Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda
3.803.803.803.803.80
3.80 based on 894 reviews
#34 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (242)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful resort

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-24
Everyone is very friendly. Food is pretty good. Lots of selection of food. The resort is absolutely gorgeous. The pools are amazing. Alejandro the pool entertainment guy was super fun. Actually everyone is amazing for the entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Beds are tiny for 2 people. If possible, get an extra room.
Certified

O'Donnell's visit to Cancun Mar 11,20-Mar 18,20

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-21
Generally, everything was well organized. Lots of SunWing representatives on hand at our arrival. Reception at the Hotel went smooth.

All was well from Day 1 to departure (except week points). All staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location. Facilities are good but not new.
The weak points
I am handicapped and I need a walker to move around. The staff were good about this and the bus drivers were very accomodating, but nevertheless... there was a LOT of walking between room, to meals and pools. My feet were literally bleeding!
Certified

Bad experience

, Gatineau, QC
2020-03-19
We were very disappointed in general.
Food was average even below average for a resort that claimed to be 5 stars.
Animation was good but no enough Latino music in my point of view and too much american music.
Hygiene was below average as 3 out of 4 were sick during our 7 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sun
The weak points
No slides in the pools for kids. Kid's club not very attractive and my kids were sick after Restaurant à la carte are not very good as you can except in a resort that claimed to be 5 stars.
Certified

Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda is Great!

, Vancouver, BC
2020-03-17
We've stayed at 6 different all inclusive resorts, and Blue Bay has been the best so far! The buildings are clean & well maintained, the food was the best tasting and quality we've had so far, the staff were excellent, from the cleaners to the management. The bugs were almost non existent. The beach is not good though, too much sand erosion and the water just in front is brown from the water eroding the ocean floor in the immediate area. The pools were clean and well maintained, but quite cold. Great visit overall! Wifi was good, got it almost everywhere, but slow at certain times. The toilet in our room didn't flush well, more of an annoyance than a real issue. Close to Playa del Carmen and only about 50 minutes away from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness and helpfulness were great. The food was flavorful and fresh. The buildings clean and well maintained, room service and assistance from the front desk for an issue in our room was almost instantaneous. Bugs were almost non existent.
The weak points
The shows were not enjoyable, bad sound & not very enthusiastic dancers. The drinks (only at the Black & White bar) were watered down, both the pop and the liquor. The Beach was eroded and the water brown.
Certified

I was not expecting mice

, North Vancouver, BC
2020-03-07
Mice in our bedroom.
Food quality is horrible, we paid extra for "a la carte"... Buffet was not as bad.
Beach... What beach, it's cutting your feet (literally), it's being rebuilt.
Received a deep tissue massage... That was not deep tissue, my wife got an even more expensive, experience is horrible, in a bedroom cold... And we know only after we order.

When we brought up the issue at least they move us right away for the mice. But we came with an 8 month old... Fumigation of the surrounding without warning (the guy who did it had a facemask) this is a health hazard for our son. The "train" to transport people was an old fiesta with a damaged engine... We could smell burned oil while passing by.

In 2 words: never again. And we will make a bad publicity about thoi place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It's in Mexico.
The weak points
Food, health, 5 star... Does not deserve 2.
Certified

Not for Families and don't expect to be pampered.

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-05
The Hotel is rated 4 but seems very rundown. A few abandoned buildings that are in disrepair. Main Lobby, Buffet and Bar is a 10-15 minute walk from the pool. Shuttle service is advertised but never comes. Odds are you are going to walk.

Wifi access is slow. Be prepared!!! ONLY ONE device per room can access the internet. No switching after. I recommend rock paper scissors.

Pool is nice, but lacks enough chairs or shaded areas. No umbrellas. Again many areas are taped of and in disrepair. A constant party atmosphere. Great for young adults, scary for kids. Lots of people stumbling about drunk and happy. Good for them, until they attempt to interact with your children.

Beach is not a beach. No maintenance. Covered in seaweed. View of sewage pipes. No real clean safe area to swim. Very disappointing

Buffet was also a disappointment. Only one buffet open at night at the lobby. Overcrowded. No variety. On the first night the only protein was chicken nuggets. Had to wait ten minutes in line with my plate in hand just to reach the food. Once I got there the food was mediocre.

Restaurants. Apparently unlimited. But was never able to book a reservation. So could no comment on quality.

Bar: Dark and Dingy, not very inspiring or enjoyable. Plastic Patio furniture set up. They did not serve me any high end alcohol and I waited a long while in line for my drink.

Kids club. Looked in shambles, makes an IKEA ball pit look like luxury.. you can leave your toddler there till 11pm at night, if you don't love them.

Room. It was clean and nice. The bathroom had a nice big shower. Some times no water came out of it. Waited ten minutes and it worked. AC was uncontrollable and frosty. Bring socks. Cable TV was all Spanish except CNN.

Activities: Some activities at the pool, the animation did a good job. But besides that... Took a walk to the lobby and found a pool table and fusball table only to find you had to pay to use them. Very disappointing at an all inclusive resort.

Overall be prepared to spend your vacation waiting in line for drinks food and transportation at this resort. And don't expect much. Luckily the sun is free and in abundance. Great place to party and pass out at night. As long as you are drunk enough all day to not notice how bad the resort really is.

The management at this place seems to have lost there way and is more focused on making money than giving guests a worthwhile experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Rooms and big showers. Constant Party atmosphere..
The weak points
Mediocre Food. Horrible Beach. Long waits for everything. Bad WIFI policy.
Certified

Experience at Blue Bay Esmeralda

, Olds, AB
2020-03-04
Your hotel and staff were amazing . Although on your website , you show pictures of your beach including the lagoon , which is really another resorts beach , our airconditioner stopped , noone came to fix it , or turn it back on . Also , I think that limiting one devise only , to have wifi access , is strange . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

I would not recommend anyone to stay here

, Chilliwack, BC
2020-03-02
Just choose another resort. Look at these pics of what the Blue Bay really looks like. This isn't even a 3-star... All of the other surrounding resorts in 4 km block have stunning views, nice sandy beaches, and probably clean pools. And, they probably let you sit in the shade and the resort is not completely covered in yellow precaution tape...lol Go there instead. You'll be glad you did :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather, wifi, and staff were great. The location is close to Playa.
The weak points
The beach and view at this resort is the worst. The sand pumps and structures in the ocean are ugly. The water is murky. The sand is hard, chopped shells. The pool is gross and not clean. Precaution tape everywhere blocking all the shade structures!
Certified

Vacation with my sister

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-26
I planned a vacation to Riviera Maya with my sister February 11th-18th 2020. We decided on the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda as it was a little cheaper than the Catalonia at the time of booking. Thought if we are not satisfied with our room we could, pay a little extra if need be; to get an upgrade. We found out later that the Blue Bay G. E. don't have such a thing as an upgrade unless you buy some kind of Membership with them.
I had been to Riviera Maya a number of times at different resorts; but it was the first time I came alone with my sister. I thought I'd show her that there's something else than Cuba and that Mexico (specifically Riviera Maya) was a beautiful area to discover, as she had never been. Well let me tell you – this was a very unpleasant experience – never to be repeated at this Resort ever again!!!
My sister and I arrived on February 11th in the morning around 11-noon at the resort to be told that there were no rooms available. We had to wait until 3pm (which is fine). By 3 we get our keys from the front desk – we had to wait for one of their trolleys as our room was way on the other side of the resort.
We walked into our room and it smelled really bad like mold /humidity and old air conditioning smell; also because of the cement floors in the hallways in that building every time a cleaning/water/or suitcase trolley would pass by our room it made an enormous racket… We were also very far from everything including the beach and since my sister and I have knee issues we didn't want to take the trolley every time we wanted to go somewhere on the resort ; so, we decided to ask the front desk to help us out in finding another hotel room. Remember that there is NO such thing as an upgrade in this resort unless you buy some kind of membership with them.
They told us the resort was full and that they couldn't change our rooms until 2pm the next day. So, of course, we didn't unpack too much until the next day… to be told that we were moving from another room in the same building (they dealt with the smell; but we still had the same problem regarding noise and distance)
The new room smelled a little better but honestly, the only thing we smelled when we first walked in was bleach so (you figure it out). When we walked outside to the balcony (both our neighbors on either side were smoking on their balcony) . Better room??
When we talked to the front desk, we had mentioned that we had smelled smoke in our first room (to be told that unless we had a room number they couldn't do anything about it – as if it's the guests job to do their dirty work for them (the cleaning people know who smokes in their room – management is just allowing it…) Their sign as you walk in says '100% Smoke free resort" - what a joke!!
I guess we could have gone back to the front desk or run around to see the provider rep – but honestly, we had already used up 2-days of our 7-days vacation that I paid for; should I be wasting my precious vacation time to try and get a few days of real vacation?
So, my sister and I decided to make the most of it!!!
This is NOT a 5-star resort – in my opinion it's not even a 3 star! I would NEVER pay money to go to this resort. I spoke to MANY others who happen to stay at this resort while we were there (1 couple - was a gift from their children; and another family man was walking his family out of this resort - so bad!) who were not happy with this resort. A lot of us who have been to Riviera Maya previously in other resorts have had much better experiences.
Without making a story of each thing that was not pleasant at this resort. Here are a few in a list format…
• Even if there are designated smoking areas - smoking and vaping everywhere – balconies, around the pools and on the beach…
• Twice we got our “Do Not Disturb” sign “stolen”. Twice the cleaning crew banged on our door around 8 to clean our rooms. Like ‘they' were on a schedule and we had to conform. The sign was NOT stolen by guest – the cleaning crew would take it away then bang down the doors to get their tips and get going to clean as quickly as possible (most of this cleaning crew were men who only cared about their tips). At first, I would leave $2USD when I saw what they were doing and how little they cleaned – one day they just refolded a dirty hand towel and left NO TOILET PAPER when there was room for 2 rolls – because of this 1 day we had to use Kleenexes because they weren't replenishing toilet paper – REALLY???). That was the extent of what they did for their generous tips. We stopped tipping 2-days before we left (in my opinion we tipped way too generously for what they did – we are not cheap and we did tip unlike some others that stay there – but unfortunately that did not guarantee good service).
• In the room there are ‘so called' decorative pillows and bed runner; that were so dirty they had stains on them. Every time we came into the room, we disgustingly took them off our beds and put them on the extra chair in the room.
• Lots of partying in the hallways. Loud and echo in hallways because of cement floors.
• Some trolleys are electric – but they were not the ones for the guests that wanted/needed transport from one end of the resort to the next. They were for the new guests coming in…
• The diesel smelling trolleys that would transport the checked-in guests took forever to come around. They only stop at certain places NOT – I repeat – NOT – at each building. (so, to take one of their trolleys to bring you to beach or buffet building or restaurant – because you've been put up at the other end of the resort – you have to walk to a bus stop then walk from there…) Some of the trolley drivers drove like they were on a racing track – really?
• Too many time-share people in the resort itself – dressed like the resort personnel. Management is obviously in agreement with this?
• Front desk girls had no smile for you when greeting you - maybe we should have been men?
• You had to get up before 7 to reserve the next day “nice/more popular” restaurants. And this was only for the next day – you have to reserve every day for the following day – so you'd have to get up before dawn (is this the way you want to spend your vacation?) Same thing goes for reserving a chair around the pools (up before dawn to get a little bit of a choice for our chairs). The blue towels are on almost every chair and the ones reserving these chairs are not even there during the day to enjoy their chairs. Once again, management does nothing about this…
• When we arrived on Tuesday – there was local merchants at the resort selling their items – unfortunately, we didn't know that was the one and only night they would be there – so missed out on them. MORE communication on how the resort functions would be a better service for their guests.
• Their TV was horrible – the little bit of tv we listened to had no American (English) channels and the picture would continuously go from color to black and white.

It's terrible to ask money for this type of hotel amenities. I don't even look at resorts that are rated under 4 stars when I come to Mexico. This place would not have made the cut had it been listed for what it really is (a 3 star at the most). Because of this – it was an absolute horrible experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
At this point - I don't have any for this resort!
The weak points
Everything mentioned in my review!

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda (DO NOT RECOMMEND)

, Oro-Medonte, ON
2020-02-23
Upon arrival at approx 12 pm we then had to wait until 3 pm to check into our room. Our travel agent highly recommended the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda and stated that his clients all loved the beach and the activities at the resort. We walked down to the ocean and we were dismayed at the sight we saw. The beach was black with seaweed rolling in and looked like an oil slick...it was not fit for anyone to swim in!! This was a huge disappointment as we wanted a holiday destination where we could walk to the ocean/beach and swim and enjoy our 11 day stay. We were told this was an ongoing problem for the past several years and they are working hard to rectify this problem.
Upon arriving at our room (Bldg.#1, Tulum) some guests were leaving and warned us to change buildings as there were late night beach parties every night and the noise kept them to 3 a.m.!! This was devastating as we stressed that we required a quiet holiday!! We requested a ground floor and we were put on the top (3rd floor).
We were moved the next day (Bldg.#8) to the 4th floor not the ground floor as requested. This was a blessing in disguise as at least we had no one above us, since the walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbours beside us, and the door had cracks in it as well as a gap at the top. We were told they would look into it but no results. Since the floors were stone/concrete every arrival rolling their suitcase down the hall sounded like a thunder storm. Along with people continually up and down the corrider talking loudly at all hours (perhaps the 24 hour bar contributed to this) and then at 8 a.m. the maids rolling their steel carts down the hall just to ensure that you couldn't sleep in with that noise going on, and then proceeding to not only knock on doors but to walk in so they could start cleaning!! Unbelievable!! Not one good night sleep to be had and the hotels answer was to move us again to another room (which we refused because it would only be exchanging for different noises). We had to shut the sliding doors every night to keep out the noise and could not enjoy the fresh warm air! The mattress and pillows were lumpy and not good quality.
Because we are optimists we spoke with other guests who were also disgruntled with these challenges, and discovered a lagoon to the left of our resort (about 15 minute walk) and other beaches to the right (about 25 minutes walk) and we enjoyed these two places immensely and were very grateful that we could use these amenities at other resorts.
Our rep never showed up for the orientation and were unable to book day trips through them so we did find the staff at the Blue Bay Lobby very helpful in booking our two day trips.
The staff worked hard to put on great entertainment at 9:30 pm nightly but otherwise entertainment was limited (no music or anywhere to gather for a quiet drink or coffee)...the only outdoor patio was for smokers so not a good choice for us.
The small pool by Bldg#8 was more family oriented and a quieter place to relax compared to the big pool by the ocean....it was crowded and one day there was a drunken man face down in the pool and thankfully he was noticed and security and pool staff attended to him with the leadership of a guest that was a nurse.
Good food at the buffet and plenty of it. Restaurant staff at buffet were exceptionally professional and friendly. They made it a pleasure to eat there with the personal connection they went out of there way to instill.
Restaurant staff at the a la carte (french, italian, sea food) were rushed and had no time to make a personal connection compared to the staff at the buffet restaurants.
Overall we made the best of this holiday...the weather was absolutely perfect and we enjoyed the lagoon and the beach (off resort property). Our day trips (dolphins and Rio Secreto) were wonderful.
We would never come back to this resort or recommend it and look forward to going home so we can sleep all night.
If someone from this resort wants to contact us for discussion we are open to this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food at the buffet and a la carte and plenty of it. Great open hours for meals. Buffet staff professional and friendly. Cleanliness was excellent. Staff worked hard at theatre productions Animal life/nature was abundant
The weak points
Unorganized A la carte staff rushed and no time for friendliness Accomondations NOISY unable to get a nights sleep Beach off limits ongoing seaweed problem No place to sit for coffee/drink (smokers only) No music entertainmen
Certified

It's just OK

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-17
First off I hated that upon arrival they take you to the people to have you set up an appointment to sell you a time share (not what they call it). After that the place is beutiful, the grounds are taken care of perfectly. The room just basic but clean and comfy. The beach, as like others commented not great. The food is good the ala carte, were great if you could get in. The biggest downfall to this resort are the walls, they are very thin, thus making your down time, sleep time difficult you hear everything. Another pet peeve are the guests who get up extra early to reserve the pool loungers and then not come back to use them for hours and hours if at all, I watched this happen every day very disappointing. I can say that the staff here are awsome they make the trip great, always friendly and willing to help with a smile. can't say enough good about them. Would I return, no just not the right place for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
thin walls
Certified

First time at Blue Bay

, 100 Mile House, BC
2020-02-14
I stayed at a place in Puerto Vallarta last year which very poor for food and room. When I arrived at Blue Bay, saw my room and ate supper the first night, I was very happy with my choice of resort.
The resort is very big, pools are good, not much of a beach with it being rocky and dirty with seaweed.
You have to get up very early to reserve a lawn chair at the pools, earlier the better.
A la carte supper reservations have to be made early like 7 am for the following day.
They have shuttles to get you around the resort.

Would recommend this resort and would stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffets and rooms
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Great hotel/resort

, Red Deer, AB
2020-02-11
Overall experience was very good! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic, lots of variety and option. This includes the buffet and a la carte. Pools were very nice and clean and bars and drinks were very good.
The weak points
Rooms were dated and beds could be upgraded. Beach was not great right at the hotel.
Certified

Good resort great food

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-10
Overall had a great stay at the resort. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Went to the steak house, seafood, oriental,and Italian restaurants. Food was never disappointing. Both buffets were good as well. Spent more time at the beach buffet they seemed to have more selection. 2 bars. The black and white and the swing beach bar. Spent most of our time at the swing beach bar. Needs to have music and speakers there. Pools were very clean and staff was very friendly. Went to spa as well for chocolate body wrap and facial. Very enjoyable
Only issues were on initial check in. Not sure if Transat did not update the reservation or if it was the resort. Did not appreciate that my ex was still listed on the reservation and they didn't change the room to 2 double beds as I went with a friend and our first room had a king bed. Not ideal When we got room changed. We were given keys to an occupied room - was very concerned about room safety after that. Anyone can be given keys to your room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Was amazing
The weak points
Reservation had not been updated or changed and had the wrong room Was switched to another room and it was occupied. Which cause is to be concerned for our safety as anyone could have a key to our room as well.
Certified

Great experience

, Waterloo, ON
2020-02-06
Foood, hospitality the service all incredible. The pools clean, lots of pool activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great the restaurants amazing Staff at pool especially Alex were fantastic!! Staff dealt with disturbances quickly to ensure other guests were comfortable.
The weak points
Room was to cold and the thermostat was not working No disco to enjoy some dancing
Certified

Get what you pay for

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-22
Great hotel just beware of pushy land sharks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food _ good service _ nice pools
The weak points
Just need a little more work on overall cleaning of the halls and closets other then that all seems just fine
Certified

A week without a swim!!! :(

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-15
BEWARE of a resort that puts emphasis on the pool pictures.There is practically NO OCEAN to swim in here!!!
Was very disappointed to find a black and murky sea. Paid same amount as better resorts and could not set foot in the water. Don't bother spending your money here if you like swimming and pristine waters. I would call this "Poo Bay Grand Esmeralda" [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Basically none.Except for the pool area where they have activities to distract you from wanting to swim in the ocean. BLACK sea weeds everywhere!
The weak points
Everything, starting from the ocean and the upkeep of the place. A woman almost got her toe severed by a sink falling on her foot (litterally).
Certified

The beach from hell

, Brampton, ON
2020-01-15
I first got at the hotel it was late at night ,the next morning I woke up to nice beautiful grounds, walkway to the beach ,but as soon as I got to the beach, it was terrible, for this alone I will never come back to this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I love going out to the alicart dinners
The weak points
This beach sucks terrible water flow into the area huge water breaking barriers get rid of them you need more sand on the beach
Certified

Beach is not swimable - Huge Disappointment

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-10
We have traveled quite frequently to the Caribbean, and this is the first time where we have not gone in to the water. The beach is a health hazard, with pipes gushing out who knows what right into the beach. Piles of seaweed rotting, and when you touch them, fleas come out. The sand is full of mini shells which are sharp to stand on. Definitely not worth the money we spent on this vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No one in our group got sick. Lots of lounge chairs on the beach, because no one is swimming.
The weak points
The beach area is poorly maintained, rotting seaweed everywhere, the water is murky black, the sea bed is swampy where your feed sink as you step. There is an 10" pipe gushing a liquid right on the beach.
Certified

Christmas vacation

, Surrey, BC
2020-01-01
We had a very good vacation at this resort.
Food at all the restaurants that you can book every day was very good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dinner restaurants are very good
The weak points
Black and White bar and entertainment area needs a upgrade big time..... It just looks very cheep with old metal chairs and tables and compfort level is very low. The bar was full of ppl and the only spot that was nice to sit at was the smoking area...
Certified

Blue bay grand esmeralda

, Maple Ridge, BC
2019-12-26
My experience was pretty good. Im a strong believer in you get what you pay for. So as this is a cheaper vacation dont expect fabulous. I will forever rave about the à la cartes, i think thats what made the vacation honestly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The seafood à la carte was amazing. The other à la cartes were decent as well. The drinks were also tasty. I enjoyed seeing all the wildlife around.
The weak points
There is no nightlife. The shows are very comical and not very good. There is only 4 shops that are very over priced. We had to pay extra to play pool at the bar. When we first got to our room our safe did not work and we had leftover fruit and wine there
Certified

Poluted resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-07
terrible resort ... the sea and the shore are polluted. The water like in the swamp is black and smelly. Swimming is dangerous. The next day after arrival I demanded to transfer me to another resort. I had to pay for the taxi myself and the additional cost of another hotel.if you need sun, sea and sand, forget about this place, because you will come to the swamp to breathe hydrogen sulphide on the beach. You will fall into the trap and will get out of it by yourself and pay for everything. Will lose a lot of time and nerves. Never again. Look at the photos [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
everything

NOT AS EXPECT

, Vaudreuil Dorion, QC
2019-10-25
this was our second time to this hotel , everything was as it is , except the service , 2 years ago the service was better , the food was excellent, but this time we got disappointed , as they were having some closed areas for renovation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
bar,pool and cleaning
The weak points
beach, food, a la carte restaurants, waiters and night shows
Certified

Can't go swimming on beach

, Vancouver, BC
2019-09-23
There is no possible to go swimming at the beach. No sand in water just mud and rock and sand bags. Lock like hurricane destroyed beach few years ago. Resort is nice ,food great but if you like to go swimming at the beach I would not recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Had a great time.

, Edmonton, AB
2019-08-09
Rooms were clean and stocked with lots of drinks. Pools were clean and very busy. Sometimes hard to find a lounge to sit at. Food was good and had a good variety of food to choose from. Overall a good experience for a resort. Too big to be able to walk to all the activities. Had a shuttle but had to wait for it to come to pick you up. Staff were very nice and willing to help with whatever you need. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good and had great selection.
The weak points
Grounds too big to walk from your room to the beach.
Certified

Great experience!

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2019-05-28
This resort is big, but very beautiful. It is very well maintained and the vegetation is lush and beautiful. There are carts taking you from your building to the beach and back, if you don't want to walk, although highly recommended, since it is an all-inclusive and we tend to eat and drink so much. The customer service everywhere is excellent, everyone is polite, helpful and always with a smile on their face. I loved the fact that we could book a-la-carte restaurants every day if we wanted (although the buffet is great and you have many choices). The entertainment shows were really good too. The only thing that wasn't good was the overgrowth of seaweed, although the resort tried their hardest to remove it every day from the beach. This problem is not particular to this resort, unfortunately all the resorts on the east coast are overwhelmed by it. Some resorts had it much worse than Grand Esmeralda. Overall, a wonderful experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The excellent customer service (naming Fernando UC at the small buffet and Jose at the Festival) and delicious food. Loved the water games and the foam party.
The weak points
The fact that I could not go into the ocean because of the seaweed and muddy water.
Certified

Wonderful place to stay!

, Huntsville, ON
2019-05-01
Overall we would recommend this place. The staff was pleasant with a few exceptions at the front desk. We worked with them though. The pools are great and the food and drinks were excellent. The beach is nice but the water is pretty murky. Snorkeling isn't possible at this resort.

The a la carte restaurants are very good. Lots of options with different types of food. When at the steak house, if you're ordering a large cut of meet I would order the "doneness" one level higher. Most of our medium rare steaks came out pretty rare. This happened on more than one occasion. Still tasted wonderful though!

The entertainment was good for families. Some of the shows were aimed at children. The Michael Jackson show is great as is the Cirque show.

For the price point I would give this place 5 stars. Great quality at a great price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was very good. The staff was was pleasant overall. Rooms were clean. The entertainment was pretty good. Michael Jackson show and Cirque show are highlights.
The weak points
Long walk to the beach. Snorkeling isn't good. Some of the front desk staff aren't good to deal but that depends on who you get. The walls are pretty thin in the rooms so you can hear conversations in the next room.
Certified

First time in Mexico

, Crofton, BC
2019-05-01
This is a beautiful resort with very friendly staff. The pools were nice but closed way too early. Only really one sit down bar that everyone uses. There was a second but we were not told about it until our trip was almost over. Fun entertainment in the black and white. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was so friendly. Golf carts ( although they had seen better days) to get you around the resort. Plenty of food and the drinks were not at all watered down.
The weak points
Check in was but too much trying to upsell. Food was burnt or raw and very bland. Beaches were covered in seaweed and unusable. Most of the deck chairs were broken. Prices in the store were ridiculous. 10US for a bag of chips.
Certified

Hotel Review

, Swan Hills, AB
2019-04-15
This is definitely not a 4.5 star resort and here is why.....
This resort looked great upon arrival yet there was a foul sewer smell. Once getting off the bus we were told to go to orientation the next day in order to get our ride back to the airport. Upon further investigation this orientation was a ruse to buy a timeshare. We were hounded for days to attend this orientation when all we wanted to do was relax. Along with the pressure of this timeshare the gift shops have 6-7 people pressuring you to buy things that are way over priced when you are just there to browse. A bag of potato chips is $9 US. In order to eat at a restaurant you have to book reservations a day in advance and even then it is unlikely you will get the restaurant you want even though they are half empty. Got sick 8 days into the vacation. Not sure if it was from the unsanitary plastic cups they serve drinks in at the bar or the buffet. If you knew how the plastic drink cups were washed you would never drink out of them again. Most of the restaurants had good food for the most part. In order to get a lounging chair by the pool or the beach you have to get up no later than 6 am and put your towel on them. The towels are $30 US if they are lost or taken. The chairs are dirty and sticky. The beach was full of seaweed and sand flies. I got a rash on my leg after laying in a lounge chair at the beach two days in and still have it. This is a party resort not a relaxing resort even though there are families with children there. The room we got had dirty floors every day. We would take a shower, walk to the balcony and our feet would be dirty. There were tiny bugs in the bathroom the entire time we were there. The water never really warmed up when showering and the water reeked. The alcohol you are served in this all-inclusive resort is bottom shelf and low quality. In order to get the good stuff you have to be a timeshare holder. The website advertised domestic beers yet they only had one type of beer at the bar and a very bad tasting beer in the mini-bar. The website also states that dry cleaning is included and laundry is an extra charge. When we asked about dry cleaning they told us they don't offer it. You have to use the hotel taxis which are very over priced if you want to go anywhere. If you call your own taxi you have to walk a long distance to the front gates...there is no free ride to the gates. The tours are all overpriced when booking through the hotel.
The first impressions of this resort was very good yet when we got further into our vacation the issues kept piling up. We will not be back to this resort in the future.
We would like to mention that Alberto in the Festival Buffet was excellent and Carlos the concierge at our building (6) was excellent as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Variety of wildlife on resort was cool. Staff was accommodating-mostly friendly. Good ocean view from beachfront pool area. The Steakhouse and Oriental restaurant were very good. Activities were good. They maintained their grounds well.
The weak points
Once you arrive there is a foul sewer odor. Being pressured into orientation (timeshare) upon arrival. Arriving to room it was not clean and bugs in bathroom. Appliances were broken and out dated. Drinks served in plastic cups unsanitary.
Certified

Somewhat disappointing

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-04
The hotel is old and not well maintained in the suite buildings. The tiles need replacing in the hallways, stairs and rooms. They are cracked and chipped and can pose a tripping hazard. In building 1, the ceiling in hallway and in our bathroom shows signs of leaking and the patching was roughly done. The drainage hole in the bathroom releases a sewage smell. They don't appear to have enough cleaning staff to have the rooms cleaned before 4:00.

Staff are friendly and hard working. Food is good. Especially liked the salmon at the Italian restaurant.
Staff try to get you to buy the Circle One travel concept but the condition of the hotel for regular guests greatly detracts from your faith in their brand. High pressure sales and anger from sales team if you point this out to them.

As mentioned in other reviews, the water is recycled and consequently there is a sewage smell coming from the sprinklers that water the lawns.
The beach has lovely white sand and you can take long walks and feel very safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, nice weather, efficient check in.
The weak points
Sewage smell. High pressure sales. Poor building maintenance. Charge extra daily fee for wifi for more than one guest.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020