Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.054.054.054.054.05
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#18 of 116 hotels in Riviera Maya
4.05 based on 372 reviews
Traveller pictures (172)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Great Resort

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2019-05-09
Just returned from this resort May 6, 19, highly recommended food was great our favorite was Japanese, Italian, and the steak house.
There was a issue with seweed but nothing much can be done about that we just used the pool for a couple of days. the rooms were spotless. no complaints from us at all very good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Spectacular place to stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-27
Food and pools were absolutely beautiful. Staff made everything so easy. Rooms were clean. Pool was stunning and not too far from the beach, which was also amazing. We cant wait to come back!!! Out new favorite place ♥️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Revisit to Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Barrie, ON
2019-04-21
We stayed Privileged for 11 days and did not want to leave. Better booze, better rooms, and better beach area. The staff does a great job doing what they can to make you stay excellent. Enrique and Jorge are the greatest beach service on the Privileged side. Manuel and lizbeth kept me active with the volleyball and beach chair games. Being Privileged also gave us free room service, unlimited breakfast and lunch at their beloved restaurant which was excellent as well. We had great meals at all the Ala cartes. 3 times at the Grill, twice at the Italian, twice at the Japanese (once at the regular and once at the show table) once at the Mexican and once at the Tapas. Be ready to gain weight or go to the gym everyday! I have a washboard stomach...it just has a load of laundry in it!!! LOL. You will not be disappointed if you choose this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food and ala cartes were excellent. Gained weight in 11 days. Privileged is the way to go.
The weak points
Beach bar mens room was not nice.Very bad odor. Towel game goes on. Some people brought there own towels and would reserve chairs at the beach and at the pool! non privileged people sat in privileged area. no enforcement!!! People should be ashamed!

October 2018 at the Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Chambly, QC
2018-11-04
This is a older Spanish/Mexican style complex it is fairly well maintained and clean, the pool area and the beach are fairly spacious for the amount of rooms you don't feel like a sardine in a can.
The biggest disappointment was the variety / selection of the food at all the restaurants with the exception of the Japanese a la carte, don't expect to see any seafood anywhere unless you are willing to pay 50 USD for a lobster dinner they are offering, the service at the buffet was pathetic at times, trying to get beverages (water, coffee, wine) took forever with a very few exceptions as was the case for the picking-up of used dishes, even at the a la carte restaurants beverage refills were somewhat slow,was this a management tactic to cut costs as was the cheap wine served at the buffet in comparison to the rest of the site, from my perspective there was enough staff to do the job properly just a big lack of management presence and supervision to oversee operations "at the floor level" in comparison to the 8 - 9 other sites in area we have been to.
Another deception was the efforts put into cleaning of the beach after an invasion of algae a few days before our arrival, we have never seen anything even come close to what we saw, it took them over 9 days to finally get all the algae cleaned while other surrounding places had things under control by the fourth day, again where was management, even under normal conditions the 3-4 man crew responsible for beach clean-up reminded me of unionized city workers, where one works while the the other 2-3 look-on, meanwhile the work at hand drags on.
Over all I would not recommend this place simply because of the 2 -3 negatives that take away heavily from a fairly nice site/location, I worked for Hilton International for 5 years earlier in my career and can honestly state that management is to solely to blame for the inefficiencies of the restaurants operations / food selections and of certain staff members/teams; old Hebrew proverb "When the fish stinks it stinks from the head".
Unfortunately overall this site is at the bottom of the list of the 8-9 other locations we have been to in Cancun/Riviera Maya, a better bang for the buck elsewhere in the area should not be too difficult to find. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Site although older is well maintained and fairly clean. Japanese a la carte restaurante. Drinks and beach/pool beverage service. Beach (when cleaned). Size of complex, not too big and enough room for just about everyone at the beach/pool.
The weak points
Poor service at Buffet restaurant, a la Carte restaurants some what better. Food variety was sub par all over(exception Japanese a la carte) , a touch above a basic "Cuba" menu,no seafood at all. Beach cleaning efforts were pretty minimal at times.
Certified

Nice but

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-01
Nice location with beautiful white sand beach, what is you pay, what will get you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Over all stay is good, have mentioned needed extra bed, accomdated after, good staff and friendly people.
The weak points
Alots restaurants but with limitation, buffet is limited, no seafood or too limited choice of food taste
Certified

Excellent service

, Mississauga, ON
2017-11-18
Thank you all in the name of the family Becerra.

Thank you for your hard work and for make us feel like home. It was our first trip with our two girls and it was amazing. The kindness of the waiters and the personal of the hotel make easy an relaxing our trip.

The shows were amazing, well prepared and with tons of creativity. We will like to thank all the recreation department ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Thank for all the personal but especially Edwin, Crystal, Jessica! Thanks for all your good service and dedication towards your work
The weak points
We tried 2 times to go to the Japanese restaurant but one day was close and the other one was full by reservations. However, we were told that we didn't need to make a reservation.
Certified

Not impressed

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-05-04
Upon check in at the Catalonia we werebgreted nicely and upgraded to the "privileged" rooms at no extra cost so my family can be side by side.

Aside from Priveleged rooms the resort is quiet outdated so are we he swimming pools.

Food was good at the restaurants okay at the buffet. Anything extra you would want like fancy wines or seafood was all at extra cost. It is considered a 4* and imported alcohol and other extras are not included which is expected but I wouldn't rate this place a 4* maximum 3* maybe.

I met several people that did complain and say the hote was not wheelchair friendly and the service and food wasn't as good as in previous years.

My daughters floating device was left behind because we had to run from the rain storm and once we returned in the evening it was gone even though other toys still remained where we left them. The next morning we saw a family with exactly the same device as we had the night before and they claimed they brought it from Latin America. We complained to guests services and the security or whoever he was went to speak with them asking us to no longer approach the guests. We politely agreed and went on to eat breakfast. On the way back to the pool the other family approached us showing us pictures of the floating device from December but non from current trip. The man of that family got into our face demanding apologies etc. things got out of hand. Few minutes later the security comes to me same man as before and started saying why did you speak with them I asked you not to now they are complaining. I explained that they approached us and got into our face. His reply to me was that we can't really leave our stuff laying around because things don't lay very long around here. So clearly things gett stolen all the time regardless of what it is at that resort and I felt very unsafe for me and my family so we relocated to a different resort.

This issues was handled very poorly by the security person and I was extremely disappointed. I would never come back here not recommend this hote to anyone. Not to mention that everyone smokes all over the place even though there are no smoking signs.
. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front Desk Manager was excellent
The weak points
Poor handling of issues with the guests.
Pro

Great vacation!

, Fredericton, NB
2017-04-08
My husband and I just got back from this lovely place,from the beach, food, cleanliness, the staff can't do enough for you, honest, friendly, would go back in a heart beat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach

Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2016-09-19
This was our second trip to the Catalonia Playa Maroma. This time we upgraded to the Privilege Section and you get a few additional perks with the upgrade. The beach is the best, kept very clean and the water is very clear and great for swimming. When you go swimming take bread for the fishes, they are harmless, look just like angel fish. Staff was wonderful, overall great stay. A special thanks to Enrique, our beach waiter, who looked after us very well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Pool
The weak points
Beach buffet
Certified

Lovely trip!!

, Yellowhead County, AB
2016-01-31
We very much enjoyed our stay here. Overall we felt we definitely got excellent value for what we paid!!

The Room- Very basic Mexican style room. However, since we didn't spend much time in our room, it was just fine. It was spacious, extremely clean, comfortable bed, and plenty of hot water. We had AC and it worked great. It was a little noisy but that was great as the hum blocked out any noise in the surroundings at night. The cleaning staff were great. We always had several bottles of water in our room and the free mini-bar was constantly restocked.

Food- Always somewhere available to eat. We tried all the a la cartes and they were nice. The buffet was great and had lots of selection. The fruit juice bar and crepes/ice cream bar were awesome during the day. If you cannot find something to eat here and be happy, you are extremely picky.

Activities- tennis courts, volleyball, ping pong and a raft of other activities to take part in during the day. If you want to do something, there is always something going on. There are also Spanish lessons in the ams! And although only one pool...it is pretty darn big and lots of room! There are also plenty of chairs to go around! There are evening shows from 9:30-10:30...fun!

Beach- is beautiful and lots of chairs to use. There was a small amount of seaweed...but this is the ocean so expected!!! You can walk a far ways either side!!

The resort itself is very very clean all over and well maintained. The service here is awesome in every respect. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort. My expectations are a direct result of the price I paid and this resort exceeded my expectations. Note Wifi and safe are free in your room, we found no extra charges for anything here, unlike other resorts. Of course unless you want to visit the spa!!! Note...if the spa isn't busy, the staff offer discounts...I got a massage and spa facilities for 25% off.

There is an ATM on site. However it only gives larger bills. We got money from our bank at home for tipping the waiters and cleaning ladies!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything for the most part about this resort was awesome! The staff were super friendly. Resort extremely clean. Lots of access to good food. Beach was beautiful.
The weak points
The room was dated and very basic. However it met our needs fine as who spends much time in their room. It was super clean and comfy beds though.
Certified

Catalonia Playa Maroma- 4*

, Scarborough, ON
2015-06-07
Wish the hotel can provide more seafoods- like squids, Shrimps, seashells & whole BBQ fishs like what the "Melia" or "Memories" provide on their Lunch menus.I will be back if the foods being upgraded in future. Otherwise I can just say soooo long. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staffs & very good entertainer group. Bravo, keep it up- u guys r the BEST!
The weak points
Foods- Bad Lunch & Dinner Buffets
Certified

Catalonia [Playa Maroma

, Scarborough, ON
2015-03-05
Nice hotel but the consistency of food quality was lacking [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
food quality
Certified

Beach is fabulous!!

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-11-16
A beautiful beach! Gentle ocean waves that are perfect for those that like to swim and play in the ocean. Nice sand! Long beach is great for walking. Plenty of lounge chairs. A very clean resort. Free unlimited wifi in the rooms and lobby and free safe. Lovely grounds that are well maintained. Front desk is very helpful and professional. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches! Beautiful weather, nice, well maintained grounds, very clean, lots of lounge chairs, not noisy, free unlimited wifi in room and lobby
The weak points
Excellent food, but somewhat limited selection.
Certified

Will definitely be returning!

, Toronto, ON
2014-06-23
This place is a little gem. My boyfriend and I just loved this place and we have done A LOT of all inclusives. But this one stands out for us since it hits all of our needs. We booked a great deal with air transat holidays. We booked Privilege and like many people say, it's worth it. Check in was a breeze and the lady was very nice. Bellhop took us to our room in block 6. Yes, this is the block to be in due to its conveniences. We had a ground floor room facing the pool which was amazing. Our view was mostly trees and flowers. We had two double beds which was fine for me so I didn't have to listen to my bf snore as loudly lol. Room is very nice with a cute terrace. Beds are firm. AC was cold with a fan going. Water pressure was great. All amenities were great. And we had a flat screen tv. Cleaning ladies were lovely. Be careful if you are having sex in your shower. You can hear it through the vents in the bathroom very clearly hahaha.

The buffet was great! Half of the food there for us was really tasty. I could see what I would not like. The grilling station is good. And the pizzas and pasta were delish. And of course, the different mexican food. There was plenty of variety. Service in buffet was fantastic. Victor was our fav. The people here are so sweet. The Tortuga a la carte was good. We liked the Arrachera and salads and mozzarella sticks. The Toscana ala carte was good too. I was surprised that Mexicans did Italian food so well. Le Terrace was the best for dinner! The pork tenderloins were fantastic and we enjoyed a bottle of wine there. Again, wherever you go, the staff is amazing! The desserts were best here too. We also went here for breakfast and lunch. It was wonderful to be on the beach enjoying our meals. We loved the salad with tuna and chicken club sandwich. And for breakie, the huevos rancheros with fresh fruit yummmm. As you can see, we really enjoyed the food here.

The Beach! Well... One of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see.. We could not get enough of it. Along with the constant breeze to keep you cool. We had perfect weather all week. We walked up and down this beach and its gorgeous everywhere. There are some quieter places to roam off to if needed. The staff are always picking up garbage and cleaning so politely as they go by. And the vendors are also very polite. I was shocked at how non aggressive they were. When you say no, they leave. Certainly not like my last trip to Jamaica! Unrelenting, annoying hustlers..

The beach bar was also great. Maybe they could use a little more help but wasn't too bad. Juan is the fastest blender drink maker I've ever seen. And yummy too... And they mAke espresso there. We would sit with our coffees and relax on the bar stools overlooking the beautiful ocean enjoying that breeze. There are loungers and chill music all around as well. The whole place is mostly chilled. We didn't hang at the pool but it looked nice.

The spa was also wonderful! Did the Turquesa and we loved it. Very relaxing atmosphere and loved the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The prices we're totally fair and not gouging like many other resorts we have been to. Speak to Carlos.. He is a sweetie and will get you what you want.

If you want a relaxing vacation and good value for the price, then this is your spot. You will get good food, great service and a gorgeous beach. This place is chilled out so it truly meets all our needs for a great vacation. We will be back soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Beach! Most of the food was great, privilege upgrade
The weak points
None really...
Certified

Catalonia Riviera Maya

, St Catharines, ON
2014-06-10
wonderful resort,as expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff are pleasant hard working people , eager to please.
The weak points
none, it was a perfect resort.
Certified

Catalonia playa maroma

, Abbotsford, BC
2014-03-04
Really good. Beach is amazing sandy and clean. Staff really friendly. Food average. Rooms clean and well equipped. Only complaint is when we arrived we were downgraded for the first night and had to change rooms the next day which was inconvenient. Would go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely the beach!
The weak points
Lots of smokers. Had to change rooms.
Certified

Excellente!!!!!!!!

, Barmpton, ON
2014-03-02
Just lacking a bit of communication issues, fanastic layout of place. Food a little repetitive. This place could be a 5 star resort easily with a few changes in food & communication. Beach is unbelievable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,rooms in priviledge section,hotel layout
The weak points
Excursion guy lied on time to get to Ek Balam & cenote Maya almost 3hrs.45 mins. instead of 2hrs.to get there. Holy crap!!!!!
Certified

The best beach in the Mayan Riviera

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-20
A great hotel with excellent facilities, food and service. Very friendly staff always ready to assist guests if the need arises [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the building facilities and the staff
The weak points
Although the hotel offers a varied assortment of plates, the hot dishes were not always warm
Certified

Nice place

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-21
Very nice place.good set up of resort.most of geast are French so better to speak french. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beache
The weak points
no english in this resort
Certified

Rustic but Great Beach

, Edmonton, AB
2013-12-09
There are mostly people from Europe here and there wasnt much interaction. Regular rooms are in need of an update, but at least they push the upgrades for room, food and wine. Right at the lobby desk is a better TV than we had in the room only ever saying UPGRADE NOW. We wondered what lie ahead after that. Great Staff, Greater Beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Will the room we stayed in survive much longer?
Certified

Excellent for November prices

, Hinton, AB
2013-11-26
as expected, I wouldn't want to pay the high season prices, but very good price in November. We had a great room, excellent service, employees at resort are friendly, helpful, excellent. A la cartes excellent, buffets, pools, beach, grounds were great. Lots of great chairs, beds. Roads are a little rough going into resort, due to excessive rain, but no reflection on quality of resort. unable to get change at front desk, was only issue with front desk. I marked low on location as not accessible to walk to a town, isolated, but I knew that when booking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff & crew, cleanliness, a la cartes, buffet, beach & beach chairs, bed plentiful, smoothie bar :)
The weak points
air conditioner noisey...maintenance called but no results. no change at front desk. more days with shopping boths or pedallers on beach
Certified

Great First-Time Experience with Catalonia

, Delta , BC
2013-08-10
Visited July2013 with husband and kids (14 and 7). This was our 3rd all-inclusive (previously at Iberostar Paraiso Beach and Lindo) and our 1st visit to Catalonia Playa Maroma. We are easygoing travellers, but expect excellent service and cleanliness. We certainly got that here! From check-in to check-out, Catalonia fulfilled or exceeded our expectations.
We booked the upgrade to Priviledged Superior which gave us a separate check-in, a room in Building 4 (very central location with good WiFi), robes, slippers, access to the Terrace Restaurant for lunch, and dinner at each of the three a la cartes and at the Terrace. I do think that we would have had just as wonderful a time if we had booked standard. Housekeeping kept our room clean and tidy and our fridge fully stocked. The AC wasn't very cold at first, but this was quickly rectified by maintenance when we called.
The beach is incredible...white sand for miles. I did play the towel game as it was difficult to find a lounge chair after 10am, but resort WAS very busy. The quiet morning stroll from room to beach to lobby bar for a cappuccino was one of my favourite times of each day!
The pool is on the smaller side, but we enjoyed it all the same. It has a gradual entry, perfect for little kids. The staff at the pool bar and the creperie are courteous and efficient. TIP: Bring an insulated glass to save on trips to the bar.
We had lunch at the Terrace Restaurant once, which was good and had a great view of the beach. Most days, though, we found the Tortuga buffet more than adequate. As for dinners, all four a la cartes are excellent and the servers are wonderful. Breakfast is only available in the main buffet and has a wide selection to choose from.
We borrowed racquets and balls from the reception desk and played tennis a few times.
This resort is on the smaller side, quiet and laid back. It's perfect for couples and families and seems to attract mainly European travellers. Relaxing in the pool one evening, my husband and I commented on how wonderful it was to be surrounded by people, all speaking different languages.
The staff are INCREDIBLE and incredibly hardworking. They deserved every tip we left. They are part of the reason why we found it so hard to leave. We'd go back in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible beach, AMAZING staff, smaller size of resort, clean, good variety of food in the buffet, excellent a la cartes.
The weak points
No room service, smaller pool.
Certified

This place has the potential to be so much more...

, Lachine, QC
2013-06-18
The check in was very impressive. Priveledged clients receive preferencial treatment that was well worth the extra money spent. Service from bell boys, chekin and security and management was very helpful and friendly. The resort and rooms were kept very clean. The food at the buffet was sometimes not that good...almost as low as Cuba standards for lunch. Dinners at the buffet were much, much better but need improvement. Breakfast at the buffet was actually very good. The priveleged Terrace resto had a beautiful view of the beach and the food and service was amazing. Dinner at the a la cartes were very good...service beyond excellent. The resort in my opnion should be classified as a medium class resort...and for this class it is a 4 star as there is some improvement required for the overall appearance. It should be advertised as an ecological resort, rustic style so not to confuse visitors expecting "bling" or VEGAS style decor. This would eliminate bad reviews because to be honest there really isn't a reason to give this place anything else but a very good review. The setting and animals would not suite a blingly style hotel anyway however it does need to be spruced up a bit. Another main issue is that it attracts an international crowd with the majority of guest being from France and Italy. However,there are Canadians and Americans that visit along with others from all over the world. There are some cultural differnces in the way that they interact . Some signs explaining rules on how to treat eachothers property written in all languages and an explanation at orienation could resolve a lot of frustration while reserving beach loungers.BTW...they really need to have more of them in the shade. Some games that would have different cultures to get to know one another would also create a friendlier atmospher and reduce the cultural segregation would be a good idea. Otherwise, it was a pleasant experience and for the price paid was reasonable considering I spent the same last year to go to Breezes Varadero and enjoyed it much less. This resort has great potential to be a super fantastic resting spot for those that love wildlife and relaxation with the convenience of excitment, partying and great restaurants to try in town only a short cab drive away. One last suggestion is that they should provide shuttle services to both Cancun and Playa del Carmen...not just Playa. Honeymoon package was lovely and had a lot of extra perks...book it and find out what they are. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Services for priveledged clients was excellent. Very clean, well kept hotel. Personal services were beyond expectations.Check in was amazing for priveleged. Food at a la carte restaurants was very good
The weak points
Resort looks a bit tired/needs renovations/bathrooms old looking/buffet food and service needs some improvement/both were hit and miss/seating in the shade on beach and pool an issue that requires attention
Certified

Catalonia Maroma

, Milton, ON
2013-06-17
Almost everyone we talked to had food poisoning, Bank never had change for tipping, bathrooms were terible, Booked this trip on the strength of the Catalonia name, which I stayed at twice before (Catalonia Tulum) Maroma was a little dissapointing, nowhere as nice as the one in Tulum, although to be fair I heard and saw the remains of the storm they had the week before with walkways flooded as well as the power being out for a while, ( this might explain the food poisoning. Maybe my expectation were too high but I don't think I would stay at this resort again, which is too bad because the beach and people were nice, but I think you would find the same at most other resorts in the Mayan Riviera. One other thing, photo above needs updating as there are resorts all around the Maroma it is not as secluded as photo implies [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches and Food were excelent, Staff was friendly enough
The weak points
Almost everyone we talked to had food poisoning, Bank never had change for tipping, bathrooms were terible, Booked this trip on the strength of the Catalonia name, which I stayed at twice before (Catalonia Tulum) Maroma was a little dissapointing,
Certified

Catalonia

, Scarborough, ON
2013-06-16
Everything is garbage besides the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach.
The weak points
Food made me and my wife sick and spent $420 at the doctors there. If you want to head to town its $25 each way. If you want to go 1km by taxi its about $10. I dont reccomend this place to anyone
Certified

Catalonia play maroma

, Oakville, ON
2013-06-09
Loved the beach and free wifi in lobby and restaurant. Hotel itself is large and very spread out one needs to walk a lot. Poor design as our 1 level room got flooded and washrooms are in bad condition old and worn out for a 4 star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach at the hotel and free wifi for tablets and phones to stay connected with family and friends as well as friendly staff.
The weak points
Rooms are old especially the bathrooms. Stay away from first level rooms as i think they get flooded often during rainy season and tend to have that smell. Our room got flooded in the middle of the night and we had to be moved to second floor.
Certified

Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Hudsons Hope, Br
2013-05-09
The hotel is exceptional it was one of the best holidays ever. Anna from the lobby lounge went out of her to serve us. Our flight was an late one home so we had a late check out like at 7pm it was only an extra 70.00 usd. Beaches were the best all white sand and miles of walking. Room was very nice food was quite tasty and lots of variety. No complaints at all. I have already booked my next trip as there was way to much to see and do. I will recommend this resort to my friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beachs , staff and don't forget the food
The weak points
None
Certified

Wonderful vacation!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-06
We're so glad we noticed the great reviews for this little gem of a resort. We spent 8 days there April 19-27th. It was not too far from the airport and despite the bumpy road (under construction)from the highway into the resort, we reached this very natural oasis without a hitch. We had booked the Privileged section so check-in was done at that separate office. Because we arrived early in the morning, our rooms weren't ready but we were able to take advantage of everything we wanted from the moment we got there. We weren't bothered by the long walk to the pool/beach as we like the walking and the walkway had a very calming effect with the spa-like nature music pumped in. We walked the beach once or twice everyday. Suffice it to say it was spectacular and so was the weather! The water is a beautiful aqua and very clear.
We loved the beach/pool bar. It was a great place to relax in the late afternoon or after dinner with a drink and the lovely breeze coming off the ocean.
Food was surprisingly good. Based on reviews we had read, the buffet WAS surprisingly good. Coffee/place setting service could be a little slow there but after speaking to their supervisor, we noticed a big improvement. A la cartes were very good, particularly for our expectations from a 4* resort. The Italian restaurant was very good and try to get Victor as your waiter. He was awesome. We went back a second time to this restaurant and requested him again. If you book the Privileged section, you can eat in the Terrace restaurant (above the Creperie and the pool bar) and the view from there is astounding.
Our Privileged Superior room was renovated, with the exception of the bathroom. A reno of the bathroom/shower area would make this room very good.
The staff at this resort was very good. Cesar at the 24hr Lobby bar is definitely in charge! The Animation team worked very very hard. Some of the staff are from the two European tour companies (Italian and French) as the bulk of the guests are from Italy and France! You hear just about everything in 4 languages! A great way to brush up on your own language skills. There were as many things to participate in as one might want. You could do as much or as little as desired with no pressure and no thumping music all day long. The Animation team also do the nightly shows. They are all very talented! A little shout out to our friends Jesus and Alice.
We didn't find it too difficult to get chairs, particularly around the pool and we were always able to find lounges/beds in the Privileged beach section.
Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time at this lovely resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach and the view from the Terrace Animation Team (especially Jesus!) a la Carte restaurants were surprisingly good Groundskeeping - everything clean and well maintained
The weak points
Sometimes service in the buffet for coffee, place setting etc was a little slow - this was corrected after we spoke to their supervisor
Certified

Catalonia Playa Maroma

, Mississauga, ON
2013-04-23
The hotel is very well maintained, clean and the staff are friendly but over worked Rooms are basic.Good hotel for families . Good food,many option.It is worth to up grate to "Privelage "Will definitely recommend this hotel to others.Beach is amazing 2-5km walk great water for swimming.For me the best kept secret in Mayan Riviera .Great value for your money . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location grate beach,good hotel service friendly staff Great value
The weak points
bathrooms need some :face lift;
Certified

Couldn't be happier!

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-04
After 12 resorts in 10 years we finally made a return visit to one. EVERYTHING about the resort is top notch. Plus beach is not only beautiful for swimming but great for 2-5 km walks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, meals, animators, beach, employees, grounds.
The weak points
Crummy wine at lobby bar and regular buffet.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?