guests. We politely agreed and went on to eat breakfast. On the way back to the pool the other family approached us showing us pictures of the floating device from December but non from current trip. The man of that family got into our face demanding apologies etc. things got out of hand. Few minutes later the security comes to me same man as before and started saying why did you speak with them I asked you not to now they are complaining. I explained that they approached us and got into our face. His reply to me was that we can't really leave our stuff laying around because things don't lay very long around here. So clearly things gett stolen all the time regardless of what it is at that resort and I felt very unsafe for me and my family so we relocated to a different resort.

This issues was handled very poorly by the security person and I was extremely disappointed. I would never come back here not recommend this hote to anyone. Not to mention that everyone smokes all over the place even though there are no smoking signs.
. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front Desk Manager was excellent
The weak points
Poor handling of issues with the guests.
Pro

Great vacation!

, Fredericton, NB
2017-04-08
My husband and I just got back from this lovely place,from the beach, food, cleanliness, the staff can't do enough for you, honest, friendly, would go back in a heart beat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach

Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2016-09-19
This was our second trip to the Catalonia Playa Maroma. This time we upgraded to the Privilege Section and you get a few additional perks with the upgrade. The beach is the best, kept very clean and the water is very clear and great for swimming. When you go swimming take bread for the fishes, they are harmless, look just like angel fish. Staff was wonderful, overall great stay. A special thanks to Enrique, our beach waiter, who looked after us very well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Pool
The weak points
Beach buffet
Certified

Lovely trip!!

, Yellowhead County, AB
2016-01-31
We very much enjoyed our stay here. Overall we felt we definitely got excellent value for what we paid!!

The Room- Very basic Mexican style room. However, since we didn't spend much time in our room, it was just fine. It was spacious, extremely clean, comfortable bed, and plenty of hot water. We had AC and it worked great. It was a little noisy but that was great as the hum blocked out any noise in the surroundings at night. The cleaning staff were great. We always had several bottles of water in our room and the free mini-bar was constantly restocked.

Food- Always somewhere available to eat. We tried all the a la cartes and they were nice. The buffet was great and had lots of selection. The fruit juice bar and crepes/ice cream bar were awesome during the day. If you cannot find something to eat here and be happy, you are extremely picky.

Activities- tennis courts, volleyball, ping pong and a raft of other activities to take part in during the day. If you want to do something, there is always something going on. There are also Spanish lessons in the ams! And although only one pool...it is pretty darn big and lots of room! There are also plenty of chairs to go around! There are evening shows from 9:30-10:30...fun!

Beach- is beautiful and lots of chairs to use. There was a small amount of seaweed...but this is the ocean so expected!!! You can walk a far ways either side!!

The resort itself is very very clean all over and well maintained. The service here is awesome in every respect. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort. My expectations are a direct result of the price I paid and this resort exceeded my expectations. Note Wifi and safe are free in your room, we found no extra charges for anything here, unlike other resorts. Of course unless you want to visit the spa!!! Note...if the spa isn't busy, the staff offer discounts...I got a massage and spa facilities for 25% off.

There is an ATM on site. However it only gives larger bills. We got money from our bank at home for tipping the waiters and cleaning ladies!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything for the most part about this resort was awesome! The staff were super friendly. Resort extremely clean. Lots of access to good food. Beach was beautiful.
The weak points
The room was dated and very basic. However it met our needs fine as who spends much time in their room. It was super clean and comfy beds though.
Certified

Catalonia Playa Maroma- 4*

, Scarborough, ON
2015-06-07
Wish the hotel can provide more seafoods- like squids, Shrimps, seashells & whole BBQ fishs like what the "Melia" or "Memories" provide on their Lunch menus.I will be back if the foods being upgraded in future. Otherwise I can just say soooo long. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staffs & very good entertainer group. Bravo, keep it up- u guys r the BEST!
The weak points
Foods- Bad Lunch & Dinner Buffets
Certified

Catalonia [Playa Maroma

, Scarborough, ON
2015-03-05
Nice hotel but the consistency of food quality was lacking [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
food quality
Certified

Beach is fabulous!!

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-11-16
A beautiful beach! Gentle ocean waves that are perfect for those that like to swim and play in the ocean. Nice sand! Long beach is great for walking. Plenty of lounge chairs. A very clean resort. Free unlimited wifi in the rooms and lobby and free safe. Lovely grounds that are well maintained. Front desk is very helpful and professional. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches! Beautiful weather, nice, well maintained grounds, very clean, lots of lounge chairs, not noisy, free unlimited wifi in room and lobby
The weak points
Excellent food, but somewhat limited selection.
Certified

Will definitely be returning!

, Toronto, ON
2014-06-23
This place is a little gem. My boyfriend and I just loved this place and we have done A LOT of all inclusives. But this one stands out for us since it hits all of our needs. We booked a great deal with air transat holidays. We booked Privilege and like many people say, it's worth it. Check in was a breeze and the lady was very nice. Bellhop took us to our room in block 6. Yes, this is the block to be in due to its conveniences. We had a ground floor room facing the pool which was amazing. Our view was mostly trees and flowers. We had two double beds which was fine for me so I didn't have to listen to my bf snore as loudly lol. Room is very nice with a cute terrace. Beds are firm. AC was cold with a fan going. Water pressure was great. All amenities were great. And we had a flat screen tv. Cleaning ladies were lovely. Be careful if you are having sex in your shower. You can hear it through the vents in the bathroom very clearly hahaha.

The buffet was great! Half of the food there for us was really tasty. I could see what I would not like. The grilling station is good. And the pizzas and pasta were delish. And of course, the different mexican food. There was plenty of variety. Service in buffet was fantastic. Victor was our fav. The people here are so sweet. The Tortuga a la carte was good. We liked the Arrachera and salads and mozzarella sticks. The Toscana ala carte was good too. I was surprised that Mexicans did Italian food so well. Le Terrace was the best for dinner! The pork tenderloins were fantastic and we enjoyed a bottle of wine there. Again, wherever you go, the staff is amazing! The desserts were best here too. We also went here for breakfast and lunch. It was wonderful to be on the beach enjoying our meals. We loved the salad with tuna and chicken club sandwich. And for breakie, the huevos rancheros with fresh fruit yummmm. As you can see, we really enjoyed the food here.

The Beach! Well... One of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see.. We could not get enough of it. Along with the constant breeze to keep you cool. We had perfect weather all week. We walked up and down this beach and its gorgeous everywhere. There are some quieter places to roam off to if needed. The staff are always picking up garbage and cleaning so politely as they go by. And the vendors are also very polite. I was shocked at how non aggressive they were. When you say no, they leave. Certainly not like my last trip to Jamaica! Unrelenting, annoying hustlers..

The beach bar was also great. Maybe they could use a little more help but wasn't too bad. Juan is the fastest blender drink maker I've ever seen. And yummy too... And they mAke espresso there. We would sit with our coffees and relax on the bar stools overlooking the beautiful ocean enjoying that breeze. There are loungers and chill music all around as well. The whole place is mostly chilled. We didn't hang at the pool but it looked nice.

The spa was also wonderful! Did the Turquesa and we loved it. Very relaxing atmosphere and loved the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The prices we're totally fair and not gouging like many other resorts we have been to. Speak to Carlos.. He is a sweetie and will get you what you want.

If you want a relaxing vacation and good value for the price, then this is your spot. You will get good food, great service and a gorgeous beach. This place is chilled out so it truly meets all our needs for a great vacation. We will be back soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beach! Most of the food was great, privilege upgrade
The weak points
None really...
Certified

Catalonia Riviera Maya

, St Catharines, ON
2014-06-10
wonderful resort,as expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff are pleasant hard working people , eager to please.
The weak points
none, it was a perfect resort.
Certified

Catalonia playa maroma

, Abbotsford, BC
2014-03-04
Really good. Beach is amazing sandy and clean. Staff really friendly. Food average. Rooms clean and well equipped. Only complaint is when we arrived we were downgraded for the first night and had to change rooms the next day which was inconvenient. Would go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely the beach!
The weak points
Lots of smokers. Had to change rooms.
Certified

Excellente!!!!!!!!

, Barmpton, ON
2014-03-02
Just lacking a bit of communication issues, fanastic layout of place. Food a little repetitive. This place could be a 5 star resort easily with a few changes in food & communication. Beach is unbelievable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,rooms in priviledge section,hotel layout
The weak points
Excursion guy lied on time to get to Ek Balam & cenote Maya almost 3hrs.45 mins. instead of 2hrs.to get there. Holy crap!!!!!
Certified

The best beach in the Mayan Riviera

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-20
A great hotel with excellent facilities, food and service. Very friendly staff always ready to assist guests if the need arises [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the building facilities and the staff
The weak points
Although the hotel offers a varied assortment of plates, the hot dishes were not always warm
Certified

Nice place

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-21
Very nice place.good set up of resort.most of geast are French so better to speak french. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beache
The weak points
no english in this resort
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024