Grand Sunset Princess All Suites And Spa

4.184.184.184.184.18
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites And Spa
#17 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.18 based on 1770 reviews
Traveller pictures (534)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great resort

, Neepawa, MB
2020-03-16
Nice, modern and comfortable rooms and beds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great service and food
The weak points
wifi in the room signal could be better
Certified

Platinum Guest

, Calgary, HA
2020-03-10
Overall wonderful the location of our room and services were excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great room close to everything we needed
The weak points
Cold shower 3 days in a row we had asked a few times before finally getting an answer half way through our stay hard to get communication
Certified

Excellent resort!

, Moncton, NB
2020-03-07
I went alone to celebrate winning my battle with cancer. I was looking to relax and just read for a week. Even though it was March break, I was still able to find peace and solitude on this huge resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The beach is public so be prepared to be asked every 20 mins if you want a massage, cigars, silver, hats, sunglasses
Certified

Beautiful place to kick back and relax

, Ponoka, AB
2020-02-28
We really enjoyed our stay at Grand Sunset Princess. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly, the beach is gorgeous. We upgraded to the platinum suite and the biggest perk about that was that you have access to a designated area on the beach. The loungers are a little further apart and more comfortable that the other ones. Having access to a separate pool and lounge was nice too, as they had a bar in there that was never busy with a little snack buffet and a big stack of towels.
The walk to the main plaza takes about 8 to 10 minutes, which we really enjoyed. The ground are beautiful and to be honest after mostly laying at the beach a little walking was great. There is also a shuttle available every 15 minutes.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, (Mexicans have amazing work ethics if you ask me) and always had a smile on their face.
The food at the various buffets was tasty and there was lots to choose from. We enjoy trying lots of different food and there was something new every day to try. As far as the a la carte restaurant goes I would highly recommend the Miso cooking show. Very entertaining and delicious. The others that we tried were okay, but not amazing, but we did not try them all.
There is also a little snack buffet at the beach bar and an amazing grill with fresh tacos every day at the pool (that was my favorite!).
I would go there again in a heart beat.
My only disappointment were the cocktails. Everything tasted like aspartame to me, but that might just be me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, very clean and well kept grounds, decent food
The weak points
Cocktails were not the best, front reception staff was the least friendly, everyone else was great, I wish there would be no Wifi. A lot of the guests seemed to always be on their phones.
Certified

Vacation

, Killaloe, ON
2020-02-23
Two week winter getaway,enjoyed all,wonderful staff,superior accommodations, clean rooms and grounds,thumbs up to all,surely would recommend to anyone for a wonderful relaxing vacation!!! Thx to all !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing and enjoyable

, Parkland County, AB
2020-02-20
Had a great time at the resort. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good, some of the buffet could be hotter. Enjoyed the pools and beaches. Great place to relax. Is located somewhat central to attractions
Will recommend ti family and friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Personal experience at the Grand Sunset Princess.

, Airdrie, AB
2020-02-13
Overall a good hotel with a good experience, however,
when we booked the vacation, we were unaware that this was a “timeshare “ type of hotel.
So, we did not appreciate the many times we were approached by sales people trying to sell us the timeshare.
Upon check in was the first time we got fooled in to the various sales tricks used. The hotel representative after we checked in, guided us to one guy who was supposed to show us to the room, he was as we found out, the first person trying to convince us to attend a sales meeting to buy in to the timeshare. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, nice layout, friendly and helpful staff. Food was mostly quite good.
The weak points
Unaware this was a timeshare hotel, so did not appreciate the several approaches by sales people throughout the entire vacation.
Certified

Sunset experience

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-30
Generally the resort is like any other 4-5 star type with friendly and helpful staff and food amenities. We had a great time during our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good with the various themes as well as some of the Ala Carte restaurants. Waiting staff were very polite and always ready to serve.
The weak points
We found the rooms were not adequately lit and we had to actually use our cellphone light to look for our clothes in our bag. We also feel that the housekeeping staff could improve cleaning and maintaining supplies in the room.
Certified

Laguna Villa

, Windsor, ON
2020-01-20
The most amazing trip we have had. They were very helpful and courteous. The whole resort was gorgeous, we saw monkies, turtles and even an alligator. Food was fantastic the service was amazing and friendly. We met alot of Canadians on this vacation and made new friends. The shows were great the spa treatment was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The whole layout is beautiful, day or night the lighting at night is beautiful.
Certified

Excellent voyage!

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-20
Nous avons voyagé du 10 janvier au 17 janvier 2020.
Un excellent voyage a recommander tout simplement. C'était ma 2ième visite a cet hotel. 1 fois au Grand Sunset et cette fois dans le Kids club.

Wow tout est propre! Conçu pour les enfants, la bouffe était EXCELLENTE! Personne de nous 5 ont été malade.

Resto a la carte coup de cœur (Mama Mia et la fondue) Miam

Pas besoin d'apporter une poussette, ils en prête!
De l'ombre partout.. Petit train pour se promener dans le site, les piscines excellente, service excellent. J'y retourne pour sur!

Parmi tout mes voyages, c'est mon top 1
et les autres ont aussi dit que c'est le plus bel hotel parmi tout leur voyages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, propreté, bouffe, facilité pour les enfants. Les spectacles! Endroit relaxe!
The weak points
J'ai pas vu d'endroit ou dancer..

Grand Princess Sunset Review.

, Surrey, BC
2020-01-19
Hotel was excellent with very well appointed rooms and easy access to beach and all pools. Staff were incredible and worked very hard to make our stay memorable. Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was very clean, all of the service staff and personnel were courteous and kind and worked very hard to satisfy our every need. The food was excellent with healthy choices.
The weak points
Of the 3 alternate dining choices we chose the steak house, the italian and the japanese. The steak and chicken ordered by my wife and I were not up to par, we could not eat this food. The other two dining choices were excellent.
Certified

Good Stay

, Chilliwack, MB
2020-01-18
Enjoyed the hotel, staff friendly and courteous. Service was good in all the facilities, pools, room etc. The only issue we had was the food in the steak house La Vequeria, steaks not very good, meat both steaks and chicken was cold. Also more elevators would have been nice in the buildings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
255
The weak points
225
Certified

Overall a Great experience

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2019-12-19
WE loved our platinum suite stay. The staff in the platinum lounge were the BEST! And they made BEST drinks in the entire resort! And pool staff serving us were amazing! (Lupita, Jesus, and I don't remember all their names) sorry :)
This was our second visit, and I was disappointed we did not get the ocean view like we did before. And they did change our room from a double to the requested ‘king' for my husband and I!
The resort staff are kind and very accommodating! We were a little disappointed with La Fleur restaurant, our apps were cold, the squash blossom soup was great, but my steak was cold, and my husbands chicken was full of tiny bones, almost choked once. (Our previous visit, it was our favourite restaurant) We did tell our waitress, but she didn't understand.
The Japanese restaurant I had requested was the grill were the chef cooks your food in front of you, (like we had on previous visit), instead they booked us at Japanese and had menu and did not enjoy it at all.
The buffet for breakfast and lunch in platinum area was great first two days, then ran very low on fruit like bananas, and I was surprised there was not one mango in sight, but people were selling them on the beach? And we import our mangos from Mexico.!? All in all, it was a nice trip. Don't know if we will go back, we might try another resort. They do have the Best rooms as compared to four other resorts we've been to in the Riviera Maya. Our concierge Gloria was amazing, sweetest lady ever!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacation 2019

, Perth Road, ON
2019-12-08
Had an amazing time at Grand Sunset Princess. Weather cooperated the entire time. Staff were all courteous and accommodating. Need to mention Hugo and Fausto at the breakfast and lunch buffets. They knew drink preferences after the first day and as soon as they seated us, our drinks were there a short time later.

I highly recommend paying the extra for the Platinum upgrade.

Will definitely be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-great service -excellent staff -great accommodations
Certified

Great Vacation Resort

, Whites Lake, NS
2019-05-15
We loved it here. Rooms were very nice. Food was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of pools so there will always be a chair. A little of everything for entertainment. Excellent quality for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Family Vacation

, Torbay, NL
2019-05-14
The hotel is very clean and well maintained. It's a large hotel with lots of dining options and different pool areas. We really enjoyed our swim-out room. The only downside was the beach was full of seaweed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool areas
The weak points
Beach full of smelly seaweed.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess

, Petty Harbour, NL
2019-05-10
Rooms were exceptionally nice .. the swim up ability was also great, as were the pools. WiFi was terrible .. food was terrible .. could not swallow the beer and the beach was worse then terrible. The seaweed is nature but zero effort into cleaning it up and the rocks made it hard to get in and out. Once in it was extremely shallow as well so hard to do more then soak a bit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms were off the charts .. nicest I have stayed in anywhere on vacation. The swim up balcony's were great and all the pools were nice. Sports Bar was also very nice and had a very tasty philly steak sandwhich.
The weak points
Food, wifi, drinks and beach were nothing short of terrible.
Certified

Grand princess sunset

, Placentia, NL
2019-05-05
Just returned from 7 days at this resort......this was our 3rd vacation at this resort.......loved our time in Mexico and always do.....although this time was a little difficult due to health issues . We were given a room in the number seven building and on 3rd floor , with no access to elevator , on Riviera side .......not a good choice ......however ,we enjoyed our vacation as always and hated to leave . Waking up everyday to laughter and sunshine makes everyone want to stay......A special shout out to " LIPITA " on the beach.....she kept us hydrated especially my son ......once she bought us a drink , the next time she knew without asking us what we wanted ....beautiful Lipita , so happy and cheerful all the time .......I was so happy to see her on our way out the morning we were leaving , she was so complimentary to us ......overall Grand Sunset has left us with great memories and look forward to returning again ( lol,but only if we get a better location ) ...how could we not return !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Grand Sunset Princess

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-24
We booked a junior suite and the room was beautiful and spacious, we were on the 3rd floor and had a nice balcony as well. Our room was tidied every day by the amazing cleaning staff. The resort is so big and there is so much to do there you almost need more than a week to take it all in! There were lots of fun activities and shows from morning to night for all ages. It was a really great experience and I will definitely be going again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly, warm and welcoming staff. Lots of great food and drink options. Beautiful rooms, the grounds were kept very clean and tidy. Lots of things to do, whether you wanted to have a more quiet, relaxing day or have a more party kind of day.
The weak points
The only weak point is I found that sometimes people would try to sell things too hard. Like spa services, if you said no you weren't interested sometimes the sales people wouldn't accept the first no.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess - Great Vacation!

, West Kelowna, BC
2019-04-05
We really enjoyed our stay! The resort is huge! We enjoy that because there is always a lot to do, no shortage of lounge chairs and no line ups at the buffets.

Check in and Check out were seamless.

If you are not a fan of animals, this place will not be for you. There are coaties, monkeys, agoutis, deer, crocodiles, turtles and more! We enjoyed all of them.

The resort is so large that you will do a lot of walking. That did not bother us but we heard complaints from other guests. The restaurants are good! We felt that the best were the Japanese (both teppanaki and Japanese) as well as the steakhouse. You can always find something at the buffet but it is not the best.

There is a taco stand close to the beach everyday at lunch and closer to the lobby, you will find a hamburger and hot dog stand.

The entertainment was great! Not every show was top notch but we especially enjoyed Grease and the Rock Show! Very well done!

You need to get up early (6am) to save a cabana by the pool or even a palapa by the beach. The water is nice and warm and the waves are not especially high. If you want to body surf, not the best beach for that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks were yummy, shows were well done, and restaurants were nice.
Certified

Great place for extended vacations!!

, Lashburn, SK
2019-04-01
Had an amazing vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great environment, tons to do, lots of privacy available, spacious rooms, lots of bars
The weak points
Food repeats each week in the buffet.
Certified

Spring Break 2019

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-29
I loved everything about this hotel, the food was awesome, the pools are everywhere as well as the pool bars, the beach is beautiful and the animacion team is a lot of fun. There were many ala cartes to choose from and the ones we went to were very good. The resort was very clean and we especially liked the kitty cats, the coatis and the spider monkeys. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the pools, the pool bars, the beach, the beach bar, the animacion team, the cleanliness of the resort. EXCELLENT PLACE!
The weak points
I didn't like how we were hounded the first 2 days to go to timeshare area for a "free breakfast"
Certified

Amazing Vacation

, Brossard, QC
2019-03-24
The hotel is absolutely beautiful, well maintained and most importantly clean! Went with my husband and son. It was the best family vacation we have ever had. The selection of food and beverages was delicious! Beach was cleaned daily from the algae. We always had a hut on the beach. There is a buffet attached to the beach bar and always had other options rather than the traditional hot dogs and hamburgers (ex: Wednesday, we were served seafood paella which was made on the beach and sangria). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Selection of food and cleanliness of hotel. Beautiful grounds.
The weak points
Hard time finding a hut along the beach. People would reserve their chairs by leaving their towels for hours before they would even come back.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess

, Penticton , BC
2019-03-16
Over all experience was great. I stayed in the Platinum Suite for 2 weeks. It was safe for a single person, though traveled with other family. I have no major complaints about the entire stay. The rooms were clean, serviced daily. The grounds were impeccable and the staff were very kind and helpful. Pools and the beach was fantastic. Great entertainment, lots to do. We went on 2 excursions booked at the hotel and they were fantastic. Minor Complaint, I am a bit of a foodie so I have to say the A la Carte's were okay but not great. My only disappointment was that there was never a big Fiesta Night. They have Mexican Food at the buffet one night a week, but no entertainment to go with it. I wanted to eat more Mexican food over all. The Mexican A la Carte was not good (per 5 of us). The wine they serve is also bad. If you want to buy a bottle of wine it was very expensive and I say this because i didn't want to spend money on wine at an all inclusive as I had paid enough already. I live in a wine belt and we can find wine at half the price in restaurants. Chill Out Restaurant was really expensive and bad service. We had a bad waiter, even the other waiters were on him to get our food out. We waited 2 hours. Chill Out is a waste of money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort and rooms, great beach, great drinks, entertainment and pools.
The weak points
Need more high quality Mexican authentic food. Had to go to town to eat at a Mexican Restaurant. People I talked with also thought the food was not the best it could have been. Gala night was really bad.
Certified

Fantastic resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-14
We really enjoyed this resort, the food is fantastic, and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were very spacious, and well equipped. Playa Del Carmen is a short cab ride away, but the resort offers a shuttle as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of different pools and places to eat, we were there for a week and didn't get a chance to explore them all. The optional "Chill Out" beach club is a hidden gem, well worth the extra $$
The weak points
The contracted photographers roaming the resort taking pictures are very pushy, you don't have to pay for the photos right away, but they are really expensive if you decide to purchase.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess

, Dryden, ON
2019-03-13
Excellent hotel, staff, service and food. Very clean and well kept. Would highly recommend tho extremely large. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absokutely beautiful resort. All the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. If you asked for anything it was brought immediately. Would highly recommend. Very clean and lots a variety of animals around. The food was extremely good as well.
The weak points
The shuttle service doesn't run enough, too long of a wait most times. Beautiful resort but way too large.
Certified

Excellent Week in Paradise

, Waterford, ON
2019-03-11
The Grand Sunset is beautiful, well taken care of, with lots of things to do. The beach is large, the pool areas plentiful, the food really good with lots of variety. The only negatives were the amount of seaweed and lack of a break wall so the ocean was very rough. Also, the towels on the loungers with nobody using them, this needs to be addressed or better "policed". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

ROOM INVASION-BEWARE

, London, ON
2019-02-25
Feb 12-19,2019
Room Invasion on the first night 4:45 am!
Imagine the horror and shock of waking up in the early morning to find 2 men dressed in black standing at the foot of your bed...it happened to my wife and I at this resort.
If you are at this resort now or are considering this resort consider your safety. Be advised our intruders had a card and gained access to our room. It does not matter if you lock the deadbolt as a card will still open your door!
Security refused to call police and refused to provide us a report of the investigation. We are still waiting for it.
Management had suggested our intruders were guests staying at this hotel and we did not lock the door. What business would anyone have entering your room at this time of the night? Guests or not!
2 nights before our departure we met up with another guest who awoke very early in the morning to the door of his room being opened while he was asleep.
I am thankful my wife is a light sleeper and heard our intruders as I could only imagine what I could have woke up to....assuming I woke up.
I did receive an apology for the “inconvenience” from our rep who did nothing to assist us in getting the answers we had a right to.
In closing, my tip to all is to put something in front of your door before you go to bed that will alarm you as we resorted to our entire stay.
All Rooms are Not Secure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
All rooms NOT SECURE

Grand Sunset Princess - Pool Waiters

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-21
Josue and Willi who were our waiters at the pool during our 14 night stay were absolutely fantastic. Friendly while providing exceptional service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Disappointing Experience

, Whitefish, ON
2019-02-13
The rooms were nice, clean, restaurants were clean and food presentation was great. Restaurant staff was great. Big disappointment was the last day as we packed to early departure the following morning and we found someone had attempted entry into our safe and therefore we were locked out and that some clothing had been taken from our closet. This was reported to appropriate staff and although they promised to investigate the matter, there has been no resolution. The total value of items taken from the closet was $300. Suggest you not unpack your suitcase and keep clothing locked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort nicely laid out, and nicely maintained.
The weak points
Customer service at reception and concierge area was poor. There doesn't appear to be any care given to customer service. Food is OK but not great.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?