Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Catalonia Yucatan Beach
3.913.913.913.913.91
3.91 based on 537 reviews
#30 of 140 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (177)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Surprise on Mayan Riviera

, Kitchener, ON
2024-04-27
Having stayed here a few years ago, we were disappointed in the available room features this year: no coffee/tea, no beer/pop, no kleenex!!, no room service. Also access to only two of five a la carte restaurants ($15 each person for the others) and pnly one of two buffets (the other closed). Other guests we talked to were similarly surprised.
Otherwise, the room, etc., were clean, the service typical, the pools and bars fine, and the grounds/setting beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
beautiful grounds and setting
The weak points
no-frills room
Certified

Pretty nice place

, Hamilton, ON
2024-04-19
We just came back from there- all in all great food and personel.Room was nice and clean and other than having tough time getting laungers under umbrella we had a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Always fresh fruit and vegetable assortment and food variety and personel helpfull
The weak points
Just the avilability of laungers with shade umbrella
Certified

Major improvements needed

, Calgary, AB
2024-04-06
All 3 of us got sick. Our daughter got food poisoning, my husband and I have diarrhea
which we still have 5 days after returning home. Great live entertainment if you are not sick in bed. Great activities if you don't need to rush to the toilet. Nice pools. Nice staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment, activities
The weak points
Run down room, we all got sick.
Certified

A fabulous resort experience

, Toronto, ON
2024-03-18
The food, facilities, staff, and activity/entertainment options kept us active and happy all week! We enjoyed a great, relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service was excellent - helpful, courteous, and fun. Our room was comfortable and kept very clean.
The weak points
Much of the same food every day. More variety would be nice and it's almost impossible to book a time for the themed restaurants - we tried a few times to book (online) but never succeeded - but the buffets were always available.
Certified

Yucatan beach

, Cochrane, AB
2024-03-05
Transfer to the resort was actually painful. We waited an hour for a transfer bus and then travelled an hour to get to the resort. Food was quite good. Beach was small and getting into the water rocky. Nice walk to the village. Shops and dolphins. Rooms very nice and quiet. Nice pool view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Catalonia Yucatán Beach

, Murillo, ON
2024-03-04
The trip was awesome, weather was amazing!
The resort was good, we had the basic package (I guess) so not even a coffee maker in the room. I learnt a lot of questions I will ask for next time.
The only issue was not enough beach chairs for the amount of people at the resort!
The best snorkeling I've ever experienced at a resort, coral reef at our beach front. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
Booking the à la cart was a challenge because you had to do it online at 8am and it was usually full by 8:05am
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan/Riviera Maya

, Nelson, BC
2024-03-03
This property was great! Beautiful spaces, combining quaint accommodations with lush garden areas and fun pool zones. The ocean water was turquoise and safely situated behind wave breaks; great for swimming and floating. Located in Puerto Aventuras, a great “intro” to Mexico in a safe and accessible community. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Mexican cuisine at the buffet was delicious. The ocean was great, as was the town outside of the hotel.
The weak points
The non-Mexican cuisine got old after a while. The a la carte restaurants were not that great/ok and somewhat challenging to book. I think the resort itself would get boring for those unwilling to leave and explore.
Certified

Very friendly resort

, Peterborough, ON
2024-02-26
We just came back from this resort. We had never been to Mexico before so we didn't know what to expect. A lot of variety of food at the buffets. We could always find something to eat and never went hungry. We were able to get into the website to book our a la carts when we wanted to, but if you weren't on at 8 am you'd miss out for the day. I like that we book each day instead of on a weekly basis. The beach is mostly rocky but we were aware of this before we went so we brought our water shoes. We also brought or snorkel sets. There is a beautiful reef right off the beach and we saw many beautiful tropical fish. The beach is very small and you can't walk very far. The room is outdated but clean. Loved our balcony facing the pool and ocean. Our patio door lock was broke when we arrived but maintenance came at 1:30 am (when we checked in) to fix it.
Staff are always friendly and helpful. The bartenders mix the drinks so fast that they don't taste like they should. I believe the booze is watered down. There is no way I drank as much as I did without feeling a buzz. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great area, very secure, lots of shops and restaurants in the area. Clean rooms.
The weak points
Small rocky beach, outdated rooms, patio door lock was broken when we arrived.
Sanitary measures
No issues - always clean
Certified

Review of Catalonia yucatan beach resort

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2024-02-19
The rooms need to be redone. The bathtub had stains. The were chipped baseboards ,wall, mirror .The door to our room was totally peeling. Website was misleading mentioned 5 a la carte restaurants but we were not allowed to choose the Japanese or steakhouse.
The staff was friendly and attentive. Bartenders were great . The resort was very clean.
Breakfast buffet is very good, lunch and dinner were ok.
Italian a la carte was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff Pools very nice Grounds are pretty and well maintained Bartenders were great. Buffet was plentiful and had many options
The weak points
Not enough beach chairs, website picture of beach are not realistic, Our room while clean needs a complete makeover. Misleading website regarding a la carte restaurants.
Sanitary measures
Staff was cleaning the common areas all the time.
Certified

An amazing start to 2024 in Mexico

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2024-02-15
1st time ever in Mexico for myself and hubby and we had so much fun… from the staff… guests… food…everyone and everything was more than what we expected… previously before going we saw a bunch of reviews, good and bad. We are in a couple Facebook groups which we did follow quite a bit and before going, we did say that we were not gonna be those people that put towels on the chairs to hold them, especially if we were going to do excursions or be gone from our chairs for a long period of time, and of course the first four days we ended up having to sit on the sand because there were no chairs available as there were towels on all of them but no people… then, finally on the Saturday which we arrived on the Tuesday I decided to get up around 730 and put towels on two chairs as we wanted to relax on a chair this one time. Around 8am we went down to the buffet to eat, and we went back to our chairs sat there for about two hours talking to the people sitting next to us and then all of a sudden the rainstorm came so we went and stood underneath the covered area by the buffet for about five minutes and decided to have a drink while we were there so we waited in line we went back to our chairs and there was a worker telling us that the chairs were unoccupied for at least four or five minutes and we were not allowed to put our towels there and just walk away and I tried telling him that we were sitting there, but because of the rain we left and came back and he just gave us a hard time about that so that was the only disappointment I felt because we weren't known to staff and they picked on us… as YOU know people get up and put their towels on as early as 6:30 in the morning and then they don't go back there till 10 and we were gone from our chairs for no longer than five or six minutes and something was said SO DEFINITELY THAT WAS A DOWNFALL… I just feel like if you're gonna say something about the towels to one person you need to go all around the beach and say something to everybody… But other than that everything was amazing .. it is a very clean resort. I saw all the hard workers out there, cleaning up the seaweed every morning, and all the maids cleaning the rooms at all hours of the day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan Resort

, Kelowna, BC
2024-02-07
Our stay was great! Room was clean and perfect for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Value priced resort

, Picton, ON
2024-02-04
For the price, this resort offers good value [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Snorkeling was excellent. Beach & pools were nice. Staff was courteous & helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Resort was clean. Being able to walk into the nearby village was awesome - fabulous restaurants there along with beautiful boardwalk & night life
The weak points
Food was ok but quite repetitive. No drinks except water in the mini bar. The bathroom was bad: very old, run down and decrepit.
Sanitary measures
Resort was clean
Certified

Best christmas in years

, Red Deer, AB
2024-01-03
I did not realise just how far away from the airport this place was. I was very disappointed in how long it took to get there. We were the last stop. Next time I will gladly pay the private fee from the airport. Check in process was very fast, as we were the only couple checking in. Our room was very spacious and the bed was perfect. I always had hot water for my shower and the house maid did an excellent job keeping things cleaned each day. We stayed on the Yucatan side with no up-grades. We were in room 3138. Our air conditioner never worked the entire time but that was ok as we were only in our rooms to change and sleep so air conditioning was not necessary. I loved snorkelling every day and the different fish you find. I chased a sting-ray, puffer fish and countless other colourful fish. Even played with a jelly-fish. We normally could find a chair at one of the beaches and we were not opposed to just throwing our towels on the ground. We kayaked in the enclosed area which is where you can find a lot of jelly fish but they don't bother you. We ate most meals at the buffet, food is "well buffet" lots of selections for everyone. I stuck mostly with fruit and veggies. I do not drink so I cannot comment on how the drinks were but they served me juice with a smile every time. We tried the snack bar once and enjoyed the chicken and fries. The crepe place was our favourite daily snack(banana caramel crepe, strawberry milkshake and vanilla ice cream cone). The entertainment team was exceptional and did a very good job. Now about tipping, I am Canadian and I tip for good service so I tipped accordingly and that is all I will comment on that part. We left the resort each day as I fell in love with watching the dolphins, its a 5 min walk. We rented a gold cart for one day and toured around the complex. Even walked across the highway to the walmart type store mini mall place. We found the Mayan ruins, abandoned buildings, central park and a cenote while touring around all within the gated complex. We heard so much about Chez Waffle that we had to try it. Yes very delicious and we recommend. Met some locals, everyone was friendly and happy. I can't wait to return. I may have found my future retirement home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The snorkelling, soft beds, friendliness
The weak points
having to wake up at 8am to make a reservation. It never happened for us. We wake around 9ish
Certified

Most disappointing vacation experience ever!!!!!!!

, Kincardine, ON
2024-01-03
Couldn't wait to leave- first room we were given was disgusting: moldy smell, peeling paint on doors and walls, rusty and discoloured fixtures, dirty bathtub and air vent, cracked and broken trim..!!! Got changed to a "better" room next day but were without a room for 4 hours so had to pack up and leave our bags in storage for most of the day. Room thermosat, phone and room key didn't work. Restaurant reservations were very difficult to make with their app. Terrible way to start a 10-day Christmas vacation. Thought we were booked at other hotel next door which was supposedly nicer(had seen pics of beautiful rooms). Unbelievable difference from reality!! What a shock when we entered our room!! DO NOT BOOK AT THIS RESORT EVER- waste of money and time:(:( ps Would not stay there again even if rooms were free!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Restaurant workers all very nice! Always happy to serve. Seem to really enjoy their job. Welcoming!!
The weak points
-condition of rooms & building -desk staff incompetent -only had access to 2 a la carte restaurants (not 5 as advertised)
Sanitary measures
-whole resort needs a major cleaning and update -appearance definitely not welcoming
Certified

Hotel Catalonija Rivijera Maya

, Edmonton, AB
2023-12-14
Our flight from Edmonton to Cancun took 6 1/2 hours, from contacting the Nexus agent to arriving at the hotel, it took us 6 hours. The drive from the airport to the hotel takes 2 hours, which is quite a long time. We arrived at the hotel at midnight, there was not room in that hotel and they immediately transferred us to the sister hotel Catalunya Riviera Maya. We did not get any orientation about the hotel, so on the second day we found our way on our own until we came across the hotel employee Karlos.A hotel employee who gave us a tour of the hotel complex. The food in the restaurant is varied and delicious. In particular, they have an American hamburger restaurant where the burger is fantastic. Then they have a Creperie restaurant where you can also eat nicely. Access to the sea is not easy in all places. We were witnesses where a woman fell on the rocks and injured herself. .There were waves every day during our 10-day stay. If the swimming area was not fenced with large concrete structures to break the waves, it would not be possible to swim, but at the same time it is protecting swimers from sharks. Those who like to drink quality drinks should not come to this hotel. I drank more varied and better drinks in Cuba, which was included in all inclusive They try to put as much ice as possible in each drink. Prices in hotel stores are 200-300% higher than outside the hotel. That is not the way to respect a guest. You feel like you are being robbed in the middle of the day. It was my first time in Mexico. The weather was nice so you could swim in the sea every day. The hotel deserves 3 stars, no more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Hamburger restaurant,intertainament,Creperie restaurant,
The weak points
Cheap drinks, bad access to the beach
Certified

Very relaxing stay

, Vancouver, BC
2023-12-11
Small, compact, older, but clean and decent hotel.
Fully equipped room, but lack kettle.
Very good food selection
Small but clean and nice beach, not quite suitable for long swimming, but excellent for snorkeling [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean hotel, great staff punctuality, helpfulness and friendliness
The weak points
Kettle to make my own coffee. Coffee in the facility is not the best one.
Certified

AMAZING

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-03-24
We have loved every part of our vacation and still have two more days!! Jasmine helped with reservations . I would suggest booking privilege it isn't much more money and certainly makes you feel special. We booked oceanfront room 2131 views spectacular. So many places to eat and drink . We will definitely be back!!!! A shout out to Esther in the buffet she is darling. People please tip a little. These people work 6 days a week and 12 hours a day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
No weak points

Good times at the Yucatan

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-05
First time at a Catalonia resort. Enjoyed the smaller size resort and close proximity to the adjacent Mayan resort and its amenities , as well as the beach. We tried all the restaurants except beloved as it was excluded from non- privileged members. Enjoyed good friendly service throughout in mostly good English. Food was all good to excellent, typical of other 4 stars. Good cleanliness.Typical hotel room a bit older but clean. Had two doubles instead of a king but they were both comfortable. Puerto Adventurous area seemed safe and secure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were happy with the food quality, in the al la cartes. Buffets also good. Staff friendly. typical draft beer and mid-range liquor. Short walk to marina and shops.Great shows most nights in nice theater.no beach venders. quiet area, good breakwater
The weak points
Over an hour from the airport. no beer or liquor or soft drinks in room fridge unless privileged. No bar opens till 11 am. some wear and tear but well kept grounds overall.
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan Mexico

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-19
Overall it was a lovely resort. Great staff, always there to meet your needs. Roberto on Yucatan side always made sure your glass was full even if you didn't drink alcohol. The sausage wagon and crepe shack was a great idea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaners always cleaning pools, nice beach. Great staff
The weak points
I really didn't find any.
Certified

Amasing, wonderfull and beautifull

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2019-06-04
excellent service, excellent food , very nice entertainment. we were there for 1 week. everything was wonderfull. I loved beach in this resort. on other hotels were lots of seaweeds, but this resort has wonderful beach no seaweeds.Food, drinks were very nice .We will defiantly go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent service, nice rooms, beautiful view from rooms
The weak points
pillows were a little hard, but I didn't bother to ask them to change it for us. I am sure they would of done for us. Everything was so good that I didn't bother with pillows, slept without pillow
Certified

Not really privileged just be glad your not sl

, Ancaster, ON
2018-02-01
We liked this resort but I have been to the maya an
d Yucatan and had an amazing time at the maya in Nov 2016.I couldn't wait to get back but it was a let down that's for sure . First they didn't have a superior ocean front room which is what we booked,They tried to upgrade us to a suite with no view of the ocean at all I wasn't taking that so about an hour later they gave us a simple ocean front room.Nothing special at all but we could see the ocean then I almost wiped out on the bathroom floor in the middle of the night . There was water everywhere and the toilet
T had to be taken off and the seal replaced and told not to use for another 40 min after being hours without.ugh!.Then the power went out and they had to go to the main switch outside our room Of I was right in the middle of blow drying my hair Come on! Walked by a beautiful room with a four poster bed with mosquito netting looked beautiful I guess we weren't privileged enough The first time I went the privileged beach area and bar was really cool this time it was somewhere in the corner never really found it. tables were all full many mornings and didn't get to sit at a privileged table Anyways we started to feel as if we should just be privileged to be there Why promise something that they over book Both of our neighbour's have awful stories to tell to get an Oceanview room Look it was an OK holiday but nothing near the luxurious way my daughter and I felt the same time The buffets were wonderful just a little cold even though it's 24 outside.%he shows we went to were great.I came out of the spa with a worse kink in my neck than the one I went in with The head holders are uncomfortable My husband was laughing because who leaves a spa worse than they went in Had to go buy Tylenol in the Yucatan stire,We went to do archery and we're told we had 5 min because they had to go do another task. Don't you usually account for this and have somebody else replace them It says open from 11 to whatever My husband got to shoot 3 arrows and he was told that's it .,I don't know what to say except we wont be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food ,nice people
The weak points
Do not offer what you can't produce!,,,,,felt cheated not our fault you can't hold up to your promises booked in Nov to ensure our superior Oceanview room superior being the main point trip #1 amazed trip#2 felt like an underprivileged couple
Certified

Do not upgrade to Privilege !!

, Stittsville, ON
2018-01-05
We arrived Dec 26, took forever once we landed in Cancun at 4:30 did not get to the hotel until 7:00 that was a circus show !! Beautiful resort ! We had PAID EXTRA to be upgraded to Privilege the only thing that gets you that is access to all the restaurants other then the buffet which was NOT good, same food EVERY day!! and cold !! NO food available between breakfast, lunch and dinner, other then a crepe hut, don't like them myself and got mixed reviews from others, and they had the Mexican hot dog stand opened for maybe an hour mid morning, the guy was NOT friendly ! Free visit to the Hydrotherapy pool which was amazing ! The room, not that nice for what we paid for this trip ! Ocean View yes, but the only one bar that's open late was right below us and VERY noisy !! Drinks VERY watered down, I DO NOT drink but decided what the heck were on holidays, I had 5 drinks in about 1 1/2 hours felt NOTHING !! that's how we knew they were watered down ! Through ppl we met, found out the pool bar at the middle pool, the guys were awesome and you got a good drink, also ask for a top up of Malibu rum went great with most fru fru drinks. Entertainment not that good, and not informative at all as to what was happening, other then some of the cast going around doing a little demo, but if you didn't see it your SOL !! We were suppose to have turn down service, I could care less for this but the 4th night we went to our room at 8:00pm there was a guy in our room using the phone and would not acknowledge us at all, once off the phone he motioned if we wanted to have turn down service (couldn't speak english) I said no please leave, told the concierge and she looked in to it but of course couldn't find anything out, we had read on a review that a couple weeks before us a couple of people had stuff stolen from their safes and they CAN get into your safe, eg; you forget your code call and they come with a cheat sheet showing how to bypass and get into the safe and the guy who was in our room had this with him !! FYI every time you use the safe, take a pic of what's in it and strategically place things in so only you know and the pic !! otherwise its your word against them !! All week our bathroom would have water lines throughout the tile and as the week progressed more water apparent to the point we had to put towels down all over the floor !! finally on the 5th day we woke up to water out into our front door and opened the door it was about 1.5" outside our door,I went to let the front desk know (She's NOT friendly) and she said she would send maintenance, fine ! Went had breakfast came straight back to the room the maid was mopping up the floor and had cleaned so I went to the front desk and asked if maintenance had been (knowing full well they hadn't) and she said no I will call and I said don't bother the maids mopped all the water up they won't be able to see where it all was... I requested another room for what we paid !! She said none available we have a lot of vacationers arriving and I said what the /!#* do you think I am !! I told her if either one of us slips and falls in the middle of the night will they refund us the medical expenses and spa treatments.... She found us another room 2 doors down and had our first room rented out the next day !! WOW ... If you decide to go to this resort do not set your standards high and DO NOT up grade to privilege save your money .... one more thing New Years OMG, charged ppl $100 US per person on the beach, roped off so ppl who didn't pay couldn't get in but could stand around and listen to the music/DJ, you got a top hat or tierra, horn blower, bottle of champagne per 6 at table YEP that was it, and it didn't start till 10:30pm and a bag of red grapes that represented the 12 months of the year to bring good luck OMG it was a JOKE !! This event should have been available for ALL the paying guests !!! BIG DISAPPOINTMENT but the weather was awesome... THANK GOD [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ocean, beach, pools, privileged restaurants..... The ocean was amazing , there were some rockey areas but you just had to look for the cleared areas to walk through to get out further and lots of nice snorkeling, kayaking, weight boarding. Beach great
The weak points
food, entertainment, rooms, service... I have stayed at other resorts and this one is not worth the Privilege upgrade and for the extra money spent. You will not gain weight at this resort so don't worry about that, gym was ok not well maintained but ok
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan Beach

, Calgary, AB
2017-04-12
My overall experience is positive because it's a beautiful place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and the programs were excellent! The staff is super friendly and caring. The Japanese and Italian restaurants are very delicious.
The weak points
The Yucatan side has very small and uncomfortable beds. We stayed at the Mayan side once and the beds were more comfortable.
Certified

Mexican Vacation

, Broad Cove, NS
2017-03-12
Had a excellent vacation at this resort. No negatives. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent visit

, Grand-Barachois, NB
2017-03-04
This was our third visit to this resort so we knew exactly what to expect and again, we were not disappointed. It's a smaller resort, which we love yet still has enough a la carte restaurants so that we never get bored with the variety of the food. The staff here is excellent and many are the same as my first visit over 4 years ago. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small resort, good snorkeling, excellent service
The weak points
Far from the airport, internet is slow
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Beausejour, ON
2017-02-01
We had an amazing experience at this resort. As we were returning guests, the staff seemed to go out of their way to make sure we had a good experience. Victoria at the guest services desk was super. David, one of the waiters was always asking, "Is everything OK?" Rooms are clean. Food is awesome. Activity staff work very hard to make sure everyone is happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent atmosphere. Awesome food. Great staff.
The weak points
Can't really think of any weak points
Certified

Great place

, Airdrie, AB
2016-12-24
The best hotel, with great staff and food. The beach is great the water is blue as blue. lots to do and see. Food is great also, lots of choices for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff are excellent, food is great. great place for walks at night. very safe
The weak points
there are no weak points
Certified

My stay at the Catalonia Yucatan

, Berkeley, ON
2016-04-18
I absolutely enjoyed my stay in this resort and would highly recommend it. The compound, Puerto Adventura is exceptionally clean and safe and has wonderful activities such as fishing excursions and the dolphin experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and service were exceptional. The location is great. Lots of local activities
The weak points
The beach is a little rocky, but offset by the snorkeling right off the sand
Certified

James Fehr

, Winkler, MB
2016-03-31
Everything was great except for one lady trying to sell time shares was a little mean, it was not Alicia, she was very nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Trip To Mexico

, Mississauga, ON
2016-02-29
The service at the hotel was great. I would recommend this place to, my friends. Really easy going people, and answered all your questions. Good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love the place was gated, and safe too walk around at night. The hostesses, and the staff was great.
The weak points
The beach could be a little better.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024