Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

4.264.264.264.264.26
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
#12 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
4.26 based on 204 reviews
Traveller pictures (41)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Del Mar Iberostar

, Riverview, NB
2020-03-02
We really enjoyed our stay. People were friendly and accommodations were great. There is a pride of ownership in many of the associates. Resort was very clean, and there was always a friendly hello/olla when they crossed your path. Food was great, nice to have the late hour small buffet open each night. Fun shows, lots of energy. Met a lot of nice people on our trip as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic The people were helpful and always smiling fun activities at the beach resort was super clean...all the time
The weak points
did not get King Size bed as promised...was corrected next day...but we wasted almost half a day getting it sorted out
Certified

Great stay!

, Barrie, ON
2020-01-27
We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan 2 years ago and loved the Iberostar experience which lead us to book the The Iberostar Del Mar. It is much bigger than the Tucan so be prepared to get your steps in. We had a room near the pool in the centre and it was a 10min walk to buffet and 10min the other way to the beach.
You are able to access the amenities at the sister resort Paraiso Beach. You are not able to access the food or get served at the Lindo or Maya but you can walk on their resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food! So much variety!, Clean, Friendly and helpful staff, Activities Included - archery, tennis lessons, water sports 1hr/day, air gun, bike tours, Local animals on resort
The weak points
Large size resort for me personally. Is the largest I would go, The pool was cold all week. I still swam but wasn't able to be in for a long period of time
Certified

All around outstanding resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-25
This resort does everything well. Decent food; fantastic beach; nice rooms; friendly attentive staff ; good people all around. WI FI is everywhere. Pool area is fun...lively but also has quiet spots. Atmosphere is positive everywhere.

You can't go wrong booking here and would go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly fun staff; beach is awesome; very fun atmosphere
The weak points
Only slight knock is how they try and get you to go on a tour with them before you even get to your room. You are weak and tired from your flight....give us a break.
Certified

Best vacation

, Nanaimo, BC
2020-01-14
The pool and staff were very friendly. The cleanliness was the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food at the buffet. The staff and room
The weak points
No weak points.
Certified

Awesome girls trip

, Shelb. Co., NS
2019-11-06
My first time in Mexico and this resort was great. It was very clean in the rooms and around the grounds. The food was incredible. Everyone was so nice, I will go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness and great people
The weak points
Can't think of one
Certified

Relaxing on the Riviera Maya

, Surrey, BC
2019-02-18
There are five versions of Iberostar resorts lined up and connected next to each other with lush tropical gardens intertwined with local wildlife. The rooms were large and kept very clean however at the Del Mar there were no beach views, only garden views. The pool is very long and meanders through-out the resort with something for everybody, activity pool, children's pool, quiet area, plenty of sunbeds and palapas. Food was good, service was good, excellent entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was clean and well looked after. Great entertainment at night and very fun activities around the pool during the day. Giovanni was especially fun.
The weak points
Smoking, no designated smoking areas so we had to walk through alot of people smoking in the bars and lobby area. Resort is too large to be quaint.
Certified

Great!

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2019-02-10
We stayed for 10 days and enjoyed each one. The staff were great, thank you to Lalli (events), Cindi (pool service) and Roger (beach service). Clean rooms, good food, great entertainment, and the weather was perfect. Be sure to try the Japanese restaurant, it's a great show as well as a great meal. Plenty of wildlife and great landscaping, one of the better resorts as far as overall design goes. Highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic staff, clean and well maintained. We have nothing but good things to say! The resort is very well laid out and beautiful. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was great. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed our 10 days here.
Certified

Highly recommended

, Whitby, ON
2017-05-09
This was my first time staying at an Iberostar and, based on our experience, I will definitely look to their properties when travelling in future. The resort and grounds are beautiful, the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the rooms very comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, pool, staff, entertainment
The weak points
Beach (due to high winds), food typical for buffet style, front desk could use more staff
Certified

Good time

, Cochrane, AB
2016-12-13
Hotel was fine, beaches and pool were clean. Food was bland, but plenty of it. Enjoyed the marked jogging paths. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room size, friendly staff
The weak points
bland food
Certified

Excelent, very minor issues

, Coquitlam, BC
2016-06-14
Very pleasant stay, the staff is awesome, the night entertainment a very good surprise and the food on most of the restaurants is better than expected. Totally recommend. No major issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and ready to help staff
The weak points
Not always enough people at front desk
Certified

Great all inclusive resort

, Moose Jaw, SK
2016-04-11
I've stayed at many resorts, but never an Iberostar until now, and this ranks as the nicest looking resort of all my travels. Its very grand looking with beautiful gardens throughout. The pool, and poolside amenities are remarkably good. There was never a lineup at any of the bars, and was a wide selection of premium liquor at no extra charge. I've never been a big fan of Mayan Riviera beaches, but this one is slightly better than most on the Mayan. The food was only average, but the staff were excellent. The resort is very spread out and this makes for lots of walking. The walks are beautiful and enjoyable, but if you have a busy vacation schedule, you may find the long distances within the resort a bit frustrating. All and all, if I ever return to they Mayan, I would stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool, the bars, the beautiful grounds, the rooms, and the general grandness of the main buildings.
The weak points
Food was good, but only mediocre. Beach was beautiful where you sit, but not great once in the water, because some rocks and seaweed make it an average beach (maybe slightly above average for they Mayan Rivera)
Certified

Very good

, Langley, BC
2015-11-04
awsome fun lots of choises! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
smoking in the public areas
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

, Chilliwack, BC
2015-04-02
We enjoyed our stay at the Del Mar. It was Spring Break and while busy, the staff did a great job of keeping the place clean, providing entertainment and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean room , quiet and beautiful beach
The weak points
smoking was permitted in some common areas, should provide non-alcoholic beer
Certified

Great getaway

, West Kelowna, BC
2015-03-19
will recommend to all friends and family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
all around great
The weak points
not any
Certified

Iberostar

, Port Mcnicoll, ON
2015-01-10
We had a great time. Very big resort with a lot to do. Staff was always helpful and friendly. The gourmet restaurant was amazing! The shows were great. There is a lot to do for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, variety, large resort
The weak points
Mexican restaurant was disappointing
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

, Regina, SK
2014-12-16
The place is so huge we love our stay there... The service is good food everything is nice.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We love the iberostar the staff is so helpful and good service the pool is big and the whole area is big lot of walking you will love to walk after you eat meal lol
The weak points
The beach area is small
Certified

Riviera maya

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-08
all in all good experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good beach for walking
The weak points
red flag on beach for 2 weeks
Certified

Average

, Bowden, AB
2014-12-05
It was a nice hotel with friendly workers but the distance you had to walk to the lobby and to the pool was ridiculous! There were supose to be rides but they were never there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was friendly Rooms were clean Pool was clean
The weak points
The walking distance from the pool to the beach and to the pool. A lack of transportation to each area
Certified

Will go back

, Toronto, ON
2014-11-02
We enjoyed every single minute there and plan to go again with all family and recommended to our friends. Sea pleasant warm early morning, 7:00 AM we were swimming.Day entertainment, activities were beyond expectation, even if I would be alone I would never be bored there.
You can buy excursions in airplane using your credit card and pay in Canadian dollars (cheaper).
You'll need mosquito's repellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, many buffets, restaurants and good food, beach, clean room, all day intertainment
The weak points
Night entertainment was more American oriented, I would prefer more Mexican, love learn different culture
Certified

Great vacation

, London, ON
2014-09-16
This resort is huge, great for people who like to walk, transportation system not very reliable at night. Beautiful grounds with lots of wildlife which we thought was cool and totally different from other resorts we have visited in Rivera Maya and other parts of Mexico. Food - we always found something to eat that we liked at the buffet restaurant. We went to 3 a la cart restaurants , we enjoyed all of them, especially steak house and Brazilian restaurant. We loved the choice of liquor and coffee at the lobby bar but all the other bars served great drinks and staff were extremely friendly and very efficient. Life music in the lobby in the evenings was a great touch at the end of the day. Beach was nice,enough beach chairs for everybody. It was nice to have a snack bar handy at the beach. Pools are huge and beautiful, we enjoyed them every day. We hoped for a great and relaxing vacation and we left very satisfied and well rested. Thank you Iberostar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort with immaculate grounds and lots of wild life which added to the charm of the whole experience. Friendly and helpful staff throughout resort made us feel welcomed.Food was good and tasty.
The weak points
Walkways and lobby completely dark early am, not safe for walking with suitcases when checking out at 0530. Mosquito were a nuisance at this time of year.
Certified

Iberostar del Mar

, Kitchener, ON
2014-05-20
The hotel was beautiful. Took tons of pictures of the jungle-like grounds and the beautiful buildings. Fourth trip to Maya Riviera and have stayed at the Bluebay Esmerelda and The Princess. The Iberostar rocked it totally!Smaller resort which was quieter and easier to navigate.The beach was paradise. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The natural beauty and Mayan influence of the resort
The weak points
some small signs of wear and tear
Certified

Spring break vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2014-03-17
Il provided everything we hoped for; great accomodation, food and service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastiq beach. Great room. Great service with friendly staff.
The weak points
Restaurant réservation system poorly orgarnized. Sunwing agent médiocre as far as passing on information.
Certified

Fabulous vacation in paradise

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-10
perfect beach, spacious & beautiful room with balcony, excellent food at all the restaurants including buffet, service was friendly, courteous and expediant,pool was fabulous,meandering & clean with 2 pool bars. No complaints whatsoever!!! Would go there again in a heartbeat!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything
The weak points
none
Certified

Feb 5-12 Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-24
Wonderful Resort! Friendly accommodating staff. As I work in Health & Safety I was impressed to see resort workers utilizing appropriate personal protection equipment. Overall impression: Great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Friendly & accommodating resort; the best out of 6 all inclusive resort vacations.
The weak points
The beach / ocean was quite rocky & difficult for swimmers & waders. I would also like to suggest a quiet section of the beach & pool for loungers who only want rest & relaxation rather than activities & loud music.
Certified

The Place to Go on the Mayan

, Kitchener, ON
2014-02-12
This is a great hotel if you like a large resort that has everything that is close to the Airport. I believe a short bus ride to and from the airport makes it a great feature that many people seem to overlook when booking resorts. Pool, Ocean, Food, Good Service and Events seem to be going on all the time. Also the ability to go to the neighbouring resorts by foot when desired makes it a good option as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, clean and organized. Service is very good most of the time and variety of food is there for all. The buffet changes quite often and has some pretty good hours of service in the event you miss a meal.
The weak points
It has the same problem as most hotels do for booking of specialty restaurants. When on vacation, I don't enjoy lineups indoors. There needs to be a better, faster method to do this task via computer.
Certified

Greate Vacation

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-01-31
Great hotel. Everything in walking distance. GOod service. Lots of friendly staff to help with whatever is needed. No complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to beach. Pool is large and not overly busy.
The weak points
Bed was a little hard and not as relaxing as it could have been.
Certified

WAS NOT VERY SATISFIED

, Edmonton, AB
2013-11-20
WE ASKED FOR KING SIZE BEDS AND NEVER RECIVED THEM, OUR A/C IN THE ROOM DIDN'T WORK, OUR PHONE IN THE ROOM DIDN'T WORK, OUR FRIDGE WAS ONLY STOCKED EVERY TWO DAYS WHICH WASN'C CONVINIENT AT ALL. ROOM SERVICE FOOD WAS ALWAYS COLD. WE WERE KICKED OUT OF POOLS AT 7:15 BUT THE POOLS WERE OPEN TILL 8PM. ONE DAY WE WERE TOLD WE CAN CHECKUOT LATER FOR AN ADDITIONAL 10/HR AND THEN WHEN IT CAME TO CHECKOUT THEY SAID WE HAD TO LEAVE AT NOON, BUT AFTER DEALING WITH THE MANAGER FOR 30 MINUTES WE WERE ALLOWED TO STAY. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLEANLINESS
The weak points
CUSTOMER SERVICE
Certified

Iberostar in October 2013

, Mcbride, BC
2013-11-04
Very good stay! There was a lot to do right on the resort. At times we found ourselves not even wanting to go on the excursions we booked because it was so much fun to just be at the resort. We would love to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff members were so friendly and helpful. The Star Friends were really fun and always seemed to have something fun going on. The food was very good, and the drinks too! The entertainment in the theatre was very impressive and amusing.
The weak points
Nothing really to complain about, except that we were wishing everyday that the pool bars were open later.
Certified

Good, but won't return

, Toronto, ON
2013-10-28
We have stayed at other Iberostar properties and this resort was, in line with past Iberostar experiences, an excellent value and a very good vacation. However, we will not be returning.

The good:
- excellent service throughout albeit staff have been a touch more attentive at other Iberostars - we chalk that up to the size of the resort; at times the staff seems rushed although not as bad as some other resorts we have been (not Iberostar). No complaint, however.
- cleanliness, good food, comfortable beds, reasonably laid-out property (except for the size)
- there is a small rocky reef right on the beach of the hotel which provides some snorkelling opportunities. Nothing stellar but enough to keep the kids busy. There is plenty of places to enter the water away from the rocks if you are willing to walk 50 steps.
- most of the a-la-carte restaurants allow men to enter in bermuda shorts. Finally someone wizened up about this. Wearing long pants in 30'C humid temperatures (while on vacation!) was something I have always detested.
- the busiest disco ever! Since all 5 Iberostar resorts on the property share the same disco, it is the first time we have seen the disco consistently full of people in the mood to dance and have fun - finally!
- overall, an excellent family vacation with a little late-night bonus for the parents ;)

The bad:
- NOT A TOPLESS BEACH! What?! Excuse me! WHAT?! Is this the 21st century or what? My wife was actually offended by this restriction! A total turn off the very first day we arrived at the beach. Topless beaches are now a reality at almost every vacation destination, family resorts included. We have now been going for six years in a row to Mexico for our vacations, often more than once per year and this is the very first time we have encountered this. It felt like the clock of women's emancipation was being turned back!!!
- this resort is by far the biggest we have stayed at and that was overwhelming. Shuttles or not (and often there aren't any when you need one), the beach is some half a kilometer away from the lobby. Quite the stroll, especially if the evening is hot and muggy.
- the Japanese restaurant was a disappointment - we have seen much more entertaining teppanyaki cooking at other resorts and the cook actually flipped a spatula in the lap of one of the guests at dinner (so much for dressing up!)

We feel other Iberostars offer a better experience and won't be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It's an Iberostar - standard for good service, cleanliness and attention to detail. Excellent disco, full of people every night. A-la-carte restaurants allow men in bermuda shorts
The weak points
NOT A TOPLESS BEACH! Is this the 21st century?! The resort is huge - lots and lots of walking! It seems it is regularly booked for conventions and huge groups who overrun the hotel. Weddings are a daily occurrence.
Certified

My experience @ iberostar

, Scarborough, ON
2013-10-13
Great resort although I thought I'll have access to all four but 2 is sufficient.. Great food selection , good beach and entertainment.. The cons for me is the room seems to be outdated specially the bathroom, 2 pools was close since it's being serviced, also ran into the concierge at midnight named Juan Carlos that doesn't seem to want to be there, he doesn't seem to wanna have the same question ask more than once but he doesn't understand the question, he's not a very friendly person I don't mind him just answering my question but atleast look at me while he's doing it, also cart should go around more frequent , other than this the resort is quite beautiful specially the iberostar lindo resort next door I wished I stayed there instead.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food selection
The weak points
Cart frequency and no free wifi
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?